View Full Version : Team for Celtic.

01-04-2010, 01:00 AM
Drop Nish, Rankin, Stevenson, and Stack.

Miller needs a rest right now.

Reinstate Stokes, Galbraith, McBride, Brown and Wotherspoon.

Line-up therefore is:

Brown

Thicot Hogg Bamba Murray

Wotherspoon Cregg McBride Galbraith

Stokes Riordan

This therefore ensues the most reliable defence we have, a midfield of a tough, hard tackling ball winner (Cregg) and a passer of the ball (McBride), who is able to provide service to a creative winger (Wotherspoon) and a fast, direct winger (Galbraith). All this will in turn feed upfront a creative, unpredictable striker (Riordan) and a goalscoring hardworking finisher (Stokes).

Sound good?

WarringtonHibee
01-04-2010, 01:11 AM
I think 11 supporters and maybe some first team players on the bench could give it a good go this Sunday. :wink:

01-04-2010, 06:17 AM
Sounds good to me big man. Not sure if Thicot is a right back, who do we have from the bairns there other than McCormack?

Wouldn't mind seeing Welsh given a shot but this isn't the game.

CraigK
01-04-2010, 06:35 AM
Thicot seem scared to go past the half way line last night, McCormack would be a better shout.

01-04-2010, 06:53 AM

Miller is suspended - probably for the best as he needs a rest right now.

Line-up therefore is:

Brown

Thicot Hogg Bamba Murray

Stokes Riordan

This therefore ensues the most reliable defence we have, a midfield of a tough, hard tackling ball winner (Cregg) and a passer of the ball (McBride), who is able to provide service to a creative winger (Wotherspoon) and a fast, direct winger (Galbraith). All this will in turn feed upfront a creative, unpredictable striker (Riordan) and a goalscoring hardworking finisher (Stokes).

Sound good?

It sounds ok, but we haven't seen brown yet so not sure how we can say he would be part of our most reliable defence :confused:

01-04-2010, 07:08 AM

Line-up therefore is:

Brown

Thicot Hogg Bamba Murray

Stokes Riordan

Sound good?

Not far off the best team we can put out. But to highlight the bits in bold, McBride this year is the player Falkirk fans had told me about, hides when the going gets tough. Stokes hard working? Goal scorer aye, but hard working you're having a laugh.

MontrealHibs
01-04-2010, 07:27 AM
Was stack to blame last night? Why Brown?

M8UDB
01-04-2010, 07:54 AM
Was stack to blame last night? Why Brown?

Stack didnt kick the ball properly all night, apart from that all he had to do was pick the ball out the net :grr:

01-04-2010, 08:04 AM
Team for Celtic???

who cares!!!??

01-04-2010, 08:45 AM

Line-up therefore is:

Brown

Maccormack bamba hanlon Murray

Stokes Riordan

made 2 changes in bold. I seen taggart on the bench last night I believe he's a full back so I would maybe give him a game

Dr Jimmy
01-04-2010, 09:10 AM
[CENTER]Brown/Smith

Thicot Hogg Hanlon Murray

Mcbride

Wotherspoon Bamba Cregg Galbraith

Stokes

01-04-2010, 09:13 AM
Brown - What is there to lose?

McCormack - Maybe he can butt someone and cheer us up

Hogg - Due to lack of options

Bamba - Due to lack of options

Hanlon - Because Lewis is the other option

Wotherspoon - Because he's the only real right sider we've got fit.

Murray - Because the lady loves Milk Tray

McBride - Because you're worth it

Gow - Because it's about time he earned his corn. Bring Danny on, on the hour for Riordan and move Gow up front with Stokes.

Riordan - Because he scores goals

Stokes - Because he scores goals

EH54
01-04-2010, 09:23 AM

Gow - Because it's about time he earned his corn. Bring Danny on, on the hour for Riordan and move Gow up front with Stokes.

Thats my team, :thumbsup:

01-04-2010, 10:28 AM
Thats my team, :thumbsup:
Good mornin' Sir Tom. :wink:

M8UDB
01-04-2010, 10:37 AM

Simples :greengrin

01-04-2010, 10:49 AM
Brown

Wotherspoon Thicot Hanlon Murray

McBride Bamba Cregg

Stokes Nish Riordan

01-04-2010, 04:17 PM
Smith

Thicot
Hanlon
Bamba
Murray

Wotherspoon
Miller
McBride
Galbraith

Stokes
Riordan

yekimevol
01-04-2010, 07:31 PM
brown
mccormack,hogg,hanlon,murray
wortherspoon,bamba,rankin,galbraith
riordan,stokes,

subs
maka
thico
gregg
stevenson
benji
bynre

wont happen seeing as yogi will never use a full pitch he play to narrow.

01-04-2010, 07:49 PM
.......................Stack......................

Taggart?....McCormack..Bamba.....Murray

.................Cregg.....Welsh................

Wotherspoon.......Byrne...........Riordan

.......................Stokes.....................

The new breed :greengrin

01-04-2010, 07:55 PM
.......................................brown...... ..................................................

.................... Hogg.........bamba..........hanlon................ ........................

.wotherspoon...........miller...........murray.... .......gow.........................

.....................................nish .................................................. ........

.................... Stokes ...............riordan

01-04-2010, 07:57 PM
Miller is not banned for this game.

Smith

Thicot/McCormack (either will do)
Hogg (no realistic alternative)
Bamba
Hanlon

Wotherspoon
Miller
Cregg
Murray

Riordan
Stokes

If McBride is fit put him in there instead of Cregg.

hibsfan7
01-04-2010, 07:59 PM
Smith
thicot
hogg
bamba
murray
wotherspoon
cregg
mcbride
rankin
deek
stokes

01-04-2010, 08:02 PM
Smith

Wotherspoon Hogg Murray Hanlon

Miller Mcbride Bamba Gailbraith

Stokes Riordan

01-04-2010, 08:32 PM
i would go for:

_______________Smith

McCormack___Hogg___Hanlon___Murray

_______________Bamba

Wotherspoon____Cregg_____Galbraith

___________________Riordan
___________Stokes

Yogi will have:

______________Stack

Thicot_____Hogg____Bamba____Murray

_____Rankin____Cregg___Stevenson

_____Stokes____Nish____Riordan

007 Mickey Weir
01-04-2010, 08:44 PM
Brown

Thicot Hogg Bamba Murray

Stokes Riordan

[/QUOTE]

Thats the team for me. Also like the idea of giving taggart a go soon!

01-04-2010, 08:47 PM
Brown

Thicot Hogg Murray Stevenson

Wotherspoon Mcbride Bamba Cregg Riordan

Stokes

01-04-2010, 08:48 PM
Team for Celtic???

who cares!!!??
:top marks.........:yawn:

01-04-2010, 08:57 PM
I would stick with the same starting XI, but set out to frustrate Celtic by, above all, starving them of the ball. They aren't a team for chasing and closing down, but you can be sure they will lose discipline if we provoke them to do so - especially with the impatient and hot-headed Lennon in charge. We started well against Dundee Utd, but it was when we lost the second goal that our will to win was shattered. Perhaps showing the players a bit of faith would get more out of them would give them the confidence they need to get the conviction and purpose back into their play. I mean that was the difference last night. As the game went on Utd wanted more and more of the ball, and we were scared of it. No one wanted to take responsibility, and that, of course, leads to players dropping out of the game, hesitating, and making wasteful mistakes.

We really need to get behind whatever team steps out on Sunday, and certainly none of this self defeating antagonism that seems to get spewed at the first opportunity these days.

fife hfc
01-04-2010, 09:12 PM
It appears Miller is being made scapegoat for last night:faf: Anyway I'd go
4-4-2

.............................Brown................ ...............
McCormack......Bamba........hogg................ha nlon
Wotherspoon.....Miller.........Murray..........gal braith
......................Stokes......riordan......... ..............

Would like Hogg out of the team but no real options if hanlon at left back.

01-04-2010, 09:23 PM
I'm with Speedway, as far as McCormack is concerned.

Hopefully he can maybe throw in a wee, fly elbow in Robbie Keane's face in the warm-up and he then suffers from mild concussion and can't play.

That might give us half a chance. :greengrin

My team on Sunday;

Smith

Murray
Hanlon
Bamba
Wotherspoon

Cregg
Miller
Rankin
Galbraith

Stokes
Riordan

SUBS

Brown
Hogg
Thicot
McCormack
Stevenson
Nish
Benjelloun

01-04-2010, 09:45 PM
It appears Miller is being made scapegoat for last night:faf:

Miller is suspended.

01-04-2010, 09:46 PM
Miller is suspended.

Not for Sunday. Misses the 1st game after the split.

01-04-2010, 09:49 PM
Miller is suspended.

No he isn't, the ban doesn't kick in until 14 days after the booking that took him over the points limit.

01-04-2010, 09:58 PM
Smith (pretty certain Yogi will play Stack)

Thicot (no better option at right back)
Hogg
Bamba
Stevenson (so Murray can play in midfield)

Wotherspoon
Murray
Rankin
Galbraith

Riordan
Stokes

I'm sure the team will be nowhere near this though.

01-04-2010, 10:43 PM
Thicot (no better option at right back)

Wotherspoon, McCormack, McCann and even Murray would all be better options at RB than Thicot IMO. Hopeless as a fullback.

01-04-2010, 11:15 PM
A few points:

Thicot isn't as bad as we're making out. Least it's no' van Gantin' :Ummm:

I'd tell Nish the game's been moved to Parkhead. Just to make sure he's nowhere near Leith on Sunday. :devil:

I'd like to see Smith in goal.

I'd like to see Galbraith start.

I'd like to see Bamba or Murray in midfield for a bit of dig, height and presence.

I'd probably like to see Stokes start.

McCormack might be worth a shot.

Don't see any of it happening like. But given that Cregg started on Wed night shortly after a thread on here saying "Play Cregg on Wednesday," who knows what could happen...

rennie_hfc
01-04-2010, 11:23 PM
-------------------Smith
McCormack---Hogg---Hanlon----Murray
---------------Bamba
-----------------------Miller
Wotherspoon-------------------Riordan
---------------Benji----Stokes

02-04-2010, 08:31 AM
made 2 changes in bold. I seen taggart on the bench last night I believe he's a full back so I would maybe give him a game

.......................Stack......................

Taggart?....McCormack..Bamba.....Murray

.................Cregg.....Welsh................

Wotherspoon.......Byrne...........Riordan

.......................Stokes.....................

The new breed :greengrin

Brown

Thicot Hogg Bamba Murray

Stokes Riordan

Thats the team for me. Also like the idea of giving taggart a go soon![/QUOTE]

Can you imagine what would happen in reality if Hughes put an 18 year old midfielder, who isn't even in the first team squad, into the team at right back, to face a Celtic side featuring £65k a week Robbie Keane?

The boy would never play football again.

02-04-2010, 08:46 AM
Can you imagine what would happen in reality if Hughes put an 18 year old midfielder, who isn't even in the first team squad, into the team at right back, to face a Celtic side featuring £65k a week Robbie Keane?

The boy would never play football again.

He'd be crucified and on Easter Sunday as well.

I assumed Taggart was on the bench so we had enough under 21s in the squad?

persevere1875
02-04-2010, 10:18 AM
The one thing that seems to stand out in the vast majority of all these posts is the call for Stack to be dropped so ive no doubt we'll all be shaking our heads when the team sheets announced and Stack's back in again, dont get it personally, he hasnt inspired me at all, so whats Yogi seeing that were not ??? :grr:

persevere1875
02-04-2010, 10:20 AM
Apart from the huddle incident that is .......