View Full Version : Your most respected spl player

blueisthecolour
16-02-2010, 08:40 PM
Following on from the most hated player thread, who is the most respected player of another spl club and why?

16-02-2010, 08:42 PM
Following on from the most hated player thread, who is the most respected player of another spl club and why?

Nade.

16-02-2010, 08:42 PM
Kris Boyd

's marker....:wink:

16-02-2010, 08:43 PM
Nade ..

16-02-2010, 08:43 PM
Scott Brown.:agree:

16-02-2010, 08:44 PM
Kevin Thomson..

:fibber:

Neil Lennon :agree:

Artur Boruc, he likes to chuck in goals for the Hibees :greengrin :devil:

16-02-2010, 08:45 PM
Mirsad Beslija

16-02-2010, 08:45 PM

Artur Boruc,for crossing himself in front of you peasants...GIRUY YA SMELLY WEEGIE TRAMP.:devil:

16-02-2010, 08:46 PM
Larry Kingston

16-02-2010, 08:47 PM
God...sorry, I mean Robbie Keane.

16-02-2010, 08:50 PM

Ok I'll bite.

Suppose your boy Davis must be up there, just gets on with it and was very good in the 2nd half on Sunday. And you have to give Weir some credit....and I still like Whitty despite Sunday.

Of course that is outweighed by the odious bawbag element of Novo, Lafferty, Thomson, McCulloch, McGregor & Boyd :greengrin

Who's yours like? McGeady?

16-02-2010, 08:55 PM
Robbie Keane.

Such a fantastic gift for all of us just to be graced by his presence in the SPL. Lovely to see him take time out of his career to play for a people and a cause.

16-02-2010, 08:56 PM
its a toss up between nade, kingston, beslija and pinilla for me

16-02-2010, 08:58 PM
DaMarcus Beasley - USA International and has been on sensational form this season before his injury.

Craig Conway - a fantastic player who makes United tick - hopefully a cap is imminent.

Mahjid Bougherra - an absolutely brilliant player who should be playing at a higher level.

Lee Wallace - a good LB who will be a cracking player for Scotland when given the chance.

Michael Paton - a new one to the list, but he's having a brilliant season with the Dons.

Michael Stewart - don't like all the guff which goes along with him, but when he plays well, his fight and determination are unrivalled, as he's shown in the last 2 derbies.

David Fernandez - not so much any more, but I recall watching this guy playing at Livingston as they ascended through the leagues, and his skill was a joy to behold on ocassion. He was the player who won Livingston the CIS Cup.

Scott Brown - he's not been the same player since leaving us, but has been hampered by injury somewhat. Superb engine, unquestionable determination and excellent in both a defensive AND attacking capacity.

There's another 1, but there's little point in mentioning him, because he looks like a hun :rolleyes:

16-02-2010, 09:00 PM
Don't mind No Way "Jose" Goncalves.

16-02-2010, 09:02 PM
I forgot Kingston.

Taken over 10 grand a week from the Jambo's while faking injury and having great trips with the Ghana national team.

Look up legend in the dictionary and there is a picture of Larry.

1-0 Raith:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

hibsfan7
16-02-2010, 09:04 PM
well it has to nade

£10,000 a week and playing crap for that lot

the man must be a hibs legend

:notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notworthy:

blueisthecolour
16-02-2010, 09:04 PM
Artur Boruc,for crossing himself in front of you peasants...GIRUY YA SMELLY WEEGIE TRAMP.:devil:

Doesn't bother me when he does it, when he doe's it at the copland end he doe's it differently from anywhere else, he walks up to the goal stops looks at the fans as if to say look at me im going to bless myself, then makes a blunder in the game and goes in a huff when we give him stick.

16-02-2010, 09:05 PM
Michael Stewart.

Hasn't had a bad word to say about us after he left, despite all and sundry knowing he's a Jambo. Have no idea why he's universally despised on here.

Should he GIRUY us if he scores in the derby, I'll change my mind. As of now, innocent until proven guilty.

Also don't mind Scott Brown and Steven Whittaker.

16-02-2010, 09:08 PM
he's a Jambo. Have no idea why he's universally despised on here

The first part answers the second part :greengrin

16-02-2010, 09:11 PM
All the good honest players who do their job week in week out without being dirty cheating *****.

16-02-2010, 09:15 PM
Michael Stewart.

Hasn't had a bad word to say about us after he left, despite all and sundry knowing he's a Jambo. Have no idea why he's universally despised on here.

Should he GIRUY us if he scores in the derby, I'll change my mind. As of now, innocent until proven guilty.

Also don't mind Scott Brown and Steven Whittaker.

Hibs don't deserve to be where they are etc.

stevenhibs
16-02-2010, 09:17 PM
Chris Innes - Been captain of 2 clubs that have gone bust now. Really been through the mill and would have been easy to quit but carried on.

16-02-2010, 09:17 PM

Misquoted, if I remember correctly. Went into a big strop about being accused of having a go at us. :wink:

16-02-2010, 09:18 PM

I dont think he actually said that, he said that hearts hadnt had a lot of luck, and that was then twisted a bit by the journalist iirc...

Would be happy to be proved wrong tho

16-02-2010, 09:20 PM
Craig Conway - a fantastic player who makes United tick - hopefully a cap is imminent.

Do you mean another cap?

16-02-2010, 09:21 PM
Aye, right enough, I forgot he got a call-up and played last year.

Surely more caps are a given, seeing as Levein is now in charge!

16-02-2010, 09:27 PM
Paul Hartley.

Why?

:love ya!:

16-02-2010, 09:32 PM
There's another 1, but there's little point in mentioning him, because he looks like a hun :rolleyes:

So you do like him then? or is 'respect' a euphemism for something else?:greengrin

16-02-2010, 09:33 PM
Paul Hartley.

Why?

:love ya!:

You've no chance he likes men.

Borders Hibby
16-02-2010, 09:48 PM
Chris Innes - Been captain of 2 clubs that have gone bust now. Really been through the mill and would have been easy to quit but carried on.

Well said, played with him at Uni, top man!

16-02-2010, 09:52 PM
Well said, played with him at Uni, top man!

He comes into my work and is always pleasant and cheery. Helps he's kind on the old peepers too :blushie: His wife is also very nice :devil:

16-02-2010, 09:56 PM
Scott Robertson
Craig Bryson
Scott Brown

16-02-2010, 09:57 PM

Chris "Boydy" Boyd.

Coz hes barry, just like you.

16-02-2010, 09:58 PM
Whittaker for me.
Seems to be a model pro footballer, conducts himself in a most agreeable manner. :agree:

blueisthecolour
16-02-2010, 10:00 PM
Chris "Boydy" Boyd.

Coz hes barry, just like you.

I have no idea what you mean :confused:

southfieldshibby
16-02-2010, 10:05 PM
If you're talking about ever then Henrik Larrsson.

If just current and what they've done in the SPL the maybe............Steven Davis.
:hide:

16-02-2010, 10:05 PM
Henrik Larsson - one of the greatest players to grace the scottish game. Also a shout must go out to Gordon Hunter, for THAT goal :thumbsup:

Hibs On Tour
16-02-2010, 10:20 PM
Now?

Always thought Michael Stewart was a class act :duck:
Scott Brown is coming back onto the game he always had with us...
Whitty will do well and didnae slate us IIRC

Historically?

Butcher/Gough were immense for Rangers back in the day
Larsson much as I hated his last-minute penalties was class
So was Gasgoine, so was Laudrup

Know its from my own team and so kinda breaks the rules but a local lad who came up through the leagues, doing it the right way and always played the game the right way and ended up playing for his boyhood heroes? Keith Keith Keith! :agree:

16-02-2010, 10:28 PM
Scott Brown

Riordans Boots
16-02-2010, 10:37 PM
Liam Miller - and everyone want's him :greengrin

Sorry Deeks - I love you as well :agree:

16-02-2010, 10:49 PM
I have no idea what you mean :confused:

you're barry:thumbsup:

16-02-2010, 10:53 PM
I KNOW NOT IN SPL ANY MORE BUT ONCE WAS HAS TO BE ROSS TOKLEY ICT:agree:

Riordans Boots
16-02-2010, 10:56 PM
I KNOW NOT IN SPL ANY MORE BUT ONCE WAS HAS TO BE ROSS TOKLEY ICT:agree:

Or Ivan :thumbsup:

blackhibee
16-02-2010, 11:03 PM
In the recent past there could only have been one- Henrik Larsson. Currently I would say Davis,Boughera (Rangers), and I also like Danny Swanson of DU.

Bookkeeper
16-02-2010, 11:09 PM
Steven Whittaker at present. Danny McGrain from donkeys years ago.

HibeeUnderwood
16-02-2010, 11:11 PM
Scott Brown :agree:

blueisthecolour
16-02-2010, 11:11 PM
you're barry:thumbsup:

Who's Barry?:confused:

16-02-2010, 11:14 PM
Who's Barry?:confused:

In Edinburgh, it's a compliment. FACT.

Riordans Boots
16-02-2010, 11:38 PM
In Edinburgh, it's a compliment.

FACT.

Earl o'Montrose
16-02-2010, 11:45 PM
I know I might get a bit of stick but...Steven Pressley. Always a pro IMO, always gave his all to whichever club he was with (and continues this now with management). Met him a couple of times (away from football related situations) and both times he was approachable and engaging to speak with, and had a bit of class.

17-02-2010, 12:18 AM
Danny Swanson for not celebrating his goal against us at Tannadice a few weeks ago:hmmm:

Lmc2105
17-02-2010, 12:28 AM
Has to be Darren Mackie for me always seems to score against the hearts :greengrin

Joking aside i would say Garry Hay of Kilmarnock i think he is a fantastic player and always deserved a bigger move wasted his time at Killie but been a pro throughout :thumbsup:

blaikie
17-02-2010, 12:29 AM
Jody Morris :agree: .... Henrik Larsson when he was still playing had a lot of respect.

Hibernating (Im a stoopid yam tramp)
17-02-2010, 12:38 AM
Veteran guys over 30 deserve most respect imo, for still doing it despite father time. Davie Weir should be the main man, but he's a diving :grr: moaning faced:blah: little hun. Craig Brewster when he was in the spl, scoring regular for ICT at 39/40, very impressive. And he was a hit in Greek football which is unheard for a Scottish player.

Actually, we're short on veterans in the spl these days. It's kids, kids and more kids.

17-02-2010, 12:42 AM
Lee 'Bang Bang' Wallace, as a Hibby taking their money on a weekly basis, well most weeks:wink:

Mikey_1875
17-02-2010, 12:44 AM
Billy Mehmet.

NaeTechnoHibby
17-02-2010, 02:04 AM
Dr Kenny Deuchar would be my mine :agree:

But maybe not after the morra' :rolleyes:

A footballing, yet working Doctor :thumbsup:

Does any other major western/1st world league in the World have one???????

Sandy
17-02-2010, 08:41 AM
Whitty, Scott Brown, Bougherra, Davis, and all the crap players at Hawrts that are on over 5k a week :greengrin

17-02-2010, 10:02 AM
At the moment Whittaker, gave his all for the club, never moaned when here, and since his move west has never opened his mouth once and spoke negatively about Hibs, a good pro who just gets on with things.

17-02-2010, 12:38 PM
Henrik Larsson in recent years...

I like Helsingborg too as some of their casuals met us in Gothenburg, when we were playing Elfsborg, and came to the game with us

gstarbry1875
17-02-2010, 01:23 PM
Charlie Mulgrew

17-02-2010, 01:44 PM

Kris Boyd for his consistency.

Consistently moaning to the ref
Consistently getting penalties that shouldn't have been
Consistently diving
Consistently fouling our players
Consistently being a pain in the :asshole:

17-02-2010, 02:00 PM
Henrik Larsson in recent years...

I like Helsingborg too as some of their casuals met us in Gothenburg, when we were playing Elfsborg, and came to the game with us

Hahaha brilliant :thumbsup:

davemcbain
17-02-2010, 02:53 PM
Zander Diamond - don't know why?
Hammell from Murderwell
Higdon from why does it always rain on me/paisley

17-02-2010, 03:30 PM
David Robertson, John Sutton, Whitty, Conway (even though he looks like a ned), another shout for Gary Hay, James Fowler, Taouil, James McArthur but most of all Broonie.

MountcastleHibs
17-02-2010, 03:36 PM
Liam Miller :agree:

AugustaHibs
17-02-2010, 03:56 PM
Danny Swanson :agree:

vanNISHtelroy
17-02-2010, 06:25 PM
Joking aside i would say Garry Hay of Kilmarnock i think he is a fantastic player and always deserved a bigger move wasted his time at Killie but been a pro throughout :thumbsup:

:top marksHooky has been a great servant to the club, and turned down opportunities to move for more money but wanted to stay at his boyhood heroes. :top marks

Don't think he could have moved to a higher level but could have maybe moved to someone else in the spl for more money.

17-02-2010, 07:08 PM
DaMarcus Beasley - USA International and has been on sensational form this season before his injury.

Mahjid Bougherra - an absolutely brilliant player who should be playing at a higher level.

Lee Wallace - a good LB who will be a cracking player for Scotland when given the chance.

Michael Paton - a new one to the list, but he's having a brilliant season with the Dons.

Michael Stewart - don't like all the guff which goes along with him, but when he plays well, his fight and determination are unrivalled, as he's shown in the last 2 derbies.

David Fernandez - not so much any more, but I recall watching this guy playing at Livingston as they ascended through the leagues, and his skill was a joy to behold on ocassion. He was the player who won Livingston the CIS Cup.

Scott Brown - he's not been the same player since leaving us, but has been hampered by injury somewhat. Superb engine, unquestionable determination and excellent in both a defensive AND attacking capacity.

dont remember that, (must block out must block out:grr:)

17-02-2010, 07:13 PM
:top marksHooky has been a great servant to the club, and turned down opportunities to move for more money but wanted to stay at his boyhood heroes. :top marks

Don't think he could have moved to a higher level but could have maybe moved to someone else in the spl for more money.
I wish hibs had more players like that.