View Full Version : Radiation Protection

24-03-2010, 01:21 PM
I’ve recently been looking into getting some radiation protection which would hopefully protect myself from mobile phone and other types of harmful electromagnetic radiation.

http://www.ecomagnets.com/biophone.htm (http://www.ecomagnets.com/biophone.htm)

I think if I understand how the “Biogaurd/Biophones” work that they almost operate in the same way an enzyme would – acting as a catalyst to help enhance our internal mechanisms that are already in place to deal with “alien radiation”.

I’m looking into buying one of the two (either the Biogaurd or the Biophone) simply because I’m based for 37.5hpw within a building that acts as the ‘central hub’ (if you like) for the NHS D&G network. According to workforce demographics I've pulled from our HR info system using Business Objects, we have 676 staff members based within this building. The majority of whom have thier own P.C and desk, all of which are connected to 'the network'. Taking a guesstimate, I'd put money on there being around 500 office based staff in here (taking 100 or so off for Domestic, Catering and other Ancillary members of staff).

I then go home and can spend upto 45mins – 1hr on my mobile phone whilst being in a house that has the T.V, phone line, Internet and Xbox Live all connected through the BT Homehub.

Am I being paranoid to look into protecting myself from electromagnetic radiation?

24-03-2010, 01:23 PM

24-03-2010, 01:40 PM
Why don't you go the whole hog and buy a big plastic bubble to live in, almost like a human hampster, or go and live like a hermit on a remote island, or basically get a life and stop bloody worrying so much. :confused:

Twa Cairpets
24-03-2010, 01:57 PM
I’ve recently been looking into getting some radiation protection which would hopefully protect myself from mobile phone and other types of harmful electromagnetic radiation.

I think if I understand how the “Biogaurd/Biophones” work that they almost operate in the same way an enzyme would – acting as a catalyst to help enhance our internal mechanisms that are already in place to deal with “alien radiation”.

I’m looking into buying one of the two (either the Biogaurd or the Biophone) simply because I’m based for 37.5hpw within a building that acts as the ‘central hub’ (if you like) for the NHS D&G network. According to workforce demographics I've pulled from our HR info system using Business Objects, we have 676 staff members based within this building. The majority of whom have thier own P.C and desk, all of which are connected to 'the network'. Taking a guesstimate, I'd put money on there being around 500 office based staff in here (taking 100 or so off for Domestic, Catering and other Ancillary members of staff).

I then go home and can spend upto 45mins – 1hr on my mobile phone whilst being in a house that has the T.V, phone line, Internet and Xbox Live all connected through the BT Homehub.

Am I being paranoid to look into protecting myself from electromagnetic radiation?

Only lightly paranoid dinkydoo. The people who sell these completely useless devices design their marketing campaigns to make you worry.

Have a look at this (http://skeptoid.com/episodes/4117), and save your money.

If you cant be bothered reading it, the basic info is summarised as :

"...given that no plausible hypothesis exists for how a cell phone could cause tissue damage. RF below the visible spectrum, which includes the frequencies used by cell phones and all radio devices, is not ionizing radiation and so has no potential to damage living cells or break any chemical bonds..."

24-03-2010, 02:11 PM
If you make a wee helmet out of tinfoil, I find this prevents radiation, psychical interference and can reduce your chances of being abducted by aliens.

24-03-2010, 02:30 PM
If you make a wee helmet out of tinfoil, I find this prevents radiation, psychical interference and can reduce your chances of being abducted by aliens.

And ever getting near a 'O' again.

Marabou Stork
24-03-2010, 03:29 PM
Your secret's out. (http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_EC4uykvM7Io/S2LQIL2Y4jI/AAAAAAAAF_s/24V6O8FCl8g/s400/tin-foil-hat.jpg)

ginger_rice
24-03-2010, 06:20 PM
I've done a lot of work in the past on high power communications and radar equipment, and know a wee bit about EMR.

The kit I worked on transmitted power at 1kW where we were told only to work in the area near the aeriel for 2 minutes in every 20. Mobile phones tend to transmit at about 1 or 2w in a good signal area, more if you are in a poor signal area

The jury is still out regarding mobile phones it will not be for about another 20 years or so before long term effects (if any) are noticible.

As the power used in transmit mode is quite small I'm more than happy to use mine, although if you want to err on the side of caution I would try to restrict your calls in duration and keep a specific amount of time each hour free from using your phone ie say 20 minutes in each hour.

Any EMR from the other equipment in your work will be negligible.

If I was you mate I would put your money to some other use.

24-03-2010, 07:07 PM
Dinkydoo scratched his head and blinked.
In a vacant moment at work, he had allowed his mind to wander.
Dangerous stuff.
He gazed round the room: headsets and wireless networks pervaded everything.
Invisible, cooking rays, spreading out like a net, catching all in its unavoidable path.

What can I do about it? His inner voice breathed life to a thread.
(Or maybe that was the radiation?) Cant be good for you all this 'stuff'... Thoughts?
Two Carpets pitched in. Skeptical as ever, embedding a truth nugget.
Steakbake contribued in his usual thoughtful way, until Woody lowered the tone.
Marabou Stork threw in a picture of a man and his pussy, helmets glistening in the flash.
Ginger Rice urged caution, with both time on the mobile and money in the bank.
The airwaves went quiet...

24-03-2010, 07:18 PM

I'm almost willing to bet that the "Only £59.95" BIOGARD is a wee magnet about an inch across, like the ones you get in the back of those fridge decorations....

Snake oil salesmen, mate, snake oil salesmen.

ginger_rice
24-03-2010, 08:33 PM
Dangerous stuff.
Invisible, cooking rays, spreading out like a net, catching all in its unavoidable path.

(Or maybe that was the radiation?) Cant be good for you all this 'stuff'... Thoughts?
Marabou Stork threw in a picture of a man and his pussy, helmets glistening in the flash.

Marabou Stork
25-03-2010, 12:14 AM
Dangerous stuff.

One of the few times I've genuinely laughed out loud at something on here. Superb stuff. :top marks

25-03-2010, 09:38 AM
Only lightly paranoid dinkydoo. The people who sell these completely useless devices design their marketing campaigns to make you worry.

Have a look at this (http://skeptoid.com/episodes/4117), and save your money.

If you cant be bothered reading it, the basic info is summarised as :

"...given that no plausible hypothesis exists for how a cell phone could cause tissue damage. RF below the visible spectrum, which includes the frequencies used by cell phones and all radio devices, is not ionizing radiation and so has no potential to damage living cells or break any chemical bonds..."

Cheers for the info.

All research I've looked into has had very inconclusive, ambigous results and IMO the "tests" people have carried out in the past have so many variables that haven't been taken into consideration I've found it hard to take any of it seriously.

Recently however, after using my mobile (albeit, slightly more frequently than usual) I've been plagued with sore heads. Going away shortly after making the call every time. This prompted me to have a think about the environment I sit in 5 days a week and the possible side effects.

I joked by saying to my GF that it must be because you're so boring :wink:

Not taken very well I must say :faf:

Dangerous stuff.

That was actually quite gid :greengrin

I'm not going to go out and spend 50 quid on something I've done little research on but at the same time I wouldn't take this issue as lightly as some other posters.

If you think about it, mobile phones and most wireless networks use signals that can pass through walls so presumably, they also at times (if required) pass through your skull - which for obvious reason can't be 'good' for you.

Laugh it up - it's not that funny IMO.

25-03-2010, 09:40 AM
Why don't you go the whole hog and buy a big plastic bubble to live in, almost like a human hampster, or go and live like a hermit on a remote island, or basically get a life and stop bloody worrying so much. :confused:

I don't see how a plastic bubble would protect me from EMR :wink:

I'm not seeking protection from anthrax mate :faf:

On second thoughts, living on a remote island would allow me to pursue some of those naked rambling cravings I've had lately!

25-03-2010, 09:50 AM
Through my work, I can confirm that literally every singly mobile phone is tested to be well under the amount of radiation that the body can comfortably get rid of without wearing any "radiation shield" sci-fi tomfoolery.

Unless you literally insert a mobile phone with an external antennae into your scrotum, turn it on and have it constantly searching for a 3G network, there's nothing mobile phones can do to harm you.

25-03-2010, 09:58 AM

I'm not going to go out and spend 50 quid on something I've done little research on but at the same time I wouldn't take this issue as lightly as some other posters.

I was just messing.

Twa Cairpets
25-03-2010, 10:00 AM
Cheers for the info.

All research I've looked into has had very inconclusive, ambigous results and IMO the "tests" people have carried out in the past have so many variables that haven't been taken into consideration I've found it hard to take any of it seriously.

Recently however, after using my mobile (albeit, slightly more frequently than usual) I've been plagued with sore heads. Going away shortly after making the call every time. This prompted me to have a think about the environment I sit in 5 days a week and the possible side effects.

I joked by saying to my GF that it must be because you're so boring :wink:

Not taken very well I must say :faf:

If you think about it, mobile phones and most wireless networks use signals that can pass through walls so presumably, they also at times (if required) pass through your skull - which for obvious reason can't be 'good' for you.

Different types of radiation pass through you every single day. Unless you want to dress yourself head to toe in lead, nothing is going to stop this - most certainly not a little round fridge magnet. It is absolute and complete pseudoscience. The site wont allow a copy and paste of its article, but I promise you, all the stuff about "incompatible resonance" and "distress signals from inorganic crystals" is absolutely and completely made up. Never trust a site making medical claims that gives no studies or links to studies, but vague claims like "many scientists claim" etc etc.

Dont take my word for it though. Check out the evidence (not the marketing) for yourself if you are worried. Here is the World Health Organisation's opinion (http://www.who.int/features/qa/30/en/)

---------- Post added at 11:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:58 AM ----------

Through my work, I can confirm that literally every singly mobile phone is tested to be well under the amount of radiation that the body can comfortably get rid of without wearing any "radiation shield" sci-fi tomfoolery.

Unless you literally insert a mobile phone with an external antennae into your scrotum, turn it on and have it constantly searching for a 3G network, there's nothing mobile phones can do to harm you.

I cant even imagine how you would do that.

25-03-2010, 10:02 AM

Cheers for this.

I've now read the whole article that Twocarpets provided link to and am fairly confident that the instance of me having headaches after using my phone is either down to sheer coincidence or some other factor outwith the EMR theory.

I must say that my fears weren't helped by people around me chipping in with thier thoughts on the matter when it's now become apparent that they didn't really have much of a clue. :rolleyes:

I've not got much knowledge on physics so I didn't have anything to suggest that they were talking out thier backside.

Paranoid....naw

Gullible.....perhaps :faf:

25-03-2010, 10:40 AM
Cheers for this.

I've now read the whole article that Twocarpets provided link to and am fairly confident that the instance of me having headaches after using my phone is either down to sheer coincidence or some other factor outwith the EMR theory.

I must say that my fears weren't helped by people around me chipping in with thier thoughts on the matter when it's now become apparent that they didn't really have much of a clue. :rolleyes:

I've not got much knowledge on physics so I didn't have anything to suggest that they were talking out thier backside.

Paranoid....naw

Gullible.....perhaps :faf:

You'll find that almost any health-based remedy/solution/treatment offered over the internet is highly, highly likely to be absolute cobblers, with any evidence offered to support it being able to be readily dissected by any one with a scrap of intellingence.

25-03-2010, 11:14 AM
You'll find that almost any health-based remedy/solution/treatment offered over the internet is highly, highly likely to be absolute cobblers, with any evidence offered to support it being able to be readily dissected by any one with a scrap of intellingence.

Hence why I didn't rush out to buy it :rolleyes:

Although for a second or two yesterday afternoon I was thinking about it :dizzy:

25-03-2010, 11:19 AM
I was just messing.

I know, I thought it was quite good. :agree:

I'm never quick enough to make up these things on my own.