View Full Version : Hibs players out partying Sunday?

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 09:26 AM
Anyone else hear this? In the company of O'Connor, Quedrue of Birmingham and others. Drinking champagne, visiting Edinburgh's "dancing bars"..........24hrs before they depart for our bigest game of the season! Brilliant eh!

Not sure how many but still one too many after Saturday's display! :bitchy:

23-03-2010, 09:27 AM
Were they training yesterday?

ivan03
23-03-2010, 09:30 AM
garry was out on saturday, so was stokesy. spoke to the both of them... good chat with garry about a possible return. he says he wants to return to hibs(although hes been to the last 3 games and it hasnt been pretty), he says the wages are not a problem, he take " 4,5,6 whatever" he just wants to make sure wer gonna keep a hold of the bigger players! im guessing stokes riordan millar bamba! so fingers crossed, would be good to get him back!

also, said to stokesy that he needs to get us going again, and he said that wer not creating any chances, which is there for us all to see!

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 09:30 AM
Were they training yesterday?

EEN says they were training Sunday in addition to having a good chat. Mibbies after that some decided to "party"?????

23-03-2010, 09:32 AM
Poor show IF true.

Even if you ignore the fact that we have a crucial game tonight, the players should be ashamed to show their faces in public after recent performances/results - Saturday's debacle in particular. :grr:

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 09:36 AM
Poor show IF true.

Even if you ignore the fact that we have a crucial game tonight, the players should be ashamed to show their faces in public after recent performances/results - Saturday's debacle in particular. :grr:

Don't know if it is true and to the extent of the partying, HOWEVER, my feelings were the same as yours and I wanted to know if anyone else knew the truth. No malice, no intention to upset anyone, just cannot believe they would have the nerve after Saturday.

23-03-2010, 09:36 AM
Maybe they weren't partying. Maybe they were just our for a drink with Garry.

Were any of them falling about drunk? Or are they just simply not allowed out?

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 09:38 AM
Maybe they weren't partying. Maybe they were just our for a drink with Garry.

Were any of them falling about drunk? Or are they just simply not allowed out?

24hrs before leaving for RC? 24hrs after that embarrasssment that was Saturday. Drinking champagne, at fekkin strippers!!!!!! Of course they're allowed out but rub it in our face? No.

23-03-2010, 09:41 AM
24hrs before leaving for RC? 24hrs after that embarrasssment that was Saturday. Drinking champagne, at fekkin strippers!!!!!! Of course they're allowed out but rub it in our face? No.

They rubbed champagne in the strippers faces?:confused:

I think we may have an exclusive:greengrin

23-03-2010, 09:44 AM
Young men in having night out shocker.

****** me, the world's about to end.

scott7_0(Prague)
23-03-2010, 09:44 AM
9pages!

23-03-2010, 09:50 AM

I feel REALLY guilty about going out on Saturday night now..

I mean, I wasn't at my best at work on Saturday during the day so I probably should have stayed in, got a DVD and kept my head down..

23-03-2010, 09:50 AM

I've seen more scandal as a result of a lunchtime Starbucks :dizzy: Just lucky that one never hit the papers :lips seal

23-03-2010, 09:51 AM
It's what separates them from the tee total players like Darren Fletcher.

Fletcher plays in the Champions League, consistently involved in Title challenges in England, all through dedication to his career. (And a large amount of skill I know).

Our players could learn a thing or too from people like him and Giggs who still plays at the highest level.

23-03-2010, 09:55 AM
I bet the fans who are most upset over this, will be the ones who abused them on Saturday. How dare these people go out, they should be in hiding until they win another game, in fact we should never see them again, until they win the Scottish cup.

23-03-2010, 09:57 AM

48 hours before a long trip to Dingwall?

23-03-2010, 09:59 AM
48 hours before a long trip to Dingwall?

Chance to sleep it off on the bus then :thumbsup:

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 09:59 AM
OK guys, fair enough. If you think Saturday's performance was acceptable enough for them to then go out partying then cool.

No complaining then by you scribers if they lose tonight eh?

23-03-2010, 10:00 AM

Matty, I think the problem here is they're meant to be professional sportmen and drinking champers 2 days before a big game should be out of the question. Once again the Scottish drinking culture is rearing it's ugly head again, as Haining Hibs said look at Darren Fletcher to see how it should be done.

RoslinInstHibby
23-03-2010, 10:01 AM
people can go out out without getting hammered......unless we have proof they were knocking back the champers by the gallon, i don't really see the problem.

maybe they were team building with their new team mate

23-03-2010, 10:02 AM
I take it we're taking this as read then? the players are wasters and were all out bevvying etc? All based on one post on a messageboard by an anonymous source?!

If this was in the papers it would've been ridiculed by now.

23-03-2010, 10:03 AM

Fletcher plays in the Champions League, consistently involved in Title challenges in England, all through dedication to his career. (And a large amount of skill I know).

Our players could learn a thing or too from people like him and Giggs who still plays at the highest level.

And like our very own John Rankin :confused:

Take it talent/ability doesn't seperate these guys naw?

23-03-2010, 10:06 AM

As I said Fletcher does have the skill to perform at that level too.

MussyHibby
I take it we're taking this as read then? the players are wasters and were all out bevvying etc? All based on one post on a messageboard by an anonymous source?!

If this was in the papers it would've been ridiculed by now.

No, who said they were wasters? I'd have thought - but then I like to think I have a mild amount of intelligence :confused: - they would've kept a fairly low profile ahead of our biggest game of the season instead of going out and reportedly going where they did.

Talent's nothing to do with it. Fletcher made it because he's taller than Rankin.

No really a comparison is it, at least Rankin isnae blowin oot his erse after 60 minutes every game though is he.

OK guys, fair enough. If you think Saturday's performance was acceptable enough for them to then go out partying then cool.

Where they really out partying? Or just out for a couple of drinks?

Are players only allowed out if they win now?

Saturdays performance was NOT good enough, but players are allowed to go out. Fair enough if they are blind drunk, and staggering about, but were they, or were they just out socialising? Did the club have a curfew, did they break any rules?

23-03-2010, 10:07 AM

You do realise that there are like darren fletcher but are gash?

You do realise its possible some players stay in and get wrecked in there house?

Stay up until all hours watching films?

Stay up until all hours playing video games?

Guys will always want to go out, some guys are not like that, some have different vices but as long as they are not out being seen we will never know about them.

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 10:08 AM
Where they really out partying? Or just out for a couple of drinks?

Are players only allowed out if they win now?

The words champagne and strippers kind of give an impression of the venue/atmosphere.

23-03-2010, 10:09 AM
No, who said they were wasters? I'd have thought - but then I like to think I have a mild amount of intelligence :confused: - they would've kept a fairly low profile ahead of our biggest game of the season instead of going out and reportedly going where they did.

Yip - reportedly.

I probably will complain if they lose tonight but I won't be complaining because one guy on a message boards said they were reportedly out on Saturday night.

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 10:10 AM
Saturdays performance was NOT good enough, but players are allowed to go out. Fair enough if they are blind drunk, and staggering about, but were they, or were they just out socialising? Did the club have a curfew, did they break any rules?

No, no, no and no! But morally wrong imho! Humility eh?

23-03-2010, 10:10 AM
The words champagne and strippers kind of give an impression of the venue/atmosphere.

Stringfellows?

23-03-2010, 10:12 AM
So do most of you guys think it would be ok for players to go out on a thursday and get drunk if they've a big game on a saturday, no chance would Yogi allow this to happen.

MussyHibby
Yip - reportedly.

I probably will complain if they lose tonight but I won't be complaining because one guy on a message boards said they were reportedly out on Saturday night.

It was Sunday, but then again probably Saturday too! :wink:

Chippendales?

23-03-2010, 10:15 AM

Oh no, I really didn't.

You do realise its possible some players stay in and get wrecked in there house?

Oh, and again, I was completely unaware of the possiblity of buying drink...and drinking it in your own houses:bitchy: Shocker.

What an eye opener this is.

Holy ****.

23-03-2010, 10:18 AM
I'd be more concerned about team spirit if they didn't spend any time away from football together.

They need a boot up the erses for their performances on the pitch, but I'm not going to start complaining about their private lives and leisure time.

18Craig75
23-03-2010, 10:18 AM

And John Rankin :greengrin

23-03-2010, 10:19 AM

Guys will always want to go out, some guys are not like that, some have different vices but as long as they are not out being seen we will never know about them.

So as a sportman, I didn't realise watching films and playing video games was bad for the health, presumably they could've caught up on the lack of sleep but alchohol screws up the physicality of your body.

23-03-2010, 10:25 AM
So do most of you guys think it would be ok for players to go out on a thursday and get drunk if they've a big game on a saturday, no chance would Yogi allow this to happen.

They were drunk?

23-03-2010, 10:37 AM
So let me get this right what's been said regarding the apparent "session"

That someone heard some players were out drinking Champagne 24hrs before leaving for RC and some strippers were involved.
That another has confirmed that Garry was out on Saturday.

Did I miss something?

Fair do's get enraged if you actually saw it but we all know how rumours go. Remember Dunfermline and an apparent "incident" which was well without foundation but grew arms and legs.

Storm in an internet tea-cup - or should that be skinny late frappachino glass?

23-03-2010, 10:43 AM
They were drunk?

Well lets just say drinking then. :greengrin

lEXO
23-03-2010, 10:47 AM
So let me get this right what's been said regarding the apparent "session"

That someone heard some players were out drinking Champagne 24hrs before leaving for RC and some strippers were involved.
That another has confirmed that Garry was out on Saturday.

Did I miss something?

Fair do's get enraged if you actually saw it but we all know how rumours go. Remember Dunfermline and an apparent "incident" which was well without foundation but grew arms and legs.

Storm in an internet tea-cup - or should that be skinny late frappachino glass?
:top marks The original op had no idea how many, who and most importantly he didnt see a f*****g thing for himself.Now it,s grown to "they were drunk". :bitchy:

23-03-2010, 10:49 AM
Well lets just say drinking then. :greengrin

Was it 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 OR 9 they had?:wink: What were they drinking? could they have been on soft drinks?:wink:

number 27
23-03-2010, 10:52 AM
This particular story may not amount to much but it does illustrate an apparent lack of professionalism at the club.

Let's be honest, if someone came on here with definite proof that 3 or 4 players were utterly pished late on Saturday night then it would be no great surprise.

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 10:53 AM
:top marks The original op had no idea how many, who and most importantly he didnt see a f*****g thing for himself.Now it,s grown to "they were drunk". :bitchy:

Names were mentioned but I chose not to divulge, simple.

Of the sources, all are reliable and immediately felt, like me, the players had a fekkin cheek after Saturday's performance. It's as simple as that mate. No witchunt, just wondered if others had heard and what their thoughts were.

They have committed no crime, what they were doing was not illegal, but for me, just morally wrong.

23-03-2010, 10:53 AM
Could I just ask, why was the OP in a stripclub, where Champagne was being drunk, just 48 hours before leaving for a big game?

Doesn't he realise that'll affect his peformance in supporting the team!!!

23-03-2010, 10:54 AM
I was told this earliar this morning, they were in the lapdance club in Shandwick Place. No word if it was a few drinks or a full on session.

23-03-2010, 10:55 AM
This particular story may not amount to much but it does illustrate an apparent lack of professionalism at the club.

Let's be honest, if someone came on here with definite proof that 3 or 4 players were utterly pished late on Saturday night then it would be no great surprise.

Why? What other 'reports' have there been of players out pissing it up 3 nights before a match?

23-03-2010, 10:55 AM
who cares, if they want to have a drink and the club are allowing it then fire in, yip they are proffesional sportsmen but if they want to abuse their bodies by drinking/smoking then let them. At the end of the day if they are winning games then 90% of people wouldnt even be bothered by this. We hit a bad patch and all of a sudden they aren't allowed to leave the house. Who hasnt decided to go for a drink after a really crap day at work at some point in their life

DaniAndersson
23-03-2010, 10:57 AM
For Christ's sake, they are allowed to go out. I'd be more concerned if they sat at home every night watching Masterchef.

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 10:58 AM
who cares, if they want to have a drink and the club are allowing it then fire in, ypi they are proffesional sportsmen but if they want to abuse their bodies by drinking/smoking then let them. At the end of the day if they are winning games then 90% of people wouldnt even be bothered by this. We hit a bad patch and all of a sudden they aren't allowed to leave the house. Who hasnt decided to go for a drink after a really crap day at work at some point in their life

Yeah, chill out with a wee glass of something in your local or the privacy of your own home but not full on in a lapdancing bar! :grr:

23-03-2010, 10:59 AM
For Christ's sake, they are allowed to go out. I'd be more concerned if they sat at home every night watching Masterchef.

That counts a wild night of hedonism in my house.:boo hoo:

23-03-2010, 11:01 AM
Yeah, chill out with a wee glass of something in your local or the privacy of your own home but not full on in a lapdancing bar! :grr:

Without naming names, were these players pissed?

23-03-2010, 11:01 AM

they would prob get more grief in their local than out in a bar

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 11:08 AM
Without naming names, were these players pissed?

You're missing the point BH.

Don't you think just being there, in that environment, millionaires swigging champagne, flashing their cash post Saturday just isn't right? If not, it's obviously just me.

Wish I hadn't bothered with this, I'm obviously just a bit of an intolerant prude! :wink:

23-03-2010, 11:09 AM

Don't you think just being there, in that environment, millionaires swigging champagne, flashing their cash post Saturday just isn't right? If not, it's obviously just me.

Wish I hadn't bothered with this, I'm obviously jusy a bit of an intolerant prude! :wink:

You're learning! :wink: :greengrin

23-03-2010, 11:13 AM

Of the sources, all are reliable and immediately felt, like me, the players had a fekkin cheek after Saturday's performance. It's as simple as that mate. No witchunt, just wondered if others had heard and what their thoughts were.

They have committed no crime, what they were doing was not illegal, but for me, just morally wrong.

How?

23-03-2010, 11:13 AM
A storm in a 'D' cup!

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 11:14 AM
You're learning! :wink: :greengrin

Yeah, think I'll stick to my Miller and Bamba posts.

Sol wasn't there btw - obviously! :wink:

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 11:15 AM
How?

Doh! Cause they were gash and should've gone and hid under a rock!

RoslinInstHibby
23-03-2010, 11:16 AM

so miller was then:greengrin

23-03-2010, 11:19 AM

Wish I hadn't bothered with this, I'm obviously just a bit of an intolerant prude! :wink:

Nah not really mussy, i don't think you have a point. If they were out getting lashed up, yes. But they were out, nobody was pissed as far as i can make out. Seems to me there's a few jealous people out there, just waiting to pounce on the team, because they never fulfilled their dreams at the weekend.

23-03-2010, 11:25 AM

i think sol is best avoiding places like that after his past experiences:greengrin

cant wait to see the reaction to this post match. if we win it will have done the players good to go out for some team bonding (no rude thinking now people:greengrin) , if we lose it will be scandalous and all players should be fined, barred from having a life, be forced to have a breath test every morning and given pocket money so they cant afford to go out:rolleyes::faf:

23-03-2010, 11:26 AM

And the benefit of raising this at this time is what?
And how does that relate to the greater good of us progressing to the next stage?

We bang on about how the media twist things. Yet we're just as capable.

If the Sun or Record had run with this then these story/comments before an important game it would make interesting reading the comments on here. In fact the tabloids must be kicking themselves they are a bit out of touch on this one.

Maybe the real question should be:

Should the supporters be made aware of the details of the code of conduct for players?
Because if they are in line with the code of conduct there is no story/scandal/storm in an internet tea-cup.

FWIW I doubt any club would publish the minute details as it would leave them without any "wiggle-room".

23-03-2010, 11:28 AM
Nah not really mussy, i don't think you have a point. If they were out getting lashed up, yes. But they were out, nobody was pissed as far as i can make out. Seems to me there's a few jealous people out there, just waiting to pounce on the team, because they never fulfilled their dreams at the weekend.

WHAT S&M as well - now there's the REAL story - quick call the Record! :greengrin Where's the whip-smiley?

steviecarnie
23-03-2010, 11:30 AM
millionaires swigging champagne,

it was the fantasy palace not the las vegas strip jeeso, your lucky the place is worth a million with them inside.

23-03-2010, 11:31 AM

Arm and a leg in there I'm sure. Are you a tabloid journalist :greengrin

it was the fantasy palace not the las vegas strip jeeso, your lucky the place is worth a million with them inside.

WHAT S&M as well - now there's the REAL story - quick call the Record! :greengrin Where's the whip-smiley?

:slipper::slipper::slipper::slipper:

hibee62
23-03-2010, 11:32 AM

I feel REALLY guilty about going out on Saturday night now..

I mean, I wasn't at my best at work on Saturday during the day so I probably should have stayed in, got a DVD and kept my head down..

Does your work require you to be at peak physical fitness so that you are capable of playing 90 minutes of football?

They are allowed out, but timing could've been better. You'd think since they have a game in 2 days, drinking may not have been the best idea...

Of course, it could be total rubbish...

23-03-2010, 11:33 AM

Macar was there too, he says he will take the blame for this one.:wink:

number 27
23-03-2010, 11:33 AM
Why? What other 'reports' have there been of players out pissing it up 3 nights before a match?

Seriously? You cant tell me there aren't stories floating about almost weekly about certain players. As it happens I think most of them are untrue or exagerrated.

It is still the case that when results and performances are as poor as now then proper professionals should be looking at all elements of their lifestyle to try to make the difference. Do you trust our players to be doing that?

steviecarnie
23-03-2010, 11:35 AM
if the reports are true and they were drinking champagne, well they were just getting part of their 5 a day and maybe some milk too :wink:

23-03-2010, 11:44 AM
if the reports are true and they were drinking champagne, well they were just getting part of their 5 a day and maybe some milk too :wink:

Actually as we all know there are government guidelines on healthy daily consumption of alcohol. Surely its reasonable to expect if they were within this then there is no story.

In fact since Champagne is lighter and makes you less prone to hangover it's a decent choice no?

23-03-2010, 11:46 AM
:slipper::slipper::slipper::slipper:

Spanking as well - the list is endless. They'll be regretting that on the 4 hour bus journey to Dingwall :cool2:

Velma Dinkley
23-03-2010, 11:52 AM
If any of the players were out I hope it's got them in the mood and hopefully they will go to bed tonight with an exciting semi to look forward to.

23-03-2010, 11:53 AM
I think the revelation that they were drinking Champagne - says it all really

Played like a bunch of lassies on Saturday, then out drinking lassie's tipples on Sunday

C'mon lads - man up eh? :grr:

23-03-2010, 11:54 AM
I was told this earliar this morning, they were in the lapdance club in Shandwick Place. No word if it was a few drinks or a full on session.

Now the clearer picture is emerging...

They (identitities to be confirmed) were allegedly

lashed and whipped
spanked
had a full on session with "dancers"

They might have consumed some alcohol - Champagne suspected
Flapped money around like Harry Enfield cos they are loaded

All this sandwiched (no pun intended) between massive games against Hearts and RC.

GUILTY!:wink:

23-03-2010, 11:54 AM

That counts a wild night of hedonism in my house.:boo hoo:
No what you mean. :greengrin

At my age I limit myself to just one episode a week. :dizzy:

23-03-2010, 11:56 AM
I think the revelation that they were drinking Champagne - says it all really

Played like a bunch of lassies on Saturday, then out drinking lassie's tipples on Sunday

C'mon lads - man up eh? :grr:

Guinness just sits on the stomach. Keeps you regular but "less to deal with" with Champers :greengrin

23-03-2010, 11:59 AM
Macar was there too, he says he will take the blame for this one.:wink:

So anyone on the leith hibs bus this afternoon can get the real story from the man himself and get it posted on here :thumbsup:

23-03-2010, 12:01 PM
Talent's nothing to do with it. Fletcher made it because he's taller than Rankin.

I don't think so. :cool2:

SaudiHibby
23-03-2010, 12:02 PM
I cannot see why everyone is surprised that mediocre players playing for a mediocre run of the mill club are not serious professionals. We all may be Hibbys and view our club with rose tinted lamps but face it none of them will ever grace Barcelona or Real Madrid and get paid a great wage so why wouldnt they be out on the lash. And it's fairly well known among bar and night club owners in Lothian Road that the Hibs and Hearts players are their biggest spenders (in private areas mainly). I am not surprised and neither am I surprised that we have had another sheeeeiiiitey season. It's the way of the world.:agree:

23-03-2010, 12:03 PM
Big bloody deal, who even says this is even true?

I can go out on the Saturday, get really drunk, feel **** the next day and be fine for the day after and I ain't exactly the fittest.

The players will be fit and fine, whether they decide to put the performance in however is another matter.

23-03-2010, 12:04 PM
I cannot see why everyone is surprised that mediocre players playing for a mediocre run of the mill club are not serious professionals. We all may be Hibbys and view our club with rose tinted lamps but face it none of them will ever grace Barcelona or Real Madrid and get paid a great wage so why wouldnt they be out on the lash. And it's fairly well known among bar and night club owners in Lothian Road that the Hibs and Hearts players are their biggest spenders (in private areas mainly). I am not surprised and neither am I surprised that we have had another sheeeeiiiitey season. It's the way of the world.:agree:

:bitchy: to the bit in bold.

Prove it? to the bit in red.

23-03-2010, 12:07 PM
I seen a couple of the Hibernian Ladies up town 'partying' on Saturday night.

Certainly didn't seem to affect their game :greengrin

23-03-2010, 12:07 PM

its hard been a *****e season, wouldnt say a mediocre club either

23-03-2010, 12:08 PM
Big bloody deal, who even says this is even true?

I can go out on the Saturday, get really drunk, feel **** the next day and be fine for the day after and I ain't exactly the fittest.

The players will be fit and fine, whether they decide to put the performance in however is another matter.

You really think you'd be as fit as you could be though? A Sunday night out drinking to excess leads to a Monday which is not exactly the best preparation for a game on Tuesday. You might feel fine on the Tuesday, but chances are you wouldn't be at your absolute sharpest would you?

23-03-2010, 12:09 PM
Good for them, they deserve to celebrate afterday Saturday's sterling performance :bitchy:

SaudiHibby
23-03-2010, 12:11 PM
So top six and maybe a semi final of a cup is what kind of season then :confused:

Hardly gonna divulge my sources of bar owners and night club owners on Hibs.Net now am I but it's a gimme :agree:

Petrie's Tache
23-03-2010, 12:11 PM
You really think you'd be as fit as you could be though? A Sunday night out drinking to excess leads to a Monday which is not exactly the best preparation for a game on Tuesday. You might feel fine on the Tuesday, but chances are you wouldn't be at your absolute sharpest would you?

Who says they were?

23-03-2010, 12:16 PM
Who says they were?

Not me, see the bit I quoted.

In general (and I'm quite happy they went out to be honest, they looked like 11 ******s that couldn't stand the sight of each other on Saturday and it's nice to know some of them get on...) alcohol would effect your physical performance more than you might expect. Your preparation would be effected, so it stands to reason you might lose a bit of sharpness come game time. We're not talking world class athletes here in some cases...

This isn't based on this particular 'incident' by the way.

23-03-2010, 12:17 PM
So top six and maybe a semi final of a cup is what kind of season then :confused:

Hardly gonna divulge my sources of bar owners and night club owners on Hibs.Net now am I but it's a gimme :agree:

seen as the season hasnt finished yet how can you complain about it? we are only 2 points of 3rd. Get a grip

SaudiHibby
23-03-2010, 12:23 PM
seen as the season hasnt finished yet how can you complain about it? we are only 2 points of 3rd. Get a grip

easy tiger. The team I have been watching all season and especially over the last 8 or 9 matches are never in a million years going to suddenly become worldbeaters and get 3rd nor are they going to beat Rangers in a semi. That's reality. I will continue making a huge effort to watch them and support them in a far away land :agree: becuase I am and always have been a Leith Hibby but I am not stupid.

23-03-2010, 12:27 PM
easy tiger. The team I have been watching all season and especially over the last 8 or 9 matches are never in a million years going to suddenly become worldbeaters and get 3rd nor are they going to beat Rangers in a semi. That's reality. I will continue making a huge effort to watch them and support them in a far away land :agree: becuase I am and always have been a Leith Hibby but I am not stupid.

no one said we will become world beaters, we are 2 points of 3rd whether or not we finish there cant be answered just now, thats reality, im pretty certain unless you are a raith fan we wont be playing rangers or utd in the semi:wink:

23-03-2010, 12:28 PM

Regardless of the crap that some people post on here, they're all fit guys (though some more than others). The 3-4 hour coach journey North will be more detrimental physically than a sensible couple of dinks a 2 nights before the match.

SaudiHibby
23-03-2010, 12:29 PM
we will win tonight. Trust me :wink:

23-03-2010, 12:40 PM
we will win tonight. Trust me :wink:

I only wish I shared your confidence.

23-03-2010, 12:55 PM
Am gonny get some yams to write an open letter to the polis/Edinburgh Cooncil/The First Minister/God and ask that every Hibs player is banned from every pub, club and drinking establishment in Edinburgh.

That'll **** em :thumbsup:

Football(ers drinking) Banning Order...yeehaa.

We could ban them from anywhere showing lots of tits as well but they'd never get back into Ibrox :greengrin

Note: it's a well known fact that banning people from doing things always stops them, is the right thing to do and never, ever, ever, kicks of a rebellious streak in said folks...ever...ever!

vahibbie
23-03-2010, 02:04 PM
I seen a couple of the Hibernian Ladies up town 'partying' on Saturday night.

Certainly didn't seem to affect their game :greengrin

Part time job at referenced club:devil:

23-03-2010, 02:08 PM
They can do what they want. They aren't drinking 24 hours before the game kicks off which is what their limit is im sure. Just because they played badly doesnt mean they can't go out and enjoy themselves. Hopefully they were just getting on friendly terms with a Hibee about to return if the OP is correct :wink:

The players have a life too.

23-03-2010, 02:09 PM
They can do what they want. They aren't drinking 24 hours before the game kicks off which is what their limit is im sure.

Think it's 48 hours.

23-03-2010, 02:31 PM
Think it's 48 hours.

Ahh, that could be a bit more of a problem.

Unless said players have been told they are not going to feature or weren't actually drinking alcohol.

Good to see Garry O'Connor hanging about so much. Hopefully we can get a deal sorted.

23-03-2010, 02:37 PM
I remember working in an Edinburgh hotel when Hearts played Man Utd in a testimonial (I think for Robertson ?), and Fergie, Archie Knox and Pat Crerand were at the bar until 2am, utterly bevvied, waxing lyrical about old football stories and to be frank, were a right good laugh. In fact, I had to stop serving Mark Hughes such was his "condition". I often thought after that, wasn't it strange that he bombed out McGrath, Whiteside and Co for the very reason that it was harming the club and setting a bad example. Maybe his thinking was that the time for drinking and getting drunk was after your career, who knows. After the Saints game recently a few of the squad went out, VIP of course, and although none were drunk, in fact, most were laughing and joking away, I did think that it summed up Hibs and Scottish football. There are no real winners out there, no real footballers who take their art seriously. The time to go out and drink and have a giggle is if you win IMO. And even then, the pace and competition in football these days is far far greater and more intense. You would maybe think that after a horrendous derby showing, they would for one week (or a few days), stay in, reflect, mope and get angry, and give training and the next game their full attention. It's not just Hibs players, it's all SPL clubs though, so it's unfair to tarnish Hibs players alone. It would be nice though as a previous poster said, for the players to show some humility and take their post defeat thoughts out on the next opponents, and not on a bottle of Bollinger and a pair of fake tits. Some, like George Best and Socrates, can get away with abusing their bodies, down to the fact they were born with god given natural talent. Can we say the same for the likes of Hibs players ? The Italian and Dutch players who were at Rangers under Advocaat couldn't believe the culture of drinking amongst Scottish players, and they went on (or had done previously) to play in World Cups, won Champions League medals, played at the top level. The players we have been able to sign (Riordan, Miller, Stokes) all have one shared trait.......they failed when they played under managers who introduced discipline to a club. Look at what happened under Collins when he tried the same. From what I hear, Craig Levein has the right blend of discipline and knowing when to let the leash out a bit (when he was Hearts manager anyway). Hughes has so much work to do it's untrue regarding Hibs club discipline, on and off the pitch. It's a very short career, and if you really want to make it, I would say it's a small sacrifice to make, giving up the weekly bevvy, to ensure you make the most of your football life. Sounds very sanctimonious I know, but can't help feeling the Hibs players would put in better showings if they looked after themselves off the pitch better.

23-03-2010, 02:39 PM
What a bunch of wifies. They had plenty of time to recover - stop taking Hibs so seriously.

You'll want the club to supply them with oxygen tents next so they can sleep in optimal conditions.

The SPL is not a high enough standard to need the degree of fine tuning that some on here demand.

23-03-2010, 03:25 PM
What a bunch of wifies. They had plenty of time to recover - stop taking Hibs so seriously.

You'll want the club to supply them with oxygen tents next so they can sleep in optimal conditions.

The SPL is not a high enough standard to need the degree of fine tuning that some on here demand.

IIRC there was a piece on one of the members of the Tornadoes who was I think promoting his memoirs. One featured him on tour losing his virginity - egged on by his teammates.

Confirmed - It was Peter Marinello :tsk tsk:

"Peter Marinello was the footballing sensation of 1970. His record £100,000 transfer from Hibernian to Arsenal made front page headlines and he was instantly hailed as the new George Best. Within weeks of his move, he had appeared on 'Top of the Pops', secured a modelling contract and had his own football column in the Daily Express. But drinking and reckless behaviour – he was kidnapped in Nigeria while on tour with Hibs and lost his virginity in front of six team mates – were already a part of his life. In three years at Arsenal, Marinello played only 51 games and was eventually transferred to Portsmouth. More drinking, involvement with gangsters, his wife running off with a DJ, swindled out of all his money, bankruptcy, threats to shoot someone, being arrested for attempted murder, having to buy heroin for his addicted son… From the highs, Peter Marinello’s life plummeted to terrible lows until he pulled his life back round. He now spends his time nursing his chronically ill wife and is still involved at youth level with the game he loves. It is an extraordinary story. "

23-03-2010, 03:37 PM
IIRC there was a piece on one of the members of the Tornadoes who was I think promoting his memoirs. One featured him on tour losing his virginity - egged on by his teammates.

"Peter Marinello was the footballing sensation of 1970. His record £100,000 transfer from Hibernian to Arsenal made front page headlines and he was instantly hailed as the new George Best. Within weeks of his move, he had appeared on 'Top of the Pops', secured a modelling contract and had his own football column in the Daily Express. But drinking and reckless behaviour – he was kidnapped in Nigeria while on tour with Hibs and lost his virginity in front of six team mates – were already a part of his life. In three years at Arsenal, Marinello played only 51 games and was eventually transferred to Portsmouth. More drinking, involvement with gangsters, his wife running off with a DJ, swindled out of all his money, bankruptcy, threats to shoot someone, being arrested for attempted murder, having to buy heroin for his addicted son… From the highs, Peter Marinello’s life plummeted to terrible lows until he pulled his life back round. He now spends his time nursing his chronically ill wife and is still involved at youth level with the game he loves. It is an extraordinary story. "

Was that before or after he'd been in Jakki's bedroom :devil:

Gus
23-03-2010, 03:46 PM

Do not let Benji hear you say that:boo hoo:

23-03-2010, 03:54 PM

Peter was not a tornado, he'd left before they were formed.

23-03-2010, 04:04 PM

His autobiography is called "Fallen Idle", it's a very entertaining read. Especially for anyone who used to frequent his pub on Leith Walk.

23-03-2010, 04:07 PM
Let me start off by saying that I have no idea if the story about the Hibs players is correct, whilst the following comments that I am about to make are working on the basis that the story is true, they are still relevant for any serious athlete in general.

I seriously despair at the comments that some people on here have made on this subject.

It's entirely irrelevant how much people on here, who do 'normal' jobs, drink before they are due at work. Although getting absolutely blootered out your head will undoubtedly affect your own performance, it's totally different being a professional athlete.

There are so many problems that alcohol intake can cause to an athlete and it's beyond any doubt that it seriously impairs their performance.

These guys are extremely well paid when you compare them to the ordinary person on the street, they also have relatively short careers, so I don't think it's asking too much to expect them to make some sacrifices in those 15 years, or however long their playing careers may last.

I don't have a massive problem with athletes drinking when they are 'off-season', so for most footballers that would be in late May through to early July. But when they are competing and playing their sport, I strongly believe that alcohol should be a big no-no.

Alcohol causes dehydration which, for an athlete, is an obvious and very serious problem. Reaction times are impaired through the consumption of alcohol as well, which may increase the likelihood of injury occuring. Also muscle cramping may also be a problem through drinking alcohol.

Anthony Stokes was quoted in an Irish paper a month or so ago stating that he felt that if he had scored two or three goals in a match, he was then entitled to go out and have a few beers afterwards.

It might just be me but I find that attitude fairly disappointing.

andudare2
23-03-2010, 04:07 PM

think you will find that peter was pre. tornadoes mate. getting my kill with this post, not a shred of positive proof but lots of high horses have been mounted. ffs if the guy,s were out perhaps could be seen as a tad insensitive after the derby result, however they are young men who imo are entitled to relax & socialise. wonder how all the condemmers would have reacted to best, hamilton or baxter these guy,s along with countless others most certainly took a good bucket of peeve, anyone going to tell me that the 3 mentioned were not top class players !!!

23-03-2010, 04:12 PM
Let me start off by saying that I have no idea if the story about the Hibs players is correct, whilst the following comments that I am about to make are working on the basis that the story is true, they are still relevant for any serious athlete in general.

I seriously despair at the comments that some people on here have made on this subject.

It's entirely irrelevant how much people on here, who do 'normal' jobs, drink before they are due at work. Although getting absolutely blootered out your head will undoubtedly affect your own performance, it's totally different being a professional athlete.

There are so many problems that alcohol intake can cause to an athlete and it's beyond any doubt that it seriously impairs their performance.

These guys are extremely well paid when you compare them to the ordinary person on the street, they also have relatively short careers, so I don't think it's asking too much to expect them to make some sacrifices in those 15 years, or however long their playing careers may last.

I don't have a massive problem with athletes drinking when they are 'off-season', so for most footballers that would be in late May through to early July. But when they are competing and playing their sport, I strongly believe that alcohol should be a big no-no.

Alcohol causes dehydration which, for an athlete, is an obvious and very serious problem. Reaction times are impaired through the consumption of alcohol as well, which may increase the likelihood of injury occuring. Also muscle cramping may also be a problem through drinking alcohol.

Anthony Stokes was quoted in an Irish paper a month or so ago stating that he felt that if he had scored two or three goals in a match, he was then entitled to go out and have a few beers afterwards.

It might just be me but I find that attitude fairly disappointing.

Can you point me towards some source material on this subject? It's just that I think there is maybe an over emphasis on fitness being taken to the nth degree.

There has to be some counterbalace achieved by allowing athletes to relax, and if alcohol is used correctly it can do that. There may be a greater performane increase by looking after their psychological well being as opposed to their fitness.

I'd be interested if there are any studies that compare performance in teams that relax with a drink and those that live and breath the sport 24/7. Players are human beings and as such are much more complex than any machine.

23-03-2010, 04:15 PM

Thank god Celtic are our potential semi final apponents then eh :rolleyes:

:cool2:

23-03-2010, 04:20 PM
Can you point me towards some source material on this subject? It's just that I think there is maybe an over emphasis on fitness being taken to the nth degree.

There has to be some counterbalace achieved by allowing athletes to relax, and if alcohol is used correctly it can do that. There may be a greater performane increase by looking after their psychological well being as opposed to their fitness.

I'd be interested if there are any studies that compare performance in teams that relax with a drink and those that live and breath the sport 24/7. Players are human beings and as such are much more complex than any machine.

As qualified peresonal trainer I can tell you that alchohol is a big nono for any pro athlete..............

http://www.nmnathletics.com/attachments1/503.htm?DB_OEM_ID=5800 (http://www.nmnathletics.com/attachments1/503.htm?DB_OEM_ID=5800)

http://www1.csbsju.edu/chp/health/Alcohol%20and%20the%20Athlete.pdf (http://www1.csbsju.edu/chp/health/Alcohol%20and%20the%20Athlete.pdf)

http://www.momentummedia.com/articles/tc/tc1007/alcohol.htm (http://www.momentummedia.com/articles/tc/tc1007/alcohol.htm)

23-03-2010, 04:26 PM
As qualified peresonal trainer I can tell you that alchohol is a big nono for any pro athlete..............

http://www.nmnathletics.com/attachments1/503.htm?DB_OEM_ID=5800 (http://www.nmnathletics.com/attachments1/503.htm?DB_OEM_ID=5800)

http://www.momentummedia.com/articles/tc/tc1007/alcohol.htm (http://www.momentummedia.com/articles/tc/tc1007/alcohol.htm)

Fair enough. From what you've seen of Hibs matches, do you think they would win more games if the players abstained completely.

I think lack of confidence - or poor attitude - has been a bigger factor in our poor showings of late rather than lack of fitness.

23-03-2010, 04:33 PM
This thread is doing my head in, i'm away to the pub.

andudare2
23-03-2010, 04:37 PM

i dont think it takes a personal trainer to point out that alchohol is a no no, common sense should be the yardstick here, so unless any of us live in someone else,s head , who are we to judge, surely its a players right to judge his own intake etc.:confused:

Hibs On Tour
23-03-2010, 05:27 PM
Fair enough. From what you've seen of Hibs matches, do you think they would win more games if the players abstained completely.

I think lack of confidence - or poor attitude - has been a bigger factor in our poor showings of late rather than lack of fitness.

Our lot would surely have played better if they took to the park completely pished the last 8 weeks or so?... :devil:

23-03-2010, 05:43 PM
That's it, I'm off to support Hearts.

I only want to follow a team of players who spend their nights out having a quiet team meal in Bar Roma. To hell with this strippers nonsense :grr::grr:

23-03-2010, 05:43 PM
Our lot would surely have played better if they took to the park completely pished the last 8 weeks or so?... :devil:

:faf: As Homer Simpson would say "It's funny cos it's true"

23-03-2010, 06:20 PM
This thread is doing my head in, i'm away to the pub.
Definately. Then on to the Burke and Hare :wink:

Hibs On Tour
23-03-2010, 07:28 PM
:faf: As Homer Simpson would say "It's funny cos it's true"

Ithangyooo! :greengrin

jakki
23-03-2010, 07:33 PM
FWIW, I don't see any problem for the lads having a quiet night out together as long as it wasnay a booze up.Maybe a quieter place would have been better, like a hotel lounge without the added attractions.

I think its more detremental for them to travel up to Dingwall on the day of the game rather than the day before and to get a good nights sleep and all those muscles loosened in a morning training session and the wee kick about before the game. Just my thoughts.

Petrie get it sorted:thumbsup:

23-03-2010, 07:40 PM
I think its more detremental for them to travel up to Dingwall on the day of the game rather than the day before and to get a good nights sleep and all those muscles loosened in a morning training session and the wee kick about before the game. Just my thoughts.

They did travel up yesterday.

23-03-2010, 08:43 PM
Peter was not a tornado, he'd left before they were formed.

:blushie: Slightly before my time. Didn't check back after finding the reference (Source: Amazon).

23-03-2010, 08:59 PM
FWIW, I don't see any problem for the lads having a quiet night out together as long as it wasnay a booze up.Maybe a quieter place would have been better, like a hotel lounge without the added attractions.

Just a bit of team bonding no......................

MussyHibby
23-03-2010, 09:40 PM
Aye, they deserve a few drinks eh!

Fekkin useless flash wangers!

JCHibby
23-03-2010, 09:48 PM
Anyone still think there was no harm in this... Oh aye can just see it, Rooney and Giggs ooot at the Big Dippers 48 hrs before there Champions League clash right enough...

DISGRACE:grr::grr:

23-03-2010, 09:53 PM
Aye, they deserve a few drinks eh!

Fekkin useless flash wangers!

Bunch of tossers.

23-03-2010, 09:55 PM
Hope they had a great night, ***** losers

the_ginger_hibee
23-03-2010, 09:58 PM
Nice one boys. Hopes ya's had a good one. Kiss kiss.

23-03-2010, 10:00 PM
Email the club if you are unhappy at the players off field antics and see if you get an explanation. Cannae wait to see what Scott says in his reply :faf:

23-03-2010, 10:00 PM
There is a rule that you don't go drinking 48 hours before a game. Well at nearly all clubs bar us. We have a culture of players who enjoy a night out. Nothing wrong with that but how about they stay in before a ****en game go out after the match!

For me yogi is a bottler and so is the shiote on the pitch. Can't believe these players will be paid for tonight, hope Hibs give every fan who went there money back. Because we all know that the players will p!ss it up the wall.

FFS bin half this team and get some guys in who want to play football not just think about pulling on a sat night in George St. :grr::grr:

joey1875
23-03-2010, 10:03 PM
There is a rule that you don't go drinking 48 hours before a game. Well at nearly all clubs bar us. We have a culture of players who enjoy a night out. Nothing wrong with that but how about they stay in before a ****en game go out after the match!

For me yogi is a bottler and so is the shiote on the pitch. Can't believe these players will be paid for tonight, hope Hibs give every fan who went there money back. Because we all know that the players will p!ss it up the wall.

FFS bin half this team and get some guys in who want to play football not just think about pulling on a sat night in George St. :grr::grr:

That shows real commitment drinking before the most important game we have got left this season. That was utter piss

mrdependable
23-03-2010, 10:27 PM
We are the least athletic team in the SPL despite all the facilities they need. IF they were out drinking less than 48 hours before a big game, it's a disgrace.

new malkyhib
23-03-2010, 10:37 PM
That's it, I'm off to support Hearts.

I only want to follow a team of players who spend their nights out having a quiet team meal in Bar Roma. To hell with this strippers nonsense :grr::grr:

You're missing the point, HC - nobody denies players a right to a "life", and speaking as someone who is partial to a wee refreshment myself, it's hard to criticise anybody drinking and not sound like a hypocrite...

HOWEVER...there does appear to be a real bevvy/burdz culture at Easter Road, and some players can't or won't grasp the concept that some fans don't like even seeing them out laughing and joking in the wake of a sore defeat, such as the one we witnessed on Saturday.

That again might sound like an over-reaction, but that's tough - and to further compound things they're spotted out on the town (irrespective of whether it's a "decent" establishment or a low-rent strip club) 48 hours before our biggest game of the season (a season which is now effectively over) when they should have been resting up - but no, Garry O's in town so they've got to go and tag along.

At best that's unprofessional, and at worst it's an attitude which is ultimately thumbing its nose at the supporters.

If the story's true (and I believe there is an outright ban on going out 48 hours prior to a game), they should be carpeted and disciplined by the club accordingly.

If they don't like that, then they can do one right now.

23-03-2010, 10:50 PM
You're missing the point, HC - nobody denies players a right to a "life", and speaking as someone who is partial to a wee refreshment myself, it's hard to criticise anybody drinking and not sound like a hypocrite...

HOWEVER...there does appear to be a real bevvy/burdz culture at Easter Road, and some players can't or won't grasp the concept that some fans don't like even seeing them out laughing and joking in the wake of a sore defeat, such as the one we witnessed on Saturday.

That again might sound like an over-reaction, but that's tough - and to further compound things they're spotted out on the town (irrespective of whether it's a "decent" establishment or a low-rent strip club) 48 hours before our biggest game of the season (a season which is now effectively over) when they should have been resting up - but no, Garry O's in town so they've got to go and tag along.

At best that's unprofessional, and at worst it's an attitude which is ultimately thumbing its nose at the supporters.

If the story's true (and I believe there is an outright ban on going out 48 hours prior to a game), they should be carpeted and disciplined by the club accordingly.

23-03-2010, 10:51 PM
Not a kneejerk reaction to tonites result, Ive jst got home and seen this thread. I heard at work this morning about some of our players being out on Sat nite(thats a fact btw). Also heard rumours about Sundays antics. To be honest I get a bit fed up of the constant threads on here moaning at our players for having a social life. Im only 25 and enjoy going out every wkend and if I was playing for Hibs im sure id still enjoy the odd night out...However, how anyone on this thread can defend our players drinking in public hours after THAT game on Sat and then again 48 hrs b4 a SC quarter final replay is beyond me!! It really is! If we did travel up yest then some players may have been out drinking in strip clubs the day b4 leaving for what was a huge game. Whether they were drunk or not...that is a joke imho!! And i think those of u who believe the likes of Stokes(well known party animal)got himself all dolled up to hit the strippers for one glass of champagne are pretty niave!

From where I was sitting on Saturday it looked like the entire team had been out getting smashed on Friday nite!!! Anyone got any rumours on this!?!?!

23-03-2010, 10:55 PM

If the story is true then I would have thought breaking a 48 hour curfew would be breach of contract and any player proved to have done so could have their contract terminated.

23-03-2010, 11:10 PM

Not so much abstaining completely but there is a time and a place for having a couple of drinks and 48hrs prior to a match is not one of them.

Alchohol does slow down reactions, makes you weary, impair judgement and stops your body from getting the benefits from training. All these things will do everything we've been seeing recently on the field, to be honest you don't hear about top players drinking too often and when they do it's usually on a wee break from training when the team goes abroad for a week in the sunshine.

Think of top athletes like Chris Boardman, Usain Bolt etc do you think they would've done what they've done by knocking back the bevvy on a weekly basis, no.

On the other hand look at Ricky Hatton, fit as a fiddle when he gets ready for a fight but blows up 3-4 stones with bevvy and food in-between, then it all takes it toll and he gets humped against 2 guys he should've had a wee chance against.

23-03-2010, 11:16 PM
i dont think it takes a personal trainer to point out that alchohol is a no no, common sense should be the yardstick here, so unless any of us live in someone else,s head , who are we to judge, surely its a players right to judge his own intake etc.:confused:

Erm, someone asked a question regarding alchohol and the damage it can do to an athlete and as a personal trainer, I was able to reply with links to show.
Obviously we are not inside their heads but as so called athletes they shouldn't be drinking so soon before a big game, as mentioned there is meant to be a 48hr curfew on alchohol before a game, this is for a reason. :confused:

23-03-2010, 11:18 PM
Not so much abstaining completely but there is a time and a place for having a couple of drinks and 48hrs prior to a match is not one of them.

Alchohol does slow down reactions, makes you weary, impair judgement and stops your body from getting the benefits from training. All these things will do everything we've been seeing recently on the field, to be honest you don't hear about top players drinking too often and when they do it's usually on a wee break from training when the team goes abroad for a week in the sunshine.

Think of top athletes like Chris Boardman, Usain Bolt etc do you think they would've done what they've done by knocking back the bevvy on a weekly basis, no.

On the other hand look at Ricky Hatton, fit as a fiddle when he gets ready for a fight but blows up 3-4 stones with bevvy and food in-between, then it all takes it toll and he gets humped against 2 guys he should've had a wee chance against.

I am sure I saw a cheeky wee bottle of White Lightning popping out of Usain's kitbag just before his 100 metres gold medal success.

23-03-2010, 11:18 PM
Erm, someone asked a question regarding alchohol and the damage it can do to an athlete and as a personal trainer, I was able to reply with links to show.
Obviously we are not inside their heads but as so called athletes they shouldn't be drinking so soon before a big game, as mentioned there is meant to be a 48hr curfew on alchohol before a game, this is for a reason. :confused:

If any player can be proved to have breached the 48 hr rule (CCTV exists for a reason) then they should be sacked. End of.

Time to set an example.

23-03-2010, 11:20 PM
Read this thread earlier today. If you are a professional athlete/sportsman then I don't think you should drink at all. Never mind 48 hours before competition.

Just sums up Scottis and British football. A few bevvies, a sausage supper etc.

********s the lot of them. And to think it is my hard earned money they are pissing away.

23-03-2010, 11:23 PM
If any player can be proved to have breached the 48 hr rule (CCTV exists for a reason) then they should be sacked. End of.

Time to set an example.

You would be happy for Stokes to be sacked for that ? :bitchy:

People need to get a grip. We're playing crap yes, but things can change. Give the manager time, he's no even had a season FFS.

23-03-2010, 11:29 PM
You would be happy for Stokes to be sacked for that ? :bitchy:

People need to get a grip. We're playing crap yes, but things can change. Give the manager time, he's no even had a season FFS.

Do I sound "happy" ?!?!? No I am not happy. I never even mentioned Stokes name. I also never mentioned that Yogi must go.

As stated, as far as the drinking and breaching club rules is concerned, it is time for an example to be set. We are a laughing stock and something needs to change.

Harry Redknapp has gone on record this season as saying that pro footballers should not drink. I agree with him.

Footnote - I am not being self righteous. I do drink ocassionaly, but I am not a pro footballer leading a privilaged lifestyle.

23-03-2010, 11:48 PM
[QUOTE=HibbyCal;2400638]You would be happy for Stokes to be sacked for that ? :bitchy:

QUOTE]

Yup.

jakedance
23-03-2010, 11:53 PM
I think sportsmen shouldn't drink at all, at least not mid-season anyway. I pay hundreds of pounds to the club every year so the least you expect is for the players to apply themselves properly to their training and fitness. You wouldn't see an Olympic athlete going out 48 hours before competing so why should a footballer be any different.

It's a boring old supporters cliche but we'd do anything to play football for a living. They have absolutely no idea how lucky they are. To not take that opportunity to make the most of it is infuriating.

23-03-2010, 11:57 PM
There seems to be a distinct lack of discipline at the club. And has been for years now.

Fans turn a blind eye to it when things are going well. Not the case when we are continually underperforming and getting shown up.

Interesting to note that one of the first thing Ferguson done to exert his authority on arriving at Man U was break the drinking culture by getting rid of two of the worst culripts but best players there in Paul McGrath and Norman Whiteside. Suppose he knew he could bring in good quality even then though. Not something we can really hope much for!

24-03-2010, 07:15 AM

Correct.

It gives the impression that while the fans are hurting over another defeat, the players are just thinking that they've got their paycheck and that's that.

They do not appear to truly care, and for most I suspect that playing for Hibs is merely a 'job' like any other.

24-03-2010, 07:54 AM
Correct.

It gives the impression that while the fans are hurting over another defeat, the players are just thinking that they've got their paycheck and that's that.

They do not appear to truly care, and for more I suspect that playing for Hibs is merely a 'job' like any other.

In football terms, it is.

24-03-2010, 08:02 AM
In football terms, it is.

And therein lies the problem with this lot.

24-03-2010, 08:24 AM
See this thread, it is nothing more than speculation. The amount they drank is doubling every time there is a new post, and the person who started it was only going on hearsay.

Have a word with yourselves. You know nothing about the players habits, and if they asked you out for a drink after a match you'd be there in a flash.

Get real.

24-03-2010, 08:25 AM
See this thread, it is nothing more than speculation. The amount they drank is doubling every time there is a new post, and the person who started it was only going on hearsay.

Have a word with yourselves. You know nothing about the players habits, and if they asked you out for a drink after a match you'd be there in a flash.

Get real.

Spot on. This has been taken as fact when it could be a simple as someone making it up.

24-03-2010, 08:35 AM

Get real.

No chance.

24-03-2010, 08:36 AM
No chance.

Fair's fair, a taxi to Wellington would set you back a fair bit. :greengrin

24-03-2010, 08:37 AM
Fair's fair, a taxi to Wellington would set you back a fair bit. :greengrin

Exactly! :greengrin

Seriously though, I have no desire to be poncing around the bars of George Street and the likes with a bunch of arrogant footballers who think they're the centre of the universe.

24-03-2010, 08:39 AM

Seriously though, I have no desire to be poncing around the bars of George Street and the likes with a bunch of arrogant footballers who think they're the centre of the universe.

Me neither, they are a bunch of f*nnies on the whole. When it comes to boozing they tend to get embarrassing after the second bottle of Coors light.

Mind you, our lot don't need drink for an excuse.

24-03-2010, 08:41 AM
We are the least athletic team in the SPL despite all the facilities they need. IF they were out drinking less than 48 hours before a big game, it's a disgrace.

The lack of fitness has been an issue since Collins left. The standards he tried to impose on the squad were spot on for modern football.

Shame about Petrie undermining him by giving the players' the time of day. To my mind, that has given the players too much power and undermined both Mixu and Hughes, whatever their faults as managers.

Why invest £5M in a "state-of-the-art" training facility if it isn't exploited to its maximum potential? The players were fitter when they were training on dog **** encrusted public parks!

24-03-2010, 10:22 AM

Get real.

FR, the amount they had has little to do with it, the problem lies with the fact they were out drinking 48hrs before a game, which is wrong physically and against club rules.

24-03-2010, 01:01 PM
[QUOTE=HibbyCal;2400638]You would be happy for Stokes to be sacked for that ? :bitchy:

QUOTE]

Yup.

I would be more worried that Stokes is spending his nights out with Garry O, when did they two become buddies.

24-03-2010, 01:21 PM
This is what i heard regarding the players going out at the weekend, Yogi had said after the yams game that they could go out for a few beers on the Saturday night if they wanted to, some players did, some choosen to go home, what Yogi said was a few beers, not bottles champagne, bottles of vodka and ten pints of guiness.
Now if there was players out on the Sunday night then they are breaking club rules and should be punished for it, also a kick in the teeth to Yogi if he has let the players go out for a few beers after the game, and told them to screw the nut and get ready for the game yesterday, if they still decided to go out on Sunday night, then thats a very poor show indeed.

24-03-2010, 01:29 PM
[QUOTE=Liberal Hibby;2400721]

I would be more worried that Stokes is spending his nights out with Garry O, when did they two become buddies.

I dunno if Stokes was there, point I was making is if a player is sacked for that then it needs apply to all players. If a player we paid a fee for and could get a good return on was drinking, would you want him sacked rather than sold/disciplined ?

andudare2
24-03-2010, 03:13 PM

by this i take it as a given that you know for a fact that the guy,s being put out to dry for this are like this . or are you just stereotyping? as for myself ive met lots of ex players & have yet to find 1 who fits this description of yours. perhaps it would be best if we all waited for the alledged stuff to be confirmed ,before condemming these guys.:confused:

24-03-2010, 07:11 PM

So your in Saudi Arabia and you know alot of nightclub owners in Edinburgh who immediately tell you if they see Hibs players? :confused::wink:

24-03-2010, 07:32 PM
I tell you, having pole dancers on each goalpost and a beer tent at half time in the centre circle is the way forward. Keeps their minds focused and they will play to the final whistle. These boys have given us everything don't ya know :faf:

24-03-2010, 09:01 PM
5 pages of total speculation where the majority are straining with rage without any foundation.

Splendid.

24-03-2010, 09:36 PM
Ahh, that could be a bit more of a problem.

Unless said players have been told they are not going to feature or weren't actually drinking alcohol.

Good to see Garry O'Connor hanging about so much. Hopefully we can get a deal sorted.

Now that made me laugh. :faf:

new malkyhib
24-03-2010, 10:18 PM
5 pages of total speculation where the majority are straining with rage without any foundation.

Splendid.

Nobody's "straining with rage" HC - even if the players were only drinking soft drinks, they're not getting proper rest, and are focusing on plastic t1ts instead of having their minds properly trained on the job in hand, namely getting us through our biggest game of the season.

In short breaking club rules, and disrepecting the club and the fans...

sadtom
24-03-2010, 10:26 PM
Strip bars!
The way the players have played recently they probably ****ed up and ended up going to see this lot.
YouTube - Alan Partridge KMKY 3.6 Hot Pants.mp4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOr5cyLvqOM)

24-03-2010, 10:28 PM
Nobody's "straining with rage" HC - even if the players were only drinking soft drinks, they're not getting proper rest, and are focusing on plastic t1ts instead of having their minds properly trained on the job in hand, namely getting us through our biggest game of the season.

Ooh er missus.

24-03-2010, 10:32 PM

I can confirm from quite literally first hand experience that not all dancers have fake tittywinkles :agree: :faf: Source = me :wink:

new malkyhib
24-03-2010, 10:33 PM
Ooh er missus.

aye i just realised what I wrote there, Gary - I think I'll need to put the "Carry on" DVDs away for the night.:greengrin

24-03-2010, 10:34 PM
aye i just realised what I wrote there, Gary - I think I'll need to put the "Carry on" DVDs away for the night.:greengrin

morris1
24-03-2010, 11:05 PM
I dont know why stokes name is being mentioned in this so much because i meant him in fountain park on sunday night coming out of the cinema with his missus so he can be counted out!

HONG KONG PHOOEY
24-03-2010, 11:10 PM
So after 5 pages we are no closer to knowing if ANYONE was out on Sunday or not. So many people having a go over a "mate said" story ????

24-03-2010, 11:20 PM
This is what i heard regarding the players going out at the weekend, Yogi had said after the yams game that they could go out for a few beers on the Saturday night if they wanted to, some players did, some choosen to go home, what Yogi said was a few beers, not bottles champagne, bottles of vodka and ten pints of guiness.
Now if there was players out on the Sunday night then they are breaking club rules and should be punished for it, also a kick in the teeth to Yogi if he has let the players go out for a few beers after the game, and told them to screw the nut and get ready for the game yesterday, if they still decided to go out on Sunday night, then thats a very poor show indeed.

If this part is true then I think Scott Lindsay should be asking Hughes to explain himself.

I think that is very irresponsible to say the least.

That performance on Saturday was embarrassing and only good fortune on our part prevented us from being on the end of a hiding. As far as derby displays go, that must rank as being one of the most inept for quite some time.

They should have been ashamed to be seen out in public on Saturday night, I know I didn't feel like doing anything for the remainder of the day.

HONG KONG PHOOEY
24-03-2010, 11:30 PM
If this part is true then I think Scott Lindsay should be asking Hughes to explain himself.

I think that is very irresponsible to say the least.

That performance on Saturday was embarrassing and only good fortune on our part prevented us from being on the end of a hiding. As far as derby displays go, that must rank as being one of the most inept for quite some time.

They should have been ashamed to be seen out in public on Saturday night, I know I didn't feel like doing anything for the remainder of the day.

Seriously ???? They do a job and get paid for it, we are the supporters and carry the hurt. If they only do a job then they are allowed to do what they want with their money and time (within club rules). As supporters we do not own the players only support them.

25-03-2010, 12:10 AM
Seriously ???? They do a job and get paid for it, we are the supporters and carry the hurt. If they only do a job then they are allowed to do what they want with their money and time (within club rules). As supporters we do not own the players only support them.

Yes, seriously.

If what Silverhibee said is true, I don't think the players should be out in the town a few hours after being all but annihilated in an Edinburgh Derby and I certainly don't think that such a thing should be sanctioned by the management team.

25-03-2010, 07:31 AM
by this i take it as a given that you know for a fact that the guy,s being put out to dry for this are like this . or are you just stereotyping? as for myself ive met lots of ex players & have yet to find 1 who fits this description of yours. perhaps it would be best if we all waited for the alledged stuff to be confirmed ,before condemming these guys.:confused:

I think from the stuff we see in papers on a daily basis it's quite clear that footballers spend most of their lives with their heads wedged up their own erse.

And yes, I have seen footballers out and about with my own eyes, swanning about in the way I describe.

RMG_82
25-03-2010, 07:38 AM
this is a load o'pish. No manager of an edinburgh club in their right mind would santion a few beers up town the day of a derby. There's obviously going to be plenty of pissed up fans wandering the streets. Allowing the players to go out is just asking for trouble.

On another note, if i was a pro, single, in my mid twenties....too right i'd be up town. I'd be trying to pump everything. In 30 years they're going to have to pay for these types of girls. Fill your boots lads. But play crap after a night oot at your peril and expect a fans backlash.

25-03-2010, 08:13 AM
this is a load o'pish. No manager of an edinburgh club in their right mind would santion a few beers up town the day of a derby. There's obviously going to be plenty of pissed up fans wandering the streets. Allowing the players to go out is just asking for trouble.

On another note, if i was a pro, single, in my mid twenties....too right i'd be up town. I'd be trying to pump everything. In 30 years they're going to have to pay for these types of girls. Fill your boots lads. But play crap after a night oot at your peril and expect a fans backlash.

The players were out on the town the night after we got horsed 4-0 in the semi final a couple of years back IIRC. They definitely don't stay in after derbies that I am aware of.

25-03-2010, 08:17 AM
On another note, if i was a pro, single, in my mid twenties....too right i'd be up town. I'd be trying to pump everything.

You'd be better off down the docks.

25-03-2010, 10:13 AM
Yes, seriously.

If what Silverhibee said is true, I don't think the players should be out in the town a few hours after being all but annihilated in an Edinburgh Derby and I certainly don't think that such a thing should be sanctioned by the management team.

:agree: For "professional athletes" whose performance levels in an important match were decidedly dodgy (and had been dodgy for weeks beforehand, too) and who had a Scottish Cup quarter final to play three days later to go out on the lash is simply not acceptable.

Did they think alcohol would lead to better physical and mental condition and therefore an improved, better performance than of late? Hughes is allegedly clued up on modern sports science - funny advice to give the players, if true.

25-03-2010, 10:39 AM
:agree: For "professional athletes" whose performance levels in an important match were decidedly dodgy (and had been dodgy for weeks beforehand, too) and who had a Scottish Cup quarter final to play three days later to go out on the lash is simply not acceptable.

Did they think alcohol would lead to better physical and mental condition and therefore an improved, better performance than of late? Hughes is allegedly clued up on modern sports science - funny advice to give the players, if true.

Correct, but is there any proof they were "out on the lash"?

25-03-2010, 03:11 PM
Yes, seriously.

:top marks Couldn't agree more mate.

25-03-2010, 03:55 PM
Correct, but is there any proof they were "out on the lash"?

Quite correct, I'm making assumptions based on allegations on this thread. Let's just say if it is true, then the players are behaving unprofessionally and equally if Hughes said it was OK to go out drinking after a poor performance and before a season-defining match, then his knowledge of modern sporting practice isn't as great as it's cracked up to be.

25-03-2010, 08:11 PM
7 or 8 more pages. I expect the number of players and drinks involved to have doubled or trebled in this time, culminating in "facts" being introduced informing us that Deeks, Rankin, Zouma and Benji were involved in a "dentist's chair" incident in Espionage.

We will all be terribly, terribly angry about this and demand the manager's head on a spike for not just sanctioning it but paying for the drinks.

If we're going to believe hearsay on a messageboard, let's make it interesting at least?