View Full Version : Should Yogi Leave?

Mikeystewart
01-05-2010, 01:57 PM
either by stepping down or fired

I have been a supporter of Yogi all season but after our 6th consecutive defeat i am starting to have my doubts about his ability to tactically manage a team. yes he has an eye for a player yes he is an inspirational speaker and a very good with the press. But does he have the ability to effectively manage a dressing room of egos? ........ ultimately that is the question. And most importantly does the board of directors and Rod Petrie believe yogi is the right man to take hibs forward ... or will they punt the guy after 11 months in charge which has been hot and cold with plenty of good results at the start of the season but rarely a solid display where you felt hibs where in control of the game. yes or no simples ;->

alot of people including myself have been wearing the ohh he is an ex player/fan tinted glasses . we need to look at this as a results business and most other managers would have gone by now. dont want to turn this into another Mixu situation that leaves a bitter taste in the mouth.

01-05-2010, 01:59 PM
He needs to step down now.

-Cheap appointment
-Tactically inept
-Bought pish players (See cregg, mcbride)
-Talks the talk but NEVER walks the walk
-Cant change a game to save his life.

Bye Bye Hughes you fool.

01-05-2010, 02:03 PM
As soon as possible please.

2 wins in 16? Defeat after defeat.

Time is UP!

01-05-2010, 02:03 PM
My opinion hasn't changed one bit

I said a while ago that I wouldn't be back to ER till he leaves and going by the support of late others feel the same way.

01-05-2010, 02:04 PM
He needs to step down now.

-Cheap appointment
-Tactically inept
-Bought pish players (See cregg, mcbride)
-Talks the talk but NEVER walks the walk
-Cant change a game to save his life.

Bye Bye Hughes you fool.

until he got injured mcbride was possibly our player of the year

01-05-2010, 02:07 PM
Not only did we lose but we'll have to listen to his sh oite patter afterwards.

Talks for Scotland. Embarrassing

01-05-2010, 02:08 PM
Sadly yes. We'd need to finish the next couple of matches and there's no point binning him until the end of the season.

However, his interview a few weeks ago he said that overall we've improved on last year, challenging for Europe etc. We're two very likely defeats away from being in a position no better than in Paatelainen's last season for which he was sacked.

cheltenhamhibee
01-05-2010, 02:08 PM
voted for him to go, the run since xmas has been worse than anything that mixu had, think its about time for a manager with no previous hibs links, no sentimentality involved, mowbray and big eck were the last two like that and we had brilliant times under their leadership, would like to see someone like steve cotterill come in

Mikeystewart
01-05-2010, 02:12 PM
voted for him to go, the run since xmas has been worse than anything that mixu had, think its about time for a manager with no previous hibs links, no sentimentality involved, mowbray and big eck were the last two like that and we had brilliant times under their leadership, would like to see someone like steve cotterill come in

hibeez1875
01-05-2010, 02:18 PM
Voted for Yogi to go. Today was the last straw for me. Lucky to lose 2-1 IMHO. Confidence is totally shot going forward. In defence, no worse than we were, but no longer getting away with it.
FFS - that was a derby. We need more fight. Our players are not as bad as the 2nd half of the season would suggest ... and there is only 1 reason for that - YOGI

01-05-2010, 02:23 PM
I think the inability to close out a game like today's, where all we needed was one point is the final straw for me. It's not like it has come out of the blue, the same thing has been happening time and time again.

h185forever
01-05-2010, 02:24 PM
Sory Yogi .....I really wanted you to succeed but I can see no evidence of it happening ......we have been pish all season...but ran out of luck and confidence in the second half of the season .......not just the last 6 -7 weeks as you keep telling us.

Mr P ...time to go and get Adams or McInnes

SaudiHibby
01-05-2010, 02:25 PM
Seems to want to prove he's a hardman by "'controlling"' the best natural footballer at the club (deek). If I was deek tonight I would demand a place up front or hand in my transfer request.

Yogi and Nish : two hibs fans who should do the decent thing and resign right now :grr:

MM19
01-05-2010, 02:34 PM
I think the inability to close out a game like today's, where all we needed was one point is the final straw for me. It's not like it has come out of the blue, the same thing has been happening time and time again.

Not just today but the celtic game when we were winning as well. Why put on Gow who is lucky if he's played a game since he came . Why not Stevenson or Cregg to add a bit of bite to the midfield.

01-05-2010, 02:34 PM
Up 'til now I've said he has to be given another season - changing a manager every season is not good and there's no obvious replacement we can afford.

HOWEVER, my position has hardened in recent weeks and particularly after today. I'd say, if we get into Europe give him 'til Christmas, if we finish 6th, after the start we had, get rid. He just shows no signs whatsoever of knowing how to turn it round (or even trying TBH) and I've almost run out of patience.

01-05-2010, 02:47 PM
Not just today but the celtic game when we were winning as well. Why put on Gow who is lucky if he's played a game since he came . Why not Stevenson or Cregg to add a bit of bite to the midfield.

We were winning against Ross County in both the ties as well. Once or twice is unfortunate, but when the same thing is happening week in week out, then the finger has to be pointed at the manager.

This becoming a mantra on here, but - he doesn't know how to change his tactics. Today, with them having to win, was the sort of game where you switch to the counter attack with 20 minutes to go.

Instead, Hibs just sat back and waited for Hearts to come at them. The manager should surely be able to do something about that.

MountcastleHibs
01-05-2010, 03:02 PM
I'll be honest, I've been a fan of Hughes up until the last few games.

Now though I have come to me senses. He's tactically inept, clueless when ahead or losing, has a team lacking passion (surely it's his job to instill the passion in them) and is beginning to embarrass the club.

Today was the final nail in his coffin for me, and I think we should cut our losses and get rid. We're not good, the current run of 6 defeats in a row, 14 without a win is disgusting. Sorry, but we have to change manager now.

K.Marx
01-05-2010, 03:04 PM
Yogi GTF. We always seem to have a dip after the christmans period but this is just beyond a joke. Been gash since January and we are now in MAY FFS :grr:

krobertson12
01-05-2010, 03:15 PM
football is all about winning and performing, we are doing neither. simple

01-05-2010, 03:37 PM
I voted "YES" - but he shouldn't carrry the can on his own.

Player power should not be the victor (they've stopped playing for the Manager), so there's more than a few of them need emptied if only to set an example for the future.

01-05-2010, 03:38 PM
Did Hughes do a post-match interview on the radio or TV?

01-05-2010, 03:39 PM
Step down.

01-05-2010, 03:41 PM
Did Hughes do a post-match interview on the radio or TV?

I bloody hope not, wonder what he'll say in his interview before the Well game? Bring it on, i've said it all season, bring it on... by any chance?

01-05-2010, 03:43 PM
The usual defence of Yogi is that we're better than last season. 3 points does not a massive improvement make!

Oh but we're in third!
-- Eh'm no.
Fourth?
-- Nope!
Fifth?
-- Aye, but for how much longer?

I honestly can't see where we'll even get another point from now, not unless Dundee United can't be arsed in the last game.

Dear Mr Petrie, can we please have a new manager, one who has experience and has never played for Hibs before. Signed, "yet another disgruntled fan".

MountcastleHibs
01-05-2010, 03:44 PM
I bloody hope not, wonder what he'll say in his interview before the Well game? Bring it on, i've said it all season, bring it on... by any chance?

Something about being proud of the boys and how hard they're working for him :confused:

sunshine1875
01-05-2010, 03:45 PM
Tactically inept.

01-05-2010, 03:45 PM
NO :yawn:

don't be ridiculous

Until he has a proper full close season to get in the players we need and until after Christmas to judge situation then its knee jerk stuff.

Remember that it took Levein 3 years to build a team to reach the consistency they have.

We have more resourses so should do it a bit quicker, but 1 season (and not even a full year) is just ludicrous, even given recent dissapointing results and many performances, when we still have opportunity to make Europe

01-05-2010, 03:48 PM
gutted after watching that but it's a still a no from me.

none the less, get it forkin sorted yogi. wanna come home to europe.

hibeez1875
01-05-2010, 03:49 PM
I cannot believe 20 out of 119 Hibees (as I write this) want Yogi to stay! You'll be telling me you want another 13 yrs of Labour next!

hibeez1875
01-05-2010, 03:50 PM
The only positive for a Hibby is that the sheep-****gers are even worse

woody47
01-05-2010, 03:57 PM
Why keep this inept manager?

He has shown time and time again that when it comes to tactics he is absolutely CLUELESS!

His team choices are also extremely suspect - bringing on Gow today? WTF :grr: As for Nish - enough said. :grr:

I am sick to death of hearing all these Yogi lovers defending him with the usual pesh - the team is in transition - boll0cks! It is his total ineptitude to change things when they are not working. What do people think is going to happen during the summer? He is on a 8 week training course on tactics? Sign players that we ACTULLY need?

He is not good enough and it was shown yet again today.

Bye Yogi :bye::bye::bye:

KiddA
01-05-2010, 03:58 PM
either by stepping down or fired

I have been a supporter of Yogi all season but after our 6th consecutive defeat i am starting to have my doubts about his ability to tactically manage a team. yes he has an eye for a player yes he is an inspirational speaker and a very good with the press. But does he have the ability to effectively manage a dressing room of egos? ........ ultimately that is the question. And most importantly does the board of directors and Rod Petrie believe yogi is the right man to take hibs forward ... or will they punt the guy after 11 months in charge which has been hot and cold with plenty of good results at the start of the season but rarely a solid display where you felt hibs where in control of the game. yes or no simples ;->

alot of people including myself have been wearing the ohh he is an ex player/fan tinted glasses . we need to look at this as a results business and most other managers would have gone by now. dont want to turn this into another Mixu situation that leaves a bitter taste in the mouth.

Im not too sure anymore I backed him and wanted to see what he did next year but now after today im really not sure anymore. Lets face it this was the game he really needed to win. Trust me if Hearts catch Hibs and squeeze into Europe Pandora's box will open up in the east side of town and if I was Yogi I would be a very worried man right now. Im still on the fence just now but I am very pissed off and gutted about today and cannot believe how far we have fell behind :rolleyes:

dawn
01-05-2010, 04:21 PM
I just cannae decided, if you're the boss, are you only as good as your workers or are the workers only as good as you!:dunno:
A bit of both a suppose is what makes a good team and is that what makes a winning team?
All in all I think we need to give him the benefit of the doubt and the first ten games of next season. If nothing improves he can go on his merry way.

01-05-2010, 04:23 PM
Yogi GTF:grr: you have not got a clue.

01-05-2010, 06:02 PM
This is better, nearly 80% wanting rid of him.

Are people now starting to see the wood, behind the trees?

Yogi, Piss Off!

01-05-2010, 06:05 PM

Yogi, Piss Off!

Two weeks ago it was 70% stay, 30% go.
I think losing this derby could be the last straw.

Riordans Boots
01-05-2010, 06:08 PM
I cannot believe 20 out of 119 Hibees (as I write this) want Yogi to stay! You'll be telling me you want another 13 yrs of Labour next!

Make that 21 :agree:

01-05-2010, 06:10 PM
Two weeks ago it was 70% stay, 30% go.
I think losing this derby could be the last straw.

I know I have been a negative ******* on this board and elsewhere when it comes to the Hibs in recent times.

But I have known from the first few games of his tenure that this man was not the one to take us forward, not just from yet another derby defeat, but from the way he has had us playing football.

Petrie, PLEASE PLEASE put us out of our misery

01-05-2010, 06:11 PM
Board will(should) have a better view on whats going on.
If its cultural change they are after it doesn't happen over night. They must be getting impatient tho'. Hughes claimed at one stage not to have spent a penny but the board certainly have backed him.

Time will tell. Normally optimistic - I'd love it to work out with Yogi jury appears to be out.

01-05-2010, 06:39 PM
If Yogi loves the club as much as he says he should do the decent thing and resign. He obviously has a football philosophy that neither the players or supporters understand.

01-05-2010, 06:59 PM
I'm still voting "no" but I'm finding it increasingly difficult to justify my answer.

I still believe that he needs the summer to clear out the crap, bring in his own players and then see how we do next season but my support for him is diminishing with every passing week.

I've said for a number of weeks now that we have had no overall improvement on last season and I had a lot of people disagreeing with me on that just recently. However, I would hope that most people, who have been watching Hibs over the past three months, would now accept that we haven't improved at all on last season. The fact that we had a good start to the season has been totally cancelled out by the utter crap that has been served up since February. It's not just a case of not picking up results for a couple of months, the football that we have been playing recently has been mind-numbing and is no better than what we had under Paatelainen.

I fully expect us to finish 6th now and to end the season with eight straight defeats. I honestly cannot remember the last time we suffered that many consecutive defeats, perhaps someone can work that one out.

sadtom
01-05-2010, 07:30 PM
Some of the ar$h0les on here gie me the dry boak.
I ****in season and we are still in with a shout of europe!
The wheels have come of the barrow but not until after the t'fer window closed. In adversity he can see who are stepping up to the mark and who aren't - he can now use the break to move those on that aren't up to it or dont want it enough.
There is no magic wand. It takes a bit time.
Getting another manager puts us another year backwards. Give the guy a chance FFS!
Its half the whingin' flumps on here and in the stand who should *****in' leave.
Get Yogi out cause he hasn't won the league/cup/qualified for europe in his first season!!!!!?
***** off you dozy qhunts! You muppets would chase Mourinho out the door!

Green_one
01-05-2010, 07:37 PM
I know Hbs 'traditionally' have a poor second half to the season but is it just me that thinks this way over the norm.

Basically we have had a top 3 or 4 first half and a relegation level second half

Somewhere in all that is a story no-one has yet explained. Were we just very lucky? How have players that looked OK last year now become rank e.g. Miller?

A big clean out is unlikely IMO. Those with contracts expiring will probably go. With no more under 19s breaking through we are going to have much of the same players, manager and tactics as this season. I seriously doubt anyone is looking forward to that. Will the Board back Hughes with cash? Would you?

We should be starting next season with a high and a new stand. Instead, most would be delighted if we made a decent fist of the season. Where is the 'progress' in that? Hard decisions need to be made.

01-05-2010, 07:37 PM
The wheels have come of the barrow but not until after the t'fer window closed. In adversity he can see who are stepping up to the mark and who aren't - he can now use the break to move those on that aren't up to it or dont want it enough.
Getting another manager puts us another year backwards. Give the guy a chance FFS!
Its half the whingin' flumps on here and in the stand who should *****in' leave.
Get Yogi out cause he hasn't won the league/cup/qualified for europe in his first season!!!!!?

Aye, but it sure as hell looks like Yogi has replaced the the magic wand and "magic dust" with rohypnol judging by the way some of the players run about after 70 minutes bud. You stay happy at watching 0 points from 18. I am off out with the missus. The one saving grace of this weekend :greengrin

01-05-2010, 08:23 PM
until he got injured mcbride was possibly our player of the year

Wouldn't go as far as player of the year but agree he has been a good singning.

I said no to the poll but ask me again next week. If we get horsed of either Motherwell or UTD and the Yams over take us then he isn't really going to be left with much of a choice.

Lucky_Jim
01-05-2010, 09:38 PM

Yes to Yogi and yes to Labour. A socialist government at Westminister and a Leither in charge at Hibs. Might not be the easiest times right now for either but they both sure as hell beat having the Tories and some English non-entity (e.g. Mogga), who'll f off at the first 'better' opportunity, in charge of our country and team. The grass isn't always greener, sometimes we've got to stick it out with what we've got.

Yogi's a great character and with time - and importantly support - will I am sure get it right. The guy at least deserves our support until Christmas and then, if things haven't improved on this current form, might be the time to reassess things.

When McLeish and Mowbray both left Hibs, we were collectively all incredulous at their 'disloyalty'......well maybe it's time to show some of our loyalty to our current gaffer. Maybe in time, when things have come good and Yogi's being persued by top English teams, he'll repay that loyalty in kind and not just leave us for a larger pay packet.

Best of luck to you Yogi...cos god knows, with 'fans' like this, you'll need it!

01-05-2010, 09:43 PM
Should Yogi go .....NO !

It gets my goat....all the wee spoiled brats with there :boo hoo: claiming to be "fans".......get a life or support the OF....:grr:

01-05-2010, 10:03 PM

And you'll be telling us you want some twat called Clegg as our new manager.

Its not about the game today - important though that was. Its about the habit we have acquired of just folding. That's in those few games where aren't just totally garbage from the very start. Whatever below par stuff is happening you look for positives - fitness, good passing, fighting spirit, will to win, closing down, high work rate or just gradual improvement. I'm afraid I'm not seeing ANY of these things.

An Leargaidh
01-05-2010, 10:03 PM

Yogi, Piss Off!

Yogi, I have always backed you and I do not doubt your talents. You did good works at Falkirk :agree: Maybe you should go back there and put that Yam fud Pressley out the door.

Anyway, I think now it is time for Hibs to move on up with a new manager at the controls or move on down with Yogi at the helm :rolleyes:

I Love Lamp
01-05-2010, 10:13 PM
No because, whether you're convinced or not, if you sack a manager every year you just become a lower-grade version of real madrid who prospective managers wouldn't touch with a barge pole.

Far better to be known as a patient club than a bunch of deluded, trigger-happy reactionaries (not saying that's reputation would be justified for removing Yogi but that would be the perception from outwith).

Is Yogi going to take us where we want to go? TBH I have my doubts at the moment but once you've made your bed, as the board have done with Yogi's appointment, you have to lie in it at least for a little while even if when you get in you find you're lying in someone else's p*sh.

01-05-2010, 10:16 PM
NO :yawn:

don't be ridiculous

Until he has a proper full close season to get in the players we need and until after Christmas to judge situation then its knee jerk stuff.

Remember that it took Levein 3 years to build a team to reach the consistency they have.

We have more resourses so should do it a bit quicker, but 1 season (and not even a full year) is just ludicrous, even given recent dissapointing results and many performances, when we still have opportunity to make Europe

Let's hope we go and win two on the bounce now to prove me wrong.

01-05-2010, 10:35 PM
Yes - it has to be.

The Board will give him some more time - RP most definitely as Yogi was very much his appointment.

However, IMHO things won't improve and the Board should make the decision soon and sack Yogi.

NaeTechnoHibby
01-05-2010, 10:35 PM

I know Hbs 'traditionally' have a poor second half to the season but is it just me that thinks this way over the norm.

Basically we have had a top 3 or 4 first half and a relegation level second half

Somewhere in all that is a story no-one has yet explained. Were we just very lucky? How have players that looked OK last year now become rank e.g. Miller?

A big clean out is unlikely IMO. Those with contracts expiring will probably go. With no more under 19s breaking through we are going to have much of the same players, manager and tactics as this season. I seriously doubt anyone is looking forward to that. Will the Board back Hughes with cash? Would you?

We should be starting next season with a high and a new stand. Instead, most would be delighted if we made a decent fist of the season. Where is the 'progress' in that? Hard decisions need to be made.

The first part of you post is, sadly, all too predictable no matter who the manager or players are over the last gawd-knows how many years :boo hoo:

Yes to Yogi and yes to Labour. A socialist government at Westminister and a Leither in charge at Hibs. Might not be the easiest times right now for either but they both sure as hell beat having the Tories and some English non-entity (e.g. Mogga), who'll f off at the first 'better' opportunity, in charge of our country and team. The grass isn't always greener, sometimes we've got to stick it out with what we've got.

Yogi's a great character and with time - and importantly support - will I am sure get it right. The guy at least deserves our support until Christmas and then, if things haven't improved on this current form, might be the time to reassess things.

When McLeish and Mowbray both left Hibs, we were collectively all incredulous at their 'disloyalty'......well maybe it's time to show some of our loyalty to our current gaffer. Maybe in time, when things have come good and Yogi's being persued by top English teams, he'll repay that loyalty in kind and not just leave us for a larger pay packet.

Best of luck to you Yogi...cos god knows, with 'fans' like this, you'll need it!

I tend to agree with you, especially about the bit in bold :top marks

darwenhibby
01-05-2010, 11:25 PM
I know I have been a negative ******* on this board and elsewhere when it comes to the Hibs in recent times.

But I have known from the first few games of his tenure that this man was not the one to take us forward, not just from yet another derby defeat, but from the way he has had us playing football.

Petrie, PLEASE PLEASE put us out of our misery

Moray

You have been negative all season about Yogi.
OK who is the answer?
Nobody comes up with a solution.
The job is becoming a poison chalice.

There is not a lot wrong. A quality rightback and a midfileder to mix it when St J and the Accies come calling.

We did it today for about 65mins but then lost our way and due respect he should have changed it with what he had on the bench.

Ps I hope you will get a season ticket and support Yogi.
He still needs time.

GTTGH

01-05-2010, 11:29 PM
Mixu MK.II, time tae go :bye:

02-05-2010, 01:40 AM
We are in free-fall and this kind of dross will keep the fans away in droves and do nothing for season tickets. If we can't get another win this season, there are serious doubts over Hughes credibility.

HibeeMG
02-05-2010, 04:09 AM
Moray

OK who is the answer?

There is not a lot wrong. A quality rightback and a midfileder to mix it when St J and the Accies come calling.

We did it today for about 65mins but then lost our way and due respect he should have changed it with what he had on the bench.

He still needs time.

GTTGH

Duane,

There are a lot of experienced, very capable managers out there. Which one should come in is up to the board though. We as fans don't have all the information as to how a manager does in an interview, his man management style and his organisational skills etc.

What we do get to know is the bare facts when a manager is in the job though. I'm afraid that the numbers don't make great reading for Yogi over the last few months. This is why his position is in question.

Surely you don't think that adding a couple of players would turn things around. We can all see that there are fundamental problems at the club that won't be easily papered over.

02-05-2010, 06:46 AM
I voted for Yogi to stay but I'm losing patience as well. Some observations;

1. Having a poll immeadiately after a derby defeat wasn't the right time to have it, emotions running high etc.

2. There are problems at EM that is not of Yogi's making, it is his job however to sort it.

3. He has to get the next window right

4. At some point we have to give a manager more than half a season

02-05-2010, 06:55 AM
No because, whether you're convinced or not, if you sack a manager every year you just become a lower-grade version of real madrid who prospective managers wouldn't touch with a barge pole.

Far better to be known as a patient club than a bunch of deluded, trigger-happy reactionaries (not saying that's reputation would be justified for removing Yogi but that would be the perception from outwith).

Is Yogi going to take us where we want to go? TBH I have my doubts at the moment but once you've made your bed, as the board have done with Yogi's appointment, you have to lie in it at least for a little while even if when you get in you find you're lying in someone else's p*sh.

That's the most fanciful reason yet for keeping Hughes. By the way, apparently it's a stick-on that Mourinho will become manager of Real Madrid this summer.

Must be a nightmare when you can't attract a manager.

cabbage07
02-05-2010, 06:58 AM
Even if he did get the right players its his tactics that are more of a problem mate.
He cant change the fortunes of the team that have only won 2 games in 16 cant see how he is going to be alot better when the new season starts honestly can you?
Yesterday was the day that finally put the nail in the coffin for me regarding yogi .

02-05-2010, 08:46 AM
I'm beginning to think that if Barcelona played in the SPL and Yogi was in charge of the team then they would still finish sixth.

02-05-2010, 08:51 AM
How many last minute goals did we ship under Mowbray?

I voted no.

He deserves another transfer window and given at least till the autumn to sort things out.

I think, and hope, he will do it.

K.Marx
02-05-2010, 08:57 AM
He deserves another transfer window and given at least till the autumn to sort things out.

Problem is how many fans disillusioned with Hughes will not renew their season ticket thus reducing the transfer/wage funds available to him? The club is in a downward spiral at the moment and I just can't see the benefits of keeping Hughes on.

02-05-2010, 09:02 AM
What a big swing from this poll carried out only a few weeks ago.

http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=180166

Is it because we are suffering from another derby hangover or has Yogi now lost the fans? What if we fluke a win against Motherwell and get 5th or even 4th, would the polling swing back in Yogi's favour?

Are fans just fickle?

02-05-2010, 09:06 AM
What a big swing from this poll carried out only a few weeks ago.

http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=180166

Is it because we are suffering from another derby hangover or has Yogi now lost the fans? What if we fluke a win against Motherwell and get 5th or even 4th, would the polling swing back in Yogi's favour?

Are fans just fickle?

Nope. There is a threshold of tolerance, and we crossed it yesterday.

02-05-2010, 09:08 AM
Problem is how many fans disillusioned with Hughes will not renew their season ticket thus reducing the transfer/wage funds available to him? The club is in a downward spiral at the moment and I just can't see the benefits of keeping Hughes on.

Remember that sacking Yogi, and then paying compensation to him and to another club for their manager, will cost the club a fortune.

I think we'll still sell a decent number of season tickets and gate receipts won't be as badly affected as some people fear. The new stadium, wider pitch and a few good signings will spark folks imagination and, if things pick up as a result, next season could be fun.

If all that is in place and we continue to struggle, then change will be the best option.

02-05-2010, 09:16 AM
Wouldn't go as far as player of the year but agree he has been a good singning.

I said no to the poll but ask me again next week. If we get horsed of either Motherwell or UTD and the Yams over take us then he isn't really going to be left with much of a choice.

which is why is said possibly:wink: i also voted no but if the squad doesnt improve during the summer then it might be time for him to go as this current squad will only get worse

02-05-2010, 09:27 AM
If Yogi has the much hoped for clear out of sub standard players ,bad apples and substandard bad apples will the tactics and use of substitutes change ? I am coming to the conclusion that while the players are partly culpable Yogis managerial shortcomings are the main factor. Whats surprised me as much as the tactical side of things is that for someone with a Leith gadgie persona he seems unable to motivate or instill discipline.

I still believe that squadwise we had enough quality to finish third and our second half of the season collapse (while a historical Hibs thing to happen) has been even worse than the normal collapse , with the papers saying its our worst run since 1997. Yogi imo must take a lot of the responsibility for this underachievment.

I have backed Yogi till now but its got to the stage where my only reason for keeping him is the fact that I hate the fitba sacking culture rather than ive any faith in him turning things around. And thats not really a reason at all. Ive not yet renewed my ST and tbh have no enthusiasm for doing so.

02-05-2010, 10:08 AM
[QUOTE=darwenhibby;2447492]Moray

OK who is the answer?

I have been negative about Yogi all season that is correct, as you know I feared the worst even during pre season with the tactics he was trying to adopt.

I wasn't particularly impressed by some of his early signings.

I am now, more than ever, convinced he is tactically inept, cannot read games and cannot change games. When we were winning there was a massive amount of good fortune and the football was sub standard.

The football is still sub standard and the luck ran out many months ago.

As to who should replace him?

Duane there are thousands of managers around the globe that would be interested in the job, and that could indeed do the job.

One thing is for sure, I would not have Petrie anywhere near the selection process as his track record stinks!

and finally, I have no intention of supporting Hughes, so no to a season ticket.

02-05-2010, 10:27 AM
Incredibly harsh to say that Rod Petrie's track record is poor. If anything, he has chosen some good managers in his long stint at the helm. McLeish (successful), Mowbray (arguably successful and brought on the young players who left for millions), Collins (won a cup, played decent stuff in patches). Williamson and Sauzee were poor appointments, although again, Sauzee was on the same kind of run Hughes was/is and suffered after only three months (not even). Some could even argue a case for Mixu, given that he came in and put us in the top 6, and again took us there last season (with better results v Los Yambolinos). It really baffles me when people single out Rod for criticism, when in all truth, without his leadership, our club would be in a far far worse position on all fronts. We could do with his grit, moodiness, stubborness and winning mentality on the pitch IMHO :agree:. (bet he could do a better job than Nish as well :faf:)

02-05-2010, 10:44 AM

1. Having a poll immeadiately after a derby defeat wasn't the right time to have it, emotions running high etc.

2. There are problems at EM that is not of Yogi's making, it is his job however to sort it.

You're not the first person to refer to this, what are these problems?

02-05-2010, 10:46 AM

Yogi, Piss Off!

What result do you expect after a derby defeat and the run we have had, but if we beat Motherwell mid week the answers will be the opposite

02-05-2010, 11:16 AM
I find it astonishing that so many on here are calling for Hughes to go already. We need to give the man an opportunity to bring about the change in team/player character and commitment that he's always on about. I don't think it's done in a season, it takes longer. Hibs problems won't be solved by continuously changing the manager I feel, the problems seem to lie in the cultural/mindset deficiencies of the players and poor fitness/concentration levels down to an apparent lack of professionalism on the part of the players - Yogi can't change it overnight - he needs time.

His tactical nous at the start of the season had us challenging for 2nd place! If it wasn't Yogi, but only down to luck or good fortune as some on here are suggesting, then how come this terrible run is suddenly all down to him alone and not bad luck/fortune?

Hibs fans should stop pretending we're a major force in the world of football, and get real: there's a lot of work to be done before things change for the better, so let the man get on with it. Sacking Yogi the manager at Hibs, after one season, for what "no success", defeat by Hearts, defeats by "lesser" teams? Well, by that logic we could sack the manager every season, I mean it's not as if the trophy cabinet is overflowing is it?

I think change has to come to Easter Road, but sacking the manager isn't the way: it's just knee-jerk reactionism/short-term thinking that won't ultimately achieve anything. I hope we give Hughes time to do the job, I don't expect next season to be a major revelation, but I expect to see progress and the building of a basis for future success.

down the slope
02-05-2010, 11:23 AM
There has been no progress in the last year-not a jot and you could make a case that we have gone backwards in the last year given the money he has had compared to the last few managers. If there had been a glimmer of progress and a decent level of competence shown then i would give him more time but not now.

SneakersO'Toole
02-05-2010, 01:44 PM
How many last minute goals did we ship under Mowbray?

I voted no.

I think, and hope, he will do it.

I agree.

I think getting rid of him at this stage and having ANOTHER person come in and change things would be detrimental. He has to be given more time to sort things out.

Give him 10 games next year and make a decision then.

Baw187
02-05-2010, 01:58 PM
I agree.

I think getting rid of him at this stage and having ANOTHER person come in and change things would be detrimental. He has to be given more time to sort things out.

Give him 10 games next year and make a decision then.

I think he pretty much needs to shift out all the dross and see if he can replace them with better. If after that we are still looking gash, then sorry it's time to step aside.

02-05-2010, 02:17 PM

:agree: Having a poll a few hours after a derby defeat, particularly given the way that they won it, was not the best idea in the world. For a lot of people, emotions will have been running high last night. I don't think that it's purely coincidental that the "Hughes should stay" vote has increased around 10% since last night.

erskine-hibby
02-05-2010, 03:51 PM
My position has been pretty clear for weeks, if not months....Yogi GTF!!!!!

SloopJB
02-05-2010, 03:57 PM
I think JH has a vision of how his team should play, what has been proven is that the players at ER cannot play to his vision.

Instead of trying, and failing, to get those players to play to his vision he should play to the strenghts of his current players until such time as he gets new players in..

02-05-2010, 06:16 PM
I voted Yogi goes. I don't see particularly good man management skills nor tactical intellect from him. Maybe he would make a good scout. That's just an opinion from a faceless wonder though.

Amit
02-05-2010, 06:47 PM
I haven't voted either way...

Hughes should go if we finish 6th or don't get into Europe. As a European spot was the target. On top of that his dealings in the January transfer window was a complete waste of time. Why bother bringing in a goalie and a striker/midfielder who haven't really featured and also the fact that what we really needed was a right back and centre half...

If we somehow get into Europe and finish 4th in the league then I am willing to give Hughes the time over the summer to get rid of the deadwood and build a team capable of winning things...

Sumner
02-05-2010, 07:15 PM
Time to go - tactically naive. :agree:

Same old 4-3-3 every game, so predictably poor :grr:
Plays players out of position - Riordan on left "tracking back", FFS ! :grr:
Tried to be every player's pal... :rolleyes:
Falls out with players, and they shout back in defiance :rolleyes:
Didn't sign a right back in January :bitchy:
Did sign the totally un-needed Gow :bitchy:
Tinkered with a winning team, Bamba should not have walked back in. :grr:
No idea how to organise a defence. :grr:
Same old lame excuses to press :yawn:
Worst run in many many years, CLUELESS as how to end it.

"Taxi for Hughes"

02-05-2010, 07:18 PM
I haven't voted either way...

Hughes should go if we finish 6th or don't get into Europe. As a European spot was the target. On top of that his dealings in the January transfer window was a complete waste of time. Why bother bringing in a goalie and a striker/midfielder who haven't really featured and also the fact that what we really needed was a right back and centre half...

If we somehow get into Europe and finish 4th in the league then I am willing to give Hughes the time over the summer to get rid of the deadwood and build a team capable of winning things...

since Amit is obviously in possesion of ALL the shennagins at ER,I vote him as manager.
You and your kin,(moaning *****hawks to a man)truly know the full score :notworthy:

sorry Amit,yours was just the last post I read(and now realise you ended with a patronising dig at our manager) :bitchy:

I Love Lamp
02-05-2010, 10:09 PM
That's the most fanciful reason yet for keeping Hughes. By the way, apparently it's a stick-on that Mourinho will become manager of Real Madrid this summer.

Must be a nightmare when you can't attract a manager.

Aye, point is that the things that attract managers to Real Madrid are the quality of playing squad, great financial package and the status of the club in spite of the instability. What are the plusses to offset the lack of time and patience at ER (from an outsider's point of view, of course, because we don't want fans)? What's going to attract the Steve Cotterills etc? A few pitches at East Mains and Famous Five/Turnbull's Tornadoes dvds won't do it.

So attacking, free-flowing, successful football on a meagre budget within a year (sustained across the whole year) in the transfer-window era is all that will be accepted? Hibs, if Yogi is sacked, will be well on the way to Manager's Graveyard/poisoned chalice status. More particularly, it will be in the 'don't touch with a barge pole if you have a good reputation to lose' status of jobs.

Amit
02-05-2010, 11:02 PM
since Amit is obviously in possesion of ALL the shennagins at ER,I vote him as manager.
You and your kin,(moaning *****hawks to a man)truly know the full score :notworthy:

sorry Amit,yours was just the last post I read(and now realise you ended with a patronising dig at our manager) :bitchy:

Is this not a poll and are we not allowed an opionion?

Just because I have an opinion about our team which doesnt sit well with you doesn't give you the right to take your "happy clapper high ground"...

I have been a season ticket holder for a number of years now and have just renewed for 3 years... so I think I am entitled to have a moan now and again...

03-05-2010, 12:29 AM
What result do you expect after a derby defeat and the run we have had, but if we beat Motherwell mid week the answers will be the opposite

Keep dreaming son...

Riordans Boots
03-05-2010, 12:44 AM
If Yogi loves the club as much as he says he should do the decent thing and resign. He obviously has a football philosophy that neither the players or supporters understand.

Everyone to their opinion malc, but gonny give him a break :grr:

Yes over the last few seasons we had Tony depart and shaft us, Jc throwing in the towel, Mixu giving it up and JH was appointed and we started on a fantastic roll at the start of the season. Yogi needs at least the next season to get the team, tactics and formation together and sorry mate - this is no dig at you personally.

As fans we will always be supporting HFC and players and managers will come and go.

I hope and pray (As I did with Mixu) that JH will succeed and turn our club around - his time is running out with a lot of fans but we have to trust him for now at least. :notworthy:

03-05-2010, 03:09 AM
I think the people saying "we had a great start to the season" and "the wheels have come off the wagon recently", should be told that we absolutely fluked the vast majority of those points.

We have been disgusting all season, the Falkirk fans were right about Hughes' managerial ability, down to every last detail.

Dr Jimmy
03-05-2010, 07:51 AM
All this crap about giving him another season is just delaying the inevitable. He doesn't have a clue now and will not have a clue in 6 months, 12 months or how ever long it takes him to read his next motivational self help book or attend a conference. This man is totally void tactically.
On Sat FJK threw on two wingers in an attempt to get the win, what did Hughes do?.........he replaces the injured Wotherspoon with Gow, brilliant, I am sure Thicot thought I am going to get help doubling up on the winger now....!!!
As Nish was clearly struggling due to having a complete and utter mare what was Hughes' action?......nothing, just leave him on and hope something happens. We finished this game with 3 up front whilst Hearts had 4, when a draw would have guaranteed 5th spot and would actually put us in 4th on Sat.
This man is completely out of his depth and should be managing in the Junior leagues at best.
Yogi if you have any love for Hibs go now for ****'s sake!!!

03-05-2010, 07:53 AM

03-05-2010, 07:57 AM

This sounds suspiciously like the famous 'there are problems behind the scenes but im not telling what they are' post.

What problems at east mains? Is this the nesting pigeons thing?:confused:

03-05-2010, 08:00 AM
I think the people saying "we had a great start to the season" and "the wheels have come off the wagon recently", should be told that we absolutely fluked the vast majority of those points.

We have been disgusting all season, the Falkirk fans were right about Hughes' managerial ability, down to every last detail.

We certainly started with a favourable fixture list but haven't - other than Celtic away - actually won one IMPORTANT game all season. Other than beating Well at home and refusing to give up v St Murn every time we've been asked a difficult question we've failed.

This brilliant first half us actually nonsense when you examine the facts. Any pluses haven't been outweighed by the negatives, so much as blown completely away.

Managers like Hughes aren't suddenly going to 'come good' or he would have done it by now. We'd have seen something. Instead he continues to talk the talk.

03-05-2010, 08:07 AM
Keep dreaming son...
it was only a couple of weeks ago the vast majority wanted him to stay!!

03-05-2010, 08:59 AM
Righto all you budding Football Chairman PC experts what do you suggest we do after sacking Hughes?

Bring in McInnes?!

Then if he doesn't manage to split the OF, win the Scottish whilst qualifying for Europe in his 1st season do we sack him?

Then do we move onto a promising upcoming lower league manager, then sack him once he fails to meet our ridiculously inflated expectations!?

We've sacked Collins and Mixu in the space of 2-3 years to sack a 3rd manager before he's had a full season in charge coupled with the fact there's every posibilty we will still qualify for Europe would be unbelievable!

Someone posted up stats regarding Hibs' overall performance in league, cups, final standings etc and it showed clearly that as a team Hibs have averaged a middle of the league finish over the last 20+ years, combined with a few league cup triumphs, a few final defeats, plenty semi final defeats and loads other non successful cup runs!

So we're currently in 5th spot, a few points off 4th with 2 games to play, beat in the 1/4's of both cups but already accumulated more points than we finished last season with!

And that was after a close season where we lost our club captain and a 4million pound International and now Premiership striker!

I think folk need to give themselves a shake and remember we support Hibs, not the OF! We don't have a god given devine right to win every game, grab a trophy at least once every 2-3 seasons and to have European football every year!

Give Yogi time, he'll get rid of the dross once the season finishes and sign better players than what he empties!

GGTTH :notworthy: