View Full Version : ER Completed - Glamour Match

EasterRoad4Ever
23-02-2010, 08:15 PM
How about Hibs arranging a match with a top European or EPL club to formally open the new stand and celebrate the completion of Easter Road? ideally one that would guarantee full capacity and a great atmosphere ?

But who ?

23-02-2010, 08:16 PM
How about Hibs arranging a match with a top European or EPL club to formally open the new stand and celebrate the completion of Easter Road? ideally one that would guarantee full capacity and a great atmosphere ?

But who ?

Top Euro side? Then it must be Hearts. They played Barca once, you know.

23-02-2010, 08:17 PM
Probably most likely to get Man Utd up if we're going to go for that. They are usually keen for games in Scotland.

23-02-2010, 08:18 PM
Barca, Inter or Napoli

lothianhibee
23-02-2010, 08:20 PM
i would like to see real madrid come and stand called the joe baker stand

23-02-2010, 08:25 PM
How about asking Bayern Munich - now that's much better than some boring old EPL team or Barca/REal Madrid? :thumbsup:

23-02-2010, 08:25 PM
Arsenal, please.

Have they ever played at ER?

23-02-2010, 08:31 PM
Liverpool, Ajax or Lyon.

23-02-2010, 08:33 PM
Millwall? :take that:take that:take that

23-02-2010, 08:43 PM
The problem with this idea is that the stand won't be ready until mid August (at the earliest), which doesn't fit in with using it for a pre season match. The hints that are being dropped in the press are that the first SPL game or two next season will need to be played away from home or with three stands. After the season starts your "glamour" clubs are mainly playing two games per week and wouldn't want to jam a friendly into their schedule.

23-02-2010, 08:45 PM
The problem with this idea is that the stand won't be ready until mid August (at the earliest), which doesn't fit in with using it for a pre season match. The hints that are being dropped in the press are that the first SPL game or two next season will need to be played away from home or with three stands. After the season starts your "glamour" clubs are mainly playing two games per week and wouldn't want to jam a friendly into their schedule.

And hopefully European fixtures for us around then as well

23-02-2010, 08:53 PM
Surely the answer is

Hibs XI V Hibs "Golden Generation" (that paid for it) :cool2:

What a mouth-watering prospect though having the golden generation back at ER for a match :notworthy:

23-02-2010, 08:55 PM

We could leave the new stand un-named until the beginning of NEXT season. Then invite someone really special to come up to play us in a pre-season, and use the opportunity for a formal naming of the stand and also for the fans to turn out to thank STF for twenty years of sound stewardship? Calling the stand the STF Stand? If STF hadn't stepped forward when he did, we souldn't have a team or a stadium right now.

Manchester United, Liverpool, Spurs or Arsenal?

TariqE
23-02-2010, 08:55 PM
Brazil :agree:

23-02-2010, 08:57 PM
Any ex-hibees due a testimonial in the near future?

23-02-2010, 09:00 PM
Leith is 'twinned' with Rio. A Brazilian team would be quality. Sadly, our seasons are totally out of step.

23-02-2010, 09:03 PM
How about an invitational ex-Hibs XI?

Id love to see the likes of Sproule, O'Connor, Murphy back at ER.

Might even help GOC find a new club as he'll be out of contract...

23-02-2010, 09:03 PM
Leith is 'twinned' with Rio. A Brazilian team would be quality. Sadly, our seasons are totally out of step.

Dont waste your time with Cariocas from Rio - there can be one and only one team from Brasil to play the Hibees - Palmeiras (also green and white and formed like Hibs for an immigrant - Italian - population).

23-02-2010, 09:04 PM

echo :greengrin

23-02-2010, 09:09 PM
echo :greengrin

Same goes for me. Put it off till next summers pre season.

If it had to be one of the bigger premiership teams, I'd go for Arsenal, or Man Utd. Then again as much as I knew the gubbing we'd get from Barca it wasn't worth the trip just to see there players...

ex 11 it is! :notworthy:

23-02-2010, 09:14 PM

Mikey Stewart? Gary Caldwell?

We could ask Gordon Strachan to be the guest manager of the visitors, and invite Joe T back to 'welcome' him....

Fun and games all round. :devil:

JDanielR1875
23-02-2010, 09:16 PM
i would like to see real madrid come and stand called the joe baker stand

I would love to see Real Madrid walk out on to Easter Road aswell.

23-02-2010, 09:17 PM
Mikey Stewart? Gary Caldwell?

We could ask Gordon Strachan to be the guest manager of the visitors, and invite Joe T back to 'welcome' him....

Fun and games all round. :devil:

Brown or Zibbi for goalie :thumbsup:

23-02-2010, 09:18 PM
Not Hibs class :devil:

23-02-2010, 09:21 PM

Naw - we have a 100% record against them. Let's not spoil that.

23-02-2010, 09:24 PM
How about Hartlepool United, a re-match of the 2005 'glamour' friendly?

Or we could invite Bolton up for a reunion :take that

:devil:

23-02-2010, 09:27 PM

Seriously not a bad idea - wee problem about one or two players, mind?

Would we want, say, Thomson to play? Stewart? Caldwell? None of them have been particularly respectful of the club that gave each of them in his own way a chance to rebuild a career.

We could invite a top EPL team - Man U, Man City, Arsenal whoever - and invite some of those guys back to play 45 minutes for US, though...

Whittaker, Murphy, Brown, O'Connor, Fletcher, Sproule, Matt Doumbe?

And ask Franck Sauzee to attend as a honoured guest?

23-02-2010, 09:32 PM

Would we want, say, Thomson to play? Stewart? Caldwell? None of them have been particularly respectful of the club that gave each of them in his own way a chance to rebuild a career.

We could invite a top EPL team - Man U, Man City, Arsenal whoever - and invite some of those guys back to play 45 minutes for US, though...

Top suggestion that :agree:

23-02-2010, 09:40 PM
Brazil :agree:

Just about pished my pants when I read that!!! LOL :top marks

23-02-2010, 10:05 PM
The stand will be ready just as the Spanish and Italian clubs will be a week or two off starting their season so not to bad an idea.

Valencia or Napoli for moi.

23-02-2010, 10:12 PM
The stand will be ready just as the Spanish and Italian clubs will be a week or two off starting their season so not to bad an idea.

Now THAT's a thought. :agree:

23-02-2010, 10:26 PM
Hopefully we will be playing a European side in a competive game just as the stand is completed anyway.

23-02-2010, 10:28 PM
Kaunas

23-02-2010, 10:31 PM

Napoli might not be too keen after getting horsed 5-0 last time they visited. :thumbsup:

Hibs On Tour
23-02-2010, 11:49 PM
Rest of the World XI [either current or old and new - Le God?]
Ex-Hibs Selected XI [Ivan, etc]
2 x Hibs Select XI teams [old and new players on both sides]

Entire evening should be based around Tam the groundsman naturally! :greengrin

23-02-2010, 11:51 PM

And ask Franck Sauzee to attend as a honoured guest?Le God,making a 15 min.guest appearence for his old club Olympique Marseille,then playing the remainder of the game for us,to make sure we win:greengrin

23-02-2010, 11:54 PM

What about adding Mountie to that list? He wasn't the greatest player but was well respected by the fans.
Maybe he wouldn't come after the poor way he was treated before leaving.

24-02-2010, 12:39 AM
What about adding Mountie to that list? He wasn't the greatest player but was well respected by the fans.
Maybe he wouldn't come after the poor way he was treated before leaving.

Was it him or Townsley that came on here and went through somebody who was criticising him? Did that even happen or am I making it up?

24-02-2010, 08:54 AM
Dont waste your time with Cariocas from Rio - there can be one and only one team from Brasil to play the Hibees - Palmeiras (also green and white and formed like Hibs for an immigrant - Italian - population).

Sou Palmeiras ate morrer! :thumbsup:

.SeventyFive
24-02-2010, 09:34 AM
Valencia, Bayern Munich or Arsenal for me.

berwickhibee
24-02-2010, 10:05 AM
marseilles with franck playing for us.:thumbsup:

OstKurve Hibs
24-02-2010, 10:19 AM
Boca Juniors for me!

24-02-2010, 05:24 PM
I'd say Leeds not as big as they where but still up there with top teams!

24-02-2010, 05:25 PM
I'd say Leeds not as big as they where but still up there with top teams!

With the added bonus of a pagger, and we all get home in time for tea.

Northern Hibby
24-02-2010, 06:01 PM
How about asking Bayern Munich

To show them we got the lights fixed :wink:

24-02-2010, 06:13 PM
Man Utd. :pray:

That would make my year if we played them.

24-02-2010, 07:23 PM
I think it's a good idea however lets make sure they ain't too good, don't fancy getting creamed again ala Barca!

suavegav
24-02-2010, 08:29 PM
Aye, i'd love to see Valencia at ER. they have been my spanish side for while noo.

Now THAT's a thought. :agree:

24-02-2010, 08:55 PM
Sou Palmeiras ate morrer! :thumbsup:

pai minha esposa e eu tambem!

24-02-2010, 09:54 PM
There is only one answer!

The 6-2 team

24-02-2010, 10:17 PM
Yams for me!, remember guys they had 57.000 fans at Murrayfield for the Barca game, how can we refuse that!

**** erseholes!

24-02-2010, 10:30 PM
Hibs v Real but we get Ronaldo and Kaka and any man in :wink:

24-02-2010, 10:32 PM
I would like to see Newcastle, they would defo bring a massive crowd.

24-02-2010, 11:53 PM
Kaunas

We already play them in the league.

25-02-2010, 06:51 PM
Yams for me!, remember guys they had 57.000 fans at Murrayfield for the Barca game, how can we refuse that!

**** erseholes!

:faf::faf:

25-02-2010, 06:53 PM
Arsenal.

Watching 2 fantastic teams in full flow would be breathtaking.

Davy Mac
25-02-2010, 07:32 PM
The Arsenal would be good, is Yogi not pally with Wenger?

Even better if they bring their proper squad.......:greengrin

25-02-2010, 07:39 PM
Birmingham might be more realistic.

25-02-2010, 07:41 PM
Arsenal.

Watching 2 fantastic teams in full flow would be breathtaking.

It would but I think it would only be right that Hibs were playing mate.

26-02-2010, 06:20 AM
I can't believe nobody has realised we will be playing

STANDard Liege