View Full Version : NHC Albion Bar

26-04-2010, 07:00 PM
Walked past about fifteen minutes ago and saw the Albion's windows are boarded up - did they get tanned post-match by the cretins?

26-04-2010, 07:02 PM
Walked past about fifteen minutes ago and saw the Albion's windows are boarded up - did they get tanned post-match by the cretins?

hope not thats my pre game pub!

26-04-2010, 07:03 PM
Lost his Licence:agree:

Got told it got done in on the saturday night, not sure if thats true or not though :dunno:

They were already like that prior to yesterdays game.

26-04-2010, 07:05 PM
They were already like that prior to yesterdays game.

no they werent, the blinds were down

26-04-2010, 07:10 PM

aye they where I seen it before the game and the windows were definitely boarded up. No idea what happened though, pub looked like it was open

K.Marx
26-04-2010, 07:10 PM

Deffinately looked like a few windows were boarded up when I walked past on Sunday. Overhead someone in the ground saying it got done in on the Saturday night.

26-04-2010, 07:11 PM

They were certainly boarded up at 2pm, cause we commented on it when we passed.

26-04-2010, 07:12 PM
aye they where I seen it before the game and the windows were definitely boarded up. No idea what happened though, pub looked like it was open

Deffinately looked like a few windows were boarded up when I walked past on Sunday. Overhead someone in the ground saying it got done in on the Saturday night.

aw well must have missed that - probably why the blinds were down :doh:

BigKev
26-04-2010, 07:13 PM
They were certainly boarded up at 2pm, cause we commented on it when we passed.

As did I - I text my mate who stays in Albion Place but he didn't know what had happened.

26-04-2010, 08:35 PM
I seen the polis go in and take 2 men out and put them in the back of the car. Dunno if thats got anything to do with it.

26-04-2010, 08:55 PM
I seen the polis go in and take 2 men out and put them in the back of the car. Dunno if thats got anything to do with it.

They'd just be making sure they got home o.k.:agree:

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:jRPXCJVoa5ql6M:http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42778000/jpg/_42778595_watty_ally.jpg (http://images.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42778000/jpg/_42778595_watty_ally.jpg&imgrefurl=http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/scotland/6537149.stm&usg=__MShYTxZec2-l66FaaVWTmqrsJbM=&h=300&w=300&sz=24&hl=en&start=10&itbs=1&tbnid=jRPXCJVoa5ql6M:&tbnh=116&tbnw=116&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dwalter%2Bsmith%2B%2526%2Bally%2BMccoi st%26hl%3Den%26rlz%3D1T4HPEA_en-GBGB253GB253%26tbs%3Disch:1)

26-04-2010, 09:46 PM

pub was fully open pre and post match and some windows on the right hand side were boarded up, not sure when and why but it was certainly well before kick off that i seen it boarded up

27-04-2010, 07:26 AM
Got told by a member of staff on Sunday afternoon just before kick off that it was game , set and match at 6pm on Sunday night.

Nothing to do with pub getting turned over.

Tough going the pub game and the Albion has joined the ever growing list.

Pity as I like Cheggers and have known him for years through Hibs and bowling.

He told me ages ago match days were his salvation from suits to punters pre game and then punters and suits again after game.

Hope it gets sorted.

27-04-2010, 08:07 AM
Got told by a member of staff on Sunday afternoon just before kick off that it was game , set and match at 6pm on Sunday night

It was open yesterday

27-04-2010, 08:12 AM
Got told it got done in on the saturday night, not sure if thats true or not though :dunno:

Not true, I walked past on Saturday night and it was open as usual it seemed.

Ants
27-04-2010, 03:39 PM
Went past today, all windows boarded up and pub was closed.

27-04-2010, 04:44 PM
I walked past 40 mins ago and two well-dressed gentlemen were leaving and getting into a car outside with large folders in hand......that could mean anything though......so glad to have helped. :greengrin

Chuckie
27-04-2010, 04:44 PM
Went past today, all windows boarded up and pub was closed.

I went past today around 2p.m, and it was boarded up but open for business...

Looked quite busy an aw...

:dummytit:

Ants
27-04-2010, 05:29 PM

Went past 11.30, something was written on door and a couple of auld geezers moaned and returned from the direction in which they came...
It must have read "Season tickets are available across the road" !!

hibsdaft
27-04-2010, 10:02 PM
this thread is a good example of why not to believe everything you read on internet messageboards.

30-04-2010, 04:12 PM

Went past yesterday and all windows boarded up, but now painted green to nicely match rest of frontage, bar was open as usual.

30-04-2010, 05:18 PM
Get yourself round to The Nip the morn. Last time i'll be there before it shuts :boo hoo:

30-04-2010, 05:22 PM
Get yourself round to The Nip the morn. Last time i'll be there before it shuts :boo hoo:

The nip is shutting down? :confused:

30-04-2010, 05:32 PM
Yes, at the end of May. I posted this in the Dug-Out earlier in the week but it failed to generate a discussion. I'll miss The Nip, i've been going there for as long as I can remember and my Dad's been going for 30+ years.

30-04-2010, 05:54 PM
Yes, at the end of May. I posted this in the Dug-Out earlier in the week but it failed to generate a discussion. I'll miss The Nip, i've been going there for as long as I can remember and my Dad's been going for 30+ years.

First I've heard about this :/ Ive been going there since the cabbage got shut down... Im a bad omen it seems. :greengrin

30-04-2010, 06:00 PM

It will be re-opening as a wine bar. :rolleyes:

30-04-2010, 06:02 PM
It will be re-opening as a wine bar. :rolleyes:

Thats no good... I don't drink wine.

LHWM
30-04-2010, 06:02 PM
Bad news when pubs like the Royal Nip shut down, I had friends who worked at Abbeyhill and 'The RN' was a frequent haunt on a Friday evening 30 odd years ago.

30-04-2010, 06:05 PM
God knows why it's being turned into a wine bar. There's a pub up the road for the, ahem, 'wine drinkers' called Utopia. First the East now The Nip. Gonna be a different season altogether for me personsally come august.

30-04-2010, 06:14 PM
God knows why it's being turned into a wine bar. There's a pub up the road for the, ahem, 'wine drinkers' called Utopia. [B]First the East now The Nip. Gonna be a different season altogether for me personsally come august.[//B]

It comes in 3s .. Some winning fitbaw to complete the hat-trick? :wink: :greengrin

vahibbie
30-04-2010, 08:05 PM

That's a shocker:bitchy::boo hoo:

Mind you I'm no sure it's that busy on non-fitba days. Still a blow tho.

30-04-2010, 08:29 PM
The Albion is open at 10 tomorrow.

Don't shoot the messenger:wink:

Siralbertkidd
01-05-2010, 06:54 AM
God knows why it's being turned into a wine bar. There's a pub up the road for the, ahem, 'wine drinkers' called Utopia. First the East now The Nip. Gonna be a different season altogether for me personsally come august.

The Nip will never die!

Its only shut for a wee while to be refurbished and will reopen with a new name.

It will still be the place to drink before and after the game, and thats FACT.

01-05-2010, 07:17 AM
The Nip will never die!

Its only shut for a wee while to be refurbished and will reopen with a new name.

It will still be the place to drink before and after the game, and thats FACT.
Aye re-opening as a wine bar. Hardly the same as it currently is.

Wine bars aren't for the football type.

HibeeMcGinn1
01-05-2010, 07:35 AM

A glass of vino before the match todayp sean?

01-05-2010, 08:20 AM
A glass of vino before the match todayp sean?
ie Falkirk earlier in the season mate :wink:

Nah pal it's Voddy Red Bull for the bus up, Stella in The Nip. I fancy getting blitzed for the game, just for a wee change :party:

:scarf:

01-05-2010, 08:37 AM

Can you imagine the Royal Nip with a "No Football Colours" policy?

Still, the CCS will be ok then....:greengrin