View Full Version : Your Doc says your “obese” or “morbidly obese” Quick answers please!!!
Your havening a chat with the Doc, or your doing a survey on-line and these terms are used to tell you that you're overweight. Would you prefer if he used other words to describe your condition?
What would have more impact to loose weight; being told your obese; your fat; your overweight; your something else?
Thanks! :agree:
Incidentally I saw a cartoon the other day the Doc was saying ‘If you find it difficult to fit an hours exercise into your day how are you going to fit in being dead 24/7?’
Tinyclothes
18-02-2010, 08:55 AM
Your havening a chat with the Doc, or your doing a survey on-line and these terms are used to tell you that you're overweight. Would you prefer if he used other words to describe your condition?
What would have more impact to loose weight; being told your obese; your fat; your overweight; your something else?
Thanks! :agree:
Incidentally I saw a cartoon the other day the Doc was saying ‘If you find it difficult to fit an hours exercise into your day how are you going to fit in being dead 24/7?’
My main motivator would be self respect. Although I'll definitely never be faced with the problem of being either obese OR morbidly obese so, really this is moot.
18-02-2010, 09:30 AM
I think the main motivation has to come from within. No matter what people say there is only so much drive that can give you.
Since I stopped playing 11s (stopped training 2x a week plus a game) football I've put on 1 and a half stone. I know I need to get rid of it but it needs a change of lifestyle and most people don't want to change their lifestyle. I love lager and pizza!
I have started to eat a bit better, get back to playing 5s/7s and been to the gym a few times lately but ultimately being told I'm a fat **** by mates, doctors etc won't make a slight bit of difference. It will make me more aware but I need to want to make the changes.
Although, the biggest impact out of the piss takes for turning into a bit of a fat **** came from my cousins little kid who said 'you're a fatty'. :faf: When 3 year olds are insulting you then it's bad!
Tinyclothes
18-02-2010, 09:35 AM
I think the main motivation has to come from within. No matter what people say there is only so much drive that can give you.
Since I stopped playing 11s (stopped training 2x a week plus a game) football I've put on 1 and a half stone. I know I need to get rid of it but it needs a change of lifestyle and most people don't want to change their lifestyle. I love lager and pizza!
I have started to eat a bit better, get back to playing 5s/7s and been to the gym a few times lately but ultimately being told I'm a fat **** by mates, doctors etc won't make a slight bit of difference. It will make me more aware but I need to want to make the changes.
Although, the biggest impact out of the piss takes for turning into a bit of a fat **** came from my cousins little kid who said 'you're a fatty'. :faf: When 3 year olds are insulting you then it's bad!
You sound like Oprah. Edit: Or maybe Dr. Phil.
18-02-2010, 09:48 AM
I know im not fit, i know im probably classed as overweight but i honestly cannot be bothered with the gym or going out a run in the pissing rain.
I am 6ft0 and 13 stone 1lb exactly the only exercise i get is walking the dog for an hour a day and 2 hours per Saturday and Sunday.
The Gym bores me senseless, running is great in the summer months i just dont bother in the winter. Id like to play a team sport again like football but dont have many friends that are interested in it or even playing 5 a side. I done thai boxing last year but although it was enjoyable i just dont think combat sports are for me.
My other problem is that i REALLY like food! Dont really drink more than once or twice a month but i do really enjoy eating!
18-02-2010, 09:53 AM
Like many things, you have to want to have do it and it takes determination, focus, a bit of moderation and a conscious decision to want to change your habits.
Doctor's shouldn't sugar the pill.
18-02-2010, 09:58 AM
You sound like Oprah. Edit: Or maybe Dr. Phil.
Didn't you know, my name is Oprah Woodfrey. :greengrin
Tinyclothes
18-02-2010, 10:03 AM
Like many things, you have to want to have do it and it takes determination, focus, a bit of moderation and a conscious decision to want to change your habits.
Doctor's shouldn't sugar the pill.
The secret is not letting it get to the stage where you have to diet, it's like anything. You leave it til it gets out of hand and you're digging your way out of knee deep quicksand, don't let it get to that stage and you reap all the rewards of being fit and healthy as well as not being fat.
The human body is made for exercise. 'Not liking' exercise is an excuse made by the lazy to justify why they prefer lying around eating sweeties and watching instantly forgettable TV.
Slick shoes, your skin is waterproof, just because it rains doesn't mean you're going to drown. If you want to exercise then do it, don't say you want to and then instantly provide a list of excuses as to why you can't. This is exactly how you end up being 40 stone in later life.
18-02-2010, 10:27 AM
I know im not fit, i know im probably classed as overweight but i honestly cannot be bothered with the gym or going out a run in the pissing rain.
I am 6ft0 and 13 stone 1lb exactly the only exercise i get is walking the dog for an hour a day and 2 hours per Saturday and Sunday.
The Gym bores me senseless, running is great in the summer months i just dont bother in the winter. Id like to play a team sport again like football but dont have many friends that are interested in it or even playing 5 a side. I done thai boxing last year but although it was enjoyable i just dont think combat sports are for me.
My other problem is that i REALLY like food! Dont really drink more than once or twice a month but i do really enjoy eating!
If thats over weight then i really am a fat ******* :greengrin
Think the problem with going to the gym is it's too easy to stop, you don't start doing any good until you really start pushing yourself, thats why you can't whack a game of 5's, whenever i realise i'm getting a lot fatter than i should be thats the first thing i try and organise, although i am quite lucky in that i tend to lose weight quite easily when i can be ersed, some folk have to really work hard to lose just a bit.
If you've not got mates that are into sports why don't you take up something like squash, join a club, loads of people that you can play against and a terrific way of exercising. Downside is the majority of the people you'll meet are knob ends :wink: :greengrin
18-02-2010, 12:11 PM
Being told "Listen mate, you're a fat *****er who's endangering your own health. Just put down the fork once in a while" might snap me out of my - hypothetical - fatty ways.
Tough love and all that :greengrin
18-02-2010, 12:20 PM
Being told "Listen mate, you're a fat *****er who's endangering your own health. Just put down the fork once in a while" might snap me out of my - hypothetical - fatty ways.
Tough love and all that :greengrin
Listen mate, you're a skinny ******* who's endangering your own health. Just pick up the fork once in a while. :greengrin
Being told you're clinically obese, which could cause major health problems if nothing is done about it. The fact that the health card is mentioned should be enough of a motivation spur to kick start you in to life again.
18-02-2010, 01:11 PM
Being told you're clinically obese, which could cause major health problems if nothing is done about it. The fact that the health card is mentioned should be enough of a motivation spur to kick start you in to life again.
For most folk it wont though imo. Just like everyone tells me I could kill myself riding a motorbike, all I think is :blah: :blah: :blah: and next time I go out I twist that right hand a bit harder :greengrin If I lost a couple of stone though it might be the equivalent of 5 or 10 bhp power gain so that maybe might be an incentive but I've already got over 160 and that's more than enough.
The only way to stop me killing myself would be to take away my licence, but there again I'd have to be caught first, the threat of it isn't really a big enough deterrent when you're doing it. Even if there was an equivalent deterrent for eating and drinking people don't think about the impact on their health until it is really too late. Just another cake, take-away, pint etc wont hurt, I'll start eating healthy next week etc etc
For most folk it wont though imo. Just like everyone tells me I could kill myself riding a motorbike, all I think is :blah: :blah: :blah: and next time I go out I twist that right hand a bit harder :greengrin If I lost a couple of stone though it might be the equivalent of 5 or 10 bhp power gain so that maybe might be an incentive but I've already got over 160 and that's more than enough.
The only way to stop me killing myself would be to take away my licence, but there again I'd have to be caught first, the threat of it isn't really a big enough deterrent when you're doing it. Even if there was an equivalent deterrent for eating and drinking people don't think about the impact on their health until it is really too late. Just another cake, take-away, pint etc wont hurt, I'll start eating healthy next week etc etc
The doc can say it any way he/she likes but he/she needs to follow it up with " And I can help you by......."
Telling a fat person they are fat isn't going to be a huge surprise to them.
18-02-2010, 01:42 PM
The secret is not letting it get to the stage where you have to diet, it's like anything. You leave it til it gets out of hand and you're digging your way out of knee deep quicksand, don't let it get to that stage and you reap all the rewards of being fit and healthy as well as not being fat.
The human body is made for exercise. 'Not liking' exercise is an excuse made by the lazy to justify why they prefer lying around eating sweeties and watching instantly forgettable TV.
Slick shoes, your skin is waterproof, just because it rains doesn't mean you're going to drown. If you want to exercise then do it, don't say you want to and then instantly provide a list of excuses as to why you can't. This is exactly how you end up being 40 stone in later life.
I know its waterproof i just dont enjoy running about in the cold and rain so i dont do it. Been the Gym in the winter and its dull as dishwater, i really do enjoying running in the summer months but when i get home from work and its dark wet and windy im no going a run. Im not using the weather as an excuse because i know i could go out i just dont want to. I would much rather play a team sport again anyway and thats what i need to try and find!
18-02-2010, 01:57 PM
The doc can say it any way he/she likes but he/she needs to follow it up with " And I can help you by......."
:agree: I was at the docs recently and explained that I was trying to get fitter and eat a bit better when they asked about my general health. All I got was a 'that's good' without any offer of assistance or guidance on the best way to do that. I was a little disappointed to be honest but I had already looked into what I should be eating (thanks Danderhall!) so didn't ask.
My girlfriend also went to the docs recently and she was a little underweight and was told to put weight on as something like the flu could put her in serious danger.
She was offered no assistance on how to do that healthily. She has managed to put weight on and is now more curvy. Something to grab onto. :tee hee:
Oh I dunno, being told that I may have diabetes, risk of a major heart attack, stroke, possible limb amputaion, they're all good reasons tp get healthy again. Yes there may be some psychological reasons why someone overeats and this should also be looked at but obviously support is the most important thing any doctor can give.
Remember you need to eat and have a healthy lifestyle to prolong you life, riding a motorbike isn't important in the grand scheme of things, you don't need a bike to live.
18-02-2010, 02:08 PM
Who doesn't know what to do to combat being obese?
Kids are educated on it, food packets now by law have a nutrional breakdown on the front that is easy to understand, and we all know that exercise helps.
It's pretty basic stuff. Eat less, eat healthier and exercise more.
18-02-2010, 02:47 PM
Kids are educated on it, food packets now by law have a nutrional breakdown on the front that is easy to understand, and we all know that exercise helps.
That's easier said than done, without knowing what foods to put into your body that are healthy but provide you with the energies to exercise and rebuild your muscles is not as easy as it sounds.
When I was playing football I would train all the time but eat crap. Sometimes I would be completely drained and struggled with fitness despite running / training a few times every week. If I had the knowledge I do now I could have performed a lot better.
Even the government website is pretty pish in my experience for obtaining nutritional values etc for eating healthy.
I would have expected the site to detail nutritional plans to assist people to move to a healthy lifestyle. It's basic and just tells you 'eat healthy cos it's good for you'.
It's also not easy trying to track down the calories / carbs / protein in stuff like a banana or an apple for example (although I managed to find a good site after checking about 20!) to build your own nutritional plan.
Tinyclothes
18-02-2010, 04:04 PM
I know its waterproof i just dont enjoy running about in the cold and rain so i dont do it. Been the Gym in the winter and its dull as dishwater, i really do enjoying running in the summer months but when i get home from work and its dark wet and windy im no going a run. Im not using the weather as an excuse because i know i could go out i just dont want to. I would much rather play a team sport again anyway and thats what i need to try and find!
I suppose it boils down to what you'd rather be. Wet or fat.
A junkie just needs to stop using to become clean, and alcoholic just needs to stop drinking, a smoker just needs to put the fag oot - its that easy. Very basic stuff - til your there.
18-02-2010, 04:20 PM
18-02-2010, 09:22 PM
True and when it gets to the stage that im actually fat i would probably get shocked enough into going out for a run in the rain but while im healthy enough im not going out a run in **** weather just for the sake of it.
18-02-2010, 09:54 PM
Oh I dunno, being told that I may have diabetes, risk of a major heart attack, stroke, possible limb amputaion, they're all good reasons tp get healthy again. Yes there may be some psychological reasons why someone overeats and this should also be looked at but obviously support is the most important thing any doctor can give.
Remember you need to eat and have a healthy lifestyle to prolong you life, riding a motorbike isn't important in the grand scheme of things, you don't need a bike to live.
Correct you don't, but it doesn't half make life a lot more exciting. I'd easily give up loads of things before my bike. If summer football ever came in I'd have a real dilemma on my hands.
If I was told I had to change my dietary habits or I would suffer like you suggest above, then I would if it came from a doctor but think of the levels of heart disease in Scotland caused by poor diet and lack of excercise when surely in this day and age we all know or are some folk just ignorant in these things.
Rory89
18-02-2010, 11:21 PM
I've lost 2 stone with the easiest diet going.
I knew that eating small amounts of food wouldn't be a problem, but that I would struggle badly to stop eating the ****** that I love scranning. So, I just eat one meal a day and one meal only of fast food, Big Mac's, KFC, chippies, whatever. To be fair I go to the gym a couple of times a week but I also consume copious amounts of alcohol 3 or 4 nights a week too.
I'll probably be dead by 50 but hey at least I weigh two stone less. :greengrin
19-02-2010, 07:06 AM
Obviously personal anecdotes are never going to be representative, but I know two women who were told they were morbidly obese by their doctors, and in both cases I think that this has possibly made things worse. As Hiberni-mum says, people who are fat know that already - and probably feel pretty bad about themselves and their ability to make a difference. Both of these women badly needed their weight addressing, but a more constructive approach may have succeeded. Telling them they were morbidly obese without further consultation simply increased their sense of self-loathing and anxiety, which left them feeling less capable of making the kind of changes neccesary.
19-02-2010, 08:21 AM
If folk really want to lose weight, they will find the motivation to do it.
This is probably controversial but I don't see why our taxes should go to push someone to stop smoking, lose weight or whatever (unless there's a genuine medical reason why they can't do it themselves).
I know someone who needs an life-enhancing operation but the surgeon won't do it (rightly) unless she loses a good few stone. She's been 'trying' for about a decade but 'can't resist' the chips, deep-fried everything, chippies, chinese takeaways, cakes and so on. I'm not sure why the NHS should be spending much needed cash on filling in for her lack of will-power or personal responsibility.
This is probably controversial but I don't see why our taxes should go to push someone to stop smoking, lose weight or whatever (unless there's a genuine medical reason why they can't do it themselves).
I know someone who needs an life-enhancing operation but the surgeon won't do it (rightly) unless she loses a good few stone. She's been 'trying' for about a decade but 'can't resist' the chips, deep-fried everything, chippies, chinese takeaways, cakes and so on. I'm not sure why the NHS should be spending much needed cash on filling in for her lack of will-power or personal responsibility.
Not all overweight people survive on deep fried food,cakes and chinese takeaways.
19-02-2010, 10:05 AM
Not all overweight people survive on deep fried food,cakes and chinese takeaways.
I bet the vast majority of them are though.
I'm overweight because I eat too much crappy foods. I also have a pretty ****ty metabolism, I put weight on really easily and without exercising at least 4/5 times a week it struggles to come off. I suspect there are lots of others like me which leads to them becoming fat pretty quickly.
Tinyclothes
19-02-2010, 10:08 AM
I've lost 2 stone with the easiest diet going.
I knew that eating small amounts of food wouldn't be a problem, but that I would struggle badly to stop eating the ****** that I love scranning. So, I just eat one meal a day and one meal only of fast food, Big Mac's, KFC, chippies, whatever. To be fair I go to the gym a couple of times a week but I also consume copious amounts of alcohol 3 or 4 nights a week too.
I'll probably be dead by 50 but hey at least I weigh two stone less. :greengrin
Sweet mother of God. Your body must already have suffered irreperable damage if I'm reading this right, you have one meal a day and that meal consists of fast food!?? I don't know you, but I'm actually worried for you if I'm understanding you correctly.
Tinyclothes
19-02-2010, 10:26 AM
A junkie just needs to stop using to become clean, and alcoholic just needs to stop drinking, a smoker just needs to put the fag oot - its that easy. Very basic stuff - til your there.
Thing is though, you can't just exercise heroine addiction away, you can't just exercise alcoholism away, but you can exercise excess body fat away. It isn't an accurate comparison.
19-02-2010, 10:28 AM
I bet the vast majority of them are though.
I'm overweight because I eat too much crappy foods. I also have a pretty ****ty metabolism, I put weight on really easily and without exercising at least 4/5 times a week it struggles to come off. I suspect there are lots of others like me which leads to them becoming fat pretty quickly.
I'm 6'3", and for my build my ideal weight is about 15 stone. For the last year and a half, whilst waiting for our new house to be built, we've been living in a smallish flat, the result being that when I get home from work I don't move very much. At work I'm planted in front of a pc 90% of the time and due to town planning policies here, practically every time you do anything you need to take the car. I eat better than I'd like (my wife is a balanced diet fanatic) and drink far less than I want to. At weekends I'm fairly active - either doing stuff with the family or playing music. In the past year and a half, my weight crept up to 17+ stone, though because of my height and build I wasn't an in-your-face fat bassa.
A month ago I got the keys to the house and have been working all hours decorating, doing the flooring, fitting the kitchen, etc. and even though my diet is worse (fast food, eating at the wrong times, etc.), my weight has dropped by over a stone.
The point I'm trying to make here is that due to changing lifestyles, people can easily become overweight without doing very much "wrong" while other people, mainly younger, can do what they want without putting on an ounce.
I know someone who needs an life-enhancing operation but the surgeon won't do it (rightly) unless she loses a good few stone. She's been 'trying' for about a decade but 'can't resist' the chips, deep-fried everything, chippies, chinese takeaways, cakes and so on. I'm not sure why the NHS should be spending much needed cash on filling in for her lack of will-power or personal responsibility.Thats the key for me Beefster, motivation ...i was one of the "och i will do it the morn kind"...then "och i cannae be ersed, i will def do it the morn, whats another day"....until i left it too late..i have many reasons for my weight gain but then again i have probably more excuses than reasons ..
However i got myself motivated, not just for the reasons explained by JC above but i also wanted to conquer this mind over matter problem, up to now i have...2 weeks ago at "weigh in" i lost 4 pounds ...last week at "weigh in" i lost 8 pounds & i expect another good loss when i weigh myself tomorrow...
My motivation added to the fact i have cut out or abstained from alcohol, particularly lager for 4 weeks (five weeks the morn)..im eating healthy meals ..cutting out the usual kebabs/chinese/Mcdonalds but most importantly i am doing a lot more excercise..mainly walking ..
Even at this stage i feel 100 times better, i still have a bit to go but im determined this time, i feel much more positive ..
Next for the chop...cutting oot the smokes !!!! :smokin
Rory89
19-02-2010, 12:15 PM
Sweet mother of God. Your body must already have suffered irreperable damage if I'm reading this right, you have one meal a day and that meal consists of fast food!?? I don't know you, but I'm actually worried for you if I'm understanding you correctly.
I know it's the most shockingly unhealthy diet ever, but I'm losing weight so not going to stop just yet.
I've actually always ate quite good, healthy, balanced meals for 19 of the 20 years I lived at home, and I'll go back to doing that in a few weeks. Don't think a couple of months of what I admit is a horrendous diet will have as bad an effect in the long run as a lifetime of being fat if I didn't do it.
Edit to add: The day before I left for uni in September I was packing away some clothes and found this bang tidy shirt, but I didn't bring it because I couldn't even close the last button, now it's actually too big. Likewise all the jeans I packed used to be able to be worn without a belt easily, now I've had to go and buy new ones because even with a belt they fall down. Go me. I'll never be proper skinny because I'm 6 foot 2 and have wide as ***** shoulders, but I'm doing not too badly for someone with the most unhealthy diet in the world.
19-02-2010, 12:41 PM
I know it's the most shockingly unhealthy diet ever, but I'm losing weight so not going to stop just yet.
I've actually always ate quite good, healthy, balanced meals for 19 of the 20 years I lived at home, and I'll go back to doing that in a few weeks. Don't think a couple of months of what I admit is a horrendous diet will have as bad an effect in the long run as a lifetime of being fat if I didn't do it.
Edit to add: The day before I left for uni in September I was packing away some clothes and found this bang tidy shirt, but I didn't bring it because I couldn't even close the last button, now it's actually too big. Likewise all the jeans I packed used to be able to be worn without a belt easily, now I've had to go and buy new ones because even with a belt they fall down. Go me. I'll never be proper skinny because I'm 6 foot 2 and have wide as ***** shoulders, but I'm doing not too badly for someone with the most unhealthy diet in the world.
1 meal a day is insane! Dont you feel completely drained at night or in the morning?
Do you snack? or is it just one fast food meal per day and thats it?
Tinyclothes
19-02-2010, 01:14 PM
I don't want to p*ss in your chips mate but I reckon that weightloss when you're ingesting a diet like that is more likely to be caused by a lack of important nutrients than by any increase in health.
Rory89
19-02-2010, 01:22 PM
1 meal a day is insane! Dont you feel completely drained at night or in the morning?
Do you snack? or is it just one fast food meal per day and thats it?
Occasionally I will but often not.
Don't know why I'm going into this on a public forum but as a result of originally doing not enough exercise and eating too much I have quite a dodgy stomach and get bloated and unwell when I scran too much, hence the lack of appetite. I'm alright when I do occasional exercise and eat very little, and although I do get hungry like everyone else I'm not going to faint on one meal a day.
It's not actually serious and obviously I am going to go back to eating proper food, but I'm doing alright at this so I'll give it another 2 or 3 weeks.
---------- Post added at 02:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:20 PM ----------
I don't want to p*ss in your chips mate but I reckon that weightloss when you're ingesting a diet like that is more likely to be caused by a lack of important nutrients than by any increase in health.
That is what it is probably, by no means is this a sustainable way of living. Like I say it's a short-term thing I'm doing here.
19-02-2010, 02:15 PM
I agree but the girl I was talking about does. The principle applies though - the vast majority of overweight folk eat far more than they need to though.
Thats the key for me Beefster, motivation ...i was one of the "och i will do it the morn kind"...then "och i cannae be ersed, i will def do it the morn, whats another day"....until i left it too late..i have many reasons for my weight gain but then again i have probably more excuses than reasons ..
However i got myself motivated, not just for the reasons explained by JC above but i also wanted to conquer this mind over matter problem, up to now i have...2 weeks ago at "weigh in" i lost 4 pounds ...last week at "weigh in" i lost 8 pounds & i expect another good loss when i weigh myself tomorrow...
My motivation added to the fact i have cut out or abstained from alcohol, particularly lager for 4 weeks (five weeks the morn)..im eating healthy meals ..cutting out the usual kebabs/chinese/Mcdonalds but most importantly i am doing a lot more excercise..mainly walking ..
Even at this stage i feel 100 times better, i still have a bit to go but im determined this time, i feel much more positive ..
Next for the chop...cutting oot the smokes !!!! :smokin
I've been there myself, HH. When I started working as a young laddie, I put on a couple of extra stone due to the dip in activity. A couple of years later, it took a concerned effort with my eating and exercise to get rid of it all. I had never felt better than when I was exercising 4/5 times a week either.
:agree: Totally agree.
People who let themselves get to morbidly obese need a slap. Surely they must notice that what they are doing is going to kill them.
And for whoever said they have a crap motabolism - Go here (http://www.weightlossresources.co.uk/calories/burning_calories/boost_metabolism.htm).
Although at the moment I drive a taxi, I'm also a qualified personal trainer and the biggest thing I've found with most overweight people is they have very little knowledge about the food the stick down their necks.
Even when most foods are now labelled telling them exactly what's in it, they don't realise the difference between saturated fats and good/healthy fats.
When dieting, most people eat too little and this tells the brain that food is scarce, our brain goes into auto pilot and thinks to itself " I must keep hold of this fat to survive as there's hardly any food coming in ".
When I diet for a bodybuilding show I eat 5-6 small meals a day, 15% fats, 50% protein and 35% carbohydrates. This way of eating is called geazing, as the body is getting regular small amounts of food the fats will be used as an energy source. Exercise must be at least 4-5 times a week to make any difference, using weights and also cardio, also making sure you drink at least 2-2.5 ltrs of water a day.
Motivation is the key to dieting and training, finding out what people like, why they want to lose weight and also the health options that goes with it. It's not rocket science, you have to burn more than goes in but most people don't have the will to see it through.
:agree: Totally agree.
People who let themselves get to morbidly obese need a slap. Surely they must notice that what they are doing is going to kill them.
And for whoever said they have a crap motabolism - Go here (http://www.weightlossresources.co.uk/calories/burning_calories/boost_metabolism.htm).
You've heard of middle age spread, well that's because your motabolism does slow down with age but regular small meals and exercise will help.
Occasionally the Thyroid will play a part in this and tablets can help stimulate the Pituitary gland and help balance out your metabolism.
19-02-2010, 03:03 PM
It's a shame :slipper: can't post on here any more. Would love to hear his views on this subject.
Marabou Stork
19-02-2010, 03:08 PM
Indeed.
I'd wager that more damage is being done with this 'diet' (despite the weightloss) than was being done by what you were eating before attending university.
NB - This assumes that you weren't fed like Nade at home.
Rory89
19-02-2010, 03:39 PM
Indeed.
I'd wager that more damage is being done with this 'diet' (despite the weightloss) than was being done by what you were eating before attending university.
NB - This assumes that you weren't fed like Nade at home.
I've said myself that I don't think it's a healthy way to live, but this is how it is in the long term:
1) Ate too much and didn't do enough exercise, which in turn with having a genuinely stressful job resulted in me sometimes getting upset stomach's.
2) Have lost a lot of weight and now feel much better, but know I'm still eating too much ******.
3) I'm gradually going to phase out the crap and stick to eating less, and also eating more healthily. This is a lot easier to do as I'm carrying less weight and therefore not as hungry.
I wouldn't reccomend my diet to anybody but it's just a short team measure to set me up for a healthier life in the long term. Back from the gym and feel good, so all is alright. P.S as is very, very clear from my posts I'm no health expert but really don't think a month of so of this will do as much long term damage as being a chubby checker.
19-02-2010, 10:08 PM
I weighed myself in a Doctors surgery and thought 95kgs was alright.
I checked the chart and i was right on the border line of being obese .
95 Kgs is very nearly 15 stone :grr:
I joined the gym , and even though i only manage twice a week , i have shed 1 and a half stone.
Paps are shrinking :agree:
I spewed during my first visit to the gym. The guy told me to go on the running machine and set it at a certain speed. He then buggered off and didnt notice that i was toiling after the first 60 seconds !!
I managed to 6 minutes and knew i was going to be sick and sneaked off to the bog then sneaked out the door and went home:greengrin
Joined another gym :greengrin
Stuck at this one. Dont do much , mostly running and a few weight machines.
I was determined that i was going to be able to run at a decent pace for 10 minutes. That was my very first target.
I then moved up to 12 , 15 , 18 , 21 , 25 , 30 , 35 and i can now run for 42 minutes and i dont even start sweating untill 8-10 minutes:thumbsup:
I had been lounging about eating crap for years.
Doesnt help having the munchies quite a lot either :smokin
Moved onto diet coke etc too as i would drink a litre of cola a day , easy !
19-02-2010, 11:08 PM
I'm going to throw my own experience in here.
Change of lifestyle is a very difficult thing. A lot of people will say things like "They just can't be bothered", "lazy", "no self control", and without doubt there are elements of truth within those statements. However, my own experience, especially as I got older, was not that I lacked the desire to go out and change things, but that I lacked the confidence to make myself visible.
After I got to the age of ten, I didn't have that many mates, and even fewer that could be described as "sporty". It was at that age that I think my weight began to increase noticably. A lot of the guys i used to kick a ball about with had moved away, had become a bit wild, or simply didn't go out that often. Furthermore, I had managed to alienate a large proportion of my first year at high school because, basically, I was sarky, cheeky, and tounge in cheek as they come. Some got it, some didn't and the latter group took an instant dislike to me. Sadly, most of this group comprised the football team, and other sports. It's hard to change your image when you're tagged so early on in your school career, and I often found I just made things worse, until i lost just about all confidence in my social skills and myself in general.
About two and a half years ago I left school at the end of 6th year, about 6ft tall, and 18st. I loved playing football when I got the oppertunity, but didn't feel like I was the sort of person that some people would want to be seen with, especially engaging in such an activity, as I thought I looked foolish, and entirely out of place. I didn't drink though, and running up and down Porty High School stairs, and regularly walking the mile or so home and back probably done a bit of good, as will have then weekly PE classes - although I was too self concious about my size to do swimming, and am still not a fan, being honest.
After school I got a job in a shop not a minute away from my front door. Working about 4 hours a day, 5 days a week, as, quite frankly, I lost hope ( probably prematurely) in my ability to get the necassary qualifications to go to university, and I missed out on my apprenticeship, as I missed the SECTT test. I turned 18 in the September, the day before I started working at the shop, and started getting wellied into the booze about Christmas time - not to the point where it was a problem - but that and the amount of time i spent around sweets and ***** like tha contributed to me blimping up to 19st. This just made things worse - I felt like i stood out even more, and didn't even like to sweat because of the image i felt it portrayed; I.E. typical sweaty, smelly fatty. It's hard to describe exactly what I thought. I worked there for almost exactly a year, before managing to get my electrical apprenticeship.
It was hard work. I wasn't working at the rate the other guys were, and I could feel myself toiling to keep up with guys twice my age. Aye, they had the technical know-how, and had been doing it for years, but I should have been able to at least keep up with running around site. I did keep up, but I toiled. As a result, about 6 months ago, I noticed I was losing weight, and put it down to the fact that I was putting in an effort to keep up. I was back down to just slightly over 18st.
I was secretly quite pleased with this, although, still I didn't want to get over excited like one of those sad cases on daytime TV shows. I started to change what I was eating - little by little. Breakfast went from a couple of double decker rolls, to a couple of singles, to one single, to occassionally cerial and fruit. Lunch was the same, with soups and the odd mexican chicken sandwich when I was sent to Greggs for the messages, becoming the norm. I'm not saying it was rabbit food, but it was all a helluva lot better than what I had been eating.
Around the same time as I noticed I was losing weight, I attended part 2 of KGVI - the BB officer training course. One morning we were informed that we were going for a run, then taking part in some athletics type work. I managed to, more or less, run the mile to the athletics field, while encouraging another person like myself to do the same. I didn't run the whole way - I did what I could, slowed down and walked if I felt I had to, but I still felt as if I had achieved something, as did the guy who i was encouraging. I started to think about fitness, and how i could get involved in things like football teams, and the like. However, it was a couple of weeks later when I asked one of my mates to come with me to the local gym. Just a wee place, away from the flexing, posing types you find in a lot of places. I started going twice a week, as that was the only time my gym partner was able to go with me. However, the more I went, the more comfortable I felt there, and I began going even when I was on my own, running, doing weights, on a circuit I had designed myself - without any sort of expertese, but feeling as though i was benefitting. I go at least four times a week now, and I'm down to 16st 9, at 6ft1. I still enjoy a drink, but I feel i can justify it by the amount I do during the week, and I am continuing trying to raise my standards. By June/July, I would like to be down to about 15st, although I certainly feel so much more confident already.
Basically, the bottom line for me wasn't that it wasn't laziness, but almost a sort of twisted pride. Not pride in my size, like you see in some cases, where the afflicted see thier weight as an achievement. I just didn't want people to know that it bothered me, or expose myself to criticism. Maybe I've not done the best job of explaining, but I hope it gives some sort of insight.
20-02-2010, 07:01 AM
Change of lifestyle is a very difficult thing. A lot of people will say things like "They just can't be bothered", "lazy", "no self control", and without doubt there are elements of truth within those statements. However, my own experience, especially as I got older, was not that I lacked the desire to go out and change things, but that I lacked the confidence to make myself visible.
After I got to the age of ten, I didn't have that many mates, and even fewer that could be described as "sporty". It was at that age that I think my weight began to increase noticably. A lot of the guys i used to kick a ball about with had moved away, had become a bit wild, or simply didn't go out that often. Furthermore, I had managed to alienate a large proportion of my first year at high school because, basically, I was sarky, cheeky, and tounge in cheek as they come. Some got it, some didn't and the latter group took an instant dislike to me. Sadly, most of this group comprised the football team, and other sports. It's hard to change your image when you're tagged so early on in your school career, and I often found I just made things worse, until i lost just about all confidence in my social skills and myself in general.
About two and a half years ago I left school at the end of 6th year, about 6ft tall, and 18st. I loved playing football when I got the oppertunity, but didn't feel like I was the sort of person that some people would want to be seen with, especially engaging in such an activity, as I thought I looked foolish, and entirely out of place. I didn't drink though, and running up and down Porty High School stairs, and regularly walking the mile or so home and back probably done a bit of good, as will have then weekly PE classes - although I was too self concious about my size to do swimming, and am still not a fan, being honest.
After school I got a job in a shop not a minute away from my front door. Working about 4 hours a day, 5 days a week, as, quite frankly, I lost hope ( probably prematurely) in my ability to get the necassary qualifications to go to university, and I missed out on my apprenticeship, as I missed the SECTT test. I turned 18 in the September, the day before I started working at the shop, and started getting wellied into the booze about Christmas time - not to the point where it was a problem - but that and the amount of time i spent around sweets and ***** like tha contributed to me blimping up to 19st. This just made things worse - I felt like i stood out even more, and didn't even like to sweat because of the image i felt it portrayed; I.E. typical sweaty, smelly fatty. It's hard to describe exactly what I thought. I worked there for almost exactly a year, before managing to get my electrical apprenticeship.
It was hard work. I wasn't working at the rate the other guys were, and I could feel myself toiling to keep up with guys twice my age. Aye, they had the technical know-how, and had been doing it for years, but I should have been able to at least keep up with running around site. I did keep up, but I toiled. As a result, about 6 months ago, I noticed I was losing weight, and put it down to the fact that I was putting in an effort to keep up. I was back down to just slightly over 18st.
I was secretly quite pleased with this, although, still I didn't want to get over excited like one of those sad cases on daytime TV shows. I started to change what I was eating - little by little. Breakfast went from a couple of double decker rolls, to a couple of singles, to one single, to occassionally cerial and fruit. Lunch was the same, with soups and the odd mexican chicken sandwich when I was sent to Greggs for the messages, becoming the norm. I'm not saying it was rabbit food, but it was all a helluva lot better than what I had been eating.
Around the same time as I noticed I was losing weight, I attended part 2 of KGVI - the BB officer training course. One morning we were informed that we were going for a run, then taking part in some athletics type work. I managed to, more or less, run the mile to the athletics field, while encouraging another person like myself to do the same. I didn't run the whole way - I did what I could, slowed down and walked if I felt I had to, but I still felt as if I had achieved something, as did the guy who i was encouraging. I started to think about fitness, and how i could get involved in things like football teams, and the like. However, it was a couple of weeks later when I asked one of my mates to come with me to the local gym. Just a wee place, away from the flexing, posing types you find in a lot of places. I started going twice a week, as that was the only time my gym partner was able to go with me. However, the more I went, the more comfortable I felt there, and I began going even when I was on my own, running, doing weights, on a circuit I had designed myself - without any sort of expertese, but feeling as though i was benefitting. I go at least four times a week now, and I'm down to 16st 9, at 6ft1. I still enjoy a drink, but I feel i can justify it by the amount I do during the week, and I am continuing trying to raise my standards. By June/July, I would like to be down to about 15st, although I certainly feel so much more confident already.
Basically, the bottom line for me wasn't that it wasn't laziness, but almost a sort of twisted pride. Not pride in my size, like you see in some cases, where the afflicted see thier weight as an achievement. I just didn't want people to know that it bothered me, or expose myself to criticism. Maybe I've not done the best job of explaining, but I hope it gives some sort of insight.
(I'm very keen not to sound patronising here, but....) that's a really encouraging story. Very well done, you.
If thats over weight then i really am a fat ******* :greengrin
Think the problem with going to the gym is it's too easy to stop, you don't start doing any good until you really start pushing yourself, thats why you can't whack a game of 5's, whenever i realise i'm getting a lot fatter than i should be thats the first thing i try and organise, although i am quite lucky in that i tend to lose weight quite easily when i can be ersed, some folk have to really work hard to lose just a bit.
If you've not got mates that are into sports why don't you take up something like squash, join a club, loads of people that you can play against and a terrific way of exercising. Downside is the majority of the people you'll meet are knob ends :wink: :greengrin
I play a bit of squash and its very very good for your fitness, shame the guy I play has played for 30 years and tonks me every time :boo hoo:
Still come off the court knowing you have done a right work out........anyone for a game next time im up :greengrin
20-02-2010, 11:45 PM
Some great stories here. However, I admit to feeling particularly horrified and dismayed when I see morbidly obsese people at Easter Road - the sort of lifestyle choices that encourage those sort of figures are best left to the deizens of the PBS.
I could never be overweight, as clothes simply don't hang so well on fat people. And without a sense of style in our dress, we are ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.
Hibby D
23-02-2010, 02:30 PM
Hugely inspiring story :agree: Well done and keep us informed of your progress.
Tinyclothes
23-02-2010, 03:25 PM
I joined the gym , and even though i only manage twice a week , i have shed 1 and a half stone.
I spewed during my first visit to the gym. The guy told me to go on the running machine and set it at a certain speed. He then buggered off and didnt notice that i was toiling after the first 60 seconds !!
I managed to 6 minutes and knew i was going to be sick and sneaked off to the bog then sneaked out the door and went home:greengrin
I was determined that i was going to be able to run at a decent pace for 10 minutes. That was my very first target.
I then moved up to 12 , 15 , 18 , 21 , 25 , 30 , 35 and i can now run for 42 minutes and i dont even start sweating untill 8-10 minutes:thumbsup:
Quite impressive stats for an 89 year old.
23-02-2010, 09:55 PM
Do you know how much ***** there is in diet coke? :bitchy:
Less **** that's in a full sugar coke that's for sure, must admit I very rarely drink fizzy juice, water or even water with a touch of sugar free diluting juice added is better.
I dont drink tea or coffee so tended to drink diet coke just out of habit but over the last year or so have started drinking apple and blackcurrant diluting juice. Cant say I feel any different for it though.
24-02-2010, 09:59 AM
I don't understand why anyone would need told.
I'm like JC, I get paranoid if I can't see my six pack.
I'm not vain in any way but at 35 I still think I'm 20 so still think I should look that way as far as possible!
24-02-2010, 12:14 PM
I'm not vain in any way but at 35 I still think I'm 20 so still think I should look that way as far as possible!
I keep mine in the fridge. I can't see it at all times but I'm always sure that it's safe.
24-02-2010, 01:17 PM
Point I was trying to make was that there are sweetners etc in diet fizzy juice which I think is quite bad for you as well. And don't get me started on water! :grr::greengrin
Unfortunately the six pack is well hidden at the moment, having problems with the hip last year didn't help, training hard at the moment and trying like mad to keep the diet as clean as possible. I've got 16 years on you and I'll tell you one thing, it does get harder to lose the weight when you get older. :greengrin
Hibby D
24-02-2010, 02:28 PM
It's harder for fat people to slim than it is for slim people to stay slim. I'm trying hard not to generalise here but speaking as someone who has almost always been fatter than Cheryl Cole (even at birth :greengrin) I believe that to be the case. In my experience there's often an underlying issue to go with obesity that can make maintaining a (significant) weight loss very very difficult. For the first 30+ years of my life my weight went up and down more times than a fiddler's elbow, but in recent years it's only gone up.
I know all the reasons why I am overweight (loving my scoff being the symptom not the cause) but I'm still miles away from rectifying it.
I guess what I'm trying to say is that most people with serious weight issues know , without being told, that they're doing themselves no favours in the long term; at least they should know, given the amount of negative publicity that goes along with being overweight. The solution unfortunately is far more complicated than the cause.
I keep mine in the fridge. I can't see it at all times but I'm always sure that it's safe.
It's harder for fat people to slim than it is for slim people to stay slim. I'm trying hard not to generalise here but speaking as someone who has almost always been fatter than Cheryl Cole (even at birth :greengrin) I believe that to be the case. In my experience there's often an underlying issue to go with obesity that can make maintaining a (significant) weight loss very very difficult. For the first 30+ years of my life my weight went up and down more times than a fiddler's elbow, but in recent years it's only gone up.
I know all the reasons why I am overweight (loving my scoff being the symptom not the cause) but I'm still miles away from rectifying it.
I guess what I'm trying to say is that most people with serious weight issues know , without being told, that they're doing themselves no favours in the long term; at least they should know, given the amount of negative publicity that goes along with being overweight. The solution unfortunately is far more complicated than the cause.
Like a lot of people with weight issues, you know you have a problem but find it hard to motivate yourself to do anything about it. The obvious one is to adjust your food intake, then it's all about getting your activity levels up to an area where the body is going to start burning more than is going in.
24-02-2010, 06:01 PM
Yes i do :bitchy:
One step at a time though !
24-02-2010, 06:38 PM
I struggle with my weight and I don't eat that badly. The issue I have is working 4 long days, then having 3 days with 3 kids while my wife works. Finding time for exercise is a nightmare, unless I'm going to do something at 10pm of a night.
I think the fact that I don't eat at 'normal' times doesn't help. I get home from work at about 20:30 and I'll eat my tea about 21:00.
I'd love to get back to the weight I was when I was 24, tbh.