View Full Version : FAO the .net Apiarists - Bumble Bees
At last they're taking off! :agree:
Over the last couple of week I’ve seen quite a number, maybe about a dozen, really big bumble bees. They all had one thing in common – they were all walking along the pavement! :confused:
Nae shoppin’ like, just dondering along looking hard! :grr: ‘Mess wi me like and you'll get the sharp end of ma tail.’ sorta look!
What a relief today to see a couple more who were actually flying – or maybe they were just making a bee line for their hiker bee mates! :cool2:
Any apiarists able to confirm this is normal beehaviour? :greengrin
Over the last couple of week I’ve seen quite a number, maybe about a dozen, really big bumble bees. They all had one thing in common – they were all walking along the pavement! :confused:
Nae shoppin’ like, just dondering along looking hard! :grr: ‘Mess wi me like and you'll get the sharp end of ma tail.’ sorta look!
What a relief today to see a couple more who were actually flying – or maybe they were just making a bee line for their hiker bee mates! :cool2:
Any apiarists able to confirm this is normal beehaviour? :greengrinIm no an apiarist ..prob more a total ***** bag when it comes too bee's !!! ..ive never been stung before from a bee nor a wasp ..nor a hornet for that matter ..however a big muckle bee (are they on bloody steroids !!) flew in the bus doors when i was on my way to work last night...to say i **** myself would be an understatement, i was flapping aboot like a big jessie !!!!...:paranoid:
Sorry i couldnt answer your question ...:greengrin
Hank Schrader
16-04-2010, 02:06 PM
One just clattered off my office window. A real big bugger it was.
Teo10
16-04-2010, 02:07 PM
I HATE them :boo hoo:
16-04-2010, 02:12 PM
I HATE them :boo hoo:
So do I, came across a HUGE one the other day when I stepped out of the car. :boo hoo:
However, I hate wasps more. :agree:
16-04-2010, 02:22 PM
So do I, came across a HUGE one the other day when I stepped out of the car. :boo hoo:
If there were more hornets I'd hate them more, pure evil just getting right in your face.
Wasps I am petrified off though and bees, well, I'm not too happy near the big ones but I don't feel they hassle you quite so much.
Teo10
16-04-2010, 02:35 PM
One just about flew into my car yesterday, fair to say there was a small scream.... much like that of a girl:agree:
One just about flew into my car yesterday, fair to say there was a small scream.... much like that of a girl:agree:Thats really freaking me out now !!! bee's are bigger ..much bigger & now they scream like girls !!!! ...:paranoid:
16-04-2010, 02:45 PM
Well if you don't like buzzy things, don't get a yellow car :greengrin
16-04-2010, 02:55 PM
Wasps are ********s and they know it. At least bees actually do useful things like making honey. Wasps just fly around looking to cause trouble, and 'cause they don't die when they sting you, they're more free and easy with their stingers.
16-04-2010, 03:25 PM
Wasps are ********s and they know it. At least bees actually do useful things like making honey. Wasps just fly around looking to cause trouble, and 'cause they don't die when they sting you, they're more free and easy with their stingers.
I'm pleased to say that every wasp that has stung me has died shortly afterwards. I got a good nights sleep as well etc etc.
16-04-2010, 05:04 PM
Any apiarists able to confirm this is normal beehaviour? :greengrin
Bit of a guess Jack, but I'm presuming that because they have just woken up it takes them a bit of time to fully get into their stride...bit like us in the morning. Could be a lot of bull though :greengrin
16-04-2010, 05:04 PM
i hate those wasp type things in greece where it doesnt look like the front and back are attached :paranoid:
16-04-2010, 05:26 PM
I never actually noticed this thread and posted a similar one in the PM forum!
I was golfing with 3 other .netters today at Monifieth, and just as we approached the 3rd green, we dropped out bags at the 4th tee - I went to get my putter from the bag and a wasp was sitting on the underside of the putter cover - cue a sharp zap to the back of the hand.
Afterwards, I took the 6-iron out of my bag and bashed the little c***'s brain into the topsoil. Once we got back to the tee having putted out, I decided he hadn't had enough, so proceeded to give him a few clatters with the driver.
Little b******s.
I am no expert, just getting auld.:grr:
A bee only dies because, its sting is like a corkscrew which is attached to its body. The bee only dies because our first reaction, when stung by the huge:wink: buzzy thing, is to swipe at it. The bee is then decapitated and the sting is left in ones body! If one lets it do its thing, it will undo the sting and fly away. Well it went something like that!
I killed a massive wasp a couple of days ago, it was a good inch in size!!:greengrin
Forgot to add, I believe its queens floating about just now, let the bees be, kill the wasps!
16-04-2010, 07:54 PM
One just about flew into my car yesterday, fair to say there was a small scream.... much like that of a girl:agree:
I was driving towards Edinburgh Park through Broomhouse one day and I had my window open. A wasp flew in, landed on my seat and crawled under my crotch - I couldnae pull over anywhere so I just had to sit still as I could whilst driving and wait for the wee ******er to come back out again.
Luckily it was out after a couple of seconds and just flew right back out the window. I did NOT want to get stung in the bawbag like!:bitchy:
16-04-2010, 08:05 PM
I was driving towards Edinburgh Park through Broomhouse one day and I had my window open. A wasp flew in, landed on my seat and crawled under my crotch - I couldnae pull over anywhere so I just had to sit still as I could whilst driving and wait for the wee ******er to come back out again.
Luckily it was out after a couple of seconds and just flew right back out the window. I did NOT want to get stung in the bawbag like!:bitchy:
I had a wasp land on my helmet once :eek:
16-04-2010, 08:21 PM
Wasps are bestards :agree:
Bees however are purposeful and more so than for just producing honey. Bees pollinate a vast amount of plants and without them to do that the world would be a very different place. Arguably, evolution would eventually lead to other forms of plant life (or other forms of pollination) taking hold but before that our eating habits would likely have to change massively as a consequence, and it seems fair to suggest there would be massive price rises and food shortages as we adjusted.
Mon the bees :agree:
16-04-2010, 09:20 PM
I am no expert, just getting auld.:grr:
A bee only dies because, its sting is like a corkscrew which is attached to its body. The bee only dies because our first reaction, when stung by the huge:wink: buzzy thing, is to swipe at it. The bee is then decapitated and the sting is left in ones body! If one lets it do its thing, it will undo the sting and fly away. Well it went something like that!
I killed a massive wasp a couple of days ago, it was a good inch in size!!:greengrin
Forgot to add, I believe its queens floating about just now, let the bees be, kill the wasps!
You're sort of on the right lines with the bee sting, but the reason the sting is left behind is that the sting has a barb on it so when it pulls away from you it leaves it behind, along with most of its bum and it then dies a few minutes later.
Fantic
17-04-2010, 08:28 AM
Had my daughter at the park learning to go her bike last night. She was whizzing down a hill when a big bee flew in front of her causing her to swerve all over the place and then crash. She skinned her knee and has a graze on the side of her face. Mrs Fantics no happy with me.
**** the bees
17-04-2010, 10:44 AM
I was hitchhiking in the south of France in the early 70s (people did that sort of thing then) and early one humid and steamy morning a huge insect flew into my tent and settled itself on the end of my sleeping bag. It was black and had blue and red bits on its wings and a long "sting" for a tail. Not that I stopped to admire it as I was out of the tent like a madman.
I ran away down to the wee stream by the campsite, recovered my composure and returned to the tent which was by now empty. I turned the place inside out!
I didn't sleep soundly for the rest of the holiday.
(((Fergus)))
17-04-2010, 01:48 PM
Harsh. Wasps do a lot of good work in waste management, e.g., spilt jam.
Also:
Many insects preyed upon by wasps are garden pests, and in this respect wasps help to regulate pest populations, and to prevent potential damage to garden plants.
Consequently wasps are beneficial insects. They feed their young on a wide range of invertebrates which cause damage to plants and flowers, such as aphids and caterpillars.
They also visit flowers and therefore help in pollination.
Thus, wherever possible, it is good to leave wasp nests undisturbed in order to encourage the natural control of pests, and to reduce the need for insecticide treatments.
This will save money and will help to protect wildlife and your garden environment from unnecessary exposure to pesticide contamination.
Equal rights for wasps! :protest: