View Full Version : Wi'a winger and a prerr!

Nitten Hibee
26-03-2010, 08:07 PM
My friend from work has just lost her father he passed away at the grand auld age of 98 she found this poem amongst his belongings she has the original copy she wanted me to share it with :hnet: its clearly about us bein the first team in britain to venture into europe :greengrin
WI'A WINGER AND A PRERR!

WE'RE ALMOST BACK IN EUROPE
AND IT'S NO JUST IN OOR DREAMS,
AH MIND THE FURST TIME WE WIZ THERE
AGAINST A TEAM CALLED RHEIMS.

THE END RESULT ESCAPES ME -
BUT AH NEVER THINK THE WURST.
THE MAIN THING AH REMEMBER -
IN EUROPE - WE WIZ FURST.

IT'S BEEN A 'CHOKER' A' THESE YEARS
NO TAE BE INVOLVED,
BUT NOW THE SLEEPIN' GIANT'S AWOKE
OOR PROBLEMS WILL BE SOLVED

BOARDROOM BATTLES DON'T IMPRESS
SUPPORTERS O' THE TEAM,
IT'S 'FIGHTING SPIRIT' ON THE PARK
WHICH WILL FULFILL OOR DREAM.

THERE'S NO A MAN AT EASTER ROAD
WHO WANT'S TAE SEE US FA' -
SUPPORTERS STAND THERE EVERY WEEK
KICKIN' EVERY BA'.

SUPPORT THE HI-BEES EVERY WEEK
AND GIVE A HELPING HAND.
FIVE THOUSAND 'CENTRE FORWARDS' ALWAYS
SITTIN' IN THE STAND.

SO DIG OOT A' THEY HATS AND SCARVES
COLOURED GREEN AND WHITE
AND GIVE A ROUSIN' CHEER ONCE MORE
NOW WE'VE GOT IT RIGHT.

HOW DAE YE CHEER UP GRAND-CHILDREN
LYIN' GREETIN' ON THE FLAIR -
- REMIND THEM O' THE HIBS, AND SAY -
"GRANDSON, - AH WIZ THERE!"

JIM ANDERSON
THE EASTER ROAD BARD

noseyhibby
26-03-2010, 08:14 PM
HOW DAE YE CHEER UP GRAND-CHILDREN
LYIN' GREETIN' ON THE FLAIR -
- REMIND THEM O' THE HIBS, AND SAY -
"GRANDSON, - AH WIZ THERE!"

JIM ANDERSON
THE EASTER ROAD BARD

Great and moving words...but there's that word again.."FLAIR" aaaagh:boo hoo:

Nitten Hibee
26-03-2010, 08:39 PM
Great and moving words...but there's that word again.."FLAIR" aaaagh:boo hoo:

aye but its being used in a different context tae the nonsense we keep hearing! :wink:

noseyhibby
26-03-2010, 08:44 PM
aye but its being used in a different context tae the nonsense we keep hearing! :wink:

I know:wink:

Nitten Hibee
28-03-2010, 08:10 PM
anymore thoughts on this guys :hnet:

HibeeMcGinn1
28-03-2010, 10:20 PM
This is great. Really shows what this famous club means to people, young or old. RIP

29-03-2010, 11:08 AM
Great stuff. :thumbsup: