View Full Version : Question Bin Men - How Much do they get paid????

23-04-2010, 05:21 PM
There was a bin man on the telly last night telling Nicola Sturgeon that he got £20,000 a year. My question is, is that a basic, or is what he makes after his shift allowance etc.

hibeenicol
23-04-2010, 05:35 PM
A bin lorry driver in fife gets £21000 max. A binman gets £17000 max.

23-04-2010, 05:44 PM
A bin lorry driver in fife gets £21000 max. A binman gets £17000 max.

Thanks, I don't imagine Edinburgh will be any different.

23-04-2010, 05:51 PM
There was a bin man on the telly last night telling Nicola Sturgeon that he got £20,000 a year. My question is, is that a basic, or is what he makes after his shift allowance etc.

Their pay is due to be slashed, when 'modernising pay' is implemented by the Council.

23-04-2010, 07:30 PM
Their pay is due to be slashed, when 'modernising pay' is implemented by the Council.

im guessing thier pay will be protected but any new starts will have to start on a lower salary, imagine if they just came in and said right guys as of the next financial year you will be on 5k less per year. Mass walk im guessing. They done the same kind of thing with the NHS and as I was on a higher salary than what my banding came back as i wouldnt get a pay rise for about 5 years so that any new start could catch up with what i was earning

23-04-2010, 08:12 PM
They get paid bucketloads but I wouldn't do their job as it's rubbish

Ants
23-04-2010, 08:20 PM
Currently with bonus @ £20000

THE council's proposal – which would see refuse collectors become neighbourhood environment workers – would result in basic pay changing from £12,234 to £15,986. However, staff would be responsible for more duties.

Under the new scheme, staff would not receive the current bonus of up to £6,729 for full attendance.

Instead, they would be eligible for a "shift payment" bonus of up to £4,573, depending on factors like the time of their shifts

23-04-2010, 09:58 PM

I always assumed binmen were like taxi drivers and loaded :greengrin

I thought they got more than 21k mind you.
Saying that , I've chased the bin lorry down my street in my slippers when it was snowing as they didnt lift my bucket only to be told that they were working to rule and would not cross the street due to heath and safety rules !
They picked it up on the way back up:greengrin
That is 100% true.

I'm all for workers getting paid what they are worth but i thought it was rather childish to refuse to cross a road, that no car could drive on when the bin lorry was there, due to heath and safety regs.

IIRC did they not kick up a stink a few years back as they used to be on a job and finish every day but if they got back to the yard by a certain time they could then get another route as overtime? Overtime paid during and ontop of their normal daily wage during their normal working hours.

My take is that they have had it cushty for years and obviously want to keep it cushty .

I'm not saying there is anything wrong with getting comfy in a cushty job and wanting to keep the perks but times change and sometimes its a sair yin .

23-04-2010, 10:00 PM
Don't see what all the whining's about - things will soon PICK UP...:cool2:

23-04-2010, 10:15 PM
That's not bad money.

24-04-2010, 12:36 AM
I always assumed binmen were like taxi drivers and loaded :greengrin

I thought they got more than 21k mind you.
Saying that , I've chased the bin lorry down my street in my slippers when it was snowing as they didnt lift my bucket only to be told that they were working to rule and would not cross the street due to heath and safety rules !
They picked it up on the way back up:greengrin
That is 100% true.

I'm all for workers getting paid what they are worth but i thought it was rather childish to refuse to cross a road, that no car could drive on when the bin lorry was there, due to heath and safety regs.

IIRC did they not kick up a stink a few years back as they used to be on a job and finish every day but if they got back to the yard by a certain time they could then get another route as overtime? Overtime paid during and ontop of their normal daily wage during their normal working hours.

My take is that they have had it cushty for years and obviously want to keep it cushty .

I'm not saying there is anything wrong with getting comfy in a cushty job and wanting to keep the perks but times change and sometimes its a sair yin .

I believe this is one of the key elements of the dispute. They ignore the regs and get the job done quicker and leave early. The council want them to do more with that spare time but they're saying up yours and working to rule now.

24-04-2010, 12:44 AM
I believe this is one of the key elements of the dispute. They ignore the regs and get the job done quicker and leave early. The council want them to do more with that spare time but they're saying up yours and working to rule now.

Its taken too far when they go down my street clearing one side then back up again clearing the other. My street is just a wee street. They block the traffic anyway so nobody can get knocked over.

Listen , if they can get a good deal and comfy conditions then i wish them all the best:thumbsup:

I just found it amusing.

"Health and safety mate":faf:

24-04-2010, 12:46 AM
Also , people seem to fear missing the binmen now:greengrin

**** what night is it , what colour of bin is it :grr:

24-04-2010, 09:32 AM

The bin man was supposedly suspended after talking to Sturgeon. Quite shocking if true, but sadly another example of Edinburgh council's determination to silence anyone who disagrees with them

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/Nicola-Sturgeon-quiz-gets-bin.6248849.jp (http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/Nicola-Sturgeon-quiz-gets-bin.6248849.jp)

speedy_gonzales
24-04-2010, 09:41 AM
The bin man was supposedly suspended after talking to Sturgeon. Quite shocking if true, but sadly another example of Edinburgh council's determination to silence anyone who disagrees with them

Do you think, I know we preach about freedom of speech, but how many private companies would sit back and let an employee have a rant about them and let it slide? I know I have a clause in my contract that prevents me from speaking to the media at all times(regarding work, Network Rail) and to refer them instead to our media officer!

24-04-2010, 09:44 AM
Do you think, I know we preach about freedom of speech, but how many private companies would sit back and let an employee have a rant about them and let it slide? I know I have a clause in my contract that prevents me from speaking to the media at all times(regarding work, Network Rail) and to refer them instead to our media officer!

In this case, it seems he was approached by a member of the SNP, the same SNP who share power in the city with the LibDems. If he wasn't allowed to speak to her, or was limited in any way as to what he could say, then she should have known better than to potentially cause him trouble by speaking to him in the first place

24-04-2010, 09:47 AM

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/Nicola-Sturgeon-quiz-gets-bin.6248849.jp (http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/Nicola-Sturgeon-quiz-gets-bin.6248849.jp)

If you aire your employment grievances to the media then you do indeed suffer the consequences. Just ask a certain DR.

speedy_gonzales
24-04-2010, 09:49 AM
In this case, it seems he was approached by a member of the SNP, the same SNP who share power in the city with the LibDems. If he wasn't allowed to speak to her, or was limited in any way as to what he could say, then she should have known better than to potentially cause him trouble by speaking to him in the first place
Aye, she approached him, asked 'are you busy', if it were me it would be an 'aye!' and off I went. The council employees are under a lot of pressure(not just bin men) and obviously this guy took that partivular moment to vent to someone that apparently had no idea what was going on at local level. The middle management certainly over reacted though, with the suspension and immediate reinstatement, NOT how it's meant to happen!

24-04-2010, 10:05 AM
Aye, she approached him, asked 'are you busy', if it were me it would be an 'aye!' and off I went. The council employees are under a lot of pressure(not just bin men) and obviously this guy took that partivular moment to vent to someone that apparently had no idea what was going on at local level. The middle management certainly over reacted though, with the suspension and immediate reinstatement, NOT how it's meant to happen!

I think the man was perfectly within his rights to say how he felt about the situation. The minister asked him a question, and they had a frank and open discussion.

Her fault for patronising him if she didn't want to hear what he said. One of thie things that wrong with Britain is that we are conditioned not to say what we really think. Whether it's telling a waitress that everything is fine, when we really hate what we've been served, or telling your boss that you love your work.

Nobody gets anywhere if we aren't prepared to listen to the other person's views. This story is appalling, and I hope that the union give this guy their full backing.

All he did was give a political answer to a political question. Why should ordinary people pay for the folly of the greedy and rich?

24-04-2010, 11:31 AM
I think the man was perfectly within his rights to say how he felt about the situation. The minister asked him a question, and they had a frank and open discussion.

Her fault for patronising him if she didn't want to hear what he said. One of thie things that wrong with Britain is that we are conditioned not to say what we really think. Whether it's telling a waitress that everything is fine, when we really hate what we've been served, or telling your boss that you love your work.

Nobody gets anywhere if we aren't prepared to listen to the other person's views. This story is appalling, and I hope that the union give this guy their full backing.

All he did was give a political answer to a political question. Why should ordinary people pay for the folly of the greedy and rich?

hibsdaft
24-04-2010, 01:40 PM
If you aire your employment grievances to the media then you do indeed suffer the consequences. Just ask a certain DR.

Sturgeon isn't media though ;-)

24-04-2010, 02:02 PM
Sturgeon isn't media though ;-)No, but the media were present when this incident occured ..

24-04-2010, 02:53 PM

Totally agree. Sturgeon was keen to tell him the Government couldn't help as it was a matter for councils but rather slower to acknowledge her party is one of the two governing the council. I've met Sturgeon in my work and found her to be obnoxious, along with her colleague Rosanna Cunningham.