View Full Version : Question What was your first match against the Gorgie Pinks

Stanton
25-02-2010, 09:31 PM
And what was the score.:wink:

Mine was a 1 – 1 draw at the Pink House …round about 1975 or 1976 …..it was my BIRTHDAY present.

We equalized in the last minute ( King Pat ) …..I can still remember the euphoria of that goal.

Also remember quite a bit of fisticuffs happening at half time :grr:

25-02-2010, 09:40 PM
1995 or 96.

4-0 to the Yams. :boo hoo:

PC Stamp
25-02-2010, 09:44 PM
And what was the score.:wink:

Mine was a 1 – 1 draw at the Pink House …round about 1975 or 1976 …..it was my BIRTHDAY present.

We equalized in the last minute ( King Pat ) …..I can still remember the euphoria of that goal.

Also remember quite a bit of fisticuffs happening at half time :grr:

We equalised on the Sunday actually! :greengrin
Well it felt like it with the amount of injury time added. My dad reckoned the ref was quite happy to keep the game going til we scored! :thumbsup:

25-02-2010, 09:44 PM
since you asked (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/199010131.html)

25-02-2010, 09:57 PM
Mine was an East of Scotland Shield 'final' at Tynie when it was contested by the 1st teams. We were getting beat 2-0 with the clock running down but there was an inordinate amount of time added which led to the ref (Valentine IIRC) blowing for time up the second Hearts restarted the match after our equaliser :greengrin. We ended up winning on penalties.
It was sometime in the early 80s and definately a Wednesday night. And apart from the remarkable comeback, I was astonished at the speed of Willie Pettigrew who kept an unfeasably fast and inaccurate through ball in play to cross for one of Hearts goals. I think he's still getting his breath back, the guy vernear had a heart attack.

25-02-2010, 10:03 PM
Hibs 2 - 1 Hearts

De La Cruz scored within 36 seconds.

I thought it was always going to be like that, how I learnt:greengrin

25-02-2010, 10:04 PM
1979 SC quarter final at ER. 2-1 to the mighty Hibernian and the Jambos fighting amongst themselves in the Dunbar end. Gordon Rae and George Stewart I think were our goalscorers on the day. A good day out as a 10 year old boy attending his first derby.

25-02-2010, 10:04 PM
Scottish Cup 1/4 Final 1979, a 2-1 win. :thumbsup:

7Hero
25-02-2010, 10:18 PM
im not 100% sure bit it sticks in my mind to this day...was the derby after they tried to buy us and robbo scored a few, think it was 3nil at halftime..

my dad was like lets get the ****** out of here son..

25-02-2010, 10:26 PM
im not 100% sure bit it sticks in my mind to this day...was the derby after they tried to buy us and robbo scored a few, think it was 3nil at halftime..

Horrendous, one of the worst, absolutely evil atmosphere that day.:grr:

Calvin
25-02-2010, 10:28 PM
:6:-:2:

25-02-2010, 10:30 PM
First one was a midweek game at Easter Road, in the old North Stand Upper, when Eddie May scored and we won 1-0. Think it was the last one we won prior to them going on the drawathon, but I could be wrong.

Looked up the result on the fishal site and I think the game was on 4th Jan 89.

IIRC, we hit the post in that match too.

25-02-2010, 10:33 PM
18 September 1965.

I was 15 years old and this was the first time I'd been allowed to go to a game on my own.

Big crowd, slow passage through the turnstiles, I got in about 15 minutes after the kick-off.

Score?

4-0 to Hibs.

Scorers?

Eric Stevenson and Jim O'Rourke had a brace apiece, all scored in the first 12 minutes.... :rolleyes:

25-02-2010, 10:37 PM
I think the first 3 were all nil-nil draws in the late 60s/early 70s....then we beat them 2-0 in the Cup at the pbs in about 1970-71 - Johnny Hazel diving header and Arthur Duncan making a fool of Dave Clunie for the 2nd.

25-02-2010, 10:40 PM
18 September 1965.

I was 15 years old and this was the first time I'd been allowed to go to a game on my own.

Big crowd, slow passage through the turnstiles, I got in about 15 minutes after the kick-off.

Score?

4-0 to Hibs.

Scorers?

Eric Stevenson and Jim O'Rourke had a brace apiece, all scored in the first 12 minutes.... :rolleyes:

Sheltered life!

25-02-2010, 10:41 PM

This game? - footage at 6mins 44sec

Dark days indeed. :bitchy:

25-02-2010, 10:42 PM
Sheltered life!

Aye, well. When this big guy told me the score at 15 minutes, I thought I was in for a real treat of an afternoon. When full-time came with NO FURTHER GOALS :grr: I knew what my dad had been sheltering me from.

When I got home and told him he nearly wet himself laughing. No sympathy from him.

weedgiehibbie
25-02-2010, 10:50 PM
3-1 at ER when the stands behind each goal had been knocked down - even saw Mickey Weir score a header :thumbsup:

25-02-2010, 10:50 PM
This one :thumbsup:

YouTube - Hibs 7 Hearts 0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CIBDHez9yuI)

tbfhibs
25-02-2010, 11:21 PM
Game after 7-0, nightmare.

Sloppy
26-02-2010, 12:20 AM
not a ****ing clue but i think 1-1 in 1990's latapy scored a penalty i was in the old west, i think i was 6ish :thumbsup:

Patatango
26-02-2010, 12:28 AM

Not only my first derby but my first game ever and in the east. Still going to this day though so it obviously didnae scar me to much. Either that or i'm just a glutton for punishment.

26-02-2010, 01:25 AM
THAT semi-final. not one i like to remember.

Fat Stu
26-02-2010, 01:32 AM
Earliest one I can remember is 2-1 at tynie in the late 80's Kano and archibald scored. Probably went to ones before but too youngto remember.

26-02-2010, 01:47 AM
A nil niller in the early 90s was my first at PBS. Was in the main stand when we used to get a bit of that allocated to us. My old boy also took me there to see Hearts v Red Star Belgrade but cant remember the year i think it was also the early 90s not sure though.

mdhfc
26-02-2010, 02:37 AM
be the first i went to but first i remember was the 2-1, 86/7-ish kane and may i think

26-02-2010, 08:28 AM
Mine was this one

YouTube - ET Hibs v Hearts (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqeXndn0qyQ)

:)

2nd was 0-3 Millennium derby :thumbsup:

26-02-2010, 08:30 AM
not a ****ing clue but i think 1-1 in 1990's latapy scored a penalty i was in the old west, i think i was 6ish :thumbsup:

Same as mine, check my last post :wink:

26-02-2010, 09:51 AM
the first game after hearts last visit to the 1st div,about 1982 at tynie,we took the lead twice through callaghan and irvine only for fat robbo to get his first goals against us and jimmy bone scored a late header to win it for them:grr:
remember it being scorchio and going mental when irvine lifted it over henry smith to make it 2-1 at the gorgie rd end into their goals with the funny stanctions:greengrin

26-02-2010, 10:22 AM
Game at ER in the mid 80's, john Colquhoun scored a 30 yarder down the slope and i think MoJo scored a second?:bitchy:

26-02-2010, 10:26 AM
A trugid 0-0 draw at ER early 90s. It was part of their 22 draws in a row sequence and I remember them leaving Easter Road absolutley delighted with the scoreline.

Nothing changes.

26-02-2010, 11:10 AM
Scottish Cup 1/4 Final 1979, a 2-1 win. :thumbsup:

That was my first game against Hearts and also my first ever football match of any kind.

We stood in the South Enclosure, in the front of the old main stand. Strictly speaking, that was part of the Hearts end but segregation wasn't 100% at that time, at least in that part of the stadium.

My Dad made the wise decision to leave 5 minutes before the end as the Hearts fans were involved in some major crowd trouble in the Dunbar End, fighting each other and the polis, and didn't fancy walking up ER with them.

MartinfaePorty
26-02-2010, 11:43 AM
Skol Tournament: Hibs 2 Hearts 1, think it was 1978. Pre-season thingy with us, them, Man City and Coventry.

Storar
26-02-2010, 12:12 PM
January 96, we got pumped 4-0

Emerald
26-02-2010, 12:31 PM
After being taken to both Easter Road and Tynecastle by my Hearts supporting dad, I ended up supporting the better of the two Edinburgh sides, no brainer. However, when I harped to go to the New Year day game (late 60's early 70':dunno:) my dad relutantly agreed. When we got to Tynie, the only place we could get in was the enclosure (school end). I was dressed in full Hibs colours and my dad didnt even have a Hearts scarf. We had to squeeze through thousands of Jambos to get to a bit of space to see a dull 0-0 draw. I was too young to care but it was'nt the most comfortable afternoon my dad has ever spent taking his Hibee lad to Tynie. :greengrin

Hibernating (Im a stoopid yam tramp)
26-02-2010, 12:47 PM
New Year game in 85 at Swynie. They did us easy and we were total garbage. I don't even remember a single Hibs player from that game.

fife hfc
26-02-2010, 12:58 PM
well it was not my first full game but when I was a young child (c1982) I used to have to go long walks with my mum and dad and if hibs were playing they would end up at Easter road and they would let me run up the stairs and watch the last 15-20 mins (or for as long as they used to open the doors in the second half). It was a midweek game for the Tom Hart memorial trophy and I got to the top of the steps to see jackie Mcnamara score the winner in a 1-0 win (this how I remember it, I hope I'm right).

My first full game I can't remember but do know we never one and if I only knew that night at the top of the stairs that I was seeing a rare occurance for us hibbys in the eighties:boo hoo:

just looked and though I can't remember my first game would have been 5.11. 1983 as I was going to home games on a regular basis from the previous season. 1-1 draw

26-02-2010, 01:08 PM
January 96, we got pumped 4-0

Snap

Ravelston Hibby
26-02-2010, 01:10 PM
18 September 1965.

Score?

4-0 to Hibs.

Scorers?

Not my first Hibs v Hearts game but I think this may have been my first at Tiny? :thumbsup:

Totally unforgettable!

Think it was all 4 goals by 9 minutes though Doddie? In fact, I think the goals were all scored in a 7 minute extravaganza! :cool2: :not worth

26-02-2010, 01:11 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_cups/4860944.stm

:bitchy:

Didn't see them win a derby until three years after that date.

Isaac_Refvik
26-02-2010, 01:45 PM
can't remember first home game but first game at Tynecastle was 1 Jan 1973 when I was but a lad...can't remember the score though.

spudhib
26-02-2010, 02:08 PM
Tom Hart trophy v them at ER around 82 think we won 1-0 iirc.

26-02-2010, 03:32 PM
be the first i went to but first i remember was the 2-1, 86/7-ish kane and may i think

Mine too, am pretty sure it was October 87, am sure Goram had not long signed, quite sure it ended one of their long runs without getting beat from us..

26-02-2010, 03:48 PM
the balloons smashed all the shop windows up easter rd after that game.

26-02-2010, 03:52 PM
Mine too, am pretty sure it was October 87, am sure Goram had not long signed, quite sure it ended one of their long runs without getting beat from us..
was on the pitch after that game (daft boyness ),goram made his debut the week before in a 4-0 home win v dunfermline.
dont remember what i had for my tea last night, but remember this:wink:

fife hfc
26-02-2010, 04:13 PM
the balloons smashed all the shop windows up easter rd after that game.

I mentioned this game above as the first time I saw hibs score and win against Hearts (even though I only saw the last 15-20 minutes). Anyway I remember my uncle was across from Australia and had a green car. He is a jambo and went to the game with my brother(also a jambo) after the game the car was attacked and they tried to overturn it, until they saw the hearts scarfs on the dashboard. hearts fans total fuds then and still total fuds today.

26-02-2010, 04:16 PM

My first ever football game and first game v Hearts was the Tom Hart Trophy. 1-0 it was and it was a late goal. Anyone know details of that day?

26-02-2010, 04:34 PM
It was sooooooooooo long ago that I can't remember. :grr:

However I will take a punt and say it was a Hibs win by 1-0 circa 1967/68. :cool2:

:notworthy: :notworthy:

26-02-2010, 05:03 PM
Round about 1978.

We equalised in the last minute in a 1-1 draw.

All hell broke loose with fighting in the terracing, the stands and even on the pitch.

26-02-2010, 05:45 PM
1970 0-0 at ER. first Derby first time I'd ever set foot in a stadium. I'd have to check but very soon after my second was the 6 - 0 V's Malmo in the Fairs Cup. Hooked :agree:

LHWM
26-02-2010, 05:56 PM
the first game after hearts last visit to the 1st div,about 1982 at tynie,we took the lead twice through callaghan and irvine only for fat robbo to get his first goals against us and jimmy bone scored a late header to win it for them:grr:
remember it being scorchio and going mental when irvine lifted it over henry smith to make it 2-1 at the gorgie rd end into their goals with the funny stanctions:greengrin

Probably my favourite (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/198309031.html) after 15 years of misery in Derbies.

There some wonderful old pictures (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/images/goldpages/1983090309.htm) from the Hearts Terracing

This one looks like Stephen Fry is in the Crowd.

http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/images/gold/1983090314.jpg

LHWM
26-02-2010, 05:58 PM
Round about 1978.

We equalised in the last minute in a 1-1 draw.

All hell broke loose with fighting in the terracing, the stands and even on the pitch.

This one? (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/19780826.html)

hibbymark
26-02-2010, 06:42 PM
My first derby at tynecastle was in sept 1983. We lost 3-2 and i think Robertson scored twice iirc. Wouldnt be the last time that wee sh### would make me cry over the years.I will never forget leaving the ground after the game and sitting in a traffic jam behind a car full of yam fuds who were giving hibs fans the nescafe signal and various other handys from the safety of the car. Step forward grade A nutter! Slightly worse for wear and smashes a full glass juice bottle of the roof! Driver of the yam mobile get out the car and up to my uncles side window and when we all stop laughing asks if we would be a witness to it a court of law !:faf::faf:

MM19
26-02-2010, 07:05 PM
1966 Hibs won 3-1 Joe Davis Alan McGraw and Jim Scott think it was the first time we had beaten them at Easter Road for 20 years or something. I'm sure Thomson Allan saved a penalty from Willie Wallace too.

26-02-2010, 07:49 PM

Would I be correct in assuming that this was a trophy match contrived to compensate for their First Divison existence?

:cool2:

26-02-2010, 08:06 PM
Jan 1st 1976 when I was 10 at Easter Road. Hibs won 3-0.

Can't remember scorers but have vague memory of stanton but not sure if he scored.

Anyone confirm if he was playing and scorers?

26-02-2010, 08:36 PM
This one? (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/19780826.html)

Yep .. that's the one.

13 years old .. lovely summers day .. just had a t-shirt on.

My dad wouldn't let me wear a scarf to the game .. which is just as well given the violence that followed the equaliser.

LHWM
26-02-2010, 08:56 PM
Jan 1st 1976 when I was 10 at Easter Road. Hibs won 3-0.

Can't remember scorers but have vague memory of stanton but not sure if he scored.

Anyone confirm if he was playing and scorers?

Bobby Smith 15 ;Arthur Duncan 19 ;Arthur Duncan 23

Every derby (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/tea/hibernian.html#Res)

That one! (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/197601011.html) Miserable wet day. I was back on the bus to Musselburgh by half-time.

http://www.londonhearts.com/images/pr1975-76/images/1976010102%20Hibernian%200-3%20Easter%20Road.jpg

http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/images/1976/1976010101.jpg

26-02-2010, 09:18 PM
I remember that game well, pashing down, car crash on the way home, met the missus at a party that night, still with her.

So, good and bad memories then....:wink:

BigKev
26-02-2010, 09:28 PM

That was mine as well. Stayed at Carrick Knowe at the time and walked to the PBS with my old man, uncle and his mate.

Remember them boxing all the way along Gorgay Road and me as a small bairn wondering wtf it was all about!

I soon learned :greengrin

LHWM
26-02-2010, 09:39 PM
I remember that game well, pashing down, car crash on the way home, met the missus at a party that night, still with her.

So, good and bad memories then....:wink:

Just as well you remeember the match fondly. :wink:

26-02-2010, 09:51 PM
Mine was an East of Scotland Shield 'final' at Tynie when it was contested by the 1st teams. We were getting beat 2-0 with the clock running down but there was an inordinate amount of time added which led to the ref (Valentine IIRC) blowing for time up the second Hearts restarted the match after our equaliser :greengrin. We ended up winning on penalties.
It was sometime in the early 80s and definately a Wednesday night. And apart from the remarkable comeback, I was astonished at the speed of Willie Pettigrew who kept an unfeasably fast and inaccurate through ball in play to cross for one of Hearts goals. I think he's still getting his breath back, the guy vernear had a heart attack.

Not my first game but this one sticks right in the mind. I rememember being back in Wilsons ( The Clan Tavern) in Albert St (latterly the Cabbage n Ribs but unbelievably a leaving place for Portobello Sparryheids) and laughing my tits off at them as they trooped back spouting about how they could never beat us.
Brian Rice IIRC scored a wondefull equaliser.

My first games against them merge into one. They seem to be an anaglam of Cropley squeezing one in at ER from the byline, the blessed Erich bulleting one past that useless **** Roddy McKenzie in an awful post 7-0 disaster and Joe Harper 25 yarding them at the inaugural Premier League Derby.

Oh aye - and Ralph Callachan relegating the ****s at Tynie in 77 ish. YAHOO

26-02-2010, 10:39 PM
There some wonderful old pictures (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/images/goldpages/1983090309.htm) from the Hearts Terracing

Have to admit, some great photos there.:agree:

26-02-2010, 10:52 PM
First I can remember was the Scottish Cup in 1971. Arthur Duncan raced round their right back (Clunie?) and hammered in a 2-1 winner.

For some reason we didn't win the trophy that particular season.

spudhib
27-02-2010, 10:31 AM
Would I be correct in assuming that this was a trophy match contrived to compensate for their First Divison existence?

:cool2:

:agree:Although 3 seasons went by without us playing a real derby as we kept passing each other:grr:we only went doon once though.

27-02-2010, 10:32 AM
Bobby Smith 15 ;Arthur Duncan 19 ;Arthur Duncan 23

Every derby (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/tea/hibernian.html#Res)

That one! (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/197601011.html) Miserable wet day. I was back on the bus to Musselburgh by half-time.

http://www.londonhearts.com/images/pr1975-76/images/1976010102%20Hibernian%200-3%20Easter%20Road.jpg

http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/images/1976/1976010101.jpg

Thanks LHWM, pretty extensive stuff!

cad
27-02-2010, 10:50 AM
Patrick Stantons header at 10 past five .:agree:

27-02-2010, 11:06 AM
Been to only one derby - it was the WORST game of fitbaw ever.

Dreadful goalless snore draw in mid 80s - highlights were seeing some Yams get lifted, and I vowed I wouldnae go to another.

Nearly broke that vow at 0-4 semi - but sold my ticket to Keith Wright Jnr (sorry bud!).

Had planned to go to 1-0 Fletcher shoulder goal but got to ER too late. I watched first half in Middletons and second in the pub - forget its name - with the Safari Lounge upstairs! :greengrin

27-02-2010, 12:35 PM
That's the one on London Road :thumbsup:

Did you really give me a ticket to the 0-4? I've managed to forget just about everything about that day, think I drank it away!

I took along 2 non Hibee mates to it who did have to sit somewhere else IIRC.

Edit - Ah I went through my PM's and saw our old chat. Had indeed banished it all from my mind! Out of curiosity why do you not go to derby games?

27-02-2010, 01:10 PM
Out of curiosity why do you not go to derby games?

I think I sent ticket to your work - KPMG? George Street?

Re derbies - I don't have the stomach for them. I'm nervous enough on 'ordinary' games - no sure I could handle a derby. Also first experience was soooo poor - I was totally scunnered!

27-02-2010, 04:07 PM
I think I sent ticket to your work - KPMG? George Street?

Re derbies - I don't have the stomach for them. I'm nervous enough on 'ordinary' games - no sure I could handle a derby. Also first experience was soooo poor - I was totally scunnered!

heh fair enough! I love being on edge at the fitbaw, and winning of course.

Was PwC Queen Street. You were dealing with some of our public sector guys, all of whom no longer work at PwC (Edinburgh at least) as well as myself :agree:

27-02-2010, 04:17 PM
1/1/74 3-1 at Easter Road. I was heading for secondary school before i saw them beat us. I think they were in the middle of a run of 2 wins in 30 games or something like that.

1875godsgift
27-02-2010, 04:21 PM
Been to only one derby - it was the WORST game of fitbaw ever.

Dreadful goalless snore draw in mid 80s - highlights were seeing some Yams get lifted, and I vowed I wouldnae go to another.

Nearly broke that vow at 0-4 semi - but sold my ticket to Keith Wright Jnr (sorry bud!).

Had planned to go to 1-0 Fletcher shoulder goal but got to ER too late. I watched first half in Middletons and second in the pub - forget its name - with the Safari Lounge upstairs! :greengrin

Is that The Station Bar? One of my favourites when I'm in Edinburgh! It opens at some god-fosaken hour in the morning too!

27-02-2010, 04:40 PM
Ah the Safari Lounge! Doubtful company and no way out in a fire!

My first Hearts game was Jan 1, 1964 - a 1-1 draw Martin with a pen for Hibs replying to Wallace's goal. I was in a trip of football glory!

I've never lost it!

tony higgins
27-02-2010, 07:22 PM
well it was not my first full game but when I was a young child (c1982) I used to have to go long walks with my mum and dad and if hibs were playing they would end up at Easter road and they would let me run up the stairs and watch the last 15-20 mins (or for as long as they used to open the doors in the second half). It was a midweek game for the Tom Hart memorial trophy and I got to the top of the steps to see jackie Mcnamara score the winner in a 1-0 win (this how I remember it, I hope I'm right).

And the darkside smashed every window they could all the way up ER after the match.

tony higgins
27-02-2010, 07:26 PM
Probably my favourite (http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/198309031.html) after 15 years of misery in Derbies.

Never knew Stephen Fry was a yam, knew he was a bi-polar homosexual right enough.

28-02-2010, 10:53 AM
And the darkside smashed every window they could all the way up ER after the match.

And Jenners.

For some reason the yams had a thing about putting the windows in at Jenners after a derby defeat??