View Full Version : English Teams at Easter Road

07-02-2010, 02:06 PM
As it's a quiet time in the Ancient Hibee household I thought I'd list all the English teams I can remember seeing at Easter Road.Like most auld codgers my 50 year ago memory is better than last year so I may have missed some recent ones.Anyone got any more?

Man.United
Arsenal
Liverpool
Spurs
Man.City
Everton
Burnley
Bolton
Wolves
Newcastle
Middesborough
Bristol City
Preston
Leeds

07-02-2010, 02:08 PM
aston villa at least twice

07-02-2010, 02:09 PM
Charlton

FraserHFC
07-02-2010, 02:10 PM
We played Charlton a couple of years ago and they were a Premiership club at the time. Won 3-2 IIRC

Sheffield Wednesday, Sunderland, Charlton...

Charlton Athletic and Blackburn Rovers.

07-02-2010, 02:11 PM
aston villa at least twice
Sunderland. Cardiff City, I know they aint English but they play in England

07-02-2010, 02:12 PM
Wigan

Hartlepool (in a "glamour friendly" before 05/06)

Green_one
As it's a quiet time in the Ancient Hibee household I thought I'd list all the English teams I can remember seeing at Easter Road.Like most auld codgers my 50 year ago memory is better than last year so I may have missed some recent ones.Anyone got any more?

Chelsea and West Bom

07-02-2010, 02:13 PM
if it's English League teams as oppossed to English teams, we played Cardiff.

Was it the day of the Cardiff or the Leeds game when there was loads of bother?

07-02-2010, 02:15 PM
Queens Park Rangers

07-02-2010, 02:19 PM
Coventry City? I'm sure I remember John Salako playing for them at ER.

07-02-2010, 02:19 PM
if it's English League teams as oppossed to English teams, we played Cardiff.

Was it the day of the Cardiff or the Leeds game when there was loads of bother?

There was a ridiculous set of fixtures one preseason when both Hibs and Hearts were both playing at home against teams from down south with a "reputation", can't remember off the top of my head which ones though.

ChrissyG1875
07-02-2010, 02:25 PM
Charlton

Is that the one where Benji scored one of the best goals I've seen in my life?

Eric
07-02-2010, 02:27 PM
There was a ridiculous set of fixtures one preseason when both Hibs and Hearts were both playing at home against teams from down south with a "reputation", can't remember off the top of my head which ones though.

May have been Hibs v Chelsea on the same day as Hearts v Watford. As Watford is my English team I broke the habit of a lifetime and went along to support them.:wink:

Jumbo
07-02-2010, 02:29 PM
Derby County, Centenary Friendly before 75/76 season

07-02-2010, 02:33 PM
Berwick Rangers

07-02-2010, 02:34 PM
Berwick Rangers
Forgot about them.

07-02-2010, 02:34 PM
Luton Town. A riveting 0-0 draw IIRC

07-02-2010, 02:44 PM
Nottingham Forest in '66

DL1960
07-02-2010, 02:46 PM
Leicester late 70's with Jock Wallace in charge and shower of blue noses in the old enclosure.
Man City? I think also around 78, when we had a preason 4 team tournament. Us, Yams, Coventry and Man City.

07-02-2010, 02:47 PM
West Ham, a few years back.

07-02-2010, 02:49 PM
Recall going to see Hibs v West Ham at ER in July 1998.

1-1 draw IIRC - Hibs scored with a penalty

07-02-2010, 02:50 PM
Recall going to see Hibs v West Ham at ER in July 1998.

1-1 draw IIRC - Hibs scored with a penalty

Berkovic for West Ham iirc?

killie-hibby
07-02-2010, 05:17 PM
Sunderland at ER,late 50's or early 60's. Brian Clough was in their team.
Also remember combined Hibs/Hearts select playing in pre season charity games against top English sides.

07-02-2010, 05:41 PM
Was that not Gordon Hunter's testimonial?

Did not the Ginger Dwarf appear for Hibs in the second half?

07-02-2010, 05:53 PM
Full List of Friendlies from 1875

Blackburn Rovers
Bolton Wanderers
Accrington Stanley (who are they) :greengrin
Stoke City
West Bromwich Albion
Middlesborough
Aston Villa
Notts County
Nottingham Forrest
Preston North End
Sheffield United
Sheffield Wednesday
Sunderland
Newcastle United
Hull City
Tottenham Hotspur
Manchester City
Liverpool
Arsenal
Hartlepool
Charleton Athletic
Cardiff City
Wigan
Leicester City
Chelsea
Leeds United
Queens Park Rangers
Everton

Europe and Anglo Scottish
Liverpool
Leeds
Blackburn Rovers

07-02-2010, 06:05 PM
Surely it would be quicker to list all the teams from the EPL and Championship who have never been to ER. If there are any

hibbybrian
07-02-2010, 06:31 PM

Blackburn Rovers
Bolton Wanderers
Stoke City
West Bromwich Albion
Middlesborough
Aston Villa
Notts County
Nottingham Forrest
Preston North End
Sheffield United
Sheffield Wednesday
Sunderland
Newcastle United
Hull City
Tottenham Hotspur
Manchester City
Liverpool
Arsenal
Hartlepool
Charleton Athletic
Cardiff City
Wigan
Leicester City
Chelsea
Leeds United
Queens Park Rangers
Everton

Liverpool
Leeds
Blackburn Rovers

Technically Notts County and Accrington Stanley haven't played at Easter Road Stadium as the games were played at the old "Hibernian Park" over the railway line from the present stadium :devil: - if you include the old park then you can add:

Church Lancashire
Corinthian's English Select
Holmes Zulus of Sheffield (charity team)
Newcastle Tyne Association

Additional English teams to have played at Easter Road:

Barnsley
Bristol City
Wolves
Bradford City
Middlesborough Ironopolis :greengrin

07-02-2010, 06:42 PM

Gary McAllister was absolutely brilliant that day and showed what a fantastic player he was. He was getting it tight from the Hibs fans because he was very vocal about the Scotland v Lithuania World Cup qualifier being switched from ER to Parkhead. In hindsight, he was spot on as a full house watched Scotland qualify.

I remember when he got subbed he received a standing ovation from the main stand.

07-02-2010, 07:00 PM
Technically Notts County and Accrington Stanley haven't played at Easter Road Stadium as the games were played at the old "Hibernian Park" over the railway line from the present stadium :devil: - if you include the old park then you can add:

Church Lancashire
Corinthian's English Select
Holmes Zulus of Sheffield (charity team)
Newcastle Tyne Association

Additional English teams to have played at Easter Road:

Barnsley
Bristol City
Wolves
Bradford City
Middlesborough Ironopolis :greengrin
Also Burnley (against Edinburgh Select).

07-02-2010, 07:00 PM
Rangers, twice a season.

mouvran
07-02-2010, 09:47 PM

You dont happen to know the score of that one?

07-02-2010, 11:51 PM
You dont happen to know the score of that one?

1-0 to Derby

07-02-2010, 11:57 PM
Sunderland at ER,late 50's or early 60's. Brian Clough was in their team.
Also remember combined Hibs/Hearts select playing in pre season charity games against top English sides.

Might that have been Middlesbrough rather than Sunderland?

Hibs 6 Boro 6 on 2/11/1959 Joe Baker (3), Bobby Johnstone (2), Willie Ormond

Ten days later we beat them 4-3 at Ayresome Park - Tommy Preston, Joe Baker, Willie Ormond, Johnny McLeod

08-02-2010, 12:06 AM
Stoke, sometime in the mid 70's - Gordon Banks played for them that night near the end of his career. Only one yak as well, amazing goalie still. Garth Crooks made his debut.

08-02-2010, 12:08 AM
Stoke, sometime in the mid 70's - Gordon Banks played for them that night near the end of his career. Only one yak as well, amazing goalie still. Garth Crooks made his debut.

16/11/76 Hibs 0 Stoke 1

08-02-2010, 12:11 AM

16/11/76 Hibs 0 Stoke 1

Cheers J.

9 days before my 16th Birthday. That was a weird mid-week friendly to arrange. Also remember it was quite foggy.

akita
08-02-2010, 12:49 AM
Rangers, twice a season.

Beat me to it .....

08-02-2010, 01:00 AM
Wigan are the most recent English team to play us at ER i think.

sven nil
08-02-2010, 05:28 AM

HELLO FOLKS FIRST POSTER!

Yes that was my first ever game.remember being in dunbar end and a massive crowd ,think we got beat 1 nil.

Bobster
08-02-2010, 07:13 AM
Re. Stoke game when Gordon Banks played: I'm sure Garth Crooks scored the only goal that night with five minutes to go.

12AlbionPlace
08-02-2010, 11:14 AM
Re. Stoke game when Gordon Banks played: I'm sure Garth Crooks scored the only goal that night with five minutes to go.

I knew there was a reason i don't like him:greengrin

I remember waiting for Banks autograph at the players entrance under the west stand, bit different now!

A visit to the loft is in order to dig that programme out.

Bobster
08-02-2010, 11:31 AM
Don't think Man City have played Hibs at ER. They played Coventry at ER in the Skol pre-season tournament thingy in the late 70s and Hibs played Man City at Tynecastle when Joe Corrigan laid out Colin Campbell.
Remember the Man City fans chanting "Subbuteo" towards the old Albion Road end enclosure which I suppose was quite funny at the time.

hibbybrian
08-02-2010, 12:01 PM
Don't think Man City have played Hibs at ER.

1-Nov 1955 Hibernian 2-1 Manchester City Friendly
25-Nov 1957 Hibernian 5-2 Manchester City Friendly
3-Aug 1984 Hibernian 0-0 Manchester City Friendly

killie-hibby
08-02-2010, 12:21 PM

Ten days later we beat them 4-3 at Ayresome Park - Tommy Preston, Joe Baker, Willie Ormond, Johnny McLeod

Yes, it was Middlesbrough. Memories fade,dont keep written records. But should have remembered from reading The Damned United.

Bobster
08-02-2010, 01:40 PM
Thanks HibbyBrian for correcting me. Should have guessed I was wrong given the Bobby Johnstone link.

06-04-2021, 03:05 PM
Hibs are listed as beating Manchester City 5-2 in a November 1957 friendly match.

Has anyone got any details of who was in the Hibs team and who scored?

06-04-2021, 03:15 PM
Our record against English sides must be pretty decent. Can't really remember many defeats in pre season games

06-04-2021, 03:28 PM
Hibs are listed as beating Manchester City 5-2 in a November 1957 friendly match.

Has anyone got any details of who was in the Hibs team and who scored?

Ormond 2
Turnbull
Baker
Harrower

Man City side included Bert Trautmann Ken Barnes Dave Ewing and Bobby Johnstone

Two days later:

Middlesborough 0 v 5 Hibernian

Harrower 2
Preston 2
Ormond

06-04-2021, 03:34 PM
Ormond 2
Turnbull
Baker
Harrower

Two days later:

Harrower 2
Preston 2
Ormond

Speaking of Middlesboro, I have very vague memories of a pre-season friendly v them which featured Norbert Stiles. Must have been early 70's. I suppose the toothless one was rather famous and it stuck with me that he played. Hibs lost that game?

06-04-2021, 03:45 PM
Speaking of Middlesboro, I have very vague memories of a pre-season friendly v them which featured Norbert Stiles. Must have been early 70's. I suppose the toothless one was rather famous and it stuck with me that he played. Hibs lost that game?

Yip crunched Bertie Auld who was making his debut

Bertie fell awkwardly and ‘did’ his collar bone

Tam McNiven came on and informed Bertie he would have to come off

Bertie says “ Give me 5 minutes “

Two minutes later Nobby is getting carried off on a stretcher

Think we lost 0-2 two late goals

It was also Ned’s first official game in charge

06-04-2021, 03:46 PM

Nice thread to resurrect.

This was the game when the England Selection Committee came up to ER to watch both Baker and Clough go head to head. Baker scored a hat trick and made his full England debut 16 days later getting a goal and an assist.

http://www.englandfootballonline.com/Seas1946-60/1959-60/M0337NIr1959.html

06-04-2021, 03:54 PM
Footage of Baker's England debut on youtube. 19 years old.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_uLb31pq7WY

At 19secs you can see that irate Jambo guy who does his "I'm angry" vlog in his jammies.

norhfc
06-04-2021, 03:58 PM

Was that late 70s early 80s, I mind loads of sticky buns turned up cos Jock Wallace was the CC manager at the time. There was bother outside the main stand and along ER after the game with the buns.

06-04-2021, 04:02 PM
Yip crunched Bertie Auld who was making his debut

Bertie fell awkwardly and ‘did’ his collar bone

Tam McNiven came on and informed Bertie he would have to come off

Bertie says “ Give me 5 minutes “

Two minutes later Nobby is getting carried off on a stretcher

Think we lost 0-2 two late goals

It was also Ned’s first official game in charge

My selective powers of recall amaze me, this must have been before the start of 71-72 season? I'd have been 7, coming on 8. Must have been easily impressed (by seeing the great Nobby).

06-04-2021, 04:09 PM
Ormond 2
Turnbull
Baker
Harrower

Two days later:

Harrower 2
Preston 2
Ormond
Thanks very much for the information.

Dan Sarf
06-04-2021, 04:13 PM
Anyone remember a friendly against Middlesborough at Easter Rd, must have been in the early 70s?

Jack Charlton was their manager.

They played a hundred-miles-an-hour pressing game (first time I'd witnessed it) and wiped the floor with the Hibees. I think it was about 0-4.

heidtheba
06-04-2021, 04:53 PM
Gary McAllister was absolutely brilliant that day and showed what a fantastic player he was. He was getting it tight from the Hibs fans because he was very vocal about the Scotland v Lithuania World Cup qualifier being switched from ER to Parkhead. In hindsight, he was spot on as a full house watched Scotland qualify.

I remember when he got subbed he received a standing ovation from the main stand.

Yeah, I remember that one too. Was that 96/97 or 98? Pre-season friendly. I think Nii Lamptey might have played (which I wanted to see as he was the first 'superplayer' in Championship Manager...)

06-04-2021, 04:58 PM
Anyone remember a friendly against Middlesborough at Easter Rd, must have been in the early 70s?

Jack Charlton was their manager.

They played a hundred-miles-an-hour pressing game (first time I'd witnessed it) and wiped the floor with the Hibees. I think it was about 0-4.

Eh, six posts further down :greengrin

06-04-2021, 05:02 PM
Early memories of Shearer playing against us for Blackburn, getting subbed to a chorus of ‘what a waste of money!’....they’d just signed him for a massive fee, in those days. Can someone verify this as I may have dreamed it🤔😂

06-04-2021, 05:04 PM
Nice thread to resurrect.

This was the game when the England Selection Committee came up to ER to watch both Baker and Clough go head to head. Baker scored a hat trick and made his full England debut 16 days later getting a goal and an assist.

http://www.englandfootballonline.com/Seas1946-60/1959-60/M0337NIr1959.html

Ex Celtic player Willie Fernie made Middlesborough tick. Between him and Johnstone it was a master class in inside forward play.Fernie orchestrated a free kick routine-three players made dummy runs at the ball and the fourth player almost smashed the bar, the ball rebounded nearly to half way-Johnstone chipped their defence and Joe rounded the keeper and put it in the net. Some things you never forget.

berwickhibee
06-04-2021, 05:07 PM
Early memories of Shearer playing against us for Blackburn, getting subbed to a chorus of ‘what a waste of money!’....they’d just signed him for a massive fee, in those days. Can someone verify this as I may have dreamed it🤔😂

Pumped them 3-0, hibs were brilliant.

Mickey weir tore them to bits

Lendo
06-04-2021, 05:13 PM
Is that the one where Benji scored one of the best goals I've seen in my life?

Was that the one where Fletcher had the ball played in to his feet, back to goal, open his legs and let the ball run underneath through to Benji?

06-04-2021, 05:20 PM
I ken I’m getting auld but I seem to remember pumping Chelsea at ER in 1985 or 86 and Willie Irvine ( the other one) scoring a hat trick. Am I totally imagining that?!

06-04-2021, 05:29 PM
I ken I’m getting auld but I seem to remember pumping Chelsea at ER in 1985 or 86 and Willie Irvine ( the other one) scoring a hat trick. Am I totally imagining that?!

1986 4-1 Hibs. The game was part of the Durie transfer deal. Remember singing: "You should have stayed with Hibees".

http://thechels.info/wiki/1986-87_Friendlies

06-04-2021, 05:32 PM
Ex Celtic player Willie Fernie made Middlesborough tick. Between him and Johnstone it was a master class in inside forward play.Fernie orchestrated a free kick routine-three players made dummy runs at the ball and the fourth player almost smashed the bar, the ball rebounded nearly to half way-Johnstone chipped their defence and Joe rounded the keeper and put it in the net. Some things you never forget.

Brilliant, AH. Thanks for vivid description. :top marks

green with envy
06-04-2021, 05:41 PM
Was that late 70s early 80s, I mind loads of sticky buns turned up cos Jock Wallace was the CC manager at the time. There was bother outside the main stand and along ER after the game with the buns.

I believe you're getting mixed up with Leicester City. Kicked off big time outside then the Macs bar. I went down for the second game to Filbert St on a freezing January night to see 2-0 victory.

06-04-2021, 05:42 PM
Coventry City? I'm sure I remember John Salako playing for them at ER. From a different era but we played Coventry who wore a Chocolate Brown kit in the Skol Trophy around 1980 I would guess

green with envy
06-04-2021, 05:44 PM
From a different era but we played Coventry who wore a Chocolate Brown kit in the Skol Trophy around 1980 I would guess

1977 from memory.

norhfc
06-04-2021, 06:00 PM
I believe you're getting mixed up with Leicester City. Kicked off big time outside then the Macs bar. I went down for the second game to Filbert St on a freezing January night to see 2-0 victory.

Ah your right, just googled it, Jock Wallace was Leicester City manager from 78 to 82.

06-04-2021, 06:13 PM
My first Hibs match was against Newcastle Utd at Easter Road, 1969 I think. Sure it was a 0-0 draw.

berwickhibee
06-04-2021, 06:29 PM

Blackburn Rovers
Bolton Wanderers
Stoke City
West Bromwich Albion
Middlesborough
Aston Villa
Notts County
Nottingham Forrest
Preston North End
Sheffield United
Sheffield Wednesday
Sunderland
Newcastle United
Hull City
Tottenham Hotspur
Manchester City
Liverpool
Arsenal
Hartlepool
Charleton Athletic
Cardiff City
Wigan
Leicester City
Chelsea
Leeds United
Queens Park Rangers
Everton

Liverpool
Leeds
Blackburn Rovers

Man utd

06-04-2021, 06:39 PM
From a different era but we played Coventry who wore a Chocolate Brown kit in the Skol Trophy around 1980 I would guess

That must be one of the worst strips ever made

berwickhibee
06-04-2021, 06:54 PM
That must be one of the worst strips ever made

One of the worst at the time but iconic now, Ian Wallace stood out in it😁

06-04-2021, 07:00 PM
Bristol City hacking bassas two players sent off one of them Peter Cormack

Championship of the World 1887

Hibernian 2 v 1 Preston North End

06-04-2021, 07:01 PM
I remember us at home to Middlesboro in a pre-season game around 2004, Stewart Downing was playing for Middlesboro and he was different class, thundering in long range shots with both feet and basically running the show. He went on to have a really good career but I honestly thought he'd have an even better one, he looked a stand-out.

06-04-2021, 07:09 PM
I remember us at home to Middlesboro in a pre-season game around 2004, Stewart Downing was playing for Middlesboro and he was different class, thundering in long range shots with both feet and basically running the show. He went on to have a really good career but I honestly thought he'd have an even better one, he looked a stand-out.

Remember that. 35 England caps - not a bad shift tbf .....

06-04-2021, 07:19 PM
Remember that. 35 England caps - not a bad shift tbf .....

Aye not bad at all!

06-04-2021, 07:25 PM

We played Boro a couple times in the 00s, 1-0 win in 07 (Ross Campbell late winner) and 2-3 the following season (Fletcher double, then we collapsed).

CJHibby
06-04-2021, 08:09 PM
Stoke City with one Gordon Banks in goal, late 70's if I can be sure..can't remember the score...help anyone??

hibby rae
06-04-2021, 08:22 PM
We played Boro a couple times in the 00s, 1-0 win in 07 (Ross Campbell late winner) and 2-3 the following season (Fletcher double, then we collapsed).

I remember playing them when Gascoigne played for them too.

Think it was 1-0 but no idea if it was to us or them.

My first ever Hibs game was the 2-2 draw with Chelsea. Also Keith Wright's debut.

EI255
06-04-2021, 08:24 PM
Early memories of Shearer playing against us for Blackburn, getting subbed to a chorus of ‘what a waste of money!’....they’d just signed him for a massive fee, in those days. Can someone verify this as I may have dreamed it[emoji848][emoji23]I remember that game (and chant) well too! Pretty sure he'd just signed earlier that day too. But he did play that day on his debut and was subject to some fancy "chants"

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

06-04-2021, 08:32 PM
Stoke City with one Gordon Banks in goal, late 70's if I can be sure..can't remember the score...help anyone??

16/11/1976 Friendly Challenge Match

Hibernian 0 v 1 Stoke City

Garth Crooks

06-04-2021, 08:37 PM

Really? I assume it must have been the 2007 game, seems a long long time ago.

06-04-2021, 08:42 PM
Man utd

Boxing Day 1981, snow covered terracing. 1-1 draw.

06-04-2021, 09:09 PM
1-Nov 1955 Hibernian 2-1 Manchester City Friendly
25-Nov 1957 Hibernian 5-2 Manchester City Friendly
3-Aug 1984 Hibernian 0-0 Manchester City Friendly

1979 Skol Festival

August 4th Hibernian 2 - Hearts 1 (Easter Road)
August 4th Coventry 3 - Manchester City 1 (Easter Road)

August 8th Hearts 1 - Manchester City 1 (Easter Road)
August 8th Hibernian 0 - Coventry 0 (Easter Road)

I was there on 8th. Two of the worst games of football that I have ever seen.

06-04-2021, 09:21 PM
1979 Skol Festival

I was there on 8th. Two of the worst games of football that I have ever seen.I was at all 4 ER matches and 2 at Tynecastle on the 6th . My main memory of the tournament is very narrowly missing a kicking on way out of Tynecastle from a brave group of Jambos who`d waited 2 hours to attack lone Hibbies .

Wakeyhibee
06-04-2021, 09:22 PM

I recall the song at the game, cant remember if it was when he was subbed or just in general.

06-04-2021, 09:26 PM
16/11/1976 Friendly Challenge Match

Hibernian 0 v 1 Stoke City

Garth CrooksRemember this match for the fog as someone else mentioned earlier in the thread ( about 10 years ago ?! ) . I was in a near empty Dunbar End and could hardly see the Cave end . I remember Crooks but hadn`t realised it was his debut . Was it Wayne Rooney`s debut when we played Everton ?

The Baldmans Comb
06-04-2021, 09:28 PM
There was a pre match game against Hartlepool maybe around 10 years ago and thats all I can remember about it.

06-04-2021, 09:44 PM
We must be near to listing every English team we`ve played at home so another thread could be English teams we`ve played away . Even shorter , English teams we`ve played outside Scotland or England . We played Notts Forest in Portugal in 2013 ( ? ) and probably played English sides in pre season tournaments on Isle of Man in 80s ( ? ) .

Dan Sarf
06-04-2021, 09:55 PM
Eh, six posts further down :greengrin

Thanks. Any idea what the score was?

06-04-2021, 09:56 PM
Thanks. Any idea what the score was?
0-2

06-04-2021, 10:10 PM
Pretty sure I remember Wayne Rooney playing against for Everton in a pre-season game also.

06-04-2021, 10:38 PM
Alan Shearer's debut for Blackburn Rovers was at Easter Rd - Hibs won 3-0.

houstonhibbee
07-04-2021, 01:40 AM
Pretty sure I remember Wayne Rooney playing against for Everton in a pre-season game also.
I think it was his debut and scored twice in a 2-2 draw around 1999/2000?

07-04-2021, 05:48 AM
I think it was his debut and scored twice in a 2-2 draw around 1999/2000?

Sure he only scored the first ( A header )

07-04-2021, 06:18 AM
Hibernian 2 v 2 Everton 2002

O’Connor 37
McManus 50

Everton :

Rooney 30
Unsworth pen 86

Everton goalkeeper Richard Wright made his debut for the toffees

Wayne Rooney 16 had played for the first team before his off the top of the shoulder header being his eighth goal that summer

HIBS Colgan Orman Smith Dempsie Murray Townsley O’Neil Brebner Arpinon Luna and O’Connor

Subs Doumbe Hilland Byle McManus Whittaker Nicol

Everton Wright Said Weir Stubbs Pistone Alexandersson Graveson Linderoth Unsworth Radzinski and Rooney

Subs Loumboutis Pembridge Carsley Naysmith Campbell and McLeod

McManus and Rooney booked for handbags on 62 minutes Thomas Gravesen booked 69 minutes and immediately subbed

Att 8325 ( away fans 913 )

Stonewall
07-04-2021, 06:34 AM
Remember this match for the fog as someone else mentioned earlier in the thread ( about 10 years ago ?! ) . I was in a near empty Dunbar End and could hardly see the Cave end . I remember Crooks but hadn`t realised it was his debut . Was it Wayne Rooney`s debut when we played Everton ?

i remember being in the Dunbar End for that game too.

Unfortunately the main thing I remember is the level of racist abuse being dished out to Crooks. I was 15 at the time and laughed along with it but afterwards felt quite uneasy about what had happened. Had quite a profound affect on me.

07-04-2021, 07:09 AM
I remember us playing and beating Sheffield Wednesday in a pre season circa 1994.

Can’t remember the score. 2-1 rings a bell. Chris Bart Williams played for Wednesday.

07-04-2021, 07:56 AM
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?305832-Hibs-vs-West-Ham

07-04-2021, 08:00 AM
Hibernian 2 v 2 Everton 2002

O’Connor 37
McManus 50

Everton :

Rooney 30
Unsworth pen 86

Everton goalkeeper Richard Wright made his debut for the toffees

Wayne Rooney 16 had played for the first team before his off the top of the shoulder header being his eighth goal that summer

HIBS Colgan Orman Smith Dempsie Murray Townsley O’Neil Brebner Arpinon Luna and O’Connor

Subs Doumbe Hilland Byle McManus Whittaker Nicol

Everton Wright Said Weir Stubbs Pistone Alexandersson Graveson Linderoth Unsworth Radzinski and Rooney

Subs Loumboutis Pembridge Carsley Naysmith Campbell and McLeod

McManus and Rooney booked for handbags on 62 minutes Thomas Gravesen booked 69 minutes and immediately subbed

Att 8325 ( away fans 913 )

Remember that game well, Everton also played Dunfermline the same weekend, I was at both games.

Bobo
07-04-2021, 08:08 AM
This is a good list showing fixtures and results of matches played between Scottish and English clubs from 1872 - 2005. It seems fairly comprehensive despite not being fully up to date.

http://www.rsssf.com/tablesa/angloscot-club.html

07-04-2021, 08:12 AM
I remember us playing and beating Sheffield Wednesday in a pre season circa 1994.

Can’t remember the score. 2-1 rings a bell. Chris Bart Williams played for Wednesday.

There we go. 3-2

7-8-1994 Hibernian FC-Sheffield Wednesday 3-2

TelaStella
07-04-2021, 09:16 AM
I remember under Collins we took care of a pretty tidy Bolton team in pre season, 3-0 if I recall right? Came back from 2 down to draw with Middlesbrough later that same week- Filipe Morais stealing the show.

“Premier league yer having a laugh” was the favourite of the old East’s.

Dan Sarf
07-04-2021, 09:26 AM
0-2

Thank you!

EI255
07-04-2021, 10:27 AM
1979 Skol Festival

I was there on 8th. Two of the worst games of football that I have ever seen.Bring back that tournament!

EI255
07-04-2021, 10:28 AM
We also played Swansea early 80s (kind of English, even though they are Welsh [emoji848])

07-04-2021, 11:42 AM
Pre season Versus West Brom 74/75. 0 -2 or 1-2. First friendly I'd attended and only time in the old South Enclosure.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

hibby rae
07-04-2021, 12:59 PM
There was a pre match game against Hartlepool maybe around 10 years ago and thats all I can remember about it.

Think it waa about 2007? Seem to recall a dire 1-0 win and Sproule scoring.

07-04-2021, 01:38 PM
This is a good list showing fixtures and results of matches played between Scottish and English clubs from 1872 - 2005. It seems fairly comprehensive despite not being fully up to date.

http://www.rsssf.com/tablesa/angloscot-club.html

Anyone think that Scottish clubs rarely go to England yet the opposite is true with English clubs coming up to Scotland more.

I’ve been to 3 pre season games in England.

Bolton and Blackburn were in the same week in 2009. And took the kids up to Shrewsbury back in 2016.

I missed the game in Blackpool in 2010 as I was moving house and I don’t count Carlisle or Berwick as they are practically in Scotland for me to travel to.

I dream of a West Country pre season tour.

Sadly the League Cup and Euro games has put paid to that.

andudare2
07-04-2021, 01:46 PM
Remember that game well, Everton also played Dunfermline the same weekend, I was at both games.Dunfermline v Everton was on the Saturday, my son came on as a sub for the Pars,Hibs v Everton was midweek, like yourself i was at both games.

Bobo
07-04-2021, 02:17 PM
Game details shown below are taken from my Programme collection so not fully comprehensive :

Season Opponent Score H/A
1949-50 Aston Villa
2-5 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-0 A
1951-52 Bolton Wanderers
2-2 H
Manchester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-1 A
1952-53 Manchester United
7-3 H
Arsenal
1-7 A
1953-54 Hull City
3-2 A
Sheffield Utd
3-3 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-3 A
1954-55 Derby County
3-3 A
Reading
2-2 A
1955-56 Newcastle United
2-1 A
Huddersfield Town
2-3 A
1956-57 Newcastle Utd
1-3 H
Newcastle United
1-2 A
Leicester City
2-3 H
Tottenham Hotspur
3-3 A
Liverpool
1-2 H
Leicester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-5 H
1957-58 Wolves
2-3 H
Manchester City
5-2 H
Liverpool
3-3 A
Manchester City
0-1 A
Middlesbrough
5-0 A
British Army
Postponed H
1958-59 Tottenham Hotspur
0-4 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-5 A
British Army 1-6 H
1959-60 Bolton Wanderers
4-2 H
Manchester City
1-1 A
Middlesbrough
6-6 H
Manchester United
0-4 H
Leicester City
1-0 A
Portsmouth
3-3 A
1960-61 Middlesbrough
2-4 H
1961-62 Bolton Wanderers
2-0 H
Everton
1-1 H
1963-64 Queens Park Rangers
1-5 H
1966-67 Nottingham Forest
3-2 H
Hull City
1-3 A
1967-68 Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1968-69 Newcastle Utd
1-2 H
Birmingham City
2-0 A
Coventry City
Postponed A
1969-70 Newcastle Utd
0-0 H
Coventry City
1-1 A
Aston Villa
1-4 H
1970-71 Wigan Athletic
1-1 A
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1971-72 Middlesbrough
0-2 H
York City
1-2 A
1972-73 West Bromwich Albion
0-2 H
1975-76 Derby County
0-1 H
1976-77 Stoke City
0-1 H
Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1977-78 Blackburn Rovers
1-0 A
Bristol City
3-5 A
1978-79 Leicester City
2-0 A
1979-80 Manchester City
1-1 N
Coventry City
0-0 H
Leicester City
3-2 H
1980-81 Swansea City
1-1 H
1982-83 Swansea City
1-0 H
1983-84 Queens Park Rangers
2-3 H
Swansea City
1-0 H
1984-85 Newcastle Utd
0-3 H
Manchester City
0-0 H
Middlesbrough
0-0 H
1986-87 Chelsea
4-1 H
1987-88 Wigan Athletic
3-6 N
Isle of Man XI
7-1 N
Stoke City
1-1 N
1988-89 Manchester Utd
0-3 H
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1989-90 Aston Villa
0-1 A
Burnley
1-0 A
1990-91 Millwall
1-1 A
1991-92 Aston Villa
4-2 H
1994-95 Sheffield Wednesday
3-2 H
1995-96 Middlesbrough
0-0 H
Queens Park Rangers
2-1 H
1996-97 Coventry City
3-2 H
Stoke City
1-0 H
1997-98 Coventry City
0-2 H
1998-99 West Ham Utd
1-1 H
Barnsley
0-0 H
Macclesfield Town
0-0 A
1999-00 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2002-03 Everton
2-2 H
2003-04 Sunderland
2-2 H
2004-05 Cardiff City
2-1 H
Leeds Utd
1-3 H
2005-06 Hartlepool United
1-0 H
2006-07 Charlton Athletic
3-2 H
2007-08 Bolton Wanderers
3-0 H
2007-08 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2008-09 Middlesbrough
2-3 H
2009-10 Preston North End
1-3 H
Blackburn Rovers
0-0 A
Bolton Wanderers
0-0 A
2010-11 Carlisle Utd
0-1 A
Blackpool
2-1 A
2011-12 Barnsley
Postponed H
Sunderland
0-0 H
2012-13 Huddersfield Town
2-2 H
2016-17 Birmingham City
1-0 H
2017-18 Sunderland
2-2 H
2018-19 Blackburn Rovers
0-2 H
2019-20 Newcastle Utd
1-3 H

Dan Sarf
07-04-2021, 03:50 PM
Game details shown below are taken from my Programme collection so not fully comprehensive :

1949-50 Aston Villa
2-5 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-0 A
1951-52 Bolton Wanderers
2-2 H
Manchester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-1 A
7-3 H
Arsenal
1-7 A
1953-54 Hull City
3-2 A
Sheffield Utd
3-3 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-3 A
1954-55 Derby County
3-3 A
Reading
2-2 A
1955-56 Newcastle United
2-1 A
Huddersfield Town
2-3 A
1956-57 Newcastle Utd
1-3 H
Newcastle United
1-2 A
Leicester City
2-3 H
Tottenham Hotspur
3-3 A
Liverpool
1-2 H
Leicester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-5 H
1957-58 Wolves
2-3 H
Manchester City
5-2 H
Liverpool
3-3 A
Manchester City
0-1 A
Middlesbrough
5-0 A
British Army
Postponed H
0-4 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-5 A
British Army 1-6 H
1959-60 Bolton Wanderers
4-2 H
Manchester City
1-1 A
Middlesbrough
6-6 H
Manchester United
0-4 H
Leicester City
1-0 A
Portsmouth
3-3 A
1960-61 Middlesbrough
2-4 H
1961-62 Bolton Wanderers
2-0 H
Everton
1-1 H
1-5 H
3-2 H
Hull City
1-3 A
1967-68 Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1968-69 Newcastle Utd
1-2 H
Birmingham City
2-0 A
Coventry City
Postponed A
1969-70 Newcastle Utd
0-0 H
Coventry City
1-1 A
Aston Villa
1-4 H
1970-71 Wigan Athletic
1-1 A
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1971-72 Middlesbrough
0-2 H
York City
1-2 A
0-2 H
1975-76 Derby County
0-1 H
1976-77 Stoke City
0-1 H
Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1977-78 Blackburn Rovers
1-0 A
Bristol City
3-5 A
1978-79 Leicester City
2-0 A
1979-80 Manchester City
1-1 N
Coventry City
0-0 H
Leicester City
3-2 H
1980-81 Swansea City
1-1 H
1982-83 Swansea City
1-0 H
2-3 H
Swansea City
1-0 H
1984-85 Newcastle Utd
0-3 H
Manchester City
0-0 H
Middlesbrough
0-0 H
1986-87 Chelsea
4-1 H
1987-88 Wigan Athletic
3-6 N
Isle of Man XI
7-1 N
Stoke City
1-1 N
1988-89 Manchester Utd
0-3 H
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1989-90 Aston Villa
0-1 A
Burnley
1-0 A
1990-91 Millwall
1-1 A
1991-92 Aston Villa
4-2 H
3-2 H
1995-96 Middlesbrough
0-0 H
Queens Park Rangers
2-1 H
1996-97 Coventry City
3-2 H
Stoke City
1-0 H
1997-98 Coventry City
0-2 H
1998-99 West Ham Utd
1-1 H
Barnsley
0-0 H
Macclesfield Town
0-0 A
1999-00 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2002-03 Everton
2-2 H
2003-04 Sunderland
2-2 H
2004-05 Cardiff City
2-1 H
Leeds Utd
1-3 H
1-0 H
3-2 H
2007-08 Bolton Wanderers
3-0 H
2007-08 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2008-09 Middlesbrough
2-3 H
1-3 H
Blackburn Rovers
0-0 A
Bolton Wanderers
0-0 A
2010-11 Carlisle Utd
0-1 A
Blackpool
2-1 A
2011-12 Barnsley
Postponed H
Sunderland
0-0 H
2-2 H
2016-17 Birmingham City
1-0 H
2017-18 Sunderland
2-2 H
2018-19 Blackburn Rovers
0-2 H
2019-20 Newcastle Utd
1-3 H

Brilliant, thanks!

stu in nottingham
07-04-2021, 07:23 PM
Nottingham Forest in '66

With King Joe Baker playing up front for Forest in that game.

07-04-2021, 07:50 PM

1949-50 Aston Villa
2-5 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-0 A
1951-52 Bolton Wanderers
2-2 H
Manchester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-1 A
7-3 H
Arsenal
1-7 A
1953-54 Hull City
3-2 A
Sheffield Utd
3-3 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-3 A
1954-55 Derby County
3-3 A
Reading
2-2 A
1955-56 Newcastle United
2-1 A
Huddersfield Town
2-3 A
1956-57 Newcastle Utd
1-3 H
Newcastle United
1-2 A
Leicester City
2-3 H
Tottenham Hotspur
3-3 A
Liverpool
1-2 H
Leicester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-5 H
1957-58 Wolves
2-3 H
Manchester City
5-2 H
Liverpool
3-3 A
Manchester City
0-1 A
Middlesbrough
5-0 A
British Army
Postponed H
0-4 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-5 A
British Army 1-6 H
1959-60 Bolton Wanderers
4-2 H
Manchester City
1-1 A
Middlesbrough
6-6 H
Manchester United
0-4 H
Leicester City
1-0 A
Portsmouth
3-3 A
1960-61 Middlesbrough
2-4 H
1961-62 Bolton Wanderers
2-0 H
Everton
1-1 H
1-5 H
3-2 H
Hull City
1-3 A
1967-68 Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1968-69 Newcastle Utd
1-2 H
Birmingham City
2-0 A
Coventry City
Postponed A
1969-70 Newcastle Utd
0-0 H
Coventry City
1-1 A
Aston Villa
1-4 H
1970-71 Wigan Athletic
1-1 A
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1971-72 Middlesbrough
0-2 H
York City
1-2 A
0-2 H
1975-76 Derby County
0-1 H
1976-77 Stoke City
0-1 H
Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1977-78 Blackburn Rovers
1-0 A
Bristol City
3-5 A
1978-79 Leicester City
2-0 A
1979-80 Manchester City
1-1 N
Coventry City
0-0 H
Leicester City
3-2 H
1980-81 Swansea City
1-1 H
1982-83 Swansea City
1-0 H
2-3 H
Swansea City
1-0 H
1984-85 Newcastle Utd
0-3 H
Manchester City
0-0 H
Middlesbrough
0-0 H
1986-87 Chelsea
4-1 H
1987-88 Wigan Athletic
3-6 N
Isle of Man XI
7-1 N
Stoke City
1-1 N
1988-89 Manchester Utd
0-3 H
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1989-90 Aston Villa
0-1 A
Burnley
1-0 A
1990-91 Millwall
1-1 A
1991-92 Aston Villa
4-2 H
3-2 H
1995-96 Middlesbrough
0-0 H
Queens Park Rangers
2-1 H
1996-97 Coventry City
3-2 H
Stoke City
1-0 H
1997-98 Coventry City
0-2 H
1998-99 West Ham Utd
1-1 H
Barnsley
0-0 H
Macclesfield Town
0-0 A
1999-00 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2002-03 Everton
2-2 H
2003-04 Sunderland
2-2 H
2004-05 Cardiff City
2-1 H
Leeds Utd
1-3 H
1-0 H
3-2 H
2007-08 Bolton Wanderers
3-0 H
2007-08 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2008-09 Middlesbrough
2-3 H
1-3 H
Blackburn Rovers
0-0 A
Bolton Wanderers
0-0 A
2010-11 Carlisle Utd
0-1 A
Blackpool
2-1 A
2011-12 Barnsley
Postponed H
Sunderland
0-0 H
2-2 H
2016-17 Birmingham City
1-0 H
2017-18 Sunderland
2-2 H
2018-19 Blackburn Rovers
0-2 H
2019-20 Newcastle Utd
1-3 H

Thank F*** it's not comprehensive! 😁
Absolutely outstanding!!

07-04-2021, 07:54 PM
The 1-0 win v Middlesbrough in season 99/00 sticks in my memory. My eldest boy’s first Hibs game. Sat next to each other on 21.5.16 💚🇳🇬🏆

07-04-2021, 08:00 PM
Remember the Gordon Hunter Testimonial 1996 against Gordon Strachan’s Coventry City

Strachan swapped sides at half time and we won 3-2

I also remember Dion Dublin was great with the kids before the game and after only too pleased to chat and sign autographs

Seemed like a top bloke ex Man United

07-04-2021, 08:46 PM

1949-50 Aston Villa
2-5 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-0 A
1951-52 Bolton Wanderers
2-2 H
Manchester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-1 A
7-3 H
Arsenal
1-7 A
1953-54 Hull City
3-2 A
Sheffield Utd
3-3 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-3 A
1954-55 Derby County
3-3 A
Reading
2-2 A
1955-56 Newcastle United
2-1 A
Huddersfield Town
2-3 A
1956-57 Newcastle Utd
1-3 H
Newcastle United
1-2 A
Leicester City
2-3 H
Tottenham Hotspur
3-3 A
Liverpool
1-2 H
Leicester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-5 H
1957-58 Wolves
2-3 H
Manchester City
5-2 H
Liverpool
3-3 A
Manchester City
0-1 A
Middlesbrough
5-0 A
British Army
Postponed H
0-4 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-5 A
British Army 1-6 H
1959-60 Bolton Wanderers
4-2 H
Manchester City
1-1 A
Middlesbrough
6-6 H
Manchester United
0-4 H
Leicester City
1-0 A
Portsmouth
3-3 A
1960-61 Middlesbrough
2-4 H
1961-62 Bolton Wanderers
2-0 H
Everton
1-1 H
1-5 H
3-2 H
Hull City
1-3 A
1967-68 Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1968-69 Newcastle Utd
1-2 H
Birmingham City
2-0 A
Coventry City
Postponed A
1969-70 Newcastle Utd
0-0 H
Coventry City
1-1 A
Aston Villa
1-4 H
1970-71 Wigan Athletic
1-1 A
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1971-72 Middlesbrough
0-2 H
York City
1-2 A
0-2 H
1975-76 Derby County
0-1 H
1976-77 Stoke City
0-1 H
Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1977-78 Blackburn Rovers
1-0 A
Bristol City
3-5 A
1978-79 Leicester City
2-0 A
1979-80 Manchester City
1-1 N
Coventry City
0-0 H
Leicester City
3-2 H
1980-81 Swansea City
1-1 H
1982-83 Swansea City
1-0 H
2-3 H
Swansea City
1-0 H
1984-85 Newcastle Utd
0-3 H
Manchester City
0-0 H
Middlesbrough
0-0 H
1986-87 Chelsea
4-1 H
1987-88 Wigan Athletic
3-6 N
Isle of Man XI
7-1 N
Stoke City
1-1 N
1988-89 Manchester Utd
0-3 H
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1989-90 Aston Villa
0-1 A
Burnley
1-0 A
1990-91 Millwall
1-1 A
1991-92 Aston Villa
4-2 H
3-2 H
1995-96 Middlesbrough
0-0 H
Queens Park Rangers
2-1 H
1996-97 Coventry City
3-2 H
Stoke City
1-0 H
1997-98 Coventry City
0-2 H
1998-99 West Ham Utd
1-1 H
Barnsley
0-0 H
Macclesfield Town
0-0 A
1999-00 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2002-03 Everton
2-2 H
2003-04 Sunderland
2-2 H
2004-05 Cardiff City
2-1 H
Leeds Utd
1-3 H
1-0 H
3-2 H
2007-08 Bolton Wanderers
3-0 H
2007-08 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2008-09 Middlesbrough
2-3 H
1-3 H
Blackburn Rovers
0-0 A
Bolton Wanderers
0-0 A
2010-11 Carlisle Utd
0-1 A
Blackpool
2-1 A
2011-12 Barnsley
Postponed H
Sunderland
0-0 H
2-2 H
2016-17 Birmingham City
1-0 H
2017-18 Sunderland
2-2 H
2018-19 Blackburn Rovers
0-2 H
2019-20 Newcastle Utd
1-3 H

Great stuff.
At a glance though looking at aways , you’ve missed Bury away 18/02/56, Hull 20/10/58, Sheff Utd 27/10/57 and 27/10/58, Swansea Town 10/10/60. Blackpool 08/08/68, Crystal Palace 18/02/78, Jersey Select 22/02/93, Hull 13/07/89, Watford 15/08/90, Port Vale 15/07/98, Preston 19/07/03,
and non league friendlies at South Shields 07/03/98, Telford United 18/7/98, Whitley Bay 24/7/99 and Horden Colliery 13/02/99.

Think there were pre-war games too but I don’t have the details to hand.

Keen to hear from anyone who has programmes available for Bury in ‘56, Man United ‘53, or Horden ‘99.

hibeg
07-04-2021, 08:58 PM
Great stuff.
At a glance though looking at aways , you’ve missed Bury away 18/02/56, Hull 20/10/58, Sheff Utd 27/10/57 and 27/10/58, Swansea Town 10/10/60. Blackpool 08/08/68, Crystal Palace 18/02/78, Jersey Select 22/02/93, Hull 13/07/89, Watford 15/08/90, Port Vale 15/07/98, Preston 19/07/03,
and non league friendlies at South Shields 07/03/98, Telford United 18/7/98, Whitley Bay 24/7/99 and Horden Colliery 13/02/99.

Keen to hear from anyone who has programmes available for Bury in ‘56, Man United ‘53, or Horden ‘99.

How could you miss out he 2 Leeds aways in the early 50s Iggy :wink:

07-04-2021, 09:13 PM

1949-50 Aston Villa
2-5 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-0 A
1951-52 Bolton Wanderers
2-2 H
Manchester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-1 A
7-3 H
Arsenal
1-7 A
1953-54 Hull City
3-2 A
Sheffield Utd
3-3 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-3 A
1954-55 Derby County
3-3 A
Reading
2-2 A
1955-56 Newcastle United
2-1 A
Huddersfield Town
2-3 A
1956-57 Newcastle Utd
1-3 H
Newcastle United
1-2 A
Leicester City
2-3 H
Tottenham Hotspur
3-3 A
Liverpool
1-2 H
Leicester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-5 H
1957-58 Wolves
2-3 H
Manchester City
5-2 H
Liverpool
3-3 A
Manchester City
0-1 A
Middlesbrough
5-0 A
British Army
Postponed H
0-4 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-5 A
British Army 1-6 H
1959-60 Bolton Wanderers
4-2 H
Manchester City
1-1 A
Middlesbrough
6-6 H
Manchester United
0-4 H
Leicester City
1-0 A
Portsmouth
3-3 A
1960-61 Middlesbrough
2-4 H
1961-62 Bolton Wanderers
2-0 H
Everton
1-1 H
1-5 H
3-2 H
Hull City
1-3 A
1967-68 Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1968-69 Newcastle Utd
1-2 H
Birmingham City
2-0 A
Coventry City
Postponed A
1969-70 Newcastle Utd
0-0 H
Coventry City
1-1 A
Aston Villa
1-4 H
1970-71 Wigan Athletic
1-1 A
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1971-72 Middlesbrough
0-2 H
York City
1-2 A
0-2 H
1975-76 Derby County
0-1 H
1976-77 Stoke City
0-1 H
Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1977-78 Blackburn Rovers
1-0 A
Bristol City
3-5 A
1978-79 Leicester City
2-0 A
1979-80 Manchester City
1-1 N
Coventry City
0-0 H
Leicester City
3-2 H
1980-81 Swansea City
1-1 H
1982-83 Swansea City
1-0 H
2-3 H
Swansea City
1-0 H
1984-85 Newcastle Utd
0-3 H
Manchester City
0-0 H
Middlesbrough
0-0 H
1986-87 Chelsea
4-1 H
1987-88 Wigan Athletic
3-6 N
Isle of Man XI
7-1 N
Stoke City
1-1 N
1988-89 Manchester Utd
0-3 H
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1989-90 Aston Villa
0-1 A
Burnley
1-0 A
1990-91 Millwall
1-1 A
1991-92 Aston Villa
4-2 H
3-2 H
1995-96 Middlesbrough
0-0 H
Queens Park Rangers
2-1 H
1996-97 Coventry City
3-2 H
Stoke City
1-0 H
1997-98 Coventry City
0-2 H
1998-99 West Ham Utd
1-1 H
Barnsley
0-0 H
Macclesfield Town
0-0 A
1999-00 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2002-03 Everton
2-2 H
2003-04 Sunderland
2-2 H
2004-05 Cardiff City
2-1 H
Leeds Utd
1-3 H
1-0 H
3-2 H
2007-08 Bolton Wanderers
3-0 H
2007-08 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2008-09 Middlesbrough
2-3 H
1-3 H
Blackburn Rovers
0-0 A
Bolton Wanderers
0-0 A
2010-11 Carlisle Utd
0-1 A
Blackpool
2-1 A
2011-12 Barnsley
Postponed H
Sunderland
0-0 H
2-2 H
2016-17 Birmingham City
1-0 H
2017-18 Sunderland
2-2 H
2018-19 Blackburn Rovers
0-2 H
2019-20 Newcastle Utd
1-3 HImpressive . Were 2 games v Leicester not both in 79 - 80 ? Away game was definitely in 79 - 80 as it was our only away win all season in relegation season after reaching the cup final in 1979 . I remember the home game was on a Monday after a weekend with no league games cause of international matches ( we `d lost 0 - 4 at Kilmarnock in a friendly on the Saturday with a Yugoslavian goalie in both matches ) .

07-04-2021, 09:17 PM
1986 4-1 Hibs. The game was part of the Durie transfer deal. Remember singing: "You should have stayed with Hibees".

http://thechels.info/wiki/1986-87_Friendlies

Great thanks for that. I wasn’t imagining it after all!

Bobo
07-04-2021, 09:38 PM
Impressive . Were 2 games v Leicester not both in 79 - 80 ? Away game was definitely in 79 - 80 as it was our only away win all season in relegation season after reaching the cup final in 1979 . I remember the home game was on a Monday after a weekend with no league games cause of international matches ( we `d lost 0 - 4 at Kilmarnock in a friendly on the Saturday with a Yugoslavian goalie in both matches ) .

Away game was on 15 Jan 1979 so from 1978-79 season.

Home tie was in Dec 1979, same year but different season.

Bobo
07-04-2021, 09:44 PM
Great stuff.

Thanks, I knew I was missing a number of them, thanks for the info :aok:

07-04-2021, 09:51 PM
How could you miss out he 2 Leeds aways in the early 50s Iggy :wink:He only glanced, give him a break. :wink:

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

hibeg
07-04-2021, 10:14 PM
He only glanced, give him a break.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

It was a joke, hence the emoji :rolleyes:

07-04-2021, 10:23 PM
It was a joke, hence the emoji :rolleyes:

emoji added to previous reply :thumbsup:

08-04-2021, 12:55 AM
As an impressionable teenager I found numerous events surrounding the game at Oldham particularly eye opening. 😲

EHZERO7
08-04-2021, 06:52 AM
We beat Newcastle 3-0 at Easter Road in 1977/78 (sept I think)
No programme as I think it was arranged last minute.

1949-50 Aston Villa
2-5 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-0 A
1951-52 Bolton Wanderers
2-2 H
Manchester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-1 A
7-3 H
Arsenal
1-7 A
1953-54 Hull City
3-2 A
Sheffield Utd
3-3 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-3 A
1954-55 Derby County
3-3 A
Reading
2-2 A
1955-56 Newcastle United
2-1 A
Huddersfield Town
2-3 A
1956-57 Newcastle Utd
1-3 H
Newcastle United
1-2 A
Leicester City
2-3 H
Tottenham Hotspur
3-3 A
Liverpool
1-2 H
Leicester City
4-1 A
Tottenham Hotspur
1-5 H
1957-58 Wolves
2-3 H
Manchester City
5-2 H
Liverpool
3-3 A
Manchester City
0-1 A
Middlesbrough
5-0 A
British Army
Postponed H
0-4 A
Tottenham Hotspur
2-5 A
British Army 1-6 H
1959-60 Bolton Wanderers
4-2 H
Manchester City
1-1 A
Middlesbrough
6-6 H
Manchester United
0-4 H
Leicester City
1-0 A
Portsmouth
3-3 A
1960-61 Middlesbrough
2-4 H
1961-62 Bolton Wanderers
2-0 H
Everton
1-1 H
1-5 H
3-2 H
Hull City
1-3 A
1967-68 Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1968-69 Newcastle Utd
1-2 H
Birmingham City
2-0 A
Coventry City
Postponed A
1969-70 Newcastle Utd
0-0 H
Coventry City
1-1 A
Aston Villa
1-4 H
1970-71 Wigan Athletic
1-1 A
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1971-72 Middlesbrough
0-2 H
York City
1-2 A
0-2 H
1975-76 Derby County
0-1 H
1976-77 Stoke City
0-1 H
Newcastle Utd
1-2 A
1977-78 Blackburn Rovers
1-0 A
Bristol City
3-5 A
1978-79 Leicester City
2-0 A
1979-80 Manchester City
1-1 N
Coventry City
0-0 H
Leicester City
3-2 H
1980-81 Swansea City
1-1 H
1982-83 Swansea City
1-0 H
2-3 H
Swansea City
1-0 H
1984-85 Newcastle Utd
0-3 H
Manchester City
0-0 H
Middlesbrough
0-0 H
1986-87 Chelsea
4-1 H
1987-88 Wigan Athletic
3-6 N
Isle of Man XI
7-1 N
Stoke City
1-1 N
1988-89 Manchester Utd
0-3 H
Oldham Athletic
1-0 A
1989-90 Aston Villa
0-1 A
Burnley
1-0 A
1990-91 Millwall
1-1 A
1991-92 Aston Villa
4-2 H
3-2 H
1995-96 Middlesbrough
0-0 H
Queens Park Rangers
2-1 H
1996-97 Coventry City
3-2 H
Stoke City
1-0 H
1997-98 Coventry City
0-2 H
1998-99 West Ham Utd
1-1 H
Barnsley
0-0 H
Macclesfield Town
0-0 A
1999-00 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2002-03 Everton
2-2 H
2003-04 Sunderland
2-2 H
2004-05 Cardiff City
2-1 H
Leeds Utd
1-3 H
1-0 H
3-2 H
2007-08 Bolton Wanderers
3-0 H
2007-08 Middlesbrough
1-0 H
2008-09 Middlesbrough
2-3 H
1-3 H
Blackburn Rovers
0-0 A
Bolton Wanderers
0-0 A
2010-11 Carlisle Utd
0-1 A
Blackpool
2-1 A
2011-12 Barnsley
Postponed H
Sunderland
0-0 H
2-2 H
2016-17 Birmingham City
1-0 H
2017-18 Sunderland
2-2 H
2018-19 Blackburn Rovers
0-2 H
2019-20 Newcastle Utd
1-3 H

08-04-2021, 09:01 AM
First one I ever saw was Manchester United.

It was a horrendous winter in 81/82 and Hibs were one of the few clubs in the UK to have undersoil heating, so United visited ER to get some game time and we managed to get a draw (I think it was 2-2)

08-04-2021, 09:06 AM

It was a horrendous winter in 80/81 and Hibs were one of the few clubs in the UK to have undersoil heating, so United visited ER to get some game time and we managed to get a draw (I think it was 2-2)

1-1

Jamieson and Stapleton IIRC

08-04-2021, 09:10 AM
1-1

Jamieson and Stapleton IIRC

Thanks Billy

08-04-2021, 09:13 AM
Also in the mid 1950s two home games-

Arsenal 2-2

Leeds. 4-4

Don’t think they’ve been mentioned.

08-04-2021, 09:26 AM
None of you will better Ryan Porteous sending Lee Cattermole in to orbit a few years ago.

08-04-2021, 10:50 AM

It was a horrendous winter in 81/82 and Hibs were one of the few clubs in the UK to have undersoil heating, so United visited ER to get some game time and we managed to get a draw (I think it was 2-2)Boxing Day. Showed up for work at The Artisan and only found out there was a game around opening time. A few United fans were in the pub. When did you know you had a game? We didn't. Just showed up at the bus at 8:00 as always... Also notable for Franny Jablonski going up to Sinclairs and getting hammered up there instead of managing the pub which shut at 6 to the consternation of two regulars that arrived at 5 past desperate for a beer and time away from the family...

Sent from my SM-J600FN using Tapatalk

08-04-2021, 12:05 PM
Boxing Day. Showed up for work at The Artisan and only found out there was a game around opening time. A few United fans were in the pub. When did you know you had a game? We didn't. Just showed up at the bus at 8:00 as always... Also notable for Franny Jablonski going up to Sinclairs and getting hammered up there instead of managing the pub which shut at 6 to the consternation of two regulars that arrived at 5 past desperate for a beer and time away from the family...

Sent from my SM-J600FN using Tapatalk

Oh the old Artisan Supporters Club! Brings back memories of days out with the other misbehaving teenagers on away days.

Being thrown out of a football ground for the first time at Fir Park and then 'serenaded' back onto the bus after the match after a wee warning from the Polis.

Happy Days!

08-04-2021, 04:33 PM
Oh the old Artisan Supporters Club! Brings back memories of days out with the other misbehaving teenagers on away days.

Being thrown out of a football ground for the first time at Fir Park and then 'serenaded' back onto the bus after the match after a wee warning from the Polis.

Happy Days!

:greengrinI remember that bus taking Old George from under the clock to Dens Park as it had been one of his favourite away days waaaaay back. Got him paralytic on the bus. He was well over 80....

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

08-04-2021, 06:47 PM
How could you miss out he 2 Leeds aways in the early 50s Iggy :wink:

I did only give it the once over E and having spent a small fortune on both of them I am considering the best way to punish myself....:greengrin

08-04-2021, 06:48 PM
Thanks, I knew I was missing a number of them, thanks for the info :aok:

Not exhaustive my friend as has been illustrated! :aok: