View Full Version : Game against Man Utd in the 80's

Baba O'riley
10-03-2010, 01:31 PM
Wondering if anyone could confirm when we played a friendly against Man Utd in the early 80's?
Discussion came up after the guy who sits next to me commented I wouldn't remember the East Stand being the old Terracing...I said that I was pretty sure my first game was in the Terracing, and it was a friendly against Man U...my dad has confirmed that was the case, but we can't remember when it was. I remember it being absolutely baltic, and my dad thinks the game was arranged last minute when both clubs' league fixtures were postponed due to opponents grounds being frozen.
Not having any luck with google.....can anyone else help out??:confused:

10-03-2010, 01:34 PM
Wondering if anyone could confirm when we played a friendly against Man Utd in the early 80's?
Discussion came up after the guy who sits next to me commented I wouldn't remember the East Stand being the old Terracing...I said that I was pretty sure my first game was in the Terracing, and it was a friendly against Man U...my dad has confirmed that was the case, but we can't remember when it was. I remember it being absolutely baltic, and my dad thinks the game was arranged last minute when both clubs' league fixtures were postponed due to opponents grounds being frozen.
Not having any luck with google.....can anyone else help out??:confused:Think it was a Testimonial ..Gordon Rae's if my memory serves me right ..

Joe Tortolano was also sent off early doors for almost launching wee ginger Stachan into the West stand ..

BenjiOscar
10-03-2010, 01:35 PM

yep, played on 26 December 1981. Drew 1-1. Willie Jamieson scored for us. Sure there are highlights on Hibs TV and YouTube.

10-03-2010, 01:36 PM

It was a Christmas Eve and was arranged at the last minute due to most games being postponed due to the weather (the highlights were even on tv). It was a 1-1 draw with Willie Jamieson scoring Hibs goal.

I don't think the terracing was open that day, though I'm not 100% certain.

10-03-2010, 01:37 PM
Think it was a Testimonial ..Gordon Rae's if my memory serves me right ..

Definitely not, that was the Tortolano/Stachan match a good bit later.

car1973
10-03-2010, 01:37 PM
We played Man United around 1981 at Easter Road. Game finished 1-1 with Willie Jamieson scoring for us after coming on as a sub. Think it was, as you say, arranged as we had undersoil heating and our games were postponed.

10-03-2010, 01:40 PM
Definitely not, that was the Tortolano/Stachan match a good bit later.Thanks ..i did say "if my memory serves me right" ..it obv didnt there ..:greengrin

Brummie_Hibs
10-03-2010, 01:41 PM
I have memories of the terracing being open, as I think that was where I was standing (as a kid) with my dad - absolutely freezing!

But my memory is screwed...

Baba O'riley
10-03-2010, 01:50 PM
I have memories of the terracing being open, as I think that was where I was standing (as a kid) with my dad - absolutely freezing!

yep, that was my memory of it too! Apparently wanted to leave after 5 mins....29 years later, nothing much has changed :greengrin

thanks folks! :thumbsup:

10-03-2010, 01:55 PM

yep, that was my memory of it too! Apparently wanted to leave after 5 mins....29 years later, nothing much has changed :greengrin

thanks folks! :thumbsup:

I've had this discussion on here before and other people have said the terracing was open. I'm obviously a meringue. :greengrin

10-03-2010, 01:59 PM

Joe Tortolano was also sent off early doors for almost launching wee ginger Stachan into the West stand ..

We played a hastily-arranged friendly in 1981 as stated, and a testimonial friendly on October 3, 1988 for Gordon Rae which was the day before my son's ninth birthday and his first visit to ER - first of many.

I'm pleased to say the 3-0 scoreline against us didn't put him off.

MMMMMMM!!!! JT! A man of discernment and judgment, a prophet before his time. :devil:

10-03-2010, 02:06 PM
We played a hastily-arranged friendly in 1981 as stated, and a testimonial friendly on October 3, 1988 for Gordon Rae which was the day before my son's ninth birthday and his first visit to ER - first of many.

I'm pleased to say the 3-0 scoreline against us didn't put him off.

MMMMMMM!!!! JT! A man of discernment and judgment, a prophet before his time. :devil:I think i was at both games Doddie but my jellified brain seems to have "morphed" them into one game with my only lasting memory being that JT & wee ginger baws incident ...:greengrin

10-03-2010, 02:13 PM
I think i was at both games Doddie but my jellified brain seems to have "morphed" them into one game with my only lasting memory being that JT & wee ginger baws incident ...:greengrin

I find that happening more and more these days, hh. :agree:

However, I also find myself treasuring that one golden moment as well. We were in the Main Stand Enclosure, right down at the wall, and had a perfect view. My only complaint is that WGB got up afterwards.

Joe T obviously knew then what we only came to know later .... :devil:

Groathillgrump
10-03-2010, 02:16 PM
I've had this discussion on here before and other people have said the terracing was open. I'm obviously a meringue. :greengrin

I watched the game from the Dunbar End so that part of the terracing was open at least!

10-03-2010, 02:21 PM
Remember the 1988 game well...

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/HIBERNIAN-HIBS-V-MANCHESTER-UNITED-GORDON-RAE-3-10-88_W0QQitemZ330412094711QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Spor ts_Memorabilia_Football_Programmes_ET?hash=item4ce e1874f7

hibby67
10-03-2010, 03:29 PM
It was a Christmas Eve and was arranged at the last minute due to most games being postponed due to the weather (the highlights were even on tv). It was a 1-1 draw with Willie Jamieson scoring Hibs goal.

I don't think the terracing was open that day, though I'm not 100% certain. :bitchy:

yep, played on 26 December 1981. Drew 1-1. Willie Jamieson scored for us. Sure there are highlights on Hibs TV and YouTube. :top marks

was boxing day i remember being in the cow shed behind the goals (famouse five stand). and it being frezzing

10-03-2010, 03:32 PM
I was in the Main Stand and remember never having felt so cold in my life.

10-03-2010, 03:43 PM
I am sure that bits of the game were shown on TV. BBC scotland for sure. Was a bit of a coup at the time.

10-03-2010, 03:46 PM
I was in the Main Stand and remember never having felt so cold in my life.

It was mentioned earlier in the year that last December was the coldest since 1981!

Hibs07p
10-03-2010, 04:14 PM
The terrace was definitely open, the pitch might have been thawed out but the terrace was still covered in snow, which then became compacted and turned into ice. It was the coldest my feet have ever been. Erich Schaedler also put Bryan Robson out the game for quite a while with a dislocated shoulder. :greengrin

10-03-2010, 04:21 PM
We battered ManUre that day.

10-03-2010, 04:34 PM

Played on 26 December 1981.
1-1. Willie Jamieson scored for us.
Tortolano got an early red card for going "right through" Strachan.
Remember being on the East Terracing , feeling cold and not fully "compus mentos" after Xmas celebrations :greengrin

10-03-2010, 04:39 PM
Tortolano got an early red card for going "right through" Strachan.Remember being on the East Terracing , feeling cold and not fully "compus mentos" after Xmas celebrations :greengrin

NOT the same game.

26 Dec was re-arranged friendly.

Torto's horror tackle was Rae's Testimonial years later

10-03-2010, 04:39 PM
Tortolano got an early red card for going "right through" Strachan.
Remember being on the East Terracing , feeling cold and not fully "compus mentos" after Xmas celebrations :greengrinThat was what i thought but i was rightly "wronged"...:greengrin

Definitely not, that was the Tortolano/Stachan match a good bit later.....:rolleyes:...:greengrin

10-03-2010, 04:40 PM

yep it was. i was in the east and i`m sure there was a few hibbys in the south and united had a good few supporters if i remember rightly

i do remember that it was a good atmosphere, brian robson was playing for them and got a few comments thrown at him, all in good nature of course !!!:greengrin:greengrin

10-03-2010, 05:05 PM
I am sure that bits of the game were shown on TV. BBC scotland for sure. Was a bit of a coup at the time.

It was shown in England as well, I watched it in Benflleet, near Southend, while visiting the sis-in-law.

BerwickHibs
10-03-2010, 05:12 PM
Remember the 1-1 game well, Boxing day 81, Wullie jamieson for Hibs and Frank stapleton for Man utd.

10-03-2010, 05:28 PM
Definately Boxing day I missed it because as usual was working a shift in The Artisan. Some Man U Fans were in before the game. Given it was last minute we asked how they knew when they were coming. answer, just show up at the bus and the rest is up to the driver. These fans never cared where the away game was just showed up. :top marks

hibbybrian
10-03-2010, 05:56 PM
Twas indeed 26th December 1981 and the terrace was open - as stated above it was like an ice rink on a slope :greengrin

Hibs Team

McArthur Sneddon Schaedler Brazil Paterson Flavell Callaghan Rae McLeod Rodier Duncan - Willie Jamieson was a sub

Man U Team

Bailey Gidman Albiston Wilkins McQueen Buchan Coppell Birtles Stableton Robson McIlroy - Subs Macari & Moran

Scorers as mentioned above Jamieson & Stapleton

10-03-2010, 06:01 PM
I was at the Man U game in 88 in the South Stand.

It was the 1st time i'd seen Mark Hughes and Bryan Robson play in the flesh.

Robson played at CB that day and was absolutely outstanding. Hughes was brilliant as well and scored there 3rd.

Tortolano was probably at his peak as a boo-boy and when he was sent off it was like we'd scored the cheer was so loud. The tackle was a shocker

10-03-2010, 06:03 PM

Robson played at CB that day and was absolutely outstanding. Hughes was brilliant as well and scored there 3rd.

Tortolano was probably at his peak as a boo-boy and when he was sent off it was like we'd scored the cheer was so loud. The tackle was a shockerAye ...it was ...:greengrin

10-03-2010, 06:34 PM
yep, played on 26 December 1981. Drew 1-1. Willie Jamieson scored for us. Sure there are highlights on Hibs TV and YouTube.

They're definitely on hibs tv - my son was engrossed in the game the other night.:agree:

BurghHibby
10-03-2010, 10:12 PM
The game was on boxing day and it was baltic, most teams hadn't played for a few weeks due to the bad weather, the game was arranged as Hibs were the only side in the country with undersoil heating.

Big Ron Atkinson arrived pitchside in a mink coat and a fedora, when Hibs scored through Willie "lump o' wood" Jamieson wee Bertie jumped in the air waving his flat cap bunnet at big Ron in a get it up ye gesture.

Big cheer also went up when Shades put Steve Coppel up in the air and onto the gravel track after a superb tackle, this was at the time when Coppel used to run roit against everyone especially Scotland, wisnae in the game after he met Shades though.

All in all it was a good day out watching one of the best teams in europe and Man U instead of the Great Escape / Sound of Music / Wizard of Oz etc on the telly.

10-03-2010, 10:26 PM
I was at the game in '88, would only have been 6 year old at the time.

Funnily enough, I've been convinced all these years that we got pumped 6v0 :greengrin

On reflection, a 3v0 defeat wasn't so bad. Does this mean we are better than AC Milan now? :agree:

Zorro
10-03-2010, 10:37 PM
I was on the terracing that day and remember Tortolano halfing Strachan on the opposite side of the pitch, in front of the old main stand standing enclosure (where I watched one of my favourite ever Hibs matches!).

And like others on here, that is all I remember about that game... :rolleyes:

10-03-2010, 10:48 PM
Twas indeed 26th December 1981 ....
Hibs Team

McArthur Sneddon Schaedler Brazil Paterson Flavell Callaghan Rae McLeod Rodier Duncan - Willie Jamieson was a sub

Only two of Turnbulls Tornadoes left, just a few years after they were in their pomp.

I flew out to Saudi Arabia on a contract a few days after that game (I think it was probably Jan 2nd).

I spent 3 months out there in the sunshine seeing news footage of the UK covered in snow and virtually at a standstill.

Hibs were the only Scottish team to manage to play a few games in that period, because of the undersoil heating. That was probably instrumental in keeping us away from the relegation dogfight that season. Everyone else had games in hand, but they were playing twice a week and we managed to hold on to a mid table place.

.....Oh and Motherwell and Killie were promoted, leaving the Jambos still in the first division. :boo hoo: :greengrin

MoantheCabbage
11-03-2010, 08:02 AM
From Wiki

Gordon Rae (born 3 May 1958) is a retired Scottish association football player, who played mainly as a defender for Hibernian, Partick Thistle, Hamilton Academical and Meadowbank Thistle. He also played sometimes as a centre forward, scoring over 50 goals in the Scottish Football League in his career.

He signed for Hibs as a 17-year-old from Whitehill Welfare in 1975. He made his first team debut two years later, and scored in a 2–0 win against Rangers at Ibrox in his second appearance. He became club captain, appeared in the marathon 1979 Scottish Cup Final and won a First Division winners' medal in 1981.

Rae was awarded a testimonial match by Hibs in 1988, played against Manchester United.[1] Joe Tortolano was sent off during the match for a tackle on Gordon Strachan

He joined Partick Thistle for £65,000 in 1990, and helped them win promotion to the Premier Division in 1992. He finished his playing career after the 1992–93 season, during which he played for Hamilton Academical and then Meadowbank Thistle.

He left Meadowbank to become manager of Gala Fairydean, in a spell that coincided with their failed attempt to enter the Scottish Football League in 1994.[2] He was sacked by Gala after a Scottish Cup defeat by East Fife, who then recruited him as an assistant coach.[2]

He went on to manage Edinburgh City before working in Hibs’ youth system. He left Hibs in November 2002 to manage junior side

11-03-2010, 09:45 AM
Twas indeed 26th December 1981 and the terrace was open - as stated above it was like an ice rink on a slope :greengrin

Hibs Team

Man U Team

Bailey Gidman Albiston Wilkins McQueen Buchan Coppell Birtles Stableton Robson McIlroy - Subs Macari & Moran

I used to have the highlights of this game on VHS tape but sadly snapped in the machine one night :grr:

I remember Bertie Auld had a big bunnet on and was waving it about after we scored!, say what you like about Auld but he loved his time with us.

11-03-2010, 09:50 AM
The terracing was open and I was freezing.

Mag7
11-03-2010, 11:35 AM

IIRC the highlights were shown on Scotsport the next day. At that time I remember Hibs getting a few games on TV due to the fact they were the only club with undersoil heating and therefore the only one able to keep playing. I'm pretty sure I recall a win over Partick Thistle featuring on Scotsport just a few days before or after the Man U game.

11-03-2010, 11:47 AM
The terracing was open and I was freezing.

The terracing was originally shut when fans started arriving, i think due to it being covered in snow.

Hibs did not expect the size of crowd that turned up that date and I remember fans being taken out the old north enclosure and escorted round the pitch onto the terracing. Hibs then opened the East terracing turnstyles.

11-03-2010, 12:01 PM
The terracing was originally shut when fans started arriving, i think due to it being covered in snow.

Hibs did not expect the size of crowd that turned up that date and I remember fans being taken out the old north enclosure and escorted round the pitch onto the terracing. Hibs then opened the East terracing turnstyles.

That explains things a bit for me, as I was in the cowshed/cave (whatever you want to call it) behind the goals, and ordinarily I only ever went there if the terracing was shut.

11-03-2010, 12:22 PM

Tortolano was probably at his peak as a boo-boy and when he was sent off it was like we'd scored the cheer was so loud. The tackle was a shocker

So it was.

A cherished memory.

To think that nowadays we'd still be cheering, but for entirely a different reason.

Joe T - Hibernian legend. :agree:

1875 NO 1
11-03-2010, 12:34 PM

Highlights were on BBC. We, I think were the only game played that day. And there weren't many played in England, hence Man U came up here.

delbert
11-03-2010, 12:44 PM
The friendly arranged after the Man U game was against Motherwell, we won 2-0, it was again on Scotsport because it was one of the few games in Britain to be played, remember that bam Jim White who was on Scotsport back then saying smugly that there was no other televised football on that weekend and then added, 'but we've got a game though', as if Hibs had arranged the whole thing for the benefit of Scotsport. 30 years on and he's still the biggest t0$$er on the box.

11-03-2010, 01:01 PM
I was at the game in 1981 and don't remember the main (East) terrace being open.

When the game started, the Main Stand and the Enclosures(West Side of ground) were open, as well as the Cave (FF End). I do remember they eventually opened the Dunbar End but thought the East was empty the whole game.

It was a good result, considering we'd just been promoted. Does anyone know what the crowd was?

11-03-2010, 01:03 PM
I was at the game in 1981 and don't remember the main (East) terrace being open.

When the game started, the Main Stand and the Enclosures(West Side of ground) were open, as well as the Cave (FF End). I do remember they eventually opened the Dunbar End but thought the East was empty the whole game.

It was a good result, considering we'd just been promoted. Does anyone know what the crowd was?

Freezing.

Joe Baker II
11-03-2010, 03:24 PM
There was no official crowd published I think, uneducated guesses of 11,000 and for temperature of about -5 degrees centigrade/23 fahrenheit. Think we thought Main Stand would be less freezing, it may have been but was still baltic!

And we actually were better team than Manchester United for much of game, in the days before TV income created such an unneccesary gap between some leagues and the rest.

woody47
11-03-2010, 05:00 PM
I actually thougtht they shut the east terracing down that night because of a danger to supporters because the steps! were covered in ice. Seem to remember having to pile into the west stand instead.

Thornton Hibee
11-03-2010, 06:55 PM

Hibs Team

Man U Team

I have a recollection of Remi Moses and Gordon Rae having a 50-50 and Moses getting taken off but there is no mention of Moses on your team list

11-03-2010, 07:01 PM
IIRC the highlights were shown on Scotsport the next day. At that time I remember Hibs getting a few games on TV due to the fact they were the only club with undersoil heating and therefore the only one able to keep playing. I'm pretty sure I recall a win over Partick Thistle featuring on Scotsport just a few days before or after the Man U game.

Always first with everything Hibs are

PhoenixHibee
11-03-2010, 08:46 PM
How is it that Hibs could afford to install that? Or was it an experiment partly paid for by a company. I can't remember.