View Full Version : Bluenoses to be 'probed' by HMRC

27-04-2010, 03:46 PM
Maybe nothing will come of this but I just read that 'Her Majesty's Govan Loyal' are to be probed (http://www.scotsman.com/news/Rangers-face-tax-probe-over.6256606.jp) by 'Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs'. Could put off potential buyers.

I'm sure it's something perfectly innocent, though that's how they finally nailed Al Capone....

Ants
27-04-2010, 03:47 PM
Rangers face tax probe over players' wages : Scotsman Article

HOPES of a Rangers takeover were dealt a firm blow today when it emerged that the club is being investigated by HM Revenue and Customs.

The Ibrox side could face court action over accusations that players were paid through offshore bank accounts.

The club are alleged to have begun making the payments over a decade ago through an employee remuneration trust.

The cash-strapped club, who are in around £30 million of debt, could face a backdated tax bill running to millions of pounds. :greengrin:greengrin

Potential buyers of the club are unlikely to invest in the club until the issue is resolved.

Rangers said they would defend themselves "robustly."

A club spokesman said: "There is an ongoing query raised by HMRC, which is part of a pending court case.

"On the basis of expert tax advice provided to Rangers, the club is robustly defending the matters raised. It would, therefore, be inappropriate to comment further at this stage."

The cash-strapped Ibrox club, who won the Scottish Premier League on Sunday, has been placed up for sale by current owner David Murray.

Property developer Andrew Ellis and South African businessman Dave King have separately expressed an interest in taking over the club.

An HMRC spokeswoman said: "HMRC cannot comment on the confidential tax affairs of individuals or businesses."

27-04-2010, 03:57 PM

The_Sauz
27-04-2010, 04:49 PM
Don't all "Big Teams" who are £30+ million in debt no get chased by the Tax man. Us hobos will never understand how a "Big Team" works....

TheMentalHibees
27-04-2010, 04:53 PM
Hope they get liquidated and the earth is forever clean from their unwashed presence. If they were to be wound up, I'd run down to Ibrox with party poppers and bottles of champagne, singing "Your club's gone under, why don't you go home..".

Brando7
27-04-2010, 04:56 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/r/rangers/8647085.stm

27-04-2010, 05:13 PM
Good ..boot them oot o europe ..dock them points ...no more than the filth deserve ..

Hope the yam tramps erses are flapping too !!!

27-04-2010, 05:14 PM
"Probed"??

I hope they get *****ed, good and proper, with no lube!!

27-04-2010, 05:26 PM
Too many iffy " business" men with the big motors and smoked windows, ready to give a gentlemans' funny handshake on deals to bail the bigots out I'm afraid.

Chuckie
27-04-2010, 05:27 PM
:rockin:

magpie1892
27-04-2010, 05:33 PM
Good ..boot them oot o europe

No, no, no. Don't boot them out of Europe. Last season's hun tilt at the Champions League was comedy gold and could be even better this time around.

27-04-2010, 05:35 PM
No, no, no. Don't boot them out of Europe. Last season's hun tilt at the Champions League was comedy gold and could be even better this time around.Good point ..i was on a wee rant there...:grr:....:greengrin

magpie1892
27-04-2010, 05:38 PM
Good point ..i was on a wee rant there...:grr:....:greengrin

It's going to be fantastic. I can't wait. Half-a-dozen players away, Walter away, no new owner, no new players. No money. Roll on August.

27-04-2010, 05:40 PM
"Probed by Her Majesty's...."

They'll love that.

27-04-2010, 06:38 PM
They're not the only SPL club paying their players in this way :wink:

JackRegan
27-04-2010, 06:40 PM
This was mentioned 6 weeks ago on 3 Celtic websites. :wink:

27-04-2010, 06:41 PM

Whoopy doo.

27-04-2010, 06:46 PM
Maybe nothing will come of this but I just read that 'Her Majesty's Govan Loyal' are to be probed (http://www.scotsman.com/news/Rangers-face-tax-probe-over.6256606.jp) by 'Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs'. Could put off potential buyers.

I'm sure it's something perfectly innocent, though that's how they finally nailed Al Capone....

Might make them think twice about singing "God Save the Queen"

:bye: Huns and the Yams..........but make it quick.

27-04-2010, 06:49 PM

We've had more important and frankly, more Hibs-based matters to discuss over the past two or three months.

Mainly because we don't have an insatiable desire to define ourselves by 'the other team.'

27-04-2010, 06:54 PM

Jack, if you are going to post here please be sure to get the spelling correct.

It's Celtc, not anything else. :faf:

27-04-2010, 07:18 PM
The cash-strapped club, who are in around £30 million of debt, could face a backdated tax bill running to millions of pounds.
I thought this was about Hearts until I read they were only £30 million in debt.

aljo7-0
27-04-2010, 07:18 PM
I'd rather they were probed by a red hot poker but HMRC will do for starters

Gerard
27-04-2010, 07:27 PM
Too many iffy " business" men with the big motors and smoked windows, ready to give a gentlemans' funny handshake on deals to bail the bigots out I'm afraid.

:confused::wink::devil:
G

27-04-2010, 07:29 PM
The Rangers fans were in their element singing "We shall not abuse" on Sunday, I take it they weren't referring to the British tax system, then?

27-04-2010, 07:32 PM

:top marks :faf:

JackRegan
27-04-2010, 09:01 PM

Aye, we got our erses on a plate that day :jamboak:

27-04-2010, 10:06 PM
Only one thing would give me more pleasure than seeing Rangers go out of business and that is seeing Celtic go with them.

Hopefully it's one down, one to go. :pray:

27-04-2010, 10:08 PM
Where's BITC when you need his input? :wink:

27-04-2010, 11:44 PM

No doubt being probed.

Either that or he's actually logged onto Wallow Wallow and is doing just that.
Maybe.

27-04-2010, 11:45 PM

I can't think of a single situation where we would need his input, to be honest.