View Full Version : Yogi (merged)

27-02-2010, 05:45 PM
Didn't go up to Perth to watch hibs however, Yogi has to learn from his mistakes?
Today we go bullied by a big midfield and were painfully exposed at right/left back.
We lose EVERY 50/50 in midfield due to our midfield being vertically challenged. Furthermore, our fullbacks are constantly under pressure due to our lack of width in midfield.
I am just back and still can't work out the set-up in midfield? How Yogi can watch that confuses me and frustrates me!!:grr::grr:

27-02-2010, 05:47 PM
A falkirk friend of my warned me of this, he said "yogi is a great manager but when things go wrong THINGS GO WRONG with him"

i hope he's wrong. :boo hoo:

27-02-2010, 05:47 PM
I'm more worried about his refusal to acknowledge that things are not working and make appropriate changes.

27-02-2010, 05:55 PM
A falkirk friend of my warned me of this, he said "yogi is a great manager but when things go wrong THINGS GO WRONG with him"

i hope he's wrong. :boo hoo:

A problem that also annoyed me about Mixu.

The only thing separating the two is that we know Yogi's system can work and will work again, once we get the confidence back.

Keep the faith. :agree:

27-02-2010, 06:03 PM
I really want to get behind Yogi and support him but he continues to persist with this and is almost dogmatic!!!
He can't honestly watch that and expect to get a result?
I wonder what his game plan was today?
Everybody gives Nish a hard time but he was our ONLY attacking option. He wasn't great but remove him and what did we have today??

weebobyct
27-02-2010, 06:04 PM
:yawn:he doesnt know how to make a sub ! still no sub by 84 minutes !

mcfly
27-02-2010, 06:04 PM
I'm sorry but HOGG must be dropped - he is useless, never wins a header, offers no leadership qualities and in my view is hopeless.

Why was smith dropped??

why does our midfield get bullied off every ball??

finally get duberry signed up....he won everything today and adds real steel to a defence.

we must get a win next week....yogi honeymoon is over get it sorted before its too late.

archiebald
27-02-2010, 06:13 PM
Dont think Yogi has got it,screamed at Hogg all day and yet he stayed on and he was terrible CAPTAIN NOT :bitchy:
Plus agree Duberry was brill

27-02-2010, 06:21 PM
Not that i am an expert but he is over confusing things.

The fact he never made a sub is insignificant as we don't have any midfielders who actually meet the 'mature adult' criteria!!!

I thought Stack was pretty assured today but goalkeeping is far from our main worry just now.

We needed an RB and 'normal' sized midfielder, we failed to buy either!!!

With what we have got i would like to play.......

Any Goalie

Thicot/McCann?? Hogg Hanlon Murray

Wotherspoon Bamba Miller Riordan/Gow

Stokes Nish

Obviously RB is a problem, McCann unfit, Thicot unproven. I just think alot of what we do well comes through Wotherspoon, he is genuinely class act.

Bamba CAN play in midfield and would give us a big presence in there, its not HIS choice where he plays, its the managers!!!!!

27-02-2010, 06:28 PM
I was at the away game and we just hoofed the ball to Stokes but Duberry easily got it, so today we do the same thing and again Duberry wins every ball, rediculous.

mcfly
27-02-2010, 06:31 PM
can anyone tell me why thicot cant get a game??

he must be better than hogg, he proved that at tynecastle.

give him a chance, put bamba into midfield and see if we can improve, we are an easy team to play against now and are easily out muscled.

riordan doesnt work hard enough and had his chances today to score.

very disappointed with the result, we are losing form at the wrong end of the season

Alicky Ranks
27-02-2010, 07:17 PM
I may be wrong, but it never struck me that Yogi did anything remarkable at Falkirk except keep them treading water the bottom six. They only avoided relegation on the last day of last season and it seems the fact they got to the Scottish Cup final masked what was an otherwise dire season. He made an impressive start at Hibs and he's been the first to stress he needs a lot more time to get things right, but at present he doesn't seem to be showing any aptitude for steering us out of the sudden tailspin we're in. I enjoy listening to Yogi talk about the game and his plans for Hibs, but we're now at a stage when we need more that. Is Yogi the man to restore the confidence which has so quickly evaporated?

27-02-2010, 07:17 PM
Yogi seems to have one way and one way only of setting out his teams and the other managers in the league have sussed out how to stop us playing. Unfortunately we don`t have many options where it matters which raises the question , why on earth did he sign another goalkeeper and another striker in the transfer window when everyone knows where the real weakness in the team is?

27-02-2010, 07:19 PM
I may be wrong, but it never struck me that Yogi did anything remarkable at Falkirk except keep them treading water the bottom six. They only avoided relegation on the last day of last season and it seems the fact they got to the Scottish Cup final masked what was an otherwise dire season. He made an impressive start at Hibs and he's been the first to stress he needs a lot more time to get things right, but at present he doesn't seem to be showing any aptitude for steering us out of the sudden tailspin we're in. I enjoy listening to Yogi talk about the game and his plans for Hibs, but we're now at a stage when we need more that. Is Yogi the man to restore the confidence which has so quickly evaporated?

IMO, yes.

Simkin911
27-02-2010, 07:29 PM
Falkirk were perceived to be a decent footballing team with a stated intention of playing the ball on the ground. Hughes also managed to pull off some reasonable signings.

Of course, his credentials are now somewhat irrelevant. He's in the job so actually it's his performance and that of the team that count now.

We've spent a considerable section of the season to date in 3rd place. Tonight we slipped back to 4th. All is not lost... and Hughes deserves, for the progress thus far at least, some time and scope to continue his work.

We have some real quality in the squad, a fantastic training complex, stadium redevelopment, a manager who isn't just there for the cash and a fantastic low debt platform.

We gotta be amongst the luckiest fans in the UK..... despite the topsy turvy performances & results of the last few months.

FRes Hibbie
27-02-2010, 07:30 PM

You don't half talk pish. What a stupid, *****-stirring question.

Are you suggesting we get rid of him?

27-02-2010, 07:33 PM
Is Yogi the man to restore the confidence which has so quickly evaporated?

Since he was the man that put the confidence in them in the first place, then yes I think he is.

27-02-2010, 07:35 PM
The pitches are affecting us too, we're not playing the ball on the deck as much as we should be due to the awful surfaces.

Yogi has done well so far but he needs to learn to make quicker decisions on subs, takes far too long to change things when games are not going well.

27-02-2010, 07:38 PM
The pitches are affecting us too, we're not playing the ball on the deck as much as we should be due to the awful surfaces.

Yogi has done well so far but he needs to learn to make quicker decisions on subs, takes far too long to change things when games are not going well.

The only reason Zemmama came on today was because McBride had to go off injured

Riordans Boots
27-02-2010, 07:39 PM
Since he was the man that put the confidence in them in the first place, then yes I think he is.

Amen.

27-02-2010, 07:39 PM

Sniff, sniff, sniff.

Is it still eye bleeding stuff at Pink Towers or don't you have a season ticket for the Pornstars?

27-02-2010, 07:42 PM
No issue with Hughes at all. But Riordan was breathing out his arse with 20 mins to go. As was Nish.

With St J chasing the game I think he should have put Benji, Gow or Zemmama on then and we would have scored a second and won the game.

Twa Cairpets
27-02-2010, 07:43 PM

You've been on like some type of vulture of doom a lot over the past couple of weeks, posting p!sh and apparently taking huge pleasure in a sticky patch.

Get a grip, give it time, and I hope your knee being embedded in your chin doesnt hurt too much.

27-02-2010, 07:43 PM
If we were still getting bullied around in the midfield, why not change it and put Murray and/or Bamba in there to try and win the ball back, could easily have swapped Murray and Stevenson, or pushed Bamba up, Murray to CD and Stevenson to LB without making any subs... :confused:

27-02-2010, 07:56 PM
I think it's far too early to start questioning his position as manager and asking whether or not he's the right man for the job. He needs a lot more than just 3/4 of a season and two transfer windows to really build his own team and stamp his complete authority on the side.

However, the current run of form that we are on (not just results but also the performances) are extremely disappointing and very frustrating because we are now in serious danger of throwing away all the great work that was done at the beginning of the season. We are now down to 4th and only a few points above Motherwell, even Hearts are now slowly creeping up on us.

Apart from the recent matches against Rangers and St Johnstone, we haven't been losing too many goals in games but at the same time, I don't think we have carried a great attacking threat for quite some time and we aren't creating many chances either. For a team that has the kind of forward players that we have at our disposal, that is not good enough.

Hopefully this slump can be ended as soon as possible because we really need to get that winning feeling back.

erskine-hibby
27-02-2010, 07:57 PM
I'm more worried about his refusal to acknowledge that things are not working and make appropriate changes.

Quite:agree:

27-02-2010, 07:58 PM

Life is a learning curve,learn about paragraphs,and your laughing.

As for the rest of your keek,GGTTH.

Yogi rules !

erskine-hibby
27-02-2010, 08:01 PM
He has an eye for a player,
he has the tactical nous to change the pattern of a game simply through instruction from the touchline,
He can turn a game with the timely introduction of a substitute or two.

Just for starters,

Expand.......

Sorry I don't see any sign of that lately, do you??

He was hired because he is a Hibby and he was cheap.
I'm not saying he is not the man for the job though, but it seems he has a lot of learning to do himself.

27-02-2010, 08:03 PM
He has an eye for a player,
he has the tactical nous to change the pattern of a game simply through instruction from the touchline,
He can turn a game with the timely introduction of a substitute or two.

Just for starters,

Expand.......

didnt happen today though :agree:

27-02-2010, 08:06 PM
Yogi works well with younger players - he showed this at Falkirk by bringing through young players consistently, Arfield being the obvious mention.

He doesn't resort to signing foreigners from ahem, the French Second Division to patch up the team. If you consider every signing Hughes has made, they've all been either English, Irish or Scottish. I could be wrong but my guess would be that he feels to compete successfully - or at least, competently - in Scottish football, you need Scottish-based players, or players who are used to the Scottish (or British, at a stretch) style of play.

Our starting 11 today, with the exception of Stack, were either Scottish, had been playing in Scotland for a considerable amount of time before joining Hibs, or had at some point played in Scotland.

Just a theory though, I could be entirely wrong.

27-02-2010, 08:08 PM
Life is a learning curve,learn about paragraphs,and your laughing.

As for the rest of your keek,GGTTH.

Yogi rules !

Why does everyone on here go on about paragraphs?

27-02-2010, 08:10 PM

I'm not saying he is not the man for the job though, but it seems he has a lot of learning to do himself.

You ARE on the wind-up ?,..........it''s just you forgot the :greengrin

WHEN Yogi is able to make a signing........Any complaints so far ?

noseyhibby
27-02-2010, 08:15 PM
Sniff, sniff, sniff.

Is it still eye bleeding stuff at Pink Towers or don't you have a season ticket for the Pornstars?

No need for the personal stuff.:bitchy: Stick to sound objective arguments.

northern-hibee
27-02-2010, 08:15 PM

Agreed. He had better start learning quick because this is where a manager earns his corn. Easy enough when all is going well but what (if anything) can he do to turn this good season from going down the pan.............................fast. I think a lot of hibees will have difficulty accepting abject failure from a season that promised so much and the blame must be laid somewhere.

erskine-hibby
27-02-2010, 08:20 PM
You ARE on the wind-up ?,..........it''s just you forgot the :greengrin
WHEN Yogi is able to make a signing........Any complaints so far ?

No, I didn't.

27-02-2010, 08:27 PM
Why did Yogi not get a player stripped and ready to go on the moment it was obvious to everyone that McBride was injured. The trainer signalled to the bench that he couldn't go on but Yogi was busy chatting to Rice(?).
But the time McBride limped off Yogi was rushing Zooma to get stripped (the wrong sub IMO). Meantime, on the park, we lose a penalty.
Unbelievable. :confused:

27-02-2010, 08:29 PM

Imho his substitution last week cost us a point at Motherwell and his failure to make substitutions earlier today cost us 2 points. One thing that really worries me though is the way that the players shout abuse back at the dugout when Yogi is trying to pass on instructions. Shout at your gaffer like that in any other profession and you would be down the road sharpish.

27-02-2010, 08:34 PM
Hughes' biggest fault IMHO is his inability to make a sub (the right sub) at the right time.....said it for a while now and said it before today.

IMHO as a manager he's done better than I thought he would and I put my hands up to that, but, his subs are in the main, pish - wrong people at the wrong time.

27-02-2010, 08:36 PM
Why did Yogi not get a player stripped and ready to go on the moment it was obvious to everyone that McBride was injured. The trainer signaled to the bench that he couldn't go on but Yogi was busy chatting to Rice(?).
But the time McBride limped off Yogi was rushing Zooma to get stripped (the wrong sub IMO). Meantime, on the park, we lose a penalty.
Unbelievable. :confused:

Yogi should have had a player stripped and on the park well before that, the game was crying out for a change and he left it too late!

27-02-2010, 08:37 PM
No, I didn't.

So you're on the wind up then ?

Sergy Pie
27-02-2010, 08:39 PM

The only reason Zemmama came on today was because McBride had to go off injured

That got my goat big time when he was injured. The physio made a signal that McBride needed to come off when he was lying on the ground. McBride then took an age to walk off the pitch. It wasn't until another member of the backroom staff signalled that he needed to go off 30 seconds later that Hughes was aware a sub was needed. I don't think it was really thought through who should have come on. We were down to 10 men for longer than we needed to be. Not that I think it would have made a difference but it was when they scored that we were down to 10 men.

I'm not blaming any one person for this but I'm *****ed off tonight and this episode summed up Hibs for me today. We were there but not switched on and sharp enough to react to certain situations.

Despite this sub, we needed a change well before McBride's injury.

erskine-hibby
27-02-2010, 08:39 PM
So you're on the wind up then ?

27-02-2010, 08:40 PM
Imho his substitution last week cost us a point at Motherwell and his failure to make substitutions earlier today cost us 2 points. One thing that really worries me though is the way that the players shout abuse back at the dugout when Yogi is trying to pass on instructions. Shout at your gaffer like that in any other profession and you would be down the road sharpish.

shamo9
27-02-2010, 08:41 PM
Hughes' biggest fault IMHO is his inability to make a sub (the right sub) at the right time.....said it for a while now and said it before today.

IMHO as a manager he's done better than I thought he would and I put my hands up to that, but, his subs are in the main, pish - wrong people at the wrong time.

Or alternatively: no changes until the damage is done.

27-02-2010, 08:41 PM
How could it not be seen that Nish was having a stinker? He was falling over, miskicking and generally wasting a shirt today. I'm not usually one to lambast Nishy but today he was very lucky to get a full game.

Midfield was absent at times. Ball into midfield and into a sea of blue shirts. The only green to be seen was the grass they were stood on.

Yogi will have to look on today as another learning experience, and one point gained given the awful performance.

shamo9
27-02-2010, 08:44 PM
How could it not be seen that Nish was having a stinker? He was falling over, miskicking and generally wasting a shirt today. I'm not usually one to lambast Nishy but today he was very lucky to get a full game.

Midfield was absent at times. Ball into midfield and into a sea of blue shirts. The only green to be seen was the grass they were stood on.

Yogi will have to look on today as another learning experience, and one point gained given the awful performance.

Hence why we should play 442 rather than this 433 gibberish which leaves us outnumbered, resulting in every tackle and pass turning into a 'last ditch' must make incident. We need to get back to basics, get that right and then maybe we can be a little bit fancier.

27-02-2010, 08:45 PM

ok,one more go...............................you're a grumpy git !?

27-02-2010, 08:46 PM
Yogis credentials:

Consistent over achieving at Falkirk - look at the mess they now find themselves in.

Getting to the Scottish Cup final and playing Rangers off the park, despite losing to a genuinely quality goal out of nowhere.

Turning a team going nowhere fast under Mixu into a team who, up til 3 weeks ago, were still within touching distance of Celtc and Rangers

He's shown recently that he's not infallible, but he's still a young and inexperienced manager compared to most and the very least he deserves from the Hibs support is time and respect.

He got it wrong these last couple of weeks, and got it wrong today but he'll get it right.

Criswell
27-02-2010, 09:01 PM
A truly awful performance today, even after getting the ideal start. On an afternoon when few got pass marks Nish's display plumbed new depths of ineptitude. I am not saying all the blame should be laid at his door, far from it, however, when a player is having a nightmare of these proportions, for his, the team's, and the long suffering supporter's sake - ffs get him hooked - pronto!

I am quickly losing patience with Hughes. He has to to able to recognise sooner when things just aint working and at least try and do something about it. I believe with the quality we have in the squad we should be seeing a better standard of football than we are. We were second-best today in every department and very fortunate to get anything.

27-02-2010, 09:05 PM
That got my goat big time when he was injured. The physio made a signal that McBride needed to come off when he was lying on the ground. McBride then took an age to walk off the pitch. It wasn't until another member of the backroom staff signalled that he needed to go off 30 seconds later that Hughes was aware a sub was needed. I don't think it was really thought through who should have come on. We were down to 10 men for longer than we needed to be. Not that I think it would have made a difference but it was when they scored that we were down to 10 men.

I'm not blaming any one person for this but I'm *****ed off tonight and this episode summed up Hibs for me today. We were there but not switched on and sharp enough to react to certain situations.

Despite this sub, we needed a change well before McBride's injury.

Nish started. We were down to 10 men from the kick off.

Yogi has overseen plucky also rans all his career. He was the natural and perfect choice for us.

Mag7
27-02-2010, 09:12 PM
A truly awful performance today, even after getting the ideal start. On an afternoon when few got pass marks Nish's display plumbed new depths of ineptitude. I am not saying all the blame should be laid at his door, far from it, however, when a player is having a nightmare of these proportions, for his, the team's, and the long suffering supporter's sake - ffs get him hooked - pronto!

I am quickly losing patience with Hughes. He has to to able to recognise sooner when things just aint working and at least try and do something about it. I believe with the quality we have in the squad we should be seeing a better standard of football than we are. We were second-best today in every department and very fortunate to get anything.

Gotta agree. Stuff this 'bogey team' nonsense. St Johnstone have us sussed which is ridiculous. Player for player we should not struggle so badly against this sort of team. The blame for that must be apportioned to the manager.

27-02-2010, 09:21 PM

:dancer::dancer::dancer::dancer::dancer::dancer:

Go Go Sultan :thumbsup:

"I am quickly losing patience with Hughes"
:dummytit:

get a life

allmodcons
27-02-2010, 09:24 PM
Yogis credentials:

Consistent over achieving at Falkirk - look at the mess they now find themselves in.

Getting to the Scottish Cup final and playing Rangers off the park, despite losing to a genuinely quality goal out of nowhere.

Turning a team going nowhere fast under Mixu into a team who, up til 3 weeks ago, were still within touching distance of Celtc and Rangers

He's shown recently that he's not infallible, but he's still a young and inexperienced manager compared to most and the very least he deserves from the Hibs support is time and respect.

He got it wrong these last couple of weeks, and got it wrong today but he'll get it right.

:agree: Best post I've read tonight. No kneejerk reaction to a run of 4 poor games. Absolutely spot on without being up Yogi's arse.

Hibernating (Im a stoopid yam tramp)
27-02-2010, 10:38 PM
Other than that first three minutes, Nish was diabolically bad. And what the so called manager was doing keeping both him and Stevenson on for 90 minutes only he knows. Zouma should have came on for Stevenson and Miller moved into the middle. And Benji put in place of the imposter that is Nish. Hughes is losing the plot I fear.

27-02-2010, 10:53 PM
:agree: Best post I've read tonight. No kneejerk reaction to a run of 4 poor games. Absolutely spot on without being up Yogi's arse.

Quite - but the vultures are circling - just as they did with Mixu, Collins, Williamson etc.

I've never been convinced by Hughes - particularly his predeliction for signing the players who almost got Falkirk relegated last season. I'm not convinced (other than Stokes) he's signed players of real quality. You don't need much quality, but we haven't moved on much from last season where we were very light in midfield. But Hughes is young, should be adaptable and ought to learn. Let's just hope he is given the time denied to his predecessors...

27-02-2010, 10:59 PM
I'm more worried about his refusal to acknowledge that things are not working and make appropriate changes.you and me both but i'm sure somebody will be along tae tell us everything is fine :rolleyes:

Why did Yogi not get a player stripped and ready to go on the moment it was obvious to everyone that McBride was injured. The trainer signalled to the bench that he couldn't go on but Yogi was busy chatting to Rice(?).
Unbelievable. :confused:Too little too late again, as I said above I'm sure there'll be somebody along soon tae tell us we are wrong again and Hughes is right again.

27-02-2010, 11:06 PM
yogi,an imposter? that's a bit harsh,naw? i do think he f/cked things up today though! we were struggling to hold on to a 1 nil lead, and after 80 mins we still had the lead.time to shut the game down,with no subs on at that point he decided to wait until the damage was done(unbelievably). why not just run the game down,and bring fresh men on to win the f/kin' game. he was bound to see that the ref was itching to give saints something out of the game:grr:

sam armstrong
27-02-2010, 11:25 PM
I'm sorry but HOGG must be dropped - he is useless, never wins a header, offers no leadership qualities and in my view is hopeless.

Why was smith dropped??

why does our midfield get bullied off every ball??

finally get duberry signed up....he won everything today and adds real steel to a defence.

we must get a win next week....yogi honeymoon is over get it sorted before its too late.

smith was dropped apparently because stack can control bamba more and don't bother getting duberry just get hanlon in

down the slope
27-02-2010, 11:37 PM
No width no height no guile but worst of all no brains, how can we never play like visiting teams who can find the one lone man up front with a ball to chest or feet. This is not rocket science but we seem unable to grasp this concept, how is it we are always reacting to the other team ?, we never boss the game but rely on individuals maybe turning the game instead of having a plan that works.
Not convinced now about hughes and i even gave him the benefit of the doubt when he made Hogg captain but not for much longer, Hogg needs removed sharpish for a start as i seriously don't think he could kick my erse. No more ST for me if i have to watch that Gash which was of Mixuesc proportions.

27-02-2010, 11:51 PM
Gotta agree. Stuff this 'bogey team' nonsense. St Johnstone have us sussed which is ridiculous. Player for player we should not struggle so badly against this sort of team. The blame for that must be apportioned to the manager.

I agree. The football aint good enough. The formation aint working and the subs are woeful. I'm not confident about the rest of the season.

27-02-2010, 11:54 PM
I agree. The football aint good enough. The formation aint working and the subs are woeful. I'm not confident about the rest of the season.

Me neither. How he could sit and watch Nish and Stevenson today for ninety minutes and not change it beggars belief. I still support him but that was shocking.

27-02-2010, 11:55 PM
I agree. The football aint good enough. The formation aint working and the subs are woeful. I'm not confident about the rest of the season.Are you allowed tae say stuff like that?

Expecting Rain
28-02-2010, 12:14 AM
I really want to get behind Yogi and support him but he continues to persist with this and is almost dogmatic!!!
He can't honestly watch that and expect to get a result?
I wonder what his game plan was today?
Everybody gives Nish a hard time but he was our ONLY attacking option. He wasn't great but remove him and what did we have today??

Having nothing was a better option than Nish today, he was only just behind Craig as their best player.

killie-hibby
28-02-2010, 12:31 AM
Me neither. How he could sit and watch Nish and Stevenson today for ninety minutes and not change it beggars belief. I still support him but that was shocking.

Things will get better when Hughes sits up in the stand for six games and has a better view of his/our leaderless and shambolic team.

28-02-2010, 12:38 AM
Of course he needs more time in the job, no disputing that one :agree:

However, he failed to learn his lessons from the game in Perth, we still didn't put out a team who could compete against the opposition today, some steel and presence was the order of the day in the middle of the park and we seemed not to do this, again?

What we need is someone to come and do the Matty Jack role (:greengrin) in front of our fragile defence and just stop the opposition playing and close them down, I had thought this was McBride but he seems to be rather injury prone at the moment.

Suspect some bigger midfielders and some new defenders will be top of the shopping list this summer.

Criswell
28-02-2010, 12:47 AM
Hughes badly messed up in the last transfer window. The areas in the team which needed strengthened were glaringly obvious: defence and midfield. Instead we get a goalkeeper and another forward. Time for Hughes to start shaping up, patience is beginning to wear a little thin.

28-02-2010, 01:05 AM
Might I suggest Hughes operates outside the window and takes Nish to a B&Q for a swap deal on two planks of wood.

28-02-2010, 01:10 AM
Might I suggest Hughes operates outside the window and takes Nish to a B&Q for a swap deal on two planks of wood.or even just one plank of wood.

28-02-2010, 01:13 AM
or even just one plank of wood.

No doubt Hughes would come back with one of these big skinny planks that snaps over in a breeze.

Wait a minute...that'd mean he keeps Nish :grr:

mully_bear
28-02-2010, 01:22 AM

being realistic, we are not going to get a big name manager (unlike those on the other side of the city). we have to go for "potential"

mowbray ? had NO experience as a manager.

i do agree that he doesnt like to make subs and when its going wrong he doesnt know how to change it.

28-02-2010, 01:28 AM
I have faith in Yogi to learn from his mistakes, and turn this mess around, because we know it can work as the earlier part of the season proved.

Hibs' problem in the last few years has been a lack of stability owing to the merry-go-round of managers. We need to keep believing in our current manager's ability and rally for 3rd this season else 2010-11 will become yet another "transition" season.

Yogi is a damn site better than the messes we found ourselves in under Collins and Mixu and he's still learning. We'll come good.

There is a time for knee jerk reactions and this is not it.

Oh, and we'll **** all over St Johnstone next season.

28-02-2010, 09:37 AM

Will he though?

Did he not play EXACTLY the same in Perth, i would have thought he would have learned a little after having 5 goals jammed up his derriere?

I am still in FULL support of Yogi, i just hope he begins to see a little sense!!!!

Expecting Rain
28-02-2010, 09:45 AM
I`m content with Yogi as the manager but he hasn`t helped his case much recently, chopping and changing the team to no effect, he`s relying on certain players far too much, i`d like to see us play our best eleven every week when possible, of course we`ll still have weaknesses but at least we`ll have a bit of hope even on paper before we take the pitch. A bit of consistency might help rejuvenate our season, i think he can do it.

28-02-2010, 10:49 AM
can't/won't yogi change the team either at half time or at 60 mins. He made 1 sub yesterday, and it was forced. Why not try and change the team to get the 2nd goal. I was obvious we weren't playing to our best, so why not introduce Zemmama & Benji!! :grr:

28-02-2010, 10:56 AM
The topic of discussion in teh boozer yesterday.

He either thought things where going well (surely not?) or didn't know how to change it (like a certain someone last season...).

The introduction of Benji and Zoumer has proved it can change games. Benji must be asking himself what the hell he needs to do to get a game and how the ****** did Nish play a full 90 minutes yesterday. :confused:

There is also a severe lack of width which Zemmama and Galbraith could have sorted. And while on the subject of Galbraith, WTF does he need to do to merit a start? You get the winner at PARKHEAD and you don't feature since.

28-02-2010, 11:00 AM
The topic of discussion in teh boozer yesterday.

He either thought things where going well (surely not?) or didn't know how to change it (like a certain someone last season...).

The introduction of Benji and Zoumer has proved it can change games. Benji must be asking himself what the hell he needs to do to get a game and how the ****** did Nish play a full 90 minutes yesterday. :confused:

There is also a severe lack of width which Zemmama and Galbraith could have sorted. And while on the subject of Galbraith, WTF does he need to do to merit a start? You get the winner at PARKHEAD and you don't feature since.

Aye, you have to feel for Galbraith, when Stevenson keeps on getting a chance

madgoalie87
28-02-2010, 11:06 AM
Aye, you have to feel for Galbraith, when Stevenson keeps on getting a chance

I thought lewis done well yesterday?:-S

28-02-2010, 11:48 AM
Craig Levein summed it up a couple of seasons ago by stating on record that the way to beat Hibernian teams was to bully them, get physical, and never let them have time on the ball. Sometimes, when pitches and weather are great, the football can do the talking and counter any amount of bully tactics. What concerns me about all the Hibs players at the moment is the lack of pace, the lack of momentum, and the need to take two or three touches before playing that pass that was on from the first touch, not the third. Stevenson yesterday had opportunites to spread the play quickly, yet opted to take two or three touches and then play the pass. Miller was the same at times. And Nish........I would be being generous by saying two or three touches. Even Riordan seemed ponderous when through on goal when normally he would burst the net. Saints played a very good, well thought out game. First half, they kept possession better, but tried to capitalise on set pieces and targeting DW at RB, who was having a mare. They mix passing football with bullying hoofball. It's hard to defend that. Second half, when again we lost the midfield battle, we dropped deeper and deeper again, allowing them to loft balls into our box, creating panic and kamikaze defending. You have to have a midfield balance, and a physical one too. We are too soft, wanting too much time on the ball, and we have players all over the pitch played out of position. First rule of football, surely, is to never tinker with a winning or unbeaten formula. He started this all of at Ibrox, and then tinkered away since with the defence. Last four games, Hogg has played RB and CH. Two different keepers. DW at RB or dropped. Hanlon in one week, out the next. Where is the continuity. The same is happening in the midfield now. Rankin, Cregg, Miller, McBride, Riordan, Zemmama, DW, and Stevenson. All used, but used badly IMHO. Time for consistent formations and a defence that is used to playing alongside each other. And move Derek up front Yogi for gods sake :grr:

28-02-2010, 11:57 AM
Craig Levein summed it up a couple of seasons ago by stating on record that the way to beat Hibernian teams was to bully them, get physical, and never let them have time on the ball. Sometimes, when pitches and weather are great, the football can do the talking and counter any amount of bully tactics. What concerns me about all the Hibs players at the moment is the lack of pace, the lack of momentum, and the need to take two or three touches before playing that pass that was on from the first touch, not the third. Stevenson yesterday had opportunites to spread the play quickly, yet opted to take two or three touches and then play the pass. Miller was the same at times. And Nish........I would be being generous by saying two or three touches. Even Riordan seemed ponderous when through on goal when normally he would burst the net. Saints played a very good, well thought out game. First half, they kept possession better, but tried to capitalise on set pieces and targeting DW at RB, who was having a mare. They mix passing football with bullying hoofball. It's hard to defend that. Second half, when again we lost the midfield battle, we dropped deeper and deeper again, allowing them to loft balls into our box, creating panic and kamikaze defending. You have to have a midfield balance, and a physical one too. We are too soft, wanting too much time on the ball, and we have players all over the pitch played out of position. First rule of football, surely, is to never tinker with a winning or unbeaten formula. He started this all of at Ibrox, and then tinkered away since with the defence. Last four games, Hogg has played RB and CH. Two different keepers. DW at RB or dropped. Hanlon in one week, out the next. Where is the continuity. The same is happening in the midfield now. Rankin, Cregg, Miller, McBride, Riordan, Zemmama, DW, and Stevenson. All used, but used badly IMHO. Time for consistent formations and a defence that is used to playing alongside each other. And move Derek up front Yogi for gods sake :grr:

I don't think many of us who go to most of the matches would have much to find fault with in what you say! :cool2:

I felt for a while that we were sometimes "fortunate" to pull three points out of games where we really hadn't dominated enough to deserve a win and the 2 nil away win at Pittodrie in December was a case in point IMO! :agree:

If we don't srot out the defence and by that I mean our ability in midfield to break up opposition play before it gets through to the back four then it actually doesn't matter how many strikers we have at the other end of the team as they probably aren't going to see much of the ball as our defence struggles to clear its lines in an orderly way which was exactly what heppened yesterday! :grr:

Great to have skillful players in the squad because they can produce the "magic moments" that win games. However, we need the physical dominant types to give those skillful players the platform and protection to do their stuff and at the moment that ain't happening IMO! :cool2:

If this is not sorted out and fast then our season is heading for a lower top six position and more disappointment in the Scottish Cup maybe even in a fortnight's time because Ross County will come and play like St Johnstone did yesterday and every time they have played us this season! In my opinion of course! :agree: :cool2:

28-02-2010, 12:00 PM

The honeymoon is over and Yogi will have to get it sorted the 4-1 thrashing we took from Rangers at Home after going 1 up in 12 seconds has sent us in free fall and I honestly can't see where the next 3 points are going to come from.

Yogi lack of making changes when things are clearly going wrong is mind boggling.

Hibstrooper
28-02-2010, 12:05 PM
Was disappointed to listen to Hughes interview and he seemed quite content with the performance. Sorry just was not good enough for me, I saw one chance at home against St Johnstone (was late due to the queues so missed the goal).

As for the numpty who wrote the review on the main site and described the game as a fitting send off for the East Stand - get a grip!

Hughes was bigging himself up during the week saying he was man enough to come out and admit when he makes a mistake, it just seems he's too stubborn to admit to himself at the time when he is wrong and make a change.

Someone earlier said it will be a good thing Hughes is in the stand for 6 games - I agree, he gets far too caught up in the now of a game and can't seem to see the bigger picture, perhaps this will give him a chance to take a step back and see the failings of the team and in particular the shape he has them set up!

28-02-2010, 12:13 PM
I agree with that, but would also say that we miss genuine width and pace up front too. Stokes tries like a bear up front but it's often by himself, and he is far too often out on the byeline, when he should be in the box. We have no width to stretch full backs and draw centre halves out of position. How many crosses into their box can anyone remember yesterday, and compare it to their deliveries ? We play all our football through the middle. We have gone into the "Mixuesque" style of standing off teams and trying to hit on the counter. Yep, if Derek had his shooting boots on he would have bagged a couple, but let's be fair and say that Saints merited a point purely down to work ethic and keeping the ball better. But we are the masters of our own downfall at the moment because we allow teams to dominate. Nish is NEVER a player who can competently play behind the strikers and link up play. That kind of role is best suited for Zemmama or Liam Miller. Even Benji does that better as he has technical ability to create space, draw players to him, and has more pace. I look at fringe players who have come in during games, and wonder why on earth they have not been given game time. Galbraith each time I have seen him has changed a game (St Mirren crossing for Benji, Saints winning a free kick for Stokes to score, and Parkhead). Thicot plays once, and plays superbly against Utd away from home for his only real taste of action. Yet Yogi plays others out of this extreme loyalty he has to those who "put in effort". We could all put in effort in a Hibs strip though. Maybe Mixu's stubborness lingers around our dugout and Yogi has caught it

28-02-2010, 12:18 PM

I don't think many of us who go to most of the matches would have much to find fault with in what you say! :cool2:

I felt for a while that we were sometimes "fortunate" to pull three points out of games where we really hadn't dominated enough to deserve a win and the 2 nil away win at Pittodrie in December was a case in point IMO! :agree:

If we don't sort out the defence and by that I mean including our ability in midfield to break up opposition play before it gets through to the back four then it actually doesn't matter how many strikers we have at the other end of the team as they probably aren't going to see much of the ball as our defence struggles to clear its lines in an orderly way which was exactly what heppened yesterday! :grr:

Great to have skillful players in the squad because they can produce the "magic moments" that win games. However, we need the physical dominant types to give those skillful players the platform and protection to do their stuff and at the moment that ain't happening IMO! :cool2:

If this is not sorted out and fast then our season is heading for a lower top six position and more disappointment in the Scottish Cup maybe even in a fortnight's time because Ross County will come and play like St Johnstone did yesterday and every time they have played us this season! In my opinion of course! :agree: :cool2:

hstn747
28-02-2010, 03:35 PM
It was a very Mixu style of play yesterday.

McBride sat very deep & with the two additional front men very slow to get back, meaning there was too much area for Miller & Stevenson to cover. That's why it was so easy for St J to keep possesion & hard for us to keep it.

I think we need two more midfield minded players instead of Riordan & Nish. ie Wotherspoon/Zooma and Galbraith to support Stokes.

Failing that, McBride can't sit so deep inviting the opposition onto us.

Regarding Riordan, he had his chance to score and didn't take it. If he's not taking the chances then there have to be questions about his place in the team.

28-02-2010, 03:57 PM
What puzzles me, is why some folk on here, and indeed Yogi himself keep talking about how he needs to learn x.

We aren't talking about a rookie like Collins or to an extent Mixu here. He is the most experienced manager we've had since Williamson (shudder) by a long, long way. So quite why he should still not have figured out to make changes when things are going wrong or continually picking out of sorts players is a mystery.

For the record, I think on the whole he's been doing a great job, but we road our luck up until recently and now that has gone it's time for him to step forward and sort this mess out. Yes we are doing better than last year, but the Board has made significant investment into the playing squad by our standards, so stumbling over the line a place above Mixu's side is frankly not good enough.

28-02-2010, 04:38 PM

If we don't srot out the defence and by that I mean our ability in midfield to break up opposition play before it gets through to the back four then it actually doesn't matter how many strikers we have at the other end of the team as they probably aren't going to see much of the ball as our defence struggles to clear its lines in an orderly way which was exactly what heppened yesterday! :grr:

:agree: If we keep on the way we're going, Ross County could quite easily win that match. Their style of play and approach to the game won't be too dissimilar to how St Johnstone played yesterday and they will make it difficult for us. I think they are a full time team so their fitness shouldn't be an issue.

We haven't really needed to turn up in order to be in the quarter finals this year as our draws in the two previous rounds have been extremely kind to us. This will be a big test of character for our players as we will still be favourites to progress but it will be by no means a formality.

blackhibee
28-02-2010, 05:44 PM
I agree with that, but would also say that we miss genuine width and pace up front too. Stokes tries like a bear up front but it's often by himself, and he is far too often out on the byeline, when he should be in the box. We have no width to stretch full backs and draw centre halves out of position. How many crosses into their box can anyone remember yesterday, and compare it to their deliveries ? We play all our football through the middle. We have gone into the "Mixuesque" style of standing off teams and trying to hit on the counter. Yep, if Derek had his shooting boots on he would have bagged a couple, but let's be fair and say that Saints merited a point purely down to work ethic and keeping the ball better. But we are the masters of our own downfall at the moment because we allow teams to dominate. Nish is NEVER a player who can competently play behind the strikers and link up play. That kind of role is best suited for Zemmama or Liam Miller. Even Benji does that better as he has technical ability to create space, draw players to him, and has more pace. I look at fringe players who have come in during games, and wonder why on earth they have not been given game time. Galbraith each time I have seen him has changed a game (St Mirren crossing for Benji, Saints winning a free kick for Stokes to score, and Parkhead). Thicot plays once, and plays superbly against Utd away from home for his only real taste of action. Yet Yogi plays others out of this extreme loyalty he has to those who "put in effort". We could all put in effort in a Hibs strip though. Maybe Mixu's stubborness lingers around our dugout and Yogi has caught it

An excellent post that I totally agree with. In the first half against Rangers at Ibrox I thought Benji was excellent, in a position I've not really seen him playing, and linked up play superbly. I'm beginning to think that both Thicot and Galbraith might never get a game before the end of the season despite playing well when they are playing. I like Bamba, although he is erratic, and I don't rate Hogg, although I can't help wondering if Yogi's doing the same as Strachan did with Celtic last season, consistently playing McManus even though he was a bombscare.He even made Caldwell look good. Thicot could play either as a holding midfield player or centre half and IMO should at least get a wee run in the side. Galbraith is fully fit, has pace, and in the few times I've seen him, a fair amount of skill, so surely he would be the logical alternative to somebody who looks jaded and isn't really contributing much to the game just now, for example Nish or Riordan, although I would be tempted to have Riordan playing up front with Stokes and Galbraith playing in the position Riordan is occupying just now. Every game is important now, movement of the ball needs to be quicker rather than taking 2 or 3 touches, and IMO we definitely have the quality to do this, but entertainment value isn't necessarily going to get us points, so even though players like Zemmama are at times electrifying to watch, we can't rely on them too much, the grafters,or hard men, are just as important in any team,so it will be interesting to see if Yogi does make further changes and gives the afore-mentioned players a chance to show that we have a strength in depth, even if we are still a 'work in progress'.

mcfly
28-02-2010, 08:46 PM
totally agree whats the point in thicot and galbraith staying at hibs when they dont even get a chance.

they must be totally fed up given the performances i've witnessed since rangers pumped us 4-1.

Yogi please come and sit beside me during your ban and see how bad our defence is.....no strength or physical presence so please no more slagging off bamba cause without him covering for hogg we'd really be in a mess.

As i've said before clubs WILL be signing bamba in the summer for decent money...we wouldnt get tuppence/ha'peny for hogg.

28-02-2010, 08:53 PM
Maybe time to start using some of the old majic gold dust he was talking about at the start of the season.:greengrin

28-02-2010, 08:54 PM
some pretty mental stuff on this thread.

even if he didn't have any credentials before he came to the job (which he did), the first half of the season is surely a sign of what he's capable of.

"patience beginning to wear thin"

i mean really :bitchy:

even if we finish 6th it would be insane to sack him. he's the man for the job, just give him time.