View Full Version : Team for the Derby?

007 Mickey Weir
26-04-2010, 06:25 PM
Ok lets get the build up for saturdays game going!! here's my team thoughts. I think we need to win the midfield battle. So I would set up 4-1-4-1

................Smith.............................

....McCann.....Thicot.....Hanlon.....Murray
........................Cregg....................
..................Miller.....Rankin...............
.....DW..............................Riordan
.....................Stokes.......................

Subs
Maka
Taggart
Stevenson
Nish
Benji
Gow
Galbraith

2-0 to the mighty cabbage!! :thumbsup:

26-04-2010, 06:27 PM
Not-so-wee Leitrim Hibee agrees, but I don't think McCann will start. Maybe, just maybe, he'll move Murray and Hanlon to CB, Thicot at RB and Stevenson at LB?

26-04-2010, 06:31 PM
Why play 4 at the back when they will only have 1 up front. Would it not make more sense to crowd the midfield?

26-04-2010, 06:34 PM
Aye lets start mccann who hasnt played in about a year.

mccormack will keep his place which is worrying.

26-04-2010, 06:37 PM
Aye lets start mccann who hasnt played in about a year.

forgot hes suspended.

K.Marx
26-04-2010, 06:38 PM

Isn't he suspended? (thank god):thumbsup:

26-04-2010, 06:45 PM
McCormack should be played in at CB and not at RB then we'll see how good he is. :agree:

26-04-2010, 07:21 PM
has mccormack ever played as centre half for hibs before?

26-04-2010, 07:28 PM
Not-so-wee Leitrim Hibee agrees, but I don't think McCann will start. Maybe, just maybe, he'll move Murray and Hanlon to CB, Thicot at RB and Stevenson at LB?
wotherspoon is a better RB than Thicot, anyway we need Thicot at CB. Did you not see him yesterday.:thumbsup:

26-04-2010, 07:38 PM
Pack the team with attackers. Go for it.

26-04-2010, 07:40 PM
somebody who can run faster than a yam.

26-04-2010, 07:42 PM
Smith

Spoon
Thicot
Hanlon
Murray (c)

Gow
Miller
Rankin

Riordan
Benjelloun
Stokes

26-04-2010, 07:53 PM
Smith

McCann Thicot Hanlon Murray

Wotherspoon Miller Rankin Gow

Stokes Riordan

Subbies: Maka Hogg Stevenson Cregg Galbraith Nish Benji

Long suffering
26-04-2010, 07:59 PM
Smith

Spoon
Thicot
Hanlon
Murray (c)

Gow
Miller
Rankin

Riordan
Benjelloun
Stokes

so to stop our chronic problem of being overrun in MF you would play 3 in midfield with one being an attacking MF come striker

26-04-2010, 08:04 PM

I'd personally have Wotherspoon at RB, Thicot and Hanlon CB's and Murray at LB.

Smith

Wotherspoon Thicot Hanlon Murray

Rankin Mcbride Bamba (?) Galbraith

Stokes Riordan

26-04-2010, 08:05 PM

:agree: made his debut there against Celtic and was impressive

26-04-2010, 08:08 PM
I did see Thicot yesterday, I was just remembering his performances against Hertz at CB where he's been very good - the reason for not putting Spoon back there was that i reckon his pace would be needed in midfield... Just a thought.

26-04-2010, 08:11 PM
Smith
Rankin McBride Cregg Riordan
Gow Stokes

26-04-2010, 08:35 PM
so to stop our chronic problem of being overrun in MF you would play 3 in midfield with one being an attacking MF come striker

Can see us getting overun anyway whoever we play in their.

26-04-2010, 09:49 PM
McCormack should be played in at CB and not at RB then we'll see how good he is. :agree:
being played out of position shouldn't mean he becomes incapable of the simplest task surely ? dont get me started on him getting at least a 5 yard start on lafferty 2nd half and looking like he was running on treacle as the mulleted twat roared past him:grr:simply not up to it im afraid !!

27-04-2010, 09:05 AM
Smith/Stack/Brown

Rankin Miller Cregg Galbraith

Stokes Riordan

27-04-2010, 09:07 AM
Smith (better than Stack, Brown and Maka IMO)

Wotherspoon (Better than McCormack)
Thicot
Hanlon
Murray

McBride
Cregg
Miller

Nish
Stokes
Riordan

7-0. easy

or the midfield like this;

Galbraith
Miller
McBride
Riordan

with Deek and Galbraith switching now and then. That would leave Stokes and Nish up front.

27-04-2010, 09:10 AM
___________Smith

__________Thicot
_____Hogg_________Hanlon
Wotherspoon__________Murray

___________McBride
________Miller___Rankin

________Stokes___Riordan

nickwhibs
27-04-2010, 11:09 AM
-----------Smith----------
DW--Thicot--Hanlon--Murray
Galbo--Miller--Cregg--Rank
-------------------Deek----
------------Benji-----------

I'd play Deek in an almost free-role coming in off lthe left. I'd play Benji up front as he is the only one who can hold the ball up and bring others into play. Also thought Stokes was crap on Sunday. If McCann is fit enough I'd play him at RB and move Wotherspoon up in place of Galbraith.

27-04-2010, 11:39 AM
-----------Smith----------
DW--Thicot--Hanlon--Murray
Galbo--Miller--McBride--Rank
-------------------Deek----
------------Benji-----------

I'd play Deek in an almost free-role coming in off lthe left. I'd play Benji up front as he is the only one who can hold the ball up and bring others into play. Also thought Stokes was crap on Sunday. If McCann is fit enough I'd play him at RB and move Wotherspoon up in place of Galbraith.

So you'd seriously drop our top scorer who's 2nd top score in the SPL?

SneakersO'Toole
27-04-2010, 11:43 AM
Smith
McCann Hanlon Thicot Murray
Sponny Miller Cregg Galbraithe
Riordan Stokes

Get people who have something to prove like Galbraithe/Thicot/McCann and ditch the likes of Rankin, Hogg and Nish who have had their chance and failed to deliver time and time again this season.

27-04-2010, 12:01 PM
Smith

Spoony
Thicot
Hanlon
Murray

Miller
Cregg
Rankin
Galbraith

Nish
Riordan

27-04-2010, 12:24 PM
Smith (better than Stack, Brown and Maka IMO)

Wotherspoon (Better than McCormack)
Thicot
Hanlon
Murray

McBride
Cregg
Miller

Nish
Stokes
Riordan

7-0. easy

or the midfield like this;

Galbraith
Miller
McBride
Riordan

with Deek and Galbraith switching now and then. That would leave Stokes and Nish up front.

Your first line up will be close, except for the fact that McBride is suspended.

Rankin in for McBride and I think that will be the starting 11.

Nish will play cos he defends set pieces well against their big men.

Not saying it is the team I want but it will probably be the team that Yogi picks.

27-04-2010, 12:26 PM
I would be amazed if McCann starts or even features. Nowhere near ready to play first team games due to lack of games.

Similarly I can't see Yogi giving Galbraith a start for the first time in a derby with so much at stake.

27-04-2010, 12:36 PM

:agree: made his debut there against Celtic and was impressive

Yup. And IIRC he was at CB in the derby when he was sent off? That's his natural position, and IMO where he should be played. He and Hanlon could become a decent pairing in time.

I would be amazed if McCann starts or even features. Nowhere near ready to play first team games due to lack of games.

Similarly I can't see Yogi giving Galbraith a start for the first time in a derby with so much at stake.

Yup. I haven't a clue how Yogi's mind works, but if I were picking the team I think I'd go for Smith; Thicot, McCormack, Hanlon, Murray; Wotherspoon, Miller, McBride, Cregg; Stokes, Riordan.

That would leave me with the option of bringing on Benji and/or Galbraith and/or Nish up front. Defensively, the bench would be a bit scary, though I can't see what we can do about that.

27-04-2010, 12:38 PM
Pointless thread, I have just faxed the lineup into the club. we are guaranteed a win. ..........

**** wrong forum :greengrin

27-04-2010, 12:45 PM
Smith

Wotherspoon
Thicot
Hanlon
Murray

Miller
Cregg
Rankin
Galbraith

Stokes
Riordan

Subs:
Makalamby
Hogg
Stevenson
Gow
Benji
Nish
Taggart

27-04-2010, 01:06 PM
Yup. And IIRC he was at CB in the derby when he was sent off? That's his natural position, and IMO where he should be played. He and Hanlon could become a decent pairing in time.

Yup. I haven't a clue how Yogi's mind works, but if I were picking the team I think I'd go for Smith; Thicot, McCormack, Hanlon, Murray; Wotherspoon, Miller, McBride, Cregg; Stokes, Riordan.

That would leave me with the option of bringing on Benji and/or Galbraith and/or Nish up front. Defensively, the bench would be a bit scary, though I can't see what we can do about that.

Sorry Doddie but McCormack and McBride both suspended

Tollhouse Hibee
27-04-2010, 03:28 PM
Smith
McCann Hanlon Thicot Murray
Sponny Miller Cregg Galbraithe
Riordan Stokes

Get people who have something to prove like Galbraithe/Thicot/McCann and ditch the likes of Rankin, Hogg and Nish who have had their chance and failed to deliver time and time again this season.

are you having a laugh. rankin and nish were about the best against the huns

SneakersO'Toole
27-04-2010, 03:37 PM
are you having a laugh. rankin and nish were about the best against the huns

Clearly watching a different game from me.

Thicot and Hanlon were without doubt our best performers. Riordan possibly as he by far looked the most creative.

Rankin flattered to decieve as usual. His passing was woefully inept.

27-04-2010, 03:39 PM
play taggart as we have been murder for months

SneakersO'Toole
27-04-2010, 03:40 PM
Your first line up will be close, except for the fact that McBride is suspended.

Rankin in for McBride and I think that will be the starting 11.

Nish will play cos he defends set pieces well against their big men.

Not saying it is the team I want but it will probably be the team that Yogi picks.

And thus the reason why we find ourselves on this horrendous run. Yogi has a reliance on players who have consistently let him down.

I say give players who are looking for an opportunity to prove a point the chance on Sunday. Not players who have played 30+ games this season and contributed very little, e.g. Nish/Rankin.

Long suffering
27-04-2010, 07:36 PM
Can see us getting overun anyway whoever we play in their.

yes same in all fairness, id still play 4 though

Long suffering
27-04-2010, 07:40 PM
Smith
Hogg Thicot Hanlon Murray
Wothersppon Rankin McBride Cregg
Deek Stokes

is miller back?

27-04-2010, 07:49 PM
Smith
Deek Stokes

is miller back?

hopefully, McBride suspended though

27-04-2010, 07:50 PM
Sorry Doddie but McCormack and McBride both suspended

Oh yes. I forgot about that. So we have Hogg in place of McCormack and Rankin in place of McBride and an even weaker bench defensively.

TBF to Yogi, he has a major problem with injuries and suspensions to deal with. But I REALLY don't think we're going to win this derby.

Eight in a row, anyone? :rolleyes:

27-04-2010, 08:08 PM
Smith

Miller Cregg Rankin Riordan

Stokes Nish

27-04-2010, 08:11 PM
Smith
Deek Stokes

is miller back?

Hogg at RB :confused:

Dear god please no!!!!!!

Gus
27-04-2010, 08:13 PM

Dear god please no!!!!!!

:boo hoo:Hoggy to go where he belongs (not the bench:wink:)

27-04-2010, 08:17 PM
:boo hoo:Hoggy to go where he belongs (not the bench:wink:)

Defo :top marks

In the stand :agree:

rennie_hfc
28-04-2010, 10:45 AM
--------------------Smith
Wotherspoon--Hogg----Hanlon--Murray
-----------Miller--McBride-Cregg
-----Gow--------------------------Riordan
--------------------Stokes

28-04-2010, 10:48 AM
Wotherspoon--Hogg----Hanlon--Murray
-----------Miller--McBride-Cregg

:doh:

MCBRIDE IS SUSPENDED!

28-04-2010, 10:49 AM
Smith

Stokes Nish

That's ma guess

rennie_hfc
28-04-2010, 10:52 AM
:doh:

MCBRIDE IS SUSPENDED!

Sorry never noticed that, nightmare.

How about
Wotherspoon--Hogg----Thicot----Hanlon
------------Miller--Murray-Cregg

28-04-2010, 10:53 AM
Smith

Stokes Nish

That's ma guess
My guess too.
Having said that I would like to see Deeks up front with Nish and Galbraith left Mid dropping Stokes. There is an outside chance this could happen. :greengrin

28-04-2010, 10:56 AM
.....................Smith
McCormack..Hogg.Hanlon.Murray
...........Thicot..........Rankin
.....................Miller
.....Wotherspoon.....Riordan
.....................Nish

nickwhibs
28-04-2010, 10:59 AM
So you'd seriously drop our top scorer who's 2nd top score in the SPL?

Yes. He's been crap lately.

28-04-2010, 11:10 AM
Much like when we faced Hearts at Tynecastle last season, I think we just have to look at the players we have left that are available and fit, therefore if the following are available they have to play IMO, and its just fitting them into a system.

Hogg, Hanlon, Murray, Wotherspoon, Thicot, Riordan, Stokes.

Therefore for me:

_________Smith

Wotherspoon___Hogg___Hanlon___Murray

Miller______Thicot_____Rankin___Riordan
________________Benji
_______________Stokes

Happy with that back four, Thicot should be a help in midfield with his size and composure, and theres goals in there.

28-04-2010, 11:17 AM
Smith

Wothers
Thicot
Hanlon
Murray

Cregg
Miller
Stevenson
Riordan

Stokes
Gowser

Sandy
28-04-2010, 12:27 PM
Smith

Stokes Nish

That's what I would go for with what we have available :agree:

29-04-2010, 10:12 PM
I wonder who really is injured :hmmm:

30-04-2010, 12:06 AM
............................................smith. .................................................. .

..............................thicot......hanlon.. ........murray............................

.............. ................................cregg

..wotherspoon...............miller.............gow ...............riordan

...................................benji.......... ....stokes ...................................

cheltenhamhibee
30-04-2010, 01:46 AM
wouldn't it be just grand tae have a team this team again -

Herriot
Brownlie
Schaedler
Stanton
Black
Blackley
Edwards
O'Rourke
Gordon
Cropley
Duncan

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

M8UDB
30-04-2010, 07:37 AM
Smith

McCormack Thicot Hanlon Murray

Wotherspoon Cregg Miller Rankin

Stokes Riordan

I would go with the above team. Not to confident about McC at RB but i would much rather have spoony in midfield. Pump them 3-0 if we play that team IMO :thumbsup:

30-04-2010, 07:49 AM
According to Yogi on the BBC interview Hogg, Hanlon and Miller won't make the game. Add in injuries/suspensions to Stack, Brown, Bamba, McCormack and McBride and we have a pretty threadbare squad.

I can see Hughes being forced to play something like this:

Smith
McCann/Taggart Thicot Murray Stevenson
Wotherspoon Rankin Cregg Riordan
Stokes Nish

Bench
Maka
Galbraith
Benj
Gow
+3 others

Not an ideal position to be in, although it was a threadbare squad that won us the derby at tynecastle at the end of last season.

30-04-2010, 07:52 AM
Smith

McCormack Thicot Hanlon Murray

Wotherspoon Cregg Miller Rankin

Stokes Riordan

I would go with the above team. Not to confident about McC at RB but i would much rather have spoony in midfield. Pump them 3-0 if we play that team IMO :thumbsup:

Won't be playing :wink:

SneakersO'Toole
30-04-2010, 09:07 AM
According to Yogi on the BBC interview Hogg, Hanlon and Miller won't make the game. Add in injuries/suspensions to Stack, Brown, Bamba, McCormack and McBride and we have a pretty threadbare squad.

I can see Hughes being forced to play something like this:

Smith
McCann/Taggart Thicot Murray Stevenson
Wotherspoon Rankin Cregg Riordan
Stokes Nish

Bench
Maka
Galbraith
Benj
Gow
+3 others

Not an ideal position to be in, although it was a threadbare squad that won us the derby at tynecastle at the end of last season.

Its got to be said, that is a pretty howling team.

There are only 5 or 6 players in that line up that I would actually want in the squad for next year, nevermind in the 1st team.

30-04-2010, 09:15 AM
Assuming there's all these injuries mentioned,

I'd go with:

..............................Smith............... ................

Wotherspoon.......Thicot........Hogg............Mu rray

Galbraith............Cregg..........Rankin........ .....Gow

......................Stokes................Deek.. .............

sauzee=legend
30-04-2010, 09:15 AM
Smith

Thicot Hogg Murray

Galbraith Cregg Miller Rankin
Gow

Stokes Riordan

andrew70
30-04-2010, 09:31 AM
My team, taking in to account all suspensions and 'injuries', would be:

Smith

Wotherspoon Thicot Murray Stevenson

Rankin Cregg

Gow Byrne Riordan

Stokes

But I think Miller and Hanlon will make it so Miller in place of Byrne and Murray out to left back with Hanlon at centre half. Its not easy though and I feel for Yogi because a negative result would be damaging in our hunt for Europe.

30-04-2010, 10:05 AM
Smith.

Wotherspoon
Thicot
Hanlon
Murray

Miller
Cregg
Rankin
Gow
Riordan

Nish.

30-04-2010, 10:30 AM
wouldn't it be just grand tae have a team this team again -

Herriot
Brownlie
Schaedler
Stanton
Black
Blackley
Edwards
O'Rourke
Gordon
Cropley
Duncan

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

They would take about ten off Hearts and that is if they played the game tomorrow. :greengrin

30-04-2010, 10:35 AM

Dear god please no!!!!!!

Let's hope Yogi reads this.

30-04-2010, 11:15 AM
Let's hope Yogi reads this.

He will at some point today. :wink:

Just hope he take's notice, Hogg is not a right back, infact Hogg should only be on the bench if he is fit just now.

Franck is God
30-04-2010, 11:42 AM
My team for tomorrow

Smith

McCann---Hogg---Hanlon---Murray

Cregg--Rankin

Spoony---Miller---Riordan

Nish

Subs

Maka
Thicot
Booth
Galbraith
Benji
Stokes
Byrne

Big90inOz
30-04-2010, 12:05 PM
The team line up will make little difference, we will play the same predictable system which any coach worth his salt will set out his team to capitalise.

I really hope I'm wrong but I can't see us getting more than the draw :boo hoo:

Too narrow, no pace and possibly the slowest team in the league

I watched last weeks game on 6x speed, it gives you quite an amazing perspective of how we play. Lots of side and backward passes with very little movement, no killer passes and no one able / prepared to take on his opponent.

30-04-2010, 12:15 PM
Stack

McCormack
Hogg
Bamba
Murray

Zouma
Miller
McBride
Spoony

Stokes
Riordan

30-04-2010, 12:37 PM
If I'm right we have :
McBride, McCormack, Bamba - all suspended
Hogg, Miller - injured and unlikely to make it
Hanlon - struggling
Stack, Brown, Zemama, - out til next season.

I'm assuming/hoping that Hanlon will somehow pull through so...

---------------Smith--------------

Wothers---Thicot---Hanlon---Murray

Cregg---Rankin---Stevenson-Galbraith

--------------------Riordan---------
-----------Stokes-------------------

Bench: Maka, McCann, Currie, Welsh, Nish, Benji, Gow

A look at the bench shows how down to the bare bones we are in everything but attack. But I think there's still enough there to beat the Yams on our own patch.

30-04-2010, 12:39 PM
Stack

McCormack
Hogg
Bamba
Murray

Zouma
Miller
McBride
Spoony

Stokes
Riordan

:faf: 7 of your starting eleven are either injured or suspended - fantasy football indeed!

30-04-2010, 12:46 PM
Cannae believe the number of people who would have McCann at RB (who's not played first team football for a yonks) and Galbraith at LM (who's done nothing apart from a late goal at Parkhead).

Smith
Wotherspoon
Thicot
Hanlon
Murray
Cregg
Miller
Rankin
Deek
Nish
Stokes

Only change from that may be Hogg in at CH, Thicot to RB and Spoony to midfield in place of Cregg.

30-04-2010, 12:51 PM
Cannae believe the number of people who would have McCann at RB (who's not played first team football for a yonks) and Galbraith at LM (who's done nothing apart from a late goal at Parkhead).

Smith
Wotherspoon
Thicot
Hanlon
Murray
Cregg
Miller
Rankin
Deek
Nish
Stokes

Only change from that may be Hogg in at CH, Thicot to RB and Spoony to midfield in place of Cregg.

Playing McCann at RB is not ideal but may be necessary given that McCormack, Bamba are suspended and Hogg and Hanlon look likely to be out for this game.

Miller is out too according to Hughes.

30-04-2010, 12:56 PM
I want to see Thicot Start...

30-04-2010, 01:00 PM
Stack

McCormack
Hogg
Bamba
Murray

Zouma
Miller
McBride
Spoony

Stokes
Riordan

What planet have you been on recently?

Zouma and Stack out for the season.

McBride, Bamba and McCormack suspended.

SneakersO'Toole
30-04-2010, 01:09 PM

At least these players have points to prove and would perhaps surprise us all by injecting some much needed urgency and enthusiasm into our play.

The likes of Rankin/Nish on the other hand have had their chance and in the main blown it with sub-standard performances over the course of the season and certainly in the last few months.

I would absolutely give McCann and Galbraith their chance in this game. We have won 2 in 15 games with the usual suspects playing. We have nothing to lose by giving these players a chance and seeing if they can cut it.

30-04-2010, 01:13 PM
We have nothing to lose by giving these players a chance and seeing if they can cut it.

We have a lot to lose. A win, or even a draw tomorrow would guarantee that Hertz finish below us, and only a Ross County win in the SC Final would see us not playing in Europe next year.

It's not the game that Yogi will be throwing people into who have played about half an hour between them this season.

SneakersO'Toole
30-04-2010, 01:18 PM
It's not the game that Yogi will be throwing people into who have played about half an hour between them this season.

Versus players who have consistency produced woeful performances week in week out?!

Hughes's stubborness to play the same players who have been playing gash, sometimes out of position just to have them in the team is one of the fundamental reasons we are on the this horrendous run.

If the likes of Galbraith etc can't get their chance when the team has won 2 in 15 then they never will.

Regardless of the importance of the match, some fresh blood and changes may be exactly what we need to get ourselves going again. Past results suggest that it certainly won't happen by sticking with the same players who have let Hughes and more importantly the fans down time and time again.

30-04-2010, 01:32 PM
Oh yes. I forgot about that. So we have Hogg in place of McCormack and Rankin in place of McBride and an even weaker bench defensively.

TBF to Yogi, he has a major problem with injuries and suspensions to deal with. But I REALLY don't think we're going to win this derby.

Eight in a row, anyone? :rolleyes:

neither do I, got a bad feelin

30-04-2010, 01:49 PM
Hughes's stubborness to play the same players who have been playing gash, sometimes out of position just to have them in the team is one of the fundamental reasons we are on the this horrendous run

You could also argue that he's having faith with the players who went through the great run up until February and hoping they come good?

30-04-2010, 01:52 PM
Based on current availability it will be:

Smith

McCann
Thicot
Murray
Stevenson

Wotherspoon
Cregg
Rankin
Galbraith

Riordan
Stokes

30-04-2010, 04:38 PM
What planet have you been on recently?

Zouma and Stack out for the season.

McBride, Bamba and McCormack suspended.

Forgot to put a :greengrin at the end! Sarcasm doesn't come across well on the internet without smileys.

30-04-2010, 05:40 PM
Forgot to put a :greengrin at the end! Sarcasm doesn't come across well on the internet without smileys.

Makes sense now.

30-04-2010, 07:43 PM

Smith

McCann
Thicot
Murray
Stevenson

Wotherspoon
Cregg
Rankin
Galbraith

Riordan
Stokes

I cant see him starting with Galbraith, Yogi doesnt seem to have faith in him for 90 mins.

i can see Benji playing and Riordan doing the left midfield thang again. Other than that I think your team is what Yogi will go with.

01-05-2010, 09:07 AM
with Bamba out can see Nish in the starting lin-up for his physical "Prescence"

houston1875
01-05-2010, 09:39 AM

Smith

McCann
Thicot
Murray
Stevenson

Wotherspoon
Cregg
Rankin
Galbraith

Riordan
Stokes

if this is to be the team for derby,i fear for us i really do,coz this team is severly lacking in height in defence,midfield and up front?

01-05-2010, 09:48 AM
Smith

Wotherspoon
Hogg
Hanlon
Murray

Cregg
Rankin
Miller
Riordan

Nish