View Full Version : NHS prescription charge

31-03-2010, 10:24 AM
If you have a prescription (and you pay for them) and you can wait until tomorrow the rate will have been reduced to £3 for each prescription item.

Certificates are likewise reduced.

• Certificates valid for 4 months - £10.00
• Certificates valid for 12 months - £28.00

Scotland only. The prescription charge in England has been frozen for 2010/11 and will remain at £7.20 per item.

31-03-2010, 10:33 AM
If you have a prescription (and you pay for them) and you can wait until tomorrow the rate will have been reduced to £3 for each prescription item.

Certificates are likewise reduced.

• Certificates valid for 4 months - £10.00
• Certificates valid for 12 months - £28.00

Scotland only. The prescription charge in England has been frozen for 2010/11 and will remain at £7.20 per item.Thanks for that Jack ..i was just gonna get my Omeprazole capsules but will wait till the morn now ...:aok:

31-03-2010, 11:02 AM
Thanks for that Jack ..i was just gonna get my Omeprazole capsules but will wait till the morn now ...:aok:

So long as delaying wont cause any harm :agree:

31-03-2010, 12:48 PM
Thanks for that Jack ..i was just gonna get my Omeprazole capsules but will wait till the morn now ...:aok:

Is that the medical name for Viagra tablets? :wink:

31-03-2010, 02:12 PM
So long as delaying wont cause any harm :agree:I still have some left Jack, im awfy bad for forgetting tae remember tae take my medication ..:greengrin

Is that the medical name for Viagra tablets? :wink:At this moment in time i have absolutley no need for viagra i can assure you ...however, never say never ...:greengrin

Ps... they are actually for my greatly improved gastric problem ..:greengrin

31-03-2010, 02:39 PM
I still have some left Jack, im awfy bad for forgetting tae remember tae take my medication ..:greengrin

At this moment in time i have absolutley no need for viagra i can assure you ...however, never say never ...:greengrin

Ps... they are actually for my greatly improved gastric problem ..:greengrin

Heartburn? Tell me about it! Mine's improved since I gave up pastry and peanut butter.

31-03-2010, 02:43 PM
Heartburn? Tell me about it! Mine's improved since I gave up pastry and peanut butter.It was actually severe stomach cramps which lasted almost two weeks...the Doc put it down as gastritis ...with the possibility of it being an ulcer...i however did have a history of heartburn too ..mostly associated with my drinking & love for spicy foods ..:greengrin

01-04-2010, 10:28 AM
Yes well, er, I've given up them too......

01-04-2010, 11:02 AM
Yes well, er, I've given up them too......Ive no given them up ...naw ...just no as often ..:greengrin

Jay
01-04-2010, 12:25 PM
My doc took the hump with me today coz I didn't want a prescription. He wanted to give me diclophenac (sp) and I said it made me ill then he said co-codomol and I said they gave me headaches so he said Brufen and I said I got bad heartburn, he then gave up :greengrin

01-04-2010, 03:31 PM
Doctors are pretty hopeless. I hardly ever attend the surgery but when I do I always get the same guy. He's always free! He looks at me as if to say:"Why are you here?"

He often has to look things up in a big book. I could do that.

01-04-2010, 10:10 PM
Doctors are pretty hopeless. I hardly ever attend the surgery but when I do I always get the same guy. He's always free! He looks at me as if to say:"Why are you here?"

He often has to look things up in a big book. I could do that.

When I visited my new doctor a few months ago, she wrote my ailment on a piece of paper and told me to look it up on the Internet. I was like :wtf:

02-04-2010, 11:45 AM
When I visited my new doctor a few months ago, she wrote my ailment on a piece of paper and told me to look it up on the Internet. I was like :wtf:

This is quite common and is actually sound advice.

Very often the patient understanding the ailment can allow them to self medicate and make life style changes to help alleviate the symptoms or the triggers much more effectively than simply taking a precribed pill.

hibsdaft
02-04-2010, 10:03 PM
i am not an snp supporter but got to give them credit for bringing down the cost of being ill. i have in the past gone without certain medication because of the cost and i'm thousands others have done the same.

credit where credits due.:agree:

03-04-2010, 09:57 AM
i am not an snp supporter but got to give them credit for bringing down the cost of being ill. i have in the past gone without certain medication because of the cost and i'm thousands others have done the same.

credit where credits due.:agree:

Fair enough but it helps when one has faith in the doctor. It also gives a patient a boost if they feel the doc is a wee bit interested in them.

03-04-2010, 05:00 PM
Fair enough but it helps when one has faith in the doctor. It also gives a patient a boost if they feel the doc is a wee bit interested in them.A previous Doctor i had a lot of faith in prescribed me with Zyban to help me stop smoking ....for reasons i wont go into i didnt use the Zyban nor did i stop smoking ..(that was a couple of years ago)

I went back to my Doctors & have a different one as the previous one left ..same reason..to stop smoking ..we discussed Zyban but before he could prescribe them he had to check my previous history ..he phoned me at my house & told me that they done a check & because i suffered a seizure about 10 years ago they would not give me Zyban nor Champix...

I am disappointed that i wasnt allowed the medication but it just goes to show you the differences between two GP's i trusted, one prepared to throw out a prescription without checking my previous health history & the other thorough in his duty of care ..

Ps ..im on patches now !! :greengrin

03-04-2010, 07:15 PM
This is quite common and is actually sound advice.

Very often the patient understanding the ailment can allow them to self medicate and make life style changes to help alleviate the symptoms or the triggers much more effectively than simply taking a precribed pill.

Fair comment, but didn't really help me as she got my diagnosis wrong. Never mind!:rolleyes:

04-04-2010, 03:58 PM
"My doctor is worried about my condition."

That's not a phrase you hear these days, or would expect to hear.