View Full Version : Words or phrases you dont hear anymore

24-04-2010, 12:33 AM
I'll go first:greengrin
Scuddy mags !!:boo hoo:

---------- Post added at 01:32 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:30 AM ----------

Do you want a bj !:faf:

---------- Post added at 01:33 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:32 AM ----------

Single please and a coupla matches.

24-04-2010, 12:48 AM
Apple choaring(sp) :greengrin

24-04-2010, 01:03 AM
Hey mister can you gie me a liftover. :cool2:

24-04-2010, 01:07 AM
Pittangyangkipperbang ooooooooh:faf:

---------- Post added at 02:07 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:06 AM ----------

10 half time 21 the winner !

andyhibs
24-04-2010, 09:27 AM
shottie, as in keep shottie for the polis:cool2:

24-04-2010, 06:41 PM
Woolabrawunga

24-04-2010, 06:51 PM
Barry gadgie! :greengrin

24-04-2010, 06:53 PM
The use of the word "shan" to mean cruel.

25-04-2010, 08:28 AM
"I see Hibs won again."

25-04-2010, 09:03 AM
ha ha 10 half time 21 the winner!
I'm still not sure why it was always 21 not 20

Calvin
25-04-2010, 10:09 AM

Not sure, I hear and use 'shan' and 'shanner' all the time!

25-04-2010, 10:17 AM
what a ridder. keep stoom.

JE89
25-04-2010, 11:41 AM

Me too

25-04-2010, 09:28 PM
Gittin yer cheapies.

25-04-2010, 09:31 PM

Me too

Me three :greengrin

25-04-2010, 09:45 PM
Gies a hoisty !

Dreep(hang off wall with fingers and let go) off a wall :greengrin

---------- Post added at 10:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:44 PM ----------

Just perm it at the back :faf:

25-04-2010, 09:55 PM
Chinny chin chin

Away and boil (pronounced bile) yer heed

26-04-2010, 12:09 AM
Me three :greengrin
Me four.

howdenthehibby
26-04-2010, 04:53 PM
barry deekin(good looking)

26-04-2010, 04:54 PM
Bagging off

26-04-2010, 05:00 PM
Another commanding performance by Hibs who have to be seen as potential title challengers after their recent form.

26-04-2010, 07:31 PM
Bagging off

26-04-2010, 07:57 PM
I'll go first:greengrin
Scuddy mags !!:boo hoo:

---------- Post added at 01:32 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:30 AM ----------

Do you want a bj !:faf:

---------- Post added at 01:33 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:32 AM ----------

Single please and a coupla matches.

Sounds like you must be married!! :cool2:

Biff Tannen
26-04-2010, 08:46 PM

Eh Shan gets used aw the time!! shan post!!:greengrin

---------- Post added at 09:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:45 PM ----------

Me and CB 03 brought back bag oaf a while back!!Eh Craig!?

26-04-2010, 09:35 PM
Necking :greengrin

26-04-2010, 09:38 PM
muckle

Mixu62
27-04-2010, 12:55 AM
Haud yer wheesht!

27-04-2010, 02:39 AM
Lies, I used this word right infront of you whilst hurling a tirade of abuse at John Pryde's serious lack of managerial ability and understanding of the rules of Association Football :cool2:

dawn
28-04-2010, 01:11 PM
Tolly, as in jobby! Great word

28-04-2010, 06:41 PM
That's Gallas!

28-04-2010, 06:43 PM
Yer ma!

Chuckie
28-04-2010, 07:50 PM
Collay Buckie.... ?

28-04-2010, 08:05 PM
Doing a 'wee man' whilst sliding on ice.

'Dreepin' doon oafy a ledge or wa'

A 'high shoulder' would always trump a 'colly-buckie' as it was dedidely more precarious and required superior strength.

NOt sure if these are still in use but I don't hear my boys speaking of having played 'long bangers', 'knockout', 'crossie', 'shapes' or variations thereof.

Calvin
28-04-2010, 08:19 PM
Knockouts and Crossie I used to play!

28-04-2010, 08:57 PM
Doing a 'wee man' whilst sliding on ice.

'Dreepin' doon oafy a ledge or wa'

A 'high shoulder' would always trump a 'colly-buckie' as it was dedidely more precarious and required superior strength.

NOt sure if these are still in use but I don't hear my boys speaking of having played 'long bangers', 'knockout', 'crossie', 'shapes' or variations thereof.

Wee man :thumbsup::top marks I remember that:greengrin

Yer not getting dreep though as i have already baggsied it:cool2:

---------- Post added at 09:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:57 PM ----------

Baggsy gaun first.
Baggsy no gaun in.

28-04-2010, 09:00 PM
Who's hee ? Who's who ? Naw , who's hee. Aw He's hee. Who's hee ?
Him !

"Hee" as in doing the counting during hide and seek (coco 21).
"Hee" as in being tigged and are now hee:greengrin

---------- Post added at 10:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:00 PM ----------

Garden sneaking :faf:

28-04-2010, 09:08 PM
Who's hee ? Who's who ? Naw , who's hee. Aw He's hee. Who's hee ?
Him !

"Hee" as in doing the counting during hide and seek (coco 21).
"Hee" as in being tigged and are now hee:greengrin

---------- Post added at 10:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:00 PM ----------

"games up the pole" for hide and seek as well!

28-04-2010, 09:09 PM
Fingering:kdarts:

28-04-2010, 09:10 PM
when 2 people say the same thing at the same time...."JINX, now you cannae speak till someone says your name!"

28-04-2010, 09:12 PM
when 2 people say the same thing at the same time...."JINX, now you cannae speak till someone says your name!"
now you cannae speak till someone says your name TWICE :rules:

My bairns still say that :greengrin

28-04-2010, 09:12 PM
Fingering:kdarts:

I was going to say "stinky finger"....

28-04-2010, 09:14 PM
" Can you speak Eggy ?"

Yeges egi fegukegin cegan :greengrin

---------- Post added at 10:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:13 PM ----------

Nice one:agree:

Games a bogey !

28-04-2010, 09:16 PM

Normally happened around 4:30-5pm when folk got shouted in for their tea:faf:

fitba anaw ! " Games a bogey "
"How"
"Kevs been shouted in and its his baw":faf:

28-04-2010, 09:41 PM
Ya big sap....as in you large jessie :greengrin

28-04-2010, 09:53 PM

Backie runs

Collay Buckie.... ?

Piggy-backs

28-04-2010, 10:02 PM
"No it's ok, I'll swallow it"

28-04-2010, 10:09 PM
Foot ins !
Eg , it it dogs **** you are not it.
Theres a soldier in the grass with a bullet up his ass pull it out pull it out like a good boy scout.:greengrin

---------- Post added at 11:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:07 PM ----------

One potato two potato three potato four...........

---------- Post added at 11:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:08 PM ----------

Want a game of Elastics:greengrin

28-04-2010, 10:10 PM
Wee man :thumbsup::top marks I remember that:greengrin

Yer not getting dreep though as i have already baggsied it:cool2:

---------- Post added at 09:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:57 PM ----------

Baggsy gaun first.
Baggsy no gaun in.

Fair play for dreepin but I did have ma bees up while ah wis makin a guider! :greengrin

28-04-2010, 10:14 PM
I draw a snake upon your back ........................

---------- Post added at 11:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:11 PM ----------

Join on the choo choo train. Join on the choo choo train :greengrin

---------- Post added at 11:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:11 PM ----------

Fair play for dreepin but I did have ma bees up while ah wis makin a guider! :greengrin

Guiders :faf:

No prams wheel were safe when that fad kicked in:greengrin

---------- Post added at 11:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:13 PM ----------

One nine one nine a copy !

28-04-2010, 10:24 PM
"thats shady"

"feeches" (still game ruined that one :greengrin)

"venny"

"MD 20/20, Thunderbird", Red Stripe,"

"crappy keeper"

"BMXie"

"dobber"

"mocket"

"Hotchin"

"Hote"

MCC Hibs
28-04-2010, 10:42 PM
Radgeworks
Pleb
Sponge

dawn
29-04-2010, 12:41 AM
[QUOTE=sleeping giant;2443442]" Can you speak Eggy ?"

Yeges egi fegukegin cegan :greengrin[COLOR="Silver"]

Yegges eggi ceggan, beggut treggying teggo speggell eggit eggis fegguking heggard!

A Couldnae ever dae icy though!:grr:

Who do you think a am?.... "Andrew Carnegie?". Reply... "nut, ma ma." Reply...slap!

"It's ben the room"

Mixu62
29-04-2010, 12:56 AM
Bam. "As in dinnae mess wi that teacher, he's a bam!" (brings back memories of Mr Lobbans geography class at Holy Rood High)

LamontHFC©
29-04-2010, 04:31 AM
Bam. "As in dinnae mess wi that teacher, he's a bam!" (brings back memories of Mr Lobbans geography class at Holy Rood High)

Still used occasionally. :wink:

29-04-2010, 12:02 PM
Do the wee ones still do "tic tac" to see who gets 1st pick?

dawn
29-04-2010, 02:16 PM

But they do Tac Tics, just tae get on the telly and make feggannies o
themselves!:greengrin

"Radge as a brush" used a lot as a kid but I don't get this one, how can a brush be radge? :confused:

29-04-2010, 03:17 PM
Oh ya stoater

29-04-2010, 03:26 PM

Tic tac was when the 2 team captains stood opposite eachother (distance apart to be decided) and alternated turns to walk towards eachother one step at a time (heel of front foot touching front of rear foot) until one persons foot was on top of the others. They were deemed winner and had 1st pick for their team.

---------- Post added at 04:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:25 PM ----------

Do folk still play "pitchy"?

29-04-2010, 05:36 PM
Hunt The ****.

29-04-2010, 05:37 PM
ben the scullery
ben the kitchenete

29-04-2010, 06:19 PM
ben the scullery
ben the kitchenete

It's in the drying green.

29-04-2010, 08:49 PM

"Eeny meeny miney mo" was a better way of picking. :greengrin

29-04-2010, 11:27 PM
The telly needs a new bulb !

---------- Post added at 12:25 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:23 AM ----------

I'm taping the charts on Sunday.

---------- Post added at 12:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:25 AM ----------

Want a game of shapes ?

29-04-2010, 11:49 PM

:bitchy: Tic tac aw the way!

dawn
29-04-2010, 11:53 PM
Tic tac was when the 2 team captains stood opposite eachother (distance apart to be decided) and alternated turns to walk towards eachother one step at a time (heel of front foot touching front of rear foot) until one persons foot was on top of the others. They were deemed winner and had 1st pick for their team.

A Ken, a was being a bam!:greengrin, kids do still use this.

I don't hear this anymore though

There was also- dip dip dugs s**t ....

---------- Post added at 12:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:51 AM ----------

[QUOTE=sleeping giant;2444568]The telly needs a new bulb ![COLOR="Silver"]

or maybe 50p for the slot?

30-04-2010, 07:38 AM

There speaketh a woman!!! :greengrin

Tic Tac toe all the way.

I've not heard "1 2 3 Helpy caught" in ages either, though Health and Safety have probably banned that primary school favourite.

30-04-2010, 12:07 PM
Tic Tac was great as long as no lamposts were allowed :faf:

30-04-2010, 12:18 PM

THAT's what they were called.

When some cheeky bugger jumped from about 7 paces away just to get first pick :faf:

30-04-2010, 12:28 PM

When some cheeky bugger jumped from about 7 paces away just to get first pick :faf:

I wasnt sure if anyone would know what I was on about & lamposts were just a Leith colloquialism:greengrin

30-04-2010, 12:32 PM
I wasnt sure if anyone would know what I was on about & lamposts were just a Leith colloquialism:greengrin

It was definitely the terminology at Parsons Green Primary school circa early 1990's :greengrin

Ditto to Danderhall Hibs - I just remember the rules being stipulated before Tic Tac Toe started, but couldn't remember what the forbidden act was called.

30-04-2010, 12:34 PM

I wanted to post it in my explanation post but couldn't remember what it was called!

Danny_Hibee
30-04-2010, 12:53 PM

Wasnt a lampost when the person lay on the ground and reached out to touch the other persons foot? I cant remember the name for it but wasnt the running jump a totally different controversial tactic?

RoslinInstHibby
30-04-2010, 01:00 PM

30-04-2010, 01:33 PM
Wasnt a lampost when the person lay on the ground and reached out to touch the other persons foot? I cant remember the name for it but wasnt the running jump a totally different controversial tactic?

I thought a lampost was when one person lay along the ground head first to touch the other's foot with their forehead.

30-04-2010, 01:39 PM
I thought a lampost was when one person lay along the ground head first to touch the other's foot with their forehead.

30-04-2010, 07:46 PM

Geordies still say that. It takes me back to when I was wee in Edinburgh:greengrin

"Cheesy Boakin" while stroking your chin. (while making fun of someone elses misfortune). God knows what it meant.

dawn
30-04-2010, 09:26 PM
Geordies still say that. It takes me back to when I was wee in Edinburgh:greengrin

"Cheesy Boakin" while stroking your chin. (while making fun of someone elses misfortune). God knows what it meant.

That reminded me of one, strokingly pinching ones chin and saying "chin chin"
meaning - Talking s***e.
We should just do this instead of ever using the word "Hearts"!:greengrin

30-04-2010, 09:30 PM
meaning - Talking s***e.

:agree: and brought back another memory

Anyone remember Tutti Frutti on RTL :wink:

01-05-2010, 08:00 AM
meaning - Talking s***e.

"Chinny chin chin" I believe was the required phrase, around my bit anyway.

Right, so if a lampost was someone lying down to get an unfair advantage (which makes sense now I think about it) what the hell was the "jump from miles away" move called - I'm sure it had a name, and was similarly outlawed whilst partaking in the hallowed art of Tic-Tac-Toe.

Calvin
01-05-2010, 08:54 AM

Right, so if a lampost was someone lying down to get an unfair advantage (which makes sense now I think about it) what the hell was the "jump from miles away" move called - I'm sure it had a name, and was similarly outlawed whilst partaking in the hallowed art of Tic-Tac-Toe.

It was 'itchy chin' for us.

In Tic-tac, for us, lamppost was just someone taking a massive step. We had a tiny one as well where you pretty much only put your toes down and the rest of your foot lay on the foot already down.

01-05-2010, 09:04 AM
It was 'itchy chin' for us.

In Tic-tac, for us, lamppost was just someone taking a massive step. We had a tiny one as well where you pretty much only put your toes down and the rest of your foot lay on the foot already down.

Aye, I'm sure that's what it was for us as well - don't know why I'm doubting myself!!! I remember the wee "ballet steps" tactic you mention as well - that must have a term as well, no??

dawn
01-05-2010, 03:02 PM
Aye, I'm sure that's what it was for us as well - don't know why I'm doubting myself!!! I remember the wee "ballet steps" tactic you mention as well - that must have a term as well, no??

Could be wrong but I think they were called, "baby steps".

01-05-2010, 04:05 PM
Could be wrong but I think they were called, "baby steps".

Lamposts were a full stretched out body from tiptoes to fully stretched out arm to the tip of the fingers.

Groathillgrump
02-05-2010, 09:35 AM
Here's a phrase you don't hear much anymore:

"I see Hibs won today" :boo hoo:

02-05-2010, 07:03 PM
I got six of the belt today.

:grr: Did a few times.

03-05-2010, 01:53 AM
" If you see Sid , tell him "

04-05-2010, 05:12 AM

The Superman:thumbsup:

04-05-2010, 09:57 AM
ploughing or scudding as in sh4ggin :greengrin

04-05-2010, 05:30 PM
Earlier today while passing by some laddies kicking a scuffed football around I was reminded of the word "philly" meaning real leather football as opposed to a plastic replica. If you had a philly yer baw was always in demand!

04-05-2010, 05:37 PM
Earlier today while passing by some laddies kicking a scuffed football around I was reminded of the word "philly" meaning real leather football as opposed to a plastic replica. If you had a philly yer baw was always in demand!
In contrast if your ball was a plastic one it would be a 'flyaway' :greengrin

04-05-2010, 05:37 PM
ach it il be orite

04-05-2010, 09:15 PM

It didnt hurt as much as the Mitre Mould Master:greengrin

What was that other "baw" ? Not the orange Striker ! It was white hard plastic , maybe captains ball ?

---------- Post added at 10:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:15 PM ----------

In contrast if your ball was a plastic one it would be a 'flyaway' :greengrin

Watch me bend this :greengrin

04-05-2010, 09:34 PM
gantin = mingin - smellin

05-05-2010, 02:43 PM
ploughing or scudding as in sh4ggin :greengrin

Not heard that since I was about 18 (24 now). Still hear 'sowed her' all the time.

Hibee-Bongo
05-05-2010, 02:57 PM

There was a defensive move if you knew you were going to be beaten, cant properly remember but you could move your foot 90 degrees :confused: Also used at Parsons Green 1990s.

Not played with a 'flyaway' ball in a while.

05-05-2010, 04:36 PM

Not heard that since I was about 18 (24 now). Still hear 'sowed her' all the time.
Never heard that one. Me and my pals use the phrase 'pinged her' :greengrin

Been years since I said 'Mum, i'm away out. Gonnae tape that programme for me?!'

Can you even buy video recorders anymore?

05-05-2010, 04:39 PM
go git that baw wee man

05-05-2010, 05:40 PM
Hits it gets it

05-05-2010, 05:45 PM
Hits it gets it

YES!!! This is brilliant nostalgia.

Having to shin over the back fence at Primary school became a near full time profession.

What about the vocab that went the Panini sticker albums??

"Doublers" and "Shinys" etc

05-05-2010, 05:54 PM
YES!!! This is brilliant nostalgia.

Having to shin over the back fence at Primary school became a near full time profession.

What about the vocab that went the Panini sticker albums??

"Doublers" and "Shinys" etc
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
NEED!

Always loved how there must have been 400 stickers in the album yet you automatically knew what you had and what you needed!

Come the end of the season you had about 600 'doubles' :faf:

05-05-2010, 05:57 PM
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
Got.
NEED!

Always loved how there must have been 400 stickers in the album yet you automatically knew what you had and what you needed!

Come the end of the season you had about 600 'doubles' :faf:

It was got, got, got, got, got, NO GOT, got, got in my day.

Terry Fenwick was an easy one to get.

06-05-2010, 05:33 PM
I remember one year I bought my first packet of the season and the first stickers on show was the Hibs badge and Jim Leighton. I was uncontrollable for the rest of the day.

Happy times.

10-05-2010, 06:30 PM
A humdinger (meaning brilliant)
Cock or Hen / Pug or Engine (the call when two players turned up late)
Cairy-cod (piggy back)
A mennon (a stickleback/minnow - we used to 'cork' them in dubs on the rocks)
Poddlies (wee sea fish)
Peeochy (an ugly wee fish that we were all terrified of - our kind of piranha)
Bowff (minging)
Sprat killer (long thin piece of metal)
Cavy howker (big hook for pull crabs out of rock crevasses)
Braemar (something that was quality)

Dav1986
11-05-2010, 01:57 AM
Barry- the game where there were 2 of you and took turns from opposite sides of a set of goals trying 2 hit the bar, duration went along the lines of 10 half time 21 the winner...

Also nae shannies when u stitched up a mate to go in goals at crossie

Any1 remember playing sting? Think it was hot ass in other places..

11-05-2010, 05:26 PM
It was got, got, got, got, got, NO GOT, got, got in my day.

Thats right:faf::thumbsup:

11-05-2010, 09:19 PM
Reminded as I was of my own tragic angst-ridden teenage escapades wi lassies by the phrase to 'bag-off', the word 'nash' came to mind meaning to snog (usually the aim of a bag-off) but also it means to run fast as in 'we better nash, thats the polis coming'

As an aside, another hapless laddie in my class was offered a 'bag-off' wi a big huge fat lassie in Holyrood Park.
His perplexed reply (and this is true): "a bag of what?"

11-05-2010, 10:00 PM
Leb :smokin

11-05-2010, 10:05 PM
What about doing Endoes on your bike ?

Pulling the front brake hard and keeping the back wheel up for a few seconds.
Cool folk could do front hops:greengrin

Maybe not a phrase but what about the jubilee carton stuck in you bike wheel for the motorbike effect ?:cool2:

More of a phase but did anyone own a Trick Stick , Batty Bouncer or Yo Ball ?:greengrin

Yo Balls were sound:agree: Mines was yellow:thumbsup:

12-05-2010, 09:44 AM
Reminded as I was of my own tragic angst-ridden teenage escapades wi lassies by the phrase to 'bag-off', the word 'nash' came to mind meaning to snog (usually the aim of a bag-off) but also it means to run fast as in 'we better nash, thats the polis coming'

As an aside, another hapless laddie in my class was offered a 'bag-off' wi a big huge fat lassie in Holyrood Park.
His perplexed reply (and this is true): "a bag of what?"

:faf: :faf: :faf:

Nash is another one I've not heard in ages .

For some reason, the word "nixy" was en vogue amongst the cool kids at school - we're talking S2/S3 age - to mean "no/no chance".

I.e. "I got a ****load of homework for tomorrow. Nixy will that be getting done"

Or even funnier, after a dressing down in front of the class, the "victim" (if a cool kid) would walk back to their seat, audibly muttering (preferably in a rising pitch of voice) "Niiiixxxyyyyy" - what a struggle it was to keep a straight face :agree: :faf:

therealgavmac
12-05-2010, 03:23 PM
Can't believe "Gonny gie's a gam" has been passed over :thumbsup:

therealgavmac
12-05-2010, 03:26 PM
:agree: and brought back another memory

Anyone remember Tutti Frutti on RTL :wink:

Oh yes -remember it well!!

http://www.rtlgroup.com/public/Website/images/pictures/tuttifrutti_380.jpg