View Full Version : new east stand progress (inc Pictures)

04-05-2010, 09:31 AM
just for anyone who's passing by down easter road way, take a wee deek in and you might see the stand starting to take shape!
the steel is due to be delivered today so expect to see progress on the actuall structure over the next few days and weeks.

04-05-2010, 09:34 AM
just for anyone who's passing by down easter road way, take a wee deek in and you might see the stand starting to take shape!
the steel is due to be delivered today so expect to see progress on the actuall structure over the next few days and weeks.

About time we had some good news. :rolleyes:

Any chance of some of that steel being injected into the team tomorrow evening? :devil:

04-05-2010, 11:17 AM
Work has started to dig up the pitch...........

04-05-2010, 11:36 AM

The pitch just looks the same as it has done for months to me.:greengrin

04-05-2010, 11:37 AM

Your fine is in the post.

Mister P
04-05-2010, 11:38 AM

that's no even funny mate...it's an absolute disgrace that you're 100% accurate.

04-05-2010, 11:40 AM
Your fine is in the post.

steviecarnie
04-05-2010, 01:00 PM
Got a friend who stays in hawkhill just put this up on facebook
http://i43.tinypic.com/qrxnjl.jpg

M8UDB
04-05-2010, 02:02 PM
Got a friend who stays in hawkhill just put this up on facebook
http://i43.tinypic.com/qrxnjl.jpg

Just join the corners there while ur at it please Mr Petrie, that would look top notch :thumbsup:

04-05-2010, 02:36 PM
This is going to be the fastest erection in SPL history

Another first for Hibs :greengrin

04-05-2010, 03:07 PM

Dunno about that - Zemmama did it for me after 12 seconds. :wink:

04-05-2010, 03:09 PM

Hmm. Maybe not the fastest, but certainly one of the biggest.

But as the actress said to the bishop, the real question is how long is it going to stay up.... :devil:

Mister P
04-05-2010, 03:32 PM
corners would look fab filled in....but only if there were bums on seats there, which aint gonna happen in the near future.

does anyone know if the stands are designed to adapt to filling in the corners if the need arises in the future?

04-05-2010, 03:41 PM
corners would look fab filled in....but only if there were bums on seats there, which aint gonna happen in the near future.

does anyone know if the stands are designed to adapt to filling in the corners if the need arises in the future?

I think the plasticy stuff on the outside of the stands means it can be filled in, althought its not possible in each side of the stadiums, such as the Corner of the Famous Five and the Main stand, where there is not enough room. If you look at the reason why the Famours Five is almost slanted if you like is because it has to come in to follow Albion Road behind. Check it out on google earth and you will get my drift :greengrin

I THINK this is the case?

The_Sauz
04-05-2010, 04:35 PM
When the original design for the stadium was made, they said that it was designed so the corners could be filled at a later date should we need it.
So unless Scotland host the euro championship, then we will never need to do anymore work to the ground I'm afraid :boo hoo:

Big_D
04-05-2010, 05:03 PM

Are the goals still in place ? seems strange

04-05-2010, 05:23 PM
Are the goals still in place ? seems strange

the goals are on the track, pushed up against the advertising boarding.

04-05-2010, 05:31 PM
they seem to have 1 frame in place. sorry about the tree's :grr:http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/6881/sam0172q.jpg (http://img691.imageshack.us/i/sam0172q.jpg/)

Dalkeith Hibee
04-05-2010, 08:34 PM
they seem to have 1 frame in place. sorry about the tree's :grr:http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/6881/sam0172q.jpg (http://img691.imageshack.us/i/sam0172q.jpg/)

Looks like the kinda photo that a sex pest would take. Hiding in the bushes looking for a victim.

Sorry had to be said

04-05-2010, 08:36 PM

A frame! :grr: Thought we were building a new stand and not a kiddies play area.

Petrie get it sorted. :greengrin

Gerard
04-05-2010, 08:39 PM
A frame! :grr: Thought we were building a new stand and not a kiddies play area.

Petrie get it sorted. :greengrin

Easy, just charge the people to see the stand being built. It is useful money :wink::thumbsup::devil:
Gerard

04-05-2010, 08:50 PM
Looks like the kinda photo that a sex pest would take. Hiding in the bushes looking for a victim.

Sorry had to be said

haha sounds like the kinda thought that only a sex pest would think of when looking at an innocent picture taken from my back garden. :wink:

sorry had to be said.

Big_D
04-05-2010, 08:59 PM
the goals are on the track, pushed up against the advertising boarding.

Ah right , cheers :thumbsup:

04-05-2010, 09:04 PM
When the original design for the stadium was made, they said that it was designed so the corners could be filled at a later date should we need it.
So unless Scotland host the euro championship, then we will never need to do anymore work to the ground I'm afraid :boo hoo:

i think the current plans include for cladding the corners of the stand.

This would help with wind and also hold the atmosphere a bit!

I'll check if this is true though!

04-05-2010, 09:09 PM
Another view of today's work. Without the trees :greengrin

04-05-2010, 09:10 PM
About time we had some good news. :rolleyes:

Any chance of some of that steel being injected into the team tomorrow evening? :devil:
nice one :thumbsup:

04-05-2010, 09:13 PM

Looks quite bright over ER, considering the photo was taken at 10:08 at night. :greengrin

04-05-2010, 09:16 PM
Dunno about that - Zemmama did it for me after 12 seconds. :wink:
was that stokes or strokes :greengrin

04-05-2010, 09:31 PM
Can't wait to see the stand taking shape, hopefully .net could keep us up to date :wink:

I'll be through getting the new kit soon so I'll see for myself then :greengrin

04-05-2010, 09:39 PM

Gives you an idea of the steepness of the stand.

It's going to look amazing :thumbsup:

04-05-2010, 09:40 PM
haha sounds like the kinda thought that only a sex pest would think of when looking at an innocent picture taken from my back garden. :wink:

sorry had to be said.

As a sex pest I disagree with Dalkeith Hibee.

francobaresi
05-05-2010, 09:13 AM

Have you ever worked with BRIXMIS before? Looks like one of their secret snaps:wink:

05-05-2010, 11:19 AM
Two good pics here courtesy of the bounce.

05-05-2010, 12:24 PM
As a sex pest I disagree with Dalkeith Hibee.

I agree. :greengrin

05-05-2010, 12:37 PM

Well done rodders pitch looks better than it has done since xmas:greengrin

05-05-2010, 02:00 PM
Well done rodders pitch looks better than it has done since xmas:greengrin

There seems to be a few people on here who have a thousand pounds to spare :wink: :greengrin

05-05-2010, 04:13 PM

05-05-2010, 04:29 PM
Great to see some progress on the stand- think it's fair to say it will be steep!! :greengrin

Wee question though- I'm under the impression there is a walkway about a quarter of the way up the stand? Doesn't look like it from the pictures?

I was sad to see the East go but the new stand will be a cracker :agree:

05-05-2010, 04:30 PM

Is that not just 1 pic of the Motherwell main stand and then 1 of their pitch?? :confused:

hibee62
05-05-2010, 04:40 PM
Great to see some progress on the stand- think it's fair to say it will be steep!! :greengrin

Wee question though- I'm under the impression there is a walkway about a quarter of the way up the stand? Doesn't look like it from the pictures?

I was sad to see the East go but the new stand will be a cracker :agree:

Looking over at the weekend, it looked like the level that the stand sits on is above the pitch, ie the stand sort of sits on a platform. There will be more seast below this point I think...

05-05-2010, 04:41 PM
Good stuff.

05-05-2010, 05:23 PM
Looking over at the weekend, it looked like the level that the stand sits on is above the pitch, ie the stand sort of sits on a platform. There will be more seast below this point I think...

there is :agree: it helps save on the excavation and muck shift costs doing it that way.

Jamie
05-05-2010, 06:11 PM
Gonna look bloody amazing, they are fair getting it up (oh errrrr matron)

there is :agree: it helps save on the excavation and muck shift costs doing it that way.

and steel costs :thumbsup:

05-05-2010, 06:18 PM

Christ! They're no' hanging about are they. It's going to look terrific once it's finished.

The_Sauz
05-05-2010, 06:18 PM

The Brian Kerr of Hibs.net :greengrin

05-05-2010, 07:42 PM

S'gonna be good!!

The futures bright :flag: :thumbsup:

Biffa Bacon
06-05-2010, 08:03 PM
Is it just me, or does the new stand look like it'll not be the same height as the other three? From the picture from this weeks newsletter, it looks like it'll be quite a bit shorter.

I thought the furthest row back would have been at the same height as the furthest row back in the other three? :dunno:

06-05-2010, 08:06 PM
Is it just me, or does the new stand look like it'll not be the same height as the other three? From the picture from this weeks newsletter, it looks like it'll be quite a bit shorter.

I thought the furthest row back would have been at the same height as the furthest row back in the other three? :dunno:

it is, its just the steel work for the roofs not in place.

An optical illusion me thinks!

06-05-2010, 08:08 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/EastStand/0,,10290,00.html

Should be ready this time next week! :greengrin

06-05-2010, 08:17 PM
Looking forward to taking my seat in it.

I worry that we still won't be able to create as good an atmosphere as the Blackpool v Bristol City game although with Yogi in charge of the Hibee goalscoring machine I'm sure that won't be a problem :stirrer:

06-05-2010, 08:22 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/EastStand/0,,10290,00.html (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/EastStand/0,,10290,00.html)

Should be ready this time next week! :greengrin

That is looking like one very steep stand :greengrin

06-05-2010, 08:23 PM
There's not a walkway in the bottom picture?

06-05-2010, 08:32 PM
There's not a walkway in the bottom picture?Four steps up ..just where the entrance is ..

06-05-2010, 08:49 PM
Blimey - Didn't know IKEA did stadiums.....thats flat pack quick erection.

The rumours of it maybe being ready for season start don't look so unbeleivable now

Much easier that pitch is being redone giving access from pitch side as well - very good build programming

I quite fancy row 5 with the walkway in front to make standing space bigger :wink:

06-05-2010, 08:52 PM
Four steps up ..just where the entrance is ..
Your eyesight's a damn sight better than mine!!

06-05-2010, 08:54 PM
Your eyesight's a damn sight better than mine!!Aye ..its no bad for 43...:wink:

06-05-2010, 08:56 PM
Great stuff indeed.:thumbsup:

Announce that we are going to build it then actually start building it :greengrin

Austinho
06-05-2010, 09:20 PM
Am I seeing things, or is the green steel on the new stand a lot darker than the others?

steviecarnie
06-05-2010, 09:20 PM
rear view - think it was just camera angle that made it look smaller.http://i44.tinypic.com/140yw6c.jpg

06-05-2010, 09:37 PM
Looking forward to watching it progress more and more.

Gonna look brilliant once it's complete.:thumbsup:

06-05-2010, 09:48 PM
Jamie has taken some great Photos on the bounce (http://hibeesbounce.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1205365#post1205365)

06-05-2010, 09:57 PM
Jamie has taken some great Photos on the bounce (http://hibeesbounce.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1205365#post1205365)

Some great close up pics there, cheers.

06-05-2010, 10:37 PM
I thought the stand was ment to be the same height as the west? :confused:
It looks like its going to be abit smaller..?

steviecarnie
06-05-2010, 11:25 PM

deja vu..........................................its the angle.

Jamie
06-05-2010, 11:30 PM
deja vu..........................................its the angle.

aye and I think the roof will add slightly to height that's there just now :thumbsup:

steviecarnie
06-05-2010, 11:45 PM
aye and I think the roof will add slightly to height that's there just now :thumbsup:

think there's roughly 30 steps/rows there.

07-05-2010, 12:22 AM
Thanks for the updates guys.

Some great pictures :thumbsup:

It will be very steep and the roof coming on will add the height to bring it up to the other stands.

Once complete it will look amazing :notworthy:

Biffa Bacon
07-05-2010, 09:45 AM
think there's roughly 30 steps/rows there.

Anyone know how many rows are across the two tiers in the other stands just now? Must be about 38-40? Telling ye, its going to be shorter. Especially when you consider the height of the wall between the two tiers also.

steviecarnie
07-05-2010, 09:50 AM
Anyone know how many rows are across the two tiers in the other stands just now? Must be about 38-40? Telling ye, its going to be shorter. Especially when you consider the height of the wall between the two tiers also.

Think about it!!!!!!! why would they build a shorter stand it would look ridiculous, it will be the same height. Thats roughly 30 rows with a walkway taking up space.

07-05-2010, 09:57 AM

It's definitely the same overall height as the other 3 stands, as per the approved, revised planning drawings.

07-05-2010, 09:57 AM
Anyone know how many rows are across the two tiers in the other stands just now? Must be about 38-40? Telling ye, its going to be shorter. Especially when you consider the height of the wall between the two tiers also.20 rows bottom West 20 rows top West..im assuming that will be the same in the North & South ..if you look at the pics from Jamie's link (bounce) then you will see there are also about 40 rows in the new East ...calm doon man ...they are all the same height ..:greengrin

07-05-2010, 10:04 AM
20 rows bottom West 20 rows top West..im assuming that will be the same in the North & South ..if you look at the pics from Jamie's link (bounce) then you will see there are also about 40 rows in the new East ...calm doon man ...they are all the same height ..:greengrinAs someone mentioned, i think it's an optical illusion. The back of the new East will be less tall than the other 3 stands because it looks like the ground level/entrance has bee raised, which negates putting in stairways = cheaper!

I may also be talking baws and would quite happily be corrected.

07-05-2010, 10:14 AM
We'll certainly have the best stadium in the 1st division the season after next.

07-05-2010, 10:15 AM
As someone mentioned, i think it's an optical illusion. The back of the new East will be less tall than the other 3 stands because it looks like the ground level/entrance has bee raised, which negates putting in stairways = cheaper!

:greengrinNaw, i think you are correct, saves cost on steel, groundworks etc ...:agree:

07-05-2010, 10:19 AM
Planning drawings

http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=53013372&ext=pdf

07-05-2010, 10:58 AM
33 rows of seats.

http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=54110524&ext=pdf

07-05-2010, 12:24 PM
As someone mentioned, i think it's an optical illusion. The back of the new East will be less tall than the other 3 stands because it looks like the ground level/entrance has bee raised, which negates putting in stairways = cheaper!

No, I think it's clear that the roof will be at the same height as the roofs of the other, but as you say, the fact that the ground level on the East side of the pitch is higher than that on the other three sides means that the back wall won't be as high ground-to-roof as the back walls of the others.

The fact that the rake will be much steeper than the lower tiers of the North, West and South stands is probably what's making people think this stand is smaller.

Cracking stadium - all we need now is a team to match it. :rolleyes:

07-05-2010, 01:43 PM
No, I think it's clear that the roof will be at the same height as the roofs of the other, but as you say, the fact that the ground level on the East side of the pitch is higher than that on the other three sides means that the back wall won't be as high ground-to-roof as the back walls of the others.

The fact that the rake will be much steeper than the lower tiers of the North, West and South stands is probably what's making people think this stand is smaller.

Cracking stadium - all we need now is a team to match it. :rolleyes:
Will we still get to walk up some steps to get into the East now then? :greengrin

7Hero
07-05-2010, 03:10 PM
heres a question for you, how come the west has less space between the seats than the famous five. What space do you reckon will be in the new east...

2 questions actually :greengrin

07-05-2010, 03:27 PM
Planning drawings

http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=53013372&ext=pdf

Thanks for the link.

Clearly shows the roof will be the same height as the others :agree:

07-05-2010, 03:34 PM
It's gonna be a quick erection fir sure. It should named the Viagra Stand.

07-05-2010, 03:49 PM

Agreed, greay pics from Jamie.:thumbsup:

07-05-2010, 04:14 PM
heres a question for you, how come the west has less space between the seats than the famous five. What space do you reckon will be in the new east...

I've never sat in the FF. I have been reliably informed the spacing of the seats in the new East will be the same as the upper deck of the West.

07-05-2010, 04:51 PM
Rows of seats in each stand:

West Upper: 17
West Lower: 19
Total = 36 Rows
(West Upper overhangs rear two rows of West Lower)

FF Upper: 16 + 1 walkway Row
FF Lower: 17
Total = 34 Rows
(South is the same)

East: 33 + 1 walkway row.
Total = 34 Rows.

07-05-2010, 05:01 PM
Rows of seats in each stand:

West Upper: 17
West Lower: 19
Total = 36 Rows
(West Upper overhangs rear two rows of West Lower)

FF Upper: 16 + 1 walkway Row
FF Lower: 17
Total = 34 Rows
(South is the same)

East: 33 + 1 walkway row.
Total = 34 Rows.

Does that take account of the rows currently being taken out of the west stand?

07-05-2010, 06:00 PM
Agreed, greay pics from Jamie.:thumbsup:

There's some new ones in there that prove the new stand is the same height for any doubters lol

07-05-2010, 06:16 PM
It's gonna be a quick erection fir sure. It should named the Viagra Stand. :greengrin
on that, why is the south not called the dunbar end anymore ? :confused:

07-05-2010, 06:32 PM

I don't really mind to be honest as i'll be standing in the new East anyway, i'm sure it will be the same case for a few others aswell.:agree:

Disc O'Dave
07-05-2010, 06:47 PM
A shot from this evening.....they are zooming along.

07-05-2010, 09:59 PM
From post 58 and 59 here looks like the front rows of the West have gone too!

http://hibeesbounce.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1205365#post1205365

What I want to see s how they change the design as the front couple of rows are being taken out but hows that going to affect the concourse and steps to the seats ???

The pitch development is well underway - did I read somewhere it's been seeded or are they turfing it strips ?

07-05-2010, 10:38 PM
on that, why is the south not called the dunbar end anymore ? :confused:
cause its south east.

07-05-2010, 11:07 PM
cause its south east.Or perhaps the Dunbar juice factory is long gone ..

08-05-2010, 10:14 AM
A shot from this evening.....they are zooming along.
They're making great progress! That's already looking something to be proud of.

08-05-2010, 10:42 AM
From post 58 and 59 here looks like the front rows of the West have gone too!

http://hibeesbounce.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1205365#post1205365

What I want to see s how they change the design as the front couple of rows are being taken out but hows that going to affect the concourse and steps to the seats ?? ?

I would imagine the new row a (formerly row c) will be brought down to ground level, meaning the only row affected will be that one with the rest remaining consistent. I would imagine the steps wouldn't be an issue as thy can just put the same amount of steps
up just steeper.

I'm curious as to whether we'll see a change in the dugouts, we've seem with East Mains that when builing something new, the board like to kit it out properly. Old Trafford style managerial seats that wouldn't look out of place in a Ferrari?

08-05-2010, 11:05 AM
Great pics.

Glad to see them removing rows from the west, was worried the goals wouldnt be central to the FF and South and the ground would look unbalanced. Which would be a disaster for my ongoing OCD.

Even if the team are playing poorly at the moment the ground itself should pull a few folk in at the start of next season just out of curiosity.

There are clubs in the EPL who cant match what ER will be like next season.

Say what you like about on the pitch. As far as off it goes there aint a club in Scotland outside of the OF ( not to mention loads in the footballing Nirvana that is England ) who will be even close to a ground as good as ER by the start of next season. Well done the tash and STF.

Now all we have to do is fill it.

Hmmmmm :confused:

08-05-2010, 12:36 PM
Great pics.

Glad to see them removing rows from the west, was worried the goals wouldnt be central to the FF and South and the ground would look unbalanced. Which would be a disaster for my ongoing OCD.

Even if the team are playing poorly at the moment the ground itself should pull a few folk in at the start of next season just out of curiosity.

There are clubs in the EPL who cant match what ER will be like next season.

Say what you like about on the pitch. As far as off it goes there aint a club in Scotland outside of the OF ( not to mention loads in the footballing Nirvana that is England ) who will be even close to a ground as good as ER by the start of next season. Well done the tash and STF.

Now all we have to do is fill it.

Hmmmmm :confused:

I take your point exactly.

And agree.

Call me quirky, but I've always thought that "on the pitch" was what counted with football clubs.

"Off the pitch" is what goes on to provide a winning team ON the pitch.

I share your appreciation of the boards' work in completely rebuilding the stadium, according to plan and on time, and on the establishment of the training facilities at East Mains. I can find no fault with this, especially since it's been achieved over a period in which the club's debt has been reduced and its financial position stabilised. In financial and infrastructure terms, Hibs are one of the best-run clubs in the business.

This does need, however, to flow over into the football. There's no point in having all this unless the football on show at the stadium is attractive enough and successful enough to bring in the crowds and generate income to allow farther development of the team.

In the end of the day, I don't look at the financial pages to see how Hibs are doing. I look at the League table, and the results page, and the fixture list. Cup semi-finals and finals, European nights, big matches to decide Champions' League places and championship deciders is what I want to see.

In so many ways our board have shown themselves to be wise, responsible, and committed to developing the facilities and situation of the club. TBH, what I need to begin to see now is some of that wisdom, responsibility and commitment applied to making sure we have a team on the park commensurate with the standard of the facilities we possess.

If the board bring in the right people and ask the right questions and apply the same insight and intelligence to the question of team-building as they have to the rest of the business, we can do this. We have to to, because that's what being a football club is all about.

If we don't then all the rest of it's just whistling in the wind.

08-05-2010, 12:45 PM
Call me quirky, but I always thought that "on the pitch" was what counted with football clubs.

I share your appreciation of the boards' work in completely rebuilding the stadium, according to plan and on time, and on the establishment of the training facilities at East Mains. I can find no fault with this, especially since it's been achieved over a period in which the club's debt has been reduced and its financial position stabilised. In financial and infrastructure terms, Hibs are one of the best-run clubs in the business.

This does need, however, to flow over into the football. There's no point in having all this unless the football on show at the stadium is attractive enough and successful enough to bring in the crowds and generate income to allow farther development of the team.

In the end of the day, I don't look at the financial pages to see how Hibs are doing. I look at the League table, and the results page, and the fixture list. Cup semi-finals and finals, European nights, big matches to decide Champions' League places and championship deciders is what I want to see.

In so many ways our board have shown themselves to be wise, responsible, and committed to developing the facilities and situation of the club. TBH, what I need to begin to see now is some of that wisdom, responsibility and commitment applied to making sure we have a team on the park commensurate with the standard of the facilities we possess.

If the board bring in the right people and ask the right questions and apply the same insight and intelligence to the question of team-building as they have to the rest of the business, we can do this. We have to to, because that's what being a football club is all about.

But surely the infrastructure we have all been told for years, is what needs to be in place, for the team to get stronger. The ground will be finished, east mains in place, and Europe :pray: in the new managers first year is progress off and ON the pitch. The secret now is to build on that, find the consistancy to qualify again next season, and the season after.

down the slope
08-05-2010, 01:05 PM
But surely the infrastructure we have all been told for years, is what needs to be in place, for the team to get stronger. The ground will be finished, east mains in place, and Europe :pray: in the new managers first year is progress off and ON the pitch. The secret now is to build on that, find the consistancy to qualify again next season, and the season after.

Thank you John Hughes agent !. Progress my erse, worst run of results since Duf Jimmy.

08-05-2010, 01:13 PM
Thank you John Hughes agent !. Progress my erse, worst run of results since Duf Jimmy.

Ah **** it, lets give up.

08-05-2010, 01:18 PM

That's what I'm saying. :agree:

"Hope deferred maketh the heart sick," as a wise man once said.

I just want to see it - soon.

08-05-2010, 01:27 PM
That's what I'm saying. :agree:

"Hope deferred maketh the heart sick," as a wise man once said.

I just want to see it - soon.

I was fed up being patient, but i now know it was worth it. I can understand people being fed up when we are struggling, but 1 game from Europe, we should be backing the club, some of our fans seem incapable of this, and imho seem to want us to fail.:grr:

08-05-2010, 01:34 PM
I was fed up being patient, but i now know it was worth it. I can understand people being fed up when we are struggling, but 1 game from Europe, we should be backing the club, some of our fans seem incapable of this, and imho seem to want us to fail.:grr:

Aw, bh, I don't want us to fail. I really hope we beat the Arabs, and the Beasts stuff the Mothers good and proper, just to wipe the oily smirk off Granpaw Broon's face.

That would mean a late entry into the CIS next year, and hopefully a couple of Euro ties to amuse us until then.

All I'm saying is, we have urgent work to do on the team over the close season, and we need to apply the same wisdom, insight and application to THAT work as we've done to the rest of the business.

Which means we need to sort out the freakin defence.

08-05-2010, 01:36 PM
Aw, bh, I don't want us to fail. I really hope we beat the Arabs, and the Beasts stuff the Mothers good and proper, just to wipe the oily smirk off Granpaw Broon's face.

That would mean a late entry into the CIS next year, and hopefully a couple of Euro ties to amuse us until then.

All I'm saying is, we have urgent work to do on the team over the close season, and we need to apply the same wisdom, insight and application to THAT work as we've done to the rest of the business.

Which means we need to sort out the freakin defence.

08-05-2010, 01:46 PM

Yes, offload some dross, make way for an imposing central defender, a pacy full back, two combative midfielders and we're in easy street for next season. GGTTH

08-05-2010, 01:59 PM
I take your point exactly.

And agree.

Call me quirky, but I've always thought that "on the pitch" was what counted with football clubs.

No disagreement from me.

I just thought a positive post in relation to some part of the clubs goings on was called for for once.

The most important part is, and always will be, the team on the park. I am hoping that the sort of players we are hoping to attract will take a look at ER and East Mains and decide that we are a good bet.

I dare say the club are hoping the same.

08-05-2010, 02:48 PM
The way I see it is - once the stadium is complete then that leaves the club / board no excuses not to invest in the team.

The infrastructure will be there so surely all other money can go into the playing side. Over time this should hopefully continue to see an increase in quality of player.

08-05-2010, 02:51 PM
Does that take account of the rows currently being taken out of the west stand?

No, that's the number of rows as at the end of the season.

Feed McGraw
08-05-2010, 03:00 PM
Watching this stand going up is more exciting than watching the team. :greengrin

The_Sauz
08-05-2010, 06:35 PM
Watching this stand going up is more exciting than watching the team. :greengrin
Just as long as it does not collapse as they put up the last section! :wink:

08-05-2010, 06:44 PM
Just as long as it does not collapse as they put up the last section! :wink:

The hibs way!

08-05-2010, 06:53 PM
Took my son round today to have a look at it. Looking great. Cant wait to see it up

08-05-2010, 07:05 PM
The way I see it is - once the stadium is complete then that leaves the club / board no excuses not to invest in the team.

The infrastructure will be there so surely all other money can go into the playing side. Over time this should hopefully continue to see an increase in quality of player.