Barry Robson (Middlesbrough)
Kevin Thomson (Rangers)

Forwards
Kris Boyd (Rangers)
Steven Fletcher (Burnley)
Chris Iwelumo (Wolverhampton W.)
Kenny Miller (Rangers)

McThuggoch :confused: ***ake...... as for Boyd.....:grr:

30% of the squad are Huns - Levein's @rse must be awfy sair. He's also popped in a couple of United players as a wee thank you to Stephen Thompson - Gary Kenneth has hardly kicked a ball this season. New manager, same sh*t.

Kerrplunk
22-02-2010, 10:29 AM
When did Neal Alexander last play a match???.....same old same old.

No Miller or Stokes in Ireland squad either!!

Godsahibby
22-02-2010, 10:44 AM
Goalkeepers
Neil Alexander (Rangers)
Craig Gordon (Sunderland)
David Marshall (Cardiff City)

Defenders
Alan Hutton (Tottenham Hotspur)
Christophe Berra (Wolverhampton W.)
Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic)
Paul Dixon (Dundee United)
Garry Kenneth (Dundee United)
Lee Wallace (Heart of Midlothian)
Andy Webster (Rangers)
Steven Whittaker (Rangers)

Midfield
Charlie Adam (Blackpool)
Scott Brown (Celtic)
Graham Dorrans (West Bromwich Albion)
Darren Fletcher (Manchester United)
Paul Hartley (Bristol City)
Lee McCulloch (Rangers)
James McFadden (Birmingham City)
Kevin Thomson (Rangers)

Forwards
Kris Boyd (Rangers)
Kenny Miller (Rangers)

30% of the squad are Huns - Levein's @rse must be awfy sair. He's also popped in a couple of United players as a wee thank you to Stephen Thompson - Gary Kenneth has hardly kicked a ball this season. New manager, same sh*t.

Well who would you have chosen instead?

WestEndHibee
22-02-2010, 10:44 AM
I say give him a chance. I think he might have a good squad on his hands there. Rangers are miles top of the league which justifies their players being picked. For once just wait and see how he plays them before we slate the man.

KerPlunk
22-02-2010, 10:48 AM
I say give him a chance. I think he might have a good squad on his hands there. Rangers are miles top of the league which justifies their players being picked. For once just wait and see how he plays them before we slate the man.

Stop being so sensible - this is a footie board FFS !!! :greengrin

Perspective
22-02-2010, 10:51 AM
Goalkeepers
Neil Alexander (Rangers)

Defenders
Andy Webster (Rangers)

Midfield
Charlie Adam (Blackpool)
Scott Brown (Celtic)
Lee McCulloch (Rangers)
Kevin Thomson (Rangers)

Forwards
Kris Boyd (Rangers)
Kenny Miller (Rangers)

Wonder if the latest incident concerning McGregor led to a last-minute call-up for Alexander.

Good to see Dixon's inclusion and great that Iwelumo's being given another chance.

22-02-2010, 10:54 AM
When did Neal Alexander last play a match???.....same old same old.

No Miller or Stokes in Ireland squad either!!

Thats an odd one, in particular Stokes - in better form now than he was when he was selected the last time. :confused:

22-02-2010, 10:57 AM
Gary Kenneth. :hilarious

22-02-2010, 10:57 AM
I don't think we can really argue with the Huns selected for the squad (On a "talent" basis, you could argue their inclusion about their behaviour), however I didn't want to see McClulloch in who is a disgrace of a player.

Overall it looks quite a strong squad.

Edit. Gary ****ing Kenneth?

22-02-2010, 11:00 AM
Gary Kenneth. :hilarious

:agree: He's ****ing mince. Bizarre selection.

22-02-2010, 11:17 AM
Goalkeepers
Neil Alexander (Rangers)

Defenders
Andy Webster (Rangers)

Midfield
Charlie Adam (Blackpool)
Scott Brown (Celtic)
Lee McCulloch (Rangers)
Kevin Thomson (Rangers)

Forwards
Kris Boyd (Rangers)
Chris Iwelumo (Wolverhampton W.)Kenny Miller (Rangers)

Dont think the highlighted players should be included IMO

22-02-2010, 11:22 AM
Dont think the highlighted players should be included IMO

Agreed 100%.

I'd have had Ian Murray in there tae...NOT because he plays for Hibs, because over the piece, for the last 12 months+ he's played ****ing consistently well.

Iwulemo? WTF? He had his chance and he blew it. He done precious little even putting aside the 2 yard miss. Agree with Faddy being in there but I'd have been tempted to ditch some of those *****. McCulloch for sure.

The only saving grace is there is no crab.

Potter, if this works, we'll see then. Til then, consider yerself a hun loving brown nosed erse.

ENDOF

Oscar Lomax
22-02-2010, 11:33 AM
Boyd and McCulloch turned their back on their country and Boyd especially, shoulnt be anywhere near a Scotland squad. He is a disgrace and also a very average player.

22-02-2010, 11:37 AM
I tried to pick a decent team there, I had to stop because it frightened me too much.

Decent full-backs in Hutton and Wallace, centre half partnership looks potentially disastrous.

Darren Fletcher and Dorrans should be stick-ons for central midfield, Steven Fletcher must play up front. The rest is all a bit mediocre/pish.

Where's Ross McCormack? And if the likes of Robson and Iwelumo are there, you'd have been as well including Robert Snodgrass.

22-02-2010, 11:39 AM
Centre back area does look very scary.

Bring back Davie Weir:greengrin

22-02-2010, 11:41 AM
Garry Kenneth

Glasgow Hibee
22-02-2010, 11:41 AM
Boyd especially, shoulnt be anywhere near a Scotland squad. He is a disgrace and also a very average player.

Unfortunately Boyd is an exceptional goal scorer, just a pity he's such an arse.

However, because he turned his back on Scotland, he should not have been picked again (without a heartfelt apology at least). No one is bigger than the team.

22-02-2010, 11:45 AM
Unfortunately Boyd is an exceptional goal scorer, just a pity he's such an arse.

However, because he turned his back on Scotland, he should not have been picked again (without a heartfelt apology at least). No one is bigger than the team.

McCulloch I'd agree with.

The Crab and McGregor can also GTF IMHO.

Boyd was treated badly by Burley as was, Riordan.

Now Burley has gone (and I dont disagree this SHOULDNT get in the way of players representing their country) I reckon both Boyd and Riordan should be given a game. We have some good scorers in Scotland, we unfortunately canny play them all at once as somebody needs to supply them but we've got Boyd, Miller, Riordan and others - we're not that short of guys who can score and indeed, on a sixpence can rattle them in.

We are short of good defenders and good playmaking midfielders......

Glasgow Hibee
22-02-2010, 11:50 AM
Boyd was treated badly by Burley as was, Riordan.

How was he treated badly ! Cause he didn't get picked?

There are many great players from every era (Alan Gordon for one) who have never even had a Scotland cap. Do you think they would have turned one down because they were in the huff with the manager ?

22-02-2010, 11:59 AM
Agreed 100%.

I'd have had Ian Murray in there tae...NOT because he plays for Hibs, because over the piece, for the last 12 months+ he's played ****ing consistently well.

Iwulemo? WTF? He had his chance and he blew it. He done precious little even putting aside the 2 yard miss. Agree with Faddy being in there but I'd have been tempted to ditch some of those *****. McCulloch for sure.

The only saving grace is there is no crab.

Potter, if this works, we'll see then. Til then, consider yerself a hun loving brown nosed erse.

ENDOF

If the Scottish National team were to overlook everyone who's had a poor game in the shirt, you would have a very select few players in the squads indeed.

The abuse Iwelumo has received is absolutely OTT.

I do question (more through ignorance than anything else) what he's done this year? Is he still at Wolves and not getting a game, or has he moved on/out on loan somewhere?

Kenneth is indeed a surprise, but Dixon and Webster have been fairly solid for United this season. Surprised Conway wasn't selected though. Also would query Hartley, though by all accounts, he's had some good games this year.

Glad to see Boyd back in the squad - we need someone who knows how to find the net.

22-02-2010, 12:03 PM
If the Scottish National team were to overlook everyone who's had a poor game in the shirt, you would have a very select few players in the squads indeed.

The abuse Iwelumo has received is absolutely OTT.

I do question (more through ignorance than anything else) what he's done this year? Is he still at Wolves and not getting a game, or has he moved on/out on loan somewhere?

Kenneth is indeed a surprise, but Dixon and Webster have been fairly solid for United this season. Surprised Conway wasn't selected though. Also would query Hartley, though by all accounts, he's had some good games this year.

Glad to see Boyd back in the squad - we need someone who knows how to find the net.

Iwelumo moved to Bristol City i think on loan

Other than that, same old squad as always... I was hoping that we might be looking towards the future but i doesnt look like it.

22-02-2010, 12:04 PM
I have no idea how Neil Alexander gets into the squad when he has played just five matches this season for Rangers.

Dixon and Kenneth are only in there because they play for Dundee Utd.

22-02-2010, 12:05 PM
Well who would you have chosen instead?

In terms of priority of selection, i would have gone for:

GK: Gordon, McGregor, Marshall

DR: Hutton, Whittaker
DL: Wallace, Fox
DLC: Berra, McManus
DRC: Caldwell, Caldwell

MR: Burke, Dorrans
ML: McFadden, Snodgrass
MC: Fletcher, Ferguson
MC: Brown, Thomson

ST: Fletcher, McCormack
ST: Boyd, Miller

Looks a squad good enough to get some results to me, with some decnt youth players. Its a pretty young squad.

Ell_Chrisso
22-02-2010, 12:07 PM
If you were the Manager, of that Squad. What would your selection be?

Id go with

Gordon
Hutton Berra Caldwell Wallace
Brown D.Fletcher Dorrans
Miller Fletcher
Boyd

P.s, No Ian Murray?

darwenhibby
22-02-2010, 12:09 PM
FFS No Riordan again!!:grr:

What does that guy have to do to get a game for Scotland:rolleyes:

22-02-2010, 12:13 PM

Turning up for Hibs might be a start? :confused:

22-02-2010, 12:15 PM

Gordon
Hutton Berra Webster Wallace
Dorrans Fletcher Thomson
McFadden
Boyd Miller

Ell_Chrisso
22-02-2010, 12:16 PM
Turning up for Hibs might be a start? :confused:

Cudn't agree more.. :top marks

22-02-2010, 12:18 PM

Alot more than hes doing for hibs the now.

22-02-2010, 12:20 PM

There's been some debate on here about whether he should be in the Hibs starting 11, never mind a call up.

What's happened to GOC these days? Is he still at Birmingham?

I'm happy enough with that squad. Certainly no one, with the exception on Mcfadden and may be Snodgrass, are glaring ommisions.

As for the folk berating the inclusion of Alexander, who else would you have picked? There's not an abundance of Scottish keepers to chose from, and he's a decent keeper.

'Mon the Scotland!

22-02-2010, 12:24 PM
There's been some debate on here about whether he should be in the Hibs starting 11, never mind a call up.

What's happened to GOC these days? Is he still at Birmingham?

I'm happy enough with that squad. Certainly no one, with the exception on Mcfadden and may be Snodgrass, are glaring ommisions.

As for the folk berating the inclusion of Alexander, who else would you have picked? There's not an abundance of Scottish keepers to chose from, and he's a decent keeper.

'Mon the Scotland!

Out until end of April through a leg injury. Then out of contract in summer.

Derek Dougan
If there's a better or more consistent Scottish left back than Ian Murray then I've yet to see him. :confused:

As for Gary Kenneth don't get me started. More bricklayer than footballer.

Riordan has done nothing this season to warrant a place in the squad. If he was picked every fan other than hibs fans would be wondering why. Riordan has been pretty bad this season, and now he isnt even being out the game and popping up with a goal. I hope that this maybe gives him a kick up the erse, as he must now know that he needs to play better for hibs or he can kiss his international career goodbye.

22-02-2010, 12:25 PM
If there's a better or more consistent Scottish left back than Ian Murray then I've yet to see him. :confused:

As much as it pains me to say, I think IM is too slow a left back at international level.

22-02-2010, 12:25 PM
Riordan has done nothing this season to warrant a place in the squad. If he was picked every fan other than hibs fans would be wondering why. Riordan has been pretty bad this season, and now he isnt even being out the game and popping up with a goal. I hope that this maybe gives him a kick up the erse, as he must now know that he needs to play better for hibs or he can kiss his international career goodbye.

And Garry ****in Kenneth has ? :confused: Joke not having Deek in imo.

HibeeUnderwood
22-02-2010, 12:30 PM
Goalkeepers
Neil Alexander (Rangers)

Defenders
Andy Webster (Rangers)

Midfield
Charlie Adam (Blackpool)
Scott Brown (Celtic)
Lee McCulloch (Rangers)
Kevin Thomson (Rangers)

Forwards
Kris Boyd (Rangers)
Kenny Miller (Rangers)

Those 3 shouldn't be in the team and should be replaced by Ian Murray, Stephen McManus and Robert Snodgrass :agree:

22-02-2010, 12:31 PM

IIRC didnt GK have a huge reputation when he was younger and teams like Chelsea were interested in him? Or maybe I am going mad.

18Craig75
22-02-2010, 12:39 PM
Gordon

Hutton Caldwell Webster Wallace

Thomson

Dorrans Fletcher Brown Mcfadden

Fletcher

Oscar Lomax
22-02-2010, 12:40 PM
GOC is out with quite a bad injury at the moment and yes, he is still with Burmingham City.
I would certainly rather have him as that huddie Boyd.

22-02-2010, 12:41 PM
That is a shocking squad, if levein gets results with it then fair enough, but if he doesn't then he is leaving himself wide open to some heavy criticism.

Another onejust giving into largs, i mean paul hartley FFS :grr:

Is levein not the one that has always talked about giving the youth a chance and doing something new and refreshing with the national team. That squad is full of his ex players and the rangers team. :grr:

22-02-2010, 12:43 PM
Iwelumo moved to Bristol City i think on loan
Other than that, same old squad as always... I was hoping that we might be looking towards the future but i doesnt look like it.

Iwelumo scored a goal for Bristol City yesterday which was almost identical to the one he missed for Scotland. He looked really awkward and deliberate as he sidestepped the ball into the net. He doesn't instil you with confidence in front of goal.

22-02-2010, 12:43 PM
Out of the squad, I'd go with:

Gordon

Hutton Caldwell Webster Wallace

McFadden Fletcher Brown Robson

Boyd Fletcher

Kenny Miller to stay as far from the starting line up as possible.

SidBurns
22-02-2010, 01:28 PM

Id go with

Gordon
Brown D.Fletcher Dorrans
Miller Fletcher
Boyd

P.s, No Ian Murray?

My team would be:-

Gordon
Hartley/McCulloch
Brown Fletcher Dorrans
Fletcher Boyd

On form gotta be:-

Gordon
Whittaker Webster Dixon Wallace
Adam Dorrans Fletcher McCulloch
Fletcher Boyd

Gotta feeling it'll be this though:-

Gordon
Brown McCulloch Thomson Robson
McFadden Boyd

Don-hibee
22-02-2010, 01:32 PM
Not sure about Kenneth, Hartley and Iwelumo but rest is pretty much as expected.

Is Kenneth really better than Wilson or McManus?

Is Hartley worth including ahead of someone like McDonald or Cairney?

Do we really not have a better option than Iwelumo? Naismith, McCormack, Goodwillie, Griffiths and Clarkson would all be better options IMO.

LamontHFC©
22-02-2010, 01:45 PM
Not sure about Kenneth, Hartley and Iwelumo but rest is pretty much as expected.

Is Kenneth really better than Wilson or McManus?

Is Hartley worth including ahead of someone like McDonald or Cairney?

Do we really not have a better option than Iwelumo? Naismith, McCormack, Goodwillie, Griffiths and Clarkson would all be better options IMO.

I would get Goodwillie in there. :agree:

He was class on my FM season, scored twice against The Netherlands.

22-02-2010, 02:43 PM
Has Barry Ferguson turned it down then?

I don't like the wee ned (goes without saying) but if you're gonna take the Huns back, then he is a far better midfielder than McCulloch.

McCulloch is an absolute liability, in fact.

rennie_hfc
22-02-2010, 03:08 PM
McCulloch shouldnt be anywhere near this squad and surely Ian Murray is better than Gary Kenneth.
I'd go for.

-----------Gordon
Hutton-Webster-Berra-Whittaker
--------Fletcher-Brown
Robson----------------McFadden
----------------Fletch
-----------Boyd

Oscar Lomax
22-02-2010, 03:08 PM
GOC is out with quite a bad injury at the moment and yes, he is still with Burmingham City.
I would certainly rather have him as that huddie Boyd.

22-02-2010, 03:26 PM

Some of that squad is hilarious..

Alexander, Kenneth, Dixon, McCulloch, Thomshun, Hartley, Iwelumo and Boyd should be nowhere near a Scotland squad..

Where's Barry Ferguson FFS :bitchy:

22-02-2010, 05:52 PM
Those 3 shouldn't be in the team and should be replaced by Ian Murray, Stephen McManus and Robert Snodgrass :agree:

I'd have Paul Dixon in the national set up ahead of Murray. Murray doesn't have the pace to play LB at international level. Dixon is an excellent young LB and he could really make the position his for years to come. Levein is looking to the future with that one.

22-02-2010, 05:57 PM
Gary Kenneth....Gary **** Kenneth....am I reading this correctly :confused:

And Iwelumo, well dinnae get me started. McCulloch? WTF?

I know Snodgrass is only playing in League 1 but surely he's proved he's got the ability.

22-02-2010, 06:07 PM

And what have Chris iwelumo or even Katie thomson done to get in the Scotland squad, you say Deeks done nothing this season, let me remind you the season started in August, and in that time Riordan has scored 11 goals and picked up a POTM award for September, no bad for doing nothing eh, Chris Iwelumo, how many games has he played this season, and how many goals has he got.
And it was only a few months ago that Riordan was playing well enough to be picked for the last Scotland squad.:wink:

22-02-2010, 06:11 PM
It's certainly been a seamless management transition from Burley to Levein.

Well done, Gordon Smith.

borstalboy
22-02-2010, 06:15 PM
Boyd and McCulloch turned their back on their country and Boyd especially, shoulnt be anywhere near a Scotland squad. He is a disgrace and also a very average player.

If you were Kris Boyd and you were sitting on that bench against Norway, Scotland desperate for a goal, you'd think you were odds on to get on then he puts big iwelumo on instead...........i'd be pretty peeved!!! Its not as if this was the first time it happened. Boyds scored for scotland and is a goal machine whether you like it or not!

You could say he turned his back on the country, but what was he to do, go to the squads and pretend he's happy.....bottom line was Burley didnt fancy him and didnt play him, would you stick around if that was you?!

Just my opinion!

22-02-2010, 06:18 PM
Has Barry Ferguson turned it down then?

I don't like the wee ned (goes without saying) but if you're gonna take the Huns back, then he is a far better midfielder than McCulloch.

McCulloch is an absolute liability, in fact.

Ferguson is being allowed to choose his games. It's a bit of a joke.

Zitelli
22-02-2010, 06:32 PM
If you were Kris Boyd and you were sitting on that bench against Norway, Scotland desperate for a goal, you'd think you were odds on to get on then he puts big iwelumo on instead...........i'd be pretty peeved!!! Its not as if this was the first time it happened. Boyds scored for scotland and is a goal machine whether you like it or not!

You could say he turned his back on the country, but what was he to do, go to the squads and pretend he's happy.....bottom line was Burley didnt fancy him and didnt play him, would you stick around if that was you?!

Just my opinion!

It should be an honour to be called up for your country.

22-02-2010, 06:39 PM
it doesn't matter in the slightest who he named, he was always going to get slated in some quarters for some decisions.

Lets just get behind them and hope for the best.

22-02-2010, 06:46 PM
Dixon and Kenneth parachuted in from nowhere

Some might say new Scotland manager some fresh talent.

Others might say adding a few grand to the transfer value of dundee utd players by the until recently dundee utd director.:hmmm:

borstalboy
22-02-2010, 06:47 PM

It should be an honour to be called up for your country.

Your right it should, and back in the day it probably would have been but harsh truth is we live in a society where footballers and fans run things, modern football is different!!

Austinho
22-02-2010, 06:52 PM
Excuse my complete ignorance regarding any player outwith Hibs...

Not suggesting any of these players should be in the squad, was just curious to what has happened to them?

Shaun Maloney
Ross McCormack
James Morrison
Nigel Quashie
Ross Wallace
Chris Burke
Jay McEveley
Kris Commons
Gary Teale
Stephen Pearson
Stephen McManus
Callum Davidson
Gary Naysmith

Also didn't realise we had so many Scottish players at Burnley:

Steven Caldwell
Kevin McDonald
Steven Thompson
Danny Fox
Graham Alexander (too old?)

Why have none of them got a look in?

22-02-2010, 06:53 PM
I don't buy all this about how Boyd shouldn't be included because of his previous attitude.

If I'd scored 1 in 2 for my country and the top scorer ever in the SPL I'd be wondering how Iwelumo was playing ahead of me too!

22-02-2010, 06:54 PM

Others might say adding a few grand to the transfer value of dundee utd players by the until recently dundee utd director.:hmmm:

Kenneth is gash, and I can't for the life of me understand that decision.

However, Paul Dixon is an excellent young LB, and a great prospect. The LB position has been a problem area for Scotland for a number of years now, and it'd be great for a talented young lad to go out there and make it his own.

ancienthibby
22-02-2010, 06:54 PM

And have we Hibees so quickly forgotten his cowardly, cheating attack (for that's what it was; out of sight of the ref.) on wee Zouma??

And this thug should ever wear the dark blue of my beloved country ever again??

Utter shame on you, Levein!!

22-02-2010, 06:55 PM

Dixon, Kenneth & Webster...only surprise is that Lee Wilkie hasn't 'earned' a recall so that the entire Dundee Utd defence could be called upon.

resident_Arab
22-02-2010, 07:42 PM

McManus is rubbish, Kenneth has far more potential.

Dont get me wrong, im surprised he is in this squad but always new he would be in a Scotland squad at somepoint, he is better than people like Caldwell(imo), Barr, Anderson and Diamond.

Dixon is along with Wallace the two best left backs we have to choose from, both better than Fox and Mulgrew.

As for Webster he is our best centre half (not including Weir as he wont be considered now) and but for injury problems would never have been out the squad, he will be a mainstay in the huns defence next season.

22-02-2010, 07:52 PM
As far as the return of the 'dissidents' is concerned, what sticks in my throat and is unacceptable is that I don't think they are simply choosing to return to the Country's national team. By the very frank admission of the crab, (hallelujah, he is not quite yet back,) and I suspect also in the case of the others, they are only returning because of the person in charge. When Harry Potter is inevitably sacked because of lack of success, will they once again withdraw their loyalty to and respect for their country? I am shocked and disgusted at Levein's yellow streak as I don't think that the decision was his own but rather bowing to pressure from Smith and the gang.

Hfc_Since1875
22-02-2010, 07:57 PM
the team IMO will be:

-------Gordon
hutton--webster--caldwell--Wallace

Brown--Fletcher--Mculloch--Mcfadden

miller--boyd

think anyone who thinks s.fletcher will play is way off!
Harry Potter will stick to miller and boyd :grr::grr:

Also id like to see webster--berra
potentially could be a good partnership IMO

22-02-2010, 09:41 PM
My problem with this squad is not who's in it - it's arguably the best squad you could pick for the 2014 qualifiers - it's the fact that once again the SFA is thinking in the short term.

What the national team needs is to admit the chances of qualifying for the next championship are slim and that they are not going to bother chasing it. Instead they will look at developing a side for four years hence and take a squad of talented youngsters and see how they develop.

But this looks like the same old, same old...