View Full Version : Pat Stanton Book signing, Livingston

At The Edge
20-04-2010, 08:28 PM
Apolgies if this has been posted already, noobie and all that:greengrin
Hibs Legend Pat Stanton will be doing a book signing in Livingston Waterstones on Sat 15th May at 1pm to promote his new book 'Hibernian Dream Team', Ted Brack will also be there.

Waterstones is in the Almondvale Centre.

20-04-2010, 08:30 PM
Hibs Legend Pat Stanton will be doing a book signing in Livingston Waterstones on Sat 15th May at 1pm to promote his new book 'Hibernian Dream Team', Ted Brack will also be there.

:thumbsup: I'll tell my auld man

:grr: I can't go

20-04-2010, 08:30 PM

Sure to be another cracking read from the pen (or is that keyboard) of Ted Brack :thumbsup:

I have the honour of having been invited to the book launch and will offer up a critique shortly thereafter. Launch is Thursday 29 April

20-04-2010, 08:44 PM
Nice one - I'll be heading along to that :agree:

20-04-2010, 08:51 PM
He is meant to be signing at waterstones in Ocean Terminal on 1st May

20-04-2010, 08:55 PM

Aye, buy the book and the T-Shirt :greengrin

20-04-2010, 08:58 PM

Derby day. He is normally a host in hospitality so unless it's 9am or something I would be surprised.

But thanks for the heads up :thumbsup:

20-04-2010, 09:05 PM
Derby day. He is normally a host in hospitality so unless it's 9am or something I would be surprised.

Possibly even later in the afternoon as it's lunch time kick-off.

fife hfc
20-04-2010, 09:07 PM
It was meant to be 12.30 so can see the Ocean terminal signing being cancelled.

20-04-2010, 09:08 PM

It was a couple of weeks ago I was last in that shop, but there was definately aa couple of signs saying may 1st. (this would have been arranged before the yammish claimed, at the very last chance, of finishing the season with the big boys:greengrin)

20-04-2010, 09:24 PM
Ted's just confirmed the following

Friday 30 April 6pm -7pm Waterstone's Ocean Terminal
Saturday 1 May 9.30am to 10.30am Hibs Clubstore
Saturday 8 May WH Smith The Gyle 1pm to 2pm
Saturday 15 May Waterstone's Livingston 1pm to 2pm
Thursday 27 May Sports Forum and Signing Hibs Supporters Club 7.30pm

20-04-2010, 09:27 PM

:thumbsup: Cheers John

I'm happy now

20-04-2010, 09:32 PM

nice one Jonny. Looking forward to getting the book to add to the collection, as I've not had 'owt to read about my beloved for ages now :wink::cool2:

20-04-2010, 09:34 PM
nice one Jonny. Looking forward to getting the book to add to the collection, as I've not had 'owt to read about my beloved for ages now :wink::cool2:

Aye you wait all that time and then all of a sudden ......... :greengrin

20-04-2010, 09:38 PM
More info folks ...........

Pat has picked a team, a manager, seven subs, his captain, a physio and a chairman!

Let the guessing begin :greengrin

BTW I don't know who he's picked yet but I'll guess at Tam McNiven for the physio :thumbsup:

20-04-2010, 09:48 PM
Sure to be another cracking read from the pen (or is that keyboard) of Ted Brack :thumbsup:

I have the honour of having been invited to the book launch and will offer up a critique shortly thereafter. Launch is Thursday 29 April

Odds on it'll be a good one. I've been invited along on the 29th too. Strange thing is, never saw a Hibs book years ago, until Gerry Docherty and Phil Thomson's 100 Years of Hibs - now, they're coming out thick and fast. My book shelves are groaning under the strain. :wink:

Boris
21-04-2010, 02:56 PM
BTW I don't know who he's picked yet but I'll guess at Tam McNiven for the physio :thumbsup:

And I'll hazard another wee guess & say that Ned Turnbull won't be Pat's choice of manager......:bitchy:

Got an invite for the launch too & looking forward to reading the book:thumbsup:

21-04-2010, 03:03 PM
And I'll hazard another wee guess & say that Ned Turnbull won't be Pat's choice of manager......:bitchy:

Got an invite for the launch too & looking forward to reading the book:thumbsup:

Spot on I'd say :greengrin

H18SScottW
22-04-2010, 09:37 PM

Fortuitously, it looks like I could be in Livi on 15 May :thumbsup:
Too good a chance not to meet the great man in person :notworthy:

Cup Final day too - anyone recommend a pleasant hostelry, within reach of this Waterstones, to watch the match?

23-04-2010, 06:52 AM

Cup Final day too - anyone recommend a pleasant hostelry, within reach of this Waterstones, to watch the match?

There's the parrafin lamp pub inside the almondvale centre. Take your gun with you :greengrin

There is also a place next to the swimming pool (looking down to Livi FC) but it's more of a beefeater type joint.

Safer though :greengrin

At The Edge
23-04-2010, 09:30 AM
The Parrafin lamp is ok, its still reeks of cigerette smoke somehow :confused:, but they have defo have sport on the TV most times, the Lamp is in the old part of the Centre, its next to the bookies Hills and Badblokes. the Lime Kiln is the one which looks onto Livi FC, not sure if it even has a TV, never been in, there is also a Wetherspoons in McArthur Glen which is next door to the Almondvale centre, not sure if they would have the final on though,

23-04-2010, 09:41 AM
Mid Calder's Tap shop or Black Bull are better options if you can get a lift there.

I stay a stones throw away from McArthur Glen. The Parrafin lamp is a bit of a dump but you wont get any bother in there, unless you want some :wink:

Not sure about Wetherspoons but will pop in and ask if they're showing the footy.

I wouldn't bother with the Lime Kiln.

A bit out the way but, one could also try the Tower in Craigshill for some local, ahem, culture!

Hal Jordan
23-04-2010, 10:30 AM
That's no' funny, sending some poor dupe to the Tower. Avoid at all costs. :agree:

23-04-2010, 02:06 PM
Folks, I now have an advance copy of Pat and Ted's book. Got it this morning and am around 50 pages in already :greengrin

I'll be offering up a review in due course but so far it's been fandabbydozy with a few laughs and some interesting wee stories to boot :agree:

TamHibs
24-04-2010, 07:40 PM
Got my copy from Waterstones today :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

30-04-2010, 05:43 AM

Make that two big boy! :thumbsup:

I'll pre-pay for my advance order when I see you tomorrow for the game :thumbsup:

H18SScottW
12-05-2010, 10:15 PM
Bump for this coming Saturday's event :thumbsup:
Looking forward to meeting The Real Quiet Man :greengrin

Any other :hnet: folk going? Will Jakki manage along while she's without power??

G - I'll be holding your copy to ransom until the readies are forthcoming :wink:

Oh, and thanks for the pub, erm, 'recommendations'. Upon further enquiry, The Tap Shop will be our best bet for the match, although a few pints and a couple of hours with Pat's book is surely just as good a Saturday afternoon as County v United?

13-05-2010, 11:39 AM
Think I shall persuade the better half to ensure I am driven through for this.:greengrin Should be back home in time for the final though.

Jay
13-05-2010, 11:43 AM
I'll be along too, fathers day looms :thumbsup:

jakki
15-05-2010, 01:20 AM
I'll be there too. If any .netters want to introduce themselves, I'll be the auld wifie in the scooter, I'd welcome to put usernames to faces. :thumbsup:.

15-05-2010, 07:03 AM
Bump for this coming Saturday's event :thumbsup:

Any other :hnet: folk going? Will Jakki manage along while she's without power??

G - I'll be holding your copy to ransom until the readies are forthcoming :wink:

Oh, and thanks for the pub, erm, 'recommendations'. Upon further enquiry, The Tap Shop will be our best bet for the match, although a few pints and a couple of hours with Pat's book is surely just as good a Saturday afternoon as County v United?Hi mate, should have said that this pub is known locally as the Tap Shop but is actually called the Mid Calder Inn. There's also another pub not far from me called the Livingston Inn that would also be worth a shout.

I never checked Wetherspoons but imagine it will show the game, although could be really busy.

I'll be going down to Waterstones today myself and will be with my wee laddie!

jakki
15-05-2010, 09:31 AM
I'll not be on a scooter as all are fully booked from the mobilityshop. I will be limping along wi my walking stick. Please say "hiya"

At The Edge
15-05-2010, 12:44 PM
Just back, added bonus that Lawrie Reilly was there as well! :thumbsup:

15-05-2010, 12:45 PM
Just back from the book signing and was thrilled to meet Lawrie Reilly, Pat Stanton and Ted Brack.

Great men!

:not worth

Jay
15-05-2010, 01:02 PM
Me and the wee boy went along and met three true gentlemen. :agree:

My dad will be delighted with is book come fathers day :thumbsup:

had a look but didn't see any faces I recognised, was watching for you Jakki but must have missed you.

dawn
15-05-2010, 01:04 PM
Just back, added bonus that Lawrie Reilly was there as well! :thumbsup:

Nice one!

During the week brother gave me a lovely photo of himself with Pat, Lawrie, Ted and my nephews, they'd all gone along to last weeks signing.

This part of the story's a stoater and I'll no do it justice. (sorry to steal your thunder superfurryhibby!):greengrin

During the warm and friendly banter, Pat asked my brother what his boys names were. My bro replied "this is ma youngest Patrick, (in a lower voice) his middle name is Stanton. Lawrie, quick as anything asked; "what's the matter son, could you no spell Reilly!" :faf:

jakki
15-05-2010, 01:04 PM
Just back! Apologies to all those queueing behind me but I had a long chat wi Pat about our meeting behind the goals at the 1969 West Germany v. Scotland at Hamburg. Then I had to get my photo taken wi Pat n Laurie. My daddy will be looking down very envious of me as thats the second time I've had my photo taken wi Laurie and joked and laughed wi him. Laurie was my dad's hero.

A great time. Looking forward to reading the book :thumbsup:

15-05-2010, 01:49 PM
I couldn't make it along today and was very annoyed no to get there.

Even more so now that my neighbour has just been across with his signed copy :grr:

deano6-2
15-05-2010, 02:13 PM
My good mate penman picked me up a copy signed.....

To Deano

Hibees ya Bas

Lawrie Reilly

Pat Stanton

Tremenous!

TamHibs
15-05-2010, 08:05 PM
My good mate penman picked me up a copy signed.....

To Deano

Hibees ya Bas

Lawrie Reilly

Pat Stanton

Tremenous!

What time did Penman get there at? **** told me he'd be there for 1pm but didn't show. Got my dad 'There's A Bonny Fitba Team' signed aswel for Fathers Day!

Had a chat wi Pat about the new away kit and even he agreed the new kit would have looked a lot nicer wi black shorts and mint socks :thumbsup::thumbsup:

jakki
15-05-2010, 10:04 PM
I got a great photo taken between Pat and Laurie. One of the "bouncers" at Waterspoons took it on my phone.

Unfortunately I mucked up downloading it ( a long story ) and lost it and all the rest on my phone, Luckily all the rest are on My Pictures.

When and where is the next signing?

And anyone know of an idiot proof phone ?

Robbie1875
16-05-2010, 02:00 AM
I got a great photo taken between Pat and Laurie. One of the "bouncers" at Waterspoons took it on my phone.

Unfortunately I mucked up downloading it ( a long story ) and lost it and all the rest on my phone, Luckily all the rest are on My Pictures.

The next signing is on Thursday 27 May. Sports Forum and Signing at the Hibs Supporters Club starting at 7.30pm

16-05-2010, 04:35 AM

I'll be roond later - ye better be in! :wink:

I hope ye get there before Jakki or you'll have seen nae match :greengrin - mind you all that did for me was had me spewing as we werenae there :grr:

And finally, I am not believing wee J didnae know about ALL pubs in Livi :bitchy: I'd him doon for specialist knowledge of every hostelry east of Weegie :faf:

16-05-2010, 08:00 AM

And anyone know of an idiot proof phone ?I can't believe you got photos!

I never saw anyone else take photos and wasn't sure of the protocols when meeting Hibs royalty! I was wanting to give them a hug, shake their hand and give them a big kiss but thought they might think that was a bit weird!

When my 4 year old son took off to look for the Mr men books i just gave up.

:boo hoo:

16-05-2010, 03:00 PM
I couldn't make it along today and was very annoyed no to get there.

Even more so now that my neighbour has just been across with his signed copy :grr:

Unfortunately I couldn't make it yesterday but had a look in today and picked up a signed copy :thumbsup:

Didn't get to meet the guys obviously - I've met them before anyway :wink:

16-05-2010, 10:46 PM

oi!! Jake!!!!! Where the **** is Waterspoons? :)