View Full Version : Derek Riordan......FACT

19-04-2010, 10:00 PM
Shamelessly stolen from a respectable poster from the Bounce. Below gives us an idea of what we have in Derek Riordan. Surely this puts the nonesense spouted on Hibs net about this lad to bed. Once and for all. Embrace him fellow .Netters, as he won't be here forever, and we will lament him when he is gone.

.."but he duznae try hard enough":yawn:
.."but he's a lazy barsteward":yawn:
.. "but he's a moany faced barsteward":yawn:
.."but he get into trouble every night and besmirches the good name of Hibernian" etc etc etc :yawn:

Top League Scorers - Hibernian FC

*recent belter not in stats from darkheid*

1. Lawrie Reilly 187 Goals (1945-1958)
2. Eddie Turnbull 149 Goals (1946-1959)
3. Willie Ormond 132 Goals (1946-1961)
4. Jimmy McColl 130 Goals (1922-1931)
5. Gordon Smith 126 Goals (1941-1959)
6. Joe Baker 114 Goals (1957-1972)
7. Bobby Johnstone 100 Goals (1949-1960)
8. Jimmy Dunn 91 Goals (1920-1928)
9. Jimmy O' Rourke 81 Goals (1962-1974)
10. Harry Ritchie 77 Goals (1919-1928)
11. Peter Cormack 77 Goals (1962-1980)
12. Derek Riordan 74 Goals (2002-2010)
13. Arthur Duncan 73 Goals (1970-1984)
14. Ally MacLeod 71 Goals (1974-1982)
15. Johnny Halligan 67 Goals (1920-1933)
16. Paddy Callaghan 67 Goals (1899-1914)
17. Paddy McGinlay 60 Goals (1988-2000)
18. Keith Wright 59 Goals (1991-1997)
19. Bobby Combe 54 Goals (1941-1957)
20. Eric Stevenson 53 Goals (1960-1971)
21. Jimmy Hendren 53 Goals (1911-1915)
22. Neil Martin 53 Goals (1963-1965)
23. William Smith 52 Goals (1908-1920)
24. Paddy Stanton 51 Goals (1963-1976)
25. Alan Gordon 51 Goals (1972-1974)

Top Goalscorers All Competitions

1. Gordon Smith 302 Goals (1941-1959)
2. Lawrie Reilly 238 Goals (1945-1958)
3. Eddie Turnbull 202 Goals (1946-1959)
4. Willie Ormond 189 Goals (1946-1961)
5. Joe Baker 158 Goals (1957-1972)
6. Jimmy McColl 143 Goals (1922-1931)
7. Bobby Johnstone 142 Goals (1949-1960)
8. Jock Cuthbertson 124 Goals (1939-1949)
9. Jimmy O' Rourke 122 Goals (1962-1974)
10. Arthur Duncan 114 Goals (1970-1984)
11. Bobby Combe 109 Goals (1941-1957)
12. Peter Cormack 106 Goals (1962-1980)
13. Arthur Milne 106 Goals (1937-1946)
14. Jimmy Dunn 103 Goals (1920-1928)
15. Ally MacLeod 99 Goals (1974-1982)
16. Derek Riordan 87 Goals (2002-2010)
17. Harry Ritchie 86 Goals (1919-1928)
18. Neil Martin 86 Goals (1963-1965)
19. Alan Gordon 82 Goals (1972-1974)
20. Paddy Callaghan 80 Goals (1899-1914)
21. Paddy Stanton 79 Goals (1963-1976)
22. Eric Stevenson 79 Goals (1960-1971)
23. Paddy McGinlay 79 Goals (1988-2000)
24. Jim Scott 78 Goals (1959-1967)
25. Keith Wright 76 Goals (1991-1997)

:flag: keep banging them in son :flag:

19-04-2010, 10:02 PM
Isn't it a stunning thing to realise that five of the top seven scorers all played in the same forward line!! Brilliant stuff :thumbsup:

Oh and by the way C, I agree with you 100% :agree:

HibeeDaz6270
19-04-2010, 10:08 PM
I understand all of the above. However, With Riordan being played left midfield. I personally believe it could benefit the TEAMS performances if we had more of a natural winger in that position, Someone who can go by a player , hit the byline and put crosses into the box.

I have no doubt about the capabilities of Derek Riordan. His talent is not questionable, even despite him in my opinion not being as good as he was.

If Yogi was to continue to play him Left Midfield, i think we dont get the best out of him. Stick him upfront and get an a natural winger and i would be more than happy. I believe this would benefit the team more.

19-04-2010, 10:14 PM
Shamelessly stolen from a respectable poster from the Bounce. Below gives us an idea of what we have in Derek Riordan. Surely this puts the nonesense spouted on Hibs net about this lad to bed. Once and for all. Embrace him fellow .Netters, as he won't be here forever, and we will lament him when he is gone.

.."but he get into trouble every night and besmirches the good name of Hibernian" etc etc etc :yawn:

:top marksQuality:thumbsup: Mon the Deek:notworthy:

jakedance
19-04-2010, 10:14 PM
Its a great record. Hopefully he can get in to the all time top 10 next season.

emmjayfox
19-04-2010, 10:16 PM
Imagine how many more goals he would get if he wasnt as lazy :greengrin

19-04-2010, 10:16 PM
Isn't it a stunning thing to realise that five of the top seven scorers all played in the same forward line!! Brilliant stuff :thumbsup:

Oh and by the way C, I agree with you 100% :agree:

:agree: Frightening!

Then it gets mental for young 'uns like me :greengrin when the stats for Joe Baker come into the mix :

Joe Baker
First Spell 1957-1961
League
118 apps 102 goals
All Comps
160 apps 141 goals

Second Spell 1970-1972
League
22 apps (of which 1 was sub) 12 goals
All Comps
34 apps (of which 1 sub) 17 goals

!!!!! FFS!!!!! 141 in 160 appearances - beggars belief:dizzy: then 1 in 2 in his second spell :dizzy::dizzy:

19-04-2010, 10:17 PM
No place for Nish on that list...?

Excellent point though.

19-04-2010, 10:18 PM
:agree: Frightening!

Then it gets mental for young 'uns like me :greengrin when the stats for Joe Baker come into the mix :

Joe Baker
First Spell 1957-1961
League
118 apps 102 goals
All Comps
160 apps 141 goals

Second Spell 1970-1972
League
22 apps (of which 1 was sub) 12 goals
All Comps
34 apps (of which 1 sub) 17 goals

!!!!! FFS!!!!! 141 in 160 appearances - beggars belief:dizzy: then 1 in 2 in his second spell :dizzy::dizzy:

The man was indeed a goal scoring machine. I wonder how much he'd be worth in modern day terms? On his goalscoring ability alone he'd be valued up there with Messi, Ronaldo and Rooney IMO :agree:

19-04-2010, 10:33 PM
Imagine how many more goals he would get if he wasnt as lazy :greengrin

Imagine how many goals he would get if he was actually played as a striker:rolleyes:

19-04-2010, 10:54 PM
Imagine how many goals he would get if he was actually played as a striker:rolleyes:

Agreed, (tho' I think emmjay was having a joke:greengrin).

My main concern is that we shoot ourselves in the foot. Hopefully Hibernian will use him wisely in the future. Though for a position he has admitted he doesn't like playing, Hibernian have still had a very good return from him this year.

Using him more wisely, and trying to fit him to a better position (ie more central), derek riordan can give Hibernian fans many more reasons to roar for a good while yet.

19-04-2010, 10:57 PM
shouldn't his ervice showed two periods, ie even more impressive strike rate.

19-04-2010, 10:59 PM
On the subject of stats...anyone able to categorise all his goals into 'time scored' in tem minute periods?

Love to see if he has a particularly dangerous spell in a game.

19-04-2010, 11:07 PM
The guy is class. Its totally laughable some of the things that people write on here about him, and how some folk would love to see him leave etc. His record speaks for itself! Did people actually see how wonderful a goal he scored against Celtic on Saturday?! .. Do people actually know he's the highest scoring midfielder in the league!? Look on the spl website too, he has the highest shooting stat too, 87 shots, 49 on target.
Again, the guy is class. Yes he might be lazy etc but he can win a game by himself, and he's PROVED that on many occassions. I hope Derek Riordan is at our club for the rest of his career.
People who criticise Riordan clearly dont have a clue about football, and i dont even care if that comment gets peoples backs up!

Mon the Riordan! :thumbsup:

19-04-2010, 11:12 PM
Agreed, (tho' I think emmjay was having a joke:greengrin).

Nah, just an example of one of her latest abusive posts.

Not funny and not clever.

bob12345
20-04-2010, 04:33 AM
What competition did Gordon Smith score all his goals in? Very weird scoring well over 50% of goals outwith the league - was it the old league cup?

Sandy
20-04-2010, 05:01 AM
The guy is class. Its totally laughable some of the things that people write on here about him, and how some folk would love to see him leave etc. His record speaks for itself! Did people actually see how wonderful a goal he scored against Celtic on Saturday?! .. Do people actually know he's the highest scoring midfielder in the league!? Look on the spl website too, he has the highest shooting stat too, 87 shots, 49 on target.
Again, the guy is class. Yes he might be lazy etc but he can win a game by himself, and he's PROVED that on many occassions. I hope Derek Riordan is at our club for the rest of his career.
People who criticise Riordan clearly dont have a clue about football, and i dont even care if that comment gets peoples backs up!

Mon the Riordan! :thumbsup:

:top marks Anyone that gets upset with your post hasn't a clue at all.

20-04-2010, 06:20 AM
There was a thread on here not long ago where he was in our top ten all time scorers, was that just post war?

He's in the top ten SPL scorers too.

No doubt he's something special, and while he's frustrating we have to remember that if he wasn't flawed, he wouldn't be with Hibs ala Latapy & Best.

20-04-2010, 06:26 AM
Did Arthur Duncan play as a Striker or inside left ?..i always remembered him being on the wing...thats a good amount of goals from him ...:agree:

20-04-2010, 07:08 AM
The fact that Riordan gets so much abuse, along with the other better players in the Hibs squad (Stokes, Miller, Bamba) shows just how moronic some Hibs fans can be.

I don't think Deek is a great midfielder, in fact, I'd love to see us bring in another left midfielder and stick Deeks up to with Stokes.

However, to have someone in the side capable of scoring that many goals, and for folk to want to punt him, beggars belief.

'Mon the Deeks!!:thumbsup:

hibbymac
20-04-2010, 07:28 AM
The fact that Riordan gets so much abuse, along with the other better players in the Hibs squad (Stokes, Miller, Bamba) shows just how moronic some Hibs fans can be.

I don't think Deek is a great midfielder, in fact, I'd love to see us bring in another left midfielder and stick Deeks up to with Stokes.

However, to have someone in the side capable of scoring that many goals, and for folk to want to punt him, beggars belief.

'Mon the Deeks!!:thumbsup:

:agree: :top marks sums up my feelings exactly.

20-04-2010, 07:42 AM
What competition did Gordon Smith score all his goals in? Very weird scoring well over 50% of goals outwith the league - was it the old league cup?

Probably the goals scored in wartime leagues wouldn't count as proper league goals - in other words, all the goals he scored between 1941 and 1945 when Hearts eventually won the thing.

hibbymac
20-04-2010, 07:45 AM
Probably the goals scored in wartime leagues wouldn't count as proper league goals - in other words, all the goals he scored between 1941 and 1945 when Hearts eventually won the thing.

What? .... The war?:confused:

20-04-2010, 08:01 AM
I know there's been something said about it on here a week or so ago, but a guy i know, who's a blackpool season ticket holder, told me yesterday, they were after Derek. No idea how he heard this, and no idea if its true.

erskine-hibby
20-04-2010, 08:02 AM
Did Arthur Duncan play as a Striker or inside left ?..i always remembered him being on the wing...thats a good amount of goals from him ...:agree:

Arthur Duncan did indeed play as a winger, or an old outside left if you wish. His pace was the main reason he scored so many goals IMHO. A fantastic player and one I was very privileged to watch:agree:

20-04-2010, 08:07 AM
I know there's been something said about it on here a week or so ago, but a guy i know, who's a blackpool season ticket holder, told me yesterday, they were after Derek. No idea how he heard this, and no idea if its true.

They have a very good manager and are looking for a wee push for promotion, so they'll obviously look to strengthen where ever possible for next season.

Hakim Sar
20-04-2010, 08:18 AM
Think about where stokes would be if it was believable that he would stay with us for a 6/7 years.

John Hughes - "derek has been brilliant for me right from day one and he has given things a right good go. He is one of these laddies that knows the club, but I'd like to see derek show a bit more character and step up tae the plate and have a right good go at things next year, coz wur no far away fae being a right good team ya ken"

imagine if deeks actually played upfront!!!!

20-04-2010, 08:43 AM
Think about where stokes would be if it was believable that he would stay with us for a 6/7 years.

John Hughes - "derek has been brilliant for me right from day one and he has given things a right good go. He is one of these laddies that knows the club, but I'd like to see derek show a bit more character and step up tae the plate and have a right good go at things next year, coz wur no far away fae being a right good team ya ken"

imagine if deeks actually played upfront!!!!

Hopefully the new manager will play him there and Deeks will be back scoring his 20 a season tally again. :greengrin

20-04-2010, 09:45 AM
If i was gay id let Riordan take me clean up the arse. (But he would have to bent tae i suppose).

Riordan is my favourite player of all time, A truly gifted young man that can score with either feet and has a passion for the Cabbage.

:cool2:

20-04-2010, 09:48 AM
If i was gay id let Riordan take me clean up the arse. (But he would have to bent tae i suppose).

Riordan is my favourite player of all time, A truly gifted young man that can score with either feet and has a passion for the Cabbage.

I'd go further. If I owned a nightclub, I'd let Derek in. :agree: :greengrin

20-04-2010, 10:05 AM

IF you were a really Hibby ye widnae care!

20-04-2010, 11:25 AM

:agree: :top marks

ENDOF

borstalboy
20-04-2010, 11:47 AM
IMO, I would still say I'd much rather watch a great team, than a great player at ER.

Im not doubting Riordans quality and in no way am I insinuating that he has to go etc etc, however, he has frustrated on many a time this season.

I personally would like nothing better than Riordan to "knuckle down", get himself fit and back to his old self and drive Hibs forward.

On another note, there is no point in him scoring all these goals (apart from his own personal gain) if the team is not winning!!!

20-04-2010, 12:23 PM

This is not blackpoolhibs, i'm using his computer at the moment. I'm actually boltonhibs, but cant seem to log on for some reason. Will i do?

20-04-2010, 12:29 PM
This is not blackpoolhibs, i'm using his computer at the moment. I'm actually boltonhibs, but cant seem to log on for some reason. Will i do?

Eh.Naw. :greengrin

Disc O'Dave
20-04-2010, 12:39 PM
I'm clearly in a controversial mood today.....:greengrin

I should start by stating I agree that Deeks is a genius, and would be first on my teamsheet every week.

My only issue is with presenting stats like that, and saying "End of" (or even End off - perhaps that's a Jewish thing)

Imagine a scenario whereby we sign a Brizilian wonderkid, let's call him Riordanhio. He comes on for his first start, scores 5 goals, is sensational. He then repeats this for the next 4 games. Brilliant.

Now, for the next game he comes on, runs to the centre circle, drops his shorts, crimps one off, and proceeds to play keepie-uppie with said stool for the 90 minutes. In the meantime, his team-matese struggling to stem the tide of opposition atttacks, and we lose the game 1-0. This goes on for the next 20 games, and we are on the verge of relegation.

What changes do you make...?

Well, you obviously can't drop Riordanhio, because that stats will tell you he's a 25 goals a season striker.

End Of.

:devil:

20-04-2010, 12:46 PM
There was a thread on here not long ago where he was in our top ten all time scorers, was that just post war?

He's in the top ten SPL scorers too.

No doubt he's something special, and while he's frustrating we have to remember that if he wasn't flawed, he wouldn't be with Hibs ala Latapy & Best.

He doesn't frustrate me ... he scores goals ... ummm, isn't that why I go to games?

20-04-2010, 12:48 PM
I'm clearly in a controversial mood today.....:greengrin

I should start by stating I agree that Deeks is a genius, and would be first on my teamsheet every week.

My only issue is with presenting stats like that, and saying "End of" (or even End off - perhaps that's a Jewish thing)

Imagine a scenario whereby we sign a Brizilian wonderkid, let's call him Riordanhio. He comes on for his first start, scores 5 goals, is sensational. He then repeats this for the next 4 games. Brilliant.

Now, for the next game he comes on, runs to the centre circle, drops his shorts, crimps one off, and proceeds to play keepie-uppie with said stool for the 90 minutes. In the meantime, his team-matese struggling to stem the tide of opposition atttacks, and we lose the game 1-0. This goes on for the next 20 games, and we are on the verge of relegation.

What changes do you make...?

Well, you obviously can't drop Riordanhio, because that stats will tell you he's a 25 goals a season striker.

End Of.

:devil:

great analogy ... but what the fleck for?!?!? :confused:

therealgavmac
20-04-2010, 12:59 PM

:faf: absolutely pmsl

chorley_fm
20-04-2010, 01:06 PM
good stuff as always Big Frank,

mon Riordan

**** the haters

20-04-2010, 01:09 PM

Sorry, nothing to do with this thread but just to be clear, it's ENDOF (not End of or even End Off" but purely, simply, completely, utterly and unmistakably ENDOF <<< One word/no space.

Sorted.

ENDOF :greengrin

20-04-2010, 01:32 PM
IMO, I would still say I'd much rather watch a great team, than a great player at ER.

Im not doubting Riordans quality and in no way am I insinuating that he has to go etc etc, however, he has frustrated on many a time this season.

I personally would like nothing better than Riordan to "knuckle down", get himself fit and back to his old self and drive Hibs forward.

On another note, there is no point in him scoring all these goals (apart from his own personal gain) if the team is not winning!!!

Yes, thats right, goal difference means absolutely nothing at all... :rolleyes:

Disc O'Dave
20-04-2010, 01:46 PM
Sorry, nothing to do with this thread but just to be clear, it's ENDOF (not End of or even End Off" but purely, simply, completely, utterly and unmistakably ENDOF <<< One word/no space.

Sorted.

ENDOF :greengrin

I do, of course, apologise.

ENDOF

Disc O'Dave
20-04-2010, 01:56 PM
great analogy ... but what the fleck for?!?!? :confused:

What the fleck not for?

Are you worried that the pro-deek "argument" isn't strong enough, and we shouldn't ever question the use of these stats in this case?

I'm confident that his inclusion is merited, stats or no stats. You should be too.

Riordans Boots
20-04-2010, 01:57 PM

Brill Andy :tee hee::top marks

If I were 20 years younger, I'd have his babies :agree: