View Full Version : Any danger of the game being called off?

26-02-2010, 04:11 PM
The weather around here had been horrid all day in West Lothian. Biting wind and sleet which has now turned to snow. More snow if forecast to hit the toon tonight.

Can any of u good Hibees who stay near ER state your opinions on this. The last thing we need is a call off.

26-02-2010, 04:13 PM
Call it off for god's sake! I could do with a rest from all the angst.

jws1875
26-02-2010, 04:20 PM
:wink:It will not get called off simples:wink:

26-02-2010, 04:26 PM
A wee birdie mentioned rolls of turf to me earlier in the week. I haven't seen or heard any more of it but we could have a slightly better pitch tomorrow.

Time will tell!

26-02-2010, 04:30 PM
Weather isnt nearly bad enough in Edinburgh for it to be called off, they only way it could get called off is if it has been really bad in Perth, which I think it was yesterday, and the team struggle to get here.

26-02-2010, 04:32 PM
No chance unless we get a few feet of snow overnight which is highly unlikely in Leith.

26-02-2010, 05:23 PM
the pitch is gonna be in a right old state tomorrow, be like playing down inverleith!

archiebald
26-02-2010, 05:32 PM
Rumour is that its doubtful need rain to go off soon :bitchy:

26-02-2010, 05:35 PM

Rumour :confused:

archiebald
26-02-2010, 05:37 PM
Rumour dont you know what a rumour is.:faf:

26-02-2010, 05:38 PM

It's going off. The forecast is for it to snow all night :greengrin

http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/dg/edinburgh_forecast_weather.html

26-02-2010, 05:39 PM
Rumour dont you know what a rumour is.:faf:

I know what rumour means thank you, but can't see the game being called off, maybe your mates are pulling your chain????

I heard they were relaying turf during week, so we shall see......

26-02-2010, 05:41 PM
It's going off. The forecast is for it to snow all night :greengrin

http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/dg/edinburgh_forecast_weather.html

That forecast is for Edinburgh, not Leith and it's immediate surrounds :wink:

I'd be very surprised if the game is off unless there is a real turn for the worse.

26-02-2010, 05:43 PM
I know what rumour means thank you, but can't see the game being called off, maybe your mates are pulling your chain????

I heard they were relaying turf during week, so we shall see......

Another rumour. :greengrin Even if true, is it not a bit soon to be playing on freshly laid turf?

26-02-2010, 05:44 PM
Another rumour. :greengrin Even if true, is it not a bit soon to be playing on freshly laid turf?

not a rumour Jim, a van with a bundle of turf was at ER during week, unless they are planning a wee garden in the main reception?

archiebald
26-02-2010, 05:46 PM
rumours Rumours Rumours:faf::faf::faf:

26-02-2010, 05:47 PM

If any turf has been laid this week I suspect it will basically be torn up with the game tomorrow as it will not have had adequate time or weather conditions to bind well enough to stick and give good root depth. Pity as the pitch does need re-laid but in conditions such as these it could do more harm than good re-turfing.

26-02-2010, 05:52 PM
A wee birdie mentioned rolls of turf to me earlier in the week. I haven't seen or heard any more of it but we could have a slightly better pitch tomorrow.

Time will tell!

That'll be the turf that's going into storage at ER to be sold in a couple of months in square inch packs at £20 a pop to us mugs. My money says that Rod is currently painting a penalty spot on one the rolls of turf as we speak. :devil:

26-02-2010, 05:53 PM

I dont think so, Boltonhibs had a new wig fitted last month, and he was combing it the next day.

26-02-2010, 05:53 PM
That'll be the turf that's going into storage at ER to be sold in a couple of months in square inch packs at £20 a pop to us mugs. My money says that Rod is currently painting a penalty spot on one the rolls of turf as we speak. :devil:

Is he wearing a camel hair coat saying "lovely jubbly" as he does this?:greengrin

26-02-2010, 06:05 PM
Hibs will be doing everything possible to get this on.
1) Tomorrow they will get a good gate with the last game with the old East in place. Approx 2,500 extra at an ave £20 per head!
2) Yogi will be desperate to get back on the winning track.

MussyHibby
26-02-2010, 06:17 PM
Never even entered my head this could be off. On thinking about it, to me there is no chance of it being off. No snow in Leith/Mussy, pitch drains well, dry weather from 9am tomorrow...........defo on!:agree:

Hibs On Tour
26-02-2010, 06:18 PM
Unless the weather takes a real turn for the worst here or gets ridiculous Perth-way there is zero chance of the game being off IMHO. Rain - but not crazy heavy and Sleet - again, light. Pish weather but a long way from what would normally take to call a game off.

26-02-2010, 09:35 PM
Never even entered my head this could be off. On thinking about it, to me there is no chance of it being off. No snow in Leith/Mussy, pitch drains well, dry weather from 9am tomorrow...........defo on!:agree:

The pitch certainly does not drain well, especially the corner between the West and North.

Gretna game was called off a couple of seasons ago due to rain when most other games were on.

archiebald
26-02-2010, 09:41 PM
This will destroy the pitch

26-02-2010, 09:48 PM

Time will tell!

I heard the goalies boxes have been re-turfed.

Jamie
26-02-2010, 09:49 PM
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/watermark.php?file=30275&size=1

Nae danger with the introduction of the slope again...

The other way thou :bitchy:

weststand1973
26-02-2010, 09:58 PM
That game against FK Vetra in the intertattie cup, the pitch was like a pool and was still played!

26-02-2010, 10:09 PM
That game against FK Vetra in the intertattie cup, the pitch was like a pool and was still played!

It was only played because trying to rearrange it would have been hard.

If it was a league match it would have been off.

26-02-2010, 10:39 PM
Have had heavy rain and sleet all evening here at Riccarton.

Not looking good. :bitchy:

27-02-2010, 01:30 AM
Update: It is now snowing heavily.

27-02-2010, 01:34 AM
naw....seriously. Had 3 feet in 6 mins, we could die! It is heavy right now but it'll be fine later....

27-02-2010, 01:36 AM
Sunny here. :agree:

27-02-2010, 01:45 AM

The turf was actually put down two Tuesdays ago(day before the 5-1 Saints game). I watched them laying it from my window :agree: The pitch has also been covered by an enormous plastic sheet since that afternoon.

HIBERNIAN 1875
27-02-2010, 02:01 AM
The turf was actually put down two Tuesdays ago(day before the 5-1 Saints game). I watched them laying it from my window :agree: The pitch has also been covered by an enormous plastic sheet since that afternoon.
What parts of the pitch have been relayed?

James Connolly
27-02-2010, 04:42 AM
2-3 inches of snow lying in Bonnyrigg; I'd imagine it's not as bad in the toon; but that was some rain/snow that fell yesterday and last night.

sven nil
27-02-2010, 05:35 AM
3 inches of snow loanheid 5.30 am if game off more likely to be waterlogged,hope not!

27-02-2010, 07:13 AM
Its white oot there in Edinburgh.

Which undersoil heating can sort but, will the perthers get thru?

27-02-2010, 07:32 AM
...and snow now falls like a ****ing picture Xmas card in central Edinburgh :brickwall:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall :brickwall:brickwall:brickwall

biggie1875
27-02-2010, 07:33 AM
its a good 6 - 8 inches in mayfield and still snowing would the saints have traveled a day or two before ? ment to have been bad up that way last few days main rd blocked ****in snow :grr:

joejoefaemexico
27-02-2010, 07:51 AM
im right in the middle of toon and not a drop of snow. plenty rain though , its sodden oot there. gonna be a few wild tackles the day me thinks.

27-02-2010, 07:56 AM
its a good 6 - 8 inches in mayfield and still snowing would the saints have traveled a day or two before ? ment to have been bad up that way last few days main rd blocked ****in snow :grr:

Aye no doubt they will have left on Thursday for an eighty minute bus journey :faf::faf::faf::devil:

Been snowing in sunny Balerno all night about 4 inches lying, may have to ask for a postponement as I'm not sure to get the car out :wink:

biggie1875
27-02-2010, 08:00 AM
:grr::grr::grr::grr: you know what i ment !! knowing the weather was going to be bad :wink:

Aye no doubt they will have left on Thursday for an eighty minute bus journey :faf::faf::faf::devil:

Been snowing in sunny Balerno all night about 4 inches lying, may have to ask for a postponement as I'm not sure to get the car out :wink:

27-02-2010, 08:05 AM
got 6 inches in East Lothian and increasing :boo hoo:

27-02-2010, 08:07 AM

Yer talkin' single fish pal.

Stick to metric.

27-02-2010, 08:11 AM

:cool2: you wish :devil:

27-02-2010, 08:12 AM

Stick to metric.

Mind MiiiiiiField's at the toap of a big, big, big, big, big, big, BIG hill !

So, it could very well be snowy up yon mountain :greengrin

There's a few inches oot here in Edinburgh...there's some snaw anaw :greengrin

down the slope
27-02-2010, 08:12 AM
Rain nearly off in Sunny Leith, was just oot for the rolls and i saw a patch of blue sky for a few seconds !.

27-02-2010, 08:15 AM
Rain nearly off in Sunny Leith, was just oot for the rolls and i saw a patch of blue sky for a few seconds !.

...thats fine but are Hibs no based in Edinburgh :greengrin :devil: :offski: :stirrer: :worms:

down the slope
27-02-2010, 08:23 AM
Cancel that one from earlier.....i think i will stick to winding up jambos instead of weather forecasting.

fiolex1
27-02-2010, 09:11 AM

Aye, what about the snow though

SidBurns
27-02-2010, 09:13 AM
Anyone phoned the club to see if it's on?

biggie1875
27-02-2010, 09:16 AM
:whistle:

Stick to metric.

27-02-2010, 09:17 AM
weather is ok, some showers but overall ok. Game will defo be on FACT:greengrin

Gordon Quinn
27-02-2010, 09:24 AM
My old man just called Easter Road and was told there are no probelms with the pitch. As far as Hibs are concerned this game is ON.:thumbsup:

27-02-2010, 09:27 AM
My old man just called Easter Road and was told there are no probelms with the pitch. As far as Hibs are concerned this game is ON.:thumbsup:

That would be a first this season!!!

keeks_09
27-02-2010, 09:28 AM
Snow is off and sky is clearing in South Queensferry and as far as i can see it's looking fairly clear over the bridge so no problems for St J fans getting over if they go the main roads.

27-02-2010, 10:14 AM
Really hope we can get tore into this team and then go onto play some nice football, score some goals and generally deserve a spanking win.

We dream of european football, yet struggle badly against a team like St Johnstone.

27-02-2010, 10:23 AM
Weather isnt nearly bad enough in Edinburgh for it to be called off, they only way it could get called off is if it has been really bad in Perth, which I think it was yesterday, and the team struggle to get here.

The weather problems were all down at Auchterarder. I was due to go there on Thursday for a meeting, it was raining all day in Perth, but there were 500mm of snow in Auchterarder. I didn't go to the meeting. A section with 6 staff only had one person made it in, from Edinburgh.

27-02-2010, 10:32 AM
Really bad in livi and still snowing anyone know what the m8 is like?

27-02-2010, 10:36 AM

http://www.trafficscotland.org/lev/

27-02-2010, 10:48 AM
:cool2: you wish :devil:

:a bite:

Where is the predictable poster post smilie :rolleyes:

27-02-2010, 11:24 AM
What parts of the pitch have been relayed?

It looks a lot greener towards the east side. My window looks over a third of the pitch(right between the west and south stands)and they were taking the majority of the rolls of turf down towards the famous five end so I cant see whats been put down at that end. There was a fair amount of turf tho, they were there for hrs! As previously mentioned tho, its prob sittin in the ticket office with Rod trying to entice supporters into a link sale when they come to collect their East seats. There are currently 4 guys out forking the pitch. Also strangely there appears to be about a 5 yr old boy with a fork as well. He's trying to help but the fork is bigger than him. Not a drop of snow lying here, rain is off...should be good to go :thumbsup:

27-02-2010, 11:28 AM
At the risk of being a wet blanket, I think it's daft and probably dangerous to lay turf and to play on it immediately.:dunno:

27-02-2010, 11:38 AM
At the risk of being a wet blanket, I think it's daft and probably dangerous to lay turf and to play on it immediately.:dunno:

Not if it's "pegged" in with biodegradable pegs. I am sure there s a poster much cleverer than me who could supply a witty ditty linking biodegradable peg selling and new age Hobo's.

27-02-2010, 12:02 PM
Not if it's "pegged" in with biodegradable pegs. I am sure there s a poster much cleverer than me who could supply a witty ditty linking biodegradable peg selling and new age Hobo's.

Like, "the future is green, buy biodegradable pegs"

mikethehibee69
27-02-2010, 12:03 PM
Yes two lane motorway lined with lamp posts, trees, hard shoulder, central reservation and lovely glistening cats eyes of different colours:greengrin

But seriousily its fine and so is the road ootside my house in murieston, just finished using my snow shovel and have piled all the snow ootside my yam supporting neighbour:wink:, will wave at him when leaving for the game:jamboak: