View Full Version : east stand re build pics

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9

Disc O'Dave
17-07-2010, 09:22 PM
Yeh mair photo's please.

Why this obsession with what the Hertz fans think? Did you really expect all of them to say "wow, it's a fantastic stand". Deep inside they are pissed off. Really pissed off! :dummytit::dummytit::dummytit:

Some of us remember them taking the piss out of the south stand ("bits hanging off" etc).

Wait till November. Then see what they think :wink:

In the meantime? Mair photo's :agree:

So demanding.......:greengrin

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4116/4803004050_786f21361c.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4096/4803002250_49cba09453.jpg

A lot of the rear cladding is in place, but still some way to go.

Turnstiles are in some of the entrances too.....

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4141/4802377167_6d3d894cf3.jpg

17-07-2010, 09:32 PM
So demanding.......:greengrin

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4116/4803004050_786f21361c.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4096/4803002250_49cba09453.jpg

A lot of the rear cladding is in place, but still some way to go.

Absolutely no danger that stand is going to be ready for occupation, safety certificates and all, in three weeks.

17-07-2010, 09:34 PM
Thanks Jamie & Dave :greengrin

Good contributions as always......its getting near..can't wait till first full house AKA AEK Athens..with all 4 finished

17-07-2010, 09:37 PM
Perhaps one of you could enlighten us as to how Hibs could have added character to the stand? Surely it is up to us to add the character?

Some folk will always find a way to pick holes in something positive.

And to agree with the Yams!!?? :confused::grr::bitchy:
I don't go looking for ways to pick holes in something positive. I have an opinion, and I posted it. Is that so wrong?

Like I already said(which you've already quoted), I'm no architect. But I just feel there could've been something done to make it a bit more than just the most basic of basic stands.

Anyway, I'm not going to comment on it further until I see it in person.

17-07-2010, 09:40 PM

Wow. Turnstiles for skinny fans, and turnstiles for fat *******s too.

Rod's thought of everything...

ionahibby
17-07-2010, 09:49 PM
Wow. Turnstiles for skinny fans, and turnstiles for fat *******s too.

Rod's thought of everything...

:faf: all hail petrie

17-07-2010, 10:37 PM
Can't understand the moaning about the new east. Nobody is saying it's the Bernabeau but it's a better stand in a better stadium than anything else in Scotland outside one or possibly two in Glasgow. This is Scotland ffs, and we've managed to build four stands the same size, we're one of three clubs that doesn't have a stadium looking like a dogs breakfast or an out of town breezblock toytown slum that nobody wants to go to.

Yes, its the bare bones and could do with some trimmings, crests, finishings, gates, statutes, walkways, but every honest supporter in Scotland outside the bigot bros is envious of what Hibs have achieved.

17-07-2010, 10:53 PM
but every honest supporter in Scotland outside the bigot bros is envious of what Hibs have achieved.

I'm not.

18-07-2010, 09:30 AM
I'm not.

Radge - can I ask. Have you seen it in in person yet?

18-07-2010, 09:35 AM
I don't go looking for ways to pick holes in something positive. I have an opinion, and I posted it. Is that so wrong?

Like I already said(which you've already quoted), I'm no architect. But I just feel there could've been something done to make it a bit more than just the most basic of basic stands.

Anyway, I'm not going to comment on it further until I see it in person.

It didn't need to be anything other than a basic stand, though. Our main stand is, and always has been AFAIK, the West. It has everything in there that a main stand needs, and is first class. The Famous Five is also well kitted out.

There's absolutely no need to build anything other than something of a substantial enough size to let several thousand Hibs fans plonk their erses of a Saturday afternoon.

18-07-2010, 09:46 AM
Radge - can I ask. Have you seen it in in person yet?

Not yet.

But I promise that I am an honest supporter outside of the bigot brothers, but I'm not envious of what Hibs have achieved. :wink:

Sorry, I must have been in a pedantic mood last night.

18-07-2010, 09:50 AM
Not yet.

But I promise that I'm not envious of what Hibs have achieved. :wink:

Ok thanks - will be interested to see what you think when you have.

I was origionally wanting a duplicate 2 tier...but the more i see it the more i'm impressed with the way it is being matched given its so many years after the other stands, and how it finishes the stadium...the pics are great...but just like being at a match compared to watching TV...its quite different.

18-07-2010, 09:53 AM
Ok thanks - will be interested to see what you think when you have.

I was origionally wanting a duplicate 2 tier...but the more i see it the more i'm impressed with the way it is being matched given its so many years after the other stands, and how it finishes the stadium...the pics are great...but just like being at a match compared to watching TV...its quite different.

I'm mightily impressed already, even though I haven't seen it. I'm just not envious. :greengrin

18-07-2010, 09:56 AM
I'm mightily impressed already, even though I haven't seen it. I'm just not envious. :greengrin

18-07-2010, 10:20 AM

Playing with words.

Why would I be envious of our own stand? :greengrin

18-07-2010, 12:22 PM
Its a stand for fans FFS...what do you want....a £51 million quid stand with a casino and hotel attached. You wanting heated seats with foot rests etc.

Their stadium is a total dump. We should be proud of what RP and the board has done and once complete we will have an Fifa complaint football stadium fit to hold any match.

ENDOF.

Sorry but forgot to say I think it looks superb and yes a million times better than what was standing in its place.

Absolutely right.........we need to concentrate on what has been DELIVERED (Not something that Jumbo's seem to know anything about), the stand is 10 times better than what was there previously and I think it should be more or less paid for? Well done to Rod and the rest of the board

JohnScott
18-07-2010, 02:10 PM
[QUOTE=Disc O'Dave;2517245]So demanding.......:greengrin

Thanks Dave (and Jamie) your a star :thumbsup:

Come on guys, Porsche or beat up old Fiesta? Old Trafford or Peebles Rovers. Whatever you think of the standard of our new stand it still looks the dogs bollocks! Just imagine these seats in Jamie's pic, filled with Hibees celebrating. Whereas our Jambo chums can go on dreaming about theirs.

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32140-12th-july.html

18-07-2010, 04:44 PM
The last few posts make for interesting reading !
I am sure that those Hibbees like myself who are old enough to remember the stadium from p.....g wet nights back in the 40's/50''s/60's etc will agree that the rebuilding of the stadium is arguably the biggest single thing that has happened to this club since the arrival of STF.
It has the look of a first class stadium with decent facilities and will , when completed ,stand comparison with many stadia in the Premiership/Championship in England
Someone posted " But I just feel there could've been something done to make it a bit more than just the most basic of basic stands. "
For goodness sake the stadium is not complete and yet there are critics who think it need's tarting up :rolleyes:.
For me it is well done STF/RP/et al for what they have given us in the way of a stadium :top marks.
Now we need a team to match it - over to you Messr's Petrie and Hughes :greengrin

18-07-2010, 04:48 PM
I am sure that those Hibbees like myself who are old enough to remember the stadium from p.....g wet nights back in the 40's/50''s/60's etc will agree that the rebuilding of the stadium is arguably the biggest single thing that has happened to this club since the arrival of STF.
It has the look of a first class stadium with decent facilities and will , when completed ,stand comparison with many stadia in the Premiership/Championship in England
Someone posted " But I just feel there could've been something done to make it a bit more than just the most basic of basic stands. "
For goodness sake the stadium is not complete and yet there are critics who think it need's tarting up :rolleyes:.
For me it is well done STF/RP/et al for what they have given us in the way of a stadium :top marks.
Now we need a team to match it - over to you Messr's Petrie and Hughes :greengrin

:agree::top marks HIBERNIAN FOOTBALL CLUB along the front of the roof, is all it needs to finish it off imho. The telly will be pointing at it, and everyone would know who they were watching, in any country, even with the sound down. Its fantastic, a real credit to everyone involved, and it makes me so proud seeing every picture of it.

18-07-2010, 05:10 PM

18-07-2010, 05:12 PM

More

18-07-2010, 05:16 PM
[QUOTE=whiskyhibby;2517665]

More

18-07-2010, 05:19 PM
[QUOTE=whiskyhibby;2517665]

More

http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/pencil.png

18-07-2010, 05:20 PM
Last one :thumbsup:

Gordon Quinn
18-07-2010, 06:20 PM

When you see this pic you realise how far we have come!
http://i1.tinypic.com/xbn4hx.jpg

hibee4life1983
18-07-2010, 06:21 PM
In person it looks more intimadating than the west, its very imposing.

18-07-2010, 06:32 PM
Playing with words.

Why would I be envious of our own stand? :greengrin

Hey Radge,

When I look at the pic under your posts..I do not recognise Tinnie! The £51mil development must have been a lot more due to the reconstruction of the two other stands because they do not look like tinnie as it stands!

18-07-2010, 06:53 PM

A long way indeed. :agree:

In saying that.... that picture still looks better than that pink piece of ****** in the other end of town. :wink:

Jamie
18-07-2010, 09:47 PM
My effort's from arthurs seat....

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_7_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32206-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_1_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32201-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_2_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32201-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_3_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32202-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_4_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32201-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_5_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32204-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_6_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32206-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

Here's some wallpaper sized shots if anyone wishes to use them feel free...:thumbsup:

Size: 3142x2094

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/easter_road/ER-AS1.jpg
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/easter_road/ER-AS2.jpg
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/easter_road/ER-AS3.jpg
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/easter_road/ER-AS4.jpg
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/easter_road/ER-AS5.jpg
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/easter_road/ER-AS6.jpg

18-07-2010, 09:59 PM
Stunning photos Jamie, thanks. :thumbsup:

18-07-2010, 10:54 PM
Wallpaper now set, cheers Jamie :agree:

18-07-2010, 11:07 PM

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_7_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32206-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_1_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32201-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_2_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32201-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_3_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32202-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_4_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32201-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_5_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32204-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/18_July_-_ER_AS_6_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32206-arthurs-seat18th-july.html)

Here's some wallpaper sized shots if anyone wishes to use them feel free...:thumbsup:

I almost can't believe that's Easter Road, our Stadium!

It looks amazing.

Disc O'Dave
19-07-2010, 08:31 AM

Excellent work fella.

Were you just up at the chapel at St Margarets Loch, or are these from higher up?

I don't suppose they have fitted an escalator up the hill yet? Fancy some of that action, but just a touch on the unfit side these days :greengrin

blairwallace
19-07-2010, 08:37 AM

if someone could get a picture like that in about the same spot and have some weird magical looking graphic flicking between the two photos that would look amazing!

and out of interest, what was the capacity of the stadium back then?

derekHFC
19-07-2010, 08:38 AM

Yeah the grass is greener back then. :cool2:

19-07-2010, 08:42 AM

I cant see what all the fuss is about, just because our new stands are a different height. Even 20 years ago they were a different height too.

19-07-2010, 08:58 AM
if someone could get a picture like that in about the same spot and have some weird magical looking graphic flicking between the two photos that would look amazing!

6507 That's the best I could find, mate. I'm no computer whiz so I'm hoping you're not expecting some Graphic that flicks bewteen them:wink:

Edit: Sorry about the small sizes, Click on them to enlarge them

Hibby Gav
19-07-2010, 09:14 AM
A long way indeed. :agree:

In saying that.... that picture still looks better than that pink piece of ****** in the other end of town. :wink:

We sure have...I know this has been here before...but worth showing again....really show how far we have come in 30 years !!!

http://video.google.co.uk/videoplay?docid=4232304376070958848&q=easter+road&total=520&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=1#

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Auckland Hibs
19-07-2010, 09:17 AM

Great photos! - Much appreciated from all us who can't make it down ER for a wee bit.

What a cracking stadium we're going to have, the new stand is really going to finish the Leith San Siro :top marks

The Silver Fox
19-07-2010, 11:16 AM
Before the top of the East Terracing was cut away there was a large section that was sectioned off by scaffolding poles that would have had a sterile area of about 1/5 of the size of the terracing. I seem to remember the attendance at George Best's home debut it was about 27,000. I was in the East terracing that day and I can tell you that was pretty packed. The total capacity would have been around 32-34000 but I doubt if it was ever filled up to that level.

The time period I'm referring to is the 78-82 or whever the top was cut off the top of the East Terracing. The end where the Famous Five stand is now was always the most unpopular with the Hibs support and even against Hearts, Rangers and Celtic there was always spare seats and the Old Frim would use it as a spill over from the Dunbar end.

19-07-2010, 11:21 AM
Before the top of the East Terracing was cut away there was a large section that was sectioned off by scaffolding poles that would have had a sterile area of about 1/5 of the size of the terracing. I seem to remember the attendance at George Best's home debut it was about 27,000. I was in the East terracing that day and I can tell you that was pretty packed. The total capacity would have been around 32-34000 but I doubt if it was ever filled up to that level.

The time period I'm referring to is the 78-82 or whever the top was cut off the top of the East Terracing. The end where the Famous Five stand is now was always the most unpopular with the Hibs support and even against Hearts, Rangers and Celtic there was always spare seats and the Old Frim would use it as a spill over from the Dunbar end.

I thought the attendance for Best's debut was around 20k.

Although that was around 5 times what we would have expected normally against Partick Thistle.

19-07-2010, 11:35 AM
Before seats were installed the capacity was quite arbitrary, but the record crowd was around 65,000

19-07-2010, 12:25 PM
We sure have...I know this has been here before...but worth showing again....really show how far we have come in 30 years !!!

http://video.google.co.uk/videoplay?docid=4232304376070958848&q=easter+road&total=520&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=1#

We certainly have come far, Skol Lager and Harp Lager :jamboak:

Skol, Skol, Skol, Skol

and

Harp, Stays sharp to the bottom of the glass

That was how you used to get your chemical fix in those days:greengrin

19-07-2010, 12:31 PM

:thumbsup: Brilliant wallpaper. Appreciated.

19-07-2010, 12:37 PM
I thought the attendance for Best's debut was around 20k.

Although that was around 5 times what we would have expected normally against Partick Thistle.

:agree: 20,662 when we were getting around 5,000 through the gates then.

The Silver Fox
19-07-2010, 02:10 PM
I take it the just over 20k was the correct attendance figure but it was the most packed I've ever known at a Hibs game. I remember people were pleading with police to let us go into the sterile area to relieve the pressure.

19-07-2010, 02:22 PM
I take it the just over 20k was the correct attendance figure but it was the most packed I've ever known at a Hibs game. I remember people were pleading with police to let us go into the sterile area to relieve the pressure.Was there not about 27,000 at the hibs celtic 4-4 cup game ? (May scored last minute i think to make it 4-4)

Or was it 4-3 tae hibs ..?...och i cannae remember...:greengrin

My bro was at that game & was on the East terrace & said it was like sardines from start to finish, i remember the infamous Souness game & the packed terrace too, i miss those days..as much as i love the fantastic transition of Easter rd i still hanker for the old "sways" on the terrace ...:greengrin

19-07-2010, 02:39 PM
I think there was about 27,000 at the Wayne ****in' Foster game too.

19-07-2010, 02:42 PM
I think there was about 27,000 at the Wayne ****in' Foster game too.Didnae wanna mention that game ...:boo hoo:

LeithBoozy
19-07-2010, 03:18 PM
45,000 against barcelona , fairs cup, QF 2 leg 22nd feb, 1961. :thumbsup:

19-07-2010, 04:15 PM
Comparisons are odious, and I don't want to have a cheap shot at our local rivals, but Edinburgh's premier soccer stadium is a real landmark, and it certainly catches the eye when you fly into the city.

By contrast, its easier to spot my father's garden shed than that cramped shoebox-like slum, even though its splurged in that fetching, macho pink. I understand this 'stadium' is scrunched somewhere in between a brewery, school, set of tenements and a council building, in a not outrageously fashionable area of town.

How do out-of-towners ever find this matchbox cattle shed?

19-07-2010, 04:20 PM
There was a midweek game against the Huns which we lost 2-1 Tommy Mclean scored an offside goal must have been nearly 50 000 there, fans were spilling down the grass banking at the back of the shed and terracing when the crowed swayed, scariest match i have been too, loads of aggro that would make the casuals seem liike sunday school kids. :greengrin

Framie
19-07-2010, 04:52 PM
27219 was the crowd in 1989(prob our biggest in recent times) when eddie may scored the winner in a 1-0 against the ****bos after that capacity was reduced to around 21/22 k when they built the club boxes and family section in the old main stand lower

Joe Baker II
19-07-2010, 05:04 PM
27219 was the crowd in 1989(prob our biggest in recent times) when eddie may scored the winner in a 1-0 against the ****bos after that capacity was reduced to around 21/22 k when they built the club boxes and family section in the old main stand lower

That was a big crowd that day, may even have exceeded figure above. Also had big ones for two games v Celtic/Rangers that season (both defeats).

Do not recall the Wayne Foster game being that exceptional a crowd.

19-07-2010, 05:18 PM
The was 20.5k at the 1994 Scottish Cup game. At that time fairly sure that was capacity, while Tynecastle held around 24.5k.

19-07-2010, 05:59 PM

It would be great if an older poster could give a wee Easter Road through the years kinda story, detailing building, demolishing, rebuilding, extending etc for us young'uns, perhaps evn with some pictures chucked in :agree:

Calling Jonnyboy....... :greengrin

Framie
19-07-2010, 06:05 PM
The was 20.5k at the 1994 Scottish Cup game. At that time fairly sure that was capacity, while Tynecastle held around 24.5k.

sounds about right other than the 1989 game i mentioned and the souness debut dont think we exceeded 25 k in the mid to late 80s/90s

I was at the scotland under 16 match at tynecastle against portugal (figo and rui costa featured) seem to recall 29k being the attendance so must have been reduced on safety reasons after that around the same time as hibs.

19-07-2010, 06:08 PM
sounds about right other than the 1989 game i mentioned and the souness debut dont think we exceeded 25 k in the mid to late 80s/90s

I was at the scotland under 16 match at tynecastle against portugal (figo and rui costa featured) seem to recall 29k being the attendance so must have been reduced on safety reasons after that around the same time as hibs.
Any particular reason for such a high attendance for what seems to have been a schoolboy international?

Framie
19-07-2010, 06:10 PM
It would be great if an older poster could give a wee Easter Road through the years kinda story, detailing building, demolishing, rebuilding, extending etc for us young'uns, perhaps evn with some pictures chucked in :agree:

Calling Jonnyboy....... :greengrin

it be great if they could make models of the three main designs i know they already have the 1950/60s version at easter road, if they could make one of the 80s/90s ground and the present one once its finished that would be superb:greengrin

19-07-2010, 06:11 PM
U16 World Cup semi final. Was around 60k at the final against Saudi Arabia (Under 25s...).

Framie
19-07-2010, 06:16 PM
Any particular reason for such a high attendance for what seems to have been a schoolboy international?

your comment sound quite derisory to what was the semi final of the junior world cup of which we were the host nation quite a big thing really lost on the youth of today clearly

19-07-2010, 06:16 PM

The tournament really caught people's imagination after a low-key start. Part of this was due to Scotland doing so well, but there was also some cracking football on show.

I can confirm that there was indeed 29k in Tynie that night. IIRC, the kick off was held 20-30 minutes.

19-07-2010, 06:18 PM
it be great if they could make models of the three main designs i know they already have the 1950/60s version at easter road, if they could make one of the 80s/90s ground and the present one once its finished that would be superb:greengrin
See, us younger lot have heard stories and seen the odd picture of the old ground etc but we don't really know much else. Although I first attended in '93 my earliest memory of Easter Road is a 4 nil loss to Celtic, in 1996. I sat in the old family enclosure in the West. McNamara scored and Celtic were wearing the bumblebee. The next game I remember after that was another 4 nil defeat... On the first of January, '97 I believe.

U16 World Cup semi final. Was around 60k at the final against Saudi Arabia (Under 25s...).
Thanks.

19-07-2010, 06:18 PM
your comment sound quite derisory to what was the semi final of the junior world cup of which we were the host nation quite a big thing really lost on the youth of today clearly

Derisory, he asked why the high attendance, he did not know it was a world cup semi final?:confused:

19-07-2010, 06:22 PM

I'm 19 ffs, i'm not even sure if I was born when this tie was played. So away and stick your ''lost on the youth of today clearly'' theory right up your hoop :agree:

Derisory you say? What's derisory about asking a question about a match that might've occurred before I was even born?

19-07-2010, 06:24 PM

I'm 19 ffs, i'm not even sure if I was born when this tie was played. So away and stick your ''lost on the youth of today clearly'' theory right up your hoop :agree:

Derisory you say? What's derisory about asking a question about a match that might've occurred before I was even born?

19-07-2010, 06:24 PM
The tournament really caught people's imagination after a low-key start. Part of this was due to Scotland doing so well, but there was also some cracking football on show.

I can confirm that there was indeed 29k in Tynie that night. IIRC, the kick off was held 20-30 minutes.
Any familiar names in the Scotland squad?

19-07-2010, 06:25 PM
Born August 1990.

Derisory :faf:

19-07-2010, 06:29 PM
Any familiar names in the Scotland squad?

Paul Dickov :rolleyes:

Actually, there were very few that made it to any great extent. Gary Bollan, Brian O'Neill (who missed two penalties in the final), ..... um.....

http://sport.scotsman.com/football/Freeze-frame-FIFA-under16-World.5386333.jp

Rossco442
19-07-2010, 06:30 PM

Great vid. Anyone know the music from it?

tbfhibs
19-07-2010, 06:43 PM
Was at the game at tynie, it was packed . Was also at a Scotland v Holland match at Easter Road pretty sure there was 32,000 there. If anyone has any more info about the match at E R that be great. Sure we won 2-0 and Brownlie scored from a pen.

19-07-2010, 06:46 PM
Was at the game at tynie, it was packed . Was also at a Scotland v Holland match at Easter Road pretty sure there was 32,000 there. If anyone has any more info about the match at E R that be great. Sure we won 2-0 and Brownlie scored from a pen.

Not according to this....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Easter_Road

Was it maybe an under 23 match? An inter-league match?

tbfhibs
19-07-2010, 06:57 PM
Not according to this....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Easter_Road

Was it maybe an under 23 match? An inter-league match?

It was an under 23 match, sorry stupidly never put that in.

19-07-2010, 07:04 PM
Any new pics :wink:

19-07-2010, 08:02 PM
It was an under 23 match, sorry stupidly never put that in.

I was at that game too.

I think the score was 3-2 Scotland?

JoJo_07
19-07-2010, 09:16 PM
Great vid. Anyone know the music from it?

Battle Without Honor Or Humanity - Tomoyasu Hotei.

You may recognise it from Kill Bill soundtrack.

Rossco442
20-07-2010, 09:32 AM
Battle Without Honor Or Humanity - Tomoyasu Hotei.

You may recognise it from Kill Bill soundtrack.

Thanks. Recognise it from a lot of things but didn't have a scooby who it was by!

20-07-2010, 10:18 AM

It would be equally as good if a younger poster did that. :agree:

20-07-2010, 12:37 PM
Comparisons are odious, and I don't want to have a cheap shot at our local rivals, but Edinburgh's premier soccer stadium is a real landmark, and it certainly catches the eye when you fly into the city.

By contrast, its easier to spot my father's garden shed than that cramped shoebox-like slum, even though its splurged in that fetching, macho pink. I understand this 'stadium' is scrunched somewhere in between a brewery, school, set of tenements and a council building, in a not outrageously fashionable area of town.

They follow the smell, Bob. :rolleyes:

20-07-2010, 12:52 PM
I was at that game too.

Di dit not go to extra time and penalties? I was supposed to be going to a birthday party at Stevenson/Sighthill College Union and only made the very end of it. This was the day before pubs had licences past 10:30!!

20-07-2010, 12:54 PM

The police set the crowd limit for big games, and it varied from game to game.

My Father was in a crowd of over 60,000 at a New Year's Derby match in the early 1950's - the official attendance was about 52,000 according to the Scotsman, but a lot of guys got in over the turnstiles on those days.

IIRC the official attendance for the Barcelona game in '61 was 45,000 - suspiciously round number, btw - but my dad was there too and was positive there were lots more.

The biggest I've been in was a Rangers Cup replay where the official attendance was in the mid-40,000 range, but again the pressure of the crowd and the way the crowd surged up and down the terrace, I'd say there were more like 53-54,000 in the stadium.

When they took the top section of the terracing down, the police set a capacity of (IIRC) about 20,000. This dropped when the terracing had benches installed.

Whne the North and South Stands were built, the capacity was 14,800, rising to 17,500 when the West was built. We're now back to 20,000-plus (or will be very soon).

GGTTH, and all credit to STF, RP, and the board. From the BBC report that "Hibernian are understood to have played their last match" when Wally Smirker made his move 20 years ago, to a fully-modernised, 20,000-plus all-seated, all-covered stadium, modern training facilities, the club trading legally and in the black, and the only other question who exactly else we're going to bring in before the end of the transfer window (watch this space), we're doing not too badly for 'The Wee Team'. :devil:

20-07-2010, 01:04 PM
Was there not about 27,000 at the hibs celtic 4-4 cup game ? (May scored last minute i think to make it 4-4)

Or was it 4-3 tae hibs ..?...och i cannae remember...:greengrin

My bro was at that game & was on the East terrace & said it was like sardines from start to finish, i remember the infamous Souness game & the packed terrace too, i miss those days..as much as i love the fantastic transition of Easter rd i still hanker for the old "sways" on the terrace ...:greengrin

4-3 ya madman:grr: :greengrin

As to the Tynie semifinal, was one who never got in. Got into the final though, unfortunately.

20-07-2010, 01:08 PM
It would be equally as good if a younger poster did that. :agree:

I'd be disappointed if a middle aged poster did it, though.:agree:

20-07-2010, 01:19 PM
I'd be disappointed if a middle aged poster did it, though.:agree:

What about an infantile one?

There's plenty of those.... :wink:

Kaiser_Sauzee
20-07-2010, 01:21 PM

I thought it was nearer 100,000 for this game.

camhibby1
20-07-2010, 01:41 PM
Just passed ER and the floodlights are being fitted! Maybe part ready for the home Europa leg?

20-07-2010, 01:55 PM
Just passed ER and the floodlights are being fitted! Maybe part ready for the home Europa leg?

It was always going to be part ready:greengrin

europe game will be at night so I'd imagine we would need the floodlights??

20-07-2010, 04:52 PM
From the official site:

"Hibernian's first leg will be staged on foreign soil on Thursday 29 July (kick off to confirmed later this week) with the home leg taking place at the new Hibernian Family Home on Thursday 5 August.... European nights at Easter Road are always a very special occasion - do not miss out on this night to remember!"

Will someone PLEASE reassure me that the club website is NOT going to be habitually referring to the Holy Ground as "The Hibernian Family Home" from now on?

PLEASE??????????? :rolleyes:

20-07-2010, 04:59 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100720/your-family-home_2262950_2097171

Looking absolutely the top class stadium that Hibernian FC deserve. :agree:

20-07-2010, 05:23 PM
I quite like it.
The thought of home improvements or an extention being built on your house brings it to a level most of us can relate to and it fits with the Hibernian Family.
Better that than 'Clients may wish to be aware the new football stand at the stadium is near completion. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused over the last few months.'

20-07-2010, 05:27 PM
4-3 ya madman:grr: :greengrin

As to the Tynie semifinal, was one who never got in. Got into the final though, unfortunately.Was just testing GT ...:greengrin

20-07-2010, 05:47 PM

Anybody know why the 6th block from the right seems to have a row of seats missing?

20-07-2010, 05:51 PM
Anybody know why the 6th block from the right seems to have a row of seats missing?

Thats where the machine guns will be situated.

20-07-2010, 05:55 PM
Thats where the machine guns will be situated.

JoJo_07
20-07-2010, 06:07 PM

Probably just for access from stand side while concourse is busy (being worked on). See photo (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/watermark.php?file=32167) on bounce where other seats around exits are not in place. There are seats shown in the plans (http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=54110524&ext=pdf).

20-07-2010, 06:09 PM

Looks like they are starting to line the pitch too - the new season is nearly here. :thumbsup:

20-07-2010, 06:20 PM
As of about 90 minutes ago

Many thanks to the doozers for giving me open access. I agree with the posters who've said that the pics don't do it justice, you have to see it 'in the flesh'.

20-07-2010, 06:22 PM
Even managed to get a snap of Rod as he was clocking off for the day.

Jamie
20-07-2010, 06:53 PM
There are NO floodlights getting fitted ATM!

They have almost completed the cladding and have started on the road-walkway into the east!

Looking very impressive :)

Big_D
20-07-2010, 07:01 PM
There are NO floodlights , getting fitted ATM!

They have almost completed the cladding and have started on the road-walkway into the east!

A fitted ATM , what will they think of next :thumbsup:

bandylegs_jLeighton
20-07-2010, 07:02 PM
Elevation drawing with cladding showing at corners.

http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=57331456&ext=pdf

20-07-2010, 07:06 PM

A pedant writes "its a distillery" :wink:

Ross4356
20-07-2010, 07:13 PM
So the height of the cladding is going to be the same as the top of the advertising boards in the other stands

20-07-2010, 07:23 PM
From the official site:

"Hibernian's first leg will be staged on foreign soil on Thursday 29 July (kick off to confirmed later this week) with the home leg taking place at the new Hibernian Family Home on Thursday 5 August.... European nights at Easter Road are always a very special occasion - do not miss out on this night to remember!"

Will someone PLEASE reassure me that the club website is NOT going to be habitually referring to the Holy Ground as "The Hibernian Family Home" from now on?

PLEASE??????????? :rolleyes:

Aye your right! we don't want stupit bairns runnin around playin tig and daft lassies textin for 90 minutes! :bitchy:

blairwallace
20-07-2010, 07:26 PM
As of about 90 minutes ago

silly question possibly but were that machine thing is, whats that going to be?
it cant be like the other three stands to access inside and its obviously not part of the pitch?
please dont tell me its just going to be that big a cap for useless stones? :grr:

blairwallace
20-07-2010, 07:29 PM
So the height of the cladding is going to be the same as the top of the advertising boards in the other stands

yup, good thing or bad thing we will see

20-07-2010, 07:32 PM
The pitch is looking well and the cladding is coming on nicely.

20-07-2010, 07:35 PM
yup, good thing or bad thing we will see
Can only be a good thing.

I'm under the impression that this 'cladding' will be the same as the plastic windshields and not the white sheeting being fixed to the back of the stands.

20-07-2010, 07:41 PM
The pitch is looking well and the cladding is coming on nicely.

the pitch and stadium look awsome :hyper:

20-07-2010, 08:29 PM
This is the old bowling club, right?

Pitch looking decidedly lop-sided.

20-07-2010, 08:33 PM
Pitch looking decidedly lop-sided.

That was my fear..seems a bit strange

steviecarnie
20-07-2010, 08:35 PM

can hibs for spl games, go back to normal dimensions and change them for european games or do we have to stick to the new all season?

20-07-2010, 08:35 PM
Just having a wee muck about with the photos.

If you take a photo of the old East

and a photo of the new East, taken from roughly the same spot

20-07-2010, 08:36 PM
... then you put them together

You get an idea of the scale of the new stand.

It's a big mufu eh? :greengrin

20-07-2010, 08:39 PM
can hibs for spl games, go back to normal dimensions and change them for european games or do we have to stick to the new all season?

Yup.

We can lay out the pitch any way we wish as long as it conforms to the regulations and minimum dimensions set down for that particular tournament.

20-07-2010, 08:42 PM

Sorted

Jamie
20-07-2010, 08:43 PM
A fitted ATM , what will they think of next :thumbsup:

:thumbsup: nae point in an ATM if its no got a bar :grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

Darth Hibbie
20-07-2010, 08:48 PM
Yup.

We can lay out the pitch any way we wish as long as it conforms to the regulations and minimum dimensions set down for that particular tournament.

Did Hamilton not narrow their pitch for a couple of games one season. The park was frozen on one side and they brought the lines in so that the frozen section was off the park and the games could get played :dunno:

The Silver Fox
20-07-2010, 08:50 PM
The gap in the seats towards the Famous Five looks like it will a disabled viewing area.

The cladding to fill in the corner will probably be thicker metal sheeting with a door to allow emergency vehicle accesss if required. The cladding looks like it will come a fair height and will make it a bit more comfortable in the East Stand from the wind.

20-07-2010, 08:55 PM
Did Hamilton not narrow their pitch for a couple of games one season. The park was frozen on one side and they brought the lines in so that the frozen section was off the park and the games could get played :dunno:

Rangers did it for a european (champions league IIRC) tie. They let the away team train on the pitch at ibrox the day before, then made it substantially narrower the day of the match.

20-07-2010, 09:08 PM
Rangers did it for a european (champions league IIRC) tie. They let the away team train on the pitch at ibrox the day before, then made it substantially narrower the day of the match.

Yup. Wasn't it Dinamo Kiev? Wasn't quite cheating, but pretty close.

Which is probably one of the reasons UEFA have finally stipulated the minimum dimensions acceptable for a European tie.

SidBurns
20-07-2010, 09:11 PM

Which is probably one of the reasons UEFA have finally stipulated the minimum dimensions acceptable for a European tie.

You also cannot change the dimensions of the pitch during the season.

Groathillgrump
20-07-2010, 09:21 PM

IIRC, the Ibrox pitch at the time was wider than UEFA's minimum dimensions but Rangers brought it in to the absolute minimum on the night to counter Dinamo's ability to attack down the flanks.

20-07-2010, 09:21 PM
Looking good from the other stands though:

20-07-2010, 09:22 PM
You also cannot change the dimensions of the pitch during the season.

Is that new? I thought you could alter the dimensions provided you weren't contravening to regulations for the particular competition - like, you could have the pitch one width for the CIS Cup, and a different width for the Europa League?

Must have missed that one. :confused:

Jamie
20-07-2010, 09:29 PM
Looking good from the other stands though:

That a blackberry your using? :thumbsup:

big-mo
20-07-2010, 09:37 PM
I don't know if it has been mentioned already, (I have not read all the posts on the 55 pages on this thread), but has anyone noticed that the new stand is alrady there in 3D on Google Earth, looks good.

They even have Murrayfield but got it wrong as it is marked out for football.

20-07-2010, 09:52 PM
The gap in the seats towards the Famous Five looks like it will a disabled viewing area.

The cladding to fill in the corner will probably be thicker metal sheeting with a door to allow emergency vehicle accesss if required. The cladding looks like it will come a fair height and will make it a bit more comfortable in the East Stand from the wind.

It is the disabled viewing area. :agree:

I think the gap that the previous poster was talking about was the one row to the right of the disabled area (as you look at it from the West Stand) that seems to have had its seats left out.

20-07-2010, 10:04 PM
When I was a kid and Yams fans still argued about attendances all the time, they used to say 'we don't count the stand.'

I always found this logic baffling, but now I see they were just being visionary, as these fans are probably all long dead through inhalation of asbestos.

Disc O'Dave
20-07-2010, 10:13 PM
Great shots from everyone today - I was a little late in getting down, but here's my contribution...

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4119/4813638584_58b3b08db4.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4119/4813012457_5dd5769aba.jpg

The cladding is almost all up. I guess the translucent end panels will be next up.

20-07-2010, 10:20 PM
I was at that game too.

Still got the programme from that game.

21-07-2010, 06:21 AM
That a blackberry your using? :thumbsup:

Yes sir, a bold 9700 to be precise :thumbsup:

Fair play to the workies y'know, I left there around 6pm and there was over 10 of them still hard at work.

21-07-2010, 06:43 AM
Still got the programme from that game.

Was it 3-2 tamig?

21-07-2010, 06:49 AM
A few more for you.

21-07-2010, 06:52 AM
Lop sided pitch from the South.

21-07-2010, 06:55 AM
From the tunnel...

21-07-2010, 06:57 AM
The Farmer - Tornadoes - Stanton Stand from both sides of the West.

6533 6532

21-07-2010, 07:00 AM
Pitch side close ups. Note 'Disabled' Area has steps.

6535 6534

21-07-2010, 07:02 AM
I think everyone had fond memories of the east and we were all a bit saddened to see the last piece of ER as we knew it, gone.

But the new East looks tremendous and we have a stadium to be proud of.

Looking forward to getting back for a game and seeing it for real.

21-07-2010, 07:02 AM
Two from the FF Lower

6537 6536

21-07-2010, 07:04 AM
What's the area to the right going to be used for?

21-07-2010, 07:07 AM
A couple of randoms to finish.

21-07-2010, 08:06 AM
A couple of randoms to finish.

65416540Excellent pics Speedway ..thanks ..the place just looks superb ..:thumbsup:

Disc O'Dave
21-07-2010, 08:12 AM
Two from the FF Lower

6537 6536

Brilliant pictures Speedway - after getting quite blase about it all by taking pictures over the past two months, I started getting really excited about it again yesterday, seeing how close it is to being finished....

persevere1875
21-07-2010, 08:15 AM
Has anyone managed to capture any pics of the inside of the stand, do we know the current state of the fixtures and fittings side of things ie toilets, food outlets etc

21-07-2010, 09:09 AM
Great Pics, thanks Speedway. :thumbsup:

Didn't the original plans have a walkway after the fourth row of steps that goes the whole length of the stand? It's just that it doesn't look evident from those photos.

My ticket for the Europa game is in the FF front. I'm gonna be sitting longing for my new seat in the East Stand :boo hoo:

21-07-2010, 09:12 AM

Isn't that our new Hotel? :wink:

Though, given the space available, it's probably more of a B&B.

21-07-2010, 09:13 AM
Has anyone managed to capture any pics of the inside of the stand, do we know the current state of the fixtures and fittings side of things ie toilets, food outlets etc

You can't get close enough to see. This is the best I can offer on that score.

Ross4356
21-07-2010, 09:14 AM
Lop sided pitch from the South.]

What do you mean lop sided m8?

Great pics btw :top marks

21-07-2010, 09:15 AM

The green grassy bit? That'll be for playin fitba on..... :nerd:

camhibby1
21-07-2010, 06:47 PM
There are NO floodlights getting fitted ATM!

I must be mad or something but I have just come home via the stadium and all of the floodlights are now in place - they were working on them when I passed yesterday and they havee obviously completed the job today even in this weather!

21-07-2010, 07:04 PM
I must be mad or something but I have just come home via the stadium and all of the floodlights are now in place - they were working on them when I passed yesterday and they havee obviously completed the job today even in this weather!And you never took a pic !!! :grr: ...:greengrin

db03
21-07-2010, 07:19 PM
A friend of mine has a pic on facebook http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=6245640&id=755686907#!/photo.php?pid=263706&id=100000308139624&fbid=138327422854195

21-07-2010, 07:22 PM
A friend of mine has a pic on facebook http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=6245640&id=755686907#!/photo.php?pid=263706&id=100000308139624&fbid=138327422854195
Can you copy the picture onto here for us not on Facebook?

Ross4356
21-07-2010, 07:26 PM

http://a.imagehost.org/t/0397/38511_138327422854195_100000308139624_263706_50347 67_n.jpg (http://a.imagehost.org/view/0397/38511_138327422854195_100000308139624_263706_50347 67_n)

db03
21-07-2010, 07:26 PM
Dont know how to mate, if someone tells me how to do it then I will put them up

db03
21-07-2010, 07:28 PM
http://a.imagehost.org/t/0397/38511_138327422854195_100000308139624_263706_50347 67_n.jpg (http://a.imagehost.org/view/0397/38511_138327422854195_100000308139624_263706_50347 67_n)
Thanks

blairwallace
21-07-2010, 07:29 PM

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs103.ash2/38511_138327422854195_100000308139624_263706_50347 67_n.jpg

over 500 million users and you dont have a facebook? :grr:

21-07-2010, 07:32 PM
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs103.ash2/38511_138327422854195_100000308139624_263706_50347 67_n.jpg

over 400 million users and you dont have a facebook? :grr:

It's a pile of pìsh that's why..

21-07-2010, 07:51 PM
Lop sided pitch from the South.

Speedway, can you tell me, if you stand in the corner of the pitch and look up to the back of the north and south stands, is the corner able to be seen from the seats closest to the east stand?

I'm just not sure if all seats can see the closest corner now the pitch has moved.

21-07-2010, 07:54 PM
You can see 100% of the pitch, from any seat

07hibee
21-07-2010, 07:56 PM

ive got pics from the top of the stand can any one tell me how to post them?

Ross4356
21-07-2010, 08:09 PM
ive got pics from the top of the stand can any one tell me how to post them?

Upload the pics to a website

It will then give you a link for your image

Type your message on .net and click (Insert Image)

Put the link into the box that appears

Simples

07hibee
21-07-2010, 08:14 PM
Upload the pics to a website

It will then give you a link for your image

Type your message on .net and click (Insert Image)

Put the link into the box that appears

Simples
Thanks mate but how do I upload to a website?

21-07-2010, 08:18 PM
Thanks mate but how do I upload to a website?

type photobucket into google, thats one of the better ones the instructions will be on the site :agree:

Jamie
21-07-2010, 09:28 PM

The one's at the side of the gantry are now classed as restricted view's

21-07-2010, 09:35 PM
Speedway, can you tell me, if you stand in the corner of the pitch and look up to the back of the north and south stands, is the corner able to be seen from the seats closest to the east stand?

I'm just not sure if all seats can see the closest corner now the pitch has moved.

Yes PH, I could see the nearest corners from the FF and South Upper.

Ross4356
21-07-2010, 09:41 PM
The one's at the side of the gantry are now classed as restricted view's

Where m8?

21-07-2010, 09:53 PM
I heard from somebody today that some of the sparks on the job will be finishing up next week.

21-07-2010, 10:13 PM
I heard from somebody today that some of the sparks on the job will be finishing up next week.
Out of interest, who's doing the sparky work?

21-07-2010, 10:21 PM
I must be mad or something but I have just come home via the stadium and all of the floodlights are now in place - they were working on them when I passed yesterday and they havee obviously completed the job today even in this weather!Aye..but have the ones on the new stand been fitted yet ..?

Jamie
21-07-2010, 11:18 PM
Where m8?

East.... Right about here..

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/9th_July_1_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32075-9th-july.html)

21-07-2010, 11:44 PM
One from 2 weeks ago flying into Edinburgh. Not great but over in Ireland this weekend so hope for a clearer one on return!

http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/Carheenlee/20091105001#5496508399772726066

hibeeleicester
22-07-2010, 12:29 AM
East.... Right about here..

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/9th_July_1_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/july/p32075-9th-july.html)

No brand new stand should have restricted views.

Jamie
22-07-2010, 07:54 AM
There no messing about, workies on the roof at 730am!

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/IMG00192-20100722-0818.jpg

Ross4356
22-07-2010, 10:01 AM
Out of interest, who's doing the sparky work?

arthur mckay

22-07-2010, 10:11 AM

Speedway, can you tell me if you stand on the shy line, opposite the centre circle and you point your head towards the south stand and your arms towards the new east, can you hear the sea? :confused:

Disc O'Dave
22-07-2010, 11:45 AM
Speedway, can you tell me if you stand on the shy line, opposite the centre circle and you point your head towards the south stand and your arms towards the new east, can you hear the sea? :confused:

I can tell you that if you go the the front of the South Stand, after it's been raining, and do a head-stand, facing the Famous Five, but with your eyes towards the East Stand, you can hear someone shouting at you. You also get wet hair, and your keys fall out of your pockets.

22-07-2010, 11:46 AM
I can tell you that if you go the the front of the South Stand, after it's been raining, and do a head-stand, facing the Famous Five, but with your eyes towards the East Stand, you can hear someone shouting at you. You also get wet hair, and your keys fall out of your pockets.

22-07-2010, 12:52 PM

22-07-2010, 12:54 PM

If you wake up naked on St Clair street lying on the bonnet of your car with your keys up your erchie and Hartley in the passenger seat smiling, you're not Hibs class but you'll be able to see that the East Stand is still slightly higher than the FF.

22-07-2010, 02:34 PM

:faf::faf::faf::faf:

22-07-2010, 04:30 PM
Was down today to have a look at it, Sorry no photos

Was speaking to one of the guys putting on the white boarding.

They hope to finish tomorrow with all of that and the perspex at the back and sides of the stand.

Might not though as they keep getting held up from using their platforms by all the digging thats going on to lay pipes and cables etc.

The wish list date for completion is for the Huns game

No chance of it being ready for Europa league game 5/8

The Stand isnt yet wind and watertight and there is masses of landscaping / removal of rubble / Construction of roadways etc to be considered.

I wouldnt think theres a chance of getting a safety certificate until all thats done

I'm not yet clear how they will secure the perimeter at the joins with the Famous Five and South stands, maybe they will leave that to the cladding, although that would leave the corners of the sites open to graffiti / access?

Its a large bit ground where the Famous Five Stand /Old East Stand Turnstiles used to be to the start of the new East Stand so there must be some development potential there for the future.

Havent seen inside the new stand, but sounded like a lot of work going on cutting channels etc for water /electricity.

They also havent finished all the brickwork to secure that stand, which I presume they have left open for access.

I'd guess they were miles away from completing the plumbing /electric as they also need to dig up the road outside to connect pipes etc to main drains.

This isnt meant to put a dampner on things, its awesome, more to put a more realistic slant on potential completion date.

22-07-2010, 04:43 PM
I would have thought Hibs would pull out all stops to get it ready for the Huns game. It could cost them around 6000 fans at £25 if they don't.
We also could be at home in Europe the Thursday before the Huns game against a big team, if we qualify for the next round of the Europa Cup.

Disc O'Dave
22-07-2010, 05:31 PM
Was down today to have a look at it, Sorry no photos

Was speaking to one of the guys putting on the white boarding.

They hope to finish tomorrow with all of that and the perspex at the back and sides of the stand.

Might not though as they keep getting held up from using their platforms by all the digging thats going on to lay pipes and cables etc.

The wish list date for completion is for the Huns game

No chance of it being ready for Europa league game 5/8

The Stand isnt yet wind and watertight and there is masses of landscaping / removal of rubble / Construction of roadways etc to be considered.

I wouldnt think theres a chance of getting a safety certificate until all thats done

I'm not yet clear how they will secure the perimeter at the joins with the Famous Five and South stands, maybe they will leave that to the cladding, although that would leave the corners of the sites open to graffiti / access?

Its a large bit ground where the Famous Five Stand /Old East Stand Turnstiles used to be to the start of the new East Stand so there must be some development potential there for the future.

Havent seen inside the new stand, but sounded like a lot of work going on cutting channels etc for water /electricity.

They also havent finished all the brickwork to secure that stand, which I presume they have left open for access.

I'd guess they were miles away from completing the plumbing /electric as they also need to dig up the road outside to connect pipes etc to main drains.

This isnt meant to put a dampner on things, its awesome, more to put a more realistic slant on potential completion date.

Indeed,

From what I could see, there was a big trench up the middle of where the access road is going to be, and lots of work around the perimeter. It looked like some newer framing for a perimeter fence has been put up around the back of the stand, and maybe on the Hawkhill Avenue side, though it may be temporary as it narrows the pavement quite considerably.

With the floodlights installed, it looks another big step towards the finished article, but the devil, as they say, is in the detail.

Photos to follow in a bit.....my PC is steam powered.

Kyle A
22-07-2010, 05:40 PM
Indeed,

Photos to follow in a bit.....my PC is steam powered.

yeah, so is mine, the trick is to get the doc to install a flux capicitor. This should help

Jamie
22-07-2010, 06:17 PM
The floodlights are different sizes :grr::grr: lol

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3570/medium/22nd_July_6_.JPG

22-07-2010, 06:18 PM

What wattage are the bulbs:wink::greengrin

Jamie
22-07-2010, 06:22 PM
What wattage are the bulbs:wink::greengrin

6207 :greengrin

wazoo1875
22-07-2010, 06:26 PM
6207 :greengrin

**** me they're gonna be bright then :greengrin They'll probably light up Tynie too , so they won't need to change their bulbs after all :wink:

22-07-2010, 06:34 PM
I would have thought Hibs would pull out all stops to get it ready for the Huns game. It could cost them around 6000 fans at £25 if they don't.
We also could be at home in Europe the Thursday before the Huns game against a big team, if we qualify for the next round of the next round of the Europa Cup.

Agreed,

I am quite surprised they havent gone for a postponement of that game.

Even if the safety certificate is granted it will IMO be a last minute job

This will prevent then selling tickets in advance, because what if its not granted.

I will be interested to hear what loss of revenue the re-development has caused in addition to the cost.

I wouldnt look for much cash being splashed even if Bamba and one other high profile player goes.

I would imagine this years trading loss to be well over £1m and quite probably well over £2m.

Hibs will need transfer income to pay for that at the minimum, and towards the stand or we will be back to the bad old days of increasing debt.

Whilst we could consider increasing the debt for a one off expense such as the East Stand, we couldnt IMO consider increasing it at the same time for trading losses.

We would be looking at over £10m again

22-07-2010, 06:41 PM

Looks daft.

Agreed,

I am quite surprised they havent gone for a postponement of that game.

Even if the safety certificate is granted it will IMO be a last minute job

This will prevent then selling tickets in advance, because what if its not granted.

I will be interested to hear what loss of revenue the re-development has caused in addition to the cost.

I wouldnt look for much cash being splashed even if Bamba and one other high profile player goes.

I would imagine this years trading loss to be well over £1m and quite probably well over £2m.

Hibs will need transfer income to pay for that at the minimum, and towards the stand or we will be back to the bad old days of increasing debt.

Whilst we could consider increasing the debt for a one off expense such as the East Stand, we couldnt IMO consider increasing it at the same time for trading losses.

Sincerely hope not.

Disc O'Dave
22-07-2010, 06:47 PM
yeah, so is mine, the trick is to get the doc to install a flux capicitor. This should help

Response for my generation: Yes, but even then it'll never get to 88 miles an hour

Response for the younger generation: It'll probably finish uploading in the year 3000

22-07-2010, 06:52 PM
Response for my generation: Yes, but even then it'll never get to 88 miles an hour

Response for the younger generation: It'll probably finish uploading in the year 3000
Oi!!

Some of us in the 'younger generation' do believe the Back to the Future trilogy to be some of the best film trilogy EVER!! :agree:

Disc O'Dave
22-07-2010, 06:56 PM

They are also pointing up at the sky......maybe they are really search-lights in case the Luftwaffe return.

Disc O'Dave
22-07-2010, 06:59 PM
Oi!!

Some of us in the 'younger generation' do believe the Back to the Future trilogy to be some of the best film trilogy EVER!! :agree:

And to be fair, some of us in the older generation consider Busted to be musical gods.:devil::devil:

22-07-2010, 07:00 PM
Looks daft.

Sincerely hope not.

How much of the money was already in place for the east? Hopefully get a fair bit for Bamba, tho he's not doing himself any favours by acting unprofessionally- could put clubs off

steviecarnie
22-07-2010, 07:00 PM
Oi!!

ALL of us in the 'younger generation' do believe the Back to the Future trilogy to be some of the best film trilogy EVER!! :agree:

fixed that for you

Disc O'Dave
22-07-2010, 07:33 PM
Moving swiftly onto some pictures....

Floodlights are very effective - it's so much brighter than when Jamie took his initial pictures

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4099/4819090100_959a2118d6.jpg

Lots of the rear cladding up now....

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4142/4819085050_462d085f94.jpg

The often mentioned "Coming around St Clair Street" first view....

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4097/4819099404_d8ef386312.jpg

Kyle A
22-07-2010, 07:37 PM
Agreed,

as of 2009....
Hibs have a 6.5 mortgage so you dont want to pay that in one go cheaper to pay that long term. Hibs also have other debt of £270,000 and were due £250,000 "payable on demand".

Profit for 2009 was £700,000 with a turnover of £7.7m

Dont really have a point but just shows if even if Hibs had taken out a mortgage to pay for the new stand everything would still be rosy and Hibs would still be in the best financial position in Scotland.

steviecarnie
22-07-2010, 07:42 PM
Moving swiftly onto some pictures....

Floodlights are very effective - it's so much brighter than when Jamie took his initial pictures

Lots of the rear cladding up now....

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4142/4819085050_462d085f94.jpg

Seeing the full white cladding, highlights to me the need for some form of banner or poster (ala Man United/Buildings up town) to give it some charactor and make it less out the box like.....just my opinion?

22-07-2010, 07:47 PM
as of 2009....
Hibs have a 6.5 mortgage so you dont want to pay that in one go cheaper to pay that long term. Hibs also have other debt of £270,000 and were due £250,000 "payable on demand".

Profit for 2009 was £700,000 with a turnover of £7.7m

Dont really have a point but just shows if even if Hibs had taken out a mortgage to pay for the new stand everything would still be rosy and Hibs would still be in the best financial position in Scotland.The new East stand has been paid for ..money was "ring fenced" for this project a while back ..

Disc O'Dave
22-07-2010, 07:56 PM
The view from Hawkhill Avenue

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4116/4819096326_4524e0364a.jpg

22-07-2010, 07:57 PM
Seeing the full white cladding, highlights to me the need for some form of banner or poster (ala Man United/Buildings up town) to give it some charactor and make it less out the box like.....just my opinion?

thank god we have the cantilevers for the roof or else we could have ended up with something like this -

http://mihaicomsulea.files.wordpress.com/2009/06/edinburghmay2009-128.jpg

Maybe when/ if the stand gets named they'll stick that along, quite like the idea of banners as they can be easily replaced before they degrade.

22-07-2010, 08:15 PM
Oi!!

And some of us of an older and more discerning generation would consider the "Back to the Future" trilogy as vastly inferior in every way to "Fistful of Dollars", "A Few Dollars More", and "The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly"....

Kyle A
22-07-2010, 08:17 PM
The new East stand has been paid for ..money was "ring fenced" for this project a while back ..

yep thats why i said "even if" hibs had to mortgage.

Still the finances are pretty impressive with year on year profit.

steviecarnie
22-07-2010, 08:19 PM
thank god we have the cantilevers for the roof or else we could have ended up with something like this -

http://mihaicomsulea.files.wordpress.com/2009/06/edinburghmay2009-128.jpg

Maybe when/ if the stand gets named they'll stick that along, quite like the idea of banners as they can be easily replaced before they degrade.

even something like this for the first couple of games, would be cheap and easy to replace.

http://i28.tinypic.com/6sz7mo.png

22-07-2010, 09:15 PM
The new East stand has been paid for ..money was "ring fenced" for this project a while back ..

Would be more than happy to be proved wrong but I dont see where in the accounts this is the case.

My reading of that was that they have a line of credit available to pay for it.

I wonder if the Morsten Assets "issue" that I will be honest enough to say I dont understand is the answer.

BTW I am not trying to rain on anyone's parade, I am trying on the basis of my understanding to rain in expectations a wee bit.

In that regard I have always felt the "net debt" issue a bit disingenuous. Because of the timing of Hibs accounts this figure offsets the season ticket money for the fothcoming season against the outstanding debt.

Its a nice headline but if the world stopped they would have to give that money back.

The debt is the mortgages and any short term loans less any retained cash from the previous year.

Make no mistake, Hibs are doing brilliantly well but we are a long long way from being debt free and need to continue to cut our cloth accordingly.

I feel this is a point the "net debt" spin totally misleads the support on and have told RP as much as IMO despite the much better relationship he and STF now enjoy with the support they could have saved years of angst by coming clean years ago.

I honestly think that at one time things were so bad financially (post McLeish) they didnt want to admit the full extent to the support and this was a way of fudging the issue.

I will personally rest a lot more content when the accounts to 31/7 2011 are prepared and we can see exactly what we owe to whom following the build.

I hope to God that they now have no major capital expenditure planned for ER or East Mains, although I might be persuaded a full size indoor pitch was required for East Mains.

We have come a long long way in a short time and the team on the park has suffered greatly.

Whilst it has improved, I personally think the real "dividend" on the park wont be seen for at least another 3 years and will require further player sales to get there.

The real answer as RP said is to spend £1 less than we take in.

I think we are a few years from doing so (excluding transfer monies received)

22-07-2010, 09:17 PM
serious question.

Are these the floodlights from the previous ones, simply dismantled into individual lights rather than a dozen(?) on the one stanchion?

22-07-2010, 09:26 PM
serious question.

Are these the floodlights from the previous ones, simply dismantled into individual lights rather than a dozen(?) on the one stanchion?

I doubt it - they won't be very expensive and I doubt the electrician would 'certify' second-hand fittings.

JoJo_07
22-07-2010, 09:29 PM

Would be more than happy to be proved wrong but I dont see where in the accounts this is the case.

Scott Lindsay claimed in the Scotsman (http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Hibs-boss-told-East-Stand.6095112.jp) that the money IS ring-fenced.

HibeeDave
22-07-2010, 09:34 PM
This is a mighty impressive view

The view from Hawkhill Avenue

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4116/4819096326_4524e0364a.jpg

The often mentioned "Coming around St Clair Street" first view....

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4097/4819099404_d8ef386312.jpg

Those flats need to come down, it spoils the view.

steviecarnie
22-07-2010, 09:37 PM
I doubt it - they won't be very expensive and I doubt the electrician would 'certify' second-hand fittings.

im not so sure this is RP. it wouldnt be a hard task to re-wire them into single bulbs, then run them on a circuit. but would prefer them to be shiny an new like everything else in the stand........except the turnstyles of course.

22-07-2010, 09:39 PM

I wonder if the Morsten Assets "issue" that I will be honest enough to say I dont understand is the answer.

BTW I am not trying to rain on anyone's parade, I am trying on the basis of my understanding to rain in expectations a wee bit.

In that regard I have always felt the "net debt" issue a bit disingenuous. Because of the timing of Hibs accounts this figure offsets the season ticket money for the fothcoming season against the outstanding debt.

Its a nice headline but if the world stopped they would have to give that money back.

The debt is the mortgages and any short term loans less any retained cash from the previous year.

Make no mistake, Hibs are doing brilliantly well but we are a long long way from being debt free and need to continue to cut our cloth accordingly.

I feel this is a point the "net debt" spin totally misleads the support on and have told RP as much as IMO despite the much better relationship he and STF now enjoy with the support they could have saved years of angst by coming clean years ago.

I honestly think that at one time things were so bad financially (post McLeish) they didnt want to admit the full extent to the support and this was a way of fudging the issue.

I will personally rest a lot more content when the accounts to 31/7 2011 are prepared and we can see exactly what we owe to whom following the build.

I hope to God that they now have no major capital expenditure planned for ER or East Mains, although I might be persuaded a full size indoor pitch was required for East Mains.

We have come a long long way in a short time and the team on the park has suffered greatly.

Whilst it has improved, I personally think the real "dividend" on the park wont be seen for at least another 3 years and will require further player sales to get there.

GGTTHFrom Scott Lindsay ...

Revealing that much of the cost of the 6,400-seater stand, which should open a few weeks into next season, has already been ring-fenced, Lindsay said: "The manager's budget is completely different.

"There have been incremental improvements to that over the last five years, incremental growth and investment in the playing staff, both in terms of wages and transfer fees and we don't plan to deviate from that.

"We said we had ring-fenced cash for the new stand previously and that has not changed."

What more proof do you want ?

steviecarnie
22-07-2010, 09:43 PM
This is a mighty impressive view

Those flats need to come down, it spoils the view.

it almost looks like part of the stand.

22-07-2010, 09:45 PM

They are the old ones tarted up with extra new ones added :wink:

The new ones are bigger than the old ones

22-07-2010, 10:03 PM
it almost looks like part of the stand.na, buy them,knock them doon and make the graveyard a car park while they are at it

22-07-2010, 10:07 PM
na, buy them,knock them doon and make the graveyard a car park while they are at itOi ..i have relatives buried in there ...:rolleyes:

22-07-2010, 10:09 PM
na, buy them,knock them doon and make the graveyard a car park while they are at it

Could we get access to it through the B&Q car park though, because that would be much easier:hmmm:

22-07-2010, 10:11 PM
Oi ..i have relatives buried in there ...:rolleyes:

What if they got complimentary season tickets:greengrin

22-07-2010, 10:16 PM
What if they got complimentary season tickets:greengrinThey are yams though ..forgot tae mention that ...:greengrin

22-07-2010, 10:20 PM
Oi ..i have relatives buried in there ...:rolleyes:awrite K,we'll just knock doon the silly wee flats. nae cousins o' yours bide in them do they:wink:

steviecarnie
22-07-2010, 10:28 PM
Oi ..i have relatives buried in there ...:rolleyes:

so does yogi hughes,

they flats are pretty random tho, just one block on its own. :confused:

22-07-2010, 11:00 PM
What if they got complimentary season tickets:greengrin

could sit them in the west stand :duck:

23-07-2010, 12:50 AM
awrite K,we'll just knock doon the silly wee flats. nae cousins o' yours bide in them do they:wink:Naw ...och even if there was ..flatten them ...:greengrin

blairwallace
23-07-2010, 01:31 AM
They are yams though ..forgot tae mention that ...:greengrin

well....back to the car park idea :thumbsup:

Hibs07p
23-07-2010, 05:32 AM
well....back to the car park idea :thumbsup:

I would have thought a caravan park, drug den, and automated peg making factory would be more appropriate. :cool2:

23-07-2010, 09:00 AM
From Scott Lindsay ...

Revealing that much of the cost of the 6,400-seater stand, which should open a few weeks into next season, has already been ring-fenced, Lindsay said: "The manager's budget is completely different.

"There have been incremental improvements to that over the last five years, incremental growth and investment in the playing staff, both in terms of wages and transfer fees and we don't plan to deviate from that.

"We said we had ring-fenced cash for the new stand previously and that has not changed."

I dont want any proof. I dont think I had asked for anyone to prove it did I?

I still cant see it in the accounts but I am a Hibs supporting layman trying to understand the situation and he is the CEO better qualified and with better access than I to information.

I hadnt previously seen that quote, so as I said more than happy to be proved wrong.

TBH I dont see any need for that type of tone in your reply either. Do you?

Its not as if I am at the wind up.

23-07-2010, 09:06 AM
I would have thought a caravan park, drug den, and automated peg making factory would be more appropriate. :cool2:

Automated :grr: Whit will ma 14 wains dae noo?

23-07-2010, 09:22 AM
Automated :grr: Whit will ma 14 wains dae noo?

Sell skag, like the rest of our wains.:greengrin

23-07-2010, 11:00 AM
I dont want any proof. I dont think I had asked for anyone to prove it did I?

I still cant see it in the accounts but I am a Hibs supporting layman trying to understand the situation and he is the CEO better qualified and with better access than I to information.

I hadnt previously seen that quote, so as I said more than happy to be proved wrong.

TBH I dont see any need for that type of tone in your reply either. Do you?

Its not as if I am at the wind up.What the hell are you on about ..tone in my reply !!! :confused:

FFS we are having a discussion about the cost of hibs stand & i went away & got word from the horses mouth ..next time i wont bother my arse since you are getting aw bloody precious !!

There..thats ma dummy spat oot noo ..

Groathillgrump
23-07-2010, 11:14 AM
What the hell are you on about ..tone in my reply !!! :confused:

FFS we are having a discussion about the cost of hibs stand & i went away & got word from the horses mouth ..next time i wont bother my arse since you are getting aw bloody precious !!

There..thats ma dummy spat oot noo ..

Can I be Devil's Advocate here, gentleman.

Happyhibbie, I think Thorburn1 took exception to your "What more proof do you want?" statement. It may have been softened a little had you put a smiley face or a wink after it.

Now shake hands and give each other a big manly hug. :greengrin

23-07-2010, 11:22 AM
No Man hugs....do it properly :wink:

23-07-2010, 11:25 AM

Happyhibbie, I think Thorburn1 took exception to your "What more proof do you want?" statement. It may have been softened a little had you put a smiley face or a wink after it.

Now shake hands and give each other a big manly hug. :greengrinOch that was hardly "tone"..jeezo ....i was simply adding to the is it/aint it debate & whether i put in a smiley is neither here nor there ..i wasnt looking for an arguement, way too many over sensitive folk on here ..

Im away for my medication & afternoon nap...

Arch Stanton
23-07-2010, 11:32 AM
From Scott Lindsay ...

Revealing that much of the cost of the 6,400-seater stand, which should open a few weeks into next season, has already been ring-fenced, Lindsay said "The manager's budget is completely different."

I would read it differently (and not just to be contrary either :greengrin ) - the fact they have made provision in the budget doesn't necessarily mean they have a wedge of cash ready to hand over.

23-07-2010, 11:36 AM
I would read it differently (and not just to be contrary either :greengrin ) - the fact they have made provision in the budget doesn't necessarily mean they have a wedge of cash ready to hand over.Of course ...i dont think anyone but those at the top know exactly how much was "ring fenced" ..i suppose though we take comfort from those words & assume at the very least the bulk of the finance is in place ...:agree:

Caversham Green
23-07-2010, 12:36 PM
From Scott Lindsay ...

I would read it differently (and not just to be contrary either :greengrin ) - the fact they have made provision in the budget doesn't necessarily mean they have a wedge of cash ready to hand over.

It's a bit of both actually. As someone who has used the term "ring-fenced" on many occasions (I'm damn sure I never will again though) my interpretation of SL's comments would be something along the lines of..."We have a proportion of the money in place that we will not use for any other purpose. We also have to acquire further funds, but that will not impinge on the manager's budget (or any other budgets)."

The main point is that the money is set aside and cannot be used for other purposes (i.e. a metaphorical fence has been built round it) rather than no more funding being needed.

Caversham Green
23-07-2010, 01:02 PM

I wonder if the Morsten Assets "issue" that I will be honest enough to say I dont understand is the answer. No, the Morston shares are nothing to do with the East Stand.

In that regard I have always felt the "net debt" issue a bit disingenuous. Because of the timing of Hibs accounts this figure offsets the season ticket money for the fothcoming season against the outstanding debt. I agree - I consider it to be very misleading in any business, but more so in football where cashflow is very seasonal

Make no mistake, Hibs are doing brilliantly well but we are a long long way from being debt free and need to continue to cut our cloth accordingly. :agree:

I feel this is a point the "net debt" spin totally misleads the support on and have told RP as much as IMO despite the much better relationship he and STF now enjoy with the support they could have saved years of angst by coming clean years ago. In fairness to them, net debt is a widely used convention for summary reporting in all businesses and I think pretty much all football clubs use it.

I honestly think that at one time things were so bad financially (post McLeish) they didnt want to admit the full extent to the support and this was a way of fudging the issue. I do wonder if we sold O'Connor when we did because we had no choice.

Whilst it has improved, I personally think the real "dividend" on the park wont be seen for at least another 3 years and will require further player sales to get there. Sadly, I think player sales will always be an intrinsic part of the club's business.

I agree largely with what you say (see comments in green), but at 31 July 2009 we had £2.9m in the bank and £1.8m to come in. We have also received add-ons from Fletcher's transfer which won't be included in that. That cash includes ST money to part finance wages etc for the coming year, but it doesn't look as if the club will have to have found an awful lot more than they had. I also have a feeling that 2009/10's results will be slightly better than 2008/09 (before player trading) - higher league position, better cup runs etc so there's reason for cautious optimism IMO.

23-07-2010, 01:17 PM
I agree largely with what you say (see comments in green), but at 31 July 2009 we had £2.9m in the bank and £1.8m to come in. We have also received add-ons from Fletcher's transfer which won't be included in that. That cash includes ST money to part finance wages etc for the coming year, but it doesn't look as if the club will have to have found an awful lot more than they had. I also have a feeling that 2009/10's results will be slightly better than 2008/09 (before player trading) - higher league position, better cup runs etc so there's reason for cautious optimism IMO.

I hope you are right and I am wrong

I just feel that with the inevitable lost revenue from the South Stand as the East Standers were decanted that this will leave a bigger hole than last year.

I also think the players wages will have increased quite significantly and the costs of acquiring Miller & Stokes will be substantial.

Time will tell

23-07-2010, 01:27 PM

Now shake hands and give each other a big manly hug. :greengrin

Thats exactly it.

I really dont see the need for all the hostility that goes on on here, it just makes you think why bother contributing to the debate?

As long as Hibees are honestly debating issues I think it could be done with a bit more civility.

I have noticed a tone from some of the Admins on here along the lines that they can be as abrupt as they want and the peasants will just have to like it or lump it.

Not really fussed that much as I can hold my end up in any debate, but IMO it would make the experience a bit better for everyone involved.

I also think that its a worsening trend and if we want to improve matters any journey starts with a first step.

23-07-2010, 02:12 PM
Thats exactly it.

I really dont see the need for all the hostility that goes on on here, it just makes you think why bother contributing to the debate?

As long as Hibees are honestly debating issues I think it could be done with a bit more civility.

I have noticed a tone from some of the Admins on here along the lines that they can be as abrupt as they want and the peasants will just have to like it or lump it.

Not really fussed that much as I can hold my end up in any debate, but IMO it would make the experience a bit better for everyone involved.

I also think that its a worsening trend and if we want to improve matters any journey starts with a first step.I think thats very unfair, we deal with thousands of posts a week & amongst that we deal with a lot of **** in these posts, we also take a hell of a lot of abuse which you dont see, were on a lose lose, we dont run this place to be abused either but tough **** we get it, were human though ..take away the Admin tag & remember we are just ordinary hibbies like you so pardon us for being abrupt occassionaly !!!

Now can we get back on topic please ..

23-07-2010, 02:12 PM
Thats exactly it.

I also think that its a worsening trend and if we want to improve matters any journey starts with a first step.

Remember that we infer our own tone onto emails which may not reflect the tone of the sender.

hibeeleicester
23-07-2010, 02:30 PM
Any new pics? :thumbsup:

Lets not ruin this great thread!

23-07-2010, 02:31 PM
I hope you are right and I am wrong

I just feel that with the inevitable lost revenue from the South Stand as the East Standers were decanted that this will leave a bigger hole than last year.

I also think the players wages will have increased quite significantly and the costs of acquiring Miller & Stokes will be substantial.

Time will tell

In the recent history of falling attendances over the whole season, SPL only, last years wasn’t too bad. And as has already been said better cup runs will have helped ease the pain.

2009/10 ... 231,119 .... -9,878
2008/09 ... 240,997 ... -25,072
2007/08 ... 266,069 ... -11,077
2006/07 ... 277,146

23-07-2010, 02:54 PM
I think thats very unfair, we deal with thousands of posts a week & amongst that we deal with a lot of **** in these posts, we also take a hell of a lot of abuse which you dont see, were on a lose lose, we dont run this place to be abused either but tough **** we get it, were human though ..take away the Admin tag & remember we are just ordinary hibbies like you so pardon us for being abrupt occassionaly !!!

Now can we get back on topic please ..

Fair enough and for what its worth my sympathys.

I had thought of re-writing the post to reflect the fact that the the general tone of the place and in-fighting was far worse than it used to be.

I suppose that inevitably feeds through to the admins.

The initial reaction of many on here is to criticise people who have a contrary viewpoint rather than debate their views.

Its a less enjoyable place as a result.

Now back on topic.....

Sherlock Jones
23-07-2010, 03:01 PM
Taken at around 12:30 today... Photies... (http://grahamjones.awardspace.com/hibs/easterroad_23_07_10/easterroad_23_07_10.html)

23-07-2010, 03:03 PM
Fair enough and for what its worth my sympathys.

I had thought of re-writing the post to reflect the fact that the the general tone of the place and in-fighting was far worse than it used to be.

I suppose that inevitably feeds through to the admins.

The initial reaction of many on here is to criticise people who have a contrary viewpoint rather than debate their views.

Its a less enjoyable place as a result.

Now back on topic.....Thats not good but i can assure you we work our asses of trying to eradicate that nonsense...most we can deal with but we cant be everywhere everyminute of the day, we have full time jobs too but thats why we rely on others to alert us ..:agree:

Anyway ..back on topic ..

23-07-2010, 03:07 PM
Taken at around 12:30 today... Photies... (http://grahamjones.awardspace.com/hibs/easterroad_23_07_10/easterroad_23_07_10.html)Cheers G...that pitch ...looks so lush !!! :agree:

23-07-2010, 03:14 PM
The girl in the ticket office told me today that East Stand tickets were delayed in being sent out because the seating was changing all the time. She said the architect had been constantly chooping and changing rows and seats !

Seems a bit strange seeing as most are in??

23-07-2010, 03:14 PM
Does anyone think a bare-knuckle fist fight between Thorburn1 and happyhibbie would be a good way to open the new stand?

Disc O'Dave could take the official photographs to round off this thread in style. :greengrin