View Full Version : How Violent is England

14-02-2010, 06:04 PM
Just back from a couple of days in Blackpool.

Drinks served in plastic tumblers in pubs. Metal detectors when you go into the Pleasure Beach, and the security guards wear anti stab body armour.

WTF is going on??

14-02-2010, 06:50 PM

Drinks served in plastic tumblers in pubs. Metal detectors when you go into the Pleasure Beach, and the security guards wear anti stab body armour.

WTF is going on??

Simple............They knew you were coming! :greengrin

hibsitis
14-02-2010, 07:38 PM

WTF is going on??

Good question FR. But if you can't tell us why you were in Blackpool who can?

14-02-2010, 07:43 PM

WTF is going on??

They do that in a couple of nightclubs in Edinburgh. It's very annoying :grr:

14-02-2010, 09:46 PM

WTF is going on??

I'm getting a funny feeling of deja vu. :greengrin

14-02-2010, 09:54 PM

WTF is going on??

Rumours that Macar is in town. :cool2:

14-02-2010, 09:54 PM
I'm not sure Blackpool is representative, to be fair. We spent a couple of nights there a few years back. The first sign that things were different was the visitor's folder. Where you would normally get local tourist information and restaurants etc..., there was a run-down of your rights and responsibilities should you be arrested; a guide to Blackpool's unique summary justice system; contact numbers for rape victims; help numbers for victims of crime; help numbers for those accused of crimes; an explanation of basic, expected standards of behaviour and likely consequences should these be ignored.

And having spent a couple of days there, it didn't seem so outlandish.....

14-02-2010, 09:57 PM
Rumours that Macar is in town. :cool2:

The place would have been deserted if that were true.

GhostofBolivar
15-02-2010, 01:21 AM
Sounds a bit like Glasgow, tbh.

15-02-2010, 08:07 PM
They do that in a couple of nightclubs in Edinburgh. It's very annoying :grr:

Its not the best but you have to understand why - too many idiots.

15-02-2010, 08:47 PM
I think large, single sex parties have decended on Blackpool in ever increasing numbers over the years.

Too many rowdy people, too much drink and too much fish and chips and depression in the one place. It's a recipe for disaster.

15-02-2010, 09:12 PM
Sounds a bit like Glasgow, tbh.

thats cos most of the folk there are from glasgow :wink:

16-02-2010, 09:38 AM
Did the Newcastle-Amsterdam ferry crossing on Friday and it was like Noah's Ark. Animals everywhere. People pishing at the bar, throwing lit fag ends around, abusing and threatening staff, fighting amongst themselves, smashing fruit machines and furniture and the place was covered in puke the next morning.

If that's what life's like on a UK housing scheme at the weekend, then thank faff that I'm outa there :bitchy:

16-02-2010, 11:26 AM

WTF is going on??

In Dumfries every pub with a beer garden or even seats outside serve all drinks in a plastic cup.

There are metal detectors at the doors of The Venue, Chancers and Jumpin Jaks - you can also be randomly searched for weapons and drugs.

So it's exactly the same here apart fae the anti-stab armour.

I thought it was the same all over the country.....

Presumably not then? :confused:

16-02-2010, 12:17 PM
If you went to one of those mentioned pubs that had metal detectors and plastic glasses etc would you feel safer or still question your sanity of going to a place like that in the first place :confused:

Simple solution, revoke their licence.

16-02-2010, 01:43 PM
If you went to one of those mentioned pubs that had metal detectors and plastic glasses etc would you feel safer or still question your sanity of going to a place like that in the first place :confused:

Simple solution, revoke their licence.

Eh!! You wouldn't revoke their licence for identifying the problems/risks they have and then introducing preventative or control measures to reduce those risks.

16-02-2010, 01:53 PM
England is exactly the same as Scotland. Lots of young guys who can't handle the bevvy.

16-02-2010, 02:19 PM
In Dumfries every pub with a beer garden or even seats outside serve all drinks in a plastic cup.

There are metal detectors at the doors of The Venue, Chancers and Jumpin Jaks - you can also be randomly searched for weapons and drugs.

So it's exactly the same here apart fae the anti-stab armour.

I thought it was the same all over the country.....

Presumably not then? :confused:

I think what really shocked me was that these precautions were in place at a fairground. Then again, I suppose it's nothing new - you just have to read Brighton Rock, or think about the Teddy Boys.

Fights always seem to happen at the shows.

16-02-2010, 05:24 PM
Eh!! You wouldn't revoke their licence for identifying the problems/risks they have and then introducing preventative or control measures to reduce those risks.

Ok then don't even bother introducing the measures, just shut them down.

The UK is full of *****bags that are supposed to govern these things, take the most extreme measure possible.

Zero tolerance :devil:

17-02-2010, 11:17 AM
I think what really shocked me was that these precautions were in place at a fairground. Then again, I suppose it's nothing new - you just have to read Brighton Rock, or think about the Teddy Boys.

Fights always seem to happen at the shows.

I understand what you're getting at now and agree entirely; hardly a nice warm "welcome to Blackpool" is it - then again at least they have these precautions eh.

17-02-2010, 02:17 PM
I understand what you're getting at now and agree entirely; hardly a nice warm "welcome to Blackpool" is it - then again at least they have these precautions eh.

It just saddens me that people would go to a fun fair intent on causing trouble. I'm sure the Pleasure Beach weren't keen on bringing in these measures.

legends of 73
19-02-2010, 02:04 PM
was in blackpool for my mates stag night last august and it felt like i was an extra in booze britain.

it was so easy for it to kick off and it did in our group cos some twat took exception to us having a good time and chatting up a few birds,he got a bit arguementative so he got stuck on his arse,we then decided to head back to our hotel as someone would have got lifted cos some bevvied twat couldn't accept a group of scottish boys were chatting up some english birds wtf.

used to love going to blackpool with the boys in my youth but will never go back for a stag night ****ing nightmare

sadtom
19-02-2010, 03:05 PM
It just saddens me that people would go to a fun fair intent on causing trouble. I'm sure the Pleasure Beach weren't keen on bringing in these measures.

To think 40 odd years ago the mods and the rockers only went to these places for the for the dodge'ums.

19-02-2010, 03:46 PM
To think 40 odd years ago the mods and the rockers only went to these places for the for the dodge'ums.

You're right, I think I'll watch That'll Be the Day, to remind myself how well behaved people were in the past. :greengrin

19-02-2010, 03:53 PM
I think large, single sex parties have decended on Blackpool in ever increasing numbers over the years.

Too many rowdy people, too much drink and too much fish and chips and depression in the one place. It's a recipe for disaster.

Yip thats true, although its easy pickings for the residents who live there. :wink: The women who come to blackpool, seem to think its fine to drop their drawers after the offer of a drink. :thumbsup:

19-02-2010, 06:13 PM
...not as violent as Scotland. Stats show that you're three times more likely to be murdered or become victim of a violent assault here than in England and Wales.

I think Peter had hit the nail on the head regarding Blackpool. The stag and hen culture was once boisterous fun, but now it attracts a lot of unsavoury predators intent on parading their personal neuroses on the rest of the world.

(But I'll leave Blackpool Hibs out of this for the time being!)

25-02-2010, 11:56 AM
I remember one stag do in Blackpool and encountering some mad radge from Dundee with a kilt and siah dubh...climbed up a lamp-post (at 2AM), started signing Flower of Scotland at the top of his voice and proclaimed an almighty "Freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeedommmmmmmmmmmmm" from his bird like vantage point, at 2am on a Sunday morning...and he's no even a local :devil:

The plastic glasses, metal detectors and bams are all over.

Every boozer in Lothian Road had them ... I recall the auld Biz leading the way.

HibsMax
26-02-2010, 01:57 PM
I don't think that many people actually go out with violence on their mind but here's what happens......in my opinion:
1. group of guys go out on the town, looking for some hotties to party with
2. guys get drunk and hotties look other way
3. guys have nothing to do, can't handle their bevvy, strength in numbers mentality......hey, let's cause some agro

I can honestly say that I've never been involved in any mob-like behaviour. Maybe I'm too chicken. Maybe I'm too smart. I don't know. Never really got me off.