View Full Version : Bowling season begins Sat
tanfield
10-08-2010, 09:25 PM
:not worth to Andy tonight. Outstanding performance tonight against us in the top ten pairs. A great game to play in and don't think I could play any better. Your last bowl was too good in the middle of the game unfortunately for me and gav.
Hope your able to get the kids ready for Sat!
About organising ties, I find that if I don't meet the person I'm playing at the club, I always have to phone and organise - very frustrating!
Thanks Nicky. Really good game tonight with us all playing well. Makes a big difference when the rink has good a good pace and four hands to play shots on.:agree:
I'm the same as you Nicky. I find that if anyone has to phone to arrange a tie it is generally me. Although saying that the match secretary is pretty good at getting folk together to sort out dates.
sg7nil
11-08-2010, 11:35 AM
Has anyone else on here registered for the Julian Haynes bowls forum?
It's a general bowls forum, but is broken down into countries and then districts etc.
It's full of good stuff, with sub forums for Water of Leith/Esk/Edinburgh Bowling leagues as well as the Tait trophy and top 10 stuff.
Mine of useful info.:thumbsup:
Has all the fixtures for the last week of the season in full with a few pointers to who is already promoted/relegated etc.
I can only assume that bit is updated by someone from the EBL committee, possibly Bill the secretary?
Linkage :-
http://julianhainesbowls.co.uk/forum/index.php
tanfield
11-08-2010, 01:14 PM
I know bill murray is registered and he updates a lot of the fixtures / results.
I'm registered as is Sunny Leith. Good place to get the latest results
11-08-2010, 01:19 PM
Aye I'm on it as well.
There's also a group on facebook http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/group.php?gid=120394814655972&ref=ts
They're pretty good for finding out results etc.
Cheers Stu ..i usually use Scotlawn bowls for my info...:agree:
12-08-2010, 08:29 AM
I tried to sign up for this yesterday and it said my account was awaiting activation, so I waited, tried to log on today and just been met with this message...
You have been banned for the following reason:
None
Date the ban will be lifted: Never
LOL, wtf??? :wtf:
sg7nil
12-08-2010, 09:37 AM
I tried to sign up for this yesterday and it said my account was awaiting activation, so I waited, tried to log on today and just been met with this message...
None
LOL, wtf??? :wtf:
Hmm, have you been on there before and maybe blotted your copybook? Maybe tried to sign up with a username that someone else had already used and had been banned?
12-08-2010, 10:09 AM
Hmm, have you been on there before and maybe blotted your copybook? Maybe tried to sign up with a username that someone else had already used and had been banned?
LOL, no. I never knew the forum existed until yesterday!
BarneyBreslin
12-08-2010, 12:02 PM
None
Same thing happened to me on here under my old username.
Sent numerous emails over a period asking why why never got any response.
At least I was a member tho.
Maybe there's a "Northern" filter to keep the riff raff out :wink:
They aint the quickest at getting back are they ..?...they got back to me yest but im now waiting on Admin approving my account ...bloody bowling commitee's !!! :grr:....:greengrin
Fat Stu
12-08-2010, 08:57 PM
Has anyone else on here registered for the Julian Haynes bowls forum?
It's a general bowls forum, but is broken down into countries and then districts etc.
It's full of good stuff, with sub forums for Water of Leith/Esk/Edinburgh Bowling leagues as well as the Tait trophy and top 10 stuff.
Mine of useful info.:thumbsup:
Has all the fixtures for the last week of the season in full with a few pointers to who is already promoted/relegated etc.
I can only assume that bit is updated by someone from the EBL committee, possibly Bill the secretary?
Thats where I got my bowls, do you think they do refunds a year and a half later???
sg7nil
13-08-2010, 08:30 AM
Thats where I got my bowls, do you think they do refunds a year and a half later???
At least they were never scratched with bits of chalk! :wink:
Looks like im banned too ...must have been the name Jewel BC ...:greengrin
16-08-2010, 11:46 AM
Having won the West of Edinburgh 2nd division last season and getting promoted, we (Currie) go into our final game in the 1st division on Friday night 7 points clear of second placed Sighthill.
3 points out of a possible nine will guarantee us the first division title. And Friday is my birthday so it could be a double celebration. :thumbsup:
CHAMPIONS :thumbsup:
CHAMPIONS :thumbsup::thumbsup:
CHAMPIONS :thumbsup:
Well done to Currie B.C.
Northern also won both First & 2nd XVI div 2 titles and both XVI's will back amongst the BIG BOYS next season.
Mind you, the way some of the politics are down there at the moment, I might not be there to take part.
Nothing too horrendous but all seem to be involving me.
Thank eff it's the fitba season :wink: :greengrin
Jewel relegated to Div 3 ...absolutley gutted, ive been wi them since winning the 5th Div right through to being within a shot of going up to the 1st Div....:boo hoo:
Wi the smallest team in the circuit we done it before & proved a lot of doubters wrong..hopefully we can pick ourselves up again ..:agree:
gilliecabbage
24-08-2010, 03:06 PM
good end to a bad yr.
won the MacIntosh on saturday.midlothians u25s.4th time i may add:greengrin
changed my bowls for the last few weeks of the season since i got pumped oot every club competiton early doors.
good end to a bad yr.
changed my bowls for the last few weeks of the season since i got pumped oot every club competiton early doors.Well done on winning the Mackintosh ..:agree:
Ive got the Gosman trophy 2nd round tomorrow, got to the quarter final last year but had to give it away due to family reasons..next year though pulling out of a few comps so i can give myself time to play in others, particularly in helping the Jewel get back up to the 2nd div ...i never played a game for them this season due to work..hopefully i will get more time off next season ..:thumbsup:
Well done on winning the Mackintosh ..:agree:
Ive got the Gosman trophy 2nd round tomorrow, got to the quarter final last year but had to give it away due to family reasons..next year though pulling out of a few comps so i can give myself time to play in others, particularly in helping the Jewel get back up to the 2nd div ...i never played a game for them this season due to work..hopefully i will get more time off next season ..:thumbsup:
Good luck tomorrow Kenny.
I have our Pairs final on Friday, an all Hibby affair as me and partner John take on the Prentice brothers in the shape of George & Jim. Then on Monday, we play in the Triples final, where myself, John and Sambajustice take on two more Hibbies and the token Jambo. :thumbsup:
Good luck tomorrow Kenny.
I have our Pairs final on Friday, an all Hibby affair as me and partner John take on the Prentice brothers in the shape of George & Jim. Then on Monday, we play in the Triples final, where myself, John and Sambajustice take on two more Hibbies and the token Jambo. :thumbsup:Cheers Mike ..& good luck you, Samba & John in your trips final ..:thumbsup:
25-08-2010, 12:46 PM
good end to a bad yr.
changed my bowls for the last few weeks of the season since i got pumped oot every club competiton early doors.
Well done.
Are you guys playing in the calder cup on Sunday? I know East Lothian are in it this year but wasn't sure i they were replacing you or the Borders.
Lost today in the Gosman trophy ..(2-0) 7-2..7-3 ..thats me bowled oot for this season ..:agree:
tanfield
25-08-2010, 08:41 PM
Lost today in the Gosman trophy ..(2-0) 7-2..7-3 ..thats me bowled oot for this season ..:agree:
:boo hoo::boo hoo: Hard lines Kenny
tanfield
25-08-2010, 08:43 PM
good end to a bad yr.
Well done Gillie. always good to finish the season on a high note:thumbsup:
gilliecabbage
25-08-2010, 09:09 PM
Well done.
Are you guys playing in the calder cup on Sunday? I know East Lothian are in it this year but wasn't sure i they were replacing you or the Borders.
no dont think mid are.struggled to get a team last yr i think.
ive no played for the u25s for a good few year.didnt agree with how it was being done so i just let them get on with it.
:boo hoo::boo hoo: Hard lines KennyCheers Andy, to be honest mate it was a very patchy season, i prob played my best bowls but was pretty gutted at not being able to play an Esk league game & to add to that being kicked out of the triples & rink ..i was going through the motions yest & wasnt really interested, not to take anything away from my opponent Phil Mould, he was on fire yest ...:agree:
Suppose my highlight though was :hnet: victory over Northern ...:cup:
Cheers Andy, to be honest mate it was a very patchy season, i prob played my best bowls but was pretty gutted at not being able to play an Esk league game & to add to that being kicked out of the triples & rink ..i was going through the motions yest & wasnt really interested, not to take anything away from my opponent Phil Mould, he was on fire yest ...:agree:
Suppose my highlight though was :hnet: victory over Northern ...:cup:
That seems that long ago, I can't even remember it, apart from our win over Mr Sneddon :wink: :greengrin
That seems that long ago, I can't even remember it, apart from our win over Mr Sneddon :wink: :greengrinIts easy to blot it out when you lose Mike...even if Andy did feel sympathy for you & dropped his game a bit ...:greengrin
Hey ..looking forward tae next year already ...no looking forward tae keeping ye though ...ye wont look good on my mantlepeice..ye might scare the dug ...:greengrin
Its easy to blot it out when you lose Mike...even if Andy did feel sympathy for you & dropped his game a bit ...:greengrin
Hey ..looking forward tae next year already ...no looking forward tae keeping ye though ...ye wont look good on my mantlepeice..ye might scare the dug ...:greengrin
The way I am feeling about the Northern at the moment, it may have to be Sambajustice that arranges it and I could be looking for a transfer to :hnet:
The way I am feeling about the Northern at the moment, it may have to be Sambajustice that arranges it and I could be looking for a transfer to :hnet:Woah ...dont know if Captain Snedds will allow that transfer tae go through.....:rules:...mind you ..im sure between us all we can muster up yer £3.99 transfer fee ...:greengrin
26-08-2010, 12:37 PM
Got to my 3rd final last night, won on an extra end. Only entered 3 internal competitions and I'm still in with a chance of winning all of them :thumbsup: Playing WoL knockout semis tonight as well.
Hopefully won't throw any of them away like I did in the ELBA(Fleming) and District.
Woah ...dont know if Captain Snedds will allow that transfer tae go through.....:rules:...mind you ..im sure between us all we can muster up yer £3.99 transfer fee ...:greengrin
I would happily stump up the shortfall of £3.98 if necessary :greengrin
Got to my 3rd final last night, won on an extra end. Only entered 3 internal competitions and I'm still in with a chance of winning all of them :thumbsup: Playing WoL knockout semis tonight as well.
Hopefully won't throw any of them away like I did in the ELBA(Fleming) and District.Good stuff, well done ...hope ye bring them all home ..:thumbsup:
Lost the pairs final on Friday night in a game we really should have won. No complaints at the end though as our opponents upped their game and deservedly won in the end.
Better news is that we (including Sambajustice) won the Triples last night to give us two out of the four SBA qualifying tournaments as we had previously won the Fours earlier in the season. :thumbsup:
31-08-2010, 10:49 AM
Woah ...dont know if Captain Snedds will allow that transfer tae go through.....:rules:...mind you ..im sure between us all we can muster up yer £3.99 transfer fee ...:greengrin
I've been trying to gie him you's on a free for 2 seasons now... :greengrin
Good win in the triples last night. Quite satisfying actually!
31-08-2010, 11:02 AM
Lost the pairs final on Friday night in a game we really should have won. No complaints at the end though as our opponents upped their game and deservedly won in the end.
Better news is that we (including Sambajustice) won the Triples last night to give us two out of the four SBA qualifying tournaments as we had previously won the Fours earlier in the season. :thumbsup:
Well done guys. We(U25 team, including SunnyLeith) lost the Calder cup on Sunday. Beat EL and Borders but lost to WL. Playing 3 finals this week so fingers crossed.
01-09-2010, 09:11 PM
Good stuff, well done ...hope ye bring them all home ..:thumbsup:
Fours in the bag. 10 up, didn't play the last. There was another Hibby in my rink as well :thumbsup:
sg7nil
02-09-2010, 12:06 PM
I got through to the final of my club handicap last night.:thumbsup:
Both playing off scratch so it was a straight race to 21 anyway. Was 13-0 up after 6 ends and never looked back. My opponent was a jambo so it was doubly sweet.. He had won the 2 bowl singles on Monday so has been playing OK, but he couldn't catch the rink we were on last night.
Dunno when the final will be cos the other semi could be played as late as the 10th Sept.
Probably means the final will need to be played during the day at the weekend sometime as it can get pretty dark at this time of year.
Fours in the bag. 10 up, didn't play the last. There was another Hibby in my rink as well :thumbsup:
I got through to the final of my club handicap last night.:thumbsup:
Both playing off scratch so it was a straight race to 21 anyway. Was 13-0 up after 6 ends and never looked back. My opponent was a jambo so it was doubly sweet.. He had won the 2 bowl singles on Monday so has been playing OK, but he couldn't catch the rink we were on last night.
Dunno when the final will be cos the other semi could be played as late as the 10th Sept.
Probably means the final will need to be played during the day at the weekend sometime as it can get pretty dark at this time of year.Well done guys ..:thumbsup:
02-09-2010, 10:18 PM
Well done guys ..:thumbsup:
Cheers. Played the pairs tonight, got 11 singles to make it peels at 11 playing the last. I played 2 brilliant bowls to win it 12-11. Great game, delighted to win because it was always gonna be a harder game. Need to arrange the u25s for the Hattrick!
Edit: Won the Water of Leith pairs on Saturday and won £70 for getting beat in the final of the invitation pairs at gorgie on Sunday.
What a week! :thumbsup:
09-09-2010, 10:24 PM
Won 21-6 in the final of the u25s tonight.
Season over for me unless there's any more opens.
Won 21-6 in the final of the u25s tonight.
Season over for me unless there's any more opens.Excellent stuff Deano ..:thumbsup:
Do you play for Gorebridge..?..the answer will prob be on this thread somewhere but i cant be ersed trawling through 10 pages ..:greengrin
10-09-2010, 10:07 AM
Excellent stuff Deano ..:thumbsup:
Do you play for Gorebridge..?..the answer will prob be on this thread somewhere but i cant be ersed trawling through 10 pages ..:greengrin
Na, Gorgie Mills.
My mum stays in Gorebridge. I'm going back and forward between her house and my girlfriend's at the moment.
Na, Gorgie Mills.
My mum stays in Gorebridge. I'm going back and forward between her house and my girlfriend's at the moment.Ah ..remember now ..was gonna say i love playing Gorebridge in the Esk ..always a good battle ...cracking guys tae ..:agree:..cannae say the same for Gorgie Mills ..way oot ma league ...:greengrin
sg7nil
20-09-2010, 08:38 AM
I finally managed to get my name on some silverware at the club with a good win in the handicap on Friday.:agree:
Giving the guy a 2 shot start I got a 2 at the first end for peels, but then lost a 4 and a 2 to be 8-2 down!
Got the score back to 9-5 down and then never lost another end :thumbsup:
Closing Day at the Northern on Saturday but the season finished for me a few weeks ago. Having looked forward to this season possibly more than any other I can remember, it turned out to be the least enjoyable for me, although the Northern did well again.
Just need the Hibees to get their act together so I can start looking forward to Saturday's again :greengrin
28-09-2010, 09:34 PM
I'm playing at Beechwood on Sunday in the open pairs and that'll be outdoor finished for me. Already started indoor, any hibs.net'ers play indoor?
My brother is a member at Beechwood, although I would be surprised if he will be be playing, (not surprised if he is there drinking though :greengrin)
Have a good day.
30-09-2010, 02:55 PM
Always fancied trying the indoor, what's the script are there regular indoor leagues through the winter? Heard a few of the Currie boys talkin about playing at Livingston but don't think I would want to travel to Livi every week.
30-09-2010, 07:20 PM
Always fancied trying the indoor, what's the script are there regular indoor leagues through the winter? Heard a few of the Currie boys talkin about playing at Livingston but don't think I would want to travel to Livi every week.
I'm at bainfield. There's 8 divisions in the league I think and the games are played every week. You play Monday 6.30, then Tuesday 8.30(the following week), then Wed 6.30, Thur 8.30 and so on. The league finishes in December, people get promoted and relegated and it starts again in January. So you can go up/down 2 divisions in one season. There's also a triples league on a Sunday, 12.30 one week, then 2.30 and so on.
It's my first season back for a couple of years. I don't enjoy indoor as much but thought I'd play again this year.
I'm at bainfield. There's 8 divisions in the league I think and the games are played every week. You play Monday 6.30, then Tuesday 8.30(the following week), then Wed 6.30, Thur 8.30 and so on. The league finishes in December, people get promoted and relegated and it starts again in January. So you can go up/down 2 divisions in one season. There's also a triples league on a Sunday, 12.30 one week, then 2.30 and so on.
It's my first season back for a couple of years. I don't enjoy indoor as much but thought I'd play again this year.How the hell dae ye find the time ..?...im struggling tae meet ties April tae September !!!! :confused:
03-10-2010, 09:59 PM
How the hell dae ye find the time ..?...im struggling tae meet ties April tae September !!!! :confused:
I've just finished uni and don't have a job so time is something that I have a lot of unfortunately. I didn't have the time the last 3/4 years while I was at uni/working part time in the winter.
The ideal man for committee :greengrin