View Full Version : Alan Lugton, LEGEND

phoenixfire
17-03-2010, 07:03 PM
Just finished watching a programme on RTE television dealing with the
Irish community in Edinburgh, it finished with an interview with Alan sporting
his Hibernian tie and giving a brief history of the Irish in Edinburgh.
Alan left no doubt as to the role played by celtic in the attempted murder
of our club, favourite quote (it was said when the players played for Hibs
they played for faith and Ireland when they moved to celtic they played
for 30 shillings a week) BRILLIANT:love ya!::scarf:

17-03-2010, 07:36 PM

Look forward to someone putting on it youtube.

What I love about Hibs, is that our club is as Irish (in origin) as they come in the UK, but we have evolved in to a club for all faiths and all creeds.

I true football club of the people, by the people and for the people.

phoenixfire
17-03-2010, 07:55 PM

What I love about Hibs, is that our club is as Irish (in origin) as they come in the UK, but we have evolved in to a club for all faiths and all creeds.

Exactly,Like GUINNESS Irish by origin but now enjoyed by all races and creeds, a proper football club:thumbsup:

laois hibby
17-03-2010, 08:26 PM
What was the name of the programme? do you know if it is on rte player?

phoenixfire
17-03-2010, 08:33 PM
What was the name of the programme? do you know if it is on rte player?

It was nationwide at 7pm to be shown again at 3am, get your recorder set:thumbsup:

laois hibby
17-03-2010, 08:37 PM
will do cheers

phoenixfire
17-03-2010, 08:41 PM
Its online, google up www.rte nationwide and you will get it:thumbsup:

gorgie_harp
17-03-2010, 08:43 PM

:agree::agree::flag:( beware cheep imitations from the west).

Billy
17-03-2010, 09:16 PM
Its online, google up www.rte nationwide and you will get it:thumbsup:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0317/nationwide_av.html?2720360,null,228

17-03-2010, 09:20 PM
Celtic are Hibs' parasitoids.

Nothing more, nothing less.

17-03-2010, 09:24 PM

Alan's books - The Making of Hibernian are wonderful to read and don't pull any punches re John Glass and Co of Celtic FC. It's an ackowledged fact now (free to read in Tom Campbell's book on the history of Celtic) that Glass and his cohorts enticed Hibs players away in 1888 by setting them up with public house businesses which was against the rules but hey some things never change when it comes to that shower.

17-03-2010, 09:25 PM
Good advert for Edinburgh, great plug for Hibs and magical comment from Lugton about us and Celtic:thumbsup:

Hfc_Since1875
17-03-2010, 09:47 PM
doesnt seem to be working for me on rte player.....is anyone else having problems or is it just me??:grr:

Aubenas
17-03-2010, 09:49 PM
Absolutely superb!!!! Happy St Pat's Day to all.:thumbsup:

17-03-2010, 09:49 PM
It requires RealPlayer however, the link contains a virus so be careful.

Billy
17-03-2010, 09:54 PM
doesnt seem to be working for me on rte player.....is anyone else having problems or is it just me??:grr:

Worked fine for me :dunno:

17-03-2010, 10:22 PM
Worked fine for me :dunno:

Yep, no problems here either.

18-03-2010, 06:34 AM

Does this mean we arra peepil?

18-03-2010, 07:22 AM
Alan's books - The Making of Hibernian are wonderful to read and don't pull any punches re John Glass and Co of Celtic FC. It's an ackowledged fact now (free to read in Tom Campbell's book on the history of Celtic) that Glass and his cohorts enticed Hibs players away in 1888 by setting them up with public house businesses which was against the rules but hey some things never change when it comes to that shower.

Aye - **** fae day one to today! :grr:

GET THE OF OOT! :bye:

18-03-2010, 10:06 AM
Thoruoghly enjoyed the whole thing, great piece of history and P.R. for Edinburgh.

Of course Alan's interview was top class :thumbsup:

18-03-2010, 03:06 PM
A good watch :thumbsup: