View Full Version : Enoch Showunmi - Falkirk

green.and.white
21-02-2010, 06:16 PM
I don't want to sound like an OF fan here, but i was watching the Falkirk Aberdeen highlights and the big striker Showunmi looked some player! Big, strong, really fast, can beat a defender (he out sprinted Ricky Foster who is quick) a good finisher and good link up play. Looks exactly the sort of player we need up that end of the park! He may be Hibs class :greengrin

the_ginger_hibee
21-02-2010, 06:23 PM
He didn't cut it here the first time. Don't see why we should try him again TBH.

7Hero
21-02-2010, 06:27 PM
last thing we need is a striker

21-02-2010, 06:29 PM
He didn't cut it here the first time. Don't see why we should try him again TBH.

Different player, different name, different spelling, different nationality, different class.....

21-02-2010, 06:35 PM
last thing we need is a striker

I would suggest one of the first thing we need is a bit more physical presence in attack.

7Hero
21-02-2010, 07:04 PM
we need size in midfield and defence before the front line. aside of that weve got more strikers than we know what to do with, another one on the wage bill would be crazy..

21-02-2010, 07:17 PM

thats about the 10th time he's been mistaken for the numpty we signed!!

Kevvy1875
21-02-2010, 08:50 PM
I havn't seen him play yet. I have a picture in my head of Rob Jones up front for some reason:agree:

green.and.white
21-02-2010, 08:57 PM
I know we don't need any more strikers at the moment but i think we should get a few out and this is the sort of player that we should be looking at to bring in

the_ginger_hibee
21-02-2010, 09:38 PM
different class.....

Different class? He was okay, but 'different class' not so sure. Never really got a chance here. Could come back to bite us.

21-02-2010, 09:46 PM
Different class? He was okay, but 'different class' not so sure. Never really got a chance here. Could come back to bite us.

The guy at Falkirk is Enoch Showunmi, we had Thomas Sowunmi.

green.and.white
21-02-2010, 09:56 PM

Ya numpty :greengrin

21-02-2010, 10:11 PM
Enoch (http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2009/5/1/1241186528551/Enoch-Showunmi-001.jpg)

Thomas (http://www.nemzetisport.hu/data/cikk/6/64/31/cikk_66431/d00045E5Fe322ac0ee039.jpg)
You're welcome.

21-02-2010, 10:53 PM
I know we don't need any more strikers at the moment but i think we should get a few out and this is the sort of player that we should be looking at to bring in we've got mair strikers than a hoarse could sheite. excuse my auld scots language:yawn:

21-02-2010, 10:57 PM

The guy at Falkirk is Enoch Showunmi, we had Thomas The Tank Engine.

Fixed. :agree:

the_ginger_hibee
21-02-2010, 11:19 PM
I just hope if he did come back the 'boo boys' would give him a chance and not judge him on his first spell.

22-02-2010, 12:37 AM
I just hope if he did come back the 'boo boys' would give him a chance and not judge him on his first spell.

You're not really getting this, are you?

green.and.white
22-02-2010, 01:38 AM

I really, really hope you are joking, for your own sake:greengrin

green.and.white
22-02-2010, 01:42 AM
we've got mair strikers than a hoarse could sheite. excuse my auld scots language:yawn:

I know that but I was making the point that we should (IMO) look to offload a few of our current strikers (benji, and we are losing gow at the end of the season) and he is the sort of player we should be looking at

22-02-2010, 08:01 AM
Former strikers always come back to haunt us...get your money on him to score against us :rolleyes:

22-02-2010, 08:13 AM
Former strikers always come back to haunt us...get your money on him to score against us :rolleyes:
not the same guy. :bitchy:

22-02-2010, 10:32 AM
Enoch (http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2009/5/1/1241186528551/Enoch-Showunmi-001.jpg)

Thomas (http://www.nemzetisport.hu/data/cikk/6/64/31/cikk_66431/d00045E5Fe322ac0ee039.jpg)
You're welcome.

for those who still think Thomas Sowunmi and Enoch Showunmi are one and the same...

22-02-2010, 10:36 AM
I don't want to sound like an OF fan here, but i was watching the Falkirk Aberdeen highlights and the big striker Showunmi looked some player! Big, strong, really fast, can beat a defender (he out sprinted Ricky Foster who is quick) a good finisher and good link up play. Looks exactly the sort of player we need up that end of the park! He may be Hibs class :greengrin

You sound like an OF fan! :greengrin

I agree though - we need presence and pace upfront and he'd do nicely IMHO

22-02-2010, 11:46 AM

Let's not forget that Galbraith is eseentially a 'Mixu' signing so If we could get Sowumni from Falkirk, he'd be a Yogi signing, not a JC one.

BigKev
22-02-2010, 11:58 AM
I seen him play a couple of times for Sheff Wed when he was on loan there.

Trust me. We don't want him.

First touch is awful and although big and strong makes Samaras look linke a workhorse.

He'd last about ten minutes at ER before the boo boys got on top of him IMO.

22-02-2010, 12:02 PM
Trust me. We don't want him.

First touch is awful and although big and strong makes Samaras look linke a workhorse.

He'd last about ten minutes at ER before the boo boys got on top of him IMO.

I don't think he got booed too much last time he was here, did he? Never got much of a chance, as I recall, despite scoring a winner against QoS.

22-02-2010, 01:04 PM

Please tell me you are not allowed to vote or serve on a jury or anything similar.:greengrin

22-02-2010, 01:28 PM
I don't think he got booed too much last time he was here, did he? Never got much of a chance, as I recall, despite scoring a winner against QoS.

:bye:

22-02-2010, 02:03 PM
:bye:

22-02-2010, 02:05 PM

LOL

Either you're on the wind-up... in which case IT'S NO BLOODY FUNNY!! :greengrin

Or else, you're being serious.... in which case you're being BLOODY THICK!!! :greengrin

Signed,

Meldrew, V.

Hibernating (Im a stoopid yam tramp)
22-02-2010, 02:08 PM
13 in 50 at Bristol City isn't too bad at all. Could be what keeps Falkirk up, Hamilton to go down. That's my bet. By comparisson, Nish is on 15 for 67 games. I'd say Showummi is better on that stat given the Championship is tougher than most of what's in the spl.

22-02-2010, 03:01 PM
13 in 50 at Bristol City isn't too bad at all. Could be what keeps Falkirk up, Hamilton to go down. That's my bet. By comparisson, Nish is on 15 for 67 games. I'd say Showummi is better on that stat given the Championship is tougher than most of what's in the spl.

He went to the championship after leaving us? I thought he'd gone back to Magyar.

22-02-2010, 03:02 PM
He went to the championship after leaving us? I thought he'd gone back to Magyar.

lol.. don't you bloody start...

22-02-2010, 03:04 PM

Last I heard, old Thommo was plying his trade in Budapest.

When did he sign for Falkirk???

22-02-2010, 03:15 PM

:doh:

22-02-2010, 03:20 PM
Ultimately the guy didn't get a chance here - mainly down to being a JC signing IMO. As has been said he scored the winner in the QF of the Cup against QOS and then had a poor 45 minutes against Ranges then he was banished.

I think MAC was a better bet but I'm pleased to see the guy's doing ok at Falkirk - as long as he doesn't come back to bite us on the arse!

22-02-2010, 03:22 PM
Ultimately the guy didn't get a chance here - mainly down to being a JC signing IMO. As has been said he scored the winner in the QF of the Cup against QOS and then had a poor 45 minutes against Ranges then he was banished.

I think MAC was a better bet but I'm pleased to see the guy's doing ok at Falkirk - as long as he doesn't come back to bite us on the arse!

:blah:

22-02-2010, 03:23 PM

I think the fact that Grof vouched for him when he signed was ultimately held against him, and almost certainly hastened his exit from the club, IMHO.:agree:

22-02-2010, 03:23 PM
:blah:

Disagree? The boy never got a chance - no doubt you were one of the boo-boys. :rolleyes:

22-02-2010, 03:26 PM
Disagree? The boy never got a chance - no doubt you were one of the boo-boys. :rolleyes:

It's just no funny any more, okay? :greengrin

green.and.white
22-02-2010, 03:32 PM
I wish i hadn't said anything in the first place!! :greengrin

22-02-2010, 11:18 PM
He must be knocking on now though.

He was in his mid to late twenties when he was with us so I imagine that's the bairns getting yet another player in the twilight of his career.

22-02-2010, 11:25 PM
If he comes back to us then surely we'll miss out on the sell-on-fee as he'll be rejoining us? In which case it would be money we owed to ourselves and I'm not going down that road.

23-02-2010, 05:54 AM
The most surprising thing about this is that we were all misspelling his surname for the entire time he was with us! :doh:

23-02-2010, 08:32 AM
The most surprising thing about this is that we were all misspelling his surname for the entire time he was with us! :doh:

Ah sod it, I'll join in.........

We were also mis-spelling his first name, too.

23-02-2010, 08:35 AM
Ah sod it, I'll join in.........

We were also mis-spelling his first name, too.

It wasn't even close! God knows where we got 'Thomas' from? :confused:

23-02-2010, 08:35 AM
It wasn't even close! God knows where we got 'Thomas' from? :confused:

Someone told me it's short for Enoch. And easier to say.