View Full Version : Team For Perth Saints

15-02-2010, 01:45 PM
Now the dust has settled on yesterday's game and with the news about McBride's injusry, what will the team be on Wednesday?

I'd go for:

Smith

Spoony
Hanlon
Bamba
Murray

Rankin
Miller

Zouma
Benji
Stokes
Riordan

15-02-2010, 01:53 PM
Smith

Wotherspoon Hogg Hanlon Murray

Miller Rankin

Zemmama Benji Riordan

Stokes

AugustaHibs
15-02-2010, 01:54 PM
cant drop the captain imo.

Hibees07
15-02-2010, 02:07 PM
Smith

Miller Bamba Rankin

Zouma

Stokes Nish

15-02-2010, 02:07 PM
----------Smith
-----Rankin Bamba Miller----------
-------Benji Zemmama------------
-----------Stokes----------------

Shaggy
15-02-2010, 02:20 PM
Nish will be back in,
St Johnston are one of the tallest teams in the SPL, and we only beat them with a couple brief moments of individual flair at our 1st meeting, other than that they wiped the floor with us.
This is not 3 points in the bank...............

15-02-2010, 02:29 PM
Buzzaldo

Spoonaldo
Hoggaldo
Hanlonaldo
Nidaldo

Zoumeraldo
Bambaldo
Millaraldo
Deekaldo

Stokesaldo
Nishaldo

Subs:

Stackaldo
Thicotaldo
McCannaldo
Galbraithaldo
Stevensonaldo
Benjellounaldo
Gowaldo

Hibee_Lisa
15-02-2010, 02:39 PM
Smith

Millar Bamba

Zemmama Benji Riordan

Stokes

nickwhibs
15-02-2010, 02:47 PM
Smith

Millar Bamba

Zemmama Benji Riordan

Stokes

:top marksYep that'd be my team too. It'd be good to see Hanlon getting a run at centre half. And I think Bamba could play the 'McBride' role allowing Miller to be the playmaker. Benji definately deserves a start after recent performances.

OtterHibee
15-02-2010, 02:59 PM
Smith

Miller Rankin

Zemmama Benji Riordan

Stokes

This :agree:

K.Marx
15-02-2010, 03:06 PM
deffinately like the idea of Bamba in midfield...his tempremants sometimes a worry though and he wont be nearly as effective on a booking. heres hoping the ref is in a lenient mood (only towards us of course) :greengrin

MountcastleHibs
15-02-2010, 03:24 PM
I can't see him moving Bamba out of defence, therefore I reckon he'll move Hanlon back to the bench and stick Spoony in moving Hogg into the middle again. I think Gow was awful against Rangers, therefore has to be dropped. I'd put Nish in in his place as we could do with his height. Rankin for me is one of the best workers in the team and will be key along side Miller in the midfield. We can't possibly drop Benji or Zouma after the first half at Ibrox so both keep their place in my team, meaning Riordan will have to make do with a place on the bench.

Smith

Wotherspoon
Hogg
Bamba
Murray

Miller
Rankin

Benji
Nish
Zouma

Stokes

Subs: Stack, Hanlon, Riordan, Gow, Stevenson, Cregg, Thicot

Love the Green
15-02-2010, 04:14 PM
----------Smith
-----Rankin Bamba Miller----------
-------Benji Zemmama------------
-----------Stokes----------------

"keep the faith"

15-02-2010, 04:33 PM
Smith

Wotherspoon
Bamba
Hanlon
Murray

Miller
Rankin

Riordan
Benji
Zemamma

Stokes

CalgaryHibs
15-02-2010, 04:33 PM
Is this the make up game from back in January ??

15-02-2010, 04:38 PM
Smith
Hogg Bamba Hanlon Murray
Spoony Miller McBride Zemmama
Stokes Benji

MountcastleHibs
15-02-2010, 04:40 PM

CalgaryHibs
15-02-2010, 04:43 PM

Cheers mate, cannae remember which game was called off!
(gettin old)

15-02-2010, 04:46 PM
Smith

Wotherspoon
Bamba
Hanlon
Murray

Miller
Rankin

Riordan
Benji
Zemamma

Stokes
Shoorly Shum Mishtake here. Rankins pish!!!!:confused:

MountcastleHibs
15-02-2010, 04:46 PM
Cheers mate, cannae remember which game was called off!
(gettin old)

Haha nae worries :thumbsup:

Playing them twice in ten days too, so here's hoping for the six points :greengrin

CalgaryHibs
15-02-2010, 04:51 PM
Haha nae worries :thumbsup:

Playing them twice in ten days too, so here's hoping for the six points :greengrin

god just look at the fixtures your right!

(also just remembered me days livin in Mountcastle drive for short time:greengrin)

15-02-2010, 04:52 PM
Smith

Miller Rankin

Zemmama Benji Riordan

Stokes

thats a good team if you want to lose the midfield, away from home we should be hard to beat first and foremost IMO of course

MountcastleHibs
15-02-2010, 04:54 PM
god just look at the fixtures your right!

(also just remembered me days livin in Mountcastle drive for short time:greengrin)

The place to be... I'm in the Terrace. :thumbsup:

Better stop hijacking the thread now :faf:

15-02-2010, 04:59 PM
Shoorly Shum Mishtake here. Rankins pish!!!!:confused:

Correct!

But Yogi won't drop him so it's pointless thinking otherwise

15-02-2010, 05:06 PM
I think Gowser will start.

MountcastleHibs
15-02-2010, 05:20 PM

I hope not. He had two touches that I can remember yesterday, both went straight to a Rangers player.

Don't get me wrong, I think he's a good player and will be a good player for us, but I think he should be on the bench on Wednesday.

holyrood hibbie
15-02-2010, 05:56 PM
Easy one for me, 4-4-2, Left to right

...............................Smith.............. ...
.....Murray.......Hanlon.......Hogg....Spooney
.....Gow.......Cregg........Miller.......Zouma
...........Stokes...............Benji............

Bench
Brown
Bamba
Galbraith
Thicot
Rankin
Riordan
Stevenson

down the slope
15-02-2010, 05:59 PM
Time to get the boiler suits on against the hammer throwers, it will have to be a workman like team as that lot will be in our faces from the kick off.

MountcastleHibs
15-02-2010, 06:05 PM
Time to get the boiler suits on against the hammer throwers, it will have to be a workman like team as that lot will be in our faces from the kick off.

Hence the reason I can't comprehend people suggesting Rankin should be dropped. The man is one of the hardest working in the team. He may not be gifted with the ability of the likes of Riordan, but at least he does more work.

15-02-2010, 06:07 PM
Smith

Spooney Hogg Hanlon Murray

Zouma Miller McBride Rankin

Stokes Riordan

007 Mickey Weir
15-02-2010, 06:15 PM
Smith

Miller Rankin

Zemmama Benji Riordan

Stokes

Thats the team I would go for. hanlon has played really well and deserves to hold onto CB. Spoonie needs to come back in to give us more of an attacking full back. Riordan straight swap for Gow.

attack attack attack............:thumbsup:

Bench-

Stack
Bamba
Gow
Nish
Cregg
Stevenson
Galbraith

Regina Phalange
15-02-2010, 06:21 PM
Smith

Hogg Bamba Hanlon Murray

Miller Rankin

Zemmama Benji Wotherspoon

Stokes

15-02-2010, 06:27 PM
Smith

Murray
Bamba
Hogg
Wotherspoon

Cregg
Rankin
Miller
Zemmama

Riordan
Stokes

SUBS

Brown
Hanlon
Thicot
Stevenson
Gow
Benjelloun
Nish

15-02-2010, 06:38 PM
------------------Smith------------

------Hogg-------Bamba------Hanlon

Spoony---------------------------Murray
---Zemmama------Miller------Rankin----

----------Stokes--------Deek-----------

3-5-2 :cool2:

Benji & Nish to come off the bench at some point

15-02-2010, 06:52 PM

I agree with you.:greengrin. Dont think Yogi would have gave him a start yesterday just to drop him on Wednesday.

15-02-2010, 06:54 PM
smith

spoony
hogg
hanlon
murray

rankin
bamba
miller

zemmama
benji

stokes

15-02-2010, 10:53 PM
Smith

Thicot
Hogg
Hanlon
Murray

Bamba

Zemamma
Miller
Gailbraith

Stokes
Benji

Subs:-

Brown
Wotherspoon
Stevenson
Cregg
Rankin
Nish
Riordan

15-02-2010, 10:58 PM
..........................Smith
..Wotherspoon.Hogg.....Hanlon.Murray
............Miller....Stevenson..Rankin
..........Zemmama.........Nish
........................Stokes

Changes/

Hanlon - A pretty Hectic, emotional and difficult ACON tournamentfor Bamba. He's not been at his best since, and is still maturing as a player IMO. I think that he could do without feeling the pressure right now, and we have a very capable youngster in Hanlon to give him that breathing space.

Stevenson - I see him as a direct replacement for McBride. When he first broke through, he done the simple things well, and simply held on to possession, taking the sting out of the opposition attacks, and moving ours on at a good pace. Centre Mid is where he is at his best IMO, and this could be an oppertunity for him.

Nish - Gives us a quick out ball when we are under pressure, which is what we need against this sort of opposition. Benji played well for the first half against Rangers, but he loses the hunger for the fight too easily. Nish will take the kicks all day and get back up for more, regardless of whether he wins the freekick/ball or not. I think he links up with Stokes better too, and he is definately our best out-and-out goalscorer.

Simkin911
15-02-2010, 11:09 PM
I would change the back four and drop Hogg. This may be somewhat controversial as the captain but, whilst he was solid enough on Sunday, having watched a re run of the game his distribution was very poor.

Pretty much everytime it was a hopeful punt up the park. He's not a footballing centrehalf but, to be fair, he hasn't made any major errors in the last few games so it's a close call really.

Overall, I think it'd be worth seeing Wotherspoon, Hanlon, Bamba & Murray across this back. It's hardly a weak back four.

I don't know much about McCormack but is there much prospect of a Hanlon & McCormack pairing being something which may work out in the future?

15-02-2010, 11:13 PM
..........................Smith
..Wotherspoon.Hogg.....Hanlon.Murray
............Miller....Stevenson..Rankin
..........Zemmama.........Nish
........................Stokes

Changes/

Hanlon - A pretty Hectic, emotional and difficult ACON tournamentfor Bamba. He's not been at his best since, and is still maturing as a player IMO. I think that he could do without feeling the pressure right now, and we have a very capable youngster in Hanlon to give him that breathing space.

Stevenson - I see him as a direct replacement for McBride. When he first broke through, he done the simple things well, and simply held on to possession, taking the sting out of the opposition attacks, and moving ours on at a good pace. Centre Mid is where he is at his best IMO, and this could be an oppertunity for him.

Nish - Gives us a quick out ball when we are under pressure, which is what we need against this sort of opposition. Benji played well for the first half against Rangers, but he loses the hunger for the fight too easily. Nish will take the kicks all day and get back up for more, then fall over again regardless of whether he wins the freekick/ball or not. I think he links up with Stokes better too, and he is definately not our best out-and-out goalscorer.

Fixed that for u there mate.

15-02-2010, 11:14 PM
Smith

Millar Bamba

Zemmama Benji Riordan

Stokes

:agree::agree::agree:

Sloppy
15-02-2010, 11:52 PM
brown
mccann mcormack thicot stevensson
welsh cregg galbraith
nish deek stokes

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Franck is God
16-02-2010, 12:50 PM
My team for tomorrow night. Thought the back four were decent against Rangers and with St Johnstone being a fairly big physical side this choice matches up.

The midfield has the running and quality to win and keep the ball and i thought that Benji & Zemmama were excellent against Rangers and are best placed to support Stokes up top.

We have plenty on the bench too if its not working.

Smith

Hogg---Bamba---Hanlon---Murray

Rankin
Wotherspoon-----Miller

Zemmama----------------Benji
Stokes

Subs

Brown (GK)
McCormack
Cregg
Stevenson
Galbraith
Riordan
Nish

16-02-2010, 01:10 PM
..............................Smith............... .......
Wotherspoon......Hogg......Bamba......Murray
.............................Thicot............... .......
..................Miller..................Rankin.. .......
...............................Nish............... .........
.............Stokes..........................Riord an...

Bench: Stack, Hanlon, Cregg, Zemmama, Benji, Galbraith, Gow

Ell_Chrisso
16-02-2010, 01:36 PM

Wed's Dec 27th, to be precise!

16-02-2010, 01:42 PM
Wed's Dec 27th, to be precise!

that would be wednesday 30th December Chrissy boy :wink:

munchar
16-02-2010, 01:47 PM
[QUOTE=frazerbob;2354228]Now the dust has settled on yesterday's game and with the news about McBride's injusry, what will the team be on Wednesday?

I'd go for:

Smith

McCormack Bamba Hanlon

Wotherspoon Murray

Zemmama Miller

Benji

Stokes Riorden

Ell_Chrisso
16-02-2010, 02:43 PM
Who reckon's we should let Yogi decide?

Boy never gets a say in these days ... :greengrin

16-02-2010, 05:31 PM
Smith

Spoon
Hogg
Hanlon
Murray

Miller
Bamba
Rankin

Zemmama
Stokes
Riordan

16-02-2010, 07:24 PM
Bamba must play in midfield to play the McBride role -unless Matty Jack is free.

16-02-2010, 07:26 PM
Bamba must play in midfield to play the McBride role -unless Matty Jack is free.

Allowing Sauzee to slot in at CB?