View Full Version : Hearts and Hibs underachievers!

noseyhibby
14-03-2010, 07:51 PM
Interesting percentage stats for those interested in how both Edinburgh clubs have underachieved on the domestic front for almost their respective entire histories.
For the glass half empty among you:

Hearts League champs 4 equating to a 96.50% failure figure
Hibs League champs 4 equating to a 96.43% failure figure

Hearts Scottish Cup wins 7 equating to a 93.81% failure figure
Hibs Scottish Cup wins 2 equating to a 98.22% failure figure

Hearts League cup wins 4 equating to a 93.66% failure figure
Hibs League cup wins 3 equating to a 95.24% failure figure

Hearts overall domestic failure figure stands at 94.65%
Hibs overall domestic failure figure stands at 96.99

For the glass half full among you:

Hearts can boast a 3.50% success figure in the League
Hibs can boast a 3.57% success figure in the league

Hearts can boast a 6.19% success figure in the scottish Cup
Hibs can boast a 1.78% success figure in the Scottish Cup

Hearts can boast a 6.34% success figure in the league cup
Hibs can boast a 4.76% success figure in the league cup

For the neutrals and the more rational among both sets of supporters, these stats are damning of both clubs in that they show, like I say, a gross under-achievement by both Edinburgh clubs, and reveal the razor-blade-edge-difference in their respective stats when seen in a historical context. If anyone would like to do something similar for both clubs respective euro stats, feel free. They will, I'm sure, make interesting reading.

sunshine1875
14-03-2010, 07:59 PM
Interesting stats - just shows you can do anything with numbers.

For Europe and applying the same methodology, our records are:

Hearts can boast a 0% success figure in the European Cup/Champions League
Hibs can boast a 0% success figure in the European Cup/Champions League

Hearts can boast a 0% success figure in the Cup Winners Cup
Hibs can boast a 0% success figure in the Cup Winners Cup

Hearts can boast a 0% success figure in the Fairs Cup/UEFA
Hibs can boast a 0% success figure in the Fairs Cup/UEFA

Wasn't difficult!

Interesting percentage stats for those interested in how both Edinburgh clubs have underachieved on the domestic front for almost their respective entire histories.

Hibs Scottish Cup wins 3 equating to a 97.33% failure figure

Hibs overall domestic failure figure stands at 96.33%

Hibs can boast a 2.67% success figure in the Scottish Cup

For the neutrals and the more rational among both sets of supporters, these stats are damning of both clubs in that they show, like I say, a gross under-achievement by both Edinburgh clubs, and reveal the razor-blade-edge-width difference in their respective stats when seen in a historical context. If anyone would like to do something similar for both clubs respective euro stats, feel free. They will, I'm sure, make interesting reading.

14-03-2010, 08:05 PM

Hibs Scottish Cup wins 3 equating to a 97.33% failure figure

Hibs overall domestic failure figure stands at 96.33%

Hibs can boast a 2.67% success figure in the Scottish Cup

For the neutrals and the more rational among both sets of supporters, these stats are damning of both clubs in that they show, like I say, a gross under-achievement by both Edinburgh clubs, and reveal the razor-blade-edge-width difference in their respective stats when seen in a historical context. If anyone would like to do something similar for both clubs respective euro stats, feel free. They will, I'm sure, make interesting reading.

It proves what I've always believed, that Hibs excel in the League, wheras 'the wee fitba team' are limited to luck-of-the-draw success in diddy little cups nobody cares about.:greengrin

14-03-2010, 08:06 PM

Hibs Scottish Cup wins 3 equating to a 97.33% failure figure[/B]

Hibs have only won 2 Scottish Cups, not 3.

14-03-2010, 08:07 PM

I'll text my great great grandad to ask :greengrin

14-03-2010, 08:10 PM
You've missed out 2010.

14-03-2010, 08:13 PM
Throw in Dancing on ice and The X factor and it shows how really poor we are.

Are we counting the Tennants Sixes ?

vahibbie
14-03-2010, 08:30 PM

and the Dryborough Cup. We were good in that:thumbsup:

noseyhibby
14-03-2010, 08:50 PM

My mistake, Now corrected.
I must have included winning the world club champions cup in 1898 against Preston NE lol:wink:

noseyhibby
14-03-2010, 08:54 PM

No. I'm only counting the 3 major trophies. The league cup of course has been called many things since its inception (Skol cup eg) but it's still the third major trophy. I guess the grim figures really do show how the expectations of supporters is based more on hope than on what has gone on before. I suppose it's human nature to live in hope.

Long suffering
14-03-2010, 09:15 PM
Dryborough was between 4 best in scotland so can we not count that?

noseyhibby
14-03-2010, 09:20 PM
Dryborough was between 4 best in scotland so can we not count that?

The Dryborough was fun and I recall being excited as a youngster watching our boys almost claim the trophy for good. But it's not a major trophy. It would be nice to include the war years record too, but alas no. It's quite a sobering thought that our beloved Hibs have failed to achieve anything for nearly 97% of our history.

14-03-2010, 10:12 PM
Until managers, coaches etc actually challenge their respective squads to actually go for broke and don't give them a cop out by saying top 6 and later stages of cups, these stats will only get worse.

IMO if you have no expectation placed on you will never succeed as you always have the safety net of not being expected to win anyway in your back pocket to explain failure.

I often get accused of having too great an expectation of Hibs because I expect them to win every game.

My question is if you have no expectations or ambitions what is the F****n point of being in existence. I am fed up making up the numbers to 2 of the most loathed organisations in the country. FFS scottish football waken up and get stuck in to them and everybody else or else ****** off and play Daily R****d Fantasy Football.

Rant over but still hacked off about making hard for ourselves to win the Cup this year.:grr::grr::grr:

noseyhibby
15-03-2010, 08:51 AM
Until managers, coaches etc actually challenge their respective squads to actually go for broke and don't give them a cop out by saying top 6 and later stages of cups, these stats will only get worse.

IMO if you have no expectation placed on you will never succeed as you always have the safety net of not being expected to win anyway in your back pocket to explain failure.

I often get accused of having too great an expectation of Hibs because I expect them to win every game.

My question is if you have no expectations or ambitions what is the F****n point of being in existence. I am fed up making up the numbers to 2 of the most loathed organisations in the country. FFS scottish football waken up and get stuck in to them and everybody else or else ****** off and play Daily R****d Fantasy Football.

Rant over but still hacked off about making hard for ourselves to win the Cup this year.:grr::grr::grr:
Good post that man:agree: