View Full Version : Edinburgh Chippy Sauce

aazza91
01-04-2010, 08:30 PM
For all you non Scotland/Edinburgh folk found this amazing site where you can buy undiluted chippy sauce! Already made my first order :thumbsup:

http://www.chippysauce.co.uk/

01-04-2010, 08:45 PM
For all you non Scotland/Edinburgh folk found this amazing site where you can buy undiluted chippy sauce! Already made my first order :thumbsup:

http://www.chippysauce.co.uk/ (http://www.chippysauce.co.uk/)

You can buy gold star stuff in makro and cosco. pickled onions and eggs and sauce i think. Cracking find tho mate

01-04-2010, 09:05 PM
Make your own :agree:

It's brown sauce diluted with either vinegar or water. Take your pick and adjust to personal taste.

I don't make it frequently but when I do it's two-third's HP to one-third's white wine vinegar. Tastes smashing! Bet there's other better homemade versions though, if anyone's offering :thumbsup:

02-04-2010, 08:53 AM
SALT & VINEGAR :thumbsup:

02-04-2010, 09:13 AM
:bitchy:

Don-hibee
02-04-2010, 07:45 PM
Chippy in Balerno sells you bottles of chippy sauce, always a bottle in our cupboards, the kids insist on it

02-04-2010, 08:14 PM
Got to say I'm a salt & vinegar man my self. Sould do a poll though, salt & sauce or salt & vinegar.

02-04-2010, 10:33 PM

Incorrect.

Wrong, and indeed scientifically proven to be an absolute abortion of a combination.

02-04-2010, 11:44 PM
Make your own :agree:

It's brown sauce diluted with either vinegar or water. Take your pick and adjust to personal taste.

I don't make it frequently but when I do it's two-third's HP to one-third's white wine vinegar. Tastes smashing! Bet there's other better homemade versions though, if anyone's offering :thumbsup:

I don't think there are any better, or more authentic recipes than the vinegar one. It's the one almost every chipy uses.

I've made chippy sauce before and it's using the same method as yourself. Every chippy sauce I've tasted in fife or the lothians has exactly the same taste as the basic recipe.

It's an open secret and I find it amazing that some chip shops are selling it in glass bottles for a lot more than what it costs to make.

Do they not, by law, have to list the ingredients?

Ross4356
09-04-2010, 11:37 AM
I worked in a chippy for years and made many a bottle of sauce up in that time. It is Gold Star Sauce and water, we never used vinegar

09-04-2010, 12:00 PM
My local chippy sells it, basically it's brown sauce and lots of vinegar. Most chip shops will make there own.

10-04-2010, 12:48 PM

Got to say I'm a salt & vinegar man my self. Sould do a poll though, salt & sauce or salt & vinegar.

Oh dear oh dear oh dear. I blame the parents. :confused::confused::greengrin

10-04-2010, 01:28 PM
Chippy in Balerno sells you bottles of chippy sauce, always a bottle in our cupboards, the kids insist on it

the wee kids or the big kid ?

10-04-2010, 01:32 PM
the wee kids or the big kid ?

no me :wink:

10-04-2010, 02:11 PM

I like both, but I have a strong preference for sauce. I also make my own, using the 2 parts HP/1 part vinegar recipe noted above.

10-04-2010, 04:06 PM
Salt and Sauce is definitely an Edinburgh area thing.

Brown sauce is minging anyway.

12-04-2010, 02:29 PM
salt & vinegar

13-04-2010, 03:31 PM
salt & vinegar

Yer Barred! :wink:

magnificent_seven
14-04-2010, 12:12 PM
Salt and Vinegar, all the way.

Chippy Sauce/Brown Sauce is revolting.

14-04-2010, 12:22 PM
SALT & SAUCE & VINEGAR!!! :thumbsup:

19-04-2010, 08:59 AM
..just back from a weekend in AYR, where we hit the local on-site chipper and asked for brown, sauce with vinegar.

"youse must befae Edinbru then, aye?" said the wee lady, "folk fae thare aye ask for it like that"

We confirmed we were.

Woman behind us leans forward and asks what we had just asked for, looking completely bamboozled.

Massive container of chips arrives and my haggis pudding(well could only see batter(!) is shoved aside as the wee lady does a zig-zag, ever so gentle of minute squirtings of brown sauce, then proceeds to drown the friggin thing in vinegar with a smattering of white Icelandic Ash, otherwise known as salt. Clueless...:bitchy:

19-04-2010, 09:09 AM

http://www.chippysauce.co.uk/ (http://www.chippysauce.co.uk/)

Hmmm...someone at the St Johns Chippy trying to make a fast internet buck or two(and why not?).

Reads to me that the sauce you buy from them needs to be enhanced by you and you are paying more for lower quality sauce as per this..

http://www.practicallyedible.com/edible.nsf/Pages/chippiesauce (http://www.practicallyedible.com/edible.nsf/Pages/chippiesauce)

Also told you can buy this Gold Star stuff at the following Sainsburys in Edinburgh:

Dalry
Cameron Toll
Meadowbank

although I can't find it online.

19-04-2010, 06:19 PM
A couple of years back I was in the chippy on Easter Road. It was before a Huns game and I was behind a few Huns in the queue who were all getting salt and vinegar on their food. I asked for a bag of chips and the lass behind the counter was just about to put vinegar over them, I said, 'eh naw, salt and sauce'.

Must have thought I was one of the Huns, bloody cheek. :grr:

Salt and Sauce all the way. :thumbsup:

19-04-2010, 08:26 PM
Buy it? You should make your own. Cheapest broon sauce that you can get (Rowatts is good) water it down with the vinegar from pickled onion.

Amazing.

19-04-2010, 10:15 PM
Also told you can buy this Gold Star stuff at the following Sainsburys in Edinburgh:

Dalry
Cameron Toll
Meadowbank

although I can't find it online.

All this sauce talk got my tastebuds going and I was at Savacenyre earlier tonight so searched out a bottle........670g for 99P...:thumbsup:

20-04-2010, 06:29 AM
First thing I'm getting when I'm back is a Haggis super with SALT AND SAUCE.

Maybe a deep fried pizza tae.