View Full Version : Bowls - Annual Hibs.net Hammering 2010

09-02-2010, 08:06 AM
Ok you :hnet: mugs, I have a couple of suggested dates for your 2010 hammering by the Northern Hibbies.

We have two dates available in June, 5th or the 19th.

We played last years game on the 20th as that was the date that seemed to suit all your glory/pot hunters.

The semi-final of our SBA district 11 & 12 (I think) is being held at the Northern on June 4th so, weather permitting of course, our green should be flying if you choose to play on the 5th.

The sooner I know the preference, the easier it will be for me to book one of these dates, so if you can post here and let me know folks, I will get our rinks booked for the relevant date.

09-02-2010, 01:05 PM
Ok you :hnet: mugs, I have a couple of suggested dates for your 2010 hammering by the Northern Hibbies.

We have two dates available in June, 5th or the 19th.

We played last years game on the 20th as that was the date that seemed to suit all your glory/pot hunters.

The semi-final of our SBA district 11 & 12 (I think) is being held at the Northern on June 4th so, weather permitting of course, our green should be flying if you choose to play on the 5th.

The sooner I know the preference, the easier it will be for me to book one of these dates, so if you can post here and let me know folks, I will get our rinks booked for the relevant date.Oh the pain ...:greengrin

I dont like the thought o yer green flying ..i hate fast greens, although i should be used to that pace playing at the Jewel ..:greengrin

Anyway ....i would prefer the 19th as it would get me more green time as i struggled last year due to work..

However...im happy to go wi the flow ...bring it on !!! :hnet::thumbsup:

09-02-2010, 02:02 PM
New bowlers always welcome, put your name down here or pm me ..:thumbsup:

tanfield
09-02-2010, 05:13 PM
19th probably best for me as well.:thumbsup:

Fat Stu
10-02-2010, 12:42 AM
i'm in amsterdam on the 19th so a no brainer for me.

tanfield
15-02-2010, 07:39 AM
i'm in amsterdam on the 19th so a no brainer for me.

See you on the 19th then Stu:greengrin

Fat Stu
16-02-2010, 09:27 PM
See you on the 19th then Stu:greengrin

I really fancy pumping that northern lot again so let get this booked for the 5th please:wink::greengrin

Lmc2105
16-02-2010, 10:54 PM
I really fancy pumping that northern lot again so let get this booked for the 5th please:wink::greengrin

any day for me and the auld man :greengrin

also will i ask kevin and matty again this year?

tanfield
17-02-2010, 07:44 AM
any day for me and the auld man :greengrin

also will i ask kevin and matty again this year?

That would be great Lee. These boys were instrumental in our overwhelming win last year and only fair that they get the chance to go for a double:greengrin

To be honest I'm easy about the days. 5th is just as handy for me as the 19th:agree:

17-02-2010, 09:42 AM
That would be great Lee. These boys were instrumental in our overwhelming win last year and only fair that they get the chance to go for a double:greengrin

To be honest I'm easy about the days. 5th is just as handy for me as the 19th:agree:I would prefer the 19th but happy to go wi the flow ....its only the Northern we are playing anyway ..:duck:.....:greengrin

17-02-2010, 11:07 AM
:blah::blah::zzzzz!::hilarious

Guys, laugh it up! You wont be grinning for long!

You just so happened to turn up the day MB62 had an identity crisis! He had blinder...For .net! :grr: He forgot what hibs team he was playing for!!

That wont happen again!!! (although if you want MB62 on a free transfer... :pray:)

Seriously though, going by the Northern Website, this fixture has been pencilled in for the 19th...

17-02-2010, 11:18 AM

You just so happened to turn up the day MB62 had an identity crisis! He had blinder...For .net! :grr: He forgot what hibs team he was playing for!!

That wont happen again!!! (although if you want MB62 on a free transfer... :pray:)

Seriously though, going by the Northern Website, this fixture has been pencilled in for the 19th...I hope we can have a wee bit flexibility here with regards the fixture, we seem to have pretty much the same team as last year & as it stands only Fat Stu cant make that date ...we can pull in a replacement no probs (and i dont mean MB62 :greengrin) but ideally we would like Fat Stu to be included ...:hnet:

Fat Stu
17-02-2010, 04:20 PM

Seriously though, going by the Northern Website, this fixture has been pencilled in for the 19th...

Can see those northern hibees now, "Stu's no available on the 19th, book it quick before we get humped again!!":greengrin

18-02-2010, 09:01 AM
I can change this to the 5th no problem guys, especially if it means you are going to have to play Fat Stu.

This fixture is almost three months away and already you lot are in a panic and bringing in the 'ringers' from last season. If I find out Leemac is paying them a signing on fee there will be trouble. :greengrin

Is it the 5th for your pumping then?

BarneyBreslin
18-02-2010, 11:36 AM
Prefer the 19th but can do the 5th also (thats if Andy wants me back!)

Fat Stu
18-02-2010, 05:19 PM
I can change this to the 5th no problem guys, especially if it means you are going to have to play Fat Stu.

This fixture is almost three months away and already you lot are in a panic and bringing in the 'ringers' from last season. If I find out Leemac is paying them a signing on fee there will be trouble. :greengrin

Is it the 5th for your pumping then?

We all know the guys who haven't seen them want to see the white bowls in action.

In all seriousness would love to play but if you guys can get a bigger team for the 19th then I guess i'll just have to find an internet cafe in dam to check how many shots .net won by.

18-02-2010, 07:37 PM
Prefer the 19th but can do the 5th also (thats if Andy wants me back!):thumbsup:

---------- Post added at 08:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:36 PM ----------

We all know the guys who haven't seen them want to see the white bowls in action.

In all seriousness would love to play but if you guys can get a bigger team for the 19th then I guess i'll just have to find an internet cafe in dam to check how many shots .net won by.That reminds me ..i will have to purchase my hibs bowls stickers ...:hnet:

19-02-2010, 07:29 AM

---------- Post added at 08:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:36 PM ----------

That reminds me ..i will have to purchase my hibs bowls stickers ...:hnet:

I've already gopt them, bought ten sets last weeks and have been handing a few around family and friends.

Could get very confusing on the 5th eh! :greengrin

19-02-2010, 10:48 AM
I've already gopt them, bought ten sets last weeks and have been handing a few around family and friends.

Could get very confusing on the 5th eh! :greengrinTrue Mike, i may keep my yellow inside dots on my bowls though to avoid any confusion ...:greengrin

19-02-2010, 12:33 PM
True Mike, i may keep my yellow inside dots on my bowls though to avoid any confusion ...:greengrin

Ach, dinnae worry about it Kenny. All the bowls close to the Jack will be NORTHERN HIBEES BOWLS, so you lads can put on whatever stickers you like.

tanfield
19-02-2010, 12:58 PM
Prefer the 19th but can do the 5th also (thats if Andy wants me back!)

After your performance last year, you are a stick on for this year's winning team:greengrin

19-02-2010, 01:13 PM

In all seriousness would love to play but if you guys can get a bigger team for the 19th then I guess i'll just have to find an internet cafe in dam to check how many shots .net won by.

With all this crazy talk it sounds like you and the other .netters are having a team talk in some Dam cafe and sampling the products!

I mean, .net beating the Mighty Northern...? :faf: :crazy:

19-02-2010, 01:31 PM
Ach, dinnae worry about it Kenny. All the bowls close to the Jack will be NORTHERN HIBEES BOWLS, so you lads can put on whatever stickers you like.Aye..just like yours were last year Mike ...:faf:...

BTW ..what **** bought all the hibs bowls stickers ?...i was doon the shop today & they were sold out...:grr:....the lassie didnt know if they were getting anymore in ..:boo hoo::boo hoo:

19-02-2010, 08:38 PM
Aye..just like yours were last year Mike ...:faf:...

BTW ..what **** bought all the hibs bowls stickers ?...i was doon the shop today & they were sold out...:grr:....the lassie didnt know if they were getting anymore in ..:boo hoo::boo hoo:

If yer not first yer too late. Shirley if they have sold out already then there is a demand for them. Cannae believe the shop will not get more done, plain stupid if that's the case. The season is still over two months away and they have already sold out!

If they decide not to get any more done then I will ask permission to get them done myself, should have let me do it in the first place.

19-02-2010, 09:02 PM
If yer not first yer too late. Shirley if they have sold out already then there is a demand for them. Cannae believe the shop will not get more done, plain stupid if that's the case. The season is still over two months away and they have already sold out!

If they decide not to get any more done then I will ask permission to get them done myself, should have let me do it in the first place.I didnt know how many sets the club shop had to start with Mike ...the lassie behind the counter came over, pointed to an empty space & said .."they were there, we must have sold out" ...:greengrin....I asked her if they would be re-ordering them but she said she didnt know as a new Manager was coming in...like you say there is still a bit time until the start o the bowling season so fingers crossed they will order more ..the lassie has my phone number anyway & is gonna let me know either way ..:agree:

23-02-2010, 09:47 AM
Aye..just like yours were last year Mike ...:faf:...

Was in the shop yesterday asking about the stickers.
The girl said the manager is leaving and they have no one lined up as yet. She did say they the initial order of 100 sets went very quickly and they have more on order but have delivery date. Personally, I think this was just flannel from the girl as, having contacted their supplier originally, I know they print them off very quickly, within a week or two absolute maximum.
Hopefully the new manager, when appointed, will see the demand for the stickers and the finger out before the new season starts.

23-02-2010, 09:54 AM
Was in the shop yesterday asking about the stickers.
The girl said the manager is leaving and they have no one lined up as yet. She did say they the initial order of 100 sets went very quickly and they have more on order but have delivery date. Personally, I think this was just flannel from the girl as, having contacted their supplier originally, I know they print them off very quickly, within a week or two absolute maximum.
Hopefully the new manager, when appointed, will see the demand for the stickers and the finger out before the new season starts.Hopefully Mike..fair play to the lass she did get on the blower to someone to enquire, im sure though if they sold 100 sets in such a short time another 100 will prob likely to go as quick ...there is at least some demand for them ...:agree:

23-02-2010, 12:29 PM
Hopefully Mike..fair play to the lass she did get on the blower to someone to enquire, im sure though if they sold 100 sets in such a short time another 100 will prob likely to go as quick ...there is at least some demand for them ...:agree:

They will never make the club fortunes, but then neither will pencils, pens etc so I would suggest they are well worth doing as there will be a constant demand for them. Might even help put bowls on the map a we bit if people become curious as to what they are.

23-02-2010, 01:26 PM
They will never make the club fortunes, but then neither will pencils, pens etc so I would suggest they are well worth doing as there will be a constant demand for them. Might even help put bowls on the map a we bit if people become curious as to what they are.Indeed, i just want a set for my "match" bowls..my other set have green markings on them anyway so im not too fussed about hibs stickers for them ..:agree:

23-02-2010, 02:09 PM
Indeed, i just want a set for my "match" bowls..my other set have green markings on them anyway so im not too fussed about hibs stickers for them ..:agree:

I may be able to help you out:wink: :greengrin

23-02-2010, 02:13 PM
I may be able to help you out:wink: :greengrinThe things you do for a bottle o Bud Mike eh !!! ...:greengrin...keep a set for me please & i will let you know if i need them or not ...:thumbsup:

tanfield
24-02-2010, 11:47 AM
So................................................ .................................................. ...........What date have we ended up with?

24-02-2010, 12:03 PM
So................................................ .................................................. ...........What date have we ended up with?

I have not booked it Andrew but I think the 5th seems to be the more popular. I will get in touch with our Matches secy and book it.

24-02-2010, 12:14 PM
So................................................ .................................................. ...........What date are we getting pumped on?

Fixed that typo for you Andrew...

tanfield
24-02-2010, 09:49 PM
Fixed that typo for you Andrew...

Ooh ma sides!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

25-02-2010, 10:27 AM
Ooh ma sides!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It's not your sides you should be worried about Abdy, it's your head, because when you play the mighty Northern Hibbies, it will always be AGAINST you :greengrin

Lmc2105
25-02-2010, 12:49 PM
It's not your sides you should be worried about Abdy, it's your head, because when you play the mighty Northern Hibbies, it will always be AGAINST you :greengrin

am sure you said the same last year :wink:

Am going to hate to see what we will actully do to you this year!!:blah::greengrin

25-02-2010, 09:05 PM

Am going to hate to see what we will actully do to you this year!!:blah::greengrinIm no ..im gonna love it ...:greengrin

26-02-2010, 07:10 AM

Am going to hate to see what we will actully do to you this year!!:blah::greengrin

Im no ..im gonna love it ...:greengrin

Fighting talk already lads, and we're not even in to March :take that :wink: :greengrin

08-03-2010, 10:37 AM
Just got a phone call from the club shop this morn ..the bowls stickers are back in stock ....:hnet::thumbsup:

Unfortunately ..i cannae get doon !!!! :boo hoo:

08-03-2010, 02:35 PM
Wife went doon & got me three sets ....apparently they are different from the first batch ...5550 ...:thumbsup:

Cannae wait to hit the Esk league wi them ...get it right up the yams/Celic & Rangers ...:hnet:

08-03-2010, 02:53 PM
Wife went doon & got me three sets ....apparently they are different from the first batch ...5550 ...:thumbsup:

Cannae wait to hit the Esk league wi them ...get it right up the yams/Celic & Rangers ...:hnet:

They're the green ones, the other ones were white. Need to get down and get a few sets of them :thumbsup:

08-03-2010, 02:58 PM
They're the green ones, the other ones were white. Need to get down and get a few sets of them :thumbsup:Keep me a set of white mate & i will keep ye a set of green ...:agree:

11-03-2010, 01:43 PM
Keep me a set of white mate & i will keep ye a set of green ...:agree:

Sound good to me Kenny.

BTW have now booked the Northern green for the 5th June, that should keep Stu Happy.

11-03-2010, 01:55 PM
Sound good to me Kenny.

BTW have now booked the Northern green for the 5th June, that should keep Stu Happy.Excellent Mike ..good stuff mate ...:thumbsup:

Fat Stu
12-03-2010, 11:39 AM
Sound good to me Kenny.

BTW have now booked the Northern green for the 5th June, that should keep Stu Happy.

Woo hoo, Now I lookforward to gubbing you northern lot.

12-03-2010, 01:24 PM
Woo hoo, Now I lookforward to gubbing you northern lot.

I pity the foo's...

12-03-2010, 01:39 PM
I pity the foo's...Its gonna be a cracker though ...:greengrin

Fat Stu
13-03-2010, 03:53 PM
got 2 sets of green stickers today and just put them on the white bowls(looking brill). Anyone with a spare white set willing to swap?

15-03-2010, 09:24 AM
got 2 sets of green stickers today and just put them on the white bowls(looking brill). Anyone with a spare white set willing to swap?

Are they really white bowls or is just because you throw them that high they keep coming back with snow on them???

:devil::devil:

sg7nil
15-03-2010, 03:49 PM
Are they really white bowls or is just because you throw them that high they keep coming back with snow on them???

:devil::devil:

They are white (I can confirm).. guaranteed to make your play stand out on the green.. you have to play well with them cos if you dont, everyone can see how bad you are!

Posers bools! :wink:

16-03-2010, 09:55 AM
They are white (I can confirm).. guaranteed to make your play stand out on the green.. you have to play well with them cos if you dont, everyone can see how bad you are!

Posers bools! :wink:

Yes, I noticed that at Seafield in our league game against you, you certainly got noticed that night :wink: :greengrin

gilliecabbage
20-03-2010, 11:39 PM
just gee up.new boolz isnt gona make u play any better.ive seen u play.:bye:

24-03-2010, 11:45 AM
Thank F*** the season is less than a month away after yet another totally pish performance and result.

Hibs stickers for sale anyone?

Fat Stu
25-03-2010, 08:02 PM
just gee up.new boolz isnt gona make u play any better.ive seen u play.:bye:

i've seen you play anaw mind, you could put a jack 2 foot in front of you and you'd still be 3 feet short.

25-03-2010, 10:54 PM
Thank F*** the season is less than a month away after yet another totally pish performance and result.

Hibs stickers for sale anyone?

Wiz stickers aplenty when I was in the shop today...

26-03-2010, 06:27 AM
Wiz stickers aplenty when I was in the shop today...**** ..dinnae tell me the booling hibs fans have handed their stickers back !!!! :protest:....:greengrin

30-03-2010, 03:46 PM
Nice to see the bowling weather is back !!!! :greengrin

gilliecabbage
06-04-2010, 02:40 PM
i've seen you play anaw mind, you could put a jack 2 foot in front of you and you'd still be 3 feet short.

aye and id still beat u! :smug:

14-04-2010, 10:33 AM
Better start polishing the bowls...:greengrin

Mike..remember those white hibs stickers ...:thumbsup:

14-04-2010, 10:50 AM
Better start polishing the bowls...:greengrin

Mike..remember those white hibs stickers ...:thumbsup:

Nae probs mate, got them put aside.
You got my green ones? :greengrin

14-04-2010, 11:01 AM
Nae probs mate, got them put aside.
You got my green ones? :greengrinGot them put aside mate ..:thumbsup:

11-05-2010, 09:59 AM
Do you guys have any idea yet how many are for your hammering? :wink:

I need to start asking around my lads very soon.

11-05-2010, 10:05 AM
Do you guys have any idea yet how many are for your hammering? :wink:

I need to start asking around my lads very soon.9 up to now Mike ...:thumbsup:

Andy Sneddon
Kenny (HH)
Lee (GG)
BarneyBreslin
Fat Stu
Kev (Co-op)
sg7nil
Matty (Co-op)
Lee's Dad

tanfield
11-05-2010, 11:52 AM
I've possibly got another player as well. Will know for sure in next week or so.

12-05-2010, 01:55 PM
I've possibly got another player as well. Will know for sure in next week or so.

One of your new club mates no doubt Andrew :stirrer: :greengrin

13-05-2010, 10:51 AM
I have just been told last night that there is a function on at the club on the same day as we give you lot a hammering.

It means we will have to move through the back after a while, if you want to hang around for a commiseratory beer or 07.

13-05-2010, 09:08 PM
I have just been told last night that there is a function on at the club on the same day when you give us lot a hammering.

It means we will have to move through the back after a while, if you want to hang around for a commiseratory beer or 07.Shouldnt be a prob ..:thumbsup:

15-05-2010, 08:19 AM
After your performance last year, you are a stick on for this year's winning team:greengrin

Andrew, playing at Tanfield on Tuesday night in the Scottish Singles, maybe see you there and have a beer. Never been to the new Tanfield yet but I believe it is quite good.

tanfield
15-05-2010, 06:55 PM
Andrew, playing at Tanfield on Tuesday night in the Scottish Singles, maybe see you there and have a beer. Never been to the new Tanfield yet but I believe it is quite good.

Tanfield is excellent, you should enjoy it.

I'm away at Willowbrae in the fours on Tuesday. Stick in

Fat Stu
15-05-2010, 08:04 PM
root toot i'm oot the championship in the prelim:doh::blushie:

Mike, black trophy is on the same day I understand you normally have a few playing in this, should be a problem should it?

17-05-2010, 10:03 AM
root toot i'm oot the championship in the prelim:doh::blushie:

Mike, black trophy is on the same day I understand you normally have a few playing in this, should be a problem should it?

We pulled out of the Black Trophy many years ago, just another needless game in an already congested fixture list and it always gave our selectors a headache trying to fin guys to play in it.

I haven't even started asking my guys yet so I better get the finger oot and see who is available.

tanfield
17-05-2010, 12:05 PM
I have definite maybe's from a couple of "stars".

If confirmed that would take :hnet: to 11.

Will try and confirm asap.

tanfield
17-05-2010, 12:18 PM
Just had one confirmed.

Kenny - Can you add "Woody" to the list?

That's us up to 10 so far.

19-05-2010, 09:17 AM
I have definite maybe's from a couple of "stars".

If confirmed that would take :hnet: to 11.

Will try and confirm asap.

Sounds like the .Netters are cacking their pants and are bringing in any old ringers now!!

Doesn't make any difference to us who we beat though you understand!

19-05-2010, 11:44 AM
Just had one confirmed.

Kenny - Can you add "Woody" to the list?

That's us up to 10 so far.

Would this be 'Woody' from your 'new' club Andrew?

tanfield
19-05-2010, 11:54 AM
Would this be 'Woody' from your 'new' club Andrew?

As it happens, it's not Mike but not surprised you came to that conclusion:greengrin

sg7nil
19-05-2010, 12:01 PM
Would it be Woody from Sighthill.. AKA ShandonGreen?

I have to advise that I find that I'm double boked on the 5th June and will have to withdraw.

Going to a family wedding, but know where I'd rather be on tha day. Only "remembered" (that would imply that I was aware in the first place) when I checked what date I was to pick up my hire kilt and realised that the date looked familiar.

Sorry guys...

Give the Northern hell (again) :wink:

19-05-2010, 12:17 PM
Would it be Woody from Sighthill.. AKA ShandonGreen?

I have to advise that I find that I'm double boked on the 5th June and will have to withdraw.

Going to a family wedding, but know where I'd rather be on tha day. Only "remembered" (that would imply that I was aware in the first place) when I checked what date I was to pick up my hire kilt and realised that the date looked familiar.

Sorry guys...

Give the Northern hell (again) :wink:

So we change the date for your benefit and you still pull out :grr:

Just for that, we are going to give your lot a right good hammering this year.

Glory Glory To The Northern Hibbies :thumbsup:

Lmc2105
19-05-2010, 12:23 PM
So we change the date for your benefit and you still pull out :grr:

Just for that, we are going to give your lot a right good hammering this year.

Glory Glory To The Northern Hibbies :thumbsup:

Mike what have you been smoking or even drinking cause i want some :thumbsup:
The Northern to go down heavier than they did last year!!

i will even stick a full pint on it :cool2:

Lmc2105
21-05-2010, 10:09 AM
any times yet guys?

21-05-2010, 10:44 AM
any times yet guys?

It's down for a 2.00pm kick-off Lee.

Have you guys got Defo numbers yet?

One minute it's 9 then 11, then when your guys find out the quality of the opposition they seem to get scared and start pulling out, making excuses like 'I'm going abroad for a wedding' etc etc.

I will try and keep it to 10 or 11 but my guys are all keen to sort you lot out :greengrin

tanfield
21-05-2010, 03:14 PM
It's down for a 2.00pm kick-off Lee.

Have you guys got Defo numbers yet?

One minute it's 9 then 11, then when your guys find out the quality of the opposition they seem to get scared and start pulling out, making excuses like 'I'm going abroad for a wedding' etc etc.

I will try and keep it to 10 or 11 but my guys are all keen to sort you lot out :greengrin

I'm hopeful of confirming number 10 by Monday:agree:

24-05-2010, 08:29 AM
Just to make you aware, The Northern "Dream Team Triple" warmed up for the .net game by thumping a bunch of Yam Bams in the annual Hibs v Hearts game. I cant remember the exact score but it was "mair than twenty's plenty" for us against the Yam score of "no very many".

I would be hoping, infact sorry, i'm expecting a similar score for us come the 5th June. We're a well oiled machine slickly moving through the gears... :agree: :greengrin

24-05-2010, 10:55 AM
Just to make you aware, The Northern "Dream Team Triple" warmed up for the .net game by thumping a bunch of Yam Bams in the annual Hibs v Hearts game. I cant remember the exact score but it was "mair than twenty's plenty" for us against the Yam score of "no very many".

I would be hoping, infact sorry, i'm expecting a similar score for us come the 5th June. We're a well oiled machine slickly moving through the gears... :agree: :greengrin

Slaughtered the Yam Bams 22 - 07.

A very nice little warm up

GGTTNH :thumbsup:

tanfield
25-05-2010, 10:06 PM
Slaughtered the Yam Bams 22 - 07.

A very nice little warm up

GGTTNH :thumbsup:

That's fine Mike, we humble .netters know our place. Pointless really turning up but at least if we get more than 7 shots against the mighty Northern Hibbies we can take as a moral victory:greengrin

By the way another confirmed tonight. Roberto White. I think that makes us have 10 now

25-05-2010, 10:44 PM
That's fine Mike, we humble .netters know our place. Pointless really turning up but at least if we get more than 7 shots against the mighty Northern Hibbies we can take as a moral victory:greengrin

By the way another confirmed tonight. Roberto White. I think that makes us have 10 nowRight, so thats..

Me (HH)
Tanfield (Andy)
Fat Stu (Stu:greengrin)
Green Giant (Lee)
Lee's Dad
Barney Breslin
Lee's mate 1
Lee's mate 2
Woody (Andy's mate)
Robert White (Andy's mate)
Burnsie......oops !!!!! :greengrin

So we need a pair to make 4 trips or 3 rinks ..ive not been around my club much due to various reasons & even had to sling the championship so its doubtful i will be able to grab 2 bodies as i prob wont be down the Jewel until at least a day or two before we hit Northern....im also coming down after a night shift so my heid is gonna be bubbled ...Mike ..make sure that lager tap is ready to go mate ...:greengrin

26-05-2010, 07:41 AM

By the way another confirmed tonight. Roberto White. I think that makes us have 10 now

Roberto White!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! bringing in more Pot hunters Andrew? :greengrin

Bring them on, the bigger they are eh! (although that's maybe not the right terminology in Bob's case :wink: :greengrin

If it's 10 we could have two triples and two pairs, so everybody will need to bring four bowls, just in case.

Lmc2105
26-05-2010, 12:30 PM
Right, so thats..

Me (HH)
Tanfield (Andy)
Fat Stu (Stu:greengrin)
Green Giant (Lee)
Lee's Dad
Barney Breslin
Lee's mate 1
Lee's mate 2
Woody (Andy's mate)
Burnsie......oops !!!!! :greengrin

So we need a pair to make 4 trips or 3 rinks ..ive not been around my club much due to various reasons & even had to sling the championship so its doubtful i will be able to grab 2 bodies as i prob wont be down the Jewel until at least a day or two before we hit Northern....im also coming down after a night shift so my heid is gonna be bubbled ...Mike ..make sure that lager tap is ready to go mate ...:greengrin

soory to the be the berer of bad news but the 2 guys from el coop have a tourny that day now and cannot play however if we are stryuggling that badly my grandfather plays and a have another 1 interested?

26-05-2010, 02:51 PM
soory to the be the berer of bad news but the 2 guys from el coop have a tourny that day now and cannot play however if we are stryuggling that badly my grandfather plays and a have another 1 interested?

By the looks of your team Lee, I would say, YES, you are struggling badly. Maybe Andrew could find another couple of ringers from Tanfield :wink:

tanfield
27-05-2010, 11:51 AM
By the looks of your team Lee, I would say, YES, you are struggling badly. Maybe Andrew could find another couple of ringers from Tanfield :wink:

I will be trying:wink:

Mike - before Lee perhaps gets replacements, what sort of numbers are you looking at for Northern. At the moment we have 4 pairs games.

27-05-2010, 02:36 PM
I will be trying:wink:

Mike - before Lee perhaps gets replacements, what sort of numbers are you looking at for Northern. At the moment we have 4 pairs games.

I have asked about 10 good Hibbies along, and more probably available or would like to play.
10 would be a good number though Andrew, 2 x Triples and 2 x Pairs

27-05-2010, 03:17 PM
Right, contrary to my last post im playing a 2 bowl pair tonight ..i should be able to get def one (Ian Duffy) Hawkhill...he was prepped last year but we had enough...Andy/Lee...i will put him down as def ...

tanfield
28-05-2010, 11:29 AM
Right, contrary to my last post im playing a 2 bowl pair tonight ..i should be able to get def one (Ian Duffy) Hawkhill...he was prepped last year but we had enough...Andy/Lee...i will put him down as def ...

Good stuff Kenny. :thumbsup:

28-05-2010, 11:42 AM
So it's 10 a-side then lads?

28-05-2010, 12:16 PM
Good stuff Kenny. :thumbsup:

So it's 10 a-side then lads?Im waiting on Ian Duffy getting back to me ..this is turning out to be a pain in the nether regions !!!

28-05-2010, 02:13 PM
Im waiting on Ian Duffy getting back to me ..this is turning out to be a pain in the nether regions !!!

It'll be all worth it in the end Kenny, just think about that liquid stuff on the day to console your thrashing :wink: :thumbsup:

28-05-2010, 02:28 PM
It'll be all worth it in the end Kenny, just think about that liquid stuff on the day to celebrate you thrashing us:wink: :thumbsup:I know mate ...:thumbsup:

Mind them stickers ...:thumbsup:

31-05-2010, 08:53 AM
Kenny

I could always ask my brother, who plays for Beechwood and my nephew, who disnae play except maybe once a year, if they could make it for the :hnet: if you want.

31-05-2010, 09:05 AM
Kenny

I could always ask my brother, who plays for Beechwood and my nephew, who disnae play except maybe once a year, if they could make it for the :hnet: if you want.Wi Lee's mates out Mike it might be the better option ...that (if i have counted right) will be us down to 8 ...ive still not heard from Ian Duffy yet so i may try to contact him the morn as i need an aye or naw..mibbies are no good at this moment in time...:agree:

01-06-2010, 12:40 PM
Right..we should have 10 def..this is the ammended hibs.net team...

Me (HH)
Tanfield (Andy)
Fat Stu (Stu)
Green Giant (Lee)
Lee's Dad
Barney Breslin
Lee's Granda
Lee's mate from Whitehouse
Woody (Andy's mate)

Two more would be superb though or even one more to make 3 trips & a pair ...:agree:

Andy ..get yer Captains hat on & get these guys intae winning teams ...:thumbsup:

01-06-2010, 01:36 PM
Right..we should have 10 def..this is the ammended hibs.net team...

Me (HH)
Tanfield (Andy)
Fat Stu (Stu)
Green Giant (Lee)
Lee's Dad
Barney Breslin
Lee's Granda
Lee's mate from Whitehouse
Woody (Andy's mate)

Two more would be superb though or even one more to make 3 trips & a pair ...:agree:

Andy ..get yer Captains hat on & get these guys intae winning teams ...:thumbsup:

He'll need a lot more than a captains hat to get that lot into a winning team :wink: :greengrin

01-06-2010, 01:46 PM
He'll need a lot more than a captains hat to get that lot into a winning team :wink: :greengrinNae worries Mike ...we just have a subtle blend of youth & experience....im confident in oor guys & oor Captain ..(wherever he is) :greengrin

Lee...just to re-iterate ...its a 2pm throw off ...THIS SAT !!!!! ...:greengrin

tanfield
02-06-2010, 10:50 PM
Nae worries Mike ...we just have a subtle blend of youth & experience....im confident in oor guys & oor Captain ..(wherever he is) :greengrin

Lee...just to re-iterate ...its a 2pm throw off ...THIS SAT !!!!! ...:greengrin

Still here Kenny :greengrin. Spoke to Lee tonight and just waiting to confirm the 10th man.

Assume that we will play a rink and 2 triples? You happy with that Mike?

03-06-2010, 01:00 AM
Still here Kenny :greengrin. Spoke to Lee tonight and just waiting to confirm the 10th man.

Assume that we will play a rink and 2 triples? You happy with that Mike?A rink & two trips sounds good Andy ..bring it on ...:thumbsup:.....:hnet:

03-06-2010, 07:16 AM
A rink & two trips sounds good Andy ..bring it on ...:thumbsup:.....:hnet:

Assume that we will play a rink and 2 triples? You happy with that Mike?

Was thinking more of two pairs and two triples but it mean guys carrying 4 rather 2 bowls so we can see who turns up with what.
Unfortunately, brother and nephew can't help you out but I still might have a couple of spare bods turning up on Saturday looking for a game. We can decide on the day depending on numbers.

04-06-2010, 07:19 AM
Gents,

Just in case you are all wanting to make plans for tomorrow evening and wondering what's happening after the Northern Hibees give you lot a damn good thrashing.
Unfortunately, the club has a function on tomorrow night and I have been asked if I can make sure we are finished by 6.00pm. The back lounge would be available for anyone who fancied staying on a bit longer but again, unfortunately, I now have a night out of my own to attend and will have to be leaving shortly after that anyway.

Still should be a good day out for us all and don't take your impending hammering too much to heart :thumbsup:

04-06-2010, 08:40 AM
Gents,

Just in case you are all wanting to make plans for tomorrow evening and wondering what's happening after the Northern Hibees give you lot a damn good thrashing.
Unfortunately, the club has a function on tomorrow night and I have been asked if I can make sure we are finished by 6.00pm. The back lounge would be available for anyone who fancied staying on a bit longer but again, unfortunately, I now have a night out of my own to attend and will have to be leaving shortly after that anyway.

Still should be a good day out for us all and don't take your impending hammering too much to heart :thumbsup:Plenty alcohol available during the game Mike ...we can celebrate whilst were tanking you ...easy peasy lemon squeasy :thumbsup:

05-06-2010, 02:54 AM
Good luck to the :hnet: boys...do us proud!

05-06-2010, 04:18 AM
Good luck to the :hnet: boys...do us proud!Cheers Deano ..gonna be tough as we have a few changes to last years team...however its on the day ...:hnet:....:thumbsup:

05-06-2010, 08:04 AM
Mike ....mind them hibs stickers ...:thumbsup:

Fat Stu
05-06-2010, 10:00 AM
Guys,sorry for my lateness in telling you but I won't be able tomake it today. Had some personal things going on the last couple of days.

05-06-2010, 05:21 PM
Well what a fantastic day for :hnet:

Well done guys on a hard fought win, i cant remember the final scores but im sure someone will be on later & tell us ...:thumbsup:

The sun was shining ..an absolute scorcher on a fantastic green ...great banter by both teams throughout ...:thumbsup:

Big hand & thanks to Mike Burns (MB62) for organising at his end, for the spread & for the trophy which im sure had Andy Sneddon shed a tear of emotion ...:cup:

Cannae wait for next year already !!!

Any bowlers out there fancy playing in this next year, dont be shy...stick your name on a bowls thread or pm me ..:thumbsup:

BarneyBreslin
05-06-2010, 05:24 PM
another comfortable win. if only all derbies were as easy as this one!

05-06-2010, 05:26 PM
another comfortable win. if only all derbies were as easy as this one!Prob is, if we beat them next year we get tae keep them ...gonna have tae make room on the mantle piece ....:greengrin

BarneyBreslin
05-06-2010, 05:41 PM
another comfortable win. if only all derbies were as easy as this one!

05-06-2010, 10:30 PM
Uploaded 2 pictures of the Win..., errrrrr, Hibs.net bowlers* onto my facebook if you can find me. Done it from my mobile and from pub so not sure how its turned out.

*Bowlers in the loosest sense of the word! These lucky bast.., um, players were getting rubs everywhere! Better being lucky than good I suppose! :-D

06-06-2010, 11:28 AM
Another fantastic afternoon out with all my bowling friends from the :hnet:
It was cracking afternoon and as Kenny said, the banter was excellent and made for a good laugh as
well as some semi-serious bowling.

I suppose the one disappointing thing about it is the lack of interest from a lot of bowlers on the :hnet:
Honestly folks, you are missing a really good day out and enjoyable bowling, whilst meeting a lot of
really friendly guys from both sides, not to mention a lot of enjoyable beer before, during and after.
It's not a closed shop to a select few, ANYBODY and EVERYBODY is welcomed along and we would
love to see more of you next year.
It is at the stage that there is so few of you wanting to take up the challenge against the Northern
Hibees that we have to let you win, just so we don't discourage those that are there from coming
along next year :wink: :greengrin

Congratulations to the lucky shower of, eh, I mean, to the :hnet: bowlers who did turn up and
managed to just scrape home by the skin of their teeth.

It was great to catch up with Andrew, Kenny, Lee and the lads for another great day out, see you next season if not before

06-06-2010, 01:52 PM
Cannae really add to that Mike ...other than my nightmare before ..during & after ....before ...down to Leith at half 1..Wife goes to cashline & realises she doesnt have her cards ....dilema as i wont have time to go back home ..result ..skint until Wife comes down wi some dosh ...during ..she phones me to say the car has broken down at Willowbrae ..RAC called out & car off the road (fuel injectors = expensive :boo hoo:)... result...im dry & gasping on a bevvy !! (thanks young Mike for getting me a pint..:thumbsup:)...after..nice rolls...great win for :hnet:...result ...:cup:

Finally ..taxi home ...result... £15 ...:boo hoo:

Cheers guys ...:thumbsup:

06-06-2010, 05:48 PM
Uploaded 2 pictures of the Win..., errrrrr, Hibs.net bowlers* onto my facebook if you can find me. Done it from my mobile and from pub so not sure how its turned out.

*Bowlers in the loosest sense of the word! These lucky bast.., um, players were getting rubs everywhere! Better being lucky than good I suppose! :-DCan ye no stick the pics up here ..means we all have to be added as yer friends on face book ...(ive requested you be mine..:greengrin)...

06-06-2010, 06:26 PM
Can ye no stick the pics up here ..means we all have to be added as yer friends on face book ...(ive requested you be mine..:greengrin)...

aw, Kenny, you got a friend at long last? maybe! :wink::greengrin

06-06-2010, 06:39 PM
Well what a fantastic day for :hnet:

Well done guys on a hard fought win, i cant remember the final scores but im sure someone will be on later & tell us ...:thumbsup:

The sun was shining ..an absolute scorcher on a fantastic green ...great banter by both teams throughout ...:thumbsup:

Big hand & thanks to Mike Burns (MB62) for organising at his end, for the spread & for the trophy which im sure had Andy Sneddon shed a tear of emotion ...:cup:

Cannae wait for next year already !!!

Any bowlers out there fancy playing in this next year, dont be shy...stick your name on a bowls thread or pm me ..:thumbsup:

Northern Hibees :hnet:

Skip Ian Miller - Skip Robert White
George Prentice - James McLennan Jnr
Jim Prentice - Scott Breslin

14 - 26

Skip Hughie Hilson - Skip Woody
Ian Mcdonald - Lee
Gus McKenzie - Tam Whitecross
Jim Porter - Jim McKenna

10 - 16

Skip Mike Burns - Skip Andrew Sneddon
Mike J. Burns - Kenny Coleman
John Young - Jim McLennan snr

16 - 13

Total score

Northern Hibees 41 v :hnet: 56

After my wonderful victory over Andrew Sneddon, I can safely come back down from his mantlepiece where I have been sitting for the past year :wink: :greengrin

06-06-2010, 07:04 PM
Hopefully these are the pictures up

They are up!

Can you believe we lost to this outfit?? :D

06-06-2010, 07:42 PM
Hopefully these are the pictures up

They are up!

Can you believe we lost to this outfit?? :DLooks can be deceiving...behind the ugly mugs are winning bowlers ...:greengrin

tanfield
07-06-2010, 11:30 AM
Great photo's Samba - cheers. Please take note tho - that is what winning boolers look like:thumbsup:.

A great day again on Saturday and a fantastic win for the :hnet: guys. I had to let Mike win at least one game although I had a chance to ping the shot out for 3 in the last end:boo hoo:

Thanks again Mike for all your hard work and to all the guys (from both sides) for taking part. I await with amusement to see what the Northern spin on this latest game will be:greengrin

07-06-2010, 12:18 PM
Great photo's Samba - cheers. Please take note tho - that is what winning boolers look like:thumbsup:.

A great day again on Saturday and a fantastic win for the :hnet: guys. I had to let Mike win at least one game although I had a chance to ping the shot out for 3 in the last end:boo hoo:

Thanks again Mike for all your hard work and to all the guys (from both sides) for taking part. I await with amusement to see what the Northern spin on this latest game will be:greengrin

The green was too fast for us, the sun was too hot, the grass wasn't green enough, Stan the Jambo green ranger had the settings all wonky, the hedge needed cut, I didn't like the flowers, the opposition stole my pen and paper, it didn't rain early enough. :boo hoo: :boo hoo: :boo hoo: :boo hoo:

07-06-2010, 01:54 PM
The green was too fast for us, the sun was too hot, the grass wasn't green enough, Stan the Jambo green ranger had the settings all wonky, the hedge needed cut, I didn't like the flowers, the opposition stole my pen and paper, it didn't rain early enough. :boo hoo: :boo hoo: :boo hoo: :boo hoo:So..other than that ..:greengrin

Bowlers looking in ...this aint a closed shop, we would welcome more to help the :hnet: cause, the last 3 years have been superb with everyone mixing, drinking & enjoying the banter as well as playing some bowls, you dont have to be a seasoned bowler....Mike Burns will announce a date for (hopefully) late June next year ...stick that in yer diaries & get yer erkies along ...:thumbsup:

07-06-2010, 02:24 PM
So..other than that ..:greengrin

Bowlers looking in ...this aint a closed shop, we would welcome more to help the :hnet: cause, the last 3 years have been superb with everyone mixing, drinking & enjoying the banter as well as playing some bowls, you dont have to be a seasoned bowler....Mike Burns will announce a date for (hopefully) late June next year ...stick that in yer diaries & get yer erkies along ...:thumbsup:

If you enjoy a game of bowls with a wee bit of an edge, but more enjoyable banter than anything else, a good laugh and a good bevy, then fellow Hibbies, this is certainly the game to get involved in. We would absolutely love more Hibbies to get involved, it's a great also of meeting each other and putting faces to names. For instance, I had never met Kenny until we played in this game and I now consider him to be a good friend of mine and look forward to catching up for a few beers and blether about bowls, but mainly about Hibs :greengrin

We will invite EVERYBODY along next year to this fixture via P.M's and hope you can all make it. You can try it once and if it doesn't suit you, then hopefully no harm done, but we are confident you will be looking forward to the next year's game.

Hibbies having a laugh and a beer together, how much better can it get?

07-06-2010, 02:51 PM
Remember...bowling aint an old mans sport anymore ..that photo is deceiving !!! :greengrin

It was also great to see 3 generations of the Mclennan clan out there on Sat ....young Lee looked to be enjoying his second year playing for the :hnet: team ..as did his dad ....i couldnt though have spoken to a more proud man than Lee's Grandad who made his :hnet: debut leading the way in my triple...after the game as we shared a smoke he said "Ive had a fantastic day & its great to see three generations of my family on the same green"

That to me is what this is all about, the "auld yin" for a newcomer battled away & was unfazed by a few wayward bowls but was encouraged by playing a few stingers, he brought back memories of my late Father in Law & i for one was delighted that he in particular enjoyed the game ...to end he also said "That was a quick game"...QUICK ..?...i was blowin oot ma erse & needed oxygen !!! :greengrin

Haste ye back auld Jim ...:thumbsup:

07-06-2010, 02:57 PM
aw, Kenny, you got a friend at long last? maybe! :wink::greengrinIm due him a couple o Magners Mike ...he is gonna have tae be my friend until at least after next years game ...:thumbsup: