28-04-2010, 07:14 PM
Getting feisty :greengrin

Motta red carded for Inter

28-04-2010, 07:16 PM
Getting feisty :greengrin

Motta red carded for Inter

He didn't react too well to it either.

My prediction before the game was 3-0 Barca and i'm sticking with that.:greengrin

28-04-2010, 07:16 PM
never a red :confused:

K.Marx
28-04-2010, 07:18 PM

Barca are undoubtedly brilliant, but they arent half a bunch of diving *******s. You could see when he was rolling around the floor he had a quick glance to see what the ref was doing. cheating bassa!

28-04-2010, 07:18 PM
This could be some game now, the last thing you want to be is a man short against Barca.

Messi should have some room now :greengrin

28-04-2010, 07:19 PM
Messi again showing the threat he is at the first opportunity.

Brilliant save though.

28-04-2010, 07:19 PM

:agree: play acting get...I think players who do that should get retrospective cards when its so obvious that they are trying to get player sent off

by the way...save of the season there:cool2:

I love Jose

28-04-2010, 07:20 PM
Wasnt a red, but he already had a yellow and that was a yellow offence IMO, either way he was going off.

WellingtonHibby
28-04-2010, 07:21 PM
Anyone ever seen Ibrahimovic and Nish in the same room....Lanky second striker, frequently offside and the first touch of a sex offender...?

28-04-2010, 07:22 PM
Lucio is sooooooooooo good for inter.

28-04-2010, 07:23 PM
Anyone ever seen Ibrahimovic and Nish in the same room....Lanky second striker, frequently offside and the first touch of a sex offender...?

And the majority of the teams moves break down when they receive the ball.

28-04-2010, 07:29 PM
Cristian Chivu clearly got the ball there.

28-04-2010, 07:32 PM
not a foul against messi for me there. player got the ball. If everytime a player wins the ball and then there is contact with other player we would never go longer than 30 seconds between free kicks :rolleyes:

28-04-2010, 07:32 PM
Messi = Lazy.

28-04-2010, 07:33 PM
HT Barca 0-0 Inter.

houston1875
28-04-2010, 07:35 PM
aint Brian Clough the only manager to do back to back european cup wins?

who thinks pep and barca will do it?

28-04-2010, 07:36 PM
i would love Inter to score early second half as Barca would have to go full tilt...at the moment its prett poor cat and mouse with then not wanting to give an away goal so they are not comitting fully going forward....its ruined the spectacle the sending off....

My idea has always been a system of yellow card...second yellow...15 mins in sin bin..Red (but only for really serious / dangerous foul play) Off

houston1875
28-04-2010, 07:37 PM
And the majority of the teams moves break down when they receive the ball.

ahem,lol,so wat you saying?

28-04-2010, 07:39 PM
not a foul against messi for me there. player got the ball. If everytime a player wins the ball and then there is contact with other player we would never go longer than 30 seconds between free kicks :rolleyes:
At first viewing, down to the fact that Barca hadn't put the ball out even though Sneijder was down, it looked like he was trying to kill him though. Was probably fair, but if you show anger or revenge while tackling you'll get booked. At best.

28-04-2010, 07:40 PM
i would love Inter to score early second half as Barca would have to go full tilt...at the moment its prett poor cat and mouse with then not wanting to give an away goal so they are not comitting fully going forward....its ruined the spectacle the sending off....

My idea has always been a system of yellow card...second yellow...15 mins in sin bin..Red (but only for really serious / dangerous foul play) Off

Barca need to score 2 goals in the next 45 minutes to reach the Champions League final, no way will they be reluctant to throw everyone forward till they get a first goal.

Attacking comes first for Spanish teams.:greengrin

hibeemikey21
28-04-2010, 07:42 PM
He didn't react too well to it either.

My prediction before the game was 3-0 Barca and i'm sticking with that.:greengrin

He could really live to regret the way he reacted. I could definately see that red card getting rescinded on review, but if inter go through, his reaction is a whole new, and legitimate, violent conduct charge. Therefore, he'll be out of the final either way IMO.

28-04-2010, 07:45 PM
He could really live to regret the way he reacted. I could definately see that red card getting rescinded on review, but if inter go through, his reaction is a whole new, and legitimate, violent conduct charge. Therefore, he'll be out of the final either way IMO.

and at best it would get demoted to a yellow, still resulting on him missing the final for two yellows.

28-04-2010, 07:48 PM
Arguing on tv about the sending off, "it's just finger tips"

It was contact that is not allowed regardless of the rolling around it is still a non contact sport and that was stupid.

The way the pundits were going on about the injustice of it all, I was beginning to wonder whether Motta is actually, deep down, English.

28-04-2010, 07:59 PM

Bob Paisley, 77 and 78.

Also, not sure about the manager of Bayern when they won 3 in a row in early 70s. Ajax won 3 in a row about the same time, think Michels was only in charge for the first, not sure about the next 2.

28-04-2010, 08:00 PM
italian teams are masters at closing ranks and defending deep, cant see barca scoring 2.

houston1875
28-04-2010, 08:00 PM
Bob Paisley, 77 and 78.

Also, not sure about the manager of Bayern when they won 3 in a row in early 70s. Ajax won 3 in a row about the same time, think Michels was only in charge for the first, not sure about the next 2.

stattastic,cant believe a forgot bob paisley??

plus who'll take Motta's place in final if they get there,inter?

28-04-2010, 08:08 PM
italian teams are masters at closing ranks and defending deep, cant see barca scoring 2.

Cattanaccio.
Translates loosely as padlock or lockdown. Inter have 8 men and their keeper in the box when Barca break.

If Inter do make it to the final I hope that Bryan Munich score first...:yawn::coffee:

28-04-2010, 08:13 PM
stattastic,cant believe a forgot bob paisley??

plus who'll take Motta's place in final if they get there,inter?Muntari or Stankovic will play for inter.

28-04-2010, 08:14 PM
Messi is getting no room on the ball at all.

28-04-2010, 08:18 PM
Anybody else think ibra will be punted at end of season.
Him and dmytro chygrynskiy have been very poor signings by guadiola.

28-04-2010, 08:20 PM
Inter are defending superbly, barca have not threatened at all in the 2nd half.

28-04-2010, 08:21 PM
Inter are defending superbly, barca have not threatened at all in the 2nd half.

I thought only Barca were capable of scoring at least 2 goals against an Inter defence.

Doesn't look like they can do it either though.

28-04-2010, 08:23 PM
I thought only Barca were capable of scoring at least 2 goals against an Inter defence.

Doesn't look like they can do it either though.

Inter have got them resorting to punting high balls into the box and shooting from distance.

First class defending :agree:

28-04-2010, 08:23 PM
Cattanaccio.
Translates loosely as padlock or lockdown. Inter have 8 men and their keeper in the box when Barca break.

If Inter do make it to the final I hope that Bryan Munich score first...:yawn::coffee:

The thing is Italian teams generally dont play catennaccio anymore. It took a Portuguese to bring it back to Italy. Strange but true.

28-04-2010, 08:24 PM

Ajax and Bayern both did it in the 70s IIRC, dont know if it was with the same manager though.

houston1875
28-04-2010, 08:25 PM
Anybody else think ibra will be punted at end of season.
Him and dmytro chygrynskiy have been very poor signings by guadiola.

barca got done over that deal,46 mill euros and etoo in exchange! lmao!

28-04-2010, 08:26 PM
Inter have got them resorting to punting high balls into the box and shooting from distance.

First class defending :agree:

Yep, it's hard to believe Barca would resort to high balls with Messi in their team.

28-04-2010, 08:27 PM
Sitter :grr:

Bojan should have berried that chance.

crewetollhibee
The thing is Italian teams generally dont play catennaccio anymore. It took a Portuguese to bring it back to Italy. Strange but true.
Also strange that there are no Italians in the team either !

houston1875
28-04-2010, 08:28 PM

a remember the inter team after italia 90 with brehme,matteus and klinnsman

they played tidy fitba if a remember rightly?

C'mon Barca!!!

Great finish by Pique.

Is that not the calmest finish by a centre half ever? :greengrin

what a sweet skillful goal! offside though.

28-04-2010, 08:29 PM
What a finish were going to have now, c'mon Barca.:greengrin

Game on.!!!!!!!!

Time to go and get a beer.

What a goal. Great skill.

houston1875
nice skill fae a defender???

crewetollhibee
28-04-2010, 08:30 PM
Now it will be interesting !!!!!!!

What a finish from a central defender.:top marks Put me in mind of Murdoch at his best.:wink:

Incredible from a centre half!

hibeesliam94
Could Ibrahimovic do that??

dawn

:agree: great composure

Nish esque

Nish would still have his hands on his hips in that situation.:faf:

28-04-2010, 08:32 PM
Could Ibrahimovic do that??

Naw.

He would have been offside :cool2:

28-04-2010, 08:33 PM
Naw.

He would have been offside :cool2:

Good point.

28-04-2010, 08:33 PM
This could be a repeat of last year.

In the the final with the last kick of the ball.:agree:

houston1875
28-04-2010, 08:35 PM
Pique looks good as a centre forward!! lol

28-04-2010, 08:36 PM
What a ****ing joke

28-04-2010, 08:37 PM
This could be a repeat of last year.

In the the final with the last kick of the ball.:agree:

They were a handball away this time from doing the same.:boo hoo:

Unless they can snatch a winner.

hibeesliam94
Inter got away with one there

renato

Correct. And Inter have nae Italians in their line up either.

To be fair, it's fantastic defending and how else do you play against Barca, especially down to 10 men.

They could always do an Arsenal and go toe to toe..... :rolleyes:

Shoulda been a goal. Barca deserve the game, Inter just diving about constantly.

Shocking decision ref! :grr:

Bugger!

Turned it off cos it was making me fall asleep...

What a ****ing joke

:agree: And we think Scottish refs are poor

28-04-2010, 08:39 PM
very poor game...Barca just not up to it really given playing 10 for 60 minutes

28-04-2010, 08:40 PM
FT Barca 1-0 Inter... (Agg 2-3)

Bugger.:grr::yawn:

28-04-2010, 08:40 PM
Jose is Box Office :faf:

28-04-2010, 08:41 PM
What an exciting final it will be now :rolleyes:

houston1875
28-04-2010, 08:43 PM
Jose is Box Office :faf:

yep!! totally agree!!!

must feel good going back to yer old club who dubbed you the translator,the fans hate you and you stick it right up the best team in europe,to reach the champo final? must be quite a feeling?

if barca got to final,they woulda steam rolled bayern,hopefully a inter bayern final be more evenly balanced?

28-04-2010, 08:44 PM
What an exciting final it will be now :rolleyes:

An Italian team involved usually means it will be poor.

Apart from Liverpool vs AC Milan.:wink:

NaeTechnoHibby
28-04-2010, 08:47 PM

Also Barcelona V AC Milan 2004 :thumbsup:

28-04-2010, 08:47 PM
which manager once complained about a team bus,parked on the goaline ?

that was guff.

renato
28-04-2010, 08:50 PM

Boring or poor? Wrong on both counts either way.

AC Milan 4 - Barca 0....probably the most complete performance ever, hardly poor.

Inter were boring yes and I don't particularly like them, but you can't deny them their place in the final, 60 odd minutes with 10 men against the best team in the world.

renato
28-04-2010, 08:52 PM
Could also quote numerous games involving EPL teams that were poor. Swings and roundabouts.

28-04-2010, 08:53 PM
Boring or poor? Wrong on both counts either way.

AC Milan 4 - Barca 0....probably the most complete performance ever, hardly poor.

Inter were boring yes and I don't particularly like them, but you can't deny them their place in the final, 60 odd minutes with 10 men against the best team in the world.

Boring is what i meant but it is a poor game to watch, not in quality but entertainment. They ooze quality in a boring department of their team unfortunately which makes it less enjoyable to watch.

28-04-2010, 08:53 PM
Mourinho is quality.

renato
28-04-2010, 08:55 PM
Boring is what i meant but it is a poor game to watch, not in quality but entertainment. They ooze quality in a boring department of their team unfortunately which makes it less enjoyable to watch.

It was boring tonight, no doubt. Just suggesting there was no other way to play given the circumstances, if they wanted to reach the final. They would have got pumped otherwise (as would any other team).

28-04-2010, 08:58 PM
It was boring tonight, no doubt. Just suggesting there was no other way to play given the circumstances, if they wanted to reach the final. They would have got pumped otherwise (as would any other team).

I suppose when your playing against arguably the best attacking team in the world you do have to think about these things and attempting to make your defence a brick wall is probably the correct option and they succeeded in doing that tonight.

28-04-2010, 08:59 PM
Also Barcelona V AC Milan 2004 :thumbsup:The 2004 final was porto vs monoco.

Do you mean the 2003 final between juve and milan that went to pens.

Also i dont know how people caan say its going to be a boaring final with players like robben,etoo,milito,olic and snijder on show.

28-04-2010, 09:03 PM

Cheatin bassas, serves them right

Mon the Italians for the final :thumbsup:

renato
28-04-2010, 09:07 PM
I suppose when your playing against arguably the best attacking team in the world you do have to think about these things and attempting to make your defence a brick wall is probably the correct option and they succeeded in doing that tonight.

Yep, it wasn't pretty but what other option did they have. They're in the final so I guess the end justified the means this time.

As an aside, I think Jose's mind games did the trick too, Pep made some strange decisions tonight.

renato
28-04-2010, 09:10 PM
The 2004 final was porto vs monoco.

Also i dont know how people caan say its going to be a boaring final with players like robben,etoo,milito,olic and snijder on show.

I think Sean suggested any Champions League game involving an Italian team, whereas NTH responded with the Milan - Barca game from 2004 (Q or semi final if memory serves me right), which were two great games over the tie.

Rory89
28-04-2010, 09:11 PM
Cheatin bassas, serves them right

Mon the Italians for the final :thumbsup:

Luca Toni doesn't play for Bayern anymore.

28-04-2010, 09:12 PM

I thoroughly enjoyed the game, a real chess match.

28-04-2010, 09:15 PM
Pleased to see Inter going through.

That was a disgraceful reaction from Busquets for the sending off and if I had my way, he would receive quite a hefty ban.

I just love Jose Mourinho as well, the guy is class! :thumbsup:

renato
28-04-2010, 09:22 PM
Luca Toni doesn't play for Bayern anymore.

Like it :greengrin

28-04-2010, 09:41 PM
I thought Barcelona lost for the same reason they lost the semi-final to Man U 2 years ago and nearly lost to Chelsea last year. Against a well-organised defence players other than Messi don't take anyone on in case a mistake gets made. There's little width and no crosses get put in. The ball goes sideways and backwards and few scoring chances are created. Ball possession isn't an end in itself.

28-04-2010, 10:07 PM
john rankin puts in better crosses than danny alves did tonight :cool2::devil:

28-04-2010, 10:18 PM
http://www.hibs.net/message/signaturepics/sigpic6038_2.gif

Roberto Baggio, Now there was a player.

28-04-2010, 10:25 PM
That other boy they brought on, Jeffren, on the left...thought he was rank rotten...henry must be right out the picture if they think he's not worth a game ahead of that laddy....

NaeTechnoHibby
28-04-2010, 10:35 PM
The 2004 final was porto vs monoco.

Naw, I seem to have lost 10 years of my life :rolleyes:

I meant the 1994 final with Barca and AC Milan, Barca were red hot favourites and Milan were known as the One-Nil winning team :agree:

Couldnae have been a bigger surprise that thay won 4-0 :agree:

And they did it without Van Basten or Costacurta :agree:

Massaro was excellent that night :thumbsup:

28-04-2010, 11:16 PM
Delighted to see Inter get through. I've kept a close eye on them since Serie A started being covered here, what a player Matthaus was back then, up there with the best of them for me.

29-04-2010, 12:11 AM
Delighted to see Inter get through. I've kept a close eye on them since Serie A started being covered here, what a player Matthaus was back then, up there with the best of them for me.

Yes, Inter have once again become a tough act.

I have an Inter shirt circa 1985 in the wardrobe, courtesy of my brother in law who worked in Milano at the time and took me to the San Siro for an unforgetable match. The sponsors were Misura - mafia people I gather.

Somehow there is no more glamourous team in Italy than Inter. Their very name says it all!

29-04-2010, 01:09 AM
Since they beat Chelsea, and defended better than any other team I've seen for years, I really fancied them to go all the way, but we'll see. I reckon Mourinho's a better manager than Van Haal, who did well with a couple of teams and not so well with others. It could be a very tactical final, and I would strongly fancy Inter if it was, even with the talent that Bayern seem to have.

29-04-2010, 02:12 AM
Naw, I seem to have lost 10 years of my life :rolleyes:

I meant the 1994 final with Barca and AC Milan, Barca were red hot favourites and Milan were known as the One-Nil winning team :agree:

Couldnae have been a bigger surprise that thay won 4-0 :agree:

And they did it without Van Basten or Costacurta :agree:

Massaro was excellent that night :thumbsup:

And without Baresi (suspended) and Lentini (injured) too. I remember that game particularly well as I was in hospital and got a mate to put the tenner I had in my bedside drawer on a 4-0 win for AC. The next day he brought me £670. I gave him the tenner for going. Happy days (and my recovery was quick too) All good :thumbsup:

29-04-2010, 07:30 AM
I have an Inter shirt circa 1985 in the wardrobe, courtesy of my brother in law who worked in Milano at the time and took me to the San Siro for an unforgetable match. The sponsors were Misura - mafia people I gather.I had a white Inter away top from round about 1990 that was really smart, somehow I don't think it would fit me now if I still had it!

29-04-2010, 08:19 AM
After all the talk of Messi I'd still Ronaldo instead in my team every time!

29-04-2010, 10:56 AM
Mourinho is quality.

29-04-2010, 11:04 AM
And without Baresi (suspended) and Lentini (injured) too. I remember that game particularly well as I was in hospital and got a mate to put the tenner I had in my bedside drawer on a 4-0 win for AC. The next day he brought me £670. I gave him the tenner for going. Happy days (and my recovery was quick too) All good :thumbsup:

The Savicevic game.:top marks What a genius, you never hear him mentioned among the greats but he was class.

YouTube - Milan - Barcellona 4-0 [Finale Champions League Atene 1994] (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqcIA9rTylk)

Not as good as the 88-89 Gullitt Riyjkard Van Basten team though, beat Real Madrid in the semis 5-0 and Steaua 4-0 in the final.
YouTube - Milan - Real Madrid 5-0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pLMlakAi4sg&feature=related)[/URL]

29-04-2010, 11:11 AM
Pleased to see Inter going through.

That was a disgraceful reaction from Busquets for the sending off and if I had my way, he would receive quite a hefty ban.

I just love Jose Mourinho as well, the guy is class! :thumbsup:

Of course you would - Christ, if it were up to you, Barcelona would start every game on -3 goals, just to try and validate your ludicrous assertion that the Premiership is the creme de la creme :wink: :devil:

Inter deserved their win over the 2 legs, but their antics last night were absolutely appalling. Lucio was every bit as embarassing as Busquets last night - not to mention Chivu. Shame really, as Inter aren't normally as bad as that - even in the first leg they weren't anywhere near as easily wounded!

I've been enjoying watching Serie A on ESPN this season, as there hasn't been a great deal of dive-and-roll employed (certainly in the games I've seen) - however, Inter were farcical last night!

Perhaps the worst I've seen Barcelona playing in the past few years at such a high-stake game: Usually they're firing on all cylinders when they need to be and I fully expected them to run riot last night at home. Credit to Inter though - they broke up the play (not always fairly), they stopped the key men and the stood strong. Having said that, there's no way Barca's second goal should have been chopped off - the ball hit Keita in the stomach FFS!

RoslinInstHibby
29-04-2010, 11:12 AM
last night did nothing to change my opinion that Zlatan Ibrahimović is the most overrated footballer in Europe.

29-04-2010, 11:19 AM
last night did nothing to change my opinion that Zlatan Ibrahimović is the most overrated footballer in Europe.

:agree: - never understood the logic in trading Eto'o for him - Ibrahimovic ALMOST makes Berbasloth look energetic!

RoslinInstHibby
29-04-2010, 11:36 AM
:agree: - never understood the logic in trading Eto'o for him - Ibrahimovic ALMOST makes Berbasloth look energetic!

Eto + 30, million!

29-04-2010, 11:37 AM
Eto + 30, million!Eto+47m euros is shoking.

HibeeBigFly
29-04-2010, 02:57 PM

Obviously missed the barca vs real a few weeks back at the bernabeu.:greengrin

29-04-2010, 03:47 PM
Of course you would - Christ, if it were up to you, Barcelona would start every game on -3 goals, just to try and validate your ludicrous assertion that the Premiership is the creme de la creme :wink: :devil:

Inter deserved their win over the 2 legs, but their antics last night were absolutely appalling. Lucio was every bit as embarassing as Busquets last night - not to mention Chivu. Shame really, as Inter aren't normally as bad as that - even in the first leg they weren't anywhere near as easily wounded!

I've been enjoying watching Serie A on ESPN this season, as there hasn't been a great deal of dive-and-roll employed (certainly in the games I've seen) - however, Inter were farcical last night!

Perhaps the worst I've seen Barcelona playing in the past few years at such a high-stake game: Usually they're firing on all cylinders when they need to be and I fully expected them to run riot last night at home. Credit to Inter though - they broke up the play (not always fairly), they stopped the key men and the stood strong. Having said that, there's no way Barca's second goal should have been chopped off - the ball hit Keita in the stomach FFS!

Do you not think Busquets deserves to be banned after his play acting last night?

Anyway, Barcelona don't need to start on -3 goals, the Premiership is already better as it is. :wink:

It will be interesting to see what happens tonight in the Europa League. There might be an all-English European final yet again if Fulham and Liverpool win tonight, although obviously there might be a Spanish side and no English side in the final if Atletico Madrid beat Liverpool.

Oh and I'm probably going to surprise you here but I agree that Barcelona's second "goal" shouldn't have been chopped off because even if the ball did hit Keita's hand, there is no way that it was deliberate.

In saying that, I thought Pique was offside at the first goal. :greengrin

29-04-2010, 08:35 PM

No way, Messi is much more of a team player, better disciplined, younger i think, scores more goals and just better all round IMO.