View Full Version : world cup, who are you backing?

20-04-2010, 05:05 PM
as a dark house paraguay at 66/1... they beat both Argentina and Brazil to get to south Africa and have a good group of young players that play well together.

20-04-2010, 05:13 PM
I'm sure quite a few on here will be putting large bets on England to win it :greengrin

I can't see past Brazil or Spain. I'll go for Brazil. :agree:

hhibs
20-04-2010, 05:14 PM
as a dark house paraguay at 66/1... they beat both Argentina and Brazil to get to south Africa and have a good group of young players that play well together.

Well it may be seen by some as politically incorrect but A.B.E

Apart from that, hope you have some luck with your betting!:greengrin

20-04-2010, 05:15 PM
So far I have:

£20.00 Brazil to win world cup (6.2 betfair, I'll lay it at some point probably)
£4 ew Fabiano top scorer(12/1, first 5 place)
£1 ew Klose top scorer(28/1, first 5 place)
£20.00 Rooney - Top English Scorer(11/4)

Klose was a stupid bet, I didn't think to check if he still starts for them...he doesn't. Podolski was 50/1 as well :grr:

Edit: Just put a fiver on Germany(15) and the Netherlands(15.5). Both at betfair, I'll lay at some point.

NYHibby
20-04-2010, 05:18 PM
Supporting or betting on?

I'm supporting America.

euro Hibby
20-04-2010, 05:19 PM
spain -

Moody Mulder
20-04-2010, 05:21 PM
The Netherlands ........ spent many a happy afternoon in their coffee shops :wink:

Chuckie
20-04-2010, 05:23 PM
http://i396.photobucket.com/albums/pp49/Chuckie1977/DenmarkF.gif

Chuckie
20-04-2010, 05:23 PM
Danmark !!

20-04-2010, 05:27 PM
Anyone that plays Engerland :greengrin

WeAreHibs
20-04-2010, 05:30 PM
Argentina - supporting and backing:thumbsup:

20-04-2010, 05:31 PM
Anyone but Mingland, but they won't win it anyway, have seen a bit of Brazil lately and they have a fairly young team, hard one to call but it won't be those arrogant tossers for sure

:saltireflag

hibsboy90
20-04-2010, 06:11 PM
By all accounts the current spain side are better than the one which won the euros a few years back. Could be a shout, won't put anything on them though, got them in the world cup draw with my pals. :greengrin

Long suffering
20-04-2010, 06:13 PM
Switzerland. and my hot tip is that serbia will reach the semi-finals and will play in a similar manner to russia in euro 2008:wink:

20-04-2010, 06:16 PM
http://therightwinger.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/anyone-but-england.gif

Hibs On Tour
20-04-2010, 07:05 PM
Let me be the first then... :greengrin

EN - GER - LUND!

Unless it goes to penalties against anyone! :wink:

Not saying they're necessarily the best team out there but looking like a reasonably solid one under Capello and if Rooney stays injury-free they should be in it or thereabouts at the business end...

Helmet on... :tin hat:

20-04-2010, 07:05 PM
Klose was a stupid bet, I didn't think to check if he still starts for them...he doesn't. Podolski was 50/1 as well :grr:

He dont start for them either.

20-04-2010, 07:09 PM
Would like to see Nigeria win it.

I think Italy will though.

Hakim Sar
20-04-2010, 07:09 PM
supporting france (with sympathy for hollands results)

think spain will win it

putting a punt on mexico/argentina to win it

cant wait tbh

Leicester Fan
20-04-2010, 07:14 PM
I'll be supporting my home country, what about you lads?

Oh....

hibeeleicester
20-04-2010, 07:16 PM
£5 on Argentina at 8/1 :thumbsup:

Leicester Fan
20-04-2010, 07:18 PM
You lads probably don't remember this but England actually won the World Cup in 1966.

20-04-2010, 07:19 PM
If Torres is Fit then can't see past Spain.
Uruguay or Mexico as outsiders. They in the same group as each other so one of them will go through if not both. Last time I checked paddy power were offering 100-1 on Uruguay to win. Does that work out at 50-1 each way?

20-04-2010, 07:21 PM
You lads probably don't remember this but England actually won the World Cup in 1966.

Really?

Never heard anyone bring that up, aren't commentators payed for bringing up memerable history like this.:confused:

20-04-2010, 07:23 PM

How could we ever bloody well forget it :grr: it's been rammed down our throats every game you lot play :grr:

yekimevol
20-04-2010, 07:26 PM
Italia

LALthehibeeGAL
20-04-2010, 07:33 PM
The Netherlands ........ spent many a happy afternoon in their coffee shops :wink:

I fancy the Netherlands too - don't really know why but I said even before the draw that I thought they were due to do well given that Spain have now got the duck of their back so to speak - being for so long the great under achievers - I also think that Mingerland will do well :duck:

- haven't really studied the groups and who plays who after group stages so not sure if it is possible but if it is i would go for Dutch v. Engerland final - - apologies in advance for my "homer moment" if this is not even remotely possible :greengrin

Lal:wink:

20-04-2010, 07:38 PM
England :agree:

20-04-2010, 07:48 PM
YouTube - Paraguay 1 vs. Argentina 0 Eliminatorias Sudáfrica 2010 [3/4] Arturo Rubin (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbFdQWEB_6Q&feature=related)

£5 bet 365 66/1

that goal... just like watching hibs :greengrin

20-04-2010, 07:55 PM
If enough Everton players make it into the England team, then I will support them. If not, Spain or Holland.

20-04-2010, 08:02 PM

Oh....

"Home" country is pushing it a bit, as I no longer live there, but Sams Army all the way :thumbsup:

We made the final of the Confederations, meeting some good national sides along the way and gave Brazil one hell of a scare in the final.

No reason we can't raise a few eyebrows in South Africa this summer :cool2:

HibeeMcGinn1
20-04-2010, 08:09 PM
I'm supporting America.

snap. got family in New Jersey and Boston so thats my excuse.

really like Bob Bradley and they way he gets them playing, hes also from NJ so it helps :wink:

shall be backing Argentina I think.

oh and A.B.E :devil: :thumbsup:

7Hero
20-04-2010, 08:15 PM
italy as always, dont think they will do it though but emotionally its my team since scotland wont be competing again.

and of course anyone but england

20-04-2010, 08:18 PM
Brazil.

Leicester Fan
20-04-2010, 08:35 PM
How could we ever bloody well forget it :grr: it's been rammed down our throats every game you lot play :grr:
Tbf Scotland did win that keyring cup thingy. I can't tell you how jealous we all were down here.

20-04-2010, 08:45 PM
I can see England making the semi-final stage. Who knows, if they can get some real momentum going they might just win it. Worth a few quid on.
Spain to win it for me though.

SloopJB
20-04-2010, 08:47 PM

It's unusual for a supporter to mention it, usually commentators manage to prise it in to any event, football or otherwise.

That probably goes some way in my reasoning for supporting England in the competition.
Surely it would be a greater achievement and while 66 would not be forgotten there would at least be new words to the commentators song.

What I would like to see though is good football winning, If England produce that then well done.

20-04-2010, 08:48 PM
If Torres is Fit then can't see past Spain.
Uruguay or Mexico as outsiders. They in the same group as each other so one of them will go through if not both. Last time I checked paddy power were offering 100-1 on Uruguay to win. Does that work out at 50-1 each way?

You get 1/2 the odds each way if they get to the final, £1 e/w 100/1 would return £152 for winning or £51 for getting beat in the final. Might be worth waiting to see how many bookies offer 1/4 odds for first 4.

I'll back Italy and Germany 14/1 both of them.

20-04-2010, 08:53 PM
I'll be supporting Ghana, but I expect it'll be either Argentina or perhaps Spain to win it. Wouldn't rule out Germany or Italy though.

fife hfc
20-04-2010, 08:53 PM
have put money on Argentina. unlike england they have a number of players capable of something special. Messi, tevez, Di Maria, higuan and Milito. if you lookat Inter tonight they had Zanetti, samuel and cambiasso (if chosen by Diego) not too shabby a line up.

20-04-2010, 08:59 PM
http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/africa/ivory-coast/images/ivory-coast-flag.jpg

Ivory Coast

20-04-2010, 09:08 PM
http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/africa/ivory-coast/images/ivory-coast-flag.jpg

Ivory Cost

Coast.:wink:

SloopJB
20-04-2010, 09:16 PM

Ivory does cost.
Save the elephants, bloody football:grr:

K.Marx
20-04-2010, 09:24 PM
25 quid on Argentina to win it.

Maybe do a Torres top scorer/Spain to win double aswell...won a fair whack with that bet on the Euros :thumbsup:

20-04-2010, 09:31 PM
just found paraguay 90/1 :greengrin

20-04-2010, 09:38 PM
just found paraguay 90/1 :greengrin

Where you getting them odds?

20-04-2010, 09:40 PM
Where you getting them odds?

http://www.easyodds.com/compareodds/football/internationals/m/133532-245-5.html brilliant website, you can find best prices on everything. 118 bet.

Calvin
20-04-2010, 09:59 PM
United States of America
New Zealand
And I suppose Greece but if they win I don't think I could take the Scottish bashing my family already give me x 100.

20-04-2010, 10:21 PM
Here's a spreadsheet predictor thing for anyone that wants a closer look at the groups or just wants to fill it in for a bit fun.

http://www.paul-thornton.info/world-cup-2010.php

CallumHibs07
20-04-2010, 10:48 PM
Korea Republic

http://govdocs.evergreen.edu/hotopics/asian-pacifichistory/flags/south_korea.png

houston1875
20-04-2010, 11:02 PM
Top Goalscorer-Carlos Tevez-50/1 and Van Persie-40/1 come to mind tho aint had a good look at the groups etc

obviously be backing the USA..

Bookkeeper
20-04-2010, 11:04 PM
Might not win it, but think Serbia will do well - quarters or semis. :wink:

houston1875
20-04-2010, 11:06 PM

aye,good shout!!

21-04-2010, 07:34 AM
Tbf Scotland did win that keyring cup thingy. I can't tell you how jealous we all were down here.

Yes you should be, it will be the last time any British team wins anything

Long suffering
21-04-2010, 04:07 PM

:agree: what i said

21-04-2010, 04:09 PM
ABE and Ivory Coast.

ForeverHibs93
21-04-2010, 04:38 PM
ABE & Germany:greengrin

Reaper
21-04-2010, 04:45 PM

Argentina

21-04-2010, 04:48 PM
Who does Bentdner play for?.

Sick Boy
21-04-2010, 04:54 PM
I won't support any team with Drogba in it but I'll be keeping an eye out for the Ivory Coast's results as big Sol will be turning out for them. It will be interesting to see how he performs on the big stage and whether, as expected, he gets his big move in the summer window.

21-04-2010, 05:11 PM
spain

21-04-2010, 06:18 PM
Who does Bentdner play for?.

Denmark.

21-04-2010, 06:30 PM
Also, don't forget Eboue :thumbsup:

21-04-2010, 08:02 PM
Spain, with or without Torres. I think Villa's better than Torres anyway, but that's just my opinion.

21-04-2010, 08:08 PM
Argentina, North Korea (They only get to hear about the World Cup if their team wins, it isnae fair:greengrin) and ABE:thumbsup:

21-04-2010, 08:32 PM
I will be backing france as usual but i can see holland winning it with players like robben,van persie,huntelaar and de jong i think they have a good shout.

rainman
22-04-2010, 01:42 AM
ABE & Ivory Coast

An Leargaidh
22-04-2010, 01:52 AM
Well I was going to say no-one because my team Republic of Ireland are not in it this year due to that deluded razor blade salesman Henry, remember the Hand of Frog? You're a marked man Henry :agree:

Anyway, I didn't think saying no-one was a very positive thing to say so I had a wee think and decided to support two teams:

Côte D'Ivoire aka Ivory Coast, seeing as that is our very own Sol Bamba's team :agree: (and that flag of theirs looks oh so familiar if you look at it upside down :greengrin )

Serbia , seeing as they are good Orthodox Christians like ma'sel. Go to church every Sunday... oh jings ma nose has just grown 5 inches longer there...

I might well put a wee bet on both Ivory Coast (now Mr. Eriksson is in charge) and Serbia. Considering how the Republic of Ireland got put out the competition, I hope the best team win and I hope someone handballs France out the competition... :faf:

An Leargaidh
22-04-2010, 01:56 AM

God that flag brings a wee fond tear to my eye.

Coast till I die... come on big Sol!

http://www.newspapercountry.com/IvoryCoast.png

RMG_82
22-04-2010, 02:22 AM
ABE & Ivory Coast

??? wtf?? i thought u would be supporting your adopted homeland considering the many opportunities and random pumps its provided. :thumbsup:

Sandy
22-04-2010, 06:08 AM

Oh....

***** off, anyone bar your manky lot. For what it's worth Spain for me.

rainman
22-04-2010, 07:22 AM
??? wtf?? i thought u would be supporting your adopted homeland considering the many opportunities and random pumps its provided. :thumbsup:

If it was the Aussie women's team with their trade mark big plump diddies and tight ar5es, I'd be straight onto them.

The Aussie male is a different breed. Meat heeds the lot of them. All ripped with huge shoulders and fat cocks that have been tapping my burd for the past 2 years.

They can GTF. :bye:

Green_one
22-04-2010, 07:28 AM

So not in your lifetime then Leicester:greengrin

I am looking forward to the wild mood swings down south. Misplaced optimism, to self harm, in two weeks.

I will be supporting the underdogs in each case. Not the arrogant, 'we were great' lot like England and Germany.

My only hopes are that the WC throws up a decent team (cannot see it at present) and that there is no security issue. Oh and that you know who miss a penatly and cry all the way home.

My biggest consolation is that I will not have to watch it in Leicester.

RMG_82
22-04-2010, 07:29 AM
If it was the Aussie women's team with their trade mark big plump diddies and tight ar5es, I'd be straight onto them.

The Aussie male is a different breed. Meat heeds the lot of them. All ripped with huge shoulders and fat cocks that have been tapping my burd for the past 2 years.

They can GTF. :bye:

fair point.....to be fair though, u have no shoulders and a welt like a bookies pen.

rainman
22-04-2010, 07:32 AM
fair point.....to be fair though, u have no shoulders and a welt like a bookies pen.

My hips are wider than my shouders and I only have a medium sized cock that looks like a referees whistle after a game of football. What chance have I got? :bitchy:

RMG_82
22-04-2010, 07:44 AM
My hips are wider than my shouders and I only have a medium sized cock that looks like a referees whistle after a game of football. What chance have I got? :bitchy:

what does a referees whistle look like before a game of football?

Sandy
22-04-2010, 07:45 AM

How in gods name DO YOU KNOW :greengrin

RMG_82
22-04-2010, 07:53 AM
How in gods name DO YOU KNOW :greengrin

walked in on him at his aaprtment in the shower 2 summers ago. His head was tilted back, cock in hand and a well grimmaced face. I've tried to delete it from my memory but its still there.

rainman
22-04-2010, 07:58 AM
walked in on him at his aaprtment in the shower 2 summers ago. His head was tilted back, cock in hand and a well grimmaced face. I've tried to delete it from my memory but its still there.

Nothing wrong with cleaning the pipes before a night out. I defy any guy to go out with a loaded gun and be able to put in a shift at the end of the night.

Granted, walking in on the vinegar strokes is poor timing. :agree:

therealgavmac
22-04-2010, 09:11 AM
Absolutely pmsl at this thread - for as long as it's allowed to go on....

therealgavmac
22-04-2010, 09:13 AM
So not in your lifetime then Leicester:greengrin

I am looking forward to the wild mood swings down south. Misplaced optimism, to self harm, in two weeks.
I will be supporting the underdogs in each case. Not the arrogant, 'we were great' lot like England and Germany.

My only hopes are that the WC throws up a decent team (cannot see it at present) and that there is no security issue. Oh and that you know who miss a penatly and cry all the way home.

My biggest consolation is that I will not have to watch it in Leicester.

Also that amazing magic trick that happens all across the country either Euros or WC when ten billion red n white flags on cars just disappear overnight! I've been doing some research, and I think they self-destruct after penalty shoot-outs.....

22-04-2010, 09:15 AM
I'm sure quite a few on here will be putting large bets on England to win it :greengrin

I can't see past Brazil or Spain. I'll go for Brazil. :agree:I agree, especially if Torres doesn't make it! :agree:

22-04-2010, 09:17 AM
i honestly cant see argentina winning it.... not got the right coach.

spain are the team to beat.

think there will be a few shocks this year too.... someone like paraguay or ivory coast will take some big scalps.

ill be supporting holland, they always play brilliantly in tournaments but always slip up when it matters most....bit like hibs! :rolleyes:

22-04-2010, 09:52 AM
So far
I've got Mexico at 66/1 ew

22-04-2010, 10:03 AM
http://rhapsodyinbooks.files.wordpress.com/2009/02/abraham-lincoln-bw13.jpg

22-04-2010, 11:24 AM
ABE :greengrin :thumbsup:

Hibs On Tour
22-04-2010, 12:28 PM
Dundee Barry has finally been topped! :greengrin :faf: :jamboak:

22-04-2010, 06:49 PM
mind the guy who put his entire student loan (£4400) on angola to win a game, cant remember who in the african nations cup but angola were winning 4-0, 10 mins left, this guy got odds off 1/100, the other team went on to score 4 times and he lost the lot, all for for £44:faf:

HibeeMcGinn1
22-04-2010, 09:07 PM
Highlights of all World Cup teams (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/world_cup_2010/default.stm)

this is fantastic :top marks

HibeeMcGinn1
22-04-2010, 09:12 PM
mind the guy who put his entire student loan (£4400) on angola to win a game, cant remember who in the african nations cup but angola were winning 4-0, 10 mins left, this guy got odds off 1/100, the other team went on to score 4 times and he lost the lot, all for for £44:faf:

:thumbsup: thats class. I was going to put £50 on them at 4-0 but my laptop crashed. thank **** :wink:

22-04-2010, 09:33 PM
Italy because they have the best national anthem.

22-04-2010, 10:56 PM
I just put some individual matches on:

£25.00 USA to beat Slovenia 13/10
£5.00 Algeria to beat Slovenia 12/5
£20.00 Paraguay to beat Slovakia Evens
£5.00 Denmark to beat Cameroon 2/1

hibsboy90
23-04-2010, 12:02 AM
:thumbsup: thats class. I was going to put £50 on them at 4-0 but my laptop crashed. thank **** :wink:
For all of 50p profit. no point.

23-04-2010, 12:35 AM
I will be supporting the USA due to my location but I am secretly hoping that Brazil win it :greengrin

23-04-2010, 12:35 AM
Oh yeah and Engerlund can **** right off

23-04-2010, 10:35 AM

Yep they were playing Mali in the opening game of the ANC.

Keita got 2, Kanoute got one and i can't remember who got the other two, cracking match though considering i only put it on with 20 minutes left.:faf:

23-04-2010, 05:00 PM
Yep they were playing Mali in the opening game of the ANC.

Keita got 2, Kanoute got one and i can't remember who got the other two, cracking match though considering i only put it on with 20 minutes left.:faf:

It finished 4-4.

I'm sure I heard that bet was a wind up but it might not have been.

23-04-2010, 11:21 PM
It finished 4-4.

I'm sure I heard that bet was a wind up but it might not have been.

Oh yeah i meant the other one.

That man mustve ran riot after that.:bitchy:

24-04-2010, 12:13 AM
just hope cabanas for paraguay makes it, hees still recovering from being shot in the head in febuary!

24-04-2010, 12:16 AM
i'll be holidaying on the south coast of England on the weekend of the world cup final, I have no problem with the English, but nae offence, I hope your team doesn't win the World Cup. :wink:

I'll go for either Ivory Coast (Sol) or either Spain or Brazil or who probably have the best teams.

24-04-2010, 12:17 AM
just hope cabanas for paraguay makes it, hees still recovering from being shot in the head in febuary!

I highly doubt he'll be back.

24-04-2010, 12:28 AM
I've heard one person mention Holland.

Remember in the last Euros they were talked about as the the team to beat. I remember people saying that it's all about who will get to the final to lose to Holland.....

...before they collapsed!

I don't think they will collapse this time. Their players are spread far and wide and are easily forgotten about but collectively they are the team to beat in Europe.

I'm having a few quid on them.

24-04-2010, 06:24 AM
:yawn: did you really

24-04-2010, 10:03 AM
imo international football is far harder to predict, theres always huge shocks at the world cup

Hibs On Tour
24-04-2010, 02:46 PM
i'll be holidaying on the south coast of England on the weekend of the world cup final, I have no problem with the English, but nae offence, I hope your team doesn't win the World Cup. :wink:

I'll go for either Ivory Coast (Sol) or either Spain or Brazil or who probably have the best teams.

Just think though P, party-central if they do! ENG-ER-LUND! :greengrin

ChrissyG1875
24-04-2010, 02:59 PM
:sauzee: :sauzee: :sauzee: :sauzee: :sauzee: :sauzee: :sauzee: :sauzee: :sauzee: :sauzee:

24-04-2010, 03:06 PM
Thread a little confusing.

Backing at the bookies; Spain or Brazil with a bet on Germany as outsiders.

Backing as in wanting to win it; Ivory Coast (Bamba £££ factor) and Germany/Argentina, basically as it'll annoy England more. (Although i'll say Germany as I've always 'admired their discipline' and Argentina as 'I like Messi' as my p.c. excuse against the thought police.)

24-04-2010, 03:46 PM

Aye, that guy admitted it was a wind up after the thread had reached about 20 pages :hahaha:

24-04-2010, 06:51 PM

I do remember, John Motson reminds me every five minutes.

green.and.white
24-04-2010, 07:04 PM
Ivory Coast :thumbsup:
Go on Sol!

24-04-2010, 07:42 PM
Due to loving the country - France
Due to loving the players and style of football - Spain

I'd quite like the randoms who are playing in their first ever World Cup - or first for donkeys years - to do well. North Korea (I couldn't care less about politics when I'm in a summery beer garden), Honduras and NZ.

I think - if Maradona lays off the Bolivian Marching powder and decides what his 1st choice 11 is - then Argentina have a real chance.

Oh, and Cote d'Ivoire aussi, just because of Sol. Good performance in the World Cup = ker-ching in the summer if he moves away

Sumner
24-04-2010, 10:10 PM
Italy :agree: