View Full Version : Riordan's future uncertain

MixuMac
29-04-2010, 09:17 AM
According to Sky Sports

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11792_6121667,00.html (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11792_6121667,00.html)

29-04-2010, 09:22 AM
According to Sky Sports

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11792_6121667,00.html (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11792_6121667,00.html)

now its a Korean club rather than a Chinese one.

Reeks of pish to me :rolleyes:

29-04-2010, 09:26 AM
The rumours in Germany regarding Nurnberg all started from a report in the sun although a german website is saying that he was could have went there in 2006 but decided on Celtic.

Doubt they will be signing anyone until they know what league they will be in next season (decided by next saturday though)

29-04-2010, 09:28 AM
He could play his last game on Saturday? :boo hoo:

HibbyScott
29-04-2010, 09:28 AM
Surely this is the same Derek Riordan that didn't want to move to England(!) because he didn't want to leave Scotland?

Surely Korea/Germany would be a far bigger culture shock to him than moving to England would have been?

K.Marx
29-04-2010, 09:29 AM
I really cant see Riordan wanting to move abroad to Korea or wherever :blah:

More likely he would go down to The Championship, but in saying that, I would still be surprised if he left us out of his own accord. Seems to me that he's quite happy in Edinburgh around his friends/family.

29-04-2010, 09:34 AM
Hope this turns out to be gash

29-04-2010, 09:42 AM
this stinks of colin nish

29-04-2010, 09:47 AM
Surely this is the same Derek Riordan that didn't want to move to England(!) because he didn't want to leave Scotland?

Surely Korea/Germany would be a far bigger culture shock to him than moving to England would have been?

When did Derek Riordan ever say this, the bit in bold.

29-04-2010, 09:50 AM
I thought he said something similar when he turned down Cardiff.

I don't see him going away really but he does need to feel wanted and I hope that's happening. Doesn't sound like it though unfortuantely.

29-04-2010, 09:59 AM
How many times can Sky Sports regurgitate the same story.. Pretty shoddy from them as there is nowt new in the story whatsoever ...

29-04-2010, 10:21 AM
Surely this is good news? All ive been reading on here for about 6 months how 'lazy' he is and how he doesnt 'track back':cool2:

andrew70
29-04-2010, 10:29 AM
It wouldn’t surprise me to see Derek leave the club but not for reasons mentioned on here i.e. falling out with management etc – He genuinely loves playing for ‘His Team’ and he does give his all despite what some people think. But IMO he has, possibly, one last chance to earn big money and indeed the chance to further prove himself.
What I can’t believe though is there are some Hibs fans who would love to see the back of Derek. The guy is a class act and I for one hope he stays but wish him well if he decides to move on. Lets hope if he does play his last game on Saturday he gets a goal or two.

29-04-2010, 10:36 AM
Its a bloody long way in a taxi from Korea!

Mickey Edwards
29-04-2010, 11:54 AM
Could be a good Korea move

:LOL:

29-04-2010, 12:06 PM
Deeks gawn naewhere.

If he is it will be next season when he's out of contract.

29-04-2010, 12:23 PM
I wonder how his appeal against his fine is going? Hope he isnae burning his bridges by taking on the 'Tache

Only one winner there in the long run I would have thought

And it's not the guy wearing No 10

Mango Man
29-04-2010, 12:28 PM

:greengrin good yin.

andrew70
29-04-2010, 12:33 PM
I wonder how his appeal against his fine is going? Hope he isnae burning his bridges by taking on the 'Tache

It should be though, the club are wrong in this instance.

29-04-2010, 12:36 PM

Club knocked his appeal back, in the sun today. Says he may take it to the spl??

I think the story will dissapear soon enough

29-04-2010, 12:44 PM
Deeks gawn naewhere.

If he is it will be next season when he's out of contract.

I think he may be sold if he doesnt want to sign a new contract, Hibs will try and get some money for him rather than lose him for nothing.

OstKurve Hibs
29-04-2010, 01:02 PM

10/10, im easily amused!!!:thumbsup:

29-04-2010, 01:05 PM
Funnily enough I doubt he will move before he gets married and has a family of his own. You get the feeling, although I have no facts to back it up that Deeks is happy to be a well kent face in Edinburgh and has no real desire to be anything else.

29-04-2010, 01:09 PM
Funnily enough I doubt he will move before he gets married and has a family of his own. You get the feeling, although I have no facts to back it up that Deeks is happy to be a well kent face in Edinburgh and has no real desire to be anything else.

I doubt that very much.

TonyStokeprano
29-04-2010, 01:34 PM
Why would he be dropped for our last two games anyway? even if he is going to move on next season why would we leave him out against motherwell and dundee united when we are pushing for 4th place?

29-04-2010, 02:01 PM
It should be though, the club are wrong in this instance.

Depends very much on the exact terms of his contract, I'd say.

I really hope this turns out to be wrong. Derek is a quality player. We don't have so many that we can let him go again.

To lose Deek once might be considered a misfortune.

To lose him twice would look very much like carelessness.

29-04-2010, 02:06 PM
Korea is a real possiblity...Apparently he's developed a real taste for dog due to frequent after drinks visits to a certain Kebab house :agree:

29-04-2010, 02:19 PM
I cannot imagine Derek Riordan ever moving to South Korea or China. I have nothing to back that statement up but I would be stunned if he ever went to some place like that.

29-04-2010, 02:22 PM
Nice to see the usual Riordan in the know people coming in to stir it up a bit. :greengrin

Don't think he's going anywhere myself.

29-04-2010, 04:22 PM

He'll have to do some seoul searching before he makes up his mind:agree:

Caversham Green
29-04-2010, 04:56 PM
Why would he be dropped for our last two games anyway? even if he is going to move on next season why would we leave him out against motherwell and dundee united when we are pushing for 4th place?

The article's a bit misleading - it says Saturday could be his last game at Easter Road and then goes on to say he "could line up for the last time at home" - doesn't mean he'll be dropped for the two away games.

Sumner
29-04-2010, 06:09 PM
Set to run and run, and that suits certain people's agendas...

WellingtonHibby
29-04-2010, 06:39 PM
He wont be as big a Seoul - ebrity in Korea...

29-04-2010, 06:57 PM
Rangers want him

29-04-2010, 06:59 PM
Rangers want him

:faf: The huns can't afford him

scott_hfc1875
29-04-2010, 07:13 PM
people need to remember he will be a dad within a year and may not want to upsticks with a newborn

29-04-2010, 07:14 PM
people need to remember he will be a dad within a year and may not want to upsticks with a newborn

HibeeMcGinn1
29-04-2010, 07:22 PM

offside again:grr::grr::grr:

29-04-2010, 10:32 PM
He wont be as big a Seoul - ebrity in Korea...that could put a different slant on things

MountcastleHibs
30-04-2010, 12:11 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/8652144.stm

Seems to contradict Sky a wee bitty?

30-04-2010, 06:34 AM

Not to mention his bulldog:boo hoo:

30-04-2010, 07:37 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/8652144.stm

Seems to contradict Sky a wee bitty?

Noticed that Yogi has the result from the game as 2-0, rather than 2-1. :greengrin

30-04-2010, 09:13 AM

Deeks in Love? :faint:

Is she upsticks?

Could explain why he's livin the quiet life recently

khib70
30-04-2010, 09:42 AM

:agree:Will fall on its erse very soon:greengrin