View Full Version : This cannot go on ..
07-04-2010, 09:05 PM
Not at all, I actually made the account in jest, and lets not beat about the bush here. David Van Zanten was pants. :devil:
Ok, not 'happy clapper' then. The 'opposite of doom and gloomers' is that any better?
I'm not in the Yogi out brigade either, I just do not like what I have seen and for other fans on here to say that like minded people are 'ridiculous' and 'only after instant success' is also a lazy and jaded view for me.
Thanks for getting past the 606 username :wink:
Sorry, the Happy Clappers comment wasn't aimed at you in particular...........just wanted to get that one off my chest.:greengrin
07-04-2010, 09:06 PM
But let me guess - you can't go into details? :cool2:
Its not a secret, it'll come out soon enough:greengrin
07-04-2010, 09:07 PM
There is only one person to blame for this thread going on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on...................PETRIE ! :grr:
No - I blame global warming.
I think theres something going on behind the scenes:agree:
Shall I ask you to share it with the rest of us or name your source and then we can keep it going for another ten pages?
SloopJB
I think theres something going on behind the scenes:agree:
Of course there's somethong going on behind the scene's.
It'd be a waste of a scene if there wasn't.
07-04-2010, 09:09 PM
This thread has turned into an adolescent shoving and bullying match. A real shame from two prominent posters.
FWIW I have been to every home game and around a third of away games and we have been a very, very lucky side all season.
The last 2-3 months were glimpsed as early as the league cup defeat by St J who completely overran us. Even when we beat them at ER they could have been out of sight.
I am now in apathy mode. Expecting defeat. Just like I expected Ross County to score a late winner and I turned the radio off not really feeling anything.
I don't know what goes on daily within hibs but I do think Hughes is too pally with his players. He also seems to want to be a pal to the fans, the subs etc.
Managers in my view should keep a distance from their staff. Should command respect and be able to make considered decisions that might not make everyone happy but are right for the team.
I like Hughes but he needs to go on a few leadership courses, stop being one of the boys and start making some difficult decisions to the betterment of the team.
If he cannot make that change then he should be punted now as he will never improve as a manager.
07-04-2010, 09:09 PM
Its not a secret, it'll come out soon enough:greengrin
If that's the case why don't you just tell us all........oh wait a minute, I'm doing it amn't I?
07-04-2010, 09:10 PM
If that's the case why don't you just tell us all........oh wait a minute, I'm doing it amn't I?
I'm not posting about them. Apathys creeping in.
07-04-2010, 09:12 PM
I'm not posting about them. Apathys creeping in.
That is tota.................ach I really can't be bothered replying.
07-04-2010, 09:13 PM
13 pages and still no further forward...I cannae believe I just spent 10 mins reading (erm, I mean skimming) all the posts and nowt...
Just tell us what you apparently know or stop posting cryptic pish :greengrin
07-04-2010, 09:14 PM
This thread has turned into an adolescent shoving and bullying match. A real shame from two prominent posters.
FWIW I have been to every home game and around a third of away games and we have been a very, very lucky side all season.
The last 2-3 months were glimpsed as early as the league cup defeat by St J who completely overran us. Even when we beat them at ER they could have been out of sight.
I am now in apathy mode. Expecting defeat. Just like I expected Ross County to score a late winner and I turned the radio off not really feeling anything.
I don't know what goes on daily within hibs but I do think Hughes is too pally with his players. He also seems to want to be a pal to the fans, the subs etc.
Managers in my view should keep a distance from their staff. Should command respect and be able to make considered decisions that might not make everyone happy but are right for the team.
I like Hughes but he needs to go on a few leadership courses, stop being one of the boys and start making some difficult decisions to the betterment of the team.
If he cannot make that change then he should be punted now as he will never improve as a manager.
I see your name but I read your post and I think "Are you a Liberal Democrat?" Is this a metaphor for how you feel about the election?
Next you'll be calling for team selection by STV and a coalition managerial team.
07-04-2010, 09:15 PM
That is tota.................ach I really can't be bothered replying.
That's typical. You've only replied five times this season:grr:
07-04-2010, 09:16 PM
That's typical. You've only replied five times this season:grr:
Did you post up at Dingwall? On yer bike son :grr:
07-04-2010, 09:16 PM
13 pages and still no further forward...I cannae believe I just spent 10 mins reading (erm, I mean skimming) all the posts and nowt...
Just tell us what you apparently know or stop posting cryptic pish :greengrin
Cryptic pish. That would have been a good name for a punk band back in the day.
I think if we could even persuade people to post anagramatic pish it would be a step forward.
07-04-2010, 09:17 PM
No - I blame global warming.
You clearly don't realise that it has been scientifically proven that Rodders is to blame for Global Warming also.
Come on son, keep up ! :greengrin
down the slope
07-04-2010, 09:32 PM
I do not see what is wrong with changing a manager even if it is every season,
as i have said before on other threads what will determine the outcome of Hughes future will be the sale of the new season tickets. Mixu got the bullet sharpish when the tash saw last seasons uptake and this may very well happen this summer as well. To move a manager on might cost us a couple of hundred k but a new manager with fresh ideas- yet again might bring in a million, simple arithmetic for the board to work out. Just because Hughes is a dyed in the wool Hibby does not mean he should get cut any slack more than anyone else, what should be addressed is the tash's ability to pick the right man, how many has that been if Hughes is the wrong choice ?. As for some people on here who keep reminding us we are higher in the league than last year to be honest i do not know how this has happened as we were winning games with the opposition passing the ball through us at will it seems, true we outscored them but it was the most god awfull crap from us for quite a lot of the games-still if that's what some people are happy to put with good luck to them but it is not progress, it is not compotent and we would be found out big time if we ever got to Europe god forbid. This time of the year is when supporters find they have a wee bit of power at their disposal with regards to the ST sales and i know more Hibby's who sit in the hoose on a Saturday than go to ER which should worry the board, i have been told by mates i should renew as i have to give the team my support but why should i in my view reward incompetence ?.
07-04-2010, 09:35 PM
as i have said before on other threads what will determine the outcome of Hughes future will be the sale of the new season tickets. Mixu got the bullet sharpish when the tash saw last seasons uptake and this may very well happen this summer as well. To move a manager on might cost us a couple of hundred k but a new manager with fresh ideas- yet again might bring in a million, simple arithmetic for the board to work out. Just because Hughes is a dyed in the wool Hibby does not mean he should get cut any slack more than anyone else, what should be addressed is the tash's ability to pick the right man, how many has that been if Hughes is the wrong choice ?. As for some people on here who keep reminding us we are higher in the league than last year to be honest i do not know how this has happened as we were winning games with the opposition passing the ball through us at will it seems, true we outscored them but it was the most god awfull crap from us for quite a lot of the games-still if that's what some people are happy to put with good luck to them but it is not progress, it is not compotent and we would be found out big time if we ever got to Europe god forbid. This time of the year is when supporters find they have a wee bit of power at their disposal with regards to the ST sales and i know more Hibby's who sit in the hoose on a Saturday than go to ER which should worry the board, i have been told by mates i should renew as i have to give the team my support but why should i in my view reward incompetence ?.
How many times in your time of watching hibs, have we finished 4th?
07-04-2010, 09:40 PM
It is just a tad ironic that the title of this thread is "This cannot go on .." when in fact it just goes on and on.
Hibby D
07-04-2010, 09:43 PM
Really? And what manager worth his salt would contemplate coming to ER if we carry on with this revolving door nonsense?
We'd end up like our smelly neighbours and we'd only be able to attract the unknown, the has-beens or the generally crap!
07-04-2010, 09:45 PM
I do not see what is wrong with changing a manager even if it is every season
It would stop apathy setting in right enough:agree:
Finishing 4th doesn't paper over the cracks BH. It highlights how bad the rest are. We've been dire.
07-04-2010, 09:48 PM
Finishing 4th doesn't paper over the cracks BH. It highlights how bad the rest are. We've been dire.
If you want to use that analogy, the manager is not papering over the cracks, he is rebuilding. That takes a lot longer to do properly.
07-04-2010, 09:52 PM
Its still improvement though, and to be fair, i don't care about the others, i only want to see us get stronger, and i firmly believe we will under Yogi. He See's the same as us, and will get rid of the dross, but it takes longer than 2 transfer windows to do that. I'd go further, and say he needs to be backed by the club, and they should guarantee him 3 more years.
07-04-2010, 09:52 PM
If you want to use that analogy, the manager is not papering over the cracks, he is rebuilding. That takes a lot longer to do properly.
:agree: Exactly.
07-04-2010, 09:54 PM
:agree: I bet there will be some, who think the new stand should be built in a month, then complain its taking too long.
EskbankHibby
07-04-2010, 10:02 PM
What an absolutely horrible thread this is.
Its still improvement though, and to be fair, i don't care about the others, i only want to see us get stronger, and i firmly believe we will under Yogi. He See's the same as us, and will get rid of the dross, but it takes longer than 2 transfer windows to do that. I'd go further, and say he needs to be backed by the club, and they should guarantee him 3 more years.
It's all opinions. I am not convinced as I have said but I obviously hope I am wrong.
07-04-2010, 10:06 PM
Really. I'm sure some posters have really enjoyed it :greengrin
Hibby D
07-04-2010, 10:07 PM
Why is it horrible?
Someone comes on and starts a thread calling for Yogi's head - the debate as to whether that's a justified statement to make is ongoing :agree:
I agree it's digressed into a bit of one on one at times but even that can be justified in a bizarre sort of way e.g. is the OP informed enough to make that call?
I think most of the replies (from both sides of the debate) are very well thought out and articulate - the rest is just a game of "you've got the jobby touch" - yet still strangely entertaining :greengrin
07-04-2010, 10:09 PM
Its the best thread ive seen for weeks:top marks
07-04-2010, 10:12 PM
That's the sort of statement I'd expect to hear from a yam Garry. If that really is how you feel why are you bothering about coming back?:confused:
Okay D back on topic ..
If I could track back into my old posts I'd show you positive posts when the results were good but they'd also say how the football wasn't good. It still isn't good enough and we were carrying luck. That's a balanced view IMHO.
However, if we weren't lucky earlier on why has the form disintegrated into relegation-like form?
Have the same players become bad players overnight? I don't think so ..
Either we were lucky or things aren't right behind the scenes or the manager cannot change things around - be that players' motiviation or the tactically.
The facts are - our form and the quality of football are poor - and have been so for weeks/months.
I don't see any corners being turned.
I think we've been 'rumbled' and I honestly have little faith in Yogi improving matters - if he could we'd have been back to winning ways weeks ago. Would we not?
Hibby D
07-04-2010, 10:30 PM
Okay D back on topic ..
If I could track back into my old posts I'd show you positive posts when the results were good but they'd also say how the football wasn't good. It still isn't good enough and we were carrying luck. That's a balanced view IMHO.
We were carrying luck? I don't agree. I agree the football wasn't brilliant but I don't believe that unbeaten run was down onlky to luck
However, if we weren't lucky earlier on why has the form disintegrated into relegation-like form?
Have the same players become bad players overnight? I don't think so ..
Neither do I. But I do think some are tired e.g. wotherspoon and a few are now carrying injuries. I also believe there's a confidence issue amongst some players and if they also read this site then no bloody wonder. I'll also concede that some players aren't good enough and yes, on occasion yogi has got his tactics wrong
Either we were lucky or things aren't right behind the scenes or the manager cannot change things around - be that players' motiviation or the tactically.
I don't get this "luck" nonsense! Why does it have to be either or? :confused: I also don't subscribe to "things aren't right behind the scenes". If there is something wrong, or there's been an issue that you know for a fact has affected the dressing room, then bloody well tell us because it really is boring now
The facts are - our form and the quality of football are poor - and have been so for weeks/months.
I agree they've been poor at time but (and here's the broken record bit) - WE'RE STILL SITTING IN 4TH PLACE WITH A CHANCE TO QUALIFY FOR EUROPE!
I don't see any corners being turned.
and sacking the manager would resolve this??
I think we've been 'rumbled' and I honestly have little faith in Yogi improving matters - if he could we'd have been back to winning ways weeks ago. Would we not?
No. It's unrealistic to expect to resolve the many issues affecting our performances in the blink of an eye. Yogi needs time and the board and the fans should be affording him the time needed. Thank God the majority of us appear to be prepared to do just that
So back to my question (or a variation of it). Why are you prepared to return to ER whilst Yogi is in charge if you can't see anything changing whilst he's still in charge? :dunno:
07-04-2010, 10:43 PM
on a side note apparently yogi was at the burnley reserve game tonight looking at jay rod (i know nothin about him) was with some partick scout
07-04-2010, 10:55 PM
on a side note apparently yogi was at the burnley reserve game tonight looking at jay rod (i know nothin about him) was with some partick scout
Another striker :confused: Hope there was more to it than that.
Perspective
07-04-2010, 11:02 PM
Might be wrong but I'm sure he's the boy who was up here on loan at Stirling. Very quick but can't remember much else.
Think we could do with a bit more pace up front, so that's encouraging.
Go out to work for a few hours and when I get back I find out everyone has secrets they're unwilling to share, post are now meant to be cryptic, you have to go to at least 5 games to have a good old moan about the club and manager and we're all still unsure if the first half of the season was any good or that we were just bloody lucky.
If I've missed anything out please let me know but I couldn't be arsed to trawl through all the post again to make sure I hadn't missed anything.
Another striker :confused: Hope there was more to it than that.
That's assuming all the strikers we have will still be here next year.
07-04-2010, 11:05 PM
If I've missed anything out please let me know but I couldn't be arsed to trawl through all the post again to make sure I hadn't missed anything.
It all came out.
:cool2:
It all came out.
Where? when? and by who? and was it not a pretty sit when it did come out.
07-04-2010, 11:15 PM
So back to my question (or a variation of it). Why are you prepared to return to ER whilst Yogi is in charge if you can't see anything changing whilst he's still in charge? :dunno:
D - I get right behind the team - manager and players when at the games. At the Killie game I was appalled at the abuse dished out to the players especially Hogg and Lewis. Wotherspoon got it tight too. There is no need IMHO. I actually prefer the atmosphere away from home also.
I have stayed away before as the Board stalled over removing Blobby and Mixu - but I have no doubt that anything will change with Yogi. I am sure the Board will give him time but (going full circle) regardless of the league standing just now - IMHO - the football/entertainment MUST improve or the fans will be turned off. This will result in falling STs/attendances and this will cost him his job.
07-04-2010, 11:17 PM
Where? when? and by who? and was it not a pretty sit when it did come out.
I can't tell you that I'm afraid.
There are others here who know though.
One of them may tell you.
It's not a secret; just not widely known.
07-04-2010, 11:22 PM
D - I get right behind the team - manager and players when at the games. At the Killie game I was appalled at the abuse dished out to the players especially Hogg and Lewis. Wotherspoon got it tight too. There is no need IMHO. I actually prefer the atmosphere away from home also.
I have stayed away before as the Board stalled over removing Blobby and Mixu - but I have no doubt that anything will change with Yogi. I am sure the Board will give him time but (going full circle) regardless of the league standing just now - IMHO - the football/entertainment MUST improve or the fans will be turned off. This will result in falling STs/attendances and this will cost him his job.
G - I'm struggling to understand why this thread has gone on for so long? Your initial post suggested that you were aware of problems behind the scenes and you'll recall I suggested to you that I couldn't see the point in you saying such things as you were not prepared to elaborate on your sources. Effectively there is no logical response to your initial post other than my first response - why bother? The thread has changed over the days because now it is very much about your own opinions on Yogi and team performances. As will be obvious there are diverse opinions on your stated views but we're still no nearer getting to the root of the question - why post something like that when all it does is unsettle people?
I'm truly at a loss as to your motives
07-04-2010, 11:33 PM
G - I'm struggling to understand why this thread has gone on for so long? Your initial post suggested that you were aware of problems behind the scenes and you'll recall I suggested to you that I couldn't see the point in you saying such things as you were not prepared to elaborate on your sources. Effectively there is no logical response to your initial post other than my first response - why bother? The thread has changed over the days because now it is very much about your own opinions on Yogi and team performances. As will be obvious there are diverse opinions on your stated views but we're still no nearer getting to the root of the question - why post something like that when all it does is unsettle people?
That was one line of many - why do I need a motive? A motive for what? The other concerns I raised were my opinions and I think they are valid.
There are issues behind the scenes but I'm not posting about them.
Yogi ain't the man IMHO.
We'll end up 5th at best.
I don't know when the next convincing performance will be - more worryingly neither do the manager or the players.
The football is rank.
The possession stats of recent weeks tell you everything that's wrong about how we play.
I could go on re Yogi eg more resources than Mixu/the team's around us, the post match havering and pre-match slavering, the subs but what's the point and there in lies another problem for the Board - apathy. It is creeping back into the support at an alarming rate.
Some will say that we cannot sack him - but I fear crowds are and will continue to fall re the quality of the play, the results, the tactics etc and this will catch up with Yogi sooner rather than later. Especially if STs dip after investing in the East.
If I was in charge, I'd be brave and make a change now. It might be an unpopular decision but these are best made early not later.
Glory Glory to the Hibees.
G. See the big red letter, I'm sure your not blind, so we'll get back to the OP, tell us what you know or shut the f*** up, this has been 14 pages of my life that I won't get back, as Jb says I'm at a loss to understand your motives.
07-04-2010, 11:41 PM
That was one line of many - why do I need a motive? A motive for what? The other concerns I raised were my opinions and I think they are valid.
I'm not saying your opinions aren't valid - I've acknowledged twice that you've given them as is your right.
The motive thing was perhaps a poor choice of word on my part. I guess what I'm really asking you is why did you feel the need to start a thread saying all is not well behind the scenes if you were not prepared to substantiate that in some way as being factual. So far you've 'substantiated; it by voicing your own opinions which we could have had and debated without the 'I know something you don't' slant.
Maybe it's just me but threads like this and the Russian Hibs one which are principally the same in that they suggest the thread starter has some piece of knowledge when for whatever reasons they can't or won't back it up with facts. I ask myself - what's the point?
07-04-2010, 11:47 PM
You clearly don't realise that it has been scientifically proven that Rodders is to blame for Global Warming also.
Come on son, keep up ! :greengrin
No - Rod is the product of global warming.
Didn't you notice? Nobody had heard of Rod - then people started to cut down the Brazilian rainforests, and ROD WAS THERE! I mean HERE! Or rather HERE, THERE, and EVERYWHERE!
Did you know that the Universe is the space inside the ball-cock of Rod's downstairs WC?
Think about it - and BE HUMBLED.... :not worth
And they say that global warming's a BAD THING! :coffee:
07-04-2010, 11:50 PM
At the risk of getting binned as usual when i post late on at night this is what gets me too. Sometimes i genuinely feel that some people like TQM just like to feel important or that they are slightly superior and in the know. Generaly these people are in the chattering classes eg golf and dinner party set. They do not love the club as much as ST holders for all their protestations but their voices are heard far more than they are worth. I have rightly been pulled up by you for the personal stuff and hope this doesn't overstep the mark again. For the record i have been to less games than TQM and i think it is my inability to attend games that pee's me off. I don't care how pash we are it still hurts not being able to go to games and listen to folk rubbishing my team. In saying all that he is still wrong, Yogi is the man for now, he has my full backing as i truely believe he hurts as much as i do when we lose and will do all in his power to see us punching our weight eg competing in Europe. The SC well that is Nirvana and i feel we will never win it. It's your destiny as a Hibee to know that. :greengrin
ps TQM you are taking all the stick this time but BH is still the biggest moaner :greengrin
YetholmHibee
07-04-2010, 11:51 PM
07-04-2010, 11:57 PM
Why is it horrible?
Someone comes on and starts a thread calling for Yogi's head - the debate as to whether that's a justified statement to make is ongoing :agree:
I agree it's digressed into a bit of one on one at times but even that can be justified in a bizarre sort of way e.g. is the OP informed enough to make that call?
I think most of the replies (from both sides of the debate) are very well thought out and articulate - the rest is just a game of "you've got the jobby touch" - yet still strangely entertaining :greengrin
Entertaining? Like a dog-fight, you mean, D?
Or one of those weird American reality-shows you sometimes catch on a really obscure channel late at night - "Ninja Bus-Conductors" or "Liposuction For Polygamists".
"Liposuction For Polygamists" btw is on NatGeo Mormon HD, right after "I Lobotomised A Texas Senator And Nobody Ever Noticed".
Crazyhorse
08-04-2010, 12:01 AM
We haven't finished 4th yet. I hope we do but I suppose if we don't hang on to that position arguably the job Yogi has done should be looked at. I thinks Hibs were pretty poor on Saturday (Bamba and Murray excepted) and they were playing against probably the worst Celtic team I have ever seen at ER. But Hibs have been poor all season really and have had their season salvaged by a couple of talented goalscorers. I would like Yogi to succeed and am prepared to give him another season but he must prioritise our defensive and midfield weaknesses.
08-04-2010, 12:14 AM
We haven't finished 4th yet. I hope we do but I suppose if we don't hang on to that position arguably the job Yogi has done should be looked at. I thinks Hibs were pretty poor on Saturday (Bamba and Murray excepted) and they were playing against probably the worst Celtic team I have ever seen at ER. But Hibs have been poor all season really and have had their season salvaged by a couple of talented goalscorers. I would like Yogi to succeed and am prepared to give him another season but he must prioritise our defensive and midfield weaknesses.
OK we found out the crazy bit but why slag off horses. :greengrin
08-04-2010, 12:15 AM
TQM - you weren't at the game on Sun then? I saw a significant improvement in performance in a game which could easily have gone either way. Hopefully this improvement continues at Hamilton Sat along with the result :pray:
08-04-2010, 12:17 AM
:agree: The thread title is an oxymoron :nerd:
08-04-2010, 12:27 AM
TQM - you weren't at the game on Sun then? I saw a significant improvement in performance in a game which could easily have gone either way. Hopefully this improvement continues at Hamilton Sat along with the result :pray:
There was improvement on Sunday - I agree and posted so. I repsonded to some negative posts saying that I disagreed with those that didn't see improvement.
This was via the telly so I must caveat my opinion before so one else does it for me! :wink:
Heckys Wheel
08-04-2010, 01:34 AM
I'm not saying your opinions aren't valid - I've acknowledged twice that you've given them as is your right.
The motive thing was perhaps a poor choice of word on my part. I guess what I'm really asking you is why did you feel the need to start a thread saying all is not well behind the scenes if you were not prepared to substantiate that in some way as being factual. So far you've 'substantiated; it by voicing your own opinions which we could have had and debated without the 'I know something you don't' slant.
Maybe it's just me but threads like this and the Russian Hibs one which are principally the same in that they suggest the thread starter has some piece of knowledge when for whatever reasons they can't or won't back it up with facts. I ask myself - what's the point?
Agenda is the word you're looking for.
I can't see any other reason for a Hibby to criticise the board, the manager, the pitch, the players as much as he does without having an agenda. Trying to sway a support that could go one way or the other. What possible agenda would make a Hibby want to have the rest of the support on the managers back rather than support him?
As for the "I know a secret but I'm no telling ye!" I still can't understand why people give these guys the attention their craving.
08-04-2010, 06:14 AM
I've been grumbling about this for years, JB.
Some folk on here are either frustrated Keith Jacksons (as is evidenced by the 'I can exclusively reveal' or 'my sources tell me' pish or variants of them) or just love the attention that comes with being thought of as 'in the know'. Everyone gets titbits of 'secret' information from Hibs every now and again but I think that some like to exaggerate how much they get.
A perfect example of someone who does it right is Mikey. Gets a fair amount of information, posts what he wants to but never, ever does the 'I know a secret and you don't' nonsense.
08-04-2010, 06:39 AM
Some folk on here are either frustrated Keith Jacksons (as is evidenced by the 'I can exclusively reveal' or 'my sources tell me' pish or variants of them) or just love the attention that comes with being thought of as 'in the know'. Everyone gets titbits of 'secret' information from Hibs every now and again but I think that some like to exaggerate how much they get.
A perfect example of someone who does it right is Mikey. Gets a fair amount of information, posts what he wants to but never, ever does the 'I know a secret and you don't' nonsense.
Beefy - this post is not a dig at you.
The behind the scenes issue I referred to are, if posted libellous. With hindsight that one line shouldn't have been posted.
That aside, if folks think the thread is horrible etc why are they posting? Why not ignore it. Better still let's no have posts with opinions and turn the site into Pravda with official and press links only. Perhaps even get the Admins to vet the press stories so we only get bland stories.
Seriosuly, though the rest of the OP raises many other issues - most significantly disagreed with and most significantly agreed with. Which is what a messageboard is all about.
08-04-2010, 06:52 AM
The behind the scenes issue I referred to are, if posted libellous.
So do what was suggested 14 pages ago, drop a hint.
Is it on the Scale of 'Six Hibs Players go out Dogging with John Terry's Missus'?
Or more along the lines of 'Thicot thinks McCormack has halitosis'?
We're all ears:agree:
Disc O'Dave
08-04-2010, 07:07 AM
The behind the scenes issue I referred to are, if posted libellous.
Surely it's only libellous if it isn't true? Are you saying it's all made up?
08-04-2010, 07:09 AM
08-04-2010, 07:36 AM
Surely it's only libellous if it isn't true? Are you saying it's all made up?
Not at all. It could be libellous if it cannot be proved.
08-04-2010, 07:41 AM
Not at all. It could be libellous if it cannot be proved.
Are you going to answer my question?
08-04-2010, 07:43 AM
Beefy - this post is not a dig at you.
The behind the scenes issue I referred to are, if posted libellous. With hindsight that one line shouldn't have been posted.
That aside, if folks think the thread is horrible etc why are they posting? Why not ignore it. Better still let's no have posts with opinions and turn the site into Pravda with official and press links only. Perhaps even get the Admins to vet the press stories so we only get bland stories.
Seriosuly, though the rest of the OP raises many other issues - most significantly disagreed with and most significantly agreed with. Which is what a messageboard is all about.
thats where the word allegedly comes in, news papers etc use it all the time,it gets round the law suits
08-04-2010, 07:45 AM
thats where the word allegedly comes in, news papers etc use it all the time,it gets round the law suits
I don't think that's strictly true. I thought that was a myth that had grown due to it's usage on Have I Got News For You.
08-04-2010, 07:47 AM
I don't think that's strictly true. I thought that was a myth that had grown due to it's usage on Have I Got News For You.
just watch sky news for half an hour and you will see what i mean !!
by the media saying that it is saying "possibly" without saying it is
thats enough to get round it
08-04-2010, 07:50 AM
just watch sky news for half an hour and you will see what i mean !!
by the media saying that it is saying "possibly" without saying it is
thats enough to get round it
Danderhall is right, its a misconception that allegedly can protect an individual, although it is used to protect media outlets( not always successfully, Private Eye recently fell foul of libel laws despite using 'allegedly')...
I still want TQM to answer my question:faf:
08-04-2010, 07:54 AM
So do what was suggested 14 pages ago, drop a hint.
Is it on the Scale of 'Six Hibs Players go out Dogging with John Terry's Missus'?
Or more along the lines of 'Thicot thinks McCormack has halitosis'?
We're all ears:agree:
:faf: It's more one than two.
08-04-2010, 07:55 AM
Danderhall is right, its a misconception that allegedly can protect an individual, although it is used to protect media outlets( not always successfully, Private Eye recently fell foul of libel laws despite using 'allegedly')...
I still want TQM to answer my question:faf:
ok,hadnt heard that,god they must be skint at that magazine for the times theyve been sued !!
they must have had a bad lawyer !!
anyway, ffs just tell us what it is, or are we at a stage where its really poor info now and it would be embarrassing to say ???
08-04-2010, 07:58 AM
:faf: It's more one than two.
Defender, midfielder or striker?
Is violence a factor?
Is alcohol a factor?
Have you actuallly forgotten what it is?
08-04-2010, 07:59 AM
Is violence a factor?
Is alcohol a factor?
Have you actuallly forgotten what it is?:faf::faf::faf:
08-04-2010, 08:07 AM
The Quiet Man-Hibby D ("The facts are - our form and the quality of football are poor - and have been so for weeks/months.
I agree they've been poor at time but (and here's the broken record bit) - WE'RE STILL SITTING IN 4TH PLACE WITH A CHANCE TO QUALIFY FOR EUROPE!")
the battle cry used to be WE'RE STILL SITTING IN 3rd PLACE WITH A CHANCE TO QUALIFY FOR EUROPE!
08-04-2010, 08:19 AM
The Quiet Man-Hibby D ("The facts are - our form and the quality of football are poor - and have been so for weeks/months.
I agree they've been poor at time but (and here's the broken record bit) - WE'RE STILL SITTING IN 4TH PLACE WITH A CHANCE TO QUALIFY FOR EUROPE!")
the battle cry used to be WE'RE STILL SITTING IN 3rd PLACE WITH A CHANCE TO QUALIFY FOR EUROPE!
And last year and the one before, the battle cry was, can we make the top 6. One step at a time.
08-04-2010, 08:20 AM
Is violence a factor?
Is alcohol a factor?
Have you actuallly forgotten what it is?
Aye - that's it. Thanks for the reminder :wink:
08-04-2010, 08:25 AM
I think that, ultimately, if Yogi records more wins as manager than losses, we're far more likely to finish higher up the table.
08-04-2010, 08:28 AM
I think that, ultimately, if Yogi records more wins as manager than losses, we're far more likely to finish higher up the table.
That might be the case speedway, but if he's allowing the leith version of british bulldogs to happen every day at east mains, his coat might be on a shoogly peg. :wink:
08-04-2010, 08:30 AM
Aye - that's it. Thanks for the reminder :wink:
I thought as much. Let us know next time you have an exclusive and hopefully you won't forget what it is:thumbsup:
08-04-2010, 08:36 AM
That might be the case speedway, but if he's allowing the leith version of british bulldogs to happen every day at east mains, his coat might be on a shoogly peg. :wink:
It's fair to say that if his man management is poor, the players aren't going to respond to him the same way as they would if they did if it wasn't.
08-04-2010, 08:46 AM
It's fair to say that if his man management is poor, the players aren't going to respond to him the same way as they would if they did if it wasn't.
Very true, or it could mean he's got some players who are not up to the fight, and have reached the maximum of what they are prepared to do. And the manager needs to replace those who dont want to put the extra effort in, go that extra mile, and live their life like a professional footballer should?
There is a fine balance between good man management, and being too friendly. Just as there is a fine line between, players giving their all, and players who give their all, and a bit. Yogi has a vision, some players will go in the summer, and he will hopefully replace those who dont want to go with that vision, with players who do.
08-04-2010, 08:48 AM
Very true, or it could mean he's got some players who are not up to the fight, and have reached the maximum of what they are prepared to do. And the manager needs to replace those who dont want to put the extra effort in, go that extra mile, and live their life like a professional footballer should?
There is a fine balance between good man management, and being too friendly. Just as there is a fine line between, players giving their all, and players who give their all, and a bit. Yogi has a vision, some players will go in the summer, and he will hopefully replace those who dont want to go with that vision, with players who do.
Was discussing this yesterday - that number could easily be double figures.
08-04-2010, 08:50 AM
Who with?
08-04-2010, 08:56 AM
Who with?
Why don't you be done with it and ask him out on a date? My wife asks me less questions about my activities than you do to TQM.
08-04-2010, 08:57 AM
Why don't you be done with it and ask him out on a date? My wife asks me less questions about my activities than you do to TQM.
Would be a waste of time IMHO.
TQM is just a big tease ..........,
But is it dross...or just poor management?
Smith/Brown/Makalamby/Stack - (at least 2 I think have some kind of international cap)
Wotherspoon - highly regarded and now in U21 squad
Murray - full Scotland caps
Bamba - off to the World Cup (he hopes)
Miller - ex-Champions League, Celtic and Man U and Ireland squad member
Riordan - full Scotland caps
Stokes - ex-EPL £2m rated striker and Ireland squad member
Benji - Morrocco international
Zemmama - Morrocco international
Hanlon - U21 international/captain
That probably just leaves Hogg, McBride, Rankin and Nish.
I think we should be doing better than we have been over the past 3 months with that lot and certainly should be beating Ross County home or away. So either the players are journeymen/wilderness/will never fulfill their promise types or Hughes hasn't managed them well enough. Or a combination of the two.
Who with?
With fellow posters including Speedway
08-04-2010, 08:58 AM
Would be a waste of time IMHO.
TQM is the biggest tease I have ever come accross...........,
:smokin
08-04-2010, 09:06 AM
Is that an opinion based on gut feeling or based on something else. You use the words 'could easily be', which I guess means might not be. Please elaborate. My understanding is we brought, I think it was, seven through from the under 19s last season and few are figuring so that could make up a large chunk of your double figures.
Do we need a manager who has himself come through the youth professional set up, say someone like JC as opposed to someone who came through the junior ranks? Lewis Stevenson has regressed (IMO) since JC left, some players do seem to be wasting under the current set up. Do we need a fitness and health coach again, I think JC brought a french guy in to do that. What's the answer?
08-04-2010, 09:15 AM
Is that an opinion based on gut feeling or based on something else. You use the words 'could easily be', which I guess means might not be. Please elaborate. My understanding is we brought, I think it was, seven through from the under 19s last season and few are figuring so that could make up a large chunk of your double figures.
Do we need a manager who has himself come through the youth professional set up, say someone like JC as opposed to someone who came through the junior ranks? Lewis Stevenson has regressed (IMO) since JC left, some players do seem to be wasting under the current set up. Do we need a fitness and health coach again, I think JC brought a french guy in to do that. What's the answer?
It's very much up in the air ahibby. Players will get punted IF better players can be found. So while it might be Yogi's intention to punt Lewis for example, he'll only do so once he knows that he's got a better player in his opinion to commit to coming to Hibs.
That's why there 'might' be a lot of movement because Yogi wants to make big changes to the squad but won't leave himself threadbare at the same time.
Maka, Benji and Bamba are the stick ons to go this summer, in my opinion.
08-04-2010, 09:15 AM
:faf: Has this thread taught you nothing?!
For the record, I was discussing the playing squad with somebody the other day. We concluded that there might be some changes in the summer, and some of those could be big surprises. We also may sign five new players.
I know but I'm not telling you!
08-04-2010, 09:32 AM
:faf: Has this thread taught you nothing?!
For the record, I was discussing the playing squad with somebody the other day. We concluded that there might be some changes in the summer, and some of those could be big surprises. We also may sign five new players.
I know but I'm not telling you!
:faf: WTF are you on about :confused: It was an innocent conversation re the current squad - are we no allowed even that now :crazy:
08-04-2010, 09:33 AM
What do you normally have for breakfast?
Something with egg in it i'd imagine; he seems a bit constipated.....:greengrin
08-04-2010, 09:33 AM
bl**dy hell .. innocent conversation about squad changes. Nothing else. Unbelievable!
08-04-2010, 09:34 AM
Something with egg in it i'd imagine; he seems a bit constipated.....:greengrin
At last, a real egg-slusive:top marks
:boo hoo:
08-04-2010, 09:41 AM
At last, a real egg-slusive:top marks
:boo hoo:
Porridge for me
08-04-2010, 10:04 AM
bl**dy hell .. innocent conversation about squad changes. Nothing else. Unbelievable!
You're bringing it on yourself with your secret exclusives. We have reached the point now that we don't know if your talking about an innocent conversation or insider information. Maybe you need to make it clear which?
08-04-2010, 10:08 AM
You're bringing it on yourself with your secret exclusives. We have reached the point now that we don't know if your talking about an innocent conversation or insider information. Maybe you need to make it clear which?
Or we just assume he knows as much as the rest of us? :greengrin
08-04-2010, 10:11 AM
I think you have misread the post and think there is implied emphasis on the 'could' when there isn't.
Just think of the squad and who might leave .. I am sure most of us if not all could get to over 10 players who might not have a future at ER. There's nothing secretive or exclusive about that.
08-04-2010, 10:15 AM
It's all a bit ambiguous TQM - didn't expect that from you!?
Maybe worth editing your initial topic and post changing it to Yogi gtf and take the wasters with you.
08-04-2010, 10:32 AM
Smith/Brown/Makalamby/Stack - (at least 2 I think have some kind of international cap) None are current regulars
Wotherspoon - highly regarded and now in U21 squad Hasn't actually started and has Yogi to thank for getting his chance
Murray - full Scotland caps Not for a while nor the forseeable future
Riordan - full Scotland caps Little chance of that happening again IMO
Benji - Morrocco international WAS
Zemmama - Morrocco international Rarely
I think we should be doing better than we have been over the past 3 months with that lot and certainly should be beating Ross County home or away. So either the players are journeymen/wilderness/will never fulfill their promise types or Hughes hasn't managed them well enough. Or a combination of the two..
Crazyhorse
08-04-2010, 10:36 AM
OK we found out the crazy bit but why slag off horses. :greengrin
I suppose my point is both teams were poor apart from a couple of decent individual performances. Celtic also seemed a bit disinterested and could have played until this morning without scoring if the ref hadn't played his part. A good Hibs team would have beaten them I reckon.
08-04-2010, 10:37 AM
It's all a bit ambiguous TQM - didn't expect that from you!?
Maybe worth editing your initial topic and post changing it to Yogi gtf and take the wasters with you.
I don't think Yogi's going anywhere and he clearly thinks he's not getting enough from certain players. So he'll make sure they'll leave.
08-04-2010, 10:45 AM
I would do, but i'm not sure he'd bother going out with me, and would rather complain about how bad the date would have been, had he gone.
08-04-2010, 10:47 AM
I would do, but i'm not sure he'd bother going out with me, and would rather complain about how bad the date would have been, had he gone.
There's something going on behind the scenes with you two, but I'm not going to post about that.
Col_0762
08-04-2010, 10:58 AM
Don't know if this has been mentioned or is the same ''behind the scenes'' problems the OP talks of. . . I was told on Saturday night by an ex-player that there is a bit of unrest between the players at the moment. What he has been told is that (probably shouldn't name the players) Player A gave Player B a loan of money and Player B is either refusing to pay the money back or is struggling to meet the repayments of said loan. Don't know if it's gambling or for other habbits. Anyway, apparently this bit of business has split the dressing room in half, with one half on Player A's side and the other half with Player B. It wasn't mentioned if Yogi was aware of the situation but I'm guessing if the story is true then he will be, well you would like to think so anyway. Might be something in it, might not be but thought I would throw it into the mixer since there has been no mention of it (from what I can see) and see if any one else had heard similar.
08-04-2010, 11:00 AM
Not really sure how/why half the dressing room could/would take the side of the person who isn't paying back the money he's owe?!
Col_0762
08-04-2010, 11:02 AM
Not really sure how/why half the dressing room could/would take the side of the person who isn't paying back the money he's owe?!
Aye, I would say the same but was might be to do with one player being an ''experienced'' one and the other a ''newcomer''.
08-04-2010, 11:03 AM
Aye, I would say the same but was might be to do with one player being an ''experienced'' one and the other a ''newcomer''.
At last...a twist!
This thread is a belter...
TQM, can you confirm?
08-04-2010, 11:05 AM
Smith/Brown/Makalamby/Stack - (at least 2 I think have some kind of international cap)
Wotherspoon - highly regarded and now in U21 squad
Murray - full Scotland caps
Riordan - full Scotland caps
Benji - Morrocco international
Zemmama - Morrocco international
I think we should be doing better than we have been over the past 3 months with that lot and certainly should be beating Ross County home or away. So either the players are journeymen/wilderness/will never fulfill their promise types or Hughes hasn't managed them well enough. Or a combination of the two.
I think we should be doing better than we have, i don't think you will find a hibby that doesn't. The team you have picked does not play very often though, some of those regular players form has dipped, others have been injured. Those we have to bring in, are not good enough.
How many of those players mentioned above, fit or injured, would you say get into the Dundee Utd team? We should be beating Ross County, but never, cups are a different animal to league games, and although i think we should be beating them, we are never good enough to guarantee that, better teams have tried before, and lost to worse teams than County. I'd say 4th is were we should be at this moment in time, a big improvement from the last few seasons, or am i wrong?
08-04-2010, 11:06 AM
This is fast becoming one of my favourite all time threads :thumbsup: 16 pages from OP speculation which contained less concrete material than a barrat hoose.
08-04-2010, 11:07 AM
Why don't you be done with it and ask him out on a date?
He cant even manage 2 hours on a Saturday afternoon, what's the chances of blackpoolhibs getting him to commit to a whole evening?
08-04-2010, 11:08 AM
Don't know if this has been mentioned or is the same ''behind the scenes'' problems the OP talks of. . . I was told on Saturday night by an ex-player that there is a bit of unrest between the players at the moment. What he has been told is that (probably shouldn't name the players) Player A gave Player B a loan of money and Player B is either refusing to pay the money back or is struggling to meet the repayments of said loan. Don't know if it's gambling or for other habbits. Anyway, apparently this bit of business has split the dressing room in half, with one half on Player A's side and the other half with Player B. It wasn't mentioned if Yogi was aware of the situation but I'm guessing if the story is true then he will be, well you would like to think so anyway. Might be something in it, might not be but thought I would throw it into the mixer since there has been no mention of it (from what I can see) and see if any one else had heard similar.
No idea how true this is, but even if it is, and this is the issues we are hearing about,:faf: it should not be something to be used to beat the manager up over.
08-04-2010, 11:15 AM
I'm going to lift the lid on this highly controversial one...
was down at ER early doors on Sunday and when the players first started warming up, I heard wee Ranks shouting "Oi..!! Deeks, gizze a 'squid' off you the now and I'll pay you back when we get intae the dressing rooms."
Deek appeared to fling him a 'Basset' and wee Ranks pulled a fast one under the eyes of the coaching staff as he skipped over the wall and into the concourse of the West Lower north end whereupon he purchased a Happy Hibbee ticket.
Transpired he lifted the jackpot and only gave Deek his 'tin lid' back and all hell broke loose at full rime as Deek wanted "at least a tenner or you're getting it".
So there you have it, now mind....dinnae tell anyone ah telt yaes....:cool2:
08-04-2010, 11:23 AM
At last...a twist!
This thread is a belter...
TQM, can you confirm?
:cool2: and there's more ..
Hibby 2005
08-04-2010, 11:24 AM
I think we should be doing better than we have, i don't think you will find a hibby that doesn't. The team you have picked does not play very often though, some of those regular players form has dipped, others have been injured. Those we have to bring in, are not good enough.
How many of those players mentioned above, fit or injured, would you say get into the Dundee Utd team? We should be beating Ross County, but never, cups are a different animal to league games, and although i think we should be beating them, we are never good enough to guarantee that, better teams have tried before, and lost to worse teams than County. I'd say 4th is were we should be at this moment in time, a big improvement from the last few seasons, or am i wrong?
We're not even guaranteed 4th place in a season where we've gone from Champions League contenders to Hearts thinking they can pip us for 5th spot! Yogi's had us sinking like the proverbial lead balloon since February and has been unable to stop the rot in a season of two halfs, yes we improved the first 4 or 5 months but at the moment we're as bad if not worse than when Mixu was in charge. I would be less concerned if we had started the season badly but were finishing on a high as I would then see us improving even more next season.
I've no doubt Yogi will change the squad for the better, it's what he does with them, 4-3-3 formations, players out of position and bad substitutions, that concerns me.
08-04-2010, 11:25 AM
He cant even manage 2 hours on a Saturday afternoon, what's the chances of blackpoolhibs getting him to commit to a whole evening?
I'm good for most week nights though :greengrin
:cool2: and there's more ..
Oh christ here we go again, a wee teaser from TQM, why don't you just say what it is you know or shut up, jeez this is so infuriating.
You don't have to name names, just say what you heard and let us decide if we believe.
SloopJB
08-04-2010, 01:12 PM
I'm just glad this one has been cleared up :agree:
So,
Any rumours around ER recently?
08-04-2010, 01:25 PM
Oh christ here we go again, a wee teaser from TQM, why don't you just say what it is you know or shut up, jeez this is so infuriating.
You don't have to name names, just say what you heard and let us decide if we believe.
:fishin:
hibeemark
08-04-2010, 04:19 PM
Just finished reading! :thumbsup:
It's great to hear so many differing opinions on Yogi's as yet brief tenure... what he's contributed... have we progressed? etc. But I do find myself swayed by the factual evidence on offer ie what I've seen with my own eyes, and the results this season as oppose to the previous... rather than just idle speculation - whichever way that idle speculation is dressed up as top secret 'insider info'! :wink:
No offence to TQM, who seems to enjoy the attention, but considering messageboards are a fairly anonymous medium, it seems a bit contrived (and even needy :dunno:) to imply that your own opinion carries any more weight than anyone else's, simply because you claim to have a conveniently unverifiable 'top secret source'.
Listen to me instead, folks! I have a contact too at Hibs! Honest! I can't reveal who, as I don't want to get them into bother, but obviously this means that you should take my opinions on this board seriously, safe in the knowledge that I know far more than you mere mortals. :blah:
Anyway... as far as Yogi is concerned, I think what we have been reading online (although it does seem to be dying down, as the memory of Dingwall fades) is nothing more than reactionary nonsense from folk who are being far too quick to compare Yogi to Mixu. As has been already mentioned, this is partly Yogi's own fault, as his recent match interviews have admittedly degenerated into Mixu style rambling monologues, seemingly culled from the initial presentation he probably memorised for that interview many months ago.
Talk of 'developing a culture' etc no doubt impressed Petrie and co back then, but it is certainly not what hurting fans want to hear following a defeat to 1st division opposition. That was a complete public relations disaster, especially given our history in the competition, and the way we feel about it. :wtf:
It makes us, the fans, feel as if the manager is blind to what we are seeing, or even fiddling while Rome burns. Following the Cup exit, Yogi should have taken a leaf out Mark McGees' book - fair enough, the Dons are in much deeper doo-doo than ourselves (we're still 4th in the league ffs), but I actually found his humility refreshing following Aberdeen's own shock Cup exit. That is what the fans need to hear - the manager accepting responsiblity - upset, angry, but ultimately vowing to make amends.
Mixu didn't seem to understand how out of touch his vague and distant rhetoric made him sound, and I'm not sure Yogi does either... but there in my opinion, is where the similarity between the two managers ends.
When we were having a 'bad run' under Mixu, the depressing thing was that at no point had he shown us any glimmer of hope prior to that. There was no 'good run' to suggest he had what it took to press on.
Yogi, on the other hand, has. I defy anyone to deny the 'feelgood factor' that returned to Easter Road in 2009. Based on impressive results, and a revitalised club ethos, it really did feel like we were going places, and I'll admit I for one was daring to dream...
Given our strong record during the 1st part of the season, surely Yogi has proved himself in a way that Mixu never did. :dunno: And to be honest, while we were all getting carried away, and counting how many points we needed to catch Celtic etc, who was keeping his feet planted firmly on the ground and emphasising how much work there was still to do, and how premature we were being? Yogi. :agree:
Let the man do his job. Falling away at this point in the season is nothing new, and in fact we've remained in contention for the 2nd and 3rd spots far longer than in previous seasons (rare and distant seasons now too). If he can fortify and revitalise the team in the summer witout losing the likes of Deek and Stokes, then surely we have much to look forward to. :thumbsup:
It's great to hear so many differing opinions on Yogi's as yet brief tenure... what he's contributed... have we progressed? etc. But I do find myself swayed by the factual evidence on offer ie what I've seen with my own eyes, and the results this season as oppose to the previous... rather than just idle speculation - whichever way that idle speculation is dressed up as top secret 'insider info'! :wink:
No offence to TQM, who seems to enjoy the attention, but considering messageboards are a fairly anonymous medium, it seems a bit contrived (and even needy :dunno:) to imply that your own opinion carries any more weight than anyone else's, simply because you claim to have a conveniently unverifiable 'top secret source'.
Listen to me instead, folks! I have a contact too at Hibs! Honest! I can't reveal who, as I don't want to get them into bother, but obviously this means that you should take my opinions on this board seriously, safe in the knowledge that I know far more than you mere mortals. :blah:
Anyway... as far as Yogi is concerned, I think what we have been reading online (although it does seem to be dying down, as the memory of Dingwall fades) is nothing more than reactionary nonsense from folk who are being far too quick to compare Yogi to Mixu. As has been already mentioned, this is partly Yogi's own fault, as his recent match interviews have admittedly degenerated into Mixu style rambling monologues, seemingly culled from the initial presentation he probably memorised for that interview many months ago.
Talk of 'developing a culture' etc no doubt impressed Petrie and co back then, but it is certainly not what hurting fans want to hear following a defeat to 1st division opposition. That was a complete public relations disaster, especially given our history in the competition, and the way we feel about it. :wtf:
It makes us, the fans, feel as if the manager is blind to what we are seeing, or even fiddling while Rome burns. Following the Cup exit, Yogi should have taken a leaf out Mark McGees' book - fair enough, the Dons are in much deeper doo-doo than ourselves (we're still 4th in the league ffs), but I actually found his humility refreshing following Aberdeen's own shock Cup exit. That is what the fans need to hear - the manager accepting responsiblity - upset, angry, but ultimately vowing to make amends.
Mixu didn't seem to understand how out of touch his vague and distant rhetoric made him sound, and I'm not sure Yogi does either... but there in my opinion, is where the similarity between the two managers ends.
When we were having a 'bad run' under Mixu, the depressing thing was that at no point had he shown us any glimmer of hope prior to that. There was no 'good run' to suggest he had what it took to press on.
Yogi, on the other hand, has. I defy anyone to deny the 'feelgood factor' that returned to Easter Road in 2009. Based on impressive results, and a revitalised club ethos, it really did feel like we were going places, and I'll admit I for one was daring to dream...
Given our strong record during the 1st part of the season, surely Yogi has proved himself in a way that Mixu never did. :dunno: And to be honest, while we were all getting carried away, and counting how many points we needed to catch Celtic etc, who was keeping his feet planted firmly on the ground and emphasising how much work there was still to do, and how premature we were being? Yogi. :agree:
Let the man do his job. Falling away at this point in the season is nothing new, and in fact we've remained in contention for the 2nd and 3rd spots far longer than in previous seasons (rare and distant seasons now too). If he can fortify and revitalise the team in the summer witout losing the likes of Deek and Stokes, then surely we have much to look forward to. :thumbsup:
Read a fair bit of this thread and as much as i have my doubts about Yogi,s tactics, it,s difficult to argue with any of your points.Great post :top marks
08-04-2010, 05:41 PM
:agree: Just my thoughts exactly. Let the man do his job - a new manager every eighteen months does no team any good at all.
08-04-2010, 06:55 PM
I was really enjoying the total nonsense on this thread, and there you go and spoil it with some well thought-out good sense:grr::top marks
08-04-2010, 06:58 PM
This is fast becoming one of my favourite all time threads :thumbsup: 16 pages from OP speculation which contained less concrete material than a barrat hoose.
:faf::faf::faf:
08-04-2010, 07:55 PM
Mark - Good post. I will point out that I have shared the info I couldn't post with several on here - and not one person has said I should have posted the info.
Also at no time have I said I know more than others on here - rather that I have debated the points raised.
I would re-iterate it is one line out of many in the OP - and thankfully the thread is mainly, as you say, about 'have we progressed? etc'
I think the insults to fans with a 21,000 seater stadium to fill this is not a smart move IMHO. Also, rowing with journos is particularly ill-judged also. I think if he continues to react Yogi is in danger of having the journos lining up to fire loaded questions at him. Yogi needs to choose his words with greater care going forward IMHO.
I think the glaring comparisons are the 'quality' of the football and the reluctance to change formation .. Yogi's 4-3-3 is Mixu's diamond IMHO.
Mixu's tenure - nevermind 'bad run' - was indeed depressing.
Yogi's 'bad run' seems a real opinion divider - with many saying they don't have confidence in a turn-around and others saying they do. Time'll tell.
I think Yogi needs a derby win too .. hopefully that's just a few weeks away!
The man will be allowed to do his job - he has the Board's support - moreover, I doubt opinions on here and elsewhere haven't carried any weight in the ER Boardroom - and rightly so.
What does count though is attendances - and getting back to winnings ways in a must to maintain/improve crowds and remove some of the creeping apathy that's been evident on here. It will be interesting to see what RP and co. do if the recent poor (relegation?) form extends into the first few months of next season .. let's hope we've no need to discuss such a scenario :thumbsup:
08-04-2010, 08:29 PM
UN - BELIEVE - ABLE
16 pages based basically upon "I know something you don't (maybe)"
All that's needed here are some handbags to dance around, a wee bit Rick Astley or some such in the background and we're set.
This is a Hibs forum so we discuss all things Hibs. How the ****** are we supposed to do that if we don't even know the substance of the matter we are supposedly attempting to discuss?
08-04-2010, 08:35 PM
UN - BELIEVE - ABLE
16 pages based basically upon "I know something you don't (maybe)"
All that's needed here are some handbags to dance around, a wee bit Rick Astley or some such in the background and we're set.
This is a Hibs forum so we discuss all things Hibs. How the ****** are we supposed to do that if we don't even know the substance of the matter we are supposedly attempting to discuss?
There have been developments though. According to TQM above "I will point out that I have shared the info I couldn't post with several on here - and not one person has said I should have posted the info."
So basically, he's PM'd some lucky people (why not me? why not me?:grr:) the truth, and they also think he was right to keep it quiet so he will definitely not be telling anyone else.
It just gets better:faf:
08-04-2010, 08:42 PM
There have been developments though. According to TQM above "I will point out that I have shared the info I couldn't post with several on here - and not one person has said I should have posted the info."
So basically, he's PM'd some lucky people (why not me? why not me?:grr:) the truth, and they also think he was right to keep it quiet so he will definitely not be telling anyone else.
You can shut it too. You're a trouble maker. And I'm not telling you why. It might be something to do with something involving opinions and governments though. Or maybe not.
08-04-2010, 08:42 PM
For the final time - I reckon so many are focussing on one part of the OP 'cause they agree with the substance of the rest of the post eg poor fitbaw, dodgy formation, relegation-like form, Yogi's comments etc
08-04-2010, 08:44 PM
For the final time - I reckon so many are focussing on one part of the OP 'cause they agree with the substance of the rest of the post eg poor fitbaw, dodgy formation, relegation-like form, Yogi's comments etc
is candlewax involved? Just say yes or no. or nod.
08-04-2010, 08:45 PM
Come on! The rest of the post was debated long enough, too.
08-04-2010, 08:46 PM
PM me if you want to know the secret cyber-handshake...
08-04-2010, 08:46 PM
PM me if you want to know the cyber-handshake...
Tell me! Tell me!
08-04-2010, 08:47 PM
Tell me! Tell me!
Cyber-masons! I knew it:grr:
08-04-2010, 08:48 PM
Tell me! Tell me!
I already told Danderhall and he reckons I shouldn't share it with anyone else.
Sorry.
08-04-2010, 08:50 PM
No, they are focussing on the first line because it was daft AND irritating.
08-04-2010, 08:50 PM
Come on! The rest of the post was debated long enough, too.
Aye - but a fair few have also avoided the debate and focussed on digs :wink: must say I didn't know I could be so entertaining :greengrin .. Admittedly they're laughing at me :faf:
08-04-2010, 08:51 PM
is candlewax involved? Just say yes or no. or nod.
I think I can hear him nodding.
08-04-2010, 08:53 PM
I already told Danderhall and he reckons I shouldn't share it with anyone else.
Sorry.
Hibby D
08-04-2010, 08:53 PM
It's great to hear so many differing opinions on Yogi's as yet brief tenure... what he's contributed... have we progressed? etc. But I do find myself swayed by the factual evidence on offer ie what I've seen with my own eyes, and the results this season as oppose to..................(deleted to save space :greengrin)..................................t in the season is nothing new, and in fact we've remained in contention for the 2nd and 3rd spots far longer than in previous seasons (rare and distant seasons now too). If he can fortify and revitalise the team in the summer witout losing the likes of Deek and Stokes, then surely we have much to look forward to. :thumbsup:
What a brilliant post :top marks
Hopefully because it's a load of tosh!!
If whatever allegedly happened has cascaded as far down as TQM and then some of the chosen few on here, then I'd put money on journos also being "in the loop" - and they're obviously not finding it newsworthy.
08-04-2010, 08:54 PM
Aye - but a fair few have also avoided the debate and focussed on digs :wink: must say I didn't know I could be so entertaining :greengrin .. Admittedly they're laughing at me :faf:
To be fair to you TQM, you've been responsible for two absolutely belting threads on here recently, what with this one and that mammoth URGENT East Stand Coming Soon effort!
08-04-2010, 08:56 PM
Tell me! Tell me!
Did we not debate cliques already? I thought I was a somewhat bashful member of the happy clappers but now I'm thinking I may be more inclined to the newly established non-illuminati group kind of a guy.
Anyone want to join? We're meeting at ************'s on **th at *pm and the password is *******s.
08-04-2010, 09:00 PM
Did we not debate cliques already? I thought I was a somewhat bashful member of the happy clappers but now I'm thinking I may be more inclined to the newly established non-illuminati group kind of a guy.
Anyone want to join? We're meeting at ************'s on **th at *pm and the password is *******s.
Phew! You're lucky I can decipher asterisked text. See you on the **th.
Haven't mastered nod/wink lingo yet though so I'm still in the dark about what the behind the scenes issues are...
08-04-2010, 09:00 PM
What a brilliant post :top marks
If whatever allegedly happened has cascaded as far down as TQM and then some of the chosen few on here, then I'd put money on journos also being "in the loop" - and they're obviously not finding it newsworthy.
It wont be anything thats that important, but just another stick to beat Yogi with by TQM. You see, the journalists don't have an agenda like him.
08-04-2010, 09:01 PM
D - I doubt journos know, and think the libellous issue would keep this away from the papers. As an admin, you can see what I've posted in a social group. Why not nip over there and see my post. You can then come back here and tell all if you
a) think its tosh
And/or
b) It something you think I should have posted.
08-04-2010, 09:04 PM
It's on the **th?????
I thought it was on the **rd! :grr::grr::grr:
08-04-2010, 09:05 PM
D - I doubt journos know, and think the libellous issue would keep this away from the papers. As an admin, you can see what I've posted in a social group. Why not nip over there and see my post. You can then come back here and tell all if you
a) think its tosh
And/or
How fresh is this info?
Paul Tosh left Hibs several years ago :confused:
NaeTechnoHibby
08-04-2010, 09:06 PM
Usual PEsh from TQM then :thumbsup:
Not read thid thread :greengrin
08-04-2010, 09:08 PM
How fresh is this info?
Paul Tosh left Hibs several years ago :confused:
Aye but the memory haunts on :greengrin
08-04-2010, 09:10 PM
Aye but the memory haunts on :greengrin
Aye but what about the rest of us, who saw him more than your once?
08-04-2010, 09:11 PM
And even that was when he was playing for Dundee.....
08-04-2010, 09:12 PM
And even that was when he was playing for Dundee.....
:faf::faf::top marks
08-04-2010, 09:13 PM
It's on the **th?????
I thought it was on the **rd! :grr::grr::grr:
No, its the **th. For God's sake pay attention, how many times do I have to tell you? You had the wrong apron on last time too. And remember this month its a goose not a guinea fowl.
08-04-2010, 09:14 PM
I was a lot more regular then .. Certainly no recollection of ever saw him at Dundee as I wasnae living up here
08-04-2010, 09:15 PM
a) think its tosh
And/or
D's no longer an admin, cannae believe you didn't know that!!:cool2:
08-04-2010, 09:17 PM
Who's queen bee then? :greengrin
Should I PM her then?
08-04-2010, 09:18 PM
Mikey.
Should I PM her then?
Aye, that's a good idea. 'cc' me in too. :greengrin
08-04-2010, 09:26 PM
No, its the **th. For God's sake pay attention, how many times do I have to tell you? You had the wrong apron on last time too. And remember this month its a goose not a guinea fowl.
My washing machine was broken :grr:
Be thankful I resorted to the one with the 'Scotsman' newsprint. The alternative was the cartoon naked lady......
08-04-2010, 09:38 PM
My washing machine was broken :grr:
Be thankful I resorted to the one with the 'Scotsman' newsprint. The alternative was the cartoon naked lady......
I like her. I met her sister once..... bit disturbing with your heid on the apron tho. Wait a minute, we're back at Hibsbollah's worrying Thicot shower gel version of 'The truth is out there'.
Anyway the password is Yogieatschickenfeet, just pass it through the recoder using the aquamarine key and you'll have the right version for the **th.
08-04-2010, 09:39 PM
The Hibs.net Admin 6 monthly(?) revolving door has seen more incumbents than the manager's job at Tynecastle.
Hibby D
08-04-2010, 09:42 PM
Should I PM her then?
Arab can be the new Queen bee :greengrin
but I'm still the QoFE :wink:
Rasta_Hibs
08-04-2010, 09:43 PM
Can we delete this thread please?
Its a bit embarrasing!
08-04-2010, 09:44 PM
The Hibs.net Admin 6 monthly(?) revolving door has seen more incumbents than the manager's job at Tynecastle.
That's because there are issues behind the scenes but I'm not posting about them.
08-04-2010, 09:45 PM
That's because there are issues behind the scenes but I'm not posting about them.
I already know ...:wink:
08-04-2010, 09:49 PM
Can we delete this thread please?
Its a bit embarrasing!
Embarrassing to whom ? TQM ?:greengrin
TQM has thicker skin than a Rhino and a thick Shiny brass neck anaw !
He'll not be embarrassed ! He's shameless :greengrin
08-04-2010, 09:50 PM
TQM has thicker skin than NADE and a thick Shiny brass neck like NADE anaw !
He'll not be embarrassed ! He's starving :greengrin
...sorted that for you. :cool2:
08-04-2010, 09:52 PM
Thanks J - I think :faf:
08-04-2010, 09:53 PM
...sorted that for you. :cool2:
08-04-2010, 09:55 PM
A rhino with a shiny brass neck?
We should kill him and stuff him for posterity while we have the chance.
We'll regret it if we don't. You don't see the likes of them too often these days :bitchy:
08-04-2010, 10:02 PM
We'll regret it if we don't. You don't see the likes of them too often these days :bitchy:
What can I say I'm special :greengrin
08-04-2010, 10:03 PM
Only if you are serving in Hospy :greengrin
08-04-2010, 10:06 PM
Only if you are serving in Hospy :greengrin
:faf: brilliant
Well another shift done, TQM is still not telling, bah humbug!!!
The Social meeting of the asterisk/nod/wink society have changed their meeting from the *nd to the **th, now I'l have to rearrange mt schedule to be there and TQM finally admits he's"special", well after reading most of his posts, maybe he is.
Hibby D
08-04-2010, 10:27 PM
Well another shift done, TQM is still not telling, bah humbug!!!
The Social meeting of the asterisk/nod/wink society have changed their meeting from the *nd to the **th, now I'l have to rearrange mt schedule to be there and TQM finally admits he's"special", well after reading most of his posts, maybe he is.
Not publicly anyway :greengrin
It's a shame this thread turned into a bit of a TQM bashing but I've told him he's brought it all on himself and he should shut his gob in future (that's the mother in me :greengrin)when he's privvy to what is allegedly going on behind the scenes.
Anyway having now been made aware of just what that was I can confirm that TQM was right not to post it. Not that it would have been permitted to stand anyway.
08-04-2010, 10:32 PM
It's a shame this thread turned into a bit of a TQM bashing but I've told him he's brought it all on himself and he should shut his gob in future (that's the mother in me :greengrin)when he's privvy to what is allegedly going on behind the scenes.
Anyway having now been made aware of just what that was I can confirm that TQM was right not to post it. Not that it would have been permitted to stand anyway.
That doesnt make us not-privy-to-gossip-peasants feel any better though:boo hoo:
08-04-2010, 10:34 PM
...did you run it by an Admin likes.....:greengrin
08-04-2010, 10:35 PM
673 and is still p1sh. let it go. please.
08-04-2010, 10:40 PM
673 and is still p1sh. let it go. please.
what he said....
08-04-2010, 10:45 PM
Thanks D. That's much appreciated - and good advice re shutting up :aok:
I think the abuse has been worth it - as now I can say I've been cyber-mothered by you! :greengrin
I've decided this thread should be binned - if I can find how fae my Blackberry - and I will do so before I do say (completely) the wrong thing.
08-04-2010, 10:49 PM
Thanks D. That's much appreciated - and good advice re shutting up :aok:
I think the abuse has been worth it - as now I can say I've been cyber-mothered by you! :greengrin
I've decided this thread should be binned - if I can find how fae my Blackberry - and I will do so before I do say (completely) the wrong thing.
Don't think the thread needs to be binned. Surely just shut your trap and it'll drift off into the wilderness....:wink:
08-04-2010, 10:55 PM
Don't think the thread needs to be binned. Surely just shut your trap and it'll drift off into the wilderness....:wink:
Tried that earlier but replied to yet another cheap jibe. If it stays the jibes will continue.
I also told HibbyD when I PM'd her it was going and it is going.
Off to the PC to bin it.
edit - thread closed. Some decent stuff so I wont delete unless asked to or Admin's do so.
08-04-2010, 10:55 PM
wee clip of you giving the blackberry the respect it's due...
YouTube - The Move - Blackberry Way (better quality) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iirNwgdZbjM)[/URL]
08-04-2010, 11:06 PM
wee clip of you giving the blackberry the respect it's due...
YouTube - The Move - Blackberry Way (better quality) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iirNwgdZbjM)[/URL]
Class :thumbsup: