View Full Version : Nish (Again) Merged Threads

Pages : 1 [2]

03-05-2010, 11:58 AM
To make it a fairer comparison could you remove Mensing's penalties from his "tally"?

and add on the time spent in the opponents half...:greengrin

houston1875
03-05-2010, 12:01 PM
"Played" senior? You mean the guys that dropped out at 23? Or maybe some better players who were getting on a bit? I'm going to stick my neck out here and say that if they could have maintained an SPL career, then they wouldn't have dropped to juniors. I know there are a few players making some decent money at tht level - but not SPL money.

Colin Nish was made an offer from Scunny prior to signing for Hibs, but he turned them down to take a smaller wage from his boyhood heroes. Scunthorpe were looking at him during the transfer window once again.

didnt know that bout scunny like?

03-05-2010, 12:02 PM
"Played" senior? You mean the guys that dropped ou at 23? I'm going to stick my neck out here and say that if they could have maintained an SPL career, then they wouldn't have dropped to juniors. I know there are a few players making some decent money at tht level - but not SPL money.

Colin Nish was made an offer from Scunny prior to signing for Hibs, but he turned them down to take a smaller wage from his boyhood heroes. Scunthorpe were looking at him during the transfer window once again.

if he was daft enough to turn down 5k per week(which i very much doubt they were offering) then he is dafter than he looks or does he know himself that he isnt very good and wouldnt have done anything down there. Not that he has done much up here.
Nope not the same money you can earn playing SPL but decent money still the same. As i said ive came up against players who IMO are better than nish in the juniors, there are guys playing in the 1st div that are probably better than nish

03-05-2010, 12:02 PM
didnt know that bout scunny like?

Nish's auld man is apparently the source.

03-05-2010, 12:04 PM
if he was daft enough to turn down 5k per week(which i very much doubt they were offering) then he is dafter than he looks or does he know himself that he isnt very good and wouldnt have done anything down there. Not that he has done much up here.
Nope not the same money you can earn playing SPL but decent money still the same. As i said ive came up against players who IMO are better than nish in the juniors, there are guys playing in the 1st div that are probably better than nish

IF he had just made the step up from a lower tier, or was a fringe player all his days you might have a case. But he hasn't, and he wasn't. So you don't.

03-05-2010, 12:06 PM
if he was daft enough to turn down 5k per week(which i very much doubt they were offering) then he is dafter than he looks.

Derek Riordan must be a super diddy then.

loanheadhibby
03-05-2010, 12:07 PM
a thought for the Nish allays.

Did our very own manager not comment during the 1st derby at swynie to Nish that if he fell on his backside one more time then he would go on the park and put him on it himself?

Yet 6 months later that same manager continues to pick him!

For once Yogi walk the walk.

03-05-2010, 12:08 PM
IF he had just made the step up from a lower tier, or was a fringe player all his days you might have a case. But he hasn't, and he wasn't. So you don't.

as i say if he was daft enough to turn down 5k per week then more fool him. he is no where near good enough IMO to earn that kind of money and if he was then there would be teams bidding for him. As yet i havent heard of any concrete bid for him so im guessing other teams think that as well, good luck to him as he is a hibs fan but i hope its with another team and we get someone in who can score more than 6 golas per season

03-05-2010, 12:10 PM
Derek Riordan must be a super diddy then.

thats another thread all on its own!

03-05-2010, 12:13 PM
as i say if he was daft enough to turn down 5k per week then more fool him. he is no where near good enough IMO to earn that kind of money and if he was then there would be teams bidding for him. As yet i havent heard of any concrete bid for him so im guessing other teams think that as well, good luck to him as he is a hibs fan but i hope its with another team and we get someone in who can score more than 6 golas per season

Nish will get more than 6 goals a season - if he's played further forward. Prior to signing for us, when he was playing further forward, he was knocking in goals at about a 1 in 3 goals to games rate. Which is the same is Mixu, and not to be knocked at all, especially when he gives you some sort of physical presence, where ever he is up front. People may accuse him not using that presence enough - but it is still more than you will get from most players.

houston1875
03-05-2010, 12:22 PM
Nish will get more than 6 goals a season - if he's played further forward. Prior to signing for us, when he was playing further forward, he was knocking in goals at about a 1 in 3 goals to games rate. Which is the same is Mixu, and not to be knocked at all, especially when he gives you some sort of physical presence, where ever he is up front. People may accuse him not using that presence enough - but it is still more than you will get from most players.

plus think he'd get more if we played with out and out wingers?

on another note..steve mclaren for pool??? plz no!!!

03-05-2010, 12:28 PM

he scored 55 goals in 205 games before signing for hibs. in 5 years at killie he scored 40 goals which isnt a great return as he was probably playing week in week out. Your more than welcome to your opinion but in mine he isnt the type of player that will take hibs to the next level

03-05-2010, 12:34 PM
he scored 55 goals in 205 games before signing for hibs. in 5 years at killie he scored 40 goals which isnt a great return as he was probably playing week in week out. Your more than welcome to your opinion but in mine he isnt the type of player that will take hibs to the next level

At killie he scored 45 in 100 starts, and about 40 subs appearances.

At Killie he competed with Kris Boyd and Stephen Naismith - so he hardly had it all his own way.

03-05-2010, 12:46 PM
At killie he scored 45 in 100 starts, and about 40 subs appearances.

At Killie he competed with Kris Boyd and Stephen Naismith - so he hardly had it all his own way.

so what your saying is he has been a back up player at the two bigger clubs he has been at. enough said!

decent record at killie though

03-05-2010, 01:02 PM
so what your saying is he has been a back up player at the two bigger clubs he has been at. enough said!

decent record at killie though

No, he was in the same team with Boyd and Naismith while they were at Killie. In fact, Naismith would often be pushed out wide, in the same way as Riordan, with Nish and Boyd up front. He wasn't always first pick - but he got in ahead of them on a number of occassions, according to what Jeffries felt the team needed. By the time he came to us, he was first choice.

03-05-2010, 01:07 PM
No, he was in the same team with Boyd and Naismith while they were at Killie. In fact, Naismith would often be pushed out wide, in the same way as Riordan, with Nish and Boyd up front. He wasn't always first pick - but he got in ahead of them on a number of occassions, according to what Jeffries felt the team needed. By the time he came to us, he was first choice.

as i say good record at killie, just not done enough at hibs to convince me and many others im afraid that he is going to be anything other than a fringe player

The_Sauz
03-05-2010, 01:08 PM
Coz Nish's comments were in the Sunday Mail, which is as big a Tory rag as you will ever find, perhaps he was misquoted. :greengrin

Mind you, if he wasn't then he needs his bumps felt.

If you are a professional footballer and the fans think you are pants then the stock answer is to say. "They pay their money and are entitled to their opinion". This is footballer speak for who are these numpties who probably canny even do 3 at keepy up to slag me off.

However. Anybody who wants an objective view of what sort of player Colin Nish is should dig out their CIS cup final DVD.

The only time he gets a mention is when the commentator points out that he is a Hibs supporter. Apart from that you wouldnt have known he was on the pitch.

And that was in a cup final.

Having said that, while at Hibs I dont think Nishy has been as bad as a lot of folk make out. But there are players out there who can be bought for the same or less than he cost and who could do the job he is asked to do better.
Now that's not true!
He was also mentioned at our first goal......for failing to pick up Rob Jones at the corner....standing still & ball watching :agree:

03-05-2010, 01:10 PM
as i say good record at killie, just not done enough at hibs to convince me and many others im afraid that he is going to be anything other than a fringe player

Thats a million miles from being branded a junior player, so it's not what you were saying at all.

03-05-2010, 01:12 PM
I'll predict that Colin kens he's teas oot at ER.

03-05-2010, 01:12 PM
Thats a million miles from being branded a junior player, so it's not what you were saying at all.

have a read over my posts and you will find i never once said he is a junior player, i said ive come up against players who are better in the juniors and there are better players playing in the 1st division, nish should always be a fringe player as he isnt good enough IMO to be playing for hibs

03-05-2010, 01:15 PM
have a read over my posts and you will find i never once said he is a junior player, i said ive come up against players who are better in the juniors

Then what does the part in bold imply? Because unless your saying it got planty of SPL worthy talent, then you are imply exactly the above, without saying it outright.

Hibby 2005
03-05-2010, 01:16 PM
Nish is not the problem, Yogi's the one who plays him, sometimes in midfield by the looks of it!

I actually think that if Yogi had ever bothered to try real wingers, guys like Galbraith who could cross a ball, Nish would have gotten on the end of them, but how often has that happened lately?

03-05-2010, 01:18 PM
Then what does the part in bold imply? Because unless your saying it got planty of SPL worthy talent, then you are imply exactly the above, without saying it outright.

eh the bit in bold implies exactly what ive said, ive came up against better players playing junior. Am i not saying it clearly enough? not once have i said he should be playing junior as i think he is good enough to be playing football in the 1st division or for teams who dont really want to be pushing for european places but are happy just be in the the premier league

Expecting Rain
03-05-2010, 03:15 PM
Nish feels threatened by opinions, he`s probably in the 5% alongside Yogi and the coaching staff that think he`s got talent.

SalfordHibs
03-05-2010, 03:21 PM
Nish feels threatened by opinions, he`s probably in the 5% alongside Yogi and the coaching staff that think he`s got talent.

Exactly, never a football player, and having a go at the fans that pays his ****ing wages what a mong

03-05-2010, 03:30 PM
Exactly, never a football player, and having a go at the fans that pays his ****ing wages what a mong

I don't blame him for snapping when he has to read mindless vitriol like this aimed at them on a regular basis. You posted this after you knew he had apologised as well. Nothing like taking a balanced and fair minded view is there?

03-05-2010, 04:06 PM

But it's perfectly acceptable for these 'fans' to call him every name under the sun :rolleyes:

houston1875
03-05-2010, 08:49 PM
i don't blame him for snapping when he has to read mindless vitriol like this aimed at them on a regular basis. You posted this after you knew he had apologised as well. Nothing like taking a balanced and fair minded view is there?

agree

New Corrie
03-05-2010, 10:33 PM
He is right though,,,,,we have seen the following written on here...

Good riddance to Kevin Thomson....he's sheite anyway
Good riddance to Scott Brown........he's sheite anyway
Good riddance to Ian Murray..........he's sheite anyway

Jim Leighton was a better keeper than Andy Goram

Alan O'Brien is going to be better than Ivan Sproule given time

Dougie Bell makes iit nto a Hibs worst 11, FFS. etc etc

03-05-2010, 10:57 PM
colin's a hibs fan, he's sat in the stands, and probably read all the messageboards too. He's got as much right to an opinion on us as we do an opinion on him.

He's right, the majority of football fans are total slavers. You just need to look at the fury and rage of some middle aged tit shouting all the abuse, or the way in which they allow a game of football to ruin thier entire week, to know that there is no way they are capable of taking a step back, and looking at the game based solely on what went on during the previous 90 minutes.

I'll take it back to the john rankin statistical breakdown against whoever it was. Here were a queue of "experts" knocking out the same auld pish, and slating his passing. Then some clever person actually takes the step back, looks at the game for what it is, crunches some very simple numbers, and it's clear that his pass success rate of 88% is actually pretty good. There's your example of the majority not having a clue, and the minority being the ones to get it right.

If colin nish was as bad a football player as most of the fans are as experts, then he wouldn't even kick a ball at junior level.what has middle aged got to do with it?????????????????

hibee-shtuggie
03-05-2010, 11:06 PM
as much as it pains me to see a player in a hibs top play like that, im getting fed up of it. not that i take joy in beratting any hibs player, but my first ever post was about nish and his dire footballing ability and nearly every other week the subject comes up again. you just have to look at the poll to see that the majority think he is murder. this, oh hes a hibs fan and tries is not good enough. im ahibs fan, i would try my heart out, that doesnt mean i should be in the first team!! he should win more headers, hold the ball up better, improve his touch and balance and strengthen up against defenders leaning over. he is not good enough, end of. not that many got pass marks on saturday though to be fair....

03-05-2010, 11:09 PM
what has middle aged got to do with it?????????????????

A 40 year old screaming and bawling at one of his own over a game of football? Hurling personal insults, and making rediculous criticism? I would hope someone with that sort of milage on the clock would know better.

04-05-2010, 11:48 AM
He is right though,,,,,we have seen the following written on here...

Good riddance to Kevin Thomson....he's sheite anyway
Good riddance to Scott Brown........he's sheite anyway
Good riddance to Ian Murray..........he's sheite anyway

Jim Leighton was a better keeper than Andy Goram

Alan O'Brien is going to be better than Ivan Sproule given time

Dougie Bell makes iit nto a Hibs worst 11, FFS. etc etc

And as we speak Maka's winning a "who should be in goals for us" poll.

04-05-2010, 11:53 AM
And as we speak Maka's winning a "who should be in goals for us" poll.

:faf: Thats why i dont take anything on here serious. Fickle is not the word.

04-05-2010, 11:54 AM

I know who the "mong" is.

houston1875
04-05-2010, 11:57 AM
I know who the "mong" is.

tip top

04-05-2010, 01:47 PM
A 40 year old screaming and bawling at one of his own over a game of football? Hurling personal insults, and making rediculous criticism? I would hope someone with that sort of milage on the clock would know better.

Are you talking about Yogi here. :rolleyes:

04-05-2010, 01:56 PM
Are you talking about Yogi here. :rolleyes:

I sit behind the dugout, and the criticisms made towards him are greatly overstated. Secondly, it's his job to be in the players ears.

04-05-2010, 03:04 PM
I sit behind the dugout, and the criticisms made towards him are greatly overstated. Secondly, it's his job to be in the players ears.

I also sit behind the dugout, at the weekend there i cringed when i seen our manager talk to players the way he did at times during the game, its the kind of crap you expect watching down at the public parks on a Sunday.

04-05-2010, 03:14 PM
I also sit behind the dugout, at the weekend there i cringed when i seen our manager talk to players the way he did at times during the game, its the kind of crap you expect watching down at the public parks on a Sunday.

if my coach spoke to us like that in our team he would end up getting lamped, its no wonder half of them either ignore him or give him a mouthful back

04-05-2010, 04:25 PM
if my coach spoke to us like that in our team he would end up getting lamped, its no wonder half of them either ignore him or give him a mouthful back

Can only agree with you. :agree:

09-05-2010, 04:13 PM
You're right to laugh.

Konte got us into Europe and scored against European opposition. Big Col wont do either.

:cool2:

09-05-2010, 05:58 PM
His hattrick against Motherwell and his double today against Dundee United got us into Europe.

09-05-2010, 06:02 PM
You're right to laugh.

Konte got us into Europe and scored against European opposition. Big Col wont do either.
:bye:

09-05-2010, 06:06 PM
Well done to big Pishy pants, 5 goals in 2 games.

Hopefully he will kick off next season where he finished off this one.

houston1875
09-05-2010, 06:08 PM
Go on Mr Nish....congrats

jon paul jones
09-05-2010, 06:15 PM
Its certainly impressive for any striker to convert chances into goals at that rate. Got me thinking.

Can anyone evaluate in layman terms what small changes you would coach into Nish's game to get him to "hibs class!!!!"

Looking for constructive comments:fishin:

JPJ 1 - get Nish to find that mythical space in the box ....no more than a foot in distance but for many impossible to master

09-05-2010, 06:20 PM
I've always said if Nish was played in his proper position as a striker and not in some other role as he has been for much of the season then he would score goals. He has played much of the season in a slightly withdrawn role behind the striker/s and has been poor at times, however 2 games right up front and 5 goals show he's a useful player to have around the place.