View Full Version : Hibs are the footballing equivalent of the middle class

22-03-2010, 01:14 PM
In my post derby funk, I was sitting here trying to figure out an analogy for Hibs, and those thoughts led me to wonder if we are the footballing equivalent of the middle class - always believing we are better than we are and constantly wanting to be richer than we actually are, but in reality not as rich as we would like to think and susceptible to the odd period of poverty and struggle.

Any thoughts on that?

22-03-2010, 01:24 PM
Hibernian football club is a peoples club. More working class than anything. I have always thought the Hibs support be a broad base of society. But our heritage is defo working class

MussyHibby
22-03-2010, 01:28 PM
In my post derby funk, I was sitting here trying to figure out an analogy for Hibs, and those thoughts led me to wonder if we are the footballing equivalent of the middle class - always believing we are better than we are and constantly wanting to be richer than we actually are, but in reality not as rich as we would like to think and susceptible to the odd period of poverty and struggle.

Any thoughts on that?

Mibbies the players have been feeling that. Now it's very much roll up the sleeves time and try to salvage what appeared to be a very good season.

BryanV
22-03-2010, 01:31 PM
That analogy fails to work on a number of levels. If anything we are faded aristocracy reliving old glories. The Middle Class tend to achieve things.

scott7_0(Prague)
22-03-2010, 01:31 PM
Hibernian football club is a peoples club. More working class than anything. I have always thought the Hibs support be a broad base of society. But our heritage is defo working class

I think you missed the op's point!

noseyhibby
22-03-2010, 01:45 PM

Any thoughts on that?

This so-called middle-class attitude is prevalent on working class estates with some thinking themselves above and better than their neighbours. It's all about raising one's self esteem. The Jambos live in this deluded world as they truly believe themselves to be of a superior ilk to their green neighbours. It's all they have to hang onto as they desperately look for ways to elevate themselves above the mediocrity that they are.

22-03-2010, 01:53 PM
Ah live in a nice area, and actually, you lot are a bunch of underachieving plebs.Stop wasting my valuable money earning time on useless threads,ahm now away tae play golf,I BID YOU GOOD DAY PLEBS.

22-03-2010, 02:01 PM
It's the Yams that are the middle class club - delusions of grandeur, false sense of self importance and desperately seeking the approval and acceptance of their richer more successful peers (aka Glasgow Rangers.)

Woody70x2
22-03-2010, 02:08 PM

Any thoughts on that?

Maybe more like a souped up boy racer car... say a ford escort with big bore exhaust, lowered suspesion, chipped injection system? Capable of beating a lot of cars on the road, but a heap of ***** underneath with poor reliability... and a numbskill driver :wink:

vahibbie
22-03-2010, 02:16 PM
This so-called middle-class attitude is prevalent on working class estates with some thinking themselves above and better than their neighbours. It's all about raising one's self esteem. The Jambos live in this deluded world as they truly believe themselves to be of a superior ilk to their green neighbours. It's all they have to hang onto as they desperately look for ways to elevate themselves above the mediocrity that they are.

No, they have the fact they out-played, out-fought and out-scored us.
Their mediocrity seems to better than ours.

There's too many people, Yogi included, comparing ourselves to other teams.
There are certainly way too many comparisons being made between us and the Jambos, mostly putting them on a negitive slant.
We know they're skint, have a radge for an owner and have a *****e stand but FFS they well and truely turned us over. We should be more worried about that.

22-03-2010, 02:37 PM
arg, this is a bone of contention of mine.

i'm middle class. not in terms of wealth or having been to private school or anything - i just am. i'm not ashamed of it. i'm not proud of it either, i don't really give a toss, but what REALLY pisses me off is this snobbery against the middle class. when i was about 10 i played for penicuik pipe band, and used to have the piss ripped out of me by fully grown men for my 'proper wee accent' - it's not even posh, not morningside or anything. it's just a non-descript accent.

if i were to post a thread being snobby about the working class i'd rightly be told where to go.

class doesn't matter, there's both brilliant people and utter bell-ends in every social group you want to section people off into.

sorry, off my soapbox now:greengrin

and breathe...

22-03-2010, 06:34 PM
arg, this is a bone of contention of mine.

i'm middle class. not in terms of wealth or having been to private school or anything - i just am. i'm not ashamed of it. i'm not proud of it either, i don't really give a toss, but what REALLY pisses me off is this snobbery against the middle class. when i was about 10 i played for penicuik pipe band, and used to have the piss ripped out of me by fully grown men for my 'proper wee accent' - it's not even posh, not morningside or anything. it's just a non-descript accent.

if i were to post a thread being snobby about the working class i'd rightly be told where to go.

class doesn't matter, there's both brilliant people and utter bell-ends in every social group you want to section people off into.

sorry, off my soapbox now:greengrin

and breathe...

Prissy middle class twat

hibee_boy
22-03-2010, 06:36 PM
Prissy middle class twat

I am also VERY middle class and proud of it

erskine-hibby
22-03-2010, 06:41 PM
I'd say we are the pits at the moment...or is that down the pits??

22-03-2010, 06:44 PM
That analogy fails to work on a number of levels. If anything we are faded aristocracy reliving old glories. The Middle Class tend to achieve things.

I agree with part of this but Hibs did win a cup convincingly so have achieved something recently. We are old aristocracy or even expired royalty (having been kings of football), plying our trade in Brazil while the yams were playing in the Fife colliery cup. Those days are in the past now and in the past they must remain, but I can't see us rising to see those days again, unfortunately. We have though, I think shrugged off the past as a club, if not entirely as far as the fans are concerned then pretty damned close to it. We are distinctly middle class now, there is no way a working class club would associate themselves with Thomas Cook hols!

22-03-2010, 06:55 PM
I am also VERY middle class and proud of it

Pansy prissy middle class twat

22-03-2010, 07:32 PM
"You think your so clever and classless and free...
...but you're still ****ing pesants as far as I can see".
(c) THE man.

ENDOF

22-03-2010, 09:04 PM
No, they have the fact they out-played, out-fought and out-scored us.
Their mediocrity seems to better than ours.

There's too many people, Yogi included, comparing ourselves to other teams.
There are certainly way too many comparisons being made between us and the Jambos, mostly putting them on a negitive slant.
We know they're skint, have a radge for an owner and have a *****e stand but FFS they well and truely turned us over. We should be more worried about that.

:agree: I'm getting extremely fed up hearing Hibs fans going on all the time about how crap Hearts are, how inferior their players are to ours and how much of a joke their club is.

We hardly ever beat them (just six wins over them in the past five seasons, which is 21 matches), we hardly ever finish above them in the league and they are still in business with no sign of them being in any immediate danger of going to the wall, contrary to what many people on here would have you believing.

We do own our own training centre (they rent theirs from a university), we are in the process of completing our stadium and having a fully modern ground (their £50 million main stand project is on the back burner for the forseeable future and they continue to have a main stand that is almost a century old) and we are almost completely debt-free (they apparently have a debt that is around the £30 million mark), but despite all of that we are still struggling to get the results on the park that should reflect how superior we are to them in off-field matters.

We need to start getting our act together on the pitch and stop just talking about what we're going to do and how good we are in comparison to Hearts.

King Paddy
22-03-2010, 09:25 PM
We are not middle class, more working class or bohemian. We have many arty poetic types who also support the Hibees plus the imigrant from the likes of Italy, for whatever reason Hibs appeal to a cross section of the communnity. Unlike our neighbours across the city where more of the suits are found. Or so they would have us believe.

22-03-2010, 09:29 PM
"You think your so clever and classless and free...
...but you're still ****ing pesants as far as I can see".
(c) THE man.

ENDOF

How true that is. Do we want to be like the folks on the hill though? :dunno:

I think a measure of the Hibs attitude is how we behaved in the First Division. As far as I can recall we just went out and enjoyed ourselves, and never saw the need to make the other clubs feel small.

Contrast that with the attitude shown by other big city clubs who have fallen from grace, and gone round the country behaving like the big men. No names, but Dundee FC is one.

We are not middle class, more working class or bohemian. We have many arty poetic types who also support the Hibees plus the imigrant from the likes of Italy, for whatever reason Hibs appeal to a cross section of the communnity. Unlike our neighbours across the city where more of the suits are found. Or so they would have us believe.

Working class and bohemian just don't go together for me I'm afraid. I think that is a great dichotomy in the Hibs support. It is probably more fragmented than we think, there are large elements of each, and at times they might disagree.

What Hibs are is independent thinkers. A lot of us are proudest of the players who showed skill and artistry, rather than the dour grafter. However there is a large element who would value success on the pitch over creativity. If you follow this site for a while you can see who is which camp.

Hibs are neither working class or middle class. They are world class.

22-03-2010, 10:25 PM
Hibs are neither working class or middle class. They are world class.
:thumbsup: That's the answer to the OP right there.

I think this thread should now be closed as we have solved the puzzle. :greengrin

22-03-2010, 10:48 PM
We are not middle class, more working class or bohemian. We have many arty poetic types who also support the Hibees plus the imigrant from the likes of Italy, for whatever reason Hibs appeal to a cross section of the communnity. Unlike our neighbours across the city where more of the suits are found. Or so they would have us believe.aye,but their problem is that they have too many punters fae Wester Drylaw and Silverknowes,that really want a Barnton postcode:duck: