View Full Version : Brilliant!

22-04-2010, 09:15 PM
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/1723/hibernian197677a.jpghttp://1.bp.blogspot.com/_rM-yBw2PtmI/S3Rlm5df5bI/AAAAAAAABdQ/2n4qtJQXEuw/s1600-h/HIBERNIAN+1976-77A.jpghttp://1.bp.blogspot.com/_rM-yBw2PtmI/S3Rlm5df5bI/AAAAAAAABdQ/2n4qtJQXEuw/s1600-h/HIBERNIAN+1976-77A.jpg

DrSpaceMonkey
22-04-2010, 09:19 PM
awesome :thumbsup: the hibs team the year i was born :greengrin

22-04-2010, 09:29 PM
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2344/2198852279_ecd591bcb3.jpg?v=0

HibeeMcGinn1
22-04-2010, 09:34 PM
help the young gun out here. what year we looking at with these pics?

22-04-2010, 09:37 PM
help the young gun out here. what year we looking at with these pics?

The first is 76-77, the second 71-72.

PC Stamp
22-04-2010, 09:37 PM

Pitch looks shocking! :greengrin

HibeeMcGinn1
22-04-2010, 09:39 PM
The first is 76-77, the second 71-72.

22-04-2010, 09:43 PM

Aye but most of them could control a ball. Can't remember anybody complaining about the pitches back then. :cool2:

PC Stamp
22-04-2010, 09:44 PM
awesome :thumbsup: the hibs team the year i was born :greengrin

Back Row LtoR - Ally MacLeod, Roy Barry, Jim McArthur, John Brownlie, John Blackley, Erich Schaedler.

Middle Row LtoR - Lindsay Muir, St Patrick of Stanton, Tony Higgins, Iain Munro, Derek Spalding, Pat Carroll

Front Row LtoR - Willie Murray, Arthur Duncan, Wee Fat Barsteward who ******up the Tornadoes, Des Bremner, Alex Edwards, Bobby Smith.

Boots - Regulation Black, all made by Adidas!!! :greengrin

Any corrections?

22-04-2010, 09:47 PM
Back Row LtoR - Ally MacLeod, Roy Barry, Jim McArthur, John Brownlie, John Blackley, Erich Schaedler.

Middle Row LtoR - Lindsay Muir, St Patrick of Stanton, Tony Higgins, Iain Munro, Derek Spalding, Pat Carroll

Front Row LtoR - Willie Murray, Arthur Duncan, Wee Fat Barsteward who ******up the Tornadoes, Des Bremner, Alex Edwards, Bobby Smith.

Boots - Regulation Black, all made by Adidas!!! :greengrin

Any corrections?

:top marks (there's no 18/18 smilie :greengrin)

For those who parle a bit of Franglais

http://thevintagefootballclub.blogspot.com/2010/02/hibernian-fc-1976-77.html

PC Stamp
22-04-2010, 09:50 PM
2nd pic 71-72

Back Row LtoR ... John Fraser (coach), John Blackley, John Brownlie, Billy McEwan, Jim Herriot, St Patrick of Stanton, Jim (useless git against Dixie Deans) Black, Erich Schaedler, Tam McNiven (fizzy-o)

Front Row LtoR ... Arthur Duncan, Alex Edwards, Jimmy "Everyone knows his name" O'Rourke, John Hazel, Alan Gordon, Johnny "can I wear my Rangers scarf to training" Hamilton, Bertie Auld.

Again, any corrections?

22-04-2010, 09:50 PM

http://thevintagefootballclub.blogspot.com/2010/02/hibernian-fc-1976-77.html

Contest haircut and mustache. Hibernian 1976-77 version is composed? E of players with a t? You Errol Flynn. This may explain? Be the club's colors. Pr? Presentation of some local figures from another time.

22-04-2010, 09:52 PM
2nd pic 71-72

Back Row LtoR ... John Fraser (coach), John Blackley, John Brownlie, Billy McEwan, Jim Herriot, St Patrick of Stanton, Jim (useless git against Dixie Deans) Black, Erich Schaedler, Tam McNiven (fizzy-o)

Front Row LtoR ... Arthur Duncan, Alex Edwards, Jimmy "Everyone knows his name" O'Rourke, John Hazel, Alan Gordon, Johnny "can I wear my Rangers scarf to training" Hamilton, Bertie Auld.

Again, any corrections?

Spot on in both pics PC :thumbsup:

PC Stamp
22-04-2010, 09:53 PM
Aye but most of them could control a ball. Can't remember anybody complaining about the pitches back then. :cool2:

I'd have to disagree with you but only to the extent that I'd say all of them could control the ball, even the fringe players like Hazel and Hunmilton! :greengrin

22-04-2010, 09:54 PM

http://thevintagefootballclub.blogspot.com/2010/02/hibernian-fc-1976-77.html:greengrin

22-04-2010, 09:58 PM
I see adidas were the boot of choice in the seventies, or was there a choice?:greengrin

wpj
22-04-2010, 10:00 PM
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/1723/hibernian197677a.jpghttp://1.bp.blogspot.com/_rM-yBw2PtmI/S3Rlm5df5bI/AAAAAAAABdQ/2n4qtJQXEuw/s1600-h/HIBERNIAN+1976-77A.jpghttp://1.bp.blogspot.com/_rM-yBw2PtmI/S3Rlm5df5bI/AAAAAAAABdQ/2n4qtJQXEuw/s1600-h/HIBERNIAN+1976-77A.jpg

Reminds me of my bubblegum card collection from then :thumbsup:

sadtom
22-04-2010, 10:10 PM

Now thats a fitba team!

PC Stamp
22-04-2010, 10:11 PM
I see adidas were the boot of choice in the seventies, or was there a choice?:greengrin

Aye, white stripes or yellow stripes! :greengrin

22-04-2010, 10:49 PM
2nd pic 71-72

Again, any corrections?

Johnny "Cowboy" Hamilton?
(however, your quote is quite acceptable) :greengrin

23-04-2010, 09:25 AM
Well done "Fraser P" if you post on here. :top marks

http://www.flickr.com/photos/fraserpettigrew/sets/72157603733458502/

23-04-2010, 12:05 PM
With regard to the first pic, is there any need for any kit manufacturer to ever deviate from this strip...ever?

23-04-2010, 12:06 PM
With regard to the first pic, is there any need for any kit manufacturer to ever deviate from this strip...ever?

That's exactly what I was thinking. :agree:

23-04-2010, 12:15 PM
That's exactly what I was thinking. :agree:

Never!!!! And the away strip should be the opposite. Nae need for change.

Alan62
23-04-2010, 12:18 PM

The young folks who buy them would find our adoration for this 'ancient' kit somewhat bemusing. Their fashion tastes are rather more exotic.

Having said that, I had one of those purple tracksuits that the trainers are wearing in the 71/72 shot and wore it every day. Clearly I must have looked like the biggest gayboy in Muirhoose back in the early 70s. :wink:

23-04-2010, 12:33 PM
Slightly off topic - but there are some real classic Hibernian strips on display here:-

http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/Scottish_Football_League/Hibernian/hibernian.htm

23-04-2010, 12:33 PM
By the way, if anyone likes the strip in that picture enough to part with £400 benjamins for a match worn one, look here:

http://www.supremefootballshirts.co.uk/Pages/ProductDetails.aspx?PId=740fd180-e6f8-4ff7-9321-19c85b092fb9

If they then wish to donate it to the Speedway benevolent fund in thanks for my years of service here, you have only to ask. (PS - I have £400 benjamins but Mrs Speedway is awfully old to be tried for Murder.)

crewetollhibee
23-04-2010, 12:38 PM
Derek Spalding - a 1970's Matty Jack ! Didn't he retire early to join the Police and/or move to the U.S ?

davehiby
23-04-2010, 06:00 PM
year i started going to watch hibs up till then i wasnt allowed on my own (only hibby in the family)had that top for years and some bassa stole it a night of a wild party in my house,really loved that top and that team.used to go in the enclosure ,remember going to a game v rangers and it was mostly full of huns wow was i suprised to find myself amongst them with only another few hibbys

23-04-2010, 06:32 PM
Reminds me of my bubblegum card collection from then :thumbsup:

Now THAT'S a Hibs strip :agree:

:top marks:top marks

23-04-2010, 06:36 PM

LHWM
23-04-2010, 06:37 PM
http://www.londonhearts.com/images/hibs2/images/Hibs01.jpg

LHWM
23-04-2010, 06:58 PM
http://www.londonhearts.com/images/hibs2/images/Hibs04.jpg

23-04-2010, 07:04 PM
QUOTE=Speedway;2437233]By the way, if anyone likes the strip in that picture enough to part with £400 benjamins for a match worn one, look here:

http://www.supremefootballshirts.co.uk/Pages/ProductDetails.aspx?PId=740fd180-e6f8-4ff7-9321-19c85b092fb9

If they then wish to donate it to the Speedway benevolent fund in thanks for my years of service here, you have only to ask. (PS - I have £400 benjamins but Mrs Speedway is awfully old to be tried for Murder.)[/QUOTE]

I'll take two please!
And how much do you want for the mask? :bandit:

crash
23-04-2010, 07:15 PM
http://www.londonhearts.com/images/hibs2/images/Hibs01.jpg

Nice one London, not so many people jumping in with names for this one. Can you give us the season for a starter?

LHWM
23-04-2010, 07:24 PM
Nice one London, not so many people jumping in with names for this one. Can you give us the season for a starter?

I think it is a reserve line up just after the war.

More here (http://www.londonhearts.com/images/hibs2/index.htm)

LHWM
23-04-2010, 07:26 PM
http://www.londonhearts.com/images/hgames/images/games04.jpg

LHWM
23-04-2010, 07:27 PM
http://www.londonhearts.com/images/hgames/images/games05.jpg

PC Stamp
23-04-2010, 07:27 PM
I think it is a reserve line up just after the war.

More here (http://www.londonhearts.com/images/hibs2/index.htm)

The chap at the very end (right hand side) of the front row looks like he needs a heat! :greengrin

PC Stamp
23-04-2010, 07:29 PM

Jonnyboy'll be along soon :wink:

24-04-2010, 12:52 AM
http://www.londonhearts.com/images/hgames/images/games05.jpg

Looking at the crowd in your photo - wow!!!
Taken before cinemas came to town I guess. :greengrin

hibby67
24-04-2010, 03:10 AM

Des Bremner looks particularly dodgy in the photo...
whats with that hair do........:faf:

24-04-2010, 05:58 AM
Des Bremner looks particularly dodgy in the photo...
whats with that hair do........:faf:

That's not Des Bremner it's Gene Wilder "The Waco Kid" :faf:

24-04-2010, 06:37 AM
That first pic is quite possibly the hairiest squad photo I think I've ever seen.

Did the barbers go on strike in the 70s?

24-04-2010, 07:48 AM
That first pic is quite possibly the hairiest squad photo I think I've ever seen.

Did the barbers go on strike in the 70s?

Is the strike over? :confused:

Naebody told me. :grr:

24-04-2010, 07:53 AM
Is the strike over? :confused:

Naebody told me. :grr:

stubru59
24-04-2010, 08:24 AM

Short answer. No.

24-04-2010, 10:05 AM
Short answer. No.

Retro Rules! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

sven nil
25-04-2010, 05:44 AM
It would be FANtastic if we could get that strip back.

Des Bremner,what a worker he was went on to win a european cup winners medal,amazing what you could pick up in the highland league back then.