View Full Version : Are men more intelligent than women?

Rory89
13-04-2010, 05:00 PM
First of all I should point out that I'm not one of those tossers that hates women, thank god they exist. Also, by intelligent I don't mean academic intelligence, as there doesn't seem to be any evidence that one is better than the other in that sense. My point is this, as sexist as this sounds I've found that in terms of being able to have an interesting, rational conversation on a variety of subjects, most women seem to be slightly lacking in my experience.

Humour is another one, I've tried hard to think of one but can any of you actually name a well known women who makes you laugh? If you find Jo "ho ho my partner doesn't find me attractive anymore, now what was I saying about periods" Brand funny then fair enough, but I think like all female comedians, she's dire. Also, in groups of girls the things they find funny usually baffles me, there's always one "hilarious" one, who in fact just sprafs nonsense and is about as funny as genocide.

I'd be happy to be proven wrong by any men or women on here, and maybe it's just my experience and others have met many interesting, funny girls, but does anyone agree?

13-04-2010, 05:11 PM
First of all I should point out that I'm not one of those tossers that hates women, thank god they exist. Also, by intelligent I don't mean academic intelligence, as there doesn't seem to be any evidence that one is better than the other in that sense. My point is this, as sexist as this sounds I've found that in terms of being able to have an interesting, rational conversation on a variety of subjects, most women seem to be slightly lacking in my experience.

Humour is another one, I've tried hard to think of one but can any of you actually name a well known women who makes you laugh? If you find Jo "ho ho my partner doesn't find me attractive anymore, now what was I saying about periods" Brand funny then fair enough, but I think like all female comedians, she's dire. Also, in groups of girls the things they find funny usually baffles me, there's always one "hilarious" one, who in fact just sprafs nonsense and is about as funny as genocide.

I'd be happy to be proven wrong by any men or women on here, and maybe it's just my experience and others have met many interesting, funny girls, but does anyone agree?

Goldie Hawn. Goldie Hawn is funny. I like Goldie Hawn. :devil:

But I agree about sense of humour generally. We were watching "Inglourious *******s" recently, and there came a point in the film where my son and I both burst out laughing (if you've seen the film you'll know the bit I mean, unless you're a woman) and my wife sat there totally confused, wondering what on earth was so funny.

She also considers Groucho marx's humour to be "sexist". I mean - Groucho? :rolleyes:

13-04-2010, 05:16 PM
It really depends on whether you want to read the map, or fold it up.

13-04-2010, 05:17 PM
It really depends on whether you want to read the map, or fold it up.

IMO the mistake was teaching 'em to talk. :rolleyes:

Sumner
13-04-2010, 05:21 PM
yes, especially when it comes to the ability to STFU

13-04-2010, 05:28 PM
IMO the mistake was teaching 'em to talk. :rolleyes:

You know ones that can talk? All I hear is a monotone sound - a bit like the teacher in Charlie Brown.

13-04-2010, 05:58 PM
Apart from being completely unable to anticipate, from the position of being second in a shop queue, that they will eventually be first in the queue and will therefore be required to produce some form of payment for the goods they have selected, wimmin are very very intelligent.

13-04-2010, 05:59 PM
You know ones that can talk? All I hear is a monotone sound - a bit like the teacher in Charlie Brown.

Oh yes. They can talk all right.

Never make an ounce of sense, mind, but they CAN talk....

....and talk....

....and TALK.... :rolleyes:

As the Good Book says - "A constant dripping in a very rainy day and a contentious woman are alike...."

13-04-2010, 06:49 PM
Apart from being completely unable to anticipate, from the position of being second in a shop queue, that they will eventually be first in the queue and will therefore be required to produce some form of payment for the goods they have selected, wimmin are very very intelligent.

I believe they learn this lesson around about the age of 70, and bump into the person in front - just in case they forget to pay.

13-04-2010, 08:08 PM
Regarding the sense of humour thing, I totally agree, as do many female friends (with the female comedians being universally awful, I mean)

In my group of friends, the women do have a great sense of humour, but it's more of a passive nature - they laugh at funny/witty things (as opposed to just cackling away at any old *****e) but I honestly can't remember the last time a girl said something that made me laugh out loud - unless it was unintentionally ludicrous of course.

I think men differ (not necessarily "are better" in a general sense as that's entirely subjective) from women in 2 ways in terms of personal behaviour. I'm not going to lie when I say that - for me - with regards to the following 2 points men seem to be - overall - the much more seemingly sane gender.

1) In groups, it is perfectly possibly for a group of men to just sit, drinking a beer/eating at a BBQ for 15-20 minutes, whilst watching the football or somesuch, without feeling the need to talk.

Girls - especially slightly younger, say late teens - in groups seem genetically incapable of this. They - in my experience - just prattle on at such pace that it rapidly descends into what I can only call a form of squawking. The topic of conversation is generally something so mind-numbing boring/immature, and will invariably contain references to *****e TV programs or celebrities that I neither know, nor care to know.

Unless you have a wingman to restore your sanity, in the above scenario I almost always find myself drinking until it's more manageable or slyly ogling at the better looking members of the group. Or both. Either that or I purposefully get out of the house whenever my younger sister gleefully tells me that "a few friends are coming over"

2) They are - in the main - so prone to capricious switches in moods with each other. I generally find that it is entirely feasible for girls to be absolutely raging with each other on Day 1 - usually over something trivial like a comment passed about a new hairstyle/boyfriend - and by Day 3 be gossiping away like two peas in a pod.

Guys - unless utter bampots - tend to get pissed off with each other for about 10 minutes, then realise life is too short, have a pint and get on with it. This applies for all but the worst insults/misdemeanours.

Don't get me wrong, I sometimes hear about the behaviour of guys - particularly in the realm of fidelity in long established relationships/marriages - that makes me want to introduce them to the blunt end of a baseball bat, and we are far, far from without our faults.

It would be interesting to hear the female riposte on this - doubtless some will be on here soon, giving it all that........:blah: :devil: :greengrin

13-04-2010, 10:27 PM
Must admit my wife and some of her friends are pretty intelligent in there oen way, but trying to have a conversation about anything outwith the gym, kids and family matters is very haed indeed. Introduce topics such as politics, religion, world news etc and they look at you as if you've got 2 heads.

Humour is something most women have deemed they have no need for, at some point in their lives they've had a humour bypass.:devil:

13-04-2010, 10:49 PM
I have grown a severe dislike of student women. I am still astonished the majority of them got into Uni with the level of chat they have.

"OMG Rach did you see Dave on Saturday night? Sooooooooooooo fit....OH MY GOD I have to buy this skirt with some killer heels for our girly night.....Have you seen Jake? omg such a hot body.....I was soooooooooooooo wasted on Saturday night, it was sooooo rad"

Just some of the "chat" I've had to put up with on the way to Uni every f'ing day:grr:.

I agree with LyonHibs. Men will quite happily sit and not talk when there is nothing to say or there's nae need to say anything. Women on the other hand feel the need to fill every nano second with complete and utter ***** banter.

Edit. I now realise that had nothing much to do with the topic of the thread, it was just a rant about women :greengrin.

13-04-2010, 10:49 PM
I don't mind if a woman is funny/intelligent or not tbh. Big chebs are way more important :agree:

13-04-2010, 10:53 PM
Sarah Millican is about the best female comedian I can think of.

YouTube - Sarah Millican does Manchester (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IFr_pY2kGk)

13-04-2010, 11:01 PM

YouTube - Sarah Millican does Manchester (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IFr_pY2kGk)

That's the comedian I couldn't remember, seen her on a few programmes and she is by far the best I've seen. :greengrin

HibsMax
13-04-2010, 11:07 PM
What a funny topic. :)

There are many funny women. Amy Poehler and Tina Fey are just two examples BUT I have to agree with respect to stand up comics, women are not well represented. My wife agrees with me on this point so I know I am not being sexist. Perhaps there are just more male comics? There are certainly a ton of crap male comics.

As for intelligence, men and women maybe of the same species but we think very differently. I work in software and have done since about 1990. I can count the number of female software engineers I've worked with on my fingers and toes. There are far more men in this sector. That doesn't make men more intelligent but I think it shows that our interests differ and, perhaps, it highlights a difference in the way we think.

I definitely don't think that men are smarter than women and I think we've all met enough "evidence" to prove that.

Who's the second smartest person in the world? :wink:

EDIT : my last question might not be valid or framed incorrectly. I thought that Stephen Hawkins was the smartest followed by Marilyn Vos Savant.

For the record, and yes I'm gloating LOL, when I took the Mensa entrance examination (the official one, not an online test) my recorded IQ was 144. That makes me pretty smart according to this website:
http://onemansblog.com/2007/11/08/the-massive-list-of-genius-people-with-the-highest-iq/

Rory89
14-04-2010, 03:48 AM
I have grown a severe dislike of student women. I am still astonished the majority of them got into Uni with the level of chat they have.

"OMG Rach did you see Dave on Saturday night? Sooooooooooooo fit....OH MY GOD I have to buy this skirt with some killer heels for our girly night.....Have you seen Jake? omg such a hot body.....I was soooooooooooooo wasted on Saturday night, it was sooooo rad"

Just some of the "chat" I've had to put up with on the way to Uni every f'ing day:grr:.

I agree with LyonHibs. Men will quite happily sit and not talk when there is nothing to say or there's nae need to say anything. Women on the other hand feel the need to fill every nano second with complete and utter ***** banter.

Edit. I now realise that had nothing much to do with the topic of the thread, it was just a rant about women :greengrin.

Yeah I have to say this is quite accurate, I wouldn't sit for half an hour talking to a girl about why Hughes should play a 4-4-2 with Galbraith on the left, so I don't see why they should ramble away at me about shopping like they do. I just had an interesting conversation with a girl I know, and by interesting I mean *****ing ridiculous. It went something like this:

Girl: I'm going to vote Conservative's, because so and so said they'd buy me a pint if I did.

Me: Conservatives? Jesus.

Girl: Why, are they bad?

Me: Well, are you Scottish or what? (Of course implying that the Tories don't give a ****** about Scotland).

Girl: Listen you, I might be half Italian but I'm just as Scottish as you, say I'm not and I'll throw this drink over you.

:bitchy:

14-04-2010, 09:15 AM
Yeah I have to say this is quite accurate, I wouldn't sit for half an hour talking to a girl about why Hughes should play a 4-4-2 with Galbraith on the left, so I don't see why they should ramble away at me about shopping like they do. I just had an interesting conversation with a girl I know, and by interesting I mean *****ing ridiculous. It went something like this:

Girl: I'm going to vote Conservative's, because so and so said they'd buy me a pint if I did.

Me: Well, are you Scottish or what? (Of course implying that the Tories don't give a ****** about Scotland).

Girl: Listen you, I might be half Italian but I'm just as Scottish as you, say I'm not and I'll throw this drink over you.

:faf: :faf:

Brilliant.

14-04-2010, 09:19 AM
Must admit my wife and some of her friends are pretty intelligent in there oen way, but trying to have a conversation about anything outwith the gym, kids and family matters is very haed indeed. Introduce topics such as politics, religion, world news etc and they look at you as if you've got 2 heads.

Humour is something most women have deemed they have no need for, at some point in their lives they've had a humour bypass.:devil:

I agree with this. Sometimes I'll try and have a conversation on these topics or watch the odd political debate and she'll switch off at a light.

She said to me the other day 'Did you see some guy who's part of Gordon Brown's thingy, what are they called again, got sacked for slagging old grannies'.

What, you mean Labour? 'I think so'. You don't know who Labour are? Are you a ****ing moron?

Obviously I never said the last part but I thought it!

14-04-2010, 11:44 AM

Jo Brand is awful. All she does on stage is talk about how fat and unattractive she is. I mean she's overwieght and perhaps not the most attractive woman in the world(:wink:) but so what. You're just not funny...I actually tend to switch channels if I notice her on Mock the Week because it's the same old "I'm fat...teenagers are disgusting...periods are awful...men are *****", pish every time.

I've found that this trait can be applied to members of either sex - funny talking about it now but very frustrating when you've already clocked out for lunch and the git in front is wasting your lunch break!

I generally find that my sense of humour (I don't know if thats an accurate reflection of the majority of men...probably not :greengrin) does not go down well with my GF. I mean I can make her laugh by being a bit flippant but dare aim a wee joke her way and you'd better take cover...:devil:

It's as if when women don't understand a joke your trying to make their automatic reaction is to take offence - even when it's not about them.

Intelligence is a difficult one and because of the way that we think it can at times be incomparable. I think our strengths lie in different places and everyone is different and that maybe can be perceived as being more/less 'clever' than the other but again, it's subjective and mainly down to perception.

14-04-2010, 12:18 PM

I would imagine funny intelligent women avoid you like the plague, oh clever one! :yawn:

Rory89
14-04-2010, 01:27 PM
I would imagine funny intelligent women avoid you like the plague, oh clever one! :yawn:

Meow. :faf:

I was just thinking this thread would be better if there was some women on it providing a good argument back and fighting their corner.

Oh well. :greengrin

14-04-2010, 01:35 PM

I don't get it - are you saying that female stand-up comedians are good?

Or that women - love them though I do - aren't prone to blabbering on about any manner of crud for incredible lengths of time when in groups?

The only point I mildly disagree in the OP is that conversations on "deeper thinking" subjects are automatically short lived with women - it all depends on who you talk to.

I've got a few good mates - guys - who wouldn't know what a manifesto was if they got slapped in the baws by one.

Rory89
14-04-2010, 01:59 PM

Or that women - love them though I do - aren't prone to blabbering on about any manner of crud for incredible lengths of time when in groups?

The only point I mildly disagree in the OP is that conversations on "deeper thinking" subjects are automatically short lived with women - it all depends on who you talk to.

I've got a few good mates - guys - who wouldn't know what a manifesto was if they got slapped in the baws by one.

I should probably explain that I do find some women interesting, just not too many. I was on a night out with 6 girls last night with no blokes but myself (not complaining :greengrin), and I must say I was struggling at times to stay interested in the conversation. They're all lovely people who I like, I'm just saying I felt like a bit of a gay because at one point I was actually wishing some of the lads from my halls were out as well.

Anyway believe it or not this was meant as a discussion rather than a slagging match, so perhaps people like Betty Boop should try and argue their case if they think I'm talking nonsense.

Edit to add: In the interest of fairness it should also be pointed out that when a group of guys become close mates they often end up spending a large amount of the time that they're together talking utter rubbish that we find hilarious but nobody else would know what we're slavering about, so I'm not claiming we're all sophistacated, highly intellectual people either.

Teo10
14-04-2010, 02:20 PM

14-04-2010, 02:26 PM

:greengrin There's always one......................

14-04-2010, 02:32 PM

If she's the best that pretty much proves the point that all female comedians are hopeless.

She's about as funny as toothache.

14-04-2010, 05:00 PM

If she's the best that pretty much proves the point that all female comedians are hopeless.

She's about as funny as toothache.

My thoughts exactly. Dreadful.

But then, the guy who introduced her's pretty dire, as well.

Miranda Richardson is funny.

14-04-2010, 05:43 PM

Shappi Khorsandi is a very good stand- up comedian, although admittedly female stand-up artists are few and far between. The OP is implying that women are thick, and are unable to have conversations about different subjects, which is just not true. He comes across like a rabid sexist! :greengrin

14-04-2010, 05:51 PM
Shappi Khorsandi is a very good stand- up comedian

She really isnt, you know. About as funny as piles. Just my opinion of course.

Women can be funny in normal life and normal situations, but I think stand-up comedians tend to have a big ego which they need to be massaged by having people laugh at their jokes. And thats a man thing really.

14-04-2010, 06:22 PM
She really isnt, you know. About as funny as piles. Just my opinion of course.

Women can be funny in normal life and normal situations, but I think stand-up comedians tend to have a big ego which they need to be massaged by having people laugh at their jokes. And thats a man thing really.

Probably all true but I think it is fair to say women and men generally have a different sense of humour.

I do find that men tend to laugh more when in groups and women gossip more...mainly down to the fact that generally men are easily amused, we find trivial or silly things funny that often only seem simply trivial or silly to women and guys defo tend to be much happier slagging/laughing at each other on a frequent basis than women.

Tis true tho that there is very few genuine funny women stand up's, partly due to the reason above I think...the simpl don't see the world in the same way so don't have the natural ability to see the humour in every day occurances....generally speaking of course!!

Rory89
14-04-2010, 07:36 PM
Shappi Khorsandi is a very good stand- up comedian, although admittedly female stand-up artists are few and far between. The OP is implying that women are thick, and are unable to have conversations about different subjects, which is just not true. He comes across like a rabid sexist! :greengrin

No, I'm saying in my experience women are less likely to have interesting conversations or make me laugh, I didn't say all women are thick. **** knows there's enough faults with men which make us inferior to women, for one thing women are less likely to go out and kill eachother and start wars.

In my opinion both have their strength's and weaknesses, and that's partly genetic and partly down to how we're taught to behave in society. It's not an exact science but in general I think men are often stronger, have more logical brains and are more capable of humour, women are more compassionate, less agressive and ecotistical. If you still disagree then without being swayed by this thread try and think of 5 living people you'd most like to have round for a dinner party or a few drinks with in the pub, I think most people (male or female) would think of more men than women.

If you start a thread about one of our many faults and I can't argue that you're wrong I promise not to call you a rabid sexist. :greengrin

14-04-2010, 07:40 PM
Maybe it's just Scottish women?

I've had quite a few good discussions with a Chinese friend, even though she comes from Beijing we've talked about the 1707 Union, Scottish Enlightenment, Scottish politics,

maybe it's just Scottish women who are thick as f...

:greengrin:devil:

Leicester Fan
14-04-2010, 08:31 PM
I used to think Victoria Wood was funny but she's crap now as well.

As for women being thick, just go without sex for a fortnight and you'll agree with everything they say if you think it'll help you get some.

14-04-2010, 08:52 PM

Without wanting to drag away from the topic in hand....so what if she didn't know what the Tories done? I know a few people voting Tory up here who couldn't a ***** about what happened in the past....does that make said individual(s) bad people?

Rory89
14-04-2010, 09:05 PM
Without wanting to drag away from the topic in hand....so what if she didn't know what the Tories done? I know a few people voting Tory up here who couldn't a ***** about what happened in the past....does that make said individual(s) bad people?

I think you're missing the point slightly.

She first of all said she was going to vote Tory because someone told her he'd buy her a pint if she did, so yes to say she doesn't know about the history of the Tories is an understatement. The reason I was giving that conversation as an example of somebody being thick isn't because she doesn't know about politics, but she somehow picked it up as me (from one white person to another) being racist! This is the same white girl who once said her grandmother is Italian so that makes her half black.

14-04-2010, 09:06 PM

She first of all said she was going to vote Tory because someone told her he's buy her a pint if she did, so yes to say she doesn't know about the history of the Tories is an understatement. The reason I was giving that conversation as an example of somebody being thick isn't because she doesn't know about politics, but she somehow picked it up as me (from one white person to another) being racist! This is the same white girl who once said her grandmother is Italian so that makes her half black.

ahhh...

carry on squire :aok::thumbsup:

14-04-2010, 09:43 PM

She first of all said she was going to vote Tory because someone told her he'd buy her a pint if she did, so yes to say she doesn't know about the history of the Tories is an understatement. The reason I was giving that conversation as an example of somebody being thick isn't because she doesn't know about politics, but she somehow picked it up as me (from one white person to another) being racist! This is the same white girl who once said her grandmother is Italian so that makes her half black.
Does she know what a dick is? I think I need to meet her. :agree:

14-04-2010, 10:03 PM
No, I'm saying in my experience women are less likely to have interesting conversations or make me laugh, I didn't say all women are thick. **** knows there's enough faults with men which make us inferior to women, for one thing women are less likely to go out and kill eachother and start wars.

In my opinion both have their strength's and weaknesses, and that's partly genetic and partly down to how we're taught to behave in society. It's not an exact science but in general I think men are often stronger, have more logical brains and are more capable of humour, women are more compassionate, less agressive and ecotistical. If you still disagree then without being swayed by this thread try and think of 5 living people you'd most like to have round for a dinner party or a few drinks with in the pub, I think most people (male or female) would think of more men than women.

If you start a thread about one of our many faults and I can't argue that you're wrong I promise not to call you a rabid sexist. :greengrin

How old are you / the women you are mixing with? Could it be an age thing if you're quite young?

I'm 27, female and would say that I have some very in depth conversations with my female friends on all sorts of things, varying from, sport to politics, news, work and everyday general chat about life. Most of my friends are pretty career minded though, as am I.

I agree about the stand ups issue, however generally I know a few females who can be pretty funny.

Rory89
14-04-2010, 10:10 PM
Does she know what a dick is? I think I need to meet her. :agree:

Fairly sure she does, but after her reaction to our last conversation I'd be scared to ask.

How old are you / the women you are mixing with? Could it be an age thing if you're quite young?

I'm 27, female and would say that I have some very in depth conversations with my female friends on all sorts of things, varying from, sport to politics, news, work and everyday general chat about life. Most of my friends are pretty career minded though, as am I.

I agree about the stand ups issue, however generally I know a few females who can be pretty funny.

You might have a point, I'm 20 and most girls I know are aged 18-21. Mind you most blokes I know are that age as well.

15-04-2010, 12:15 AM
No, I'm saying in my experience women are less likely to have interesting conversations or make me laugh, I didn't say all women are thick. **** knows there's enough faults with men which make us inferior to women, for one thing women are less likely to go out and kill each other and start wars.

Like those notably eirenic and non-confrontational ladies M Thatcher, I Ghandi, and C Rice?

I agree with old Rudyard Kipling, mate - the female of the species is deadlier than the male. Always.

You've fallen into the trap of generalising about an entire gender, which actually means you're generalising about BOTH genders. Which is always going to mean digging yourself into a hole.

But I would agree that I cannot think of a single female stand-up 'comic' who's even remotely funny - some very funny comic actresses, like Goldie Hawn and Miranda Richardson, as I've already said, but people like Jo Brand and Sarah Millican are anti-comedians. Their presence on my TV screen draws all the happiness out of the room until it becomes physically impossible for me to laugh at anything. They're just dreadful.

Mixu62
15-04-2010, 01:07 AM
Heard of a study somewhere that explained why women talk more than men. In the evolution of the species, males were solo or team hunters so stalked prey in silence and developed all sorts of non-verbal communication. The female role was more that of a gatherer, so calling to one another became the norm, as a means of letting the others in your tribe know where you were, and that you were OK. Don't know if true, but thought I'd share.

15-04-2010, 09:56 AM
I love the fact that the men on this thread have tried to be humourous with their methaphors on how unfunny women are, when in fact their methaphors are as cliched or as unfunny as women comedians!

P.S I'm a man, sorry guys! :tee hee:

15-04-2010, 10:55 AM
I love the fact that the men on this thread have tried to be humourous with their methaphors on how unfunny women are, when in fact their methaphors are as cliched or as unfunny as women comedians!

Difference being that the culprits of this - not me I hasten to add :greengrin - don't masquerade as "comedians" and earn a healthy wedge off this puerlie brand of "whooo I've got my period" humour.

15-04-2010, 10:59 AM

You should be proud of being a man, not apologise for it!! :greengrin

Rory89
15-04-2010, 11:18 AM
You've fallen into the trap of generalising about an entire gender, which actually means you're generalising about BOTH genders. Which is always going to mean digging yourself into a hole.

But I would agree that I cannot think of a single female stand-up 'comic' who's even remotely funny - some very funny comic actresses, like Goldie Hawn and Miranda Richardson, as I've already said, but people like Jo Brand and Sarah Millican are anti-comedians. Their presence on my TV screen draws all the happiness out of the room until it becomes physically impossible for me to laugh at anything. They're just dreadful.

I don't think I need to dig myself into a hole, because I'll happily admit I'm generalising. More than once on this thread the argument has been made that you can't call all women this or all men that, which I haven't done.

Men aren't all interesting, humourous people and women aren't all dull, my point is that I've noticed this is quite ofen the case.

Really?

I haven't noticed people trying to be funny in this thread tbh.

15-04-2010, 11:52 AM

Mine wasnt supposed to be funny, and it was a simile, not a metaphor:wink:

15-04-2010, 12:37 PM
Mine wasnt supposed to be funny, and it was a simile, not a metaphor:wink:

I knew I was going to get shafted (:greengrin) on the metaphor/simile thing! I couldn't remember what the correct word was and even searched for it but just went with metaphor anyway.

15-04-2010, 12:41 PM

I'm not being funny - there's nothing at all funny about any female stand-up comedian I know of.

BTW, on a serious note - it's "humorous" and "metaphor". :wink:

15-04-2010, 02:07 PM
I'm not being funny - there's nothing at all funny about any female stand-up comedian I know of.

BTW, on a serious note - it's "humorous" and "metaphor". :wink:

The first metaphor was a mistype, got it right the second time. :greengrin

I'm having a bad spelling (and grammar) day!

Someone just told me today that I've been spelling liaise wrong my entire life. I always put it down to the 'stupid' American spell checker on my e-mail account!

I feel a bit silly as I've sent countless communications to hundreds of people with the word liase in it and even put it on e-mail templates I created for others to use (which they have been doing for years). :tee hee:

I think I've also been getting lazy as I now use Google Chrome which has a built in spell checker, in the same way in which MS Word does, so I just type any old **** and it fixes it or tells you it's wrong! My work uses IE (not that I've been typing on here whilst working :greengrin ).

15-04-2010, 02:31 PM
The first metaphor was a mistype, got it right the second time. :greengrin

No you didn't - you spelled it wrongly both times. :rolleyes:

(Unless an evil admin edited your post maliciously and surreptitiously....)

I'm having a bad spelling (and grammar) day!

Someone just told me today that I've been spelling liaise wrong my entire life. I always put it down to the 'stupid' American spell checker on my e-mail account!

I feel a bit silly as I've sent countless communications to hundreds of people with the word liase in it and even put it on e-mail templates I created for others to use (which they have been doing for years). :tee hee:

I think I've also been getting lazy as I now use Google Chrome which has a built in spell checker, in the same way in which MS Word does, so I just type any old **** and it fixes it or tells you it's wrong! My work uses IE (not that I've been typing on here whilst working :greengrin ).

“Reading maketh a full man; conference a ready man; and writing an exact man.”

....as dear old Francis Bacon used to say.

Never trust a spellchecker - look it up and make sure for yourself. :tsk tsk:

BTW - did you know that Francis Bacon was gay, and caught his death of cold trying to deep-freeze a chicken?

Not a lot of people know that. :devil:

15-04-2010, 02:35 PM
“Reading maketh a full man; conference a ready man; and writing an exact man.”

....as dear old Francis Bacon used to say.

Never trust a spellchecker - look it up and make sure for yourself. :tsk tsk:

BTW - did you know that Francis Bacon was gay, and caught his death of cold trying to deep-freeze a chicken?

Not a lot of people know that. :devil:

No I didn't!

I knew I was going to get shafted (:greengrin) on the metaphor/simile thing

What was Mr Bacon trying to do? Get a hard cock?

15-04-2010, 02:47 PM
No I didn't!

What was Mr Bacon trying to do? Get a hard cock?

file:///C:/Users/Doddie/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-4.png:tsk tsk: Tsk, tsk! No - he was stuffing the chook with snow and caught a chill.

The story's in John Aubrey's "Brief Lives".

Aubrey also records that Bacon's widow remarried one Sir Thomas Underhill, whom, he says, "she made deaf and blind with too much of Venus" - a fact which may or may not be related to her first husband's predilections...

Bundle of laughs, the Elizabethans. :devil:

15-04-2010, 06:16 PM
I don't get the importance of females' talents as comediennes.

There are a lot of male comedians about but a lot of them don't seem terribly intelligent.

I can't picture a woman making smart remarks on stage about Down's kids.

15-04-2010, 06:58 PM

Gramo I remember you claiming on here that there are loads of funny female comedians and you had been to see lots of them.

What were their names again?

15-04-2010, 08:54 PM

As others have said, you must be easily pleased. I'd rather stick pins in my eyes than listen to her. Hate it when she is on Mock the Week with her silly giggle!

I was going to say "You sure it wasn't Gramo you were speaking to" but then read the rest of the thread and up he popped. lol

There are a lot of male comedians about but a lot of them don't seem terribly intelligent.

:yawn:

16-04-2010, 08:14 AM

Utter pish.

I'm sure on the comedy roadshow or the like, there was a woman who came on stage and asked if all of the front row were on a 'special' day out.

16-04-2010, 01:34 PM
Utter pish.

I'm sure on the comedy roadshow or the like, there was a woman who came on stage and asked if all of the front row were on a 'special' day out.

Did she?

I like Lucy Porter. She's funny, intelligent and a wee smasher too.

17-04-2010, 01:33 AM
Did she?

I like Lucy Porter. She's funny, intelligent and a wee smasher too.

I don't think it was her, it was a taller woman with black hair. Will try and find it.

Sorry for the 'utter pish' comment though. That was harsh!

17-04-2010, 03:22 AM
I work in an office where there are far more women than men and I have actually stopped going to lunch with them because the conversation is ALWAYS the same - i.e. "oh how many calories are in that?" followed by a long conversation about diets, losing weight, gaining weight, how they should be on a diet but aren't :blah::blah::blah:

I'm not kidding, every single lunchtime. :bitchy:

I agree with lyonhibs first post near the start of the thread.

Currently my burd is sitting watching the E! channel (Keeping Up With The Kardashians) - pretty much sums up females I think!

17-04-2010, 09:51 AM
I don't think it was her, it was a taller woman with black hair. Will try and find it.

Sorry for the 'utter pish' comment though. That was harsh!

I thought it was fair comment.

17-04-2010, 10:16 AM
I work in an office where there are far more women than men and I have actually stopped going to lunch with them because the conversation is ALWAYS the same - i.e. "oh how many calories are in that?" followed by a long conversation about diets, losing weight, gaining weight, how they should be on a diet but aren't :blah::blah::blah:

Currently my burd is sitting watching the E! channel (Keeping Up With The Kardashians) - pretty much sums up females I think!

Tell me about it.:grr: They also seem to be the best cooks on the planet, because they spend the whole meal time moaning about how the canteen is cr*p, and picking fault with the tiniest detail of their meal.

The worst thing for me is if there is another male in the group and we decide to talk to each other about football. Then the women seem to think they are obliged to contribute, so the discussion takes a complete nose dive, as you explain who was playing who etc.

I think any workplace where there is an imbalance of sexes is problematic. My experience of working with a group of women is the fact that you cannot trust any of them. Even ones that are supposed to be best pals will bitch to you about their "mate".

Or is that a form of honey trap? You agree with the bitcher, and then she goes and tells her "mate" that you have been saying things about her.

On reflection, women are very inelligent to run such a sophisticated communication system.

17-04-2010, 04:30 PM
I've found that some men that work in offices are bigger "bitches" than the women.

17-04-2010, 05:12 PM

Who???!!!???!!

I rest my case :agree: :greengrin

18-04-2010, 01:47 AM
I've found that some men that work in offices are bigger "bitches" than the women.

I bet they don't talk about Weightwatchers points all lunchtime though?

19-04-2010, 11:51 AM

I bet they don't talk about Weightwatchers points all lunchtime though?

Not just at lunchtime mate, all day every day!

I've worked in the NHS for almost 3 years now and have always been one of the only men in each department I've been in :boo hoo:.

The only positive thing to come from it is I've become almost immune to it now; the bad thing is that by the time I get home I've sat and listend to so much pish all day that my poor GF gets it in the neck when she suggests putting on 'Katie and Peter' - "Aw FFS give it a rest!" :faf:

Honestly though shes a wee gem for putting up with me :greengrin

One of the best methods of revenge is going to get a big, greasy bacon and tattie scone roll at 10 o'clock fae the canteen - you get so much pleasure munching it in front of them all to the sound of hungry bellies:devil: :faf: