View Full Version : Yams Stop The Buses Going Jambo Maroon!

Sanger
31-03-2010, 12:24 PM
http://www.zoomerang.com/Survey/WEB22AEYFXXMYV (http://www.zoomerang.com/Survey/WEB22AEYFXXMYV )

31-03-2010, 12:30 PM
http://www.zoomerang.com/Survey/WEB22AEYFXXMYV (http://www.zoomerang.com/Survey/WEB22AEYFXXMYV )

Why?

31-03-2010, 12:31 PM
Edinburgh trams and buses always were that colour - the 'harlequin' effect was an innovation - as the website explains.

Leith trams were painted black and white - the official colours of the old Leith town council.

The old SMT/Eastern Scottish ones that ran routes out of the city were painted green and a rather manky cream.

Not really bothered what colour the buses are as long as they run frequently, and on time.

31-03-2010, 12:33 PM
Really couldnt care less what colour the buses are. If the Jambos want to use this as a reason to get one over us then that really shows how desperately those straws are being clutched.

31-03-2010, 12:34 PM
I don't use buses so couldn't give a flying one!!

scott7_0(Prague)
31-03-2010, 12:36 PM

They are not going to change them to maroon thought!! :rolleyes:

31-03-2010, 12:36 PM
The big buses should be maroon and the wee buses green. :wink:

MountcastleHibs
31-03-2010, 12:58 PM
Ridiculous petition. The buses were always that colour. Good on Lothian Buses to bring back the old look!

31-03-2010, 01:04 PM
Ridiculous petition. The buses were always that colour. Good on Lothian Buses to bring back the old look!

it's not a petition :greengrin

31-03-2010, 01:06 PM
I liked tha old buses far better than they manky square things they have plastered on the side now.

31-03-2010, 01:11 PM

:agree: :agree:

Lothian Buses = that colour, not this multitude of rainbow colours that we have at this moment.

What's this different routes having different colour schemes gash??

31-03-2010, 01:24 PM
Edinburgh trams and buses always were that colour - the 'harlequin' effect was an innovation - as the website explains.

Leith trams were painted black and white - the official colours of the old Leith town council.

The old SMT/Eastern Scottish ones that ran routes out of the city were painted green and a rather manky cream.

Not really bothered what colour the buses are as long as they run frequently, and on time.

I'm sure the old trams that ran down my way - Pitt St, Pilrig, Ferry Road were all maroon. :dunno:

31-03-2010, 01:29 PM
I'm sure the old trams that ran down my way - Pitt St, Pilrig, Ferry Road were all maroon. :dunno:

PS Here's the tram at pilrig. (http://www.scottishtransport.org/yahoo_site_admin/assets/images/Leith_Walk_at_Pilrig_St.3534602_large.jpg)

AugustaHibs
31-03-2010, 01:31 PM
So we have decided to introduce a modern version of Edinburgh’s traditional "madder and white" colour scheme, which we feel reflects the tradition, culture and elegance of our city.

Jesus. Culture???!?

31-03-2010, 01:36 PM
Do they change the colour of the green lanes doon gorgie?

Naw

Craigie T
31-03-2010, 01:38 PM
What goes beep, beep, beep?

The Hibernian open top bus reversing back into the garage.

Crap joke, but all the jambos at my work think it's brilliant. Chumps!!

31-03-2010, 01:41 PM
If you look at most LRT buses, they already have a maroon trim.

I don't really see the point in wetting the pants about having a maroon bus. Just gives the Borrowers something to laugh about.

31-03-2010, 01:48 PM
Dont mind the maroon buses masel. Tells me Im back in Edinburgh.:thumbsup:

31-03-2010, 02:04 PM

Have you been sitting for a whole week waiting to hit us with that 'perfect' joke or one liner and that's the best you could do?

LTYF!

31-03-2010, 02:09 PM

It didn't the last time we reached a final though did it. :greengrin

Billy McKirdy
31-03-2010, 02:10 PM
TBF it is a return to the original livery, spare a thought for me, Ive got to drive them about :boo hoo:, I first posted my (mock) outrage :grr: on the Lothian Buses drivers blog site ****bus http://www.ezeewebs.co.uk/ (http://www.ezeewebs.co.uk/) a few weeks back and among the typical comments I got back were "get a ****ign grip and grow up, this is fcek all to do with fitbaw!!",.
It's hard to disagree with that :rolleyes:

Do they change the colour of the green lanes doon gorgie?

Naw

aye there pink

Craigie T
Have you been sitting for a whole week waiting to hit us with that 'perfect' joke or one liner and that's the best you could do?

LTYF!

Eh? I only mentioned it because of the thread title.

31-03-2010, 02:11 PM
TBF it is a return to the original livery, spare a thought for me, Ive got to drive them about :boo hoo:, I first posted my (mock) outrage :grr: on the Lothian Buses drivers blog site ****bus http://www.ezeewebs.co.uk/ (http://www.ezeewebs.co.uk/) a few weeks back and among the typical comments I got back were "get a ****ign grip and grow up, this is fcek all to do with fitbaw!!",.
It's hard to disagree with that :rolleyes:

31-03-2010, 02:11 PM

Just tell them there teams a joke,scraping for top 6 is laughable after the utter guff thats been spouted from them in recent years.

Craigie T
31-03-2010, 02:13 PM
Just tell them there teams a joke,scraping for top 6 is laughable after the utter guff thats been spouted from them in recent years.

Don't worry, I have. A couple of my colleagues are Hibees, so we've had our fun, especially after the 4-1 shambles on Saturday.

Billy McKirdy
31-03-2010, 02:13 PM

very clever :greengrin:wink:

BS44
31-03-2010, 02:49 PM
:agree: :agree:

Lothian Buses = that colour, not this multitude of rainbow colours that we have at this moment.

What's this different routes having different colour schemes gash??

It helps people to spot their required bus.

Hibby D
31-03-2010, 03:20 PM
Don't worry, I have. A couple of my colleagues are Hibees, so we've had our fun, especially after the 4-1 shambles on Saturday.

booted oot for telling crap jokes - that's a shame :rolleyes:

31-03-2010, 03:21 PM
It helps people to spot their required bus.

As opposed to just reading the number off the front/back or side?? :confused:

31-03-2010, 03:22 PM

That's discriminatory against blind folk.

31-03-2010, 03:23 PM
booted oot for telling crap jokes - that's a shame :rolleyes:

How have you lasted so long?

Hibby D
31-03-2010, 03:25 PM
How have you lasted so long?

Like you, I'm tolerated :wink:

31-03-2010, 03:26 PM
Like you, I'm tolerated :wink:

Or tolerable?

I actually told that joke a few weeks back....pre-RC.... and I am still here. I guess it's the way one tells 'em..... or the colour of scarf you're wearing at the time.

31-03-2010, 03:29 PM
Who uses buses anyway!?

Peasants!!!

Hibby D
31-03-2010, 03:32 PM
Or tolerable?

I actually told that joke a few weeks back....pre-RC.... and I am still here. I guess it's the way one tells 'em..... or the colour of scarf you're wearing at the time.

Or the timing - post RC would have seen you in protective custody :greengrin

BS44
31-03-2010, 03:43 PM

Ok, if your close to the bus then read the number screen. But, what if the bus is is so far off you can't read the screen?

31-03-2010, 03:50 PM
Actually I do mind the maroon in the buses!

The reason for it is that the council are supposed to be inclusive, diverse and operating an equality policy!

The coulour harks back to the old Hearts supporting Edinburgh mob/council and their now modern day counterparts.

Edinburgh buses need a new look for the more cosmopolitan features of the city.

I though only Glasgow council were this obvious with their orange buses but ours.....???

31-03-2010, 03:50 PM
PS Here's the tram at pilrig. (http://www.scottishtransport.org/yahoo_site_admin/assets/images/Leith_Walk_at_Pilrig_St.3534602_large.jpg)

COMING 2045:greengrin

31-03-2010, 03:52 PM
Ok, if your close to the bus then read the number screen. But, what if the bus is is so far off you can't read the screen?

... then you've bloody missed it.

Billy McKirdy
31-03-2010, 03:53 PM
In Ye oldene dayes...the trams were illuminated at night by 2 coloured lamps on the front...the combination of which indicated the route...now more of us peasants in those days were unable to read or write so this aided there ability to spot there tram...fast forward to the present and the coloured roof tops on some of todays buses are just an updated handy aid for spotting if it is indeed your bus approaching the stop.....historical rant over :greengrin

31-03-2010, 03:54 PM

The reason for it is that the council are supposed to be inclusive, diverse and operating an equality policy!

The coulour harks back to the old Hearts supporting Edinburgh mob/council and their now modern day counterparts.

I though only Glasgow council were this obvious with their orange buses but ours.....???

... prior to about 1970, all Glasgow buses were green and gold, so it was about time the other side got their turn.

And you will also remember the SMT/Eastern Scottish buses, which were all green.

Billy McKirdy
31-03-2010, 03:56 PM

When were you last in Glasgow? Glasgow did indeed have orange buses in the 80s & 90s and before that they were green, white & gold.
First bus are now the main operator in the Glasgow area :blah:

Hibby D
31-03-2010, 03:57 PM
I've been in Nottingham for the weekend - the buses were two tone pink/purple.

Very pretty and pleasant on the eye :thumbsup:

31-03-2010, 05:41 PM

god made the sky blue and the grass green, what did he make maroon?....................lothian buses !!!

got to give them something i suppose:wink:

Davy Mac
31-03-2010, 09:39 PM
Obviously a Motherwell supporter chose the last one.

Jambo bassas the lot of them......

Mixer O
31-03-2010, 09:43 PM
:thumbsup::top marks:greengrin