View Full Version : Match Updates Man U v Bayern

07-04-2010, 05:46 PM
Rooney starts :greengrin

07-04-2010, 05:50 PM

Beat me to it! That changes everything and that's why you wait til before kick-off before placing bets! :greengrin

I suppose the question becomes, how long will he last?

shock horror:yawn:

On you go, Fergie. :thumbsup:

shock horror:yawn:

Constructive. :wink:

07-04-2010, 05:52 PM

I've just seen that.

Fergie's a wily old character! :greengrin

Just yesterday he gave Rooney "no chance" of playing any part in tonight's match.

It's great news, though, as he must really be fit enough to play because I couldn't see Ferguson risking him in a game like this in case he was to break down and possibly miss the rest of the season.

Come on United! :thumbsup:

07-04-2010, 05:52 PM

Mon the Roons!

07-04-2010, 05:53 PM
Unbelievable.

Well played, Fergie!

Having said that, if it was Yogi, folk would be on here critisising him for misleading the "real fans". :wink:

07-04-2010, 05:55 PM
Unbelievable.

Well played, Fergie!

Having said that, if it was Yogi, folk would be on here critisising him for misleading the "real fans". :wink:

If it was Yogi, some folk on here would be complaining that he was playing a semi-fit Rooney instead of giving Galbraith/Benji/Byrne* a chance. :greengrin

* delete as appropriate

07-04-2010, 05:55 PM

Now Danny van buyten can kick him harder this time and make him miss the world cup.

07-04-2010, 06:03 PM

Now Danny van buyten can kick him harder this time and make him miss the world cup.

Don't want to give the English uberfans an excuse when they don't win it!

Looking at United starting XI, their midfield is far from world class - Fletcher, Nani, Carrick, Gibson, Valencia. The Bayern midfield will probably be - Robben, Ribery, Van Bommel, Altintop and Muller.

I think Bayern have the better midfield overall to make up for the absence of a world class striker. Not sure it'll be enough though.

07-04-2010, 06:06 PM
And to think that a few days ago it was front page news and first up on every TV news bulletin as a national disaster that he might not play in the World Cup Finals in the summer.............gie's a break for God's sake! C'mon the Germans. :greengrin

07-04-2010, 06:07 PM
If it was Yogi, some folk on here would be complaining that he was playing a semi-fit Rooney instead of giving Galbraith/Benji/Byrne* a chance. :greengrin

* delete as appropriate

if that was Yogi then that would be clear indication that I’d taken to much medication.

champions league and Yogi in the same sentence :faf:

07-04-2010, 06:11 PM
champions league and Yogi in the same sentence :faf:

What sentence? :greengrin

07-04-2010, 06:14 PM
What sentence? :greengrin

The title of the thread Man U v Bayern

I have £10 on Bayern because Rooney was missing now :boo hoo:

07-04-2010, 06:17 PM
Don't want to give the English uberfans an excuse when they don't win it!

Looking at United starting XI, their midfield is far from world class - Fletcher, Nani, Carrick, Gibson, Valencia. The Bayern midfield will probably be - Robben, Ribery, Van Bommel, Altintop and Muller.

I think Bayern have the better midfield overall to make up for the absence of a world class striker. Not sure it'll be enough though.

Schweinsteiger instead of Altintop, probably even better for Bayern.

The title of the thread Man U v Bayern

I have £10 on Bayern because Rooney was missing now :boo hoo:

Still not a silly bet. :agree:

07-04-2010, 06:22 PM
Bayern to qualify is just under evens...not bad me thinks :agree:

07-04-2010, 06:38 PM
Rooney starts.

Cue leg break, world cup dream in tatters, Scot Fergie Shoots Down England Dream headlines:greengrin

07-04-2010, 06:47 PM
Rooney starts.

Cue leg break, world cup dream in tatters, Scot Fergie Shoots Down England Dream headlines:greengrin

Headline needs to be in bigger type :greengrin
Scot Fergie Shoots Down England Dream !!!

:top marks :yawn:

07-04-2010, 06:47 PM
Rooney starts.

Cue leg break, world cup dream in tatters, Scot Fergie Shoots Down England Dream headlines:greengrinNah it will be ''DIRTY NAZI PHILLIP LAHM KILLS ROONEY WITH AK-47'':greengrin

07-04-2010, 06:48 PM
1-0 Man Utd

07-04-2010, 06:48 PM
1-0 Gibson. :thumbsup:

07-04-2010, 06:49 PM
1-0 Man Utd :grr:

07-04-2010, 06:49 PM
Nah it will be ''DIRTY NAZI PHILLIP LAHM KILLS ROONEY WITH AK-47'':greengrin

Or 'Lahm is Actually The REAL Best Left Back in World Shocker-Ashley Breaks Down in Tears':agree:

07-04-2010, 06:52 PM
2-0 Utd

2-0 Man Utd:grr:

2-0 Nani with a beauty :thumbsup:

Bayern WILL score:agree:

07-04-2010, 06:54 PM
Ya beauty.

This could be anything now. :thumbsup:

sunshine1875
07-04-2010, 06:59 PM
Great football. Why can't Hibs play like this?

07-04-2010, 07:02 PM
I hope van bommel gets rooney after that.:chop:

07-04-2010, 07:07 PM
Looks as if Rooney's knackered. :boo hoo:

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

There he is my man danny van buyten LEGEND TOLD YOU HE WOULD KICK ROONEY

Rooney limping :bitchy:

07-04-2010, 07:10 PM
Looks like he's going to continue.

How will this drama end? :greengrin

07-04-2010, 07:12 PM
Looks like he's going to continue.

How will this drama end? :greengrinWith somebody falling off a roof and the real criminal getting away.:greengrin

07-04-2010, 07:26 PM
3-0 Man Utd :grr::grr:

07-04-2010, 07:26 PM
3-0 Nani

07-04-2010, 07:27 PM
What a goal that was. :thumbsup:

Game over.

Hibby D
07-04-2010, 07:28 PM
Looks as if Rooney's knackered. :boo hoo:

Nani's no' tho - he's on fire tonight :thumbsup:

I'm not a Man Utd fan by ANY stretch of the imagination - I could go as far as to say I quite dislike them, but they are playing some scintillating football tonight - 2 wonderful finishes by Nani.

3-1 Olic.

3-1 :thumbsup:

3-1

Game over.

Or maybe not. :boo hoo:

What a goal that was. :thumbsup:

Game over.

:devil:

07-04-2010, 07:29 PM

Why do that !! :grr:

07-04-2010, 07:30 PM
Why do that !! :grr:

Keep the faith, United will score more in the second half. :agree:

07-04-2010, 07:31 PM
Unlucky Robben!

Man Utd look twitchy at the back here...

07-04-2010, 07:41 PM

:faf::faf:

Have you never watched United in Europe?? There's the easy way, the logical way, then the United way.

What a great game - how refreshing to see a big game actually living up to the hype.

Roll on the 2nd half. There should be more goals in this game.................................

sunshine1875
07-04-2010, 07:51 PM
Is Frank Ribery playing? He must be still in Rafeal's pocket!

07-04-2010, 07:53 PM
Rafael Off.

07-04-2010, 07:53 PM
Is Frank Ribery playing? He must be still in Rafeal's pocket!

Why say that? :grr:

07-04-2010, 07:54 PM
Silly.

07-04-2010, 07:54 PM
Man United have this game in the bag. Easy.

07-04-2010, 07:55 PM
United have to get Rooney off, he's clearly injured, and cant get into the game.

sunshine1875
07-04-2010, 07:55 PM

Cos it was true.

I would take Rooney off no and strengthen the defence.

sunshine1875
07-04-2010, 07:57 PM
Dirty Hun B..............

07-04-2010, 07:58 PM
Rooney off.

Doesn't matter though - Bayern will never score a second.

Sloppy
07-04-2010, 07:58 PM
3-2 :grr::grr::grr:

sunshine1875
07-04-2010, 07:59 PM
3-2 :grr::grr::grr:

:bitchy:

07-04-2010, 08:02 PM
What a strike from Frank Ribery!!!

Good save.

07-04-2010, 08:02 PM
What a save from Van Der Sar.

07-04-2010, 08:03 PM
What a strike from Frank Ribery!!!

Good save.

What a save from Van Der Sar.

Stack would have held that.

07-04-2010, 08:04 PM
Man United under siege.

They won't crack though.

Harty95
07-04-2010, 08:07 PM
what a ball that was !

07-04-2010, 08:07 PM
Good save aswell from hans butt

07-04-2010, 08:10 PM

:hilarious Do you think him posting that was flagged up to the ref and that's why he sent him off?!

07-04-2010, 08:11 PM

but what?

07-04-2010, 08:11 PM
If Bayern dont score a second i will eat my hat.

07-04-2010, 08:12 PM

Was it not Butt's hand?

07-04-2010, 08:15 PM
Man United have this game in the bag. Easy.

Rooney off.

Doesn't matter though - Bayern will never score a second.

Man United under siege.

They won't crack though.

Are you trying to jinx them?

I think Van Der Sar's going to chuck one in - Zibi style.

07-04-2010, 08:17 PM
FFS. :grr:

3-2:thumbsup:

Harty95
what a goal :thumbsup:

3-2

Man U heading out

Are you trying to jinx them?

I think Van Der Sar's going to chuck one in - Zibi style.

Absolute f***ing peach.

Yep - worked a treat too! :thumbsup:

Yassssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss sssssssssssssssssss cmon bayern

07-04-2010, 08:18 PM
:hilarious Do you think him posting that was flagged up to the ref and that's why he sent him off?!

I was copying Wotherspiniesta's comment to me from earlier.

Edinburgh Green
Stop it robben, haha class.

houston1875
Yassssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss sssssssssssssssssss cmon bayern

KISS THE BABY!!! manc tramps!!!!!!!!!!

cmon!!!!!!

Robben's been on fire this season.
No English clubs in the semis as it stands.

Mikeystewart
07-04-2010, 08:19 PM
What a finnish by Robben volley from a corner bottom left 20-25 yards :top marks

Robben off for Altintop.

Like for like really!

Great goal. Bayern could go on and win the match, never mind the tie.

Man Yoo are pretty much reliant on Rooney.

Oh STOP IT :thumbsup:

What a goal :top marks

Pick that one out Fergie ya whisky coopened fuddly :greengrin

07-04-2010, 08:20 PM
Robben off for Altintop.

Like for like really!

He's (Altintop)been excellent as well, usually starts in the Bundesliga.

07-04-2010, 08:20 PM
Woooooooooof!!

What a strike.

Ha Ha Ha Ha Man United.

07-04-2010, 08:22 PM
Get a forward on FFS!

07-04-2010, 08:22 PM
Get a forward on FFS!

But not Berbatov!

WTF Fergie!

houston1875
07-04-2010, 08:23 PM
hows your injury Rooney? lol

Berbatov on and Giggs about to follow.

Harty95
But not Berbatov!

WTF Fergie!

who else has he got?

Mikeystewart
07-04-2010, 08:24 PM
Great goal. Bayern could go on and win the match, never mind the tie.

Man Yoo are pretty much reliant on Rooney.

I Agree

People go on about Liverpool without Gerrard or Torres IMHO man utd aren't far off from being in the same boat.

houston1875
who else has he got?

who thinks man utd are a 1 man team?

6 minutes added time at the end of the 90 :wink:

looks like the best league, with the best teams, wont have a team in the semi's.:wink:

houston1875
07-04-2010, 08:25 PM
6 minutes added time at the end of the 90 :wink:

lol wouldnae be surprised!

07-04-2010, 08:26 PM
who thinks man utd are a 1 man team?

I wouldn't say they're a one man team but they are heavily reliant on him to create and score.

07-04-2010, 08:27 PM
If it stays like this, it wont help with United debt. :greengrin

07-04-2010, 08:29 PM
If it stays like this, it wont help with United debt. :greengrin

If it stays like this I'd imagine the fans will be calling for Ferguson's head. Their form's been abysmal recently.

07-04-2010, 08:31 PM
If it stays like this I'd imagine the fans will be calling for Ferguson's head. Their form's been abysmal recently.

:agree:, and he took his best player, and top goalscorer off too. There could be issues. It wouldnt surprise me if he's lost the dressing room.

07-04-2010, 08:32 PM

2 defeats at home in less than 5 days..

Persists with this 4-3-3 :bitchy:

Change at the helm needed!

07-04-2010, 08:33 PM
:agree:, and he took his best player, and top goalscorer off too. There could be issues. It wouldnt surprise me if he's lost the dressing room.

:agree: He's been dithering with his subs as well. It was so late on and they've been completely ineffectual.

And what's with the 451 formation at home? Clueless IMO.

07-04-2010, 08:34 PM

2 defeats at home in less than 5 days..

Persists with this 4-3-3 :bitchy:

Change at the helm needed!Tecnicaly they are winning this game.:greengrin

3 minutes added.

3 minutes added time.

07-04-2010, 08:35 PM
Corner Bayern

07-04-2010, 08:36 PM
FT in the other game 1-0 to bourdeaux so lyon are into semis

Another lyon vs bayern in champsleague it seems to happen all the time.

07-04-2010, 08:36 PM
They're gone :devil:

07-04-2010, 08:37 PM
3-2 FT :thumbsup::faf:

Pish

Harty95
fantastic.

Tecnicaly they are winning this game.:greengrin

Defeated in the competetion :bye:

Byeeeee ManUre :faf:

07-04-2010, 08:38 PM
The worst team won - Bayern got ripped until the sending off!

So what league's the greatest league in the world now then?

Pish

Indeed.

3-2 Uutd.

4-4 aggregate. Bayern on away goals. :devil:

Makaveli
07-04-2010, 08:39 PM
Pop goes the English bubble. How many hundreds of millions of debt amongst their top clubs, and how many semi-finalists to show for it? :faf:

07-04-2010, 08:40 PM
The worst team won - Bayern got ripped until the sending off!

Part of playing the game is not having men sent off, actually.

Result says it all. Utd are oot. End of. :devil:

07-04-2010, 08:45 PM
Wow some sour grapes from fergie. Typical germans hahaahha.

07-04-2010, 08:45 PM
Fergie his usual ungracious self in the post match interview.

GIRUY:thumbsup:

07-04-2010, 08:46 PM
Hahah, in the background you can just hear "CHEATS, CHEATS, CHEATS" from the Man U players I'm assuming.

07-04-2010, 08:46 PM

Racist.:faf::faf::faf:

07-04-2010, 08:47 PM
What a TlT Fergie is..

"Cheating Germans, they got my player sent off, bla bla bla!"

Here's yer dummy :dummytit:

:bye:

07-04-2010, 08:47 PM
So what league's the greatest league in the world now then?

English Premier League.

Take Barcelona and Real Madrid out of the equation and La Liga is crap.

Those two are 21 points ahead of Valencia in third.

In England, Everton (8th) are 22 points behind Man Utd in 2nd.

English football is clearly much more competitive.

07-04-2010, 08:48 PM
Hahah, in the background you can just hear "CHEATS, CHEATS, CHEATS" from the Man U players I'm assuming.

I think its Christian Daily.:greengrin

07-04-2010, 08:49 PM

I watched the whole game and have to say I couldn't see any cheating from Bayern. And the ref had a pretty good game.
Bad sportsmanship from another mob who think they have divinity.

Bruce having a whinge as well.

Townsend his usual ignorant self.

They're gutted.

So-o-o-o-o-o-o nice to see big-team people suffering like us mortals. :faf:

English Premier League.

By your logic France has the best league in Europe; 5 teams within a few points of each other, including just-promoted Montpelier.

La Liga is the strongest league in Europe. IMO.:greengrin

07-04-2010, 08:50 PM
What a TlT Fergie is..

Aye, somehow Ribery hypnotised Rafael into rugby tackling him from behind.

How could the ref no see it

:yawn::yawn::yawn:

07-04-2010, 08:51 PM
Watching that as a neutral, I do feel sorry for Utd.

That was probably the best game i had seen for a while until the sending off.

07-04-2010, 08:51 PM
English Premier League.

If you take Man U and Chelsea out of the EPL it's not exactly top-notch. If Sky keep telling us it's the best we'll probably keep believing them.

renato
07-04-2010, 08:52 PM

I know he's hurting but that's shocking chat from Fergie, "typical Germans".....and I suppose Man U have never surrounded and pressurised a ref into making a decision :wink:

Say what you like about german football but i think they have the most passionate fans who create an atmosphere throughout the game, especially in europe!

Sounds like Ferguson's losing the plot.

07-04-2010, 08:53 PM
Aye, somehow Ribery hypnotised Rafael into rugby tackling him from behind.

How could the ref no see it

:yawn::yawn::yawn:

You've either never watched rugby or haven't seen the tackle.

Rafael is a silly laddie.

But i ***** despise Man yoo so im delighted they are out:bye::bye:

Mon the Man yoo fans that ripped Arsenal last night :cool2:

English Premier League.

You're absolutely deluded if you seriously think the Premiership is the best league in the world.

At least 3/4 of the TOP players in the World ply their trade in La Liga. One of whom left the Premiership and the other who turned down a rediculous amount of money to go to La Liga. What truly world class players are there in England? Rooney, Drogba, Fabergas, Torres - arugably Lampard and Gerrard. The Spanish league can boast almost triple that, without breaking a sweat.

If it's going on how purely competitive the league is, Serie A only has 21 points between 9th and first.

The English Premiership is nowhere NEAR the footballing beacon it used to be.

English Premier League.

English football is clearly much more competitive.How can you actualy expect valencia to compete with barca and real madrid with valencia's dept

Real overspend every year and barca also spend alot and valencia are 300m in dept witch is not there fault so they can buy they players they used to like aimar when they won the league in 2004.

I probable agree with you about england being better but teams in spain like valencia and deportivo just dont have them money to compete when teams like spurs and man city do.

07-04-2010, 08:57 PM

Pity he had to make a fool of himself like that.

07-04-2010, 08:58 PM

Funny, I saw plenty Scots rugby players tackling like that in the 6 nations:greengrin

07-04-2010, 08:58 PM

:tee hee: Very poofy attempt at a rugby tackle.

07-04-2010, 09:02 PM
Watching that as a neutral, I do feel sorry for Utd.

That was probably the best game i had seen for a while until the sending off.

Why feel sorry for them?

The booking and sending off were correct, Rafael is a silly laddy..

07-04-2010, 09:03 PM
English fitba is pish.

Gies the SPL anyday.

:fibber:

renato
07-04-2010, 09:04 PM
You're absolutely deluded if you seriously think the Premiership is the best league in the world.

At least 3/4 of the TOP players in the World ply their trade in La Liga. One of whom left the Premiership and the other who turned down a rediculous amount of money to go to La Liga. What truly world class players are there in England? Rooney, Drogba, Fabergas, Torres - arugably Lampard and Gerrard. The Spanish league can boast almost triple that, without breaking a sweat.

If it's going on how purely competitive the league is, Serie A only has 21 points between 9th and first.

Townsend quote :

"It's just a pity we don't have one of "our" teams left in the competition"

Remind me again which country you played for Andy? It's pish like this that gets your back up. I'm DELIGHTED the EPL has nae clubs left in the competition, Sky money is no guarantee of success.

anon1
07-04-2010, 09:09 PM
Poor poor Man Utd :bye:

07-04-2010, 09:18 PM
Say what you like about german football but i think they have the most passionate fans who create an atmosphere throughout the game, especially in europe!

:agree: Also all clubs are forced to publish planned accounts in advance of each season or lose their place in the league. There's no silly debt in Germany unlike most other big leagues, huge crowds, standing areas and tickets are still affordable for normal fans.

07-04-2010, 09:19 PM
By your logic France has the best league in Europe; 5 teams within a few points of each other, including just-promoted Montpelier.

La Liga is the strongest league in Europe. IMO.:greengrin

No it's not just that, it's just one of several reasons that I have for thinking that the English Premiership is better than La Liga.

La Liga is up there and I would say it's the second best, just not quite as good as the Premiership.

If you take this season's performance in Europe for Spanish and English teams, it is;

Champions League-Spain

Atletico Madrid-Group stages (3rd-drop into Europa League)
Real Madrid-Last 16 (Lost to Lyon)
Sevilla-Last 16 (Lost to CSKA Moscow)
Barcelona-Semi-Finals (still in competition)

Champions League-England

Liverpool-Group stages (3rd-drop into Europa League)
Chelsea-Last 16 (Lost to Inter Milan)
Manchester United-Quarter-finals (Lost to Bayern Munich)
Arsenal-Quarter-finals (Lost to Barcelona)

Europa League-Spain

Athletic Bilbao-Last 32 (Lost to Anderlecht)
Villarreal-Last 32 (Lost to Wolfsburg)
Valencia-Quarter Finals (still in competition)
Atletico Madrid-Quarter Finals (still in competition)

Valencia and Atletico Madrid play each other in 1/4 finals.

Europa League-England

Aston Villa-Play-off round (Lost to Rapid Vienna)
Everton-Last 32 (Lost to Sporting Lisbon)
Liverpool-Quarter-finals (still in competition)
Fulham-Quarter-finals (still in competition)

Now after tomorrow's Europa League matches, Spain is guaranteed to have two teams still in European competition, whereas England may not have anyone left in Europe but they too, could also have two sides left in Europe.

All things considered, it is a close call between the two leagues but I just personally believe that the Premiership is superior.

I'll admit that I may hold that opinion primarily because of the exposure that we get to English football. Maybe if I lived somewhere else in Continental Europe, I would have a different view.

07-04-2010, 09:24 PM
What a TlT Fergie is..

Didn't see the whole match, but it seemed Bayern were anything but cheats. Robben, who was a cheating diving git when he played in Engerland, seems to be more interested now in playing fitba than in landing on his ars*. And when Vidic deliberately kicked the german boy in the nuts late on there were no histrionics at all.

07-04-2010, 09:27 PM
All things considered, it is a close call between the two leagues but I just personally believe that the Premiership is superior.

I'll admit that I may hold that opinion primarily because of the exposure that we get to English football. Maybe if I lived somewhere else in Continental Europe, I would have a different view.

I disagree, but :top marks for making a good case:agree:

As it happens, from what ive seen i think France, Italy and Germany are getting better as well. Theres not a runaway best league anymore as has often been the case in the past.

Hibbie_Cameron
07-04-2010, 09:32 PM
English Premier League.

I read an article recently which showed some alamrming stats for the EPL. The combined debt of all EPL team is greater than the debt of all the other major leagues top flight clubs put together. That is staggering imo (if im correctly remembering the stat)

The EPL is also littered with foreign players, most of whom are rubbish. Bar a few teams such as Barca and Real in Spain and Inter in Italy, most of the players in Seria A, Bundesliga, Ligue 1 and La liga are from that country. The same imo cant be said abou the EPL.

Hence past and possible future problems in the England national team, these other countries develop bucket loads of players each year, the EPL very little.

Me personally, i find the EPL tiresome. Teams down the bottom of the Bundesliga and France beat the top teams, promoted teams challenge for the titles and the goals ratio are just as good if not better than the EPL.

For me the the prospect of watching midtable Bremen v Hoffenheim, Napoli v Fiorentina and even relegation battles like Bochum v Hannover are more exciting than Villa v Stoke, Everton v Birmingham and even Man city v Burnley.

Not having a go at you personally mate but the guff Sky feed us about the EPL is getting boring.

07-04-2010, 09:58 PM
English Premier League.

Incorrect! no matter how bunched up they are, that league has no representatives in the last 4 of Europes premier competition... :greengrin

The Premiership has 70? percent of all european football debt?

The only way they can sustain this is for a europe wide NFL type set up with the top 2 or 3 teams from the top leagues sucking up all the TV revenue.

SidBurns
07-04-2010, 09:59 PM
Must say I really can't wait for the Premiership to go t!ts up! Liverpool and Manure have 1 billion of debt between them, the total amount of debt in Europe doesn't total 4 billion, what a mess, GREAT!

sunshine1875
07-04-2010, 10:00 PM
That was a good game of football. All Man U for the first 40 minutes - they were almost unplayable. But once Bayern scored, I thought they were the most likely to get the next goal, especially after the sending off.

So great football played by both teams. Well done.

PS How did Hertz do, surely they must be Champions League Quarter/Semi Final regulars by now.

07-04-2010, 10:01 PM
Must say I really can't wait for the Premiership to go t!ts up! Liverpool and Manure have 1 billion of debt between them, the total amount of debt in Europe doesn't total 4 billion, what a mess, GREAT!

As long as the TV money is there it won't go tits up. And it will be there.

07-04-2010, 10:29 PM
YouTube - ROBBEN GOAL AGAINST MANCHESTER UNITED [CL 2009-2010] (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPUFDbBc7Lg)

unbelievable technique:top marks

07-04-2010, 10:29 PM

I know things, but I can't let you in on it.

07-04-2010, 10:30 PM
YouTube - ROBBEN GOAL AGAINST MANCHESTER UNITED [CL 2009-2010] (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPUFDbBc7Lg)[/URL]

unbelievable technique:top marks

You just knew he was going to score before he even hit the ball. Cracker. :agree:

07-04-2010, 10:36 PM
You just knew he was going to score before he even hit the ball. Cracker. :agree:

If you watch Ribery before he takes the corner he motions the players at the near post to run into the 6 yard box, obviously as a diversion. Then he plants the corner kick right on Robben's left foot. The shot speaks for itself.

Everything about that goal is class:top marks

07-04-2010, 11:35 PM
I only saw last 20 minutes of game from Manchester so didn`t see any of the goals but what I really noticed was that Man U never looked like scoring late on and all their players and managers felt the same way against a team that have been very lucky to get to QFs and were probably the weakest team in last 8 ( except 2 English clubs perhaps ) . The Spanish channels that have La Liga contracts say their league is the best in the world and reading here , it seems that Sky say the same about the English league . I don`t usually watch much English football but have watched a lot of games on TV this season and have to say that I think it`s massively over - hyped and I watch the supposedly better teams - the English league is probably the best for presentation and marketing ( interviews with nonentities that played for middle of league teams 10 years ago are repeated on channels in Spain where such players would have struggled to play in second division ) . Spanish league is boring this season after a few good years in which Sevilla and a couple of others challenged strongly and played well usually with a few good local players in team ( Sevilla have got worse now they have only Navas as a local player ) . I was in Lisbon last week so went to Benfica - Liverpool match ( not using it as an argument about weakness of English league since it was only Europa League and there is no doubt that clubs treat it like CIS Cup in Scotland - only important from semi onwards ) but it was another example of how weak the English league is ( Liverpool are having a bad season but are still in top half of league ) .
From Hibs` point of view , more has to be done to get good young players at club whether they`re from Edinburgh , Cork , Trinidad and Tobago or whereever . Apart from very few fans here , I imagine that what happens in Champions League is not that important but what what happens to Hibernian is to all of us so why don`t club :
1. Appoint someone to improve contacts outside Scotland - does anyone from our club try to persuade players to sign for us because of trainng centre and possibilities of studying in Scotland while learning English for example ?
2. Our Under 19 squad have travelled to Portugal at least twice in recent years funded by EU money . Have we used these free trips as free training holidays or has someone used them to get contacts ( have any Portuguese teams played us here for example ? ) ? Have we used trips to promote idea of how good Edinburgh area is for young footballers from all over the world to make a career in football while studying ?

07-04-2010, 11:44 PM
I.AM.LOVING.IT that no English team has made it to the Semi Finals:thumbsup::thumbsup:.

All that debt, what a shame.

Best league in the world? My arse.

08-04-2010, 01:44 AM
Sorry, but if Yogi gets carpeted for swearing in Perth at an official, surely that sour pussed pensioner Fergie should be banned for at least half a season for his "German" jibe :bitchy: Considering there were French, Belgians, Ecuadorians, Portugese, Serbians, Dutch, Scottish, Brazilians, Germans and English in both sides, playing staff and management, he has a brass neck the sore losing prick................bloody brilliant that the mancy bar stewards got pumped out the cup ! For diving and badgering ref's, see Willie Miller, Alex McLeish, Strachan, Gary Neville, Ferdinand, Bruce, Keane, Pallister, Ronaldo, Nani, Berbatov, Kancelskis, etc etc. Short memory the Govan macaroon munching erse has eh :faf: Well done Robben son..........silenced them in the end my man :agree:

08-04-2010, 02:29 AM
Sorry, but if Yogi gets carpeted for swearing in Perth at an official, surely that sour pussed pensioner Fergie should be banned for at least half a season for his "German" jibe :bitchy: Considering there were French, Belgians, Ecuadorians, Portugese, Serbians, Dutch, Scottish, Brazilians, Germans and English in both sides, playing staff and management, he has a brass neck the sore losing prick................bloody brilliant that the mancy bar stewards got pumped out the cup ! For diving and badgering ref's, see Willie Miller, Alex McLeish, Strachan, Gary Neville, Ferdinand, Bruce, Keane, Pallister, Ronaldo, Nani, Berbatov, Kancelskis, etc etc. Short memory the Govan macaroon munching erse has eh :faf: Well done Robben son..........silenced them in the end my man :agree::top marksLEGENDARY POST

08-04-2010, 05:43 AM
Sorry, but if Yogi gets carpeted for swearing in Perth at an official, surely that sour pussed pensioner Fergie should be banned for at least half a season for his "German" jibe :bitchy: Considering there were French, Belgians, Ecuadorians, Portugese, Serbians, Dutch, Scottish, Brazilians, Germans and English in both sides, playing staff and management, he has a brass neck the sore losing prick................bloody brilliant that the mancy bar stewards got pumped out the cup ! For diving and badgering ref's, see Willie Miller, Alex McLeish, Strachan, Gary Neville, Ferdinand, Bruce, Keane, Pallister, Ronaldo, Nani, Berbatov, Kancelskis, etc etc. Short memory the Govan macaroon munching erse has eh :faf: Well done Robben son..........silenced them in the end my man :agree:

GIRFUY Fergie you govanite tramp

SidBurns
08-04-2010, 07:20 AM
As long as the TV money is there it won't go tits up. And it will be there.

I disagree my friend. A lot of the Free to Air channels contracts with Sky end in the next few years so your Dave, Eurosport etc etc will all be available on FreeSat. In my view if all channels apart from Sky Sports 1/2/3/4 are available for free people will cancel Sky and hit the pub to watch the matches instead. This will mean less money for Sky, less money for the Premiership and more 'higher profile' teams than Pompey going out of business, GREAT! Everything goes t!ts up eventually if you throw money at it, look at the state of our banks!?!

Posh Swanny
08-04-2010, 08:14 AM

Townsend quote :

"It's just a pity we don't have one of "our" teams left in the competition"

Remind me again which country you played for Andy? It's pish like this that gets your back up. I'm DELIGHTED the EPL has nae clubs left in the competition, Sky money is no guarantee of success.

Whose back? Townsend was born in Maidstone and played his entire career in England. Would you not expect Andrew Driver to use similar phrasing if he was talking about Scottish clubs in Europe?

08-04-2010, 08:43 AM
Whose back? Townsend was born in Maidstone and played his entire career in England. Would you not expect Andrew Driver to use similar phrasing if he was talking about Scottish clubs in Europe?

Er...., I think the ROI actually play in Dublin sometimes, but I could be wrong.

AugustaHibs
08-04-2010, 09:01 AM
YouTube - Manchester United 3 - 2 Bayern Munich Arjen Robben Volley (07.04.10) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WVSs6czBTAM)

What a Finish.

Posh Swanny
08-04-2010, 09:33 AM
Er...., I think the ROI actually play in Dublin sometimes, but I could be wrong.

Christ, you have to be on the ball to try and make a point on here, eh?! :faf:

khib70
08-04-2010, 09:57 AM
Absolutely spot on :top marks. Ref bullying is Man U's no1 party piece and has been for years. Arjen Robben......legend!:faf:

Joe Baker II
08-04-2010, 09:59 AM
English fitba is pish.

Gies the SPL anyday.

:fibber:

Don't really care if English league better than Spain or not (they have both helped make the European Cup a self-perpetuating elite along with Italy, Spain, Germany and France), but in parochial context fact is the damage the excessive media coverage of English football does to Scottish game and every other country in Northern Europe, makes nights like last night just great for Scottish football fans. And I realise Bayern are hardly innocents here btw before someone highlights this.

Seeing the commentators and pundits unhappy makes it even sweeter and in some ways even better than seeing England national team lose. At least although media coverage and attitudes of many English people rile the rest of the British Isles, international football (play off seedings notwithstanding) is a more level playing field.

Also, while as above England is not the only country to have been involved in the carve up of the European cup to suit the big leagues but at least we can watch semi finals with less of an anglocentric media view being imposed on Scotland which is something pretty unique to us.

08-04-2010, 11:35 AM
Also, while as above England is not the only country to have been involved in the carve up of the European cup to suit the big leagues but at least we can watch semi finals with less of an anglocentric media view being imposed on Scotland which is something pretty unique to us.

You reckon? Sky and ITV are incapable of broadcasting matches without an English slant. Every single bit above-ordinary skill will be placed in the context of how it would affect England's World Cup chances.

08-04-2010, 11:49 AM
You reckon? Sky and ITV are incapable of broadcasting matches without an English slant. Every single bit above-ordinary skill will be placed in the context of how it would affect England's World Cup chances.

The papers are no better. The report i read was bemoaning no English teams in the semis but added; 'José Mourinho, once of Chelsea, will be there with Internazionale to test his tactical wit against Messi's brilliance, and another former Stamford Bridge employee, Arjen Robben, can plan for a tie against Lyon after his piercing volley sent Bayern through.'

So according to The Guardians Paul Hayward, because the mananger and one of the players in the Semis were once Chelsea employees amongst a whole list of other teams and countries throughout Europe, its a victory for Chelsea. And hence England. Sort of.

08-04-2010, 11:56 AM
The papers are no better. The report i read was bemoaning no English teams in the semis but added; 'José Mourinho, once of Chelsea, will be there with Internazionale to test his tactical wit against Messi's brilliance, and another former Stamford Bridge employee, Arjen Robben, can plan for a tie against Lyon after his piercing volley sent Bayern through.'

So according to The Guardians Paul Hayward, because the mananger and one of the players in the Semis were once Chelsea employees amongst a whole list of other teams and countries throughout Europe, its a victory for Chelsea. And hence England. Sort of.

:agree: That's actually the bit that drives me nutsest. Watching Spain play and every time Fabregas touches the ball it's "Arsenal's Fabregas" etc. :grr:

08-04-2010, 12:44 PM
:agree: That's actually the bit that drives me nutsest. Watching Spain play and every time Fabregas touches the ball it's "Arsenal's Fabregas" etc. :grr:

Thats cause he plays for Arsenal no?

:wink::greengrin

CFC
08-04-2010, 02:49 PM
As an Englishman I think Scots are a little too sensitive to this. The Scottish Rugby team has dined out on 1990 for 20 years and what about 1967? The sports media are full of ethnocentric tripe, doubt England is worse than anywhere else, christ the yanks made a film out of 1950!

08-04-2010, 03:00 PM
As an Englishman I think Scots are a little too sensitive to this. The Scottish Rugby team has dined out on 1990 for 20 years and what about 1967? The sports media are full of ethnocentric tripe, doubt England is worse than anywhere else, christ the yanks made a film out of 1950!

100% disagree with that (and not being over sensitive). Bill McLaren, the voice of rugby, never referred constantly to the Grand Slam team of '90.....in fact, he was the most impartial commentator I have heard and gave England and the other nations plenty of credit. 1967.......aye, maybe because it was a Baxter inspired victory, but again, you don't hear many references at all these days whenever Scotland are playing, nor indeed when the possibility of the Auld Enemy clash is discussed. Clive Tyldesley, Brian Moore, John Motson, token Irishman but very real Englishman Lawrenson.........all make constant reference to 1966 ! Scotland are admittedly a nation with a big deep fried greasy chip on our shoulders at times, not helped by that fat erse Salmond and his SNP cronies, but England are, in a sporting sense, arrogant, and recognised for this all over the world. A wee bit humility when it comes to World Cup's, a little bit grace and respect for the opponents, and they would win a trophy. They have the best squad I would say outwith Spain. But their demeanour and arrogance and this unfounded belief that they are better than the rest is ultimately their downfall in tournaments.

08-04-2010, 03:22 PM
I was only responding to England's attitude in a sporting sense, specifically football. Certainly not English people or as a nation. All nations suffer from a dillusion of grandeur at certain things, and Scotland are past masters of passing ourselves off as this "greatest wee nation in the world" lilian gish.......we fight above our weight at times, but always seem to come down hard on the losers, the "not good enough's", and have the "we should be better than that" type guff......a wee dose of realism and reality, and a little less of this Alex Salmond inspired "20th century braveheart" pish, and we will get on great..........we would still beat you at football though :greengrin

08-04-2010, 03:34 PM

"POST OF THE WEEK"

Brilliant :top marks
Even my wife ,who is not a football fan, thought "Grumpy Old Man" Fergie was out of order big time

08-04-2010, 03:39 PM

Amen Brother :agree:

08-04-2010, 03:59 PM
Man Utd :faf:

Robben :cool2:

CFC
08-04-2010, 04:01 PM
I was only responding to England's attitude in a sporting sense, specifically football. Certainly not English people or as a nation. All nations suffer from a dillusion of grandeur at certain things, and Scotland are past masters of passing ourselves off as this "greatest wee nation in the world" lilian gish.......we fight above our weight at times, but always seem to come down hard on the losers, the "not good enough's", and have the "we should be better than that" type guff......a wee dose of realism and reality, and a little less of this Alex Salmond inspired "20th century braveheart" pish, and we will get on great..........we would still beat you at football though :greengrin

Yeah I just think that we English and Scots misunderstand each other.

I look upon Scots as brothers like Americans and Canadians do. Just don't want Scots to all think we are as arrogant as the media portrays it. :party:

08-04-2010, 04:05 PM
Can't believe after the match Fergie says 'Typical Germans' about them surrounding the ref to get Rafael sent off, it was a sending off anyway, it's quite common for this to happen nowadays in Football, and besides, he can't deny that players like Roy Keane did it for them.

08-04-2010, 04:44 PM
Can't believe after the match Fergie says 'Typical Germans' about them surrounding the ref to get Rafael sent off, it was a sending off anyway, it's quite common for this to happen nowadays in Football, and besides, he can't deny that players like Roy Keane did it for them.Darrern fletcher is the worsed for it but i cant imagen fergie saying typical scottish.

08-04-2010, 04:45 PM
Darrern fletcher is the worsed for it but i cant imagen fergie saying typical scottish.

Exactly but even if Fletcher was English he wouldn't mention it cause he's playing for his team.

08-04-2010, 04:47 PM
Exactly but even if Fletcher was English he wouldn't mention it cause he's playing for his team.Yep.He is up his own arse a bit.

renato
08-04-2010, 06:37 PM

No. If Driver plays for England, like Townsend played for ROI, I would not expect him to refer to Scottish clubs as "our clubs".

And it'll be my back he got up :greengrin

08-04-2010, 07:49 PM

Players who play in La Liga and are also internationalists with a top 20 nation;

Spain (24)

Casillas
Lopez
Albiol
Arbeloa
Capdevila
Marchena
Pique
Puyol
Ramos
Senna
Alonso
Busquets
Xavi
Iniesta
Mata
Navas
Silva
Villa
Negredo
Iraola
Monreal
Cazorla
Hernandez
Llorente

Brazil (6)

Alves
Kaka
Nilmar
Filipe Luis
Marcelo
Luis Fabiano

Netherlands (1)

Van Der Vaart

Portugal (8)

Duda
Miguel
Tiago
Ronaldo
Simao
Ze Castro
Nelson
Pepe

Italy (1)

Rossi

Germany (0)

None

England (0)

None

France (6)

Escude
Diarra
Henry
Abidal
Squillaci
Benzema

Argentina (12)

Aguero
Higuain
Messi
Carrizo
Pareja
Diaz
Forlin
Banega
Gago
Perotti
Bernardello
Salvio

Croatia (1)

Bilic

Greece (0)

None

Russia (0)

None

Chile (2)

Suazo
Orellana

Egypt (0)

None

Serbia (3)

Dragutinovic
Zigic
Obradovic

USA (0)

None

Mexico (3)

Marquez
Guardado
dos Santos

Uruguay (4)

Godin
Forlan
Eguren
Albin

Australia (0)

None

Cameroon (4)

Kameni
Webo
Kome
M'Bami

Players who play in the English Premier League and are also internationalists with a top 20 nation;

Spain (4)

Reina
Fabregas
Torres
Riera

Brazil (5)

Gomes
Aurelio
Alex
Lucas
Anderson

Netherlands (5)

Heitinga
de Jong
Kuyt
Babel
van Persie

Portugal (7)

Hilario
Ferreira
Nani
Carvalho
Bosingwa
Deco
Boa Morte

Italy (1)

Aquilani

Germany (1)

Ballack

England (38)

James
Green
Hart
Terry
Brown
Upson
Lescott
Warnock
Baines
Shawcross
Gerrard
Lampard
Barry
Wright-Phillips
Downing
Carrick
Walcott
Milner
Rooney
Heskey
Defoe
Crouch
C Cole
Robinson
Foster
Neville
A Cole
R Ferdinand
Johnson
King
Jagielka
Cahill
Jenas
Lennon
Young
Huddlestone
Bent
Agbonlahor

France (10)

Sagna
Evra
Malouda
Anelka
Saha
Gallas
Clichy
Diaby
Vieira
Nasri

Argentina (4)

Mascherano
Tevez
Insua
Rodriguez

Croatia (4)

Corluka
Modric
Kranjcar
Eduardo

Greece (1)

Kyrgiakos

Russia (3)

Bilyaletdinov
Arshavin
Pavlyuchenko

Chile (0)

None

Egypt (2)

Zaki
Mido

Serbia (4)

Stojkovic
Vidic
Ivanovic
Milijas

USA (6)

Guzan
Howard
Spector
Holden
Altidore
Dempsey

Mexico (3)

Hernandez
Franco
Vela

Uruguay (0)

None

Australia (7)

Schwarzer
Lowry
Emerton
Grella
Cahill
Mooy
Garcia

Cameroon (4)

Song
Bikey
Bassong
Assou-Ekotto

There are 75 La Liga players who are current internationalists for a top 20 nation and 109 Premiership players who are current internationalist for a top 20 nation.

For me that is another sign that the Premiership is superior.

08-04-2010, 07:56 PM
There are 75 La Liga players who are current internationalists for a top 20 nation and 109 Premiership players who are current internationalist for a top 20 nation.

For me that is another sign that the Premiership is superior.

Quantity doesn't always win over quality.

A big part of the difference in numbers is the number of "current" English internationals in the EPL - a lot of folk with a handfu of caps in there. Talking of them - did you include Nugent? He got capped once.

08-04-2010, 11:35 PM
Quantity doesn't always win over quality.

A big part of the difference in numbers is the number of "current" English internationals in the EPL - a lot of folk with a handfu of caps in there. Talking of them - did you include Nugent? He got capped once.

I only included players who have been called up by their country in the past year or so.

David Nugent got his one and only England cap three years ago so, no, he's not included.

As for a lot of the named England players only having a handful of caps to their name, the majority of the players that I have mentioned there have played at least 10 games for England.

In terms of "quantity not always winning over quality", the vast majority of players that I have mentioned in the above post (both English AND Spanish based) are quality players - you don't usually get capped by a top nation if you're not up to much.

It just so happens that English football has more of those quality players than Spanish football at the moment.

08-04-2010, 11:59 PM
The reason less players from spain have been capped is because of how good the spain squad is.

Roberto Soldado(dunno if you put him in or not)is a 15-20 goal a season striker and cant get a sniff in the spain team becuase of torres and villla where as defoe and crouch who are not as good as soldado (imo)can.

Players like Pedro,Guti,Valeron,Cesar Azpilicueta and Alexis would be in the spain team is players like silva,iniesta,alonso,ramos and pique were not where as players like them in the prem like Ashley young,James milner aaron lennon and Leyton Bains can.

09-04-2010, 01:01 AM
Casillas - 102 caps for Spanish first team
Lopez - which one? There are a few Lopez's in Spain...
Albiol - 22 caps for Spanish first team
Arbeloa - 13 Caps for Spanish first team
Capdevila - 42 caps for Spanish first team
Marchena - 56 caps for Spanish first team
Pique - 15 caps for Spanish first team
Puyol - 81 caps for Spanish first team
Ramos - 57 caps for Spanish first team
Senna - 27 caps for Spanish first team
Alonso - 66 caps for Spanish first team
Busquets - 11 caps for Spanish first team
Xavi - 92 caps for Spanish first team
Iniesta - 40 caps for Spanish first team
Mata - 7 caps for Spanish first team
Navas - 3 caps for Spanish first team*
Silva - 33 caps for Spanish first team
Villa - 55 caps for Spanish first team
Negredo - 4 caps for Spanish first team
Iraola - 5 caps for Spanish first team
Monreal - genuinely don't know?
Cazorla - 24 caps for Spanish first team
Hernandez - 2 caps for Spanish first team
Llorente - 5 caps for Spanish first team

Cap ratio = 762 caps/22 = 34.6 caps average (minus the 2 players I don't know)

*suffers from serious home-sickness so cannot travel

James - 49 caps for English first team
Green - 9 caps for English first team
Hart - 1 cap for English first team
Terry - 59 caps for English first team
Brown - 23 caps for English first team
Upson - 19 caps for English first team
Lescott - 9 caps for English first team
Warnock - 1 cap for English first team
Baines - 1 cap for English first team
Shawcross - 0 caps for English first team (only U21 representation)
Gerrard - 78 caps for English first team
Lampard - 77 caps for English first team
Barry - 36 caps for English first team
Wright-Phillips - 30 caps for English first team
Downing - 23 caps for English first team
Carrick - 21 caps for English first team
Walcott - 9 caps for English first team
Milner - 7 caps for English first team
Rooney - 58 caps for English first team
Heskey - 57 caps for English first team
Defoe - 39 caps for English first team
Crouch - 37 caps for English first team
C Cole - 7 caps for English first team
Robinson - 41 caps for English first team
Foster - 4 caps for English first team
Neville - 85 caps for English first team
A Cole - 77 caps for English first team
R Ferdinand - 76 caps for English first team
Johnson - 8 caps for English first team
King - 19 caps for English first team
Jagielka - 3 caps for English first team
Cahill - 0 caps for English first team
Jenas - 21 caps for English first team
Lennon - 15 caps for English first team
Young - 7 caps for English first team
Huddlestone - 1 cap for English first team
Bent - 5 caps for English first team
Agbonlahor - 3 caps for English first team

Cap ratio = 1015/38 = 26.71 caps per player

And that's just the Spanish/English national sides (though I hesitate to call most of the English players you've named as part of the "national" side - call-ups for friendlies against minnow nations are hardly big occasions!

Some of those players are apples/oranges!

09-04-2010, 06:30 AM
The reason less players from spain have been capped is because of how good the spain squad is.

Roberto Soldado(dunno if you put him in or not)is a 15-20 goal a season striker and cant get a sniff in the spain team becuase of torres and villla where as defoe and crouch who are not as good as soldado (imo)can.

Players like Pedro,Guti,Valeron,Cesar Azpilicueta and Alexis would be in the spain team is players like silva,iniesta,alonso,ramos and pique were not where as players like them in the prem like Ashley young,James milner aaron lennon and Leyton Bains can.

Good point:agree: The Spain squad is 2 deep in worldclass players in every position. Fabregas is an impact sub. Arteta isnt getting a sniff. But both players would probably be in a EPL best 11 squad.

Hibbie_Cameron
09-04-2010, 01:50 PM

Main person to bring up here is Victor Valdes. A top keeper who has no caps and struggles to make some sqauds

09-04-2010, 02:07 PM

I.AM.LOVING.IT that no English team has made it to the Semi Finals:thumbsup::thumbsup:.

All that debt, what a shame.

Best league in the world? My arse.

Your arse is the best league in the world?

09-04-2010, 02:49 PM
Good point:agree: The Spain squad is 2 deep in worldclass players in every position. Fabregas is an impact sub. Arteta isnt getting a sniff. But both players would probably be in a EPL best 11 squad.Yep forgot about arteta great player who can actualy play for england or scotland in a few months.

Main person to bring up here is Victor Valdes. A top keeper who has no caps and struggles to make some sqaudsYeh pepe reina and Palop aswell.