View Full Version : The Way the English Speak

02-04-2010, 02:08 PM
This is NOT an anti English thread, it is about the funny expressions people in different parts of the country use. At least, I think they're funny.

I think it is stange when they say someone was "on Widnes station", eg "Paul Simon wrote the lyrics for Homeward Bound on Widnes Station". In Scotland you are either in the station or at the station.

Anybody got similar expressions?

02-04-2010, 05:27 PM
I lived in Wales for a while, and if I asked anyone where they stayed they didn't have a clue what I was asking, so I had to ask where they lived instead

02-04-2010, 09:22 PM
Pronounce the letter J as "Jai" and you will get some right weird looks.

02-04-2010, 09:31 PM
I was told the word "outwith" is a purely Scottish term which surprised me. it's as useful a word as any :greengrin

02-04-2010, 09:46 PM
This is NOT an anti English thread, it is about the funny expressions people in different parts of the country use. At least, I think they're funny.

I think it is stange when they say someone was "on Widnes station", eg "Paul Simon wrote the lyrics for Homeward Bound on Widnes Station". In Scotland you are either in the station or at the station.

Not doubting you but I have never heard anyone use that term. It's always been "at" or "in".

One thing I can't get my head round is the use of "haway" or "howay" by people in the North east. I know what it means but I automatically equate it to "Ach, away"...a similar sounding term we use which has the exact opposite meaning.

How did these terms originate?...because I can't think of any words in the English language that have been shortened or joined together to form this expression.

02-04-2010, 09:59 PM
I'm stopping in tonight.

hibsdaft
02-04-2010, 10:05 PM
Pronounce the letter J as "Jai" and you will get some right weird looks.

would love to know the background to that one. i say "jay" myself.

02-04-2010, 10:32 PM
I was told the word "outwith" is a purely Scottish term which surprised me. it's as useful a word as any :greengrin

It pretty much is. Confuses the hell out of MS Word anyway!!!

Hibee-Bongo
02-04-2010, 10:56 PM
The word 'bare' instead of 'very' confuses me.

E.g. "It's bare hot outside today."

stu in nottingham
02-04-2010, 11:04 PM

Being brought up in an Anglo-Scottish home I've got a million of them Mr Rolls - mainly Nottinghamese. How long have you got? :greengrin

I think it's a great word and also one I've never heard in England.

02-04-2010, 11:21 PM

Indeed it is. :agree:

Not strictly adhering to FR's theme I have to say it tickles me that English people add an R to certain words and subtract an H from others. For example 'I was in Asdars omeware department' :greengrin

stu in nottingham
02-04-2010, 11:43 PM

Not strictly adhering to FR's theme I have to say it tickles me that English people add an R to certain words and subtract an H from others. For example 'I was in Asdars omeware department' :greengrin

That's a grower, Jonny! One of the best I heard was the kids in a school I was working at talking about the vessels they were being served their tea in. Apparently (and I'll try to get this right) they were drinking from a 'bee-kar' ( a beaker).

In England, language and dialect can, and often is, *******ised to within an inch of it's life. Witness the local 'Vale of Belvoir'. Sounds nice eh? 'The Beautiful Vale'? Only here it's the 'Vale of Beaver' (or should I say 'Beavar'! :wink:

03-04-2010, 02:28 AM

I never knew that.

My flatmate is from Hull and says "do one" as in 'do you want to do one?' i.e. leave.

I'm not sure if it's an English thing but it's a horrendous phrase.

He also calls rolls 'breadcakes'.

03-04-2010, 05:48 AM
I never knew that.

My flatmate is from Hull and says "do one" as in 'do you want to do one?' i.e. leave.

Storar
03-04-2010, 06:35 AM
The only place you will find the word 'internationalist' is within the Scottish football media (according to my 2 English mates)

Leicester Fan
03-04-2010, 07:46 AM
I never knew that.

People in Coventry call them batches whereas the proper (Leicester) word is cob.

03-04-2010, 08:00 AM
People in Coventry call them batches whereas the proper (Leicester) word is cob.

Would you like butter on your baps?

03-04-2010, 08:07 AM
Where do you start?

Pop instead of juice, pants instead of trousers, breadbuns instead of bread rolls, swedes instead of turnips.

And thats before you get started on Geordies, who have a whole different rulebook.

03-04-2010, 08:30 AM

I go mental at all these adverts that are selling "hay kay" products like Pantene, and Silvikrin.

That's a grower, Jonny! One of the best I heard was the kids in a school I was working at talking about the vessels they were being served their tea in. Apparently (and I'll try to get this right) they were drinking from a 'bee-kar' ( a beaker).

In England, language and dialect can, and often is, *******ised to within an inch of it's life. Witness the local 'Vale of Belvoir'. Sounds nice eh? 'The Beautiful Vale'? Only here it's the 'Vale of Beaver' (or should I say 'Beavar'! :wink:

Surely bea-var?:greengrin

I never knew that.

That has to be a contender for some sort of award. These are people who call a council scheme and "estate" of course.

stu in nottingham
03-04-2010, 09:07 AM
I go mental at all these adverts that are selling "hay kay" products like Pantene, and Silvikrin.

Surely bea-var?:greengrin

That has to be a contender for some sort of award. These are people who call a council scheme and "estate" of course.

Always, always an 'estate' in England. Never, ever heard the term 'scheme' used.

Enny rowd up, stop Prattinn abaht an don't be mardy. Ev a look at this bogger!

A Guide to Nottingham English (http://stuartfrew.wordpress.com/2007/09/25/a-guide-to-nottingham-english/)

03-04-2010, 09:23 AM
Always, always an 'estate' in England. Never, ever heard the term 'scheme' used.

Enny rowd up, stop Prattinn abaht an don't be mardy. Ev a look at this bogger!

A Guide to Nottingham English (http://stuartfrew.wordpress.com/2007/09/25/a-guide-to-nottingham-english/)

Now, if I could just find those Alan Sillitoe books that I hid because I couldn't understand them......

stu in nottingham
03-04-2010, 09:27 AM
Now, if I could just find those Alan Sillitoe books that I hid because I couldn't understand them......

Crackin' books yooth! Gerrum read.

03-04-2010, 10:28 AM

I call them teacakes.

Chuckie
03-04-2010, 11:28 AM
I have a Scouse friend who calls his old man - The arl fella..

Leicester Fan
03-04-2010, 12:17 PM

I couldn't find the phrase for "don't shoot" or "Where do I sign on?".:na na:

stu in nottingham
03-04-2010, 01:58 PM
I couldn't find the phrase for "don't shoot" or "Where do I sign on?".:na na:

"Anybody who can do anything in Leicester but make a jumper has got to be a genius." - Brian Clough on Martin O'Neill

thekaratekid
03-04-2010, 02:27 PM
using "how" instead of "why" seems to confuse non-scots

03-04-2010, 02:30 PM

How can you say that?

Marabou Stork
03-04-2010, 02:46 PM

Likewise substituting 'but' for 'though'.

stu in nottingham
03-04-2010, 02:48 PM
Likewise substituting 'but' for 'though'.

Think some people in the north-east of England tend to use that.

stu in nottingham
03-04-2010, 03:22 PM
Examples of Nottinghamese:

Rammel - rubbish or nonsense

Sneck - a bolt or latch

Corsey - pavement

Bobbo - horse

Dudoos - sweets

Twitchel - alleyway

Nesh - feels the cold weather

Yitnee - a coward

Wobby - wasp

Mash - brewing tea

Dab in - hurry up

Tabs - ears

Mardy - spoilt, childish

Leicester Fan
03-04-2010, 03:44 PM
Examples of Nottinghamese:

Rammel - rubbish or nonsense

Mash - brewing tea

Mardy - spoilt, childish

They're Leicester too .Also

Rocks-sweets

Jitty-Alleyway.

hibeeleicester
03-04-2010, 04:51 PM
Jitty - close :agree:

Dont know if you fellow midlands notice but here they say "I brought a TV" Instead of "I Bought a TV" , never got this one , why? Just why?

Also Chewing Gum - Chuddy :confused:

stu in nottingham
03-04-2010, 05:30 PM
:

You'll find the word 'jitty' used in D H Lawrence's works, HL. 'Ginnel' is another word for it but I think that's more at home in Yorkshire.

There's lots for baby talk in Nottm too. 'Bobbars' is sometimes said to young children to take their hands off something.

Best are some of the old expressions. 'So hungry I could eat a 'oss between two bread vans'. :greengrin

03-04-2010, 06:29 PM

Dont know if you fellow midlands notice but here they say "I brought a TV" Instead of "I Bought a TV" , never got this one , why? Just why?

Also Chewing Gum - Chuddy :confused:

In Dublin, when they get in a cab they say "bring me to". For example, "bring me to Temple Bar".

I'm finding this stuff from the Midlands very interesting. It seems that whereas further north we're speaking a Germanic version of English, the language of that area seems more Norse. Anybody able to put me straight on that?

stu in nottingham
03-04-2010, 07:21 PM
It seems that whereas further north we're speaking a Germanic version of English, the language of that area seems more Norse. Anybody able to put me straight on that?

I'm not sure of the language connections you're thinking of FR but I can tell you that there was plenty of Viking activity in the area I live in just north of Nottingham. Danes are recorded as marching down the main road here in the late 800s' on the way from York to sack Nottingham. There are also a good amount of local place names that are of Norse origin such as Woodthorpe and ****horpe - 'Gunni's steading (home) etc.

Maybe you're onto something there?

03-04-2010, 07:34 PM

Same with shot instead of go :greengrin

stu in nottingham
03-04-2010, 07:44 PM
Same with shot instead of go :greengrin

In Nottingham a 'shot' is something you wear underneath your jumper (ganzie)!

03-04-2010, 07:47 PM
I never knew that.

I would say that was an Americanism. Heard it in loads of movies.

03-04-2010, 08:11 PM
Why do we say a half loaf, when we really mean a whole one.

03-04-2010, 08:53 PM
Slightly off topic but my cousin Patricia was down from Aberdeen one time when we were Kids. We were all sitting at the dinner table when she fell off the seat and bumped her head. The conversation went some thing like this.

Lex's Ma - You awright Hen.

Pat- (To her Ma whilst greetin her eyes oot) Fir why is Auntie Marion cryin me a Hen Ma? Sure I'm nae a Hen.

Like it happened yesterday.

03-04-2010, 09:01 PM
Slightly off topic but my cousin Patricia was down from Aberdeen one time when we were Kids. We were all sitting at the dinner table when she fell off the seat and bumped her head. The conversation went some thing like this.

Lex's Ma - You awright Hen.

Pat- (To her Ma whilst greetin her eyes oot) Fir why is Auntie Marion cryin me a Hen Ma? Sure I'm nae a Hen.

Like it happened yesterday.

Calling your son a loon outside of Aberdeen brings some nasty disapproving looks, that's for sure

Leicester Fan
03-04-2010, 09:31 PM
I'm finding this stuff from the Midlands very interesting. It seems that whereas further north we're speaking a Germanic version of English, the language of that area seems more Norse. Anybody able to put me straight on that?
It's the East Midlands really. We're totally different to the West Midlands/Birmingham.

It has been said that English started around the Leicester area as it was on the border between the Danish(viking) area of Britain and the Anglo Saxon half. English was the hybrid language used when trading between the 2 groups.I don't know how true that is though.

04-04-2010, 09:04 AM
It's the East Midlands really. We're totally different to the West Midlands/Birmingham.

It has been said that English started around the Leicester area as it was on the border between the Danish(viking) area of Britain and the Anglo Saxon half. English was the hybrid language used when trading between the 2 groups.I don't know how true that is though.

That's interesting and makes perfect sense to me. As a dialect/language, the East Midlands words are strikingly different from those used a hundred miles, or so, up the road.

I've always been struck by the way people from Nottingham especially have strong northern traits to their dialect and accent. It's a wee bit like Stranraer in that you get a mix of different influences - there it's partly Strathclyde, with a hint of Cumbrian, and a strong hint of Irish.

stu in nottingham
04-04-2010, 09:15 AM
That's interesting and makes perfect sense to me. As a dialect/language, the East Midlands words are strikingly different from those used a hundred miles, or so, up the road.

I've always been struck by the way people from Nottingham especially have strong northern traits to their dialect and accent. It's a wee bit like Stranraer in that you get a mix of different influences - there it's partly Strathclyde, with a hint of Cumbrian, and a strong hint of Irish.

It's quite complex really and within a very few miles in this area the dialect can be quite different. The suburb four miles north of Nottingham I live in has a much different sound to the one in the town of Hucknall which is barely four miles West as the crow flies. You tend to find that towns like the latter, with strong former mining communities have a much more 'Northern' sound. A lot of the former coal mining areas of Nottingham are situated to the North and West of the county and some will have had the influence of miners and familes settling there from the North of England and indeed Scotland

04-04-2010, 09:36 PM
A few years ago there were a number of road accidents on Humberside caused by people going through red lights. The sign said "Halt while lights are red". In the local dialect while means until.

One that gets me is "I was made up". I think it's a Lancashire phrase. Is the speaker invented or simply covered in cosmetics?

05-04-2010, 04:46 PM
One that gets me is "I was made up". I think it's a Lancashire phrase. Is the speaker invented or simply covered in cosmetics?

... or constructed from parts like a robot. Example: Michael Owen, the most boring speaker in the world.

06-04-2010, 08:43 AM
... or constructed from parts like a robot. Example: Michael Owen, the most boring speaker in the world.

Ye ano

HibeeB
06-04-2010, 09:24 AM

Shirley Paz is the best hay kay product?

Posh Swanny
07-04-2010, 12:26 PM
A few years ago there were a number of road accidents on Humberside caused by people going through red lights. The sign said "Halt while lights are red". In the local dialect while means until.

My girlfriend is from deepest, darkest Lancashire and somehow manages to use that when talking about birthdays: "My Dad made up 60 last year". I know someone who is even doing a PhD on the peculiarities of the language/accent in that neck of the woods (Rossendale).

And although it took me a while to pick up on the little Scottishisms, I must say I like and use a lot of them - "outwith" is a brilliant word and "juice" is a much nicer way to describe "pop".

I still haven't warmed to "who's first" being called when Im waiting in a queue though.

Posh Swanny
07-04-2010, 12:28 PM
Oooh, another Scottish one:

"just now".

Love it!

07-04-2010, 12:37 PM
My girlfriend is from deepest, darkest Lancashire and somehow manages to use that when talking about birthdays: "My Dad made up 60 last year". I know someone who is even doing a PhD on the peculiarities of the language/accent in that neck of the woods (Rossendale).

And although it took me a while to pick up on the little Scottishisms, I must say I like and use a lot of them - "outwith" is a brilliant word and "juice" is a much nicer way to describe "pop".

I still haven't warmed to "who's first" being called when Im waiting in a queue though.

One that seems peculiar to Edinburgh, is shop assistants who say "that'll be £5.99 thanks". Surely it should be "£5.99 please"?

Hillsidehibby
08-04-2010, 10:22 AM
Another one I only hear in Edinburgh is "the next again day" . Fair annoys the weegies that one.

08-04-2010, 01:47 PM
Big argument with a guy offshore many moons ago who wanted to know where to get tools from. Sent him to the Toolpusher as he was a driller. Came back even angrier wanting tools to dry himself.

08-04-2010, 07:56 PM
Oooh, another Scottish one:

"just now".

Love it!

Now that is posh.

Us yins say "the now".

08-04-2010, 08:03 PM
Has anyone ever heard Darren Gough on TalkSport? Hopeless.

hibeeleicester
08-04-2010, 08:24 PM
It's quite complex really and within a very few miles in this area the dialect can be quite different. The suburb four miles north of Nottingham I live in has a much different sound to the one in the town of Hucknall which is barely four miles West as the crow flies. You tend to find that towns like the latter, with strong former mining communities have a much more 'Northern' sound. A lot of the former coal mining areas of Nottingham are situated to the North and West of the county and some will have had the influence of miners and familes settling there from the North of England and indeed Scotland

Was in a place called normanton right in the middle of Derby, Nottingham, Mansfield. Its like a farmers accent. Think hot fuzz with a yorkshire hint :confused:

Really weird how different it all is withing a small(ish) area.

08-04-2010, 08:32 PM
I thought having your tea lifted (i.e. it was ready and being served) was Scottish, but talking about it to other folk, it sounds like it might just be Edinburgh?

My personal favourite is probably 'clapping' a dog or a cat. Those unfamiliar with the expression must wonder what the pet has done to deserve such acclamation......

08-04-2010, 08:36 PM
I thought having your tea lifted (i.e. it was ready and being served) was Scottish, but talking about it to other folk, it sounds like it might just be Edinburgh?

My personal favourite is probably 'clapping' a dog or a cat. Those unfamiliar with the expression must wonder what the pet has done to deserve such acclamation......

That's a new one on me.

08-04-2010, 08:45 PM

I've never heard that

08-04-2010, 08:47 PM
That's a new one on me.

I've never heard that

Nor me

09-04-2010, 08:41 AM

A witness at a trial in Lanarksire said their had been "a chap at the door".

The judge caused a few chuckles when he asked, "and how tall was this chep?"

(c. Weekly News)

I was working in a hospital in Fife, and someone said to my colleague "excuse me hen are you the doctor", and she said "no, I'm a nurse, and I' not related to the patient at all".

(c. Central Fife Times)

So a guy goes into a athletics stadium and the man on the door says "are you a pole vaulter", and the bloke replies "no, I'm German and how did you know my name is Walter?"

(c. Chic Murray)

I'm here all week.

HibsMax
10-04-2010, 11:11 AM
In Scotland : I am going to the hospital.
In the US : I am going to hospital.

In Scotland : Shut up, woman! can't you see I'm watching the football?
In the US : Shut up, woman!, can't you see I'm watching football?

For some reason the "the" gets dropped over here.

10-04-2010, 12:30 PM

It's because they don't know how to speak proper English. Heathens!!

stu in nottingham
10-04-2010, 03:37 PM

It's similar here where they would say:

'I'm going on Saturday to watch Panthers'

I think it should be:

'I'm going on Saturday to watch The Panthers.

(I'm not by the way...)

ginger_rice
12-04-2010, 02:22 PM
It's a wee bit like Stranraer in that you get a mix of different influences - there it's partly Strathclyde, with a hint of Cumbrian, and a strong hint of Irish.

They call it Galloway Irish and they all add "so it is" to the end of each sentence.

Personally I like local accents although coming fron Stirling I don't have one ken! Some are annoying like Hampshire but Geordie women I could listen to all day.

12-04-2010, 02:27 PM
Roll = Barmcake

Piece = Buttie

Fizzy Juice (Any type) = Lemo

Ice Lolly = Lolly Ice

12-04-2010, 03:15 PM
They call it Galloway Irish and they all add "so it is" to the end of each sentence.

Personally I like local accents although coming fron Stirling I don't have one ken! Some are annoying like Hampshire but Geordie women I could listen to all day.

I don't know about that, if I had to listen to Cheryl Cole for more than 5 minutes I'd be sleeping. She sounds like she's on medication.

ginger_rice
13-04-2010, 02:22 PM
I don't know about that, if I had to listen to Cheryl Cole for more than 5 minutes I'd be sleeping. She sounds like she's on medication.

Aye fair point! Mind you most of the geordie women I know look nothing like she does, I think it's down to the bottles of Broon Ale they drink

cammy1969
13-04-2010, 09:05 PM
the 1 that gets me is in newcastle at the fitba if the scores nil-nil they say nils each

HibsMax
14-04-2010, 12:46 PM

LOL. Believe me, I correct them all the time. ;)

It's embarrassing to admit but after spending 12 years here things I thought I would never say, and resisted for as long as I could, I now say:
gas instead of petrol
hood instead of bonnet
trunk instead of boot
rotary instead of roundabout
windshield instead of windscreen

for some reason most of the differences seem to be car-related. LOL.

14-04-2010, 12:55 PM

It's embarrassing to admit but after spending 12 years here things I thought I would never say, and resisted for as long as I could, I now say:
gas instead of petrol
hood instead of bonnet
trunk instead of boot

:hmmm: Circle anyone :wtf:

14-04-2010, 12:58 PM

gas instead of petrol
hood instead of bonnet
trunk instead of boot

You what??? :dizzy:

And what the hell is a "turnpike"??

Pants instead of trousers is one that causes me some mirth, as is a rubber in US English being a common term for a condom.

ATM for cash machine is the only one that I use with any regularity, and I always scold myself when I do!! :greengrin

14-04-2010, 01:08 PM

gas instead of petrol
hood instead of bonnet
trunk instead of boot

I find myself having to mispronounce English words and names to be understood across here.

For example, nobody understands when I say that we were playing rangers or celtic, I have to say "ronjerz or celteek de glasssgow". Hibs are 'eebernianss" (in true Franck Sauzee style :thumbsup:).

Wimbledon becomes "wambliedon", David Bowie becomes Dahveed Boweee, etc.

It does ma heid in! :grr:

14-04-2010, 01:11 PM
You what??? :dizzy:

And what the hell is a "turnpike"??

Pants instead of trousers is one that causes me some mirth, as is a rubber in US English being a common term for a condom.

ATM for cash machine is the only one that I use with any regularity, and I always scold myself when I do!! :greengrin

Fanny! :tee hee:

14-04-2010, 01:16 PM
I find myself having to mispronounce English words and names to be understood across here.

For example, nobody understands when I say that we were playing rangers or celtic, I have to say "ronjerz or celteek de glasssgow". Hibs are 'eebernianss" (in true Franck Sauzee style :thumbsup:).

Wimbledon becomes "wambliedon", David Bowie becomes Dahveed Boweee, etc.

It does ma heid in! :grr:

Yup - when I was over there, I was working with a class of 10-11 year olds, and several were football mad.

I was teaching English, but explaining something in French, which, for some reason, involved me asking the question.

Who here has heard of David Beckham (with David Beckham pronounced properly)

This illicted not a twitch from the class - 30 blank looks, which perturbed me somewhat, so I asked the question again, this time pronouncing it a la Français:

Daveeede Beck'ammmmm

Bingo!! 30 hands shot up into the air.

:grr::greengrin

---------- Post added at 02:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:15 PM ----------

Fanny! :tee hee:

Lol aye, walking along a walkway (or "boardwalk") next to the beach in California, I was slightly taken aback to hear a mother tell her 8 year old bairn to "sort out your fanny pack"

Apparently his bumbag wasn't on quite right............. :faf:

stu in nottingham
14-04-2010, 01:51 PM

gas instead of petrol
hood instead of bonnet
trunk instead of boot

Automobile-related. :tsk tsk:

Leicester Fan
14-04-2010, 08:40 PM
, as is a rubber in US English being a common term for a condom.

Down here they're called dobbers or jonnies.

15-04-2010, 08:35 AM
What annoys me is the now universal habit of nurses, bank clerks, customer service folk etc of saying "for me" all the time - personalising some mundane task.

Example: Nurse taking blood pressure: "Just roll up your sleeve FOR ME will you?"
Example: In the Bank: "If you could sign here and here FOR ME please."

Do they use this expression at home too? "Could you do the washing up FOR ME dear?"
"If you could just put out the rubbish FOR ME, that would be great."

Twa Cairpets
15-04-2010, 10:02 AM
i lived in West Cumbria for a while - in Workington to be precise - and that is a truly weird accent.

"How you doin' mate" becomes "Oost tha jooyn, marra". Marra being the universally used word for pal/mate.

Also, virtually every sentence ends in "eh", pronounced with a hard "e" as in "egg".

Lastly, despite being married to a Cumbrian for 20 years it is an impossible accent to mimic, even badly. Imagine a hybrid of Lancashire, Scouse and Geordie, and you're getting a rough idea.

15-04-2010, 11:11 AM
Roll = Barmcake

Finally a bit of sense on here!

Nowt wrong with saying "made up" as a means of saying you're pleased with something; "I were made up with it" (shocking grammar to say 'were' instead of 'was' and all)

West Cumbria is one strange, strange place though, you're right there TC. Regularly speak to customers at work from the Whitehaven/Wukkington sort of areas and it's almost incomprehensible.

15-04-2010, 11:22 PM
Another one I only hear in Edinburgh is "the next again day" . Fair annoys the weegies that one.

My wife's Weedge, disnae like " the morns morn"

15 years in the nations capital and refuses to call an outsider a heel..... :grr: