View Full Version : Where were you today?
New Corrie
17-04-2010, 10:24 PM
Well I could be arsed going and I then had to listen to Yogi tell us how Neil Lennon "brings a smile to his face" Nob, i'm sick of it, 1 win in13 and apparantly he's still the man...aye right...sack the phecker! Hibs man my erse!
17-04-2010, 10:28 PM
I was there too .. I seem to recall he brought on Garry O'Connor deep into injury time and a defender
Townsley and Arpinon.
http://www.soccerbase.com/results3.sd?gameid=385062
17-04-2010, 10:31 PM
I was there too .. I seem to recall he brought on Garry O'Connor deep into injury time and a defender
I was on the Carlton bus so you were probably my driver :greengrin
17-04-2010, 10:35 PM
Well I could be arsed going and I then had to listen to Yogi tell us how Neil Lennon "brings a smile to his face" Nob, i'm sick of it, 1 win in13 and apparantly he's still the man...aye right...sack the phecker! Hibs man my erse!
Pretty boakworthy comments I wasn't smiling when he was dancing up and down the touchline. Yogi's slaverlings make him look even worse at the moment.
17-04-2010, 10:35 PM
:agree: Saves me repeating. There will come a time when the OP himself will for some reason find himself not attending matches whether it be to do with finance or something else.
My excuse? I watched it on Sky at home as at the moment I have better things to spend the best part of £50 on.
Uberfans eh. What are they like?
Too true. When I was the OP's age, I followed Hibs home and away, I went to Hungary to watch Hibs play in the UEFA Cup when I was 19, that was a great experience. I didnt think I was a better fan than those who couldn't go, it came at a good time for me. I wasn't well paid, but I had no commitments other than paying digs to my parents. Like most 'older folk', I was paid a lot less than I am now, but had more disposable income than I do now.
If and I know its a big if, Hibs manage to qualify for Europe next season, I'd LOVE to follow Hibs in Europe, but finances dictate that it's unlikely to happen. Will I be subjected to people saying they are better fans cause they are able to afford to follow Hibs abroad, or cause they don't have the same commitments as I do? Maybe, they don't have a mortgage to pay, or kids to feed and clothe?
Oh to be 19 again. :cool2:
Gala Foxes
17-04-2010, 10:36 PM
Did I go to Parkhead today - No - I drove to Dingwall from Galashiels , sorry but that wasted journey scunnered me, as did Tynecastle the previous Saturday.
Have bought my season ticket for next year,as I always do, but seriously disillusioned - giving Riordan a fine for telling the truth !!!! ??????
for f>>ks sake what is going on???????
17-04-2010, 10:38 PM
Condescending *****.
I have spent loads of money and time watching worse hibs teams than this. Was a season ticket holder from age 3 to age 21. Just now hibs are not the most important thing in my life, so i do not attend games as much as i would like. Especially if the ones i do attend, like last week, are so horrific why would i want to spend even more money and time attending the next weeks game?
Same old hibs, we will play well again next week as we always raise our game for the OF like all smaller clubs. Then the season will fizzle out in the same fashion it has been since january.
chorley_fm
17-04-2010, 10:51 PM
Just home. Well done to every fan that made the effort and applauded the performance. There's no disgrace in coming from behind and loosing at Parkhead to a late offside goal with an under strength side. I love the fact .net has so many armchair fans who sit on their arse when the team needs them most then proceed to come on and slate the team despite the fact alot of posters don't even bother their arse to make the effort. Fair enough if you don't have the money but Hibernian FC need all the support that's possible at the moment and to simply stay away because you can't be arsed and because it's on the tele etc is shocking, especially when you consider alot of posters on here were greeting when they couldn't get Ibrox tickets first time round. I'm with a few regular .net posters and we all share the same sentiments.
I couldnae be arsed
ForeverHibs93
17-04-2010, 11:09 PM
I play football on Saturday's thus can't make it to the games, gees not much of a fan I better delete this account come to think of it:rolleyes:
Fantic
17-04-2010, 11:13 PM
I play football on Saturday's thus can't make it to the games, gees not much of a fan I better delete this account come to think of it:rolleyes:
Bit of advice mate...Its free to join but it's 20 quid to get back out
17-04-2010, 11:14 PM
Yes you should Greg ya part-timing erse.:grr:
ForeverHibs93
17-04-2010, 11:17 PM
Yes you should Greg ya part-timing erse.:grr:
Yup just hand in all my Hibs gear into the charity shop:wink:
ForeverHibs93
17-04-2010, 11:18 PM
Bit of advice mate...Its free to join but it's 20 quid to get back out
Come too think of it I've changed my mind:greengrin
17-04-2010, 11:19 PM
Or i could have it for when i'm older.:dummytit:
17-04-2010, 11:19 PM
I personally think it's schocking, you are only 12 hours or so away from Glasgow....no excuses :greengrin:wink:
12 hrs? I ****ing wish :greengrin If there were direct flights to Scotland it would probably take about 15 hrs. But since there is no direct flights it takes anywhere between 25 and 30 hrs :grr: Petrie :grr:
ForeverHibs93
17-04-2010, 11:20 PM
Or i could have it for when i'm older.:dummytit:
good shout forgot your just a wee laddie:greengrin
17-04-2010, 11:21 PM
12 hrs? I ****ing wish :greengrin If there were direct flights to Scotland it would probably take about 15 hrs. But since there is no direct flights it takes anywhere between 25 and 30 hrs :grr: Petrie :grr:
And you think that is a valid excuse for missing the game:confused::bitchy:
17-04-2010, 11:22 PM
Don't think charity shops do sale or return. :wink:
17-04-2010, 11:23 PM
good shout forgot your just a wee laddie:greengrin
Indeed.:greengrin
17-04-2010, 11:35 PM
He is an uberfan though. He goes every week come rain or shine. Just like you were an uberfan in the 60s.
No he doesn`t, he said he did not go to Dingwall.
You either go to every game or you don`t :dunno:
18-04-2010, 12:50 AM
Just home. Well done to every fan that made the effort and applauded the performance. There's no disgrace in coming from behind and loosing at Parkhead to a late offside goal with an under strength side. I love the fact .net has so many armchair fans who sit on their arse when the team needs them most then proceed to come on and slate the team despite the fact alot of posters don't even bother their arse to make the effort. Fair enough if you don't have the money but Hibernian FC need all the support that's possible at the moment and to simply stay away because you can't be arsed and because it's on the tele etc is shocking, especially when you consider alot of posters on here were greeting when they couldn't get Ibrox tickets first time round. I'm with a few regular .net posters and we all share the same sentiments.
I was also at the game haven't missed one this season so far. :greengrin :greengrin
I could get fan of the season. :faf: :faf:
18-04-2010, 05:16 AM
Still about 5 hours quicker than I could manage it in, you part timer :greengrin:wink:
18-04-2010, 05:31 AM
Where were you today?
I was at home studying for my forthcoming exams. I do so hope that's ok.
They don't deserve our support, wage thieves. It works both ways mate. Why should I shell out £100 of my hard earned cash to watch these journeymen turn in half-arsed performances each week? I'm not just talking about today; bar the first few months of this season, we have been rank rotten for the last three seasons and I've had it. If it doesn't make me a Hibby in your eyes, then so be it. I paid my dues when I sat through the years of dross Alex Miller and Duff Jim trotted out, but at least the players gave a ****. Now, I see laughing and joking; a sheer lack of professionalism. Sorry, had it. :grr:
By the first few months, you mean the majority right?
I watched the match at the only pub in Melbourne that was showing it after phoning about 15 including the Melbourne Celtic Supporters Club, which weren't showing it :confused:
Paid $5 to get into a pub filled with City/Utd fans and happily managed to find another Hibee to watch the small muted screen showing the game.
Enjoyed the game but left very :boo hoo:
18-04-2010, 06:14 AM
Give it 10 years sean, if you are still witnessing disappointment after disappointment then I bet it won't be as easy to go as it is for a 19 year old...
As for me, Parkhead is simply too far away.
18-04-2010, 06:47 AM
Give it 10 years sean, if you are still witnessing disappointment after disappointment then I bet it won't be as easy to go as it is for a 19 year old...
As for me, Parkhead is simply too far away.
Could you imagine this "where were you today?" thread with the Phoenix when they are playing in Perth :greengrin :faf:
I went to my first Victory match last Wednesday. Absolutely surreal.
closing minutes of the match, they need to score to stay in the CL and instead of biting their nails the fans are doing a conga.
18-04-2010, 07:23 AM
Why do people feel the need to justify themselves to the OP:confused:
Who gives a **** what he thinks, he's 19 FFS. I've had hair on ma baws longer than he's been following the team to Glasgow.
Aye you'll be getting your pension next. :greengrin:
Aye Hungary, Liege, anderlecht, Athens (twice) etc. how dare i miss today.
Must have been easy without the incentive of a week away from the missus.:wink:
DunblaneHibby
18-04-2010, 07:24 AM
A bit disillusioned with hibs (not the club but the overpaid prima donna players) but I don't normally go to parkhead anyway.
Had an enjoyable afternoon supporting my local team, the beanos (Stirling Albion).
18-04-2010, 07:27 AM
I went to my first Victory match last Wednesday. Absolutely surreal.
closing minutes of the match, they need to score to stay in the CL and instead of biting their nails the fans are doing a conga.
Melbourne?
We get NO coverage of the ACL here in NZ even though we have a team in the A-League, it is very strange.
18-04-2010, 10:29 AM
There seems to be a number of unhappy posters on this thread, however if anyone decided they "could not be ersed going to watch the team", they should really question how much of a supporter they really are......
ENDOF
18-04-2010, 10:31 AM
There seems to be a number of unhappy posters on this thread, however if anyone decided they "could not be ersed going to watch the team", they should really question how much of a supporter they really are......
ENDOF
Aye alright :aok:
18-04-2010, 10:38 AM
Paying good money to watch guys who couldn't give toss about there fans mite be a good idea in your opinion but not mine.
So until the product on the pitch is worth paying good money to watch I'll not be arsed wasting my time and money.
ENDOFF :greengrin
18-04-2010, 10:39 AM
Paying good money to watch guys who couldn't give toss about there fans mite be a good idea in your opinion but not mine.
So until the product on the pitch is worth paying good money to watch I'll not be arsed wasting my time and money.
ENDOFF :greengrin
Until a Final comes along no doubt:yawn:
18-04-2010, 10:41 AM
ENDOF
I think the amount of Hibs tattoos someone has is more important :agree:
18-04-2010, 10:42 AM
I think the amount of Hibs tattoos someone has is more important :agree:
Not really.......
18-04-2010, 10:42 AM
Until a Final comes along no doubt:yawn:
the way we have been playing off late :greengrin
I'll have plenty of time to save up :faf:
18-04-2010, 10:44 AM
Not really.......
Stop :fishin: :devil:
18-04-2010, 10:45 AM
Not really.......
Why not :confused:
18-04-2010, 10:46 AM
Why not :confused:
:yawn:
18-04-2010, 10:49 AM
ENDOF
What right have you to sit in judgement over anyone as to " how good a supporter " they are. ?
Also what criteria do you set for someone to be called "a real supporter " ?
Please let us know so as we can try and meet your standards :bitchy:
:bye:
18-04-2010, 10:51 AM
That pretty much sums you up :agree:
What right have you to sit in judgement over anyone as to " how good a supporter " they are. ?
Also what criteria do you set for someone to be called "a real supporter " ?
Please let us know so as we can try and meet your standards :bitchy:
:bye:
Read the post that you have answered to....... I said anyone who could not be ersed going..........
Simple really....
That pretty much sums you up :agree:
Really, fancy meeting to dicuss it?
I wonder if you are as petulant, stupid and irritating in person?
18-04-2010, 10:54 AM
Constructive as per usual
18-04-2010, 10:56 AM
Constructive as per usual
Sorry Forum Input & Überfan Police :rolleyes:
Hibstrooper
18-04-2010, 10:56 AM
Did you all miss the chart that was published last year with the top 10,000 Hibs fans?
I came in at 2,327 - bit disappointed but I'm trying to work my way up the league by posting more on Hibs.net and slagging off other fans to damage their reputation
18-04-2010, 11:00 AM
Did you all miss the chart that was published last year with the top 10,000 Hibs fans?
I came in at 2,327 - bit disappointed but I'm trying to work my way up the league by posting more on Hibs.net and slagging off other fans to damage their reputation
Think everyone is missing the point somewhat.....
Anyone who can't go due to family committments, ill health, distance away, financial constraints are not being called into question.....
It's the people who could go but could not be ersed going that I think the OP is having a go at?
18-04-2010, 11:02 AM
Aye Hungary, Liege, anderlecht, Athens (twice) etc. how dare i miss today.
Glory Hunter!!!
18-04-2010, 11:04 AM
Anyone who can't go due to family committments, ill health, distance away, financial constraints are not being called into question.....
It's the people who could go but could not be ersed going that I think the OP is having a go at?
Ah couldnae be ersed goin yesterday.So what,get over yersell.
18-04-2010, 11:04 AM
Ah couldnae be ersed goin yesterday.So what,get over yersell.
some supporter then
Hibstrooper
18-04-2010, 11:05 AM
Sorry I think you are missing my point which was I didn't actually realise that I as a Hibs fan was being judged by my fellow fans and needed to justify how and when I supported my team.
18-04-2010, 11:06 AM
I didn't go yesterday as I was working in the morning and was trying to sell one of my cars..
I watched it in my house on the TV
18-04-2010, 11:06 AM
Sorry I think you are missing my point which was I didn't actually realise that I as a Hibs fan was being judged by my fellow fans and needed to justify how and when I supported my team.
Oh the halcyon days at Finals when we get 40,000 going, then to yesterday when only 150 travelled to Glasgow.........
Deary me
18-04-2010, 11:08 AM
We all know what sean is saying it was the manner in which he expressed it that got peoples back up.
And for the record you don't need an excuss to why fans are staying away in there numbers.
18-04-2010, 11:10 AM
Is this thread really serving any purpose, other than allowing the usual suspects to thump their chests?
18-04-2010, 11:11 AM
I couldnt be arsed going as I have more important things to do with my time these days but of course I would go to a final if I didnt have anything else more important on....dont see the problem personally.
I just love these threads they just go on and on and on and on and on.
18-04-2010, 11:12 AM
Is this thread really serving any purpose, other than allowing the usual suspects to thump their chests?
Not really I had 20 minutes spare :greengrin
Hibstrooper
18-04-2010, 11:13 AM
Oh the halycon days at Finals when we get 40,000 going, then to yesterday when only 150 travelled to Glasgow.........
Deary me
Aye but dinnae worry - most of these folk didn't make the cut on the top 10,000.
I didn't realise you were on the judging panel; maybe you can outline the full scoring criteria so I can pitch my case to you to improve my ranking.
18-04-2010, 11:14 AM
All hail Delabooze and his 2 chums..:not worth
18-04-2010, 11:16 AM
I didn't make the top 10000. Relegation beckons for me. Gutted.:boo hoo:
18-04-2010, 11:17 AM
Oh the halcyon days at Finals when we get 40,000 going, then to yesterday when only 150 travelled to Glasgow.........
Deary me
You would need to be a complete idiot or just looking for an argument (maybe both?) to think that you can compare a cup final, with a team playing well to a run of the mill league game at CP when we are playing poorly and get treated like dirt by police and stewards. Even Celtic fans couldn't be ersed turning up yesterday. Poor product, overpriced, on TV = poor attendance.
18-04-2010, 11:23 AM
You would need to be a complete idiot or just looking for an argument (maybe both?) to think that you can compare a cup final, with a team playing well to a run of the mill league game at CP when we are playing poorly and get treated like dirt by police and stewards. Even Celtic fans couldn't be ersed turning up yesterday. Poor product, overpriced, on TV = poor attendance.
The point is that people kick and scream for tickets for cup semis and final or derbys at tynie and throw tantrums if they dont get one, but when it comes to the nitty gritty of celtic away they dont want to go using the age old excuse oh the stewards and police are kuntz or i wont give them the money. :grr:
18-04-2010, 11:33 AM
You don't seem to love the fact at all :confused::confused:
ski1875
18-04-2010, 11:41 AM
What a joke not goin cos the players are "Not trying" some of you are using the team performance as a scapegoat look at it a players way the fans are being half arsed not the players !
18-04-2010, 11:45 AM
The point is that people kick and scream for tickets for cup semis and final or derbys at tynie and throw tantrums if they dont get one, but when it comes to the nitty gritty of celtic away they dont want to go using the age old excuse oh the stewards and police are kuntz or i wont give them the money. :grr:
I'm sorry mate but those are all considerations. I've been lifted in Glasgow for **** all and I honestly hate going there as a reslut. But more important to most I'd imagine is the current form and attitude of the players. As is the fact that we didn't even know we were playing in Glasgow, at lunch time until the week before due to the farcical split. As is the cost for the single worst view in Scottish fotball.
All these things meant that we had a lower than normal support yesterday. But lets be honest, our support in Glasgow has been awful for many years. It's not that long ago that we would take 5000 to the old terraced Celtc Park. These days, even when we are flying, we rarely sell out our tiny allocation.
18-04-2010, 11:46 AM
What a joke not goin cos the players are "Not trying" some of you are using the team performance as a scapegoat look at it a players way the fans are being half arsed not the players !
Sorry mate but we don't get paid a healthy wedge to turn up and try, the players do. It's their job and that is the huge difference.
They don't care nearly enough and nothing like as much as the fans do.
ski1875
18-04-2010, 11:55 AM
and the job of the SUPPORTERS is to support the team win lose or draw thick and thin . yes playin football is there job but its also the job of the other team and it doesn't always end in a win unfortunately. i dislike the fact were bein so old firm like booing off the park, slaughtering players and manager and boycotting games!
Hank Schrader
18-04-2010, 11:56 AM
Sean, do me a favour son, go take your uber fan pish and ram it right up your hole.
Ta.
18-04-2010, 11:57 AM
Just home. Well done to every fan that made the effort and applauded the performance. There's no disgrace in coming from behind and loosing at Parkhead to a late offside goal with an under strength side. I love the fact .net has so many armchair fans who sit on their arse when the team needs them most then proceed to come on and slate the team despite the fact alot of posters don't even bother their arse to make the effort. Fair enough if you don't have the money but Hibernian FC need all the support that's possible at the moment and to simply stay away because you can't be arsed and because it's on the tele etc is shocking, especially when you consider alot of posters on here were greeting when they couldn't get Ibrox tickets first time round. I'm with a few regular .net posters and we all share the same sentiments.:yawn:
18-04-2010, 12:01 PM
agree with seanbully for you son :bye:
18-04-2010, 12:03 PM
Because you were with me! I'll see the part-timers next when we are playing well, they sure as hell won't be at another game this year. The games are on the tele, see.:yawn:
18-04-2010, 12:05 PM
It's interesting to see that in the most part the ones agreeing with Sean seem to be quite young, 19, 20, 21 ish. When I was that age I hardly missed a game home, away, pre season, Europe etc. But at no time did I think I was a better Hibby than others who didn't. Where has this uber fan bull**** sprang up from, I just don't get it.
18-04-2010, 12:05 PM
Why not? We are the fans who care enough to go to the games no matter what the circumstance. I've shelled out near enough two grand following the team this year, i'm currently on apprentice wages, yet this week I still find the money to pay for phone bills, digs to my Parents, a laptop payment, a saturday night up town and travel to Glasgow to watch the Hibs, yet some supporters much better off financially than me who are sitting in doing **** all have the audacity to sit in and slate the side after a spirited performance when we were very unlucky to take three points from a difficult venue in spite of being on ***** form rather than actually head to the game.:blah::blah:
18-04-2010, 12:08 PM
I'd just like to point out at this juncture that I'm better than everyone else here. At everything.almost everyone :wink: :greengrin
18-04-2010, 12:10 PM
It's interesting to see that in the most part the ones agreeing with Sean seem to be quite young, 19, 20, 21 ish. When I was that age I hardly missed a game home, away, pre season, Europe etc. But at no time did I think I was a better Hibby than others who didn't. Where has this uber fan bull**** sprang up from, I just don't get it.
Spot on, was going to post the same thing but couldnt be arsed :greengrin
18-04-2010, 12:11 PM
I don't have money to spare. But the majority of the money I do have to spare goes on following the team home and away.:applause:
I think we should all write to Hibs and nominate you for a prize :agree:
18-04-2010, 12:12 PM
Spot on, was going to post the same thing but couldnt be arsed :greengrin
Ahh not even a .net uber fan:greengrin
ski1875
18-04-2010, 12:13 PM
yes at ma age like all generations go to every game but its not just 19 20 and 21 year olds who make the effort so bringing age into this is bad patter
18-04-2010, 12:17 PM
yes at ma age like all generations go to every game but its not just 19 20 and 21 year olds who make the effort so bringing age into this is bad patter
Its not bad patter at all. I sound like a right old man here but as you get older and take on a mortgage, kids etc the thought of going to the fitbaw on a Saturday is the last thing on your mind. As much as you would like to theres nae chance you could get away with it :greengrin
18-04-2010, 12:20 PM
This is a messageboard, yes? I have a difference of opinion with the majority of posters. If we all had the same opinion there wouldn't be very much to discuss. 9 pages later and the majority of you still don't understand my original point.
18-04-2010, 12:23 PM
Check the Hearts support at Ibrox, it's not just us.
And for a large chunk of the Hibs support the fact it's on TV is a factor. If you follow the club you'd want to actually see as many games as possible. Therefore the money involved in travelling to and attending a game in Glasgow that's televised is better served going to Hamilton, Perth, Dingwall etc for some people.
Some supporters go everywhere, accepted. Some go most places, but some of those are the type of idiots that people complain about on here, those that abuse and moan constantly and do little to 'support' the team. Some of the 10k that have season tickets can't afford much more of an outlay. There's even some that have felt so down about recent events that attending these games (again - Hamilton, Perth and Dingwall) has even gone beyond the point of being merely unenjoyable.
Point is - You've got a Hibs support that in it's various guises can range from 150 to 4,000 to 11,000 to even 40,000. Of those that can and do regularly attend Easter Road, there's no point in showing some nonsense superiority over others in whos personal situations may vary greatly. Everyone's different, deal with it.
ski1875
18-04-2010, 12:24 PM
Its not bad patter at all. I sound like a right old man here but as you get older and take on a mortgage, kids etc the thought of going to the fitbaw on a Saturday is the last thing on your mind. As much as you would like to theres nae chance you could get away with it :greengrin
aye but some people do like a said the few hundred there yesterday we're not all 19 to 21 its not about being a 'uber fan' its about the slump in support since we we're gonna win the league a few months ago we're stooping as low as old firm fans and that itself is disappointing.
hibbymac
18-04-2010, 12:28 PM
I just stayed in and had a biiig ****.
That's no excuse, ....... you could have went to cellic park, seems like there was one there you could have had. :duck:
18-04-2010, 12:35 PM
It's interesting to see that in the most part the ones agreeing with Sean seem to be quite young, 19, 20, 21 ish. When I was that age I hardly missed a game home, away, pre season, Europe etc. But at no time did I think I was a better Hibby than others who didn't. Where has this uber fan bull**** sprang up from, I just don't get it. This pretty much sums things up for me too.
18-04-2010, 12:48 PM
and the job of the SUPPORTERS is to support the team win lose or draw thick and thin . yes playin football is there job but its also the job of the other team and it doesn't always end in a win unfortunately. i dislike the fact were bein so old firm like booing off the park, slaughtering players and manager and boycotting games!
Nobody is boycotting games, they are simply deciding not to go to certain games and for a vast number of reasons. It's all about the opportunity cost for some folk.
Nobody expects us to win every game (after 25 years following us how could I?) but is it too much to expect the players to try and to hurt when we lose? I accept that they put in a shift yesterday and were a bit unlucky. Taking yesterday's game in isolation they wouldn't be getting stick but when you add yesterday to the previous 10 weeks then they deserve the critisism.
18-04-2010, 12:51 PM
Do they really? In my opinion, almost every cup final and semi i have seen hibs play in, Dunfermline skol cup apart, and there were reasons for that, everyone who's wanted to go, got in. I have not seen anyone throw a tantrum, if they did not get a ticket for tynecastle either. Perhaps the club should only ask for 200 tickets in future, and your scenario can come true for you.
18-04-2010, 12:56 PM
In my experience, as you get older surely the wife is chucking you out the door on a Saturday to get some peace instead of having to suffer you moanin and groanin at the tv or radio.
The football's always the first thing on my mind every weekend but I have lapsed severely this year, still go to the home games obviously but only been to 2 away games and its nowt to do with age, just total frustration at the team.
18-04-2010, 12:58 PM
Do they really? In my opinion, almost every cup final and semi i have seen hibs play in, Dunfermline skol cup apart, and there were reasons for that, everyone who's wanted to go, got in. I have not seen anyone throw a tantrum, if they did not get a ticket for tynecastle either. Perhaps the club should only ask for 200 tickets in future, and your scenario can come true for you.
Exactly. There's always an initial panic but you can always get a ticket. Even Tynie is rarely sold out before a few days prior to the match.
18-04-2010, 01:06 PM
Exactly. There's always an initial panic but you can always get a ticket. Even Tynie is rarely sold out before a few days prior to the match.
Although apparently there are folk having tantrums all over the shop?:greengrin
18-04-2010, 01:11 PM
This pretty much sums things up for me too.
Me too.
So if you haven't been to the game you can't come on here and voice your opinion on the game despite probably having a better view (on tv) than those who sat watching the match at CP with a resticted view. Load of baloney.
I suspect most of them who are agreeing with the original OP are not responsible for a mortgage/rent, council tax, utility bills, food bills etc etc and only have to think about football, pubs and where to get the their next best deal for "2 for 1" on pizzas or a chinese. :agree:
The fact the OP couldn't wait to come on here and tell us how much better he is than the average Hibs fan says it all. At 4.30pm I would've still be in the pub enjoying a few pints than rushing back home to turn on my laptop.
Anyway I have had a clearout this morning and have packed my Hibs top, Hibs videos, Hibs DVD's and Hibs books etc ready for collection by my local charity in the morning as I am clearly not entitled to own them. :grr:
I know the OP's original point was primarily aimed at folk who can't be arsed but there was also a dig at folk like me who chose to watch it in the comfort of their home on tv.
:bye: I won't be back until I have seen the Hibs "in the flesh". :devil:
18-04-2010, 01:15 PM
Its not bad patter at all. I sound like a right old man here but as you get older and take on a mortgage, kids etc the thought of going to the fitbaw on a Saturday is the last thing on your mind.
It's the first thing on my mind :greengrin
As much as you would like to theres nae chance you could get away with it :greengrin
Peter Douglas is the man :not worth Just tell the missus you are working :cool2:
18-04-2010, 01:37 PM
It's the first thing on my mind :greengrin
Peter Douglas is the man :not worth Just tell the missus you are working :cool2:
I am clearly a big sap :greengrin
18-04-2010, 01:43 PM
:faf::top marks
Sean, do me a favour son, go take your uber fan pish and ram it right up your hole.
Ta.
18-04-2010, 01:44 PM
I am clearly a big sap :greengrin
:agree: :greengrin
since90plustwo
18-04-2010, 02:08 PM
i went yesterday, i thought we played okay, but the support was far from. i understand people have other commitments, but 30,000 turned up for a cup final at hampden but 200 turn up for a big game. i know a final is more important but surely there has to be more than a few hundred fans able to make it. and well done to whoever went:thumbsup:
Hibs supports a disgrace these days! Well done to those who made the effort to turn up!
18-04-2010, 02:19 PM
I joined St Giles branch around 64 and then moved to Tynecastle Branch. I remember going to boring branch meetings at Carlton Terrace and then moving down to our present clubrooms. I did travel on the St Giles bus. Thats me wi the specs in my signature. Do you recognise me?
Hi Jakki,
sorry can't recall you from St Giles days but remember reading about your fan club in the local press and seeing your photo. IIRC your club was in existence for a long time. Did you have many meetings with Peter?
My pal (another Hibee), who was a TV mechanic, visited Peter's mother's house many years ago to fix her telly. It became obvious to my pal just who the lady's son was and they had a chat about Peter and Hibs in general.
When he was about to leave, she handed him a couple of items which I'm sure he cherishes to this day ... one of Peter's Hibs tops and also a Scotland top! :aok: Lucky man!
18-04-2010, 02:19 PM
i went yesterday, i thought we played okay, but the support was far from. i understand people have other commitments, but 30,000 turned up for a cup final at hampden but 200 turn up for a big game. i know a final is more important but surely there has to be more than a few hundred fans able to make it. and well done to whoever went:thumbsup:
Hibs supports a disgrace these days! Well done to those who made the effort to turn up!
:blah:
I must be a glory hunter then :rolleyes: :yawn:
This is a messageboard, yes? I have a difference of opinion with the majority of posters. If we all had the same opinion there wouldn't be very much to discuss. 9 pages later and the majority of you still don't understand my original point.
Yes it is a message board.And i do think that a lot of people got your original point.Some agree, most dont.The fact that you spend most of your cash following Hibs is your choice.A lot do that, but dont feel the need to come on and have a pop at those that chose not to.
Do you honestly think that people watching the match at home or in the pub to save nearly £30 to see 3\4 of the pitch did the wrong thing?I dont, especially after our results and performances over the last few months.Given the performance and attitude from the team last week the pitiful support at Darkhead was no surprise.In years gone bye i regularly followed the team to most places with a worse team.The difference is it was much more affordable.As for the people who can afford it but did,nt go, i dont blame them either.Just because you can afford it doesnt mean you have to pay it.
Yes it is a message board.And i do think that a lot of people got your original point.Some agree, most dont.The fact that you spend most of your cash following Hibs is your choice.A lot do that, but dont feel the need to come on and have a pop at those that chose not to.
Do you honestly think that people watching the match at home or in the pub to save nearly £30 to see 3\4 of the pitch did the wrong thing?I dont, especially after our results and performances over the last few months.Given the performance and attitude from the team last week the pitiful support at Darkhead was no surprise.In years gone bye i regularly followed the team to most places with a worse team.The difference is it was much more affordable.As for the people who can afford it but did,nt go, i dont blame them either.Just because you can afford it doesnt mean you have to pay it.What the OP also forgets in his wee rant is the fact he is aiming it at no more than about 50/60 folk on here ...thats how many actually contributed to the match update thread ..out of that a percentage lived overseas & a few more down south etc ..add to that the ones who couldnt go for valid reasons & the ones who couldnt be ersed ...so all in all ..a pretty pointless rant that has done nowt but attract attention ..
JohnScott
18-04-2010, 03:11 PM
Sean, most fans on here agree with your point but with respect your ONLY 19. I can claim that in 20 years I missed only 12 games home and away travelling from Peebles. You can't yet make that claim. As for two hundred at Celtic? I can also BOAST being in the two hundred or so that braved the terraces at Parkhead and the enclosure at Ibrox. You and many on here can't.
I was part of the 5500 that travelled to Dumbarton to support the team in their fight against relegation. (the club paid for transport by the way)
I was part of the 1200 crowd at home to Partick when we were relegated in the 80's. I travelled many times to Aberdeen knowing beforehand we'd be stuffed 5 or 6 nil. I travelled to the 1979 cup final and both replays on a minibus from Peebles. Thats down the A721 by the way!
I also WALKED 23miles back from Edinburgh after the 78 semi against Aberdeen....................................... I could go on and on Sean but my main point is?
I would never, ever, claim to be the greatest Hibs fan. I am not. There are many who still travel home and away to see the Hibees years after I moved south. No matter how bad you think the support was at Celtic Park just be proud of the fact you and your mates were there. Never mind being sanctimonious about it though. You've a lot of games to go to catch up on me pal. I admire you passion for the club though "in my opinion" it's not shared by all present day Hibs players!
One last thing Sean. Did you ever consider that football today is just plain ****?
18-04-2010, 03:22 PM
None of your ****ing business where I was. You were there, congratulations!
Mickey Edwards
18-04-2010, 05:08 PM
I agree with the original poster on 2 big points :
1} any one who went to the game yest. is a better fan than those who didn't go....I include myself in that....it would have been very difficult to go but I could have shifted a few things around and taken the financial and social flak to make it....I didn't so sean is a better fan than me. He may not always have been and may not be in the future but right now he is a better Hibs fan than I am.
2} having experienced matches on highlights/live on telly/radio and in the flesh NOTHING can come close to watching the match in the flesh to form a valid opinion about it. Everything else is distorted so I'm afraid if you weren't there you shouldn't voice an opinion about it and expect people to listen.
In particular you have no right to criticise the team for an outcome when you have not been able to evaluate the process. He's absolutely on the money, call it uberfan or whatever but he is a better fan at the moment than all of us who didn't go. Doesn't make us bad men just less of an asset to the club at the moment. More importantly he has earned the right to evaluate / criticise/ praise because he has witnessed the whole thing. Watching it live on telly gives you an impression of the game but not enough to comment authoritatively. It's pleasant enough but the game is edited down to that portion of the game happening next to the ball. Hysterical abuse based on remote edited experience is lazy and damaging to the cause.
SaudiHibby
18-04-2010, 05:20 PM
To be perfectly honest i couldnae give a flying **** if you think i'm a fud. Out of interest what brings you to that conclusion?
Oi, support yer local team :wink:
18-04-2010, 06:00 PM
I agree with the original poster on 2 big points :
1} any one who went to the game yest. is a better fan than those who didn't go....I include myself in that....it would have been very difficult to go but I could have shifted a few things around and taken the financial and social flak to make it....I didn't so sean is a better fan than me. He may not always have been and may not be in the future but right now he is a better Hibs fan than I am.
2} having experienced matches on highlights/live on telly/radio and in the flesh NOTHING can come close to watching the match in the flesh to form a valid opinion about it. Everything else is distorted so I'm afraid if you weren't there you shouldn't voice an opinion about it and expect people to listen.
In particular you have no right to criticise the team for an outcome when you have not been able to evaluate the process. He's absolutely on the money, call it uberfan or whatever but he is a better fan at the moment than all of us who didn't go. Doesn't make us bad men just less of an asset to the club at the moment. More importantly he has earned the right to evaluate / criticise/ praise because he has witnessed the whole thing. Watching it live on telly gives you an impression of the game but not enough to comment authoritatively. It's pleasant enough but the game is edited down to that portion of the game happening next to the ball. Hysterical abuse based on remote edited experience is lazy and damaging to the cause.
See where you are coming from but for the OP to state "...to simply stay away because you can't be arsed and because it's on the tele etc is shocking..." is what most of us take exception to .
He has no more right to criticise those that didn't attend than those , by your "rules" , who weren't there criticising the team.
Works both ways .
This idea of "I'm a better fan than you" is utter rubbish and seems to have become a modern trait among the younger guys .
I, and probably yourself, have ,on a pissing wet night, stood on the open east terracing with the water running out the arse of our trousers .
I didn't ,and hopefully you, didn't turn up at work next day claiming to be better than our mates and slagging them off for not attending .
We supported our club as our finances and job allowed . There could be a bit of banter about " not being allowed out etc" but never remember people being taken to task for not turning up .
I appreciate he is a young man and no doubt a dedicated supporter but suggest he has a wee think before he posts along these lines again.
Hope he lives long enough to see Hibs win the cup :greengrin:wink:
jakki
18-04-2010, 06:00 PM
Hi Jakki,
sorry can't recall you from St Giles days but remember reading about your fan club in the local press and seeing your photo. IIRC your club was in existence for a long time. Did you have many meetings with Peter?
My pal (another Hibee), who was a TV mechanic, visited Peter's mother's house many years ago to fix her telly. It became obvious to my pal just who the lady's son was and they had a chat about Peter and Hibs in general.
When he was about to leave, she handed him a couple of items which I'm sure he cherishes to this day ... one of Peter's Hibs tops and also a Scotland top! :aok: Lucky man!
We drew up courage to knock on his door at Bonnington Road and his mum and dad made us really welcome wi tea and biscuits, and we asked Peter if we could run a fan club for him with a newsletter going out once a month. He agreed
We had many meetings wi Peter and even presented him wi a pewtar tankard that we got from my dads Kensitas coupins but did get it engraved. I cannot remember the engraving.His parents were so lovely making us welcome in their new house in Broomhouse. They were so proud of their son who had provided them with it.
Alas when I moved to Germany, the fan club folded but we had been able to bring news of Peter to around 100 supporters outwith Scoland.
Happy days when players were not over-hyped
18-04-2010, 06:05 PM
Sean, most fans on here agree with your point but with respect your ONLY 19. I can claim that in 20 years I missed only 12 games home and away travelling from Peebles. You can't yet make that claim. As for two hundred at Celtic? I can also BOAST being in the two hundred or so that braved the terraces at Parkhead and the enclosure at Ibrox. You and many on here can't.
I was part of the 5500 that travelled to Dumbarton to support the team in their fight against relegation. (the club paid for transport by the way)
I was part of the 1200 crowd at home to Partick when we were relegated in the 80's. I travelled many times to Aberdeen knowing beforehand we'd be stuffed 5 or 6 nil. I travelled to the 1979 cup final and both replays on a minibus from Peebles. Thats down the A721 by the way!
I also WALKED 23miles back from Edinburgh after the 78 semi against Aberdeen....................................... I could go on and on Sean but my main point is?
I would never, ever, claim to be the greatest Hibs fan. I am not. There are many who still travel home and away to see the Hibees years after I moved south. No matter how bad you think the support was at Celtic Park just be proud of the fact you and your mates were there. Never mind being sanctimonious about it though. You've a lot of games to go to catch up on me pal. I admire you passion for the club though "in my opinion" it's not shared by all present day Hibs players!
One last thing Sean. Did you ever consider that football today is just plain ****?
:top marks:notworthy:
18-04-2010, 06:17 PM
I think the point here is that different groups of fans keep the club going at different times. Some people maybe went religiously for 10 years and then fell away - they made their contribution though, and the club wouldn't be here today if they hadn't.
Likewise, those who don't go these days can be grateful to the fans who do, as they wouldn't have anything to talk about.
Don-hibee
18-04-2010, 06:35 PM
The OP is right, although it will obviously touch a raw nerve with many.
The die-hard core of the support, who go to the games ARE better supporters IMHO because they are the ones putting money into the club on a regular basis. This ensures the club can survive and hope to progress - increased playing budget etc.
That isn't to say those who don't go every week aren't passionate supporters, but those who make the sacrifice more often than not are 'better'.
It annoys me, too, that there are so many experts who form opinions from radio coverage or highlights packages. It's hard enough to judge a live TV game because you can't see the bigger picture. I'm concerned about dropping crowd figures and the growing media-driven trend that says you can be a real punter without going to games (this doesn't apply to Hibees abroad).
So my financial input to Hibs ( 2x season tickets inc cup top up) and countless items bought out the shop, programmes and Half time draw tickets is less important to Hibs than those who travel to away games IYO. I think every penny a Supporter spends, through Tickets(home or away) programmes,Half time draw tickets and merchandise on a regular basis, benefits the Club. Money spent on away travel and match tickets for away grounds with the exception of cup ties in no way benifit Hibs as home club keep all there own ticket money .
Just my opinion
jakki
18-04-2010, 06:53 PM
I think the point here is that different groups of fans keep the club going at different times. Some people maybe went religiously for 10 years and then fell away - they made their contribution though, and the club wouldn't be here today if they hadn't.
Likewise, those who don't go these days can be grateful to the fans who do, as they wouldn't have anything to talk about.
Wise words:thumbsup:
The Old Brigade
18-04-2010, 07:41 PM
So my financial input to Hibs ( 2x season tickets inc cup top up) and countless items bought out the shop, programmes and Half time draw tickets is less important to Hibs than those who travel to away games IYO. I think every penny a Supporter spends, through Tickets(home or away) programmes,Half time draw tickets and merchandise on a regular basis, benefits the Club. Money spent on away travel and match tickets for away grounds with the exception of cup ties in no way benifit Hibs as home club keep all there own ticket money .
Just my opinion
Hmm, I think it is better for football overall to have fans\willing to go to away games, do not like the I only give money to my club attitude, it damages Scottish football overall. It just gets reciprocated by some fans of other clubs so all clubs lose out on away support, and overall atmosphere suffers, deterring some home supporters too from attending.
Problem of the attitude above is exarcerbated when many clubs give impression they are not interested in doing anything to promote the welfare of away fans, whether their own club going elsewhere or visiting fans from other clubs - so much more could be done with a bit of will and intiative. This includes Hibs though our Board is far from alone in this, it is more symptomatic of Scottish football administrators complete lack of vision of which Petrie, O'Hagan etc just a subset.
Perspective
18-04-2010, 07:47 PM
Just my opinion
No, I didn't want my post to come across like that. You're exactly the sort of supporter we need more of if we are to progress.
I just agree with the OP that there are too many people slating every area of the club (managers, players, East Mains etc) without actually seeing live games or looking at the bigger picture. We're on a terrible run but, in the main, this is a pretty good time to be a Hibs fan.
Anyway, I don't mind runs like this because it's all part of being a Hibee. The more you are kicked in the teeth the more days like winning the CIS Cup mean and that's something an Old Firm supporter will never understand.
ski1875
18-04-2010, 07:57 PM
many immature people being immature towards sean who is only expressing opinion not once in the op does he say he's better than all other fans!
18-04-2010, 07:58 PM
many immature people being immature towards sean who is only expressing opinion not once in the op does he say he's better than all other fans!
Pretty much.
18-04-2010, 08:31 PM
Pretty much.
Right on?
Far out?
18-04-2010, 08:34 PM
Sorry but must take issue with you here !
Sean by implication is claiming to be better.
We live in a democracy which allows us to pick and choose what we do within certain parameters.
This is like someone who is a vegy telling me I am wrong to eat meat or someone accusing me because I don't attend church that I am not a Christian.
I appreciate his feelings as I have followed this club through thick and thin for nearly 70 years - the problem was the wording of his OP .
During the many years I attended home and away games it is only in the last few years this pointless argument about who is a better supporter than another has come up .
No issue with his commitment to "the cause", that is obvious, and I hope he gets as many years to enjoy the "roller coaster ride" that comes with supporting Hibs :greengrin
18-04-2010, 08:42 PM
Sorry but must take issue with you here !
Sean by implication is claiming to be better.
We live in a democracy which allows us to pick and choose what we do within certain parameters.
This is like someone who is a vegy telling me I am wrong to eat meat or someone accusing me because I don't attend church that I am not a Christian.
I appreciate his feelings as I have followed this club through thick and thin for nearly 70 years - the problem was the wording of his OP .
During the many years I attended home and away games it is only in the last few years this pointless argument about who is a better supporter than another has come up .
No issue with his commitment to "the cause", that is obvious, and I hope he gets as many years to enjoy the "roller coaster ride" that comes with supporting Hibs :greengrin
You are correct, not attending church doesn't mean your aren't a Christian, just in the same way that attending church doesn't make you a Christian either.
And just because someone went to Parkhead yesterday doesn't make them any better a supporter than you or me.
18-04-2010, 08:58 PM
One last thing Sean. Did you ever consider that football today is just plain
****?
I can vouch for Scotty on this one coz I was with him for most of these games.
All I can say following a post from a guy I havnt heard from in years and years since we used to go to games together is.
:notworthy:
18-04-2010, 10:31 PM
Well Sean, what can I say. I wasn't at Parkhead and chose not to go. Does that make me an outcast from your little group of diehards? I could prattle on about having watched more Hibs games home and away, good and bad than you've had hot dinners but I suspect that won't satisfy your apparent desire to slag any Hibby who didn't have a good reason for not going.
As it happens I was down south, through choice and watched Shrewsbury v Lincoln City on Saturday. Small club with limited support but what a joy it was to hear the home fans giving support to players that made mistakes.
Earlier today I sat in a crowd of almost 36,000 watching the Sheffield derby and once again I was impressed with the very noisy support given by both sets of fans to their favourites.
Lessons could be learned from all of the above IMO.
I guess because you're only 19 you maybe have this romantic notion that no matter what, Hibs fans should move hell and high water to follow their side. In the real world fans may just decide that they ain't enjoying what they're watching and vote with their feet. Sad but true
NaeTechnoHibby
18-04-2010, 11:39 PM
Does being older make you a better supporter than me and make your opinion more valid? It would seem that way.
Yes siree, I do hope you attend the HOH concert at the Usher Hall, since you missed it last time around :greengrin
18-04-2010, 11:58 PM
Yes siree, I do hope you attend the HOH concert at the Usher Hall, since you missed it last time around :greengrin
19-04-2010, 01:41 AM
I was through in Edinburgh the night before and both couldn't be arsed nor had the money, stick that one up your pipe uberfans/excuse makers.
Talking about non attendances, a friend of mine is a student with a £1500 overdraft, who is also £150 behind on his rent and without a penny to his name unless the bank let him extend his overdraft more tommorow. This friends brother phoned him up and said he could shift both their season tickets out for the day to a couple of huns over the internet for 75 to 100 quid each.
Is it ok that my friend said too right?
Course it is, thats a great deal:greengrin. To be honest i dont understand why fans come on saying they are uber fans or others making up ridiculous excuses not to go.
Bascially i have been scunnered since i was up at dingwall so couldnt be arsed going.
Rory89
19-04-2010, 02:34 AM
Course it is, thats a great deal:greengrin. To be honest i dont understand why fans come on saying they are uber fans or others making up ridiculous excuses not to go.
Bascially i have been scunnered since i was up at dingwall so couldnt be arsed going.
Have a bit of a feeling that should we lose on Sunday there will be a strangely high number of "hibby's" in neutral colours sticking around, "for something to do".
19-04-2010, 08:41 AM
This post sums it up, we have all im sure done our bit for the club, through even the worst of times. If sean thinks that this is a bad time for hibs with support dwindling he should wait until we actually have a bad season.
I remember when mercer was trying to take us over and being at every home game of the 1990 season when we fnished rock bottom.
I remember going to almost every game the season we won the playoff to stay up, being at that play off, then being at almost every game the season we did get relegated, then being at almost every game the following season in the 1st division.
Most of my friends that were hibs fans didnt do this, but i didnt look down upon them are think of them as lesser supporters.
19-04-2010, 08:48 AM
Sorry if I hit a nerve, part-timer.
HA!
i was travelling around scotland watching hibs whilst you were still eating bogeys you wee radj so dont get all high and mighty with me!
19-04-2010, 08:49 AM
I was through in Edinburgh the night before and both couldn't be arsed nor had the money, stick that one up your pipe uberfans/excuse makers.
Talking about non attendances, a friend of mine is a student with a £1500 overdraft, who is also £150 behind on his rent and without a penny to his name unless the bank let him extend his overdraft more tommorow. This friends brother phoned him up and said he could shift both their season tickets out for the day to a couple of huns over the internet for 75 to 100 quid each.
Eh, no it's not. I would think that your friend is risking his ST if said Huns caused a riot and the club found out that the seats had been sold on. There are T's & C's being a ST holder you know.
19-04-2010, 08:50 AM
ooooooooo internet hard man!!!
SHOTTY!! :faf:
19-04-2010, 09:16 AM
Lets face it, the SPL and every team in it, and I include Hibs in that, are pish!
It's boring. The standard is crap. Even when the Old Firm are pretty rank rotten, they are STILL the top 2.
If any of the SPL teams get to Europe, they get horsed out first time making the previous season's achievement null and void before August is over!
It's too expensive, there are too many rules and regulations at games, getting a ticket means being on databases etc etc. Too many games on at stupid times, too many live games on TV full stop.
Going to the football in Scotland takes a fair bit of effort and cash, and right now, it's just not worth it.
I've watched quite a few games online since I came to NZ, and I can barely think of any I have enjoyed apart from maybe the 1-0 away at Hearts last season. The rest have been utter crap. I can see why attendances are falling and for a game where even the home fans can't be ersed going when they are second in the league and still in with a slim title shot, is it any wonder that Hibs fans didn't go?
Even if we get to Europe, what will it all be for? To get pumped 5-1 on aggregate again? There is no way this current sqad would do anything in the Europa League.
It's hard to explain, but a few people on here have mentioned it, but there is just a certain apathy around football in the SPL right now and something will have to drastically change to get the fans back. A change inthe players' attitude would be a good start.
Joe Baker II
19-04-2010, 09:59 AM
It's too expensive, there are too many rules and regulations at games, getting a ticket means being on databases etc etc. Too many games on at stupid times, too many live games on TV full stop.
I agree with the rest of your post but database seems to be a stupid practice that is almost unique to Hibs - have had no problem with other clubs whenever I have purchased tickets and this is area where Hibs are a particular example of how not to operate (and current system at ER is not as bad as it was a few years ago).
19-04-2010, 10:13 AM
I agree with the rest of your post but database seems to be a stupid practice that is almost unique to Hibs - have had no problem with other clubs whenever I have purchased tickets and this is area where Hibs are a particular example of how not to operate (and current system at ER is not as bad as it was a few years ago).
For example, if I was to come back for a holiday or something, could I get a ticket for a big game, or would I have to get someone on the database to get it for me, even though I had been going to games for 20 years before I left?
19-04-2010, 10:13 AM
Lets face it, the SPL and every team in it, and I include Hibs in that, are pish!
It's boring. The standard is crap. Even when the Old Firm are pretty rank rotten, they are STILL the top 2.
If any of the SPL teams get to Europe, they get horsed out first time making the previous season's achievement null and void before August is over!
Going to the football in Scotland takes a fair bit of effort and cash, and right now, it's just not worth it.
I've watched quite a few games online since I came to NZ, and I can barely think of any I have enjoyed apart from maybe the 1-0 away at Hearts last season. The rest have been utter crap. I can see why attendances are falling and for a game where even the home fans can't be ersed going when they are second in the league and still in with a slim title shot, is it any wonder that Hibs fans didn't go?
Even if we get to Europe, what will it all be for? To get pumped 5-1 on aggregate again? There is no way this current sqad would do anything in the Europa League.
It's hard to explain, but a few people on here have mentioned it, but there is just a certain apathy around football in the SPL right now and something will have to drastically change to get the fans back. A change inthe players' attitude would be a good start.
Blanket football, 24/7 is killing the game. 99% of what we see is English premiership, or Spanish, and as much as we don't like to hear it, it is better. The money they spend on players gets that. And we rightly or wrongly compare it, and it comes a long way second. Games need to get back to basics in scotland, 3pm Saturdays, lower prices, and league reconstruction.
Will we get that, not a chance. Fans wont like it at first, standards would drop further. Chairman would not like it, revenue would drop. Its a road we have chosen to go down, take the money and sod the product and customers. The future does not look very bright in my opinion, and i don't see anyone involved in football in Scotland, who can make the changes needed to address this situation.
19-04-2010, 10:24 AM
I don't think I've ever seen so many posters spectacularly miss the point of an OP than is happening here.
Nowhere does Sean say he is a better supporter.
Have a look at his post again.
Just home. Well done to every fan that made the effort and applauded the performance. There's no disgrace in coming from behind and loosing at Parkhead to a late offside goal with an under strength side.
Correct.
I love the fact .net has so many armchair fans who sit on their arse when the team needs them most then proceed to come on and slate the team despite the fact alot of posters don't even bother their arse to make the effort.
He's having a go at folk on the match thread, some of whom clearly couldn't wait for Hibs to chuck it away, and revelled in sticking the boot in when they did.
Fair enough if you don't have the money but Hibernian FC need all the support that's possible at the moment and to simply stay away because you can't be arsed and because it's on the tele etc is shocking, especially when you consider alot of posters on here were greeting when they couldn't get Ibrox tickets first time round. I'm with a few regular .net posters and we all share the same sentiments.
So where does Sean say he's a better supporter? He's not having a go at folk who used to go but no longer can for financial reasons. He's not having a go at folk who were away for the weekend or whatever.
He's having a go at the select band of a*seholes on here who haven't been near Easter Road all season but sit behind their computer screens and anonymously spout p*sh about Hughes, Riordan, Stokes, Nish, Bamba, McCormack, Petrie, whoever.
I'm with him 100%.
19-04-2010, 10:26 AM
I don't think I've ever seen so many posters spectacularly miss the point of an OP than is happening here.
Correct.
He's having a go at folk on the match thread, some of whom clearly couldn't wait for Hibs to chuck it away, and revelled in sticking the boot in when they did.
So where does Sean say he's a better supporter? He's not having a go at folk who used to go but no longer can for financial reasons. He's not having a go at folk who were away for the weekend or whatever.
He's having a go at the select band of a*seholes on here who haven't been near Easter Road all season but sit behind their computer screens and anonymously spout p*sh about Hughes, Riordan, Stokes, Nish, Bamba, McCormack, Petrie, whoever.
I'm with him 100%.
Me too!
19-04-2010, 10:44 AM
Correct.
I'm with him 100%.
Spot on Bawheid:top marks
19-04-2010, 11:10 AM
Sean doesn't (well, not in the OP anyway though I've not trawled his other posts) however, I took issue with others spouting this 'better supporter' pash, hence my involvement in this thread.
Quick edit -
Not quite 'better supporters' but he does write this (post 71)
I'll see the part-timers next when we are playing well, they sure as hell won't be at another game this year. The games are on the tele, see.
Followed up with this (post 86)
We are the fans who care enough to go to the games no matter what the circumstance. I've shelled out near enough two grand following the team this year, i'm currently on apprentice wages, yet this week I still find the money to pay for phone bills, digs to my Parents, a laptop payment, a saturday night up town and travel to Glasgow to watch the Hibs, yet some supporters much better off financially than me who are sitting in doing **** all have the audacity to sit in and slate the side after a spirited performance when we were very unlucky to take three points from a difficult venue in spite of being on ***** form rather than actually head to the game.
Now, this is in response to some serious stick he took for his OP for the blood was no doubt boiling but those jibes didn't exactly endear himself to others :-)
Sean also states that while he's on apprentice wages, what spare money he has, goes on football - that's fine and when I, you and many others were 19, we all did exactly the same. I can totally understand Sean's frustrations. In fact, I've been to (old) parkhead where there were no more than 200 hundred Hibs fans to see 5-0 defeat, after 5-0 defeat!
What Sean has to realise is that these things are cyclical. Give it 20 years and there'll be someone givign him stick for sitting on the laptop while a game is on, as it'll happen. Unless, he becomes an uber, uber fan like Brooster ;-)
19-04-2010, 11:26 AM
OOHHH Im telling :greengrin
Seriously though I think you will find the tickets are probably not transferable! If these fans are caught in the wrong area of the ground then the ST holders could be in hot water. :agree:
19-04-2010, 11:35 AM
Correct.
I'm with him 100%.
You're right, .sean doesn't say anything about being a better supporter. He does however idicate that because you can't be bothered attending a game (and under the current circumstances, it's understandable!) you are therefore not entitled to have an opinion.
I watched the game in a pub because I couldn't be arsed travelling up fae Dumfries; I thought it was a really good performance and the team did themselves proud........
.....does my opinion not count then?
Or is the OP saying that you aren't allowed to criticise the team if you don't go to games...:rolleyes:
19-04-2010, 12:46 PM
You're right, .sean doesn't say anything about being a better supporter. He does however idicate that because you can't be bothered attending a game (and under the current circumstances, it's understandable!) you are therefore not entitled to have an opinion.
I watched the game in a pub because I couldn't be arsed travelling up fae Dumfries; I thought it was a really good performance and the team did themselves proud........
.....does my opinion not count then?
Or is the OP saying that you aren't allowed to criticise the team if you don't go to games...:rolleyes:
:top marks:agree:
19-04-2010, 12:54 PM
IMO football is way overpriced and no longer a working mans game and that puts alot of people off going to games,not just poor team performances.
There should be a admission fee cap put on all clubs in the spl. Say £20 for adults and £10 oaps and £5 kids. Players wages need to be capped aswell. its killing the game. :boo hoo:
19-04-2010, 01:34 PM
I have been to every match this season home and away. Does that make me a better fan or care more about Hibs than someone who hasn't? NO, off course it doesn't.
I think the OP is on the wind up trying to get a reaction from people. People who watched the match on the TV have as much right to an opinion on the match as someone who was at Parkhead.
19-04-2010, 01:37 PM
IMO football is way overpriced and no longer a working mans game and that puts alot of people off going to games,not just poor team performances.
There should be a admission fee cap put on all clubs in the spl. Say £20 for adults and £10 oaps and £5 kids. Players wages need to be capped aswell. its killing the game. :boo hoo:
I agree it is far too expensive. But what is a "working man" anyway?
since90plustwo
19-04-2010, 02:08 PM
tbh, i dont think sean is saying he is a better fan than everybody who didnt go, i think he is just saying hes better than the people who sit around claiming to be hibs fans when they can go, can afford to go, but just choose not to cause they simply cannot be arsed.
19-04-2010, 02:18 PM
I agree it is far too expensive. But what is a "working man" anyway?
Well the working class man ofcourse. Although nowadays im not sure if the pc police will allow that :greengrin
19-04-2010, 02:21 PM
Interesting viewpoint with which I agree in part.
At the weekend I watched a League Two game on the Saturday - £18 to get in and on Sunday I watched a Championship match - £29 to get in
From that it would seem footie in Scotland is not overpriced as much as we may think
7Hero
19-04-2010, 02:22 PM
Why should the team bother their arse and put the effort in when the fans don't?
cause there professional footballers supposedly.
19-04-2010, 02:41 PM
Interesting viewpoint with which I agree in part.
At the weekend I watched a League Two game on the Saturday - £18 to get in and on Sunday I watched a Championship match - £29 to get in
From that it would seem footie in Scotland is not overpriced as much as we may think
Both outrageous prices for the respective leagues. £18 for league2 (old division 3) is shocking. Should be £10 and £5 for that league. As for the championship (Old division 1) That should be £20 and £10 and £5 for kids. Its one of the easiest ways to get bums on seat or feet on the terraces. Keep the admission fees low. :thumbsup:
19-04-2010, 02:43 PM
Both outrageous prices for the restpective leagues. £18 for league2 (old division 3) is shocking. Should be £10 and £5 for that league. As for the championship (Old division 1) That should be £20 and £10 and £5 for kids. Its one of the easiest ways to get bums on seat or on the terraces. Keep the admission fees low.
I agree in principle but these teams have high outlays and so are left with little choice.
I've long argued that cheaper prices would increase crowd numbers but the crux of the matter is that to ensure the same gate income clubs would need to attract a few thousand more fans and that's unlikely to happen IMO.
19-04-2010, 02:53 PM
I agree in principle but these teams have high outlays and so are left with little choice.
I've long argued that cheaper prices would increase crowd numbers but the crux of the matter is that to ensure the same gate income clubs would need to attract a few thousand more fans and that's unlikely to happen IMO.
I agree but it certainly has the potential to work in Edinburgh to get more fans through the gates at ER but i cant see us filling that new stand week in week out when its finished. Unfortunatly smaller clubs in the lower leagues are always going to struggle to attract fans as long as the old firm are around. How many towns have you been to and seen Rangers and Celtic tops walking around the place.
Down south i think it would work a bit better as i think that alot more fans take pride in supporting their local team. Although they will always have to compete for fans who want to support 1 of the big 4 even though they dont live anywhere near where they play. If more people started to support their local team the attendances would double maybe treble. :agree:
19-04-2010, 04:02 PM
I think the OP is on the wind up trying to get a reaction from people. People who watched the match on the TV have as much right to an opinion on the match as someone who was at Parkhead.
:agree: Pretty much what I said earlier. Plus some of us probably had a much better view of the game than he did. **** even Ivan Sproule couldn't get from Glasgow to Haddington and fire up his laptop in the time that uberfan Sean did. :wink:
Anyway the charity van arrived this morning and collected everything in my house that bears the name "Hibernian F.C." as I am clearly not deserving of them. :devil:
ski1875
19-04-2010, 04:35 PM
:agree: Pretty much what I said earlier. Plus some of us probably had a much better view of the game than he did. **** even Ivan Sproule couldn't get from Glasgow to Haddington and fire up his laptop in the time that uberfan Sean did. :wink:
Anyway the charity van arrived this morning and collected everything in my house that bears the name "Hibernian F.C." as I am clearly not deserving of them. :devil:
sean actually found more money after his matchday expenses which he used to buy a phone and in turn made his post ;) he wis actually no far from home either. milton road if i recall.
19-04-2010, 05:13 PM
sean actually found more money after his matchday expenses which he used to buy a phone and in turn made his post ;) he wis actually no far from home either. milton road if i recall.
Aye mate, aye :greengrin
Bawheid hit the nail on the head. To be honest I couldn't give a flying one if the majority on this thread don't agree with me. It's a messageboard and we'll all have different opinions. Perhaps after ten pages of ''uberfan'' garbage folk have finally realised my initial point. Not once have i stated i'm a better Hibs fan than those on here that didn't make the match. Not once. I've said numerous times that I was never having a go at those who couldn't make the trip due to family commitments, financial restrictions, work etc etc. Those I was having a pop at are the posters who rarely make an effort to actually make the trip to support the side yet cannot wait for an opportunity to come online and savage the performance. Weekly threads slating the hibs.net whipping boys such as club captain Chris Hogg, Colin Nish, Lewis Stevenson, John Rankin and the like are getting rather tiresome and tedious. It's the same posters repeating the same pish week after week after week. We're sitting fourth in the league for goodness sake and we may well finish there, we're not in the bottom half of the league battling for survival. We aren't the Old Firm and contrary to the opinions of numerous individuals on here we do not have a divine right to win every week. Some posters need to have a serious word with themselves.