View Full Version : Terrible Trio and Famous Five in Edinburgh Derbies

LHWM
03-03-2010, 12:48 PM
I've put together the complete competitive record of the Terrible Trio and Famous Five in Edinburgh Derbies.

See here (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/misc/ttvsff.html)

The TT all played together 16 times, winning 13, drawing 2 and losing once.

The FF all played together 7 times, winning 2, drawing once and losing 4 times.

All 8 players played in 6 Derbies Hearts winning 4, drawing once and losing once.

Gordon Smith played the most games 37 times for Hibs and is top scorer with 15.
Jimmy W scored 14, Willie Bauld and Alfie Conn Snr 13 apiece. Lawrie Reilly scoring 10 for Hibs.

NB I've made the tables 'sortable' so if you click on a heading it will sort the table by that column.

A big big thanks to Bobby Sinnet for supplying the Hibs details. This has allowed me to to put an age against each player. For instance Gordon Smith was only 16y 11m 3 d when He scored his hat-trick on début.

03-03-2010, 12:55 PM
I've put together the complete competitive record of the Terrible Trio and Famous Five in Edinburgh Derbies.

All 8 players played in 6 Derbies Hearts winning 4, drawing once and losing once.
Gordon Smith played the most games 37 times for Hibs and is top scorer with 15.
Jimmy W scored 14, Willie Bauld and Alfie Conn Snr 13 apiece. Lawrie Reilly scoring 10 for Hibs.

NB I've made the tables 'sortable' so if you click on a heading it will sort the table by that column.

A big big thanks to Bobby Sinnet for supplying the Hibs details. This has allowed me to to put an age against each player. For instance Gordon Smith was only 16y 11m 3 d when He scored his hat-trick on début.

So our famous five weren't actually as good as the terrible trio :devil:

LHWM
03-03-2010, 12:59 PM

not in Derbies but better at winning Championships though worse at League and Scottish Cups.

alphahibby
03-03-2010, 01:00 PM

how could they be when they are the big team. :wink:

03-03-2010, 01:08 PM
Just to add some perspective to this:

International Caps:
Lawrie Rielly - 38
Gordon Smith - 18
Bobby Jonhstone - 17
Eddie Turnbull - 9
Willie Ormand - 6

even Bobby Combe got 3 caps as 'reserve' to the FF

Willie Bauld - 3
Alfie Conn - 1
Jimmy Wardlaugh - 2

LHWM
03-03-2010, 01:23 PM

International Caps:
Lawrie Rielly - 38
Gordon Smith - 18
Bobby Jonhstone - 17
Eddie Turnbull - 9
Willie Ormand - 6

Willie Bauld - 3
Alfie Conn - 1
Jimmy Wardlaugh - 2

Which had a lot to do with who were the selectors and the selection policy at the time rather than necessarily picking the best team. :wink: This exact same debate was being held 60 years ago amongst Capitol football fans.

I know speaking to the older fans who went along to see both teams on alternative weeks that both sides played brilliant football at times. Indeed Hearts were known in from the 1930s through to the early 1950s for playing pretty football without winning anything and failing in semi finals in particular.

LHWM
03-03-2010, 01:44 PM
I've just added in details of all 47 games where one or more of the 8 players played. They are 'bookended' by Tommy Walker scoring for Hearts on Gordon Smith's début and Alan Gordon scoring in Willie Bauld's last derby appearance. A link to the pre War and Turnbull's Tornadoes eras.

03-03-2010, 02:05 PM
I've just added in details of all 47 games where one or more of the 8 players played. They are 'bookended' by Tommy Walker scoring for Hearts on Gordon Smith's début and Alan Gordon scoring in Willie Bauld's last derby appearance. A link to the pre War and Turnbull's Tornadoes eras.

Were there any occasions where the full Famous Five and Terrible Trio were on the pitch at the same time?

I realise it's unlikely, as they both had their peak a few years apart.

03-03-2010, 02:14 PM
I'm sure, not too long ago, someone on Hibs Net corrected LHWM regarding the famous five all playing together against the yams. IIRC it was something like 5 games, 3 wins and 2 draws??, whereas LHWMs take on it was different - along the line of Hibs were barry, but the yams were a wee bit mair barryer.:greengrin

LHWM
03-03-2010, 02:14 PM
Were there any occasions where the full Famous Five and Terrible Trio were on the pitch at the same time?

I realise it's unlikely, as they both had their peak a few years apart.

See the 'combinations' section. As I stated in the original post

Whilst Hearts hit their peak in terms of silverware later the TT were together from 1948 so the 'trio' played throughout Hibs' 'peak'. In one season Hearts took 4 points from Hibs and lost twice to Rangers where a draw in Hibs favour in any of the 4 games would have given Hibs the title.

03-03-2010, 02:16 PM
As a wee side LHWM, what is the derby record, in the league in the last 15 derbies?, and for comparison , the last 30 derbies?

cheers

03-03-2010, 02:20 PM
Which had a lot to do with who were the selectors and the selection policy at the time rather than necessarily picking the best team. :wink: This exact same debate was being held 60 years ago amongst Capitol football fans.

I know speaking to the older fans who went along to see both teams on alternative weeks that both sides played brilliant football at times. Indeed Hearts were known in from the 1930s through to the early 1950s for playing pretty football without winning anything and failing in semi finals in particular.

Is there nothing that you lot can accept as being factual without there being an alternative motive?

LHWM
03-03-2010, 02:22 PM
I'm sure, not too long ago, someone on Hibs Net corrected LHWM regarding the famous five all playing together against the yams. IIRC it was something like 5 games, 3 wins and 2 draws??, whereas LHWMs take on it was different - along the line of Hibs were barry, but the yams were a wee bit mair barryer.:greengrin

That was based on the start and end dates of the 'famous five era'. I didn't have the details of the Hibs teams. This is now based on the actual appearances of the TT and the FF. Bobby Sinnet has been kind enough to supply the details of the Hibs line ups enabling a greater level of granualirty.

The actual figures for the FF are played 7, won 2, drawn 1 and lost 4.

LHWM
03-03-2010, 02:28 PM
As a wee side LHWM, what is the derby record, in the league in the last 15 derbies?, and for comparison , the last 30 derbies?

cheers

Last 15

2006-01-28 Sat Hearts 4-1 Hibernian L SPL 17371 Hartley;Skacel;Hartley(1 pen);Elliot; [Garry Lawrence O'Connor;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200601281.html)
2006-04-22 Sat Hibernian 2-1 Hearts L SPL 16654 Bednar; [Derek George Riordan;Abdessalam Benjelloun;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200604221.html)
2006-10-15 Sun Hibernian 2-2 Hearts L SPL 16623 Velicka;Velicka; [Merouane Zemamma;Christopher John Killen;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200610151.html)
2006-12-26 Tue Hearts 3-2 Hibernian L SPL 17369 Hartley;Jankauskas;Mikoliunas; [Christopher John Killen;Dean Shiels pen;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200612261.html)
2007-04-01 Sun Hibernian 0-1 Hearts L SPL 15953 Zaliukas; [;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200704011.html)
2007-05-12 Sat Hearts 2-0 Hibernian L SPL 16434 Pospisil;Driver; [;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200705121.html)
2007-08-06 Mon Hearts 0-1 Hibernian L SPL 16436 [Brian [1] Kerr;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200708061.html)
2007-11-04 Sun Hibernian 1-1 Hearts L SPL 17015 Nade; [Berra og;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200711041.html)
2008-01-19 Sat Hearts 1-0 Hibernian L SPL 17131 Velicka; [;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200801191.html)
2008-10-19 Sun Hibernian 1-1 Hearts L SPL 17223 Aguiar; [Steven Fletcher;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200810191.html)
2009-01-03 Sat Hearts 0-0 Hibernian L SPL 17244 [;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200901031.html)
2009-03-14 Sat Hibernian 1-0 Hearts L SPL 15091 [Steven Fletcher;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200903141.html)
2009-05-07 Thu Hearts 0-1 Hibernian L SPL 14714 [Derek George Riordan pen;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200905071.html)
2009-11-07 Sat Hearts 0-0 Hibernian L SPL 16762 [;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200911071.html)
2010-01-03 Sun Hibernian 1-1 Hearts L SPL 16949 Smith G; [Anthony Stokes;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/201001031.html)

LHWM
03-03-2010, 02:29 PM
Last 30

2001-10-21 Sun Hibernian 2-1 Hearts L SPL 13774 Simmons; [Ulises de la Cruz;Ulises de la Cruz;;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200110211.html)
2001-12-29 Sat Hearts 1-1 Hibernian L SPL 17474 McKenna; [John Thomas O'Neil;;;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200112291.html)
2002-03-16 Sat Hibernian 1-2 Hearts L SPL 13240 Severin;Pressley(1 pen); [Garry Lawrence O'Connor;;;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200203161.html)
2002-08-11 Sun Hearts 5-1 Hibernian L SPL 15245 Kirk;De Vries;De Vries;De Vries;De Vries; [Ian William Murray;;;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200208111.html)
2002-11-03 Sun Hibernian 1-2 Hearts L SPL 15660 McKenna;Stamp; [Mika-Matti Petteri Paatelainen;;;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200211031.html)
2003-01-02 Thu Hearts 4-4 Hibernian L SPL 17332 Pressley(1 pen);De Vries;Weir;Weir; [Derek Johnstone Townsley;Thomas Kelly McManus;Craig Peter James;Grant Ian Brebner;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200301021.html)
2003-08-17 Sun Hibernian 1-0 Hearts L SPL 14803 [Garry Lawrence O'Connor;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200308171.html)
2003-11-23 Sun Hearts 2-0 Hibernian L SPL 16632 Orman og;Smith og; [;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200311231.html)
2004-02-15 Sun Hibernian 1-1 Hearts L SPL 15016 Pressley(1 pen); [Derek George Riordan;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200402151.html)
2004-10-24 Sun Hearts 2-1 Hibernian L SPL 16720 Kisnorbo;Hamill; [Derek George Riordan;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200410241.html)
2005-01-02 Sun Hibernian 1-1 Hearts L SPL 17259 Hartley; [Derek George Riordan;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200501021.html)
2005-04-13 Wed Hearts 1-2 Hibernian L SPL 17676 Miller; [Garry Lawrence O'Connor;Dean Shiels;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200504131.html)
2005-04-23 Sat Hibernian 2-2 Hearts L SPL 16620 Miller;Webster; [Garry Lawrence O'Connor;Derek George Riordan;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200504231.html)
2005-08-07 Sun Hearts 4-0 Hibernian L SPL 16459 Skacel;Hartley(1 pen);Simmons;Mikoliunas; [;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200508071.html)
2005-10-29 Sat Hibernian 2-0 Hearts L SPL 17180 [Guillaume Beuzelin;Garry Lawrence O'Connor;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200510291.html)
2006-01-28 Sat Hearts 4-1 Hibernian L SPL 17371 Hartley;Skacel;Hartley(1 pen);Elliot; [Garry Lawrence O'Connor;;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200601281.html)
2006-04-22 Sat Hibernian 2-1 Hearts L SPL 16654 Bednar; [Derek George Riordan;Abdessalam Benjelloun;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200604221.html)
2006-10-15 Sun Hibernian 2-2 Hearts L SPL 16623 Velicka;Velicka; [Merouane Zemamma;Christopher John Killen;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200610151.html)
2006-12-26 Tue Hearts 3-2 Hibernian L SPL 17369 Hartley;Jankauskas;Mikoliunas; [Christopher John Killen;Dean Shiels pen;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200612261.html)
2007-04-01 Sun Hibernian 0-1 Hearts L SPL 15953 Zaliukas; [;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200704011.html)
2007-05-12 Sat Hearts 2-0 Hibernian L SPL 16434 Pospisil;Driver; [;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200705121.html)
2007-08-06 Mon Hearts 0-1 Hibernian L SPL 16436 [Brian [1] Kerr;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200708061.html)
2007-11-04 Sun Hibernian 1-1 Hearts L SPL 17015 Nade; [Berra og;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200711041.html)
2008-01-19 Sat Hearts 1-0 Hibernian L SPL 17131 Velicka; [;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200801191.html)
2008-10-19 Sun Hibernian 1-1 Hearts L SPL 17223 Aguiar; [Steven Fletcher;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200810191.html)
2009-01-03 Sat Hearts 0-0 Hibernian L SPL 17244 [;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200901031.html)
2009-03-14 Sat Hibernian 1-0 Hearts L SPL 15091 [Steven Fletcher;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200903141.html)
2009-05-07 Thu Hearts 0-1 Hibernian L SPL 14714 [Derek George Riordan pen;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200905071.html)
2009-11-07 Sat Hearts 0-0 Hibernian L SPL 16762 [;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/200911071.html)
2010-01-03 Sun Hibernian 1-1 Hearts L SPL 16949 Smith G; [Anthony Stokes;] link---> (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/201001031.html)

LHWM
03-03-2010, 02:33 PM
You should have said last 7 or 10 even:wink:

03-03-2010, 03:56 PM

International Caps:
Lawrie Rielly - 38
Gordon Smith - 18
Bobby Jonhstone - 17
Eddie Turnbull - 9
Willie Ormand - 6

Willie Bauld - 3
Alfie Conn - 1
Jimmy Wardlaugh - 2
I read somewhere, can't remember where though, that if Combe wasn't so versatile, the Five would've been known as the 'Seasational Six.' Perhaps somebody could clarify.

Also, calling him a 'reserve to the FF' is a bit unfair, it seems to me he was a mainstay in that side.

Earl o'Montrose
03-03-2010, 04:09 PM
[QUOTE=LHWM;2375344]I've put together the complete competitive record of the Terrible Trio and Famous Five in Edinburgh Derbies.

QUOTE]
Good grief, is that all? :confused:

03-03-2010, 04:17 PM

International Caps:
Lawrie Rielly - 38
Gordon Smith - 18
Bobby Jonhstone - 17
Eddie Turnbull - 9
Willie Ormand - 6

Willie Bauld - 3
Alfie Conn - 1
Jimmy Wardlaugh - 2

I was lucky enough to play against both FF and TT albeit only twice:greengrin
With the FF it was difficult to suss out the formation they played while with TT they used a "W" set up through the middle .
Gordon Smith for me "had it all" at club level ,but, at fear of being accused of "Hibs bias" Reilly was the "class act " at club and internationally , amongst the eight of them - as good for Scotland as he was for his club.
Plus he fully earned his nickname "Last minute Reilly" with his saving goals
Gordon Smith and Willie Bauld never seemed able to produce their club form for Scotland - that probably being the main reason they gained so few caps
For me the most underrated among them was Alfie Conn - one of the finest exponents of the 30/40 yard pass to a players feet I have ever seen !

As the song says "WHEN WILL WE SEE THEIR LIKE AGAIN ?"

As for Bobby Combe .
Bobby was a "one man team" played at the old 7,8,9,10,11( with distinction) and yet he always said No 6 ( wing half) was his favourite position .
Wasn't tall , from memory, but was built like a "brick s...t h...e"
Always think of him when I watch Scott Brown "driving forward "

03-03-2010, 04:45 PM
[QUOTE=LHWM;2375344]I've put together the complete competitive record of the Terrible Trio and Famous Five in Edinburgh Derbies.

QUOTE]
Good grief, is that all? :confused:

Remember they only had two games a season then.

03-03-2010, 04:46 PM
Is there nothing that you lot can accept as being factual without there being an alternative motive?

:confused: Which bit are you meaning?

03-03-2010, 04:49 PM
:confused: Which bit are you meaning?

The quote that the reply was in. :confused:

03-03-2010, 04:53 PM
The quote that the reply was in. :confused:

As far as I can see, he is saying that there was a debate amongst fans about who was better, who played the better football, about who should have been in the national team. Fans who watched both teams which, as happened then, would have been fans of either team.

Nothing factual, all subjective.

Or am I missing something?

LHWM
03-03-2010, 05:17 PM
[QUOTE=Earl o'Montrose;2375532]

Remember they only had two games a season then.

With Bobby Johnstone leaving Hibs in 1955 (IIRC) that only left 5 years as the time span to fit the games in.

Gordon Smith would have probably played in 70+ Competitive derbies if there had been 4 a season.

03-03-2010, 05:26 PM
As far as I can see, he is saying that there was a debate amongst fans about who was better, who played the better football, about who should have been in the national team. Fans who watched both teams which, as happened then, would have been fans of either team.

Nothing factual, all subjective.

Or am I missing something?

Which had a lot to do with who were the selectors and the selection policy at the time rather than necessarily picking the best team. :wink:

The insinuation was that the TT were better but didn't get pick up any international caps due to the selectors and their policies against Hearts?

03-03-2010, 05:30 PM
Which had a lot to do with who were the selectors and the selection policy at the time rather than necessarily picking the best team. :wink:

The insinuation was that the TT were better but didn't get pick up any international caps due to the selectors and their policies against Hearts?

... which would be an opinion.

LHWM
03-03-2010, 05:37 PM

It is certainly the opinion of many Hearts fans who were around in the 1950s.

03-03-2010, 05:43 PM
Here's a stat for ya

Hearts 0

Hibernian 7

As relevant as your usual fudged "dig at Hibs" stats

:bye:

03-03-2010, 05:44 PM

FFS!!

Of course it's LHWM's opinion that the TT only got 6 caps because there was some other mysterious conspiracy from the selectors at the time and somehow they favoured the FF.

I'm saying that he's talking shi'ite and it's another blatant attempt to come on here, re-write history to make them either seem 'bigger' and if they are proved otherwise then there must be another factor involved.

I really can't make it any clearer but I'm sure you'll try to come back and ask me again...

03-03-2010, 05:47 PM
It is certainly the opinion of many Hearts fans who were around in the 1950s.

Well there's a shock eh...

03-03-2010, 06:04 PM
Here's a stat for ya

Hearts 0

Hibernian 7

Och behave.

LHWM, as has been said many times before, does not play the one-upmanship game on here. His stats are always impressive and interesting, and I can't think of any occasion where he has had a "dig at Hibs". For me, and for many others, he is very welcome here.

03-03-2010, 07:56 PM

cheers

Are you Standby?

03-03-2010, 08:33 PM
I had two journeymen when I served my apprenticeship, one a Hibby and one a Jambo. The Jambo, proudly and rightly so, used to carry a cutting of the League table which Hearts won when they scored 132 goals or whatever it was. There were several "discussions" between them which were pretty educational. They both agreed on one thing - that the Famous Five were by far the best team of the post war era, they thought that the Rangers "Iron Curtain" team was a close second although the way they played was less exciting - and it wasn't until those two line-ups disappeared, the Rangers one retiring and the Hibs one getting kicked out the game, that the Terrible Trio could take centre stage.

They argued over the qualities of the individuals. Reilly won his caps because of Swan's position with the SFA was the Jambo's main argument although Reilly's scoring record speaks for itself at that level. I don't think Willie Bauld himself would have denied that. Gordon Smith should have had more caps was one of the Hibby's arguments and the Jambo agreed as Scotland seemed to be a better prospect with him playing - the European tour when Smith captained Scotland being an example.

On Derbies the Hibby always claimed it was a kicking match, he said the Hibs crowd would be very quiet at kick-off as they knew within seconds Smith would be booted up in the air and it would be touch and go whether he would continue or make any kind of contribution to the game. After Smith Ormond would get the same treatment. The Jambo didn't deny this saying it was a "man's game".

Second hand opinion but there you go.

If Hearts were so great at the time they would have been invited to the World Club Championship or the inaugral European Cup but they weren't. Hibs, on the other hand, were.

03-03-2010, 08:39 PM
Here's a stat for ya

Hearts 0

Hibernian 7

You might want to delete this, we canny compete with a world war winners medal.

03-03-2010, 09:01 PM
Och behave.

LHWM, as has been said many times before, does not play the one-upmanship game on here. His stats are always impressive and interesting, and I can't think of any occasion where he has had a "dig at Hibs". For me, and for many others, he is very welcome here.

That's your opinion but not one I agree with. I won't be fooled by his rubbish.

Come on the TT were not in the same class as the Famous Five - he's just another Yam fud who is jealous of everything Hibernian

Septimus
04-03-2010, 06:33 AM
Got bored with the statistics half way down the thread. I have always looked at football through green tinted glasses and what I saw in these days was an elegant, interchanginging forward line which was unique. Hibs were for a brief period of time world leaders in the game and were a joy to watch. Yes! I saw Willie Bauld, etc. but these were children of a lesser god. The only players I would have welcomed into the Hibs team in these times were Billy Steel and Mason of Third Lanark.