View Full Version : At what point does football become boring?

28-02-2010, 06:50 PM
Man u have just won yet another cup
Rangers/celtic have won the league and most cups since i started watching football
its the same teams looking to win the EPL/ La Liga/serie A
Its the same teams in the Champions league

you do get moments that make you sit up and take notice but on the whole its the same teams around europe over and over again. i think watching hibs is good fun (for the most part) but the rest is just getting pretty boring now.

is it just me?

28-02-2010, 06:58 PM
Nope. It is all getting quite predictable these days - money talks.

But I guess it's more about the journey (and the twists and turns along the way) rather than the final outcome.

noseyhibby
28-02-2010, 07:10 PM
Rangers/celtic have won the league and most cups since i started watching football

you do get moments that make you sit up and take notice but on the whole its the same teams around europe over and over again. i think watching hibs is good fun (for the most part) but the rest is just getting pretty boring now.

is it just me?

No. It's not just you. And all due respect but you are a mere 24. Whatever you are feeling I felt at the same age. Imagine being double your age and still seeing the same old. Well, that's me. Apart from Aberdeen and Dundee United in the 1980s, the old firm have dominated -even during the days of Turnbulls Tornadoes. Hibs have won 3 major trophies in my lifetime. Hardly impressive, but it could be worse, Hearts have won 2, both very recently. I've seen Hibs relegated twice and Hearts 3 times! Which totally destroys their big team arguments.
What's more depressing is that football has corrupted itself beyond recognition. It's a far different world to when I was a youngster.

28-02-2010, 09:10 PM
No. It's not just you. And all due respect but you are a mere 24. Whatever you are feeling I felt at the same age. Imagine being double your age and still seeing the same old. Well, that's me. Apart from Aberdeen and Dundee United in the 1980s, the old firm have dominated -even during the days of Turnbulls Tornadoes. Hibs have won 3 major trophies in my lifetime. Hardly impressive, but it could be worse, Hearts have won 2, both very recently. I've seen Hibs relegated twice and Hearts 3 times! Which totally destroys their big team arguments.
What's more depressing is that football has corrupted itself beyond recognition. It's a far different world to when I was a youngster.

I don't think it could have been more eloquently put.

Natural consequence of the obscene amounts of money in top flight football these days?

28-02-2010, 10:02 PM
I don't think it could have been more eloquently put.

Natural consequence of the obscene amounts of money in top flight football these days?

Time for the draft system as per the NHL.
Everybody gets a fair kick at the baw.

01-03-2010, 01:08 PM
30 seconds into a yams game, thats when fitba becomes boring.

01-03-2010, 01:49 PM
Watching the yams makes richard gordon's eyes bleed. Maybe not a good definition of boredom, but a very good definition of not watching fitba.

01-03-2010, 02:02 PM
I feel the same, i know im only 27 but all i have known is, Rangers and Celtc win everything for the most part in scotland. This is why half the people in my generation dont go to games, its predictable so they either become a 'fan' of one of these teams or they just dont bother. The only people into football that i grew up with are like myself and it was part of there family.

I will always support hibs, but from an outside view point i would never watch the SPL, i never watch any games hibs are not involved in other than major cup finals.

As for other countries the larger footballing ones are just as predictable apart from the odd flurry by a random club outwith the big2/top4 whatever.

Its easy to get bored with football but i will NEVER be bored with Hibs.

Rory89
01-03-2010, 02:11 PM
The Carling Cup yesterday says it all.

Man U rest their best player for a cup final, shows how much they care. That player comes on and gets the winner, which must be devastating for everyone at Aston Villa. Instead United go up and collect the trophy in the most relaxed, who gives a ****** way ever. The United fans could barely be heard getting excited about yet another meaningless trophy, whilst any shot of the crowd celebrating was something similiar to my reaction to coming back home and being told we're getting a takeaway tonight.

That's what's wrong, the big teams have gobbled up everything to the point of being full and bloated, whilst everyone else is starved of success. I'm only 20 but in the last few years my once strong interest in the Champions League, Premiership, FA Cup etc has went way down.

Edit to add: You could say the same about the SPL title race but that's slightly different as I've never given a flying **** about that.

KerPlunk
01-03-2010, 02:32 PM

is it just me?

Have to agree with your sentiments, however, just how bad does it have to get before someone decides that enough is enough ?

Until Hibs' hit the buffers a wee bit, we were all on a roll, buoyed by the fact that a new, enthusiastic, dyed-in-the-wool manager was being backed financially by a board who appear to have lit the path that all Scottish clubs should be taking in terms of development & debt management. So although we all come on here and moan like hell, it's all relatively rosy for Hibs, apart from the attendances being less than expected. As you say, watching Hibs is good fun, although not good for the blood pressure. :bitchy:

Compare with Aberdeen. They are on a horrendous roll, their manager can't seem to get his foot out of his mouth, his head out of his arse or his ego out of the papers. Their board appear racked with inertia despite talk of a new stadium and being led by one of the richest men in Britain. Their attendances are going thro' the floor and only now are they talking about following the "Hibs model". They are in deep long term kak, IMO.

Personally, the thing that pisses me off is the OF. Period. I mean everything about the OF. I hate their arrogance. The way they manipulate the Pavlov's dogs of the media. The way the SFA / SPL bend over, pull the cheeks apart and say "There ye go Watty / Tony / Dermot / Martin, shove it right up....." The way they get preferential treatment from the heidbummers. The way they think they can pressurise officials publicly. (Actually, there is one bit of OF fuddery that I find hilarious. and that is their attempt to join the EPL, but that's for another thread.)

The one thing that would make the SPL much more entertaining would be to bin the system of playing each other 4 times a season - that just guarantees the OF hegemony, even when they are sh*te., but how to do it ? The fact that Scottish football is so weak across the leagues brings it's own problems for restructuring.

01-03-2010, 03:48 PM
As far as the League in Scotland is concerned it became very boring in the 60's until now with a short spell in the 80's when Aberdeen and Dundee Utd won it being the only respite. How many other times has there been a genuine challenge over a full season? I can think of one but we all know how that ended.

01-03-2010, 07:53 PM
Domination is nothing new. The teams do change over time (outside Scotland at least) but the principle that a small number of teams have more spending power and can 'buy' success has been around as long as football has, I suspect. I would be confident that every transfer milestone, from the first £1,000 fee to the first £10,000 fee to the first £100,000 fee, and so on, has been accompanied by much anguishing and gnashing of teeth in the press (as it would have been then) about how the game had lost its meaning and fallen victim to greed and commercialism.

Although there's the appearance of it being more accentuated now, I suspect that isn't necessarily the case, just that the context has changed.

Nevertheless, the dominance of the OF since the 80s is evident.They have greater commercial 'pull' and thus attract greater income, meaning they can spend more on players. For all the talk of them being at their worst (at least since the last time they were talked about as being at their worst), the majority of their players would walk into every other SPL team.

We live in a society that is partly based on a freedom to acquire wealth and spend it, so it seems harsh to criticise the OF for doing exactly what we would likely do, in their shoes. There are levellers however, which could be argued to benefit everybody in the long run, even if they don't offer much in the short term. Switching to a league season that involved only playing each other twice, for example.

That would take a bit of courage and a willingness to take a bit of pain now, off-set by the potential for greater gain later. Unfortunately I doubt there's many willing to do that.