View Full Version : "Edinburgh" Evening News - Spot the Deliberate Mistake
19-02-2010, 03:52 PM
I'm getting fed up with the inaccuracies in this council fanzine. For example: saying that the site of the old Portobello power station has football pitches and a bowling centre built on it. IIRC these are built on the site of the open air pool, and it's houses where the power station was - hence Electra Place.
I was thinking of taking out a subscription but I won't bother
19-02-2010, 04:18 PM
I'm getting fed up with the inaccuracies in this council fanzine. For example: saying that the site of the old Portobello power station has football pitches and a bowling centre built on it. IIRC these are built on the site of the open air pool, and it's houses where the power station was - hence Electra Place.
I was thinking of taking out a subscription but I won't bother
Correct...bowling centre and Pitz are defo on the outdoor pool site.
Clearly traditional publishers are feeling the squeeze when it comes to finances and that is reflected in less and less staff and less and less experience. Therefore it's hardly surprising standards are seen to be slipping.
19-02-2010, 04:25 PM
It's difficult for these papers. Do they try and compete with the tabs, or be truly local and keep in touch locally, which costs money in terms of staff.
On the whole I don't think the E.News is too bad. Other local papers have less in them.
What I miss from the News is the District Court reports. You used to get some classic tales of drunkenness (harmless stuff)!
It's difficult for these papers. Do they try and compete with the tabs, or be truly local and keep in touch locally, which costs money in terms of staff.
On the whole I don't think the E.News is too bad. Other local papers have less in them.
What I miss from the News is the District Court reports. You used to get some classic tales of drunkenness (harmless stuff)!I miss the pink news ..wished they would bring that back ...:agree:
19-02-2010, 04:42 PM
Especially the headlines - Jinky Jimmy Jinxes Gers, Dinky Derek Dumps Dons - and the daft wee cartoon strips! They were so corny they were good!
The local sports coverage was very good.
19-02-2010, 04:54 PM
I miss the pink news ..wished they would bring that back ...:agree:
Fitba Daft.
Eck and Boab, no?
The tall one who looked like my Granda was the Hibby. The wee fat one was the Jambo.
19-02-2010, 05:17 PM
No chance.The News is now printed in Glasgow and distribution starts at 10 in the morning.
19-02-2010, 06:06 PM
IIRC these are built on the site of the open air pool, and it's houses where the power station was - hence Electra Place.
Whit? The pool's been filled in? Help ma boab. :grr:
19-02-2010, 06:23 PM
Whit? The pool's been filled in? Help ma boab. :grr:
This is becoming increasingly like an unpublished version of the Broons, where Grandpa pleads his innocence about parading semi naked in front of a bunch of nippers on Porty beach!
"Michty, we better get the auld galoot afore PC Murdoch, or he'll be in yon Saughton wi the nonces", says Paw.
"Havers", says Daphne, "he's no been flashin at bairns at a', it's they wee crabs doon on the sands".
"Whit did ye's think", says Grandpa (with a countenance like thunder).
19-02-2010, 07:07 PM
This is becoming increasingly like an unpublished version of the Broons, where Grandpa pleads his innocence about parading semi naked in front of a bunch of nippers on Porty beach!
"Michty, we better get the auld galoot afore PC Murdoch, or he'll be in yon Saughton wi the nonces", says Paw.
"Havers", says Daphne, "he's no been flashin at bairns at a', it's they wee crabs doon on the sands".
"Whit did ye's think", says Grandpa (with a countenance like thunder).
As we're talking about being factually correct, PC Murdoch was actually in Oor Wullie, not The Broons. :cool2:
19-02-2010, 07:28 PM
As we're talking about being factually correct, PC Murdoch was actually in Oor Wullie, not The Broons. :cool2:
I'm pretty sure that on ocassion he's guest starred in The Broons.
19-02-2010, 07:38 PM
I'm pretty sure that on ocassion he's guest starred in The Broons.
:shhhsh!: :wink:
The days when all it took was one policeman to keep order in Dundee are pretty much gone.
19-02-2010, 09:40 PM
The days when all it took was one policeman to keep order in Dundee are pretty much gone.
Nice try Peter, but the Broons are based in Glasgow.
They're not based in Glasgow. I think it's a fictional town they live in but their early vernacular was that of Dundee.
The storylines were also drawn from the creators experiences of living in Dundee at the time. Correct me if I'm wrong.
19-02-2010, 09:53 PM
Eh? How did Wullie manage to walk all the way to Grandpa Broon's hoose then? Impressive :wink:
19-02-2010, 10:05 PM
They're not based in Glasgow. I think it's a fictional town they live in but their early vernacular was that of Dundee.
The storylines were also drawn from the creators experiences of living in Dundee at the time. Correct me if I'm wrong.
TBH its hard to actually say where they are from. I did originally think they were based in Dundee but saw a Reporting Scotland article that said they were based on a Glasgow family. Looking through the internet it also stated that Glebe Street is based on the street of the same name in Kincardine. And Dudley D Watkins lived in Kincardine. I think people just automatically assume they are Dundonian as they are a DC Thomson creation.
20-02-2010, 12:07 AM
I am certain that the Broons and Oor Wullie are NOT Glasweigan.
hibbybrian
20-02-2010, 12:25 AM
TBH its hard to actually say where they are from. I did originally think they were based in Dundee but saw a Reporting Scotland article that said they were based on a Glasgow family. Looking through the internet it also stated that Glebe Street is based on the street of the same name in Kincardine. And Dudley D Watkins lived in Kincardine. I think people just automatically assume they are Dundonian as they are a DC Thomson creation.
Bairn is not term in common use in Glasgow - The Broons are east-coasters :greengrin
PC Stamp
20-02-2010, 12:53 AM
The Broons stay in Auchentogle.
20-02-2010, 08:47 AM
The Broons stay in Auchentogle.
Which is said to be a variation of the Auchenshuggle district of Glasgow. :confused:
Its all very confusing. :dizzy:
I am certain that the Broons and Oor Wullie are NOT Glasweigan.
I always thought they were from Dundee, is that not where the Sunday Post was printed. The broons might be about a Glaswegian family but with serious Dundonian undertones.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oor_Wullie (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oor_Wullie)
20-02-2010, 09:14 AM
Where is the But 'n Ben?
20-02-2010, 09:22 AM
Where is the But 'n Ben?
http://travel.webshots.com/photo/2487934320046833518TbMvpV (http://travel.webshots.com/photo/2487934320046833518TbMvpV)
I miss that old Porty power station....:boo hoo:
Hibby D
23-02-2010, 02:03 PM
I miss that old Porty power station....:boo hoo:
Can I ask why HH?
Was it the deep red bricks with the black smoke pummelling oot the tunnel into the clear blue skies; made more impressive at sunset as the sun flickered over the clear waters of the forth
Or was it cause when you were on the # 26 and you saw the power station, you just knew you were near the shows and the beautiful green of the slime and moss-covered open air swimming pool :greengrin
Can I ask why HH?
Was it the deep red bricks with the black smoke pummelling oot the tunnel into the clear blue skies; made more impressive at sunset as the sun flickered over the clear waters of the forth
Or was it cause when you were on the # 26 and you saw the power station, you just knew you were near the shows and the beautiful green of the slime and moss-covered open air swimming pool :greengrinI loved the red bricks Di ...:greengrin..however i remember travelling from Leith to Bingham as a bairn on the number 12 bus during the summer on my way to my Nana's hoose..that was pretty poignant as my late Grandad was gardner for the power station & we used to wave to him when the bus sat outside...sadly neither are with us anymore ...:boo hoo:.....:greengrin
Ps - they called the tunnel a chimney in those days Di ..:greengrin
01-03-2010, 03:27 AM
I'm not sure abot Spot the deliberate mistake but one thing is certain, the EEN hasnae been the same since they dropped 'Spot The Ball'. How good was it that they always came up with action shots from Hibs or Hearts matches where all the players were looking at something obviously more important than the actual ball (maybe a reason both Capital clubs were a bit pish in the 80s).