View Full Version : Quickest Ways To Get To Dens Park 86

23-04-2010, 05:43 PM
"My computer crashed yesterday."

- a bit like the bottle of a certain football team at Dens Park back in 86!

"Looks like stormy weather."

-though not as stormy as certain on-field events back in Dens Park in 86!

You get the picture...

Disc O'Dave
23-04-2010, 05:46 PM
I see Boyzone have a song called "Threw It All Away"

- I wonder if that's a tribute to a certain game at Dens Park in '86?

EDIT: Turns out the song is called "Gave it All Away". The point still stands.

23-04-2010, 05:47 PM
i got kicked in the baws last night

- a bit like but not as sore as what happened to a certain team at dens park in 86

Amsterdam
23-04-2010, 05:52 PM
Total eclipse of the Heart(s) by Bonny Tyler

possibly another tribute to that fateful day at Dens in '86

23-04-2010, 05:54 PM
YouTube - Jason Donovan - Too many broken hearts (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CR3pQpqeqSc)

23-04-2010, 05:55 PM
"It's a bit wet outside"

Not as wet as the tear covered terracing was at Dens Park in '86

23-04-2010, 05:56 PM
what became of the broken hearted by Jimmy Ruffin

another tribute to that fateful day at Dens in '86

what became of the broken hearted

a 1999 film about that fateful day at Dens in '86

23-04-2010, 06:03 PM
Me and the missus were in the throes of passion building up to something special. Then A Kidd spoiled the whole thing by ringing the door bell.

I'm still thinking about what might have been.

Still, we're going through to Glasgow next week, so I suppose we've got another chance? :dunno:

23-04-2010, 06:36 PM
Apparently Celtic won the league in '86.

Hardly anyone noticed - too busy laughing their tits off at Hertz.

23-04-2010, 06:50 PM
Russell Laptapy's goal in the 6-2 game.

A tribute to a certain 2nd goal in a certain game at a certain Dens Park in 86?

23-04-2010, 06:50 PM
Apparently Celtic won the league in '86.

Hardly anyone noticed - too busy laughing their tits off at Hertz.

Don't be silly, they had to beat St Mirren by six goals or something. You telling me I wouldn't have heard about that? :tsk tsk:

23-04-2010, 07:15 PM
Smokey re-releasing a remix of Tears of the Clowns in honour of the bubbling twats

23-04-2010, 07:19 PM

You get the picture...

No, it didn't come through. I wonder if anyone else has one? :dunno:

23-04-2010, 07:24 PM
No, it didn't come through. I wonder if anyone else has one? :dunno:

I'm struggling, is this the kind of thing you had in mind?

http://cryingfans.files.wordpress.com/2009/03/osu_crying_fans.jpg

http://spokenword.kall700sports.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/41656650_arsenal_fan_crying203.jpg

23-04-2010, 07:28 PM
I rented "Gone in 60 Seconds" from blockbuster last night.

I wonder if the title is a subliminal reference to the fateful moments during the late part of the second half of a match being played by a certain football team at Dens Park back in 86!

23-04-2010, 07:32 PM
I was going to meet someone today, when they phoned me and asked how long I'd be - I told them I was only ten minutes away.

Coincidentally, that's exactly how long Hertz were from winning the title at Dens in '86.

23-04-2010, 07:37 PM
I was going to meet someone today, when they phoned me and asked how long I'd be - I told them I was only seven minutes away.

Coincidentally, that's exactly how long Hertz were from winning the title at Dens in '86.

Fixed that for you.

23-04-2010, 07:38 PM
Fixed that for you.

I was being generous and counting injury time :greengrin

23-04-2010, 07:39 PM
I was being generous and counting injury time :greengrin

23-04-2010, 07:51 PM

WTF are you boys on about? Someone's going to have to explain all this to me.

Hopefully with videos and photos and that.

23-04-2010, 07:59 PM
"It's a bit wet outside"

Not as wet as my breeks. They still haven't dried out :cb

23-04-2010, 08:37 PM
Not as wet as my breeks. They still haven't dried out :cb

Such a shame for that felly, with his Ulster and Union flags on his scarf.

23-04-2010, 08:41 PM

WTF are you boys on about? Someone's going to have to explain all this to me.

Hopefully with videos and photos and that.

I asked a few Jambo's and all they do is this;

http://unmanly.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/1877_346839546_man_20crying_1__h120751_l.jpg

Hopefully someone can clarify for us soon.

23-04-2010, 08:45 PM
I found this photo in my collection but I am unsure of its significance :confused:

23-04-2010, 08:48 PM
I'm just about to go and watch the film Seven Pounds which I recorded on my V+ box.

Coincidentally, that's just slightly less than what the rail fare from Edinburgh to Dundee cost on that fateful day in 1986.

23-04-2010, 09:25 PM
i've always thought we should have some kinda signature tune to celebrate 86' :dunno: the most recent one could be 'the laughing policeman' song for the present day,but there's no official 'anthem' for 86' :boo hoo: or even a poem dedicated to sir albert of kidd ? we already have a 'sir albert kidd day' but no catchy tune that we can sing/whistle along to :music: can someone do a poll :greengrin

23-04-2010, 09:33 PM

You get the picture...

Quickest Ways To Get To Dens Park 86

You're gonna need some terrible silver strips, a bunch of dodgy perms, a good few strange taches, a whole helluva lot of passbacks and ideally you really need the most spectacularly inappropriate shirt manufacturer you can possibly think of. Try Mita.

Anyway the main thing is not to think about how you can travel back in time to get to Dens Park for 3rd May 1986, its how you get there for the 25th anniversary next year......

H18SScottW
23-04-2010, 11:50 PM
I was bursting for a 'single fish' and had no option but to do so in the street. A Mr G Mackay of Gorgie approached me and said "Couldn't you hold on?"
"Naw, a bit like you :jamboclow in '86 ya erse"

Dundee FC are to raise money by offering areas of Dens Park up for naming by supporters groups. Hertz fans have raised £86 to have the areas between the pitch and the stands named after Chris 'Smokey' Robinson's classic "The Tracks of My Tears" :boo hoo:

24-04-2010, 09:01 AM
:confused:WTF, I distinctly remember that all they had to do was turn up - they were the big team FFS - are you really sugesting that it never went to plan? I won't be able to believe without some proof - sorry.

Wasn't that the famous "double" season we hear so much about

24-04-2010, 09:07 AM
Was in the pub last week and when asked what I wanted replied "mine's a double" but the silver jumpered barman spilt it when almost in ma grasp. Oh the memories came flooding back..

24-04-2010, 09:09 AM
Dont know if this is relevent :greengrin

YouTube - Dundee V Hearts 1986 Albert Kidd (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCjEsN4E85s)

24-04-2010, 09:14 AM

YouTube - Dundee V Hearts 1986 Albert Kidd (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCjEsN4E85s)

WTF has that got to do with anything Ronnie. :confused:

Surely its more important to see the trophy won that day :devil:

YouTube - St Mirren 0 Celtic 5 1986 (God Bless Albert Kidd) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Qywda-v64c)

24-04-2010, 09:24 AM

:agree::thumbsup: Thats the one, and the 2 goals must be the double they were on about, all coming back to me now...........

McSwanky
24-04-2010, 10:26 AM
WTF has that got to do with anything Ronnie. :confused:

Surely its more important to see the trophy won that day :devil:

YouTube - St Mirren 0 Celtic 5 1986 (God Bless Albert Kidd) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Qywda-v64c)

I haven't seen that for ages, Celtic were very, very good that day.

Thank ****. :thumbsup:

24-04-2010, 01:19 PM
Just been fitting a new inner tube to her indoors' bike. I thought I had done everything right until she pointed out that the chain was on the wrong side of the wheel. :grr:

So close and yet so far.

24-04-2010, 01:46 PM
I was about to make love to my wife and she told me "just try and hold on for more than ten minutes this time." I told her the last time I'd heard that was from the mouth of a short arsed soccer manager in the dug out at Dens Park back in 86.

24-04-2010, 08:19 PM
I joined a thread in support of Murdo Macleod on pusbook when he was ill and there's a Jambo on there today giving him stick about today's commentary on the St Mirren game. :rolleyes: :devil:

"Hello Murdo,

It is uncanny to see you congratulating St Liedown for winning today....

After deciding to get gubbed by Celtic in 1986, and Campbell Money refusing to play because because 8 Celtic supporters in the St Mirren team were going to throw the game, you will have to keep this up for quite a while yet because of their their pathetic attitude!!!...
Dode the Jambo fae Hutche

P.S Fitba apart, it is good to see that you are better :-)"

"In 85/86 we go beat by Dundee, even though we tried to get the game called off because of flu spreading around Gorgie, especially Craig Levien. It did not go through and no excuse, Kidd did the damage to us.

How surpisingly, Celtic actually won by the amount of goals that they had to. St Liedown ********s......."