26-03-2010, 11:32 PM
Unacceptable or reasonable? :dunno:

26-03-2010, 11:37 PM
Why would the club try to con you?

26-03-2010, 11:37 PM
Why would the club try to con you?

Mibbae no so much a con....but it's getting ridiculous....

Capt Mainwaring
26-03-2010, 11:45 PM

How much was the top up this season - v - the number of home cup games at say £15 each?

26-03-2010, 11:46 PM

Well if there are three home games, like there were this season, you've conned the club :wink:

26-03-2010, 11:55 PM
It's the gamble you take. If you go to all the home cup games then some seasons, like this one where there were 5 cup games you'll gain, other seasons you'll lose out.

27-03-2010, 12:02 AM
Considering these games used to be included in season tickets, I think it's too much.

It is a gamble of course but giving the club 55 quid for potentially nothing at all would not be one I was prepared to take.

27-03-2010, 12:39 AM
Considering these games used to be included in season tickets, I think it's too much.

It is a gamble of course but giving the club 55 quid for potentially nothing at all would not be one I was prepared to take.

Fortunately for you living in NZ means you don't have the dilemma!

Others want to take the chance and probably see it as more of an investment in the club even if they do lose out.

27-03-2010, 12:43 AM
Well if there are three home games, like there were this season, you've conned the club :wink:

5 home games this season, brechin city, st johnstone, irvine meadow, montrose and ross county:wink: so yeh it was well worth it this year:thumbsup:

27-03-2010, 12:55 AM
5 home games this season, brechin city, st johnstone, irvine meadow, montrose and ross county:wink: so yeh it was well worth it this year:thumbsup:

I paid £25, so definitely worth it

Prof. Shaggy
27-03-2010, 01:35 AM
I had the top up the year we won the league cup.
The Hearts game was worth the ticket.

27-03-2010, 02:12 AM
I paid £25, so definitely worth ityour confusing me. you paid £25 quid,definately worth it,good. but they are asking for £55 quid,how is that definately worth it?:confused:

27-03-2010, 02:33 AM
Fortunately for you living in NZ means you don't have the dilemma!

Others want to take the chance and probably see it as more of an investment in the club even if they do lose out.There are fans prepared to go that extra mile,to put money into the club that they love,conversely there are fans of the same persuation that simply cant afford to gamble with £55. Iwont be taking up that offer.:cool2:

Aaron
27-03-2010, 06:31 AM
your confusing me. you paid £25 quid,definately worth it,good. but they are asking for £55 quid,how is that definately worth it?:confused:

Student prices I guess

27-03-2010, 06:35 AM
Student prices I guess

You got a cheap cup top up as part of the Early Bird deal last year.

hibee
27-03-2010, 08:48 AM
You got a cheap cup top up as part of the Early Bird deal last year.

And that was a good deal but to increase the price for early buyers by 83% is far too much (I think I payed £30 this season but could be wrong). I'm seriously considering not bothering with the cup top up this time even though I've bought it every year since it was available.

It's amazing when times are meant to be hard Hibs decide to stop rewarding loyal fans who buy early, even though it's only another £25 it's not always about the money !

27-03-2010, 08:58 AM
And that was a good deal but to increase the price for early buyers by 83% is far too much (I think I payed £30 this season but could be wrong). I'm seriously considering not bothering with the cup top up this time even though I've bought it every year since it was available.

It's amazing when times are meant to be hard Hibs decide to stop rewarding loyal fans who buy early, even though it's only another £25 it's not always about the money !

It's all change this year though with the new 10 months interest free payment plan. That's making it easier for all fans to purchase season tickets, a good thing surely?
Personally I only bought the cup top up last year because I got it cheaper under the early bird scheme. That was a one off though, I usually just pay the walk up price for cup games.

27-03-2010, 09:14 AM

The police and stewards don't turn up for cup games for free so why should fans get in for free?

Given that it's £405 for an adult now, what would you make the price if cup games were to be included?

Hibby_Paul
27-03-2010, 09:17 AM
Won't be paying £55 myself. The cost I have to pay for season ticket is already too high anyway.

will renew my season but starting to feel like less value for money. Each season I usually miss at least 2 home games due to holiday, boys weekend, other things so always give my season to pal for free. The cost per game is going to be over 20 quid

With cup games the ground will be far bigger so not going to be an issue when I want my seat, might have something on again (added to the fact it's an expensive gamble of course).

Hibs aren't the only thing in my life so will be thinking more carefully about shelling out money next season as a whole.

27-03-2010, 09:47 AM
Hibs got seriously stung financially with the cup top up this season. The Early Bird scheme was very popular and loads of tickets were sold at £25 (conc were even better at £12.50) which means we paid £5 per game

What Hibs didnt bargain for was having 5 home games, they still have to split the home gate 50/50 with the opposition. So at £15 per ticket they took in £5but had to pay out £7.50.

Disregard the Early Bird scheme and a cup top up would have cost you £50 for this season so effectively it is only a £5 increase for next season.

I wont be getting a cup top up for next season but I am going to get a three year season.

27-03-2010, 09:53 AM
Paid the £55 top up. Seems a decent price although the price of the early bird £25 top up last season was fantastic, and Hibs obviously lost a few bob by being so generous.....

27-03-2010, 10:03 AM
Seems expensive to me.

For a fan to "break even" on this we'd need 3 or 4 home matches, depending on the opposition. The max we can get is 5 (assuming we're in Europe) - 2 in the CIS and 3* in the Scottish.

I don't think many folk will take this up - especially with the increase in ST prices.

*edit: Never included replays in this number.

27-03-2010, 10:06 AM
We'll know in a year if it was good value! Certainly an expensive gamble. You win some, you lose some tho!

27-03-2010, 10:07 AM
It's a gamble no body is forcing you to take it. So if we get 5 games at ER next season in the cup you think £55 is to dear. That's £11 a game. I've taken the top up since they started and have always got my fare quota of games.

27-03-2010, 10:14 AM
It's a gamble no body is forcing you to take it. So if we get 5 games at ER next season in the cup you think £55 is to dear. That's £11 a game. I've taken the top up since they started and have always got my fare quota of games.

If we stay in both cups to at least the QF stage and are drawn at home in every round it'll be the equivalent of £11 per match.

27-03-2010, 10:16 AM
The police and stewards don't turn up for cup games for free so why should fans get in for free?

Given that it's £405 for an adult now, what would you make the price if cup games were to be included?

You got any idea what percentage STs dropped by after they stopped including cup games?

franks
27-03-2010, 10:21 AM
Have had a top up every year since it started and if memory serves me well I have only had a slight loss twice but gained 4 or 5 times.

This year alone I have scored £50. Even if there are no home games next season I will still be ahead of the game. I will be getting a top up again, it saves a bit of hassle and even if I lose out the money goes to the club which wont cost me any sleep.

Whether to buy or not is a gamble and a personal choice.

Eric
27-03-2010, 10:28 AM
When SUABC was up and running I was on one of its groups and did a work out for Colin McNeill to help him assess the risk of doing a cup top up.

I have kept the count going and in the last 24 seasons we have had an average of 2.92 home cup games. In only 3 seasons have we had less than 2 with the season we had none - 1990-91 - being when we won the League Cup.:thumbsup:

27-03-2010, 10:29 AM
It's meant as a wee enticer to get money into the club early. Why has it got to seen as a con. I know some can't afford it on top of their season, but for those that can it's seen as a gamble and also giving the club badly needed cash pre season.

WestEndHibee
27-03-2010, 10:37 AM
How much was the top up this season - v - the number of home cup games at say £15 each?

being a student mine cost me £12.50 last year and i got to all 5 cup games averaging out at £2.50 a game! :thumbsup:

27-03-2010, 11:26 AM
They are selling you goods that may not exist. How is this legal?

27-03-2010, 11:36 AM
They are selling you goods that may not exist. How is this legal?

Are you being serious? It's a straightforward transparent contract.

27-03-2010, 11:39 AM
being a student mine cost me £12.50 last year and i got to all 5 cup games averaging out at £2.50 a game! :thumbsup:

The only reason half you lot go to college/university is to get your cheap seats. :wink: Bet the only books you've studied over the past year or so are either associated with Hibs or porn. :greengrin

27-03-2010, 11:41 AM
The only reason half you lot go to college/university is to get your cheap seats. :wink: Bet the only books you've studied over the past year or so are either associated with Hibs or porn. :greengrin

Once you acheive your degrees in those 2 subjects, you need not know more. :wink:

hibee
27-03-2010, 11:53 AM
It's all change this year though with the new 10 months interest free payment plan. That's making it easier for all fans to purchase season tickets, a good thing surely?
Personally I only bought the cup top up last year because I got it cheaper under the early bird scheme. That was a one off though, I usually just pay the walk up price for cup games.

Probably is a good thing, I think I will just pay up front again though, would be gutted at paying £40 a month just now to watch hibs, if it's all paid at the start you don't still feel like you are paying for it at the end of the season when you aren't even looking forward to the games !

27-03-2010, 11:56 AM
Probably is a good thing, I think I will just pay up front again though, would be gutted at paying £40 a month just now to watch hibs, if it's all paid at the start you don't still feel like you are paying for it at the end of the season when you aren't even looking forward to the games !

There is no logic at all to what you have just posted but I understand totally what you mean, I'll probably pay up front as well.:greengrin

27-03-2010, 12:00 PM
Set up another account for the payments to come out of. Pay the sum up front into that account and get the interest. You get the feeling you require and get paid for it. Simples.
Alternatively you can pay it to me up front and I will pay it for you in the stages if it bothers you so much.. If there are any others out there(Mr Marinello) I will quite happily do the same for you poor souls. Serious here by the way. :greengrin

27-03-2010, 12:47 PM
Set up another account for the payments to come out of. Pay the sum up front into that account and get the interest. You get the feeling you require and get paid for it. Simples.
Alternatively you can pay it to me up front and I will pay it for you in the stages if it bothers you so much.. If there are any others out there(Mr Marinello) I will quite happily do the same for you poor souls. Serious here by the way. :greengrin

Cheers.:thumbsup:
I am expecting a large sum to be forwarded to me from Nigeria anyday now as I posted off some dosh to get the funds released last week. I'll send you my season ticket money as soon as it arrives.:agree:

Hibby K
27-03-2010, 03:02 PM
It's meant as a wee enticer to get money into the club early. Why has it got to seen as a con. I know some can't afford it on top of their season, but for those that can it's seen as a gamble and also giving the club badly needed cash pre season.

Don't think it's a con, but not really an enticer for the fans either, as the odds are heavily in favour of the club benefitting. For the fan to benefit you have to have at least 3 home cup ties, and that's at normal prices, not taking into account reductions for lower league opposition games. Potentially you could be paying £55 for one or even no games given the luck of the cup draw or poor form.
I've taken the top up offer every year since introduced but will not be doing so this year. Personally I think a more realistic price should be £40.

27-03-2010, 06:38 PM
Are you being serious? It's a straightforward transparent contract.

Pay us £55 quid and there is a chance we will give you nothing in return. It is nuts to me.

27-03-2010, 06:39 PM
Pay us £55 quid and there is a chance we will give you nothing in return. It is nuts to me.

Bit like going into a bookies and backing the favourite in the 130 at Cheltenham then?

HibbyRod
27-03-2010, 06:47 PM

As M59 says, it is a straightforward gamble - with Hibs getting the cash up front. What's wrong with that when people realise it can go either way, and are prepared to pay? :confused:

27-03-2010, 11:55 PM

Were the stewards and polis free before they stopped allowing season tickets in for cup games?

I don't think £405 is great value anyway, so there is no point in speculating what I think a figure to include cup games should be.

If you miss just ONE game, the 'value' of getting a season ticket, financially speaking, disappears immediately.

hibee
28-03-2010, 09:29 AM

Thanks for the kind offer but I've decided just to pay it to the club up front AND buy the cup top up !

28-03-2010, 10:25 AM
Keep your money, next season we will be relegated, and pumped out both cups by East stirling and Stranraer away.

Hibby_Paul
28-03-2010, 11:24 AM
Were the stewards and polis free before they stopped allowing season tickets in for cup games?

I don't think £405 is great value anyway, so there is no point in speculating what I think a figure to include cup games should be.

If you miss just ONE game, the 'value' of getting a season ticket, financially speaking, disappears immediately.

Aye agree Steve o, over last few seasons I've missed at least 2 home games a season due to weddings, holidays, stag weekend etc. So the value per game I get has already decreased. Added to fact that bigger stadium will mean Im realistically always going to be able to get a ticket if I want albeit not at my same seat.

So not ken to pay even more for gamble of a cup top up. Football pricing is really at an all time high for value you get.

Ps I will still be renewing my season in new east for about my 15th year in a row.

The Old Brigade
29-03-2010, 08:39 PM

Your first sentence just does not stand up to scrutiny. Policing costs only around £3-4k for a cup game against a small team (which moast cup games are) and stewarding (more bodies but less pay) unlikely to be more overall. Given crowds for cup games were around 10,000 this season a £1 charge would more than cover these costs, even if we have 5 home games in cup like in 2009-10 the new price represents charge of £11 per game, ie 11 x the extra costs.

I have bought top up in many years as was happy to put money into Hibs (and also rest of Scottish football for cup top up as gates split) and realise there was a convenience benefit too. But irrelevant for me anyway next year as I want to see what new East Stand and the stewarding is like in practice before deciding whether to keep regulalrly going to home games.

The Old Brigade
29-03-2010, 08:43 PM

I was happy to risk giving the club something for nothing in many past seasons but not this year as were many others. But as per above post not next season as I am not committing in advance to seats in what I fear will be a soulless new stand.

30-03-2010, 09:00 AM
Cheers.:thumbsup:
I am expecting a large sum to be forwarded to me from Nigeria anyday now as I posted off some dosh to get the funds released last week. I'll send you my season ticket money as soon as it arrives.:agree:

How strange. I'm expecting a substantial sum of money from Nigeria as well although it's taking it's time getting here. Hopefully it will arrive soon so I can splash out on a cup top up this year.

30-03-2010, 10:04 AM
How strange. I'm expecting a substantial sum of money from Nigeria as well although it's taking it's time getting here. Hopefully it will arrive soon so I can splash out on a cup top up this year.

Does anybody know the new season ticket prices, and in particular the prices for the new East stand?? If so where can I find it??

30-03-2010, 10:16 AM
Does anybody know the new season ticket prices, and in particular the prices for the new East stand?? If so where can I find it??

It's on the official site mate.

30-03-2010, 11:15 AM
It's on the official site mate.

Cheers mate, ah had already checked but couldnt find it..
Suppose ah should have looked under the price section eh!!

30-03-2010, 04:45 PM
Found it interesting to read that celtic have arranged a game against AZ as they owe theirs season ticket holders a game as they didn't have a home game in the cup. Does anyone knosw if the other spl teams charge cup top ups and if so is £55 about the norm.

30-03-2010, 04:49 PM
Just a quick question, Will the £55 top up cover any euro games or will it just be for our two cup comps.

Green Man
30-03-2010, 04:59 PM
Just a quick question, Will the £55 top up cover any euro games or will it just be for our two cup comps.

Doesn't cover Europe, details here (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100321/extra-options_2262950_2000725?action=16&articleId=2000725&rand=542404)